Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Dear Reader, very often one comes across a piece of correspondence that absolutely floors you. In cricketing terms, it’s called an unplayable delivery. You simply do not know what to do with it. You are left dazed! In such circumstances, I have opted over the years to simply pass it on; share it with others and hear what they say. See if their reaction is similar to yours.

The following is a piece of correspondence that was shared with me by a fellow writer at the Barbados Advocate who also was floored by the sincerity and forthrightness of the author, whom none of us knew and who, to this day, remains anonymous. It does not matter who the author was, what matters is that out there in Bajan country, are persons who are sitting up and taking note of the downward spiral in Barbados journalism.

Dear Reader, I shall share the contents of the correspondence, which came in the form of a Letter to the Editor, and offer no further comment…at this time.

Dear Editor:

Thank you for preserving the dignity of the Prime Minister at this most distressing time.

While your neighbour and competitor seem to thrive on classless, insensitive journalism I want to encourage you to continue to take the high road. Less than twenty-four hours after our Prime Minister did what none of us would ever wished to be faced with, the electronic edition of the Nation Newspaper launched an opinion poll which posed the question, and I will paraphrase – Should the Prime Minister reveal to the nation the nature of his illness?.

What I wonder has informed this question. Is it not enough that he has told us that he is ill – so ill in fact that he has asked us to continue to pray for him and craved our forbearance while he attends to his health? I emphasize ‘continue’ because I know as a people we Barbadians always pray for our leaders.

Does the public’s right to know trump a fellow human being’s right to dignity – even if he happens to be the Prime Minister? If we find out the detail of what ails him will that change the course of the events that have unfolded so far? Is it that we wish to ascertain whether the illness that has stricken our Prime Minister is contagious so that it is in the nature of a threat to public health? I think not? What will we be asking for next – what medication he is on or what diet has he been following?

We must resist the unfortunate human condition which tends to gossip. I would expect our media houses should feel a sense of responsibility in making sure that while they fearlessly and impartially report the news they do not lower our common standards of decency and propriety which I hope we still hold dear.

Unfortunately, the Internet poll was one of three offerings from the Nation which I found particularly distasteful. The second was the image of the PM on the front page. Again, whether or not his current state was plastered on the front of today’s paper, the revelation of him handing over the reins of government to his deputy is already newsworthy. This is not a question of the public’s right to know – we know – PM Thompson laid bare his condition on television just the night before.

The dignity of the man, as husband, father and leader of this nation is what is at stake. Why can we not use the ‘official’ photos of our Prime Minister even now? Do you think we will forget that he is not well?

Equally disingenuous to both the Prime Minister and his Deputy – at least in my view – was the cartoon depicting the PM taking a step down and his seemingly gleeful Deputy stepping up to the top tier of a podium. How absolutely uncalled for! Has the Attorney-General won some hard-fought prize? Has he ousted his colleague and leader from power? Absolutely not! This is not a power struggle that has been determined.

I sincerely hope that this brand of journalism is not in an effort to boost sales. I expect it is not a secret that the Nation’s current circulation is enviable. Can we please put ourselves in the PM’s shoes and follow the oldest maxim – love one another as God loves us. In our speech, in our actions and especially in our reporting let us treat our Prime Minister as we would wish to be treated – especially in this time of illness.

Congratulations Mr. Editor in handling the Prime Minister and your readership with the dignity and respect we deserve.

Dear Reader, what can I say? I do not propose further comment at this stage…but, rest assured, further comment will come! The backdrop to the foregoing will be shared with all Barbados…in the fullness of time.

But I find myself humming to the strains of one of Mighty Gabby’s classics: One Day Coming Soon…the people will wake up!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

330 responses to “Points To Ponder”

1. @Georgie

I’m not saying that you are wrong GP, but could you point me to some evidence (web link) that would support your claim? Afterall, I could only assume that you are a real doctor because I don’t know you from Adam.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I suggest you look up SIDE EFFECTS OF MAO INHIBITORS
    Also I discussed this earlier this year on BU in a thread on herbs.

Re Afterall, I could only assume that you are a real doctor because I don’t know you from Adam.

I guess you are right cause “Real doctors” dont have time to waste or spend on BU.” LOL

But suffer it to be so now.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

When I am depressed I sing Hymns or eat food but I dont take drugs of any kind LOL

Think about it anxiety and depression are perhaps the most common maladies by far. And anxiety masks depression

The best medicine for depression I know is described in Phillipians 4:6-7
    Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Verse 7 really teaches that having the peace of God can prevent you from having a hearet attack or going crazy.

4. Robert Deschappe Avatar
    Robert Deschappe

I have seen posts that are for and against the Nation newspaper. But on the morning of Friday 9th July, 2010 at approximately 8:45am, a lady called Larry Mayers on his morning show on CBC 100.7 fm to ask him if he saw a particular article in the Weekend Nation. But before she could elaborate, Mayers told her that he was uncomfortable discussing issues that appeared in the Nation, because they (CBC employees) were issued with correspondence informing them not to discuss anything about the Nation on the airwaves. Despite what anyone may think about the Nation, I think that this is wrong. The DLP is running the country as though it is their George Street premises. So much for accountability.
    As it relates to the call-in-programmes, I also think that Tony Marshall is an arrogant and uncouth. These attributes come to the fore especially when he is talking to a supporter of the BLP, or anyone who is critical of this DLP administration. But I guest to those of you are supporters of the DLP, he will be your hero. I must ask him and others of the same thinking, why is it that if one is critical of some thing that this administration is doing, that you are branded as a BLP?

5. @Robert Deschappe

There is truth in the point that there is more than a little DLP leaning in Marshall’s moderating. What do you expect? He is the current Chairman of the NIS Board and was a former board member of the DLP supporter Leroy Parris. His resume suggest where his political support lies.

6. @Georgie

Here is an extract from an article I saw, tyramine is the ingredient in cheese, bovril, etc.. that was thought to cause problems when used with St. John’s Wort.

“However, studies done in the 1990’s have shown that the MAOI-like effect of St. John’s Wort is negligible when it’s used in normal doses. So it is unlikely that it would react with tyramine. In Germany, where doctors have had the most experience with St. John’s Wort, it is considered safe to use in patients with high blood pressure.”

So tell me doc, how can you convince me that SJW is harmful when used with cheese or bovril?

7. Enuff
    From ball one you came over as a klown on BU to me and now today at close of play, you remain a klown. De game done, ga home.
    Doan worry bout de men dat I salivating over. Wah I got belong ta me de last time I check. But ya still in ansa my question. You know dat Lucille Baird is Jezebel. I ask ya wah Mia is? And ya were given some multiple choice. Wah happen? stupseee

Dr.Porgie
    What about the ‘faith-healers’ that would come in from n away and hold some very big meetings in Queens Park? Thousands would throng these events and some would even come away ‘healed’.
    And I think that Billy Graham was here some years ago too and the same thing happened.
    It is still happening in local churches today not only at Dr. Durant’s.

I believe in no such thing as talking in tongues. It seems like a whole lot of pupp.

My interpretation of this ‘talking in tongues’ things is that when the apostles/disciples were preparing for their missionary journeys far n wide they were prepared for the different languages that each would encounter, hence the ‘talking in tongues’ garbage.
    So when I hear persons in the pulpit preaching and then suddenly they go off in this ranting, ‘abbra-cadabra, musdoijnx, adasdjoud, ajdkdirkrnd, eaddurd,dvajlkjdsisse. I stand AMAZED.

8. Ha ha ha ha…Bonny you are a riot.

9. Robert Deschappe
    I’ve been around ‘call-in’ programmes long enough to know that Tony Marshall is not the first moderator to have an affiliation, so what is your problem? We all have our affiliations, otherwise there’d be no need for an opposition. Were you asleep when the BLP was ruling? They too had their laws, rules, mores n own style of governance.
    And if you think that he is arrogant and uncouth perhaps someone thinks the same of you. Takes all types to make this world spin in orbit.

Tony Marshall, I LOVE YOU BADDDDDDDDDDD. You’re my HERO.

Some of the known ‘regulars’ who call in have their affiliation too and make it known by their contributions. So BU is not the only place it happens.
    STUPSEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Atman
    I am glad that you found an article that you like.
    And I dont plan to raise a sweat to
    convince you that SJW is harmful when used with cheese or bovril OK Have I ever convinced you of anything?

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bonny
    Billy Graham was a great evangelist; but never a faith healer or a speaker in tongues.
    Billy Graham was a simple Baptist minister that preached the Gospel message very clear and simple with out confusing things.

Re ‘talking in tongues’
    In the NT this refers to talking in different comprehensible languages in all the examples

This completely different to glossalalia!
    The Scripture teaches that when different comprehensible languages are used in a meeting that there be an interpreter. But when some folk revert to this nonsense in church I have never heard or seen an interpreter.
    Next time you hear these jokers on the go ask for a translation and an interpreter. Also listen good to see if they teaching anything at all.

I believe that God heals folk if we pray in faith, but I don’t think that ‘faith-healers’ are genuine. In fact they have been shown to be charlatans on more than one occasion.

12. @Georgie

Well I asked you to point me to an article and you told me to look up SIDE EFFECTS OF MAO INHIBITORS…so that’s what I found.

To answer your question…NO…so far you haven’t really convince me of anything. I still can’t be certain that you’re doctor unless someone here who knows you personally and can vouche for you. The fact is that anyone can pretend to be anything on these blogs, the www is full of information pertaining to any and everything.

13. @Atman

Are you not being unreasonable?

You asked the anonymous blogger to quote you for an opinion and he/she gave it…lol.

All you have to do is cross check it yourself man. If you bounce at GP you know he is a compulsive hooker…lol.

Compulsive hookers can be set up easy you know that right? ah lie? Murrrder!

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Atman
    I asked you to look up SIDE EFFECTS OF MAO INHIBITORS…and that is what you found eh?

What are the side effects of MAO! Sir?

Re To answer your question…NO…so far you haven’t really convince me of anything.

Good . So thats why I wont waste my time on you. You are uneducable

After all whereas you know that anyone can pretend to be anything on these blogs, and that the www is full of information pertaining to any and everything, you do not know how to read the literature and know what makes sense and what is nonsense.

If you think that I could pretend at this level for three years by using the internet you are a bigger fool than you sound..

15. @David

But isn’t that what I have done? Whenever I ask for information I check into myself…sometimes I actually check into before asking for information (setting the field for the hook shot).

16. @Atman

Lol

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Atman

The Pharmacology that I have forgotten you have not yet read. Have you taught Pharmacology Review for any Exam Review Body?

Have you taught Pharmacology anywhere? At any medical school?

Do you know that in several; texts there is conflicting information. Do you know that this occurs online too.

Or are you just an idiot that THINK you know because you read it online?

Have you not read the several arrticles that has been debunked on BU that were found online?

18. @Georgie

Man I presented you with the MAOI information pertaining to the same St. John’s Wort that you claimed to be harmful…what more do yuh want?

Some people pretend their whole life Georgie, and I don’t know what you would do from what you wouldn’t do. Do you currently treat patients, or have you ever treated patients? And if so, where iswas your practice located?

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

What this silly fool does not know is that what he found online is NOT taught in major schools.

St John’s Wort must be treated like any antidepressant

The silly fool has not read about bioavailability or bioequivalence or idiosyncrasies or other things that cause Pharmocologists to warn about St James Wort.
    He can not even list the side effects of an important drug class after researching the web.

20. @GP

Was it you who advised recently that some deliveries should be allowed to pass outside the stumps?

21. @Georgie

Are you a doctor or just a phamacist? Which?

Again, I asked you to direct me to a web page to support your claim, and rather you told me what to lookup. Don’t get vex with me for your malpractice doc.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yes David but I quote you also Proverbs 26:4-5

4. Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.

5. Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

I am here dealing with what I call a class two fool , Such was be answered because they are wise in thier own conceit.

This jackass has a brain that resembles a vacant lot. Does he think that a pretender could produce information from so many Basic Sciences if he was not genuine.

Typical CRAB IN THE BARREL.

23. Uh…..oh!

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Jackass does a Pharmacist know the amount of Biochem, Pathology Anatomy and other Basic Sciences that I bring to BU?

Sorry do you know the difference though?

I told you what to look up and what did you find?

Do you know what you read or what it means? Do you know of other opinions on the matter. But you talk about mal practice.
    Do you know what mal practice is?

25. @Georgie

Any man who feels he has to try so desperately hard to convince people that he is what he claims to be…well I would say he has some issues.

26. @Georgie

You have convince me of one thing, you are not the educator that you claim to be. A true educator would have pointed directly to information that supports his claims…rather than getting riled up when I produce information that contradicts his claims.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Know fool I dont have to convince people that I am a Dr. I graduated from UWI Med School.

In matters of Pharmacology one of my teachers with a PhD in Clinical Pharmacology was impressed enouigh to send Drug Representatives to me for advice when approaching competitions.

Drug reps were brought to me for grilling before they started detailing.

One Drug House employed me to train thier reps.
    When you try to denigrate me Sir I can bring facts to show you that I have been around the block.

My issue is with illiterates who THINK THEY KNOW BUT DONT KNOW ANYTHING AT ALL.

You still have not listed the side effects of MAOI or convinced me that you understand why many Pharmacologists—–not Pharmacists have the opinion they have on St Johns Wort.

You need to go learn someting. Stop relying on the internet. There is much error there

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

There are many ways to educate fool
    I dont have to point you to any thing but what you need to learn about MAOI and what I want you to know about MAOI

You have not produced anything and you are so damn stupid you don ot know that you have not!

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

And I dont realy teach primnary schoom or high school kids. I teach College and Medical Students

30. @Georgie

Perhaps your biggest problem is that you’re too egocentric.

31. Have a good evening Georgie. I’m about to get a shower then go drink a beer.

32. I dont know why u guys encourage this inflated, flatulent attention-whore called GP.

His posts are nothing but public masturbation. Pure ego-stroking wank!

GP, you are a certified C**T! I really mean that from the bottom of my heart.

And dont bother to reply cos I dont have time with you. Yuh did want ‘busing propa evuh sense!!! TWAT!!

33. Straight talk Avatar

Off topic, but in response to BP:
    (the Bajan caribbean gusher, not the multinational !)

“So when I hear persons in the pulpit preaching and then suddenly they go off in this ranting, ‘abbra-cadabra, musdoijnx, adasdjoud, ajdkdirkrnd, eaddurd,dvajlkjdsisse. I stand AMAZED.”

I share your amazement how easily impressionable congregations are taken in by these controlling thought police.

Whatever their pastors’ motives, pecuniary advantage or an altruistic fast track to their version of paradise, it disturbs me deeply.

Supposed heavenly gifted charlatans gabbling to the gullible.

In much the same controlling way, the socially deprived classes throughout history have been calmed by the promise of a perfect afterlife, so long as you behave yourself in this one, and do as your master tells you.

Serfs in feudal times, slaves in recent history and modern day listeners to deranged language from persons in fancy cassocks arriving in SUVs.

Some things will never change for some people, but whilstever there is a need for hope in a better future and a purpose to all this heartache, there will be an industry to service it.

34. The problem with MAO-Inhibitors is due to the inadvertent effect on another chemical called tyramine. Monoamine oxidase enzyme usually also breaks down tyramine. If an MAO-inhibitor is used, tyramine is not broken down as it usually is, and levels of this chemical build up. Tyramine causes elevation of blood pressure, so an increase in this chemical leads to an increase in blood pressure which could lead to stroke, heart attack, and other nasty side effects. Because of this, people using MAO-inhibitors must avoid foods that are high in tyramine, such as alcohol, legumes (e.g., fava and soy beans), cheese, fish, ginseng, meat, sauerkraut, shrimp paste, soups, and yeast extracts (baking yeast is OK in small quantities).

35. Side effects of mao inhibitors

DRUG INTERACTIONS: This drug should not be used with the following medications because very serious interactions may occur: apraclonidine, brimonidine, bethanidine, bupropion, buspirone, carbamazepine, dextromethorphan, entacapone, herbal products (e.g., ma huang), indoramin, meperidine, papaverine, sibutramine, SSRI antidepressants (e.g., fluoxetine, citalopram), sympathomimetics (e.g., methylphenidate, ephedrine), tolcapone, tricyclic antidepressants (e.g., amitriptyline, doxepin), “triptans” (e.g., sumatriptan, zolmitriptan). If you are currently using any of these medications, tell your doctor or pharmacist before starting a MAO inhibitor. Before using this medication, be sure to tell your doctor what medicines (both prescription and nonprescription) you are taking, including: levodopa, tryptophan, insulin and oral antidiabetic drugs, other MAO inhibitors (e.g., furazolidone, linezolid, moclobemide, selegiline), sedatives and drugs used to aid sleep, blood pressure medications.

Consult your doctor about the need to watch your intake of foods containing tyramine. It is possible consuming tyramine- containing foods while using this medication could cause headache and/or increased blood pressure and could lead to a medical emergency. Tyramine food precautions should be observed for at least 2 weeks after you stop using this medication. The following is a partial list of tyramine-containing foods: Meat or Fish – pickled herring/liver/dry sausage/salami/meats prepared with tenderizer; Dairy – yogurt/sour cream/aged cheeses (cream or cottage cheese are okay); Beverages – beer/red wine/sherry – Avoid excessive amount of caffeine-containing colas/coffee/tea; Fruits and Vegetables – avocado/bananas/figs/raisins/broad beans/sauerkraut; Other – yeast extract/soy sauce/large amounts of chocolate.

36. @ Anonymous

Now that you have tried to cuss GP, can you contribute anything to BU of the quality that GP does?Who has really masturbated and wanked ?What exactly is an inflated, flatulent attention-whore? You can not put a few words together coherently, but you can most surely display your envy.

It seems to me that Atman was not listening or willing to learn the important issues that GP was pointing out to Atman. Atman is just an ass trying to prove that he can run with an intellectual. He is an example of the typical Bajan. How we love to pull down others

It seems to me that you are just as ignorant as Atman, and that GP can afford to talk the talk. After all has he not walked the walk? Look how he has educated us on cancer and jaundice. And he is called a pretender by an absolute fool.

Oh in addition Mr three word poster you can call me GP again as you did last time I posted

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Thank you J

St James Wort behaves like a MAOI. And so the Canadian School of Naturopatic Medicine which reviewed all the world litterature on herbs used all around the world advises that one must be careful using this herb.

They issued a compendium of herbs most of which I shared on BU earlier this year. This information can also be found in the books set out exactly like Pharmacology texts used by naturopaths that detail the benefits side effects etc of herbs vitamins and minerals.

38. GP – some people don’t really want to learn anything. To add to J/ ‘s post and without much effort (but using your given clue), the following was found in 0.28 seconds.

“Why is St. John’s Wort dangerous? The active ingredient in St. John’s Wort is a monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI). These substances were among first used to treat depression, and they are still used today when the condition is in a mild form. MAOIs inhibit the actions of a protein in the brain called monoamine oxidase. This protein “cleans up” in the brain by destroying neurotransmitters. You can’t have neurotransmitters sitting around forever after they have done their job, so they have to be eliminated; yet if too many are eliminated, depression can result. MAOIs, then, keep the levels of neurotransmitters a bit higher and help keep you feeling better.

MAOIs do something else, however: they also “clean up” tyramine, a molecule that affects blood pressure. When monoamine oxidase is blocked, the levels of tyramine increase quickly. You feel better, emotionally and psychologically, but your blood pressure can rise so much and so quickly that the blood vessels in your brain can burst. When MAOIs were first introduced in the 1960s, the country was swept by a wave of deaths from inexplicable brain hemorrhages.”

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

From the time I first studied Pharmacology as a student I developed a healthy respect for antidepressants- especially the MAOI.

Just look at that list of sunstances that must be avoided when using them.

When you consider that many of these things are used by most folk commonly. Tell me if the lay man should not be warned when given MAOI’s or St James Wort; especially the latter which is sold over the counter and in many multi later marketing programs?

Why did the good Lord put so many fools on his earth?

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I dont know which Annonymous you are, but you have got the point also that I was trying to get that fool to find for himself.

It is inconceivable to believe that he did not find such an article just as quickly as you did in your search

41. GP, you have been exposed. And, by the way, your spelling is even worse today. I suspected you were not what you claimed to be when you could spend whole days on this blog (early morning until late at night) at what should be the prime of your career. Other clues too. You claim to be a teacher, but your impatience with the contrary view, even if uninformed, marks you out as a fraud or incompetent there too.

42. MD
    You are Sooooooooooooooooh Right!
    Now can you refute any of the Medicine that GP has contributed to BU?
    J and Anonymous have off course revealed that GP knew what he was saying about MAOI and SJW?
    They have indicated that rather than exposing GP Atman showed that he is an ass and ignorant of the subject.

I have been taught by many teachers that have no patience with weak students or smart alecs in class, who ask stupid questions, stick to wrong and untenable positions and pretend they know.

43. MD
    Have you heard about folk who teach from their homes online?
    Does GP really have to tell you why he devotes so much time to BU?
    He is not a public figure paid by the Bajan taxpayers.
    Instead of your haste to expose him, perhaps you can learn a little bit from him, or maybe contribute something to BU as he does. What do you say?

44. Monica, I have no idea how many or what kind of teachers you may have had, but it is clear that none was a grammar or spelling teacher!

Anon, I am sorry but I am engaged in full time occupation and am unable to devote the amount of time your alter ego does to this blog.

45. David:

Have you ever divided the word “hoodwinked”?

46. Dr.Porgie
    I remember when Rev. Billy Graham would start to sing my all-time favourite hymn: ‘Just As I Am Without One Plea’,
    But that Thy blood was shed for me
    And that thou bidst me come to Thee
    O Lamb of God, I come…………….

Then he would ask the congregation to come to the altar to be prayed for.
    It is then that you would see the cripple walk, deaf hear, blind see.
    I remember on one such occasion, an old couple went up to be prayed for. The old lady rest her hand on her arthritic shoulder and she was healed instantly. Allelujah. But then the old boy rest his hand in front of him by his pants zip. The old girl bend over and whisper in he ears,
    “George, he say he gun heal de sick, not raise de deadddddd.”

True, true. Can I get a ‘hallelujahhhhhhhhhh’?

Seriously Dr.Porgie, what do you call that? Not pray-healing? Doan mind he couldn’t help out de ol boy George.

47. @ Georgie Porgie // July 10, 2010 at 5:45 PM

‘This jackass has a brain that resembles a vacant lot.’
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    Dr., Man, Six runs! I could see that shot coming as soon as the ball leff he han’!! Dah is de only way to play dem bouncers!

48. @ Atman // July 10, 2010 at 5:54 PM

You said to GP:- ” Any man who feels he has to try so desperately hard to convince people that he is what he claims to be…well I would say he has some issues.”
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    I don’t think that Dr. GP needs to prove anything to anyone here on BU. Anyone with a modicum of intelligence could realise that he knows exactly what he’s tallking about when he addresses medical topics. Unless, of course, it’s people like you who only use their brains to keep their ears apart!!

49. @MonicaGeorgie (who seems to be one and the same)

There is nothing more for me to learn from you as far as the topic of St. John’s Wort is concern. You said it was harmful, and I found out for myself that the MAOI-like effect of St. John’s Wort is negligible when it’s used in normal doses, and so it is unlikely that it would react with tyramine. This is all I needed to know Georgie, not some unsolicited lecture on the general side effects of MAO Inhibitors. You could not provide me with any information that supported the claim you made SPECIFICALLY about St. John’s Wort…but instead you wanted to take me all around the world of MAO Inhibitors. No thank you.

50. @Georgie

ST. JAMES WORT?? The next you’re going to call it is the St. Joseph Wort.

You can give me as many descriptions as you feel like, the fact is that you are WRONG about St. John’s Wort, its MAOI-like effect is negligible when taken in normal doses. Now maybe you haven’t kept up-to-date on the studies done on the plant in the 1990s…I would accept that as an excuse…you pompous joker.