Submitted by Rosemary Parkinson

Whilst I am not against being carnivore…I love love! my meat…and please, do not take me for a fool…I know this particular trailer is an ‘advertisement’ to a big extent and probably the horror has been condensed BUT…from all the books I have read (some by carnivores) such as The Food Revolution (John Robbins), In Defense of Food & Carnivore’s Dilemna (Michael Pollan), Fast Food Nation (Eric Schlosser) and the movie Food Inc – just to name a few – this is normal practice in the big food industry of the United States. And, believe you me, this is not just about meat grown for food, this is also about plants grown for food. The greed is heavily embedded in everything we import from the United States.

Now…I see our health people are going to ban cigarettes because they are worried about what cigarettes do to those who smoke and what second-hand smoke does to those who inhale but…who is worrying about what we put into our bodies through food? What about banning what comes from the U.S. – this is what, dear people, who like a good steak from the U.S. – this is what you are chewing…this is what you are swallowing…this is what you are eating! This film shows the truth. And that is fact. And by the way there’s not enough space in the world to begin to write about the engineered plants…that word speaks for itself anyhow!

So why am I for growing our own? A question I get asked all the time. Well…because, so far, I have no real proof of this horror here at home. So far, I feel slightly safer from what I’ve seen, eating home produce. But I am not stuped. I know that the U.S. sends us feed, sends us Fertilizers/Pesticides etc. etc. already tainted with the word Greed in every grain, every drop. So what can I do? Just try to ensure that what I eat does NOT come from the U.S. by continuing to buy from the organic farmers here at home, or at least questioning the ones that are not totally organic about their practices – if you ask in a certain way, you get honest answers. Then I follow my instincts as to how to speak to them re advice…good simple advice. Advice I have always known is the right advice, and advice that was cemented in me when I went to The Bahamas to do a report on Goodfellow Farms – a successful ‘clean’ farm. I discuss with farmers about cleaning up their soil act. It is not a threat but a discussion. It is about what they want their children to eat. This type of education is not an easy pathway. It is a long road. We have been already tainted by greed but, sorry folks, you know how I feel? If I can make a dent, a tiny little dent in the profits the U.S. makes from us…then I will continue the fight! You know what makes all of this even more horrific? Once we do get sick from all this greed, guess what has to be done? Guess what we are prescribed from necessity by our doctors? Oh! Yes! Pharmaceuticals. From where? Hmmm…well from all over and that is bad enough but a lot comes from the good old “United So Articulately (USA) the world cannot see what we really do!!!!”

All I really wish is that each and every one of us would spread the word…perhaps if U.S. products remain on the shelves, importers will cut them out. Perhaps if each and every one of us takes the time to go down to the market and only buy produce grown here, and at the same time encourage those who work the farms to use alternative methods for growing…perhaps we can all, each and every one of us, make a difference…A difference no matter how little, is better than NUTTING!!!

Greed sucks and doan taste good neider! And by the way I have nutting against the United States…I have great friends who were born and live there…many of whom are very worried about what they are eating. I just want them to stop the greed…that is all. For it is at my personal expense, and at the expense of my children, grandchildren and now great-grandchild.. and THAT PISSES ME OFF!!

44 responses to “Meet Your Meat”

1. My family made a decision some months ago to change our diet to mainly fish and vegetables, supplemented by increased amounts of fruit and nuts.

Out are pork, lamb, beef and we are gradually weaning ourselves off chicken. After viewing this unimaginable cruelty, no matter how much it may have been condensed, there is no way that we are going back to meat.

2. Hilarious, don’t eat meat because of cruelty…..please watch the Discovery Channel or National Geographic to see other predators in action. Humans are just top predators of the most extreme degree.

I do agree that if you do not have the stomach to kill you shouldn’t eat meat. As for myself whether it is a pig, cow, lamb, chicken, turkey means nothing to me to kill any one of them for food. Everyone else with a problem killing animals for food, has been civilized for far too long. Be a vegetarian to avoid the antibiotics, toxins, bacteria, hormones, water wastage in production, energy wastage etc…all valid reasons but the cruelty issue is B.S.

Humans are cruel get over it. We live in little fear of other animals because that’s how extreme our species is. On planet earth we are numero uno, reigning species just like dinosaurs once were. The rules of nature are simple, it is our ability to use force and violence, to control life and death of all other animals that has earn us of privileged position at the top of the food chain….respect our ancestors, loyalty to your species first, if all other animals perish so be it.

3. I won’t comment on the stupidity of AOD’s remarks, simply to say that it was a mistake to have watched this clip at 1.00 a.m. It is a composite of the five best horror movies put together. The sad thing is that it’s not Hollywood fiction, but the on going and grossly disturbing reality of the economics of food production. It exceeds the Taji and Faroe Islands dolphin slaughter, as they are one off, annual perversions, whereas, the events depicted occur on a daily basis and not only, I assume in the USA but elsewhere. I have seen equally horrendous clips of wild animal/bird farms and markets in Asia..i.e. the taking of bile from bears or the farming of tigers for their body parts used to provide dubious comfort to sexually incapable, elderly Asian men. So much for Viagra or Cialis.
    I eat a beefsteak once a year to remind me of the taste of meat, now I will abandon this practice. Yes, we humans started as hunters and carnivores, but with a global population in excess of seven billion and heading rapidly for the ten billion mark, since most governments/politicians don’t want to tackle the political/religious hot potato of population control, Soylent Green doesn’t seem too far away!

4. I have not watched the slides, I do not eat meat.

That said, to expect more local production of ‘clean’ food, we must support our farmers by our government and by extension forces fighting predial larceny, by assisting in grants for research and production, assistance such as for tax relief, to ensure a viable local agrictural sector.

The question myself and others have asked repeatedly, which no one seems willing or able to answer, is what happens in the event of a global emergency?

We starve….or eat one another!

Seriously, remember plane crash in the 70’s where survivors ate remains to survive.

Mr.Watson’s reference to Soylent Green may sound far-fetched, but desperate times result in desperate measures and the human race is a race of survival, inherently!

5. Thank you Ms. Parkinson for your submission. When I read the article in yesterday’s Advocate re the smoking ban in public I too thought of making a comment. Not only along the lines of what is done to meat products, but what we do to this planet in general and the absurdity of targeting and singleing out smoking.

Please do not view this as an endorsement for smoking – yes smoking is bad for your health and a waste of money.

But, what about pesticides in the soil leeching into the water table. Centuries of cultivation, rainfall carrying the contaniments into the coral where it will probably reside for all eternity.

What about the hundreds of thousands of sinkwells depositing human waste and being carried out to sea destroying the coral reefs.

What about the thousands of car, trucks and buses belching their noxious fumes into the atmosphere (especially diesel).

The list is endless, but what do we as a people do? We only zero in on smoking because it is the easiest target. Is it a start to eliminate pollutants from affecting our health?

Hardly, oil and petroleum based products are what keeps the economy moving. And, who would be willing to give up their SUV because it might be hazardous to your health (in more ways than one)?

Barbados probably has one of the highest cancer rates in the world – and I can bet it’s not from smoking cigarettes!

6. Heard BU family ROK on the talk show yesterday maying the same point. Also heard the moderator (Stetson Babb) trivializing his point. Why pick cigarette smoking when we have so many other issues which impact the public. Our friend Carl Moore would want to include noise pollution which has reached a point in Barbados where many affected don’t bother to complain. It is a messed up world we live in. Then again we have to start the fight somewhere.

It has become fashionable for Barbados to sign on to the international treaties. We also have to thank Dr. Trevor Gale and Pastor Victor Roach who have been relentless in their execution of the smoking lobby.

7. Soylent Green ha ha

We in East make up one fifth of world population.. so we try one child family policy and end up with many many man, not so many woman. So sex work is much money for single mother ..no? But we frown on sex work, so 30 million man never know woman..problem will get worse..no? So we encourage smoke in public place.. tobacco smoke, chimney smoke…we take care of population growth ..no? And West frown… Method in madness..no?

No problem with protein for masses either. We eat everything… Bajan say “what don’ poison does fatten”..no? We even eat rat, we even eat terrorist.. taste very similar. My favorite is Tibetan terrorist, very tasteful but some prefer grilled Taiwanese terrorist over bed of lettuce with dash of soy..tasteful, tasteful..no?

8. Pastor Roach has interesting name… Crispy fry and dash of soy

9. Duppy Lizard very good for asthma..no? Best serve medium rear with dash of soy..

10. I remember so clearly going to see the movie Soylent Green at the Vista so many moons ago. “I ent get dis load of foolishness” said most of the patrons leaving the cinema.To me, it was one of the most shocking movies…to this day remaining firmly etched in my mind. I continuously see the future (hopefully not in my lifetime) to be one of a diet of SG – I wonder now if there is any connection to MSG – as in man soylent green? Just a foolish little thought really! thank God I stopped seasoning with dat long ago!

“Hilarious, don’t eat meat because of cruelty…..please watch the Discovery Channel or National Geographic to see other predators in action. Humans are just top predators of the most extreme degree.” AOD – hmmm.. are you for real dear, hit your head as a child sweetie? How very foolish. We ALL know man is a predator. And, in my opinion, if he wishes to continue being a predator take a trip into a deep forest or ocean and predate! Pit yourself against beast direct in the face – its either you or it.

Any man/company that imparts this kind of horror as seen in that clip to animals in the name of food, is disgusting. All those animals who are half dead and sick being turned over into the food chain because the company cannot lose any money…more than overwhelmingly disgusting behaviour from a bunch of ‘greedy sickos’ who should be put away forever. I think that is more the point.

I will not stop eating meat because of cruelty to animals – killing is cruelty. Which brings me to another little story. I remember many moons ago a young intrepid Barbadian experimenter in getting-away-from-humans-mode, who having eaten of mushrooms grown close to the dung of cows dong Cattlewash, went to pick a cabbage from his garden and it began to bawl loudly – “so from now on I eatin’ every shite!” he said coming back into society rather fast. Everyone he told this tale to screeched with laughter. I did not. Mostly because I happen to know that it’s only obvious that plants, like animals have their own ‘feelings’ – way of sensing things, whatever one wants to call it… this has been proven scientifically so those who might want to guffaw out loud, kiss my royal……! The only animal on this wonderful earth of ours that has not got not even an iota of sense is, man! Oh! Yes! He indeed wears that glorious crown.

So what do I do if everything I eat has feelings? Stop eating? Doan think so! But I have a moral right to eat good, decent, healthy produce whether fish, fowl, pig, cow, goat or sheep.

I can still hear the squealing of pigs all de way to the butcher so many years ago tied to the back of a jitney right here in Bim…and yes! one sensed the pig knew where he was going (and yes! I’ve also watched all of Disney movies on the subject and now hate to kill even an ant, only allowing my vengeance to be seen and heard on cockroaches!) but this local pig looked healthy…the farmer had carefully loaded him up on the truck, and he had room to breathe, manouever (although tied for safety!) – it made no sense having he arrive all mash up to be slaughtered – the farmer would have been shame! This pig too was the pride of the farmer, you could see it on his face as he drove him to his death… he was fat and sweet having eaten all the goodies, leftovers from the farmers table and any other table in the neighbourhood.

It’s this pig I want to eat. Not the one in that clip, not the one either that has been munching on “feed” from the US that contains the leftovers from all these slaughter houses – oh! yes! whatcha think goes into imported from the US animal feed – tink dem Amurricans gine waste that bit of profit?? Ha!

Now…I was also a vegetarian for let me see, about four/five years. I cannot remember feeling any healthier than when I ate meat. And when I became pregnant with my last child, I craved copious amounts of raw meat…still like me cow ‘moving’ on de plate as they say! Cooked but ‘moving’. But I also love eating vegetarian…not those sausage links and soya granules from the US…but good clean healthy veggies? Great. I just happen actually to love, absolutely love ALL food. An I ent shame to say it.

This whole posting is not about vegetarianism/versus ‘carnivorism’ – it is about understanding what the food we eat does to our bodies and being more careful about what we consume. I REFUSE TO EAT THE UNITED STATES because of this!

If the US does not feel morally obligated to produce decent food whether it is meat or veggies, then I doan want it. I have a huge problem with being told that the meat I am purchasing comes from a healthy cow when the cow was riddled with disease previous to being slaughtered – that is murder ’cause you killing me, and that is greed. When Mad Cow Disease hits close to home, and someone in the family dies this most horrific death, perhaps those who do not understand, will.

If the U.S. can prove that the products they sell to us down here in the Caribbean come from reputable farms (and believe you me they are some in the U.S. who have fought off the big boys who tried everything to stop ’em – see the movie Food Inc.) then I have no problem with them selling us food. And I will have no problem eating it. But the goods we get here? For the most part are not!

America is obese. America is suffering from non-communicable diseases in a major way – and the fault is? Yes, the people eat too darned much but it has been also directly linked to the disgusting practices of the large food companies. Read Fast Food Nation.

For instance, bet not too many people realize that just about everything you eat from America contains genetic corn – from their meat to canned anything to cereals. Read those labels! they are an eye-opener, even the ones with the words all natural, healthy blah blah – see corn manifest itself! And why would you America put corn and all its myriad by-products such as corn syrup into my food? Well, because America has too much corn, so “let’s make the people sick with sugar guys ’cause we cannot lose money here!” And guess what? All this sugar works to make the human who consumes it addicted to sugar – results? eat more and get diabetes, heart disease etc. ‘Cause we got the pharmaceuticals we have to sell as well. This is the new way of man. This is the new way of America The Great!

Right now I am looking for a farmer who feeds his pigs the ol’ time way, who allows his cows to graze as they should, his chickens to run wild eating worms. When I find him I gine latch on to him for my daily meat! I already got organic farmers – the guys at Cheapside – problem is if you doan get there early as hell, you ent getting anything much from them…obviously we need more of these farmers! Can anyone help me here?

Meanwhile I continue going to the market on a Saturduh mawning, doing my best to at least make an effort to help the local food chain. And when I go to the supermarket, I simply ent buying US. Oh! For those interested… I was pleased to find out that at Super Centre, the beef provided is from Uruguay and New Zealand or local – in all of Peronne’s products too. US Beef is clearly marked and believe you me I stay away from it…Angus? Ha!

On another point…the US has banned smoking in public places. Has it stopped or reduced non-communicable diseases? Nope. Has it reduced deaths and their health care bill by significant amounts? Nope. Why? Cause de food dat dem eating is mekking dem snort with disease. So what’s with us following the US and banning smoking in public places without banning the food we import from that country that has been proven, over and over and over again, to cause non-communicable disease. I doan get it!!! Someting not right here!!! Bottom line…you real foolish if you think dat banning cigarettes gine help we ‘helf’ system significantly bo…you gine have to ban US foods, US farm products, ban anyting dat spew out exhaust, ban computers/cell phones, etc that send waves through me poor brain…ban rum (heaven forbid!), ban beer (wa lawd I does love a cold Heineken yes!), ban soff drinks like dem sweet sweet red frutee, ban ban ban…in fact even ban me.. remembering I want a villa in Italy Sah (see blog of whites & birds).’cause I hear dat dem wine is de onliest one not chemically enhanced, and that for me is a good healthy start!

“That said, to expect more local production of ‘clean’ food, we must support our farmers by our government and by extension forces fighting praedial larceny, by assisting in grants for research and production, assistance such as for tax relief, to ensure a viable local agricultural sector.” (excuse me for correcting your spelling – its a habit! And I hate the fact that my computer gives me a choice of American or English and even ‘though I press English, I still get words like colour showing that it is spelled wrong…Grrrrrrr)

Yes! Crusoe…this is what we the people should be doing…forcing the hand of government with anything to do with our food. We keep voting these people in, and they keep allowing our food production to come to naught. Could this be a case of whey de real money is? Another case of some type of greed too? March on the Ministry of Agriculture and make our demands in a serious way. I am prepared to do it. Are you?

11. I was late in submitting me last comment…so Duppy Lizard – thank you and your comments are spot on. David yours too. BAFBFP well what can I say…welcome but I will not rise to your eastern occasion if you do not mind…although I did mention MSG.

Guys…I know I rant on when it comes to this subject…bear with me…I am passionate about me food….think that shows clearly.

12. In fact, I’m off to get me Satturduh pudding & souse. Today it is Prem at Souse House within the Boardwalk cafe! Need the lime…it fights disease! He heeeee!

13. What is absurd about targeting smoking in enclosed public places? Should workers at say a restaurant be “forced” to breathe second hand smoke? Why don’t we allow smoking in schools and hospitals? Protest the consumption of meat, the noxious fumes of vehicles, the pollution of the water table etc as well as smoking in enclosed public places, it is not an either/or situation.

Ms Parkinson’s rather rose tinted view of Barbadian agriculture is charming. There is no farming done in Barbados that would meet any of the official standards of organic farming anywhere. For example:

http://www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/cgsb/on_the_net/organic/032_0310_2006-e_Amended_Oct_2008-dec_09.pdf

14. Barbadian agriculture would not even meet the standards of the much berated USA.
    see Organic Foods Production act of 1990

http://www.ams.usda.gov/AMSv1.0/getfile?dDocName=STELPRDC5060370&acct=nopgeninfo

For those interested in the legislation regarding organic farming in the EU, UK, Canada and the USA see:

http://www.organicagcentre.ca/Standards/stds_welcome.asp

15. Here is where I have serious problem..no?

Criticize America to death… and we in East see point and agree very very much with criticize.. after all America without greed is Acirema (reverse, not possible..no?) But after that to add comment like “And by the way I have nutting against the United States..” leave very big question mark…

Question mark that isolated incident like MSG in commercial food merit contempt for people from East… Solitary case of tainted paint on children toy merit contempt for people from East… No other Country in whole world offend sensibility of whole world like my country for few isolated incidents and America gets to maintain good image…no one ever say “And by the way I have nutting against people from East..”

And by the way MSG has one element of sodium per molecule, common table salt that very much like in bajan pudding and souse has TWO…now very good time to do calculus ..no?

16. this video was on the net for years. it’s pathetic that most of you could pretend to be so naive about the life of a pig or chicken. you’re much older than me – please. machines are only doing what you saw your parents did when you were young. i cannot believe that most of you would sit and wait for some vegetarian from N A. to show some crap about the 6 wk life of a chicken to decide you will stop? don’t you ever have a mind of your own? for pete’s sake – i will continue eating them until i am tired. no stupid north american video can make up mind my mind for my. i have a mind of my own. you all should too but then again we are bajans and we usually have to wait for someone else to guide us into the light, we are unable to see it for ourselves. gosh:-(

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAFBFP wrote “by the way MSG has one element of sodium per molecule, common table salt that very much like in bajan pudding and souse has TWO…now very good time to do calculus ..no?”

When I finished school they introduced Mew Math. It seems that you are now introducing New Basic Chemistry. No? Since when has the formula of common table salt Na Cl have TWO atoms of sodium (Na) per molecule?

Maybe Chinese man make mistake No?,

18. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“… but with a global population in excess of seven billion and heading rapidly for the ten billion mark, since most governments/politicians don’t want to tackle the political/religious hot potato of population control, Soylent Green doesn’t seem too far away!”
    …………………….

Dr. Watson,

As BAFBFP’s ancestors would say, you shouldn’t add legs to the snake after you have finished drawing it. Global population levels are close to, but have not yet reached, 7 billion. At projected growth rates, which have been in decline since 1963, global population levels are expected to peak at around 9.2 billion in about 40 years… a paltry figure well below the carrying capacity of our habitat earth.

We shouldn’t confuse overcrowding and mismanagement with overpopulation. The most important resource in the grand scheme of things, is the human mind… the logic of imposing limits on the growth of this resource escapes me, but I understand how persons who equate the value of human life with that of non-human species might come to that conclusion.

19. Wait!!! MME??? …..

I thought that BP had you tied up in a long term contract in the Gulf? …. in fact when they fired the CEO, Bush Tea had some money on you…. LOL

What is this you saying here…?
    “….but I understand how persons who equate the value of human life with that of non-human species might come to that conclusion.”
    *****************************************************************************************

What is the difference between the ‘value’ of human life and that of non-human species? Don’t you mean the value of human POTENTIAL…..?

you also said…
    “The most important resource in the grand scheme of things, is the human mind… ”
    *********************************************************************************************
    Bush Tea is really impressed at your confidence in the human mind to solve problems… one is hard pressed to understand the current status-quo given this confidence on your part MME.

BTW, how you like the bushman’s BOP on BOP play in the Gulf…? rotfl.

20. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL BT… this from someone who thought that the leak in the gulf opened the seventh seal? I guess man’s ingenuity and ability to solve problems under the most difficult of conditions has once again trumped your ‘endtimes’ prognosis.

Good call on the BOP-on-BOP… I admit I would have waited for the relief well, but all’s ‘well’ that ends ‘well’ 🙂

21. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

BTW… human life = human POTENTIAL

22. GP

Man not very nice to correct comrade in public..no? You must apologise .. My intelligent agent corrected me after statement was posted.. he told me in private..no? Of course table salt has lot more sodium by weight than MSG so conclusion still same no? You must apologise.. we from East make friendly with everybody..! Not very nice..no?

23. Does any one ever wonder why is it that the EU have stringent standardize policies against third world countries for the exportation of meat and fish (the US as well) and yet the most inhumane systems of animal husbandry practices are practice in the very same countries who set the standards. Trust me their practices in many EU states that are far below the condemn practices of the so called third world countries. But we are the little fish.

24. AOD—Another good example of the generation of ignorant self centred people we have nowadays, people who see the world thru a very narrow narrow tube–(not youtube) but (yourtube). We need help as a people boy we need help !

25. Announcement : Hear ye , Hear Ye—-

I dont read BAFBFP
    –very itfupigating to the eyes and the mind-yes !

26. Just to show how long I have been preaching about our food practices – okay I was in Jamaica writing a book then, now I am in Barbados…but perhaps the same questions could be asked. This was published in the Jamaica Gleaner. I will still not buy US meat of any kind…

Fast-food nation and the Peter principle!
    published: Thursday | May 1, 2008

Rosemary Parkinson, Contributor
    Rosemary Parkinson/Gleaner Writer

Reading Omnivore’s Dilemma and In Defense of Food was a cupcake compared to Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal by Eric Schlosser. It was well documented that Texas cattlemen, led by billionaire Paul Engler, owner of Cactus Feeders, Inc, sued Oprah Winfrey for saying that having learned about meat production in her country, she would never eat another burger. Now I am a complete wreck!

Our fast-food outlets should take note; United States franchises are now under tremendous pressure, and have begun allowing ‘freedom’ of acquisition for those set up ‘outside’ of their territory. This means they can now buy ‘local’ meat. Based on what I read in Fast Food Nation, consumers have every right to know.

Are our cows, pigs, sheep and chickens being fed their own entrails, corn, dead cats and dogs, chicken feathers and even newspaper, all churned up in ‘feed’?

Are we using only Jamaican beef in our burgers and patties?

Is this meat (imported or not) being tested for E Coli 0157:H7 that can kill us?

Are home-grown animals treated humanely?

Are they alive and healthy when they reach our abattoirs?

Are they washed down properly before actual cutting begins to stop cross-contamination of waste to meat?

I pray our meats are what they are supposed to be; organic, hygienic, well processed and bacteria free. The entire Caribbean must listen, this is the time to save ourselves from epidemics. We have to clean up our act with organic farming, bacteria-free meats, well planned healthy meals on our tables in sanitary and loving environments.

The Peter principle

I’ve never been a proponent of raw food as a total diet. I make no bones about that (pardon the pun!) but I give Jack his due when it’s deserved. And it is.

The last time I saw Peter Wright, he was doing boot-camp at my home years back. His mother, Pat Wright, was receiving every kind of trouble a young rebellious boy could hand out.

Peter’s only interest during this period appeared to be food. He was put to work in the kitchens of Sunset Beach Resort. Moving to Kingston, he did a stint at Norma’s On The Terrace but because his brother Saj (living in the US) was involved in the music industry, he wanted to follow suit and left the food industry to begin deejaying. At 16, he still had not found his path, but then life took a turn.

Here’s Peter’s story; “Watching my mother battle cancer and her decision to give up the chemotherapy, showed extreme strength in changing her lifestyle and diet (she was a fast-every-kind-of-food freak). I saw how this change of diet freed her from cancer and renewed her life. And then I met live-food chef Ray Tyndan in Ocho Rios. From the time I watched him with the live organic food, I knew I would be a good raw-food chef. I started on the live foods and my whole thinking changed. I became energised, my complexion improved, I felt good about myself, strong, and mostly stopped behaving bad.”

Peter’s best friend and ‘partner in crime’, Reshaun Haase, went to a raw-food seminar with him. He said, “I fell in love wid it, so it was all the way with Peter.”

Veggin out

It was at Veggin Out on the Ochi Rios main road that I caught up with these two. I was starving and not looking forward to eating raw food. After a glass of fresh coconut water with a touch of lime, out came the appetiser – pineapple salad with red sweet peppers, basil, drizzled with olive oil. What a delight! Fresh, clean, tasty. I was getting interested now. The main course was: curried plantains, green veggie combo with okra, seaweed and callaloo, jerk ackee with a side of broccoli.

I could not believe it. The food was sweet and tasted cooked, so I wasn’t missing out on a ting! To top it off, dessert was an ice-cream that Peter made right in front of me on a machine called The Champion: fresh pawpaw, pineapple and almonds, no milk. It was like a fine Italian gelato. Unbelievable. “I even make dehydrated fruits for snacks,” he said.

Peter sees himself as ‘the singing living food chef. Both he and Reshaun continue with their music. Their message? Pure goodness. Peter’s vision? “To one day own my own live-food restaurant and studio with only positive messages for the youth being recorded.” Peter’s message? “Eat live food, no fas’ food, stop de crime and violence, live life fully and just love.” Not bad for an 18-year-old who’s working on his own life story with recipes!

Today, the ‘Peter Principle’ is catching on – people from Kingston and Montego Bay order daily, live lunches that Peter prepares from home with organics from Janice Duhaney in Montego Bay (also found at JoJo’s in Kingston). His meals are delivered via the Knutsford Express. For orders, call: 829-9748. Walk and eat good!

Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you’re healthy as opposed to sick. The Four Agreements, Don Miguel Ruiz.

Curried plantain

2 ripe plantain cut in circles

1 scallion, finely chopped

2 tablespoons of hot Indian curry

2 teaspoons olive oil

2 teaspoons lime juice

Mix well without mashing plantain. Allow to sit for 15 minutes to cook in its own juices.

Jerk curry

1 dozen ackee, deseeded, cleaned, cut in halves

1 ripe plantain, deseeded, chopped finely

1 stalk scallion, chopped finely

2-3 tbs fresh thyme leaves

2 teaspoons nori and dulse flakes (both types of seaweed)

Drizzle of cayenne pepper, all-purpose seasoning (no msg)

1 tablespoon Walkerswood Jerk seasoning

Mix the above in a bowl ensuring that ackee is not mashed up. Serve.

27. Ackee very very expensive.. Maybe we from East offer you firm Tofu as replacement ..no?

28. @ ROSEMARY

GREAT PIECE ON THE MEAT INDUSTRY!!! This past week in the UK, the news has been CLONED* BEEF & MILK on our shelves….

29. @Terrence…the U.S food industry continues to boggle the mind and greed is obviously a real sickness indeed! Please do not let them start cloning themselves…

30. Sorry! The above jumped….Guess my incensed mind got away with me!

31. @Lalu…read it…good to see that food has become something to discuss – it should be not only discussed but screamed about. However, I must tell you that I love my meat. Been there and done that the veggie way, still do on occasion but so far not wanting to give up meat ’cause I love it…just want to see food go back to how it was…all food…clean and good for ya. It is as simple as dat. Veggies can be dangerous as well…to me it is not about how we at but what we eat…a balanced diet from a good clean source is all I am looking for. Not believing that soya and things like canned veggie links are any better for ya than a decent piece of cow that has been fed on organic grass…I like to let people eat what they want, my only time for argument is how much they eat, and what poisons they are putting into their bodies….

32. Thanks for sharing information and..

33. Funny my book just came out and I see this topic! Anyways all jokes aside.
    I was just telling a bunch of people how vegan friendly Barbados is. Anyways my book came out 5 days ago and was launched internationally. It features all the Bajan classics but with no meat,dairy or eggs. Do check out my blog where I speak about the book a little and some of the recipes I did…I even made meat free pudding with protein and souse:http://caribbeanvegan.wordpress.com/2009/09/20/vegan-pudding-and-souse/

Bajan Fishcakes using eggplant http://caribbeanvegan.wordpress.com/2010/04/05/caribbean-vegan-cookbook-available-on-pre-order-on-amazon-caribbean-vegan-easter-recipe/

Anyways check it out..the book will be down in Barbados in a few weeks.

To find out more about be click here
    http://caribbeanvegan.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/special-message-from-taymertay-mar-author-of-caribbean-vegan/
    Admins sorry about the link but this is very useful to my fellow Barbadians~!!!!
    Tay

34. by the way I am a proud Bajan Vegan who use to 250 lbs and with a balanced vegan diet and exercise I am at a healthy weight now. I am also an ethical vegan and I will say this it takes a long time in some people to feel within themselves that eating animals is wrong. Seven years ago I would prob not even thought veganism could work with Bajan cuisine or I could do it…it took a long time for me to feel within myself that eating animals is wrong but I can understand the average person does not give a crap about a cow. All this Discovery Channel garbage is ridiculous…are you a lion? No you are not. Many of you may not want to give up meat right away but many of you can benefit from doing it.
    Now about the agriculture in Barbados I think we as a nation have potential and there will be a demand in the future for more organic farming. Organic taste better.End of story. It is better for you in the long run.Organic is not for some rich privileged person but it for everyone. The source of where products come from should be listed in the supermarket and if the product is organic say so as well. I am willing to spend an extra couple of dollars to eat organic…as the world changes and organic is not the other anymore prices can be reduced.

35. http://bajanreporter.blogspot.com/2009/0 7/why-you-should-be-vegetarian-or-vegan

36. This is the most serious matter in the world. The eating of animal corpses is probably the bane of mankind. All diseases etc have probably come from us using our bodies as long-term morgues with no air-conditioning. Anyway, I stopped eating meat because my nose kept telling me that something was terribly wrong with the odour coming out of my behind. It was death itself. When you mature enough see what “meat/fish” really is, you will be running for your life. There is a saying, “Do you think your $hit don’t stink?” Newsflash, it takes a while, but eventually, it won’t anymore. That brings things into perspective, how filthy people really are. Ignoring your sense makes you a dummy.

37. WHY YOU SHOULD BE A VEGETARIAN or VEGAN:

*Meat/fish eating is cruel and nutritionally unnecessary: “If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian” – Sir Paul McCartney. You cannot be genuinely interested in animal welfare, yet consume them! Your table fork and knife in effect, are vile instruments of animal cruelty, if you eat meat/fish…

* Many studies have shown that a balanced vegetarian diet is far healthier than a meat diet, and greatly reduces the likelihood of heart disease, cancers, diabetes, and obesity.

* You cannot be a serious environmentalist and still eat meat/fish:
    • Meat production is a “major stressor” on the world’s ecosystems, according to a FAO report. The meat industry is responsible for 18 % of greenhouse gases – much more than global road, sea, and air transport combined – which by comparison accounts for only 13 % of greenhouse gas emissions, yet the negative role played by meat-eating in climate change is something of an “inconvenient truth” for environmentalists… University of Chicago research shows that a vegan driving a small car, produces a ton less of greenhouse gases per annum on average, as compared to a meat-eater without a car ! Twenty times more fossil fuel energy goes into producing a calorie of beef as compared to one calorie of plant protein.
    • Livestock production uses 8 % of the world’s fresh water. 33% of global arable land is used for meat production. 20% of global arable land has been degraded to almost desert due to overgrazing. 70% of rainforest destruction is attributed to cattle ranching or to the growing of animal feeds. Nitrous oxide is 300 times more potent as a global warming gas than CO2 – 65 % globally is produced by the meat/dairy industry, according to the FAO.
    • A meat based diet requires 2.5 times more land area to produce a pound of meat protein as compared with a pound of vegetarian protein, and 5 times more land area as compared with a pound of vegan protein. 90% of corn, and 80% of other grains/beans grown in the USA, are used for animal feeds. The same amount of corn/grains/beans, if used directly as human food, could feed a human population 5 times that of the USA !
    • Many marine species are under threat due to the fishing industry – either directly from overfishing, or indirectly by getting accidentally caught in fishing nets, as often happens for example with marine turtles and the almost extinct vaquita – ie a tiny stubby-nosed porpoise found only in Mexico’s Sea of Cortez, which is on the brink of extinction as more die each year in fishing nets than are being born.
    • Sir David King, the UK Government’s former Chief Scientist, said: “The carbon and water footprints associated with producing meat are about 20 times larger than maize production. Eating less meat will help the environment.”

Historically many well known persons have become vegetarians to oppose animal cruelty – eg: Pythagoras; Leonardo Da Vinci; Tolstoy; and Bernard Shaw – to name but a few… why not you also???

There are tentative plans to set up a Barbadian Vegetarian-Vegan Society. If you are interested in this notion, please make contact via Facebook: “Barbados Veggie Socials”.

38. Below is a link for an Anancy film I made – I hope that you like it:

Lalu.

39. It’s a cool little flick Lalu. Unfortunately, no one can be convinced to stop eating meat. You have to figure it out for yourself. As your body matures your thoughts should mature as well. One should realize that 1% of the things in this life really matter, and 99% of them don’t. People work a 9 to 5 job and only have time to eat fast-food, “hustling” so that they can get that car, that house, that girl. What about priority? Those things are enjoyed through your body, and I’ve been sick before, you can’t enjoy a glass of water, a movie, sex, even a breath of fresh air. You get the drift. Then there’s the fact that meat/fish is prepared so well that it is practically irresistable to the tongue, mind you, vegetable matter and salt must be added, they call it seasoning. Then there’s the fact that it is common “knowledge” that meat should be eaten. “If you don’t have meat on your plate you are nobody. It’s not a meal.” Then there’s the fact that every 3 minutes there is a delicious meat ad on tv, meat jumping off the shelves in every store, meat is shoved in our faces… and somebody has been making that extra effort to make sure that it is consumed by the average person. Why the doctor tells us that it’s okay to eat meat, then tells the sick or elderly that it’s time to stop, well, I don’t want to speculate. I’ve said too much anyway. I get ridiculed every single day on the block I hang out on because I let it slip that I only eat steamed or raw food. I feel all alone, but knowing what is right through what my senses tell me, rather than believing what is right via someone else’s misplaced trust in this filthy society we live in keeps me going!

40. You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I to find this matter to be actually one thing which I feel I’d never understand. It sort of feels too complex and very large for me. I’m looking ahead for your next put up, I will try to get the cling of it!