Many have questioned the reason for the bad blood which exist between Barbados Free Press and Barbados Underground (BU). Up to now we had taken a decision to use whatever reputational capital we had acquired to absorb all* attacks directed at us. The attacks on BU have been centred on race related concerns and in recent weeks we have observed surrogate blogs adding to the vitriol being spewed. The real reason for the antagonism we know is our conflicting position regarding the Nelson Barbados Group matter. This is a matter which has seen Prime Minister David Thompson being engaged. What all of it has done is to spur us to stay true to the ideals which BU seeks to represent. Why have we decided to depart from our policy of direct engagement with Barbados Free Press now becomes the obvious question.

We had hoped the perpetrators of  the uncalled for attacks on BU family member ROK would have abated after WordPress requested a blog be removed/changed that was offensive to ROK. As time has passed the attacks have become more and more vitriolic whether from the blogmaster of Barbados Free Press or via comments. All Barbadians who have followed the career of ROK know he has given unstintingly to the country Barbados in which he lives, most notably as an Intervenor in public utilities hearings through the years.  It would therefore be negligent of BU if we did not use our blog to expose the duplicity of Barbados Free Press who by the weight of the evidence in our possession has been disingenuous to the cause.

The effectiveness of the blogs as a tool for social consciousness and social change is largely dependent on the anonymity of bloggers. Very few people are willing to put themselves and their families at risk of being sued or becoming the victims of official displeasure and censure or, indeed, in some cases of facing torture and even death in extreme cases. The advent of the blogs has allowed people with a social conscience to exercise that social conscience with minimal risk. The blogs have also allowed anyone who wishes to, to inform themselves, without the spectre of persecution that once visited both author and reader. It is against the foregoing we view the attack on ROK as a cowardly act by Barbados Free Press and in recent weeks by Dave No-balls Speller.

With human rights abuses continuing around the world, China is a good example, it is distressing to have proved that bloggers’ IPs and names have been revealed to those who would seek to use them for their own manipulative ends.  We note that Barbados Free Press has always been highly critical of Barbados’ diplomatic ties with China, yet it has mirrored the same tactics it decries and betrayed the movement towards greater access to information and free speech.

Like BU, Barbados Free Press tells its readers that they can blog anonymously, that they do not have to identify themselves. Thus, an undertaking is implied that Barbados Free Press will protect their identities and the IPs that might lead to the revealing of those identities. Note that Barbados Free Press is itself protected against having to reveal the identities of those who blog on matters of Nation and international importance by the Inter-American Declaration of Principles on Freedom of Expression. Principal 8 states the following: “Every social communicator has the right to keep his/her source of information, notes, personal and professional archives confidential.” BU has discussed these matters in the past with the help of family members in the legal fraternity.

Through its actions, Barbados Free Press has not only completely ignored the spirit of the Declaration, but is guilty of the entrapment of its own bloggers. What amazes surely must be that Barbados Free Press made the approach and voluntarily (in a display of goodwill towards Keltruth Blog and bad faith towards its bloggers) provided a list of IPs of its anonymous bloggers. Bear in mind that Keltruth Blog as the evidence shows is a Peter Allard funded blog. The length to which some will go to get the identities of bloggers and commenters is further demonstrated in the attached email.

BU has been able to gain access to the complete files of K. William McKenzie filed in public domain with the Ontario Superior Court of Justice. In the weeks and months ahead, we will blog about any matters which in our judgement should interest the Bajan Blogosphere.

To reiterate the point, we will use all of BU’s influence and our database to defend BU and members of the BU family with every neuron we can muster which resides in our cerebral cortex.

Stay tuned!

56 responses to “Setting The Record Straight Now And Going Forward”

1. Wuhloss!!!! Serves BFP right – and the testicularly challenged boy wonder. VERY WELL DONE, DAVID!!!!!!

But this is serious though. BFP has banned bloggers simply because it is pissed off with them? And then given out their IPS to Allard and his bunch? What happened to FREEDOM OF SPEECH? And what is all the BFP championing of freedom of information and PROTECTION OF PRIVACY legislation? This is ENTRAPMENT!!!! IT IS BREACH OF PRIVACY!!!!!

I got to wonder if the ball-less wonderboy gone be putting up one of he stupid posts that he does think does be funny on this one.

Bonny, my dear, time you had a little payback for what the eunuch been writing bout you.

2. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

I Support David and his attempt to allow free flowing debate on any number of subjects, may I suggest to you David fear not, by what I am seeing with each passing day your site is gaining strength while the other one is declining rapidly, keep on doing what you are doing and many will keep coming and reading and adding comments to your blog.

ROK has my full support as someone who has read and responded to many of his comments he does not deserve the style of treatment that he has been given else where.

Keep on keeping on my friend.

3. Question ?

4. Anonymous (Amused)
    Bonny back broad so she in gun worry wid de eunuch wid likkle ballz. She doan like addin fuel ta fiah. So leh it slide Suga-lump. mwahhhhhhhhhhh.

5. Bonny, my lovely one, he ain’t got WICKLE balls, he got NO balls. Even dem little blue pills ain’t gonna work pon he.

6. I am really pleased to see that an attack in defense of ROK has been launched. It is too much to see a man of his stature and civic conscience being attacked and pilloried by snakes and worms and reptiles who crawl on their bellies and slither into drop boxes and up Allard’s fundamental orifice. ROK has stood up for the rights of Bajan consumers where there is no enrichment for him. He has NOT posed as a philanthropist and tried to manipulate our laws, public officials and institutions and involved all Bajans in costly and denigatory overseas litigation. And then stamped his petulant little foot when he didn’t get what he wanted and disappeared to Florida so as to have the Knox family (who are now in Florida) accessible to kiss his fat backside.

David has said that he has all the files. I personally think that they, along with all other information, ought to be sent to Wikileaks, so that they are maintained in a format available to anyone wanting to know about these jokers.

I see that earlier this month another phase in the Allarco financial protection case has taken place. If anyone is interested, it can be found on the Price Waterhouse Coopers website. See: http://www.pwc.com/ca/en/car/allarco.

I was also interested to see that the Allard’s seem to have a great connection with people with the surname of Knox.

7. I’m not being sexist or misogynist but some WordPress Blogs such as BFP can be bitches too

8. Well done david.

9. @zion1971

Thanks, we should mention that because we have squabbles among ourselves it does not mean that we are animals.

10. Fine job David. I never liked BFP and I will have more to say about that later.

I stand with you and the BU family on this score. You and I may differ from time to time but I find your blog far more responsible and fair in your comments and accommodation of fellow bloggers. More to be said.

11. This article by Amused aka BWWR aka Anon and all the other astro turfing handles they use is bare boo. I appeal to the intelligent bloggers on BU who, I am sure, have figured out by now that the author of these many articles is one of the defendants in the Marjory Knox saga. This individual would have you believe that the reason BFP has delisted BU on it’s sidebar has something or everything to do with the Allard/Marjorie Knox legal matter. This is a complete falsehood and a the product of an obsessed and unstable mind. From the outset, BFP made it clear to all bloggers that they would not tolerate racist posts, both white and black racism, and it made it clear to all bloggers that they would not tolerate threats of any kind towards anyone. Those that chose to ignore these policies of BFP were warned and warned again and then finally banned. BFP and any other blog has the right to set their own policies. Intelligent discourse can be achieved without threats of violence or bigotted and racist comments. Those that persist in doing so only reveal a) a lack of intelligence b) an inability to communicate their ideas without resorting to base comments and c) an agenda or an axe to grind.
    BFP did nothing but copy and paste comments made by certain individuals here at BU. If those individuals were brave enough or stupid enough, as the case may be, to make those comments here at BU, why, then, would they be so offended to have those very same comments appear over at BFP?
    The Internet is worldwide and accessible to just about everybody and those people who can view the comments at BFP can just as easily view those comments on BU. As the saying goes, “if you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen.”
    ROK was foolish enough to post the comments at the center of the controversy, on this blog. Are other people to be held responsible for his stupidity? He has not even had the good grace to admit that he acted recklessly and should have kept this information to himself and no one would have been any wiser. If ROK actually understood his supposed role with BANGO, he would have known better than to draw disgrace on himself and the organization that he represents.
    As for “Amused”, you people are being led down the garden path as to what the real issue is here and David of BU is being mightily used by someone who is being completely dishonest about their motives.

12. BFP did nothing but copy and paste comments made by certain individuals here at BU. If those individuals were brave enough or stupid enough, as the case may be, to make those comments here at BU, why, then, would they be so offended to have those very same comments appear over at BFP?

You are correct, you just cut and paste from discussions which was dishonest because it obscured the gist of the debate. If you delisted BU why visit after the act to highlight what we are discussing?

It does not matter how hard you try you have been found complicit in the Allard Affair to discredit Barbados and Barbadians will not forget it.

Can you refute anything in the blog?

13. David, you mindless jackass, I have not delisted anything. I am not BFP or associated with them in any way, shape or form. I am merely another visitor to many blogs like any other person who happens to own a PC. I can not and have not been found complicit in anything, least of all to discredit Barbadians. As a free agent, with no connection to you or BFP, I am here to discredit both you and that person who is manipulating you to further their agenda. Wake up and smell the coffee!

14. Right!

While you are at it can you explain why BFP stopped covering the Nelson matter the minute BU started its ‘Other Side of the Kingsland Blogs’?

If you are not BFP go and ask them and run back over. For your info we are capable of reading the many court documents for ourselves. Hope Allard will be more successful in Florida when he fires up over there. BU will be following with keen interest,

15. @ Anon(2)

I, too, have access to the court documents and all of McKenzie’s correspondence. ha, ha, ha.

I suppose now you will say that I am BWWR, Iain Dean, Amused, Anon, etc., etc., etc.
    You poor deluded unhappy soul. Give your mind a rest. Go drink some coconut water and relax while reading about the black woman who never died – Henrietta Lacks(Lax).

Pat the old, ole hen.
    Pat the writer of bare shyte (according to you). ha ha ha.

16. @Anon (2). What’s the matter, chile? Are you perchance the person who calls him/ her self Marcus Davidoff? So you got caught. You got caught trying to entrap your bloggers. But “Davidoff”. You used the name of a man’s cologne. I wonder if there is anyone brave enough to go and give IB a sniff and see the whiff is of Davidoff. It would take a brave person and it is NOT going to be me. But there could be others up pon Longbeach who already know the answer to that.

But what we gone do bout Anon (2). I suppose we just have to wait for the alter ego, Gigo, to step in a wow us with his/her support for Anon (2).

17. Now watch them crawl out of the woodwork……LOL

Anon says…’From the outset, BFP made it clear to all bloggers that they would not tolerate racist posts, both white and black racism, and it made it clear to all bloggers that they would not tolerate threats of any kind towards anyone. Those that chose to ignore these policies of BFP were warned and warned again and then finally banned.

What a load of bullshit!!

I was one of the early bloggers on BFP (introduced to it by IB) and I was banned because I was constantly on their case about the Money Laundering story they had promised for weeks. After realising they had no story, just more hype to keep bloggers interested, it was posted that I had made threats to Adrian Loveridge and his family.
    Interesting enough, AL had met me personally where I revealed to him who I was, while helping him connect his PC (guy don’t know the first thing about PC hardware). If this was someone who I reason to ate and threaten, would I have sat down in conversation with AL or go out of my way to help him with his pc?
    From that incident, I realised what BFP were about and then I came over to BU, never to look back. I had posted this before and the same AL never even bothered to corroborate my story, where we could have exposed them for the liars they are, so I have lumped him along with BFP in the same group.
    Now that they are exposed, the fireworks will most certainly begin!

18. I forgot to mention, I was told that my IP address was on record by them (BFP)as one that was responsible for the threats to AL and his family.

Also the above…..If this was someone who I reason to ate and threaten…….should actually read……If this was someone who I ‘had’ reason to ‘hate’ and threaten.

19. @ Technician // July 27, 2010 at 7:05 AM — “I had posted this before and the same AL never even bothered to corroborate my story, where we could have exposed them for the liars they are, so I have lumped him along with BU in the same group.”

I see no reason to lump AL with BU. Don’t you think he should be in some other group? Not attempting to make any waves, simply curious.

20. @Technician. Since IB introduced you to BFP, you obviously know IB. Did you ever get close enough to his corpus to detect a whiff of Davidoff? But you are correct – de shyte is hittin de fan.

21. @ EyeSpy…..

For clarification, The first post on the false accusations, was on BFP, then sometime later when the attacks on BU started.
    When I say lump AL with them (liars) that was meant with BFP not BU.
    That was a typo on my part….sorry.

@ David ……

Can you change/edit my post to read…..’so I have lumped him along with BFP in the same group.’
    BFP instead of BU. Sorry for the confusion.

@ Amused…..

Yes I know IB…but…what is Davidoff????
    The oldest fragrance I know is Old Spice as my father and uncles believed in it….lol.

22. @Technician. I remember Old Spice, but I used to prefer Bournes Bay Rum. These days, man I am given these various scents and one of them is called Davidoff. It comes in two versions. The one I like is called “Davidoff Cool Water” and it smells a bit like Limeacol, so I good with that. The other one is much heavier and in a black bottle and would smell better pon a woman. So, if IB smell of Limeacol, you know it is Davidoff Cool Water. If he smell like a woman, you know it is the other Davidoff. The problem of course is that you got to be willing to get close enough to catch a whiff.

The person who runs BFP uses the moniker Marcus Davidoff. So I was just doing a little quiet investigation on Davidoff.

23. @ Amused ….

Oooookk then…lol.

Actually Old Spice has come to the fore again thanks to some funny ads (the black man on the horse), just google their ads and you would crack up. They were the best at the last Super Bowl and we know how good those ads are.

24. @Technician. I will have to have a look. Now I know why the kids keep on asking for Old Spice.

25. The war of the Bajan blogs continue…The Bloods vs The Crips. So what do you call a person who is a steady commenter on both blogs?…a double agent?…a hypocrite who serves two masters?…or just a neutral free spirit? I find this whole thing quite amusing.

26. @Atman

Don’t you think you are a little melodramatic? You can have the last word.

BTW, your website was added to the sidebar a little while ago.

27. Atman // July 27, 2010 at 9:34 PM. A free spirit. And, as is now seen, if the comments are on BFP, a free spirit with a “death wish”. “Death wish” meaning that they want to risk having their anonymity stripped away and does not refer to physical death – except possibly in places like Zimbawe and China and Iran. As I see it, and I could be wrong, no one has suggested that anyone should not comment on BFP. Just that they ought to know that the promise of protecting their anonymity is a lie. That is the message as I read it. Have I got it wrong?

28. @David….

Thanks .

29. A guy walks into his doctor’s office and says, “Ddddoc, I’ve bbbeen sssttttuttering ffor yyears and III’m tired of it. Ccccan yyyou hehehelp mmme???”

The doc says, “Well, I’ll have to examine you first before I can answer you.”

The doc examines him and says, “Well, I’m pretty sure that I know what the problem is.”

The guy asks, “wwwell wwwhat is it, ddoc?”

The doc says,”It’s your penis. It’s about about 18 inches long and all of the down pressure is putting a strain on your vocal chords.”

The guy asks, “Wwwhat ccan wwe ddo about it?”

The doc replies, “Well, I can cut it off and transplant a shorter one. I can guarantee that the operation will cure your stuttering.”

The guy says, “Dddo it!”

The guy has the operation and about four weeks later he comes back to the doctor’s office and says, “Thanks Doc. You’ve solved my problem and I don’t stutter any more but I’ve only had sex once in the past month. My wife doesn’t enjoy it any more. I cannot satisfy her. She liked my long penis. I don’t care if I have to stutter, I want you to put my long one back one!”

The doc replies, “Nnnnope. A ddddeal’s a ddddeal!”

30. follower of this blog Avatar
    follower of this blog

I have to admit that I followed the ROK story and he pretty much got hoisted on his own petard. BFP sensationalised it (as they always do) but the fault was Mr. King’s for making the statements that he made. He left himself wide open to it.

I have been very concerned about BFP and their connection with the Allard lawsuit, it would now seem to me that they were either used, or were complicit in furthering the agenda of an individual who clearly did not have Barbados’ best interests at heart. While the DLP made political mileage of the information, it does appear that BFP furthered the agenda of a foreign businessman who seemed to be hellbent on abusing the legal system of several countries.

31. @David

I’m just pointing out the reason why I don’t want to be labeled a member of any political party, or be considered a family member of any blog. I have no allegiance to either. I vote for which ever party I choose when election time comes around, and I would contribute on any blog I feel like at any time. The blogs seem to operate pretty much like political parties (and gangs) do.

32. Atman, you have just learned the first rule of thumb/lesson in regards to the “BU Family”. If you are a free thinker who does not always agree with the status quo expressed by certain members then you must be an enemy of BU or a covert BFP operative. This is the mentality of the “BU Family”.

33. @ Anon (2)..

Can you describe the ‘mentality’ of the BFP family?

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Anon 2
    I agree wid u
    On BU
    you expected to sing with the choir or face the ire of the herd

35. @Anon (2): “If you are a free thinker who does not always agree with the status quo expressed by certain members then you must be an enemy of BU or a covert BFP operative. This is the mentality of the “BU Family”.

I would like to disagree with this statement.

As is on the record, many have disagreed with BU.David and other BU participants on many subjects many times in the past…

…and yet the comments stand.

Unlike on some other Barbados Blogs….

Keep trying Anon (2)….

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I would like to suggest the possibility that the “Georgie Porgie” post above was not by *the* GP….

http://youtu.be/vHI9BTpGkp8

Behave yourself man!

This is not GP.

37. @Anon (2)

There is one irrefutable fact, BU remains a vehicle of freedom of expression. Whether BU agrees or not you are free to comment. Isn’t that a good platform to promote free thinking?

38. @ Georgie Porgie // July 29, 2010 at 5:48 PM “I agree wid u
    On BU you expected to sing with the choir or face the ire of the herd”

GP is your statement implying that BU is the only blog that operates in such manner? It’s the emotions of some commenters that help to make the blog vibrant. Without differences of opinions then the blog would be boring.

39. @BU.David: “Behave yourself man!

Sorry… Just proving a point.

@All…

For the record… The post Georgie Porgie // July 29, 2010 at 6:03 PM was written by me….

40. @All and BU.David…

The post by Georgie Porgie // July 29, 2010 at 5:48 PM was *not* written by me.

And was probably not written by *the* Georgie Porgie….

41. uhhhhhh, all the sharks circlin. Halsall, you genius, lemmuh axe yuh something. You ever expressed an opinion that was not towing the line and you get accused of being a BFP operative? You get accused of um what was it?……oh yah, “complicit in the Allard affair”. I think not. Try again, skipper that is when you not mekkin fancy Japanese omelettes that nuhbuddy in hey give one rass bout.

42. Wait, you mean people teefin (note the correct spelling, Mr Allard) other people’s monikers? Fuh troot? Lordee!!!

@David. Man I got to say that you seem to have rattled some cages seriously. While I strenuously object to the BFP/Keltruth practice of trying to “out” posters, I have to admit that I wonder if Anon (2) is the person that the late and greatly missed BWWR used to refer to as “Jane the Insane”. Or, the great Prof. himself. Or both!!! Just a thought. The demonstration of “acute and superior” intellect in their comments makes me wonder if it is in fact these two Malcolm Nash-like stars of the judicial world.

43. ahhhh, Amused turns up to further spread his/her paranoid/obsessive ideation. I am not related to nor have any connection to the Allards, Knoxs, Keltruth/BFP blogs nor anyone associated with this legal action/family dispute. You just can’t accept that can you Amused? It is beyond your comprehension that a free agent on the internet can look at both sides of this issue and form an opinion of their own. You are a control freak, Amused, and would have everyone fall in line to your way of thinking. My name is not “Pat” and I do not cow-tow to anyone, nor am I a sheep. I have a right to my opinion and I can assure you that unlike some of the people here, who have bought into your propaganda hook, line and sinker, I do not emit bleeting baaaaaaaaaa, baaaaaa, baaaaaaaaaaaaaaahs.

44. @Anon (2)

Why don’t you share your view with the Justices at the Ontario Courts.

45. @Anon (2): “Halsall … lemmuh axe yuh something. You ever expressed an opinion that was not towing the line?

Always…

@Anon(2): “Try again, skipper that is when you not mekkin fancy Japanese omelettes that nuhbuddy in hey give one rass bout.

Actually, I was making Tamagoyaki for the sushi dinner I had promised for eight guests when I and my girlfriend were interrupted by the census people.

We answered the census people their questions while I continued to cook, and we successfully served dinner to our guests later that day…

Now let me ask you this “Anon (2)”…

What makes you think you can scare us?

What makes you think you know more than we do?

46. Halsall, your dyslexia is outing you. I said and I direct copy “Halsall, you genius, lemmuh axe yuh something. You ever expressed an opinion that was not towing the line and you get accused of being a BFP operative?

Wuh, you miss the last part of that question? Has your difference of opinion with the moderater of this blog caused you to be accused of being a BFP operator? Try to stay on track, Halsall, however difficult it must be whilst running from the kitchen to your PC whilst whipping up Japanese culinary delights which, again, I reiterate, nobody gives one damn about and is not is impressed by. My sympathies to your g/f, poor thing.

47. @Anon (2)…

Any twit with a Blackberry (and I admit to being a twit with a Blackberry) can keep responding on the Blogs ad infinitum.

I don’t believe you (Anon (2)) have anything of further value to contribute here….

48. I notice Chris, whenever you are boxed into a corner you take he coward’s way out by uttering a dismissal. Simply answer the question, man, as you have asked so many others to do in the past. Besides, I hate to disappoint you but your opinion has little value to most real Bajans.

49. @Anon (2): “Simply answer the question, man

What’s the question again?

Sorry — I’m slow…