Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Dear Reader, very often one comes across a piece of correspondence that absolutely floors you. In cricketing terms, it’s called an unplayable delivery. You simply do not know what to do with it. You are left dazed! In such circumstances, I have opted over the years to simply pass it on; share it with others and hear what they say. See if their reaction is similar to yours.

The following is a piece of correspondence that was shared with me by a fellow writer at the Barbados Advocate who also was floored by the sincerity and forthrightness of the author, whom none of us knew and who, to this day, remains anonymous. It does not matter who the author was, what matters is that out there in Bajan country, are persons who are sitting up and taking note of the downward spiral in Barbados journalism.

Dear Reader, I shall share the contents of the correspondence, which came in the form of a Letter to the Editor, and offer no further comment…at this time.

Dear Editor:

Thank you for preserving the dignity of the Prime Minister at this most distressing time.

While your neighbour and competitor seem to thrive on classless, insensitive journalism I want to encourage you to continue to take the high road. Less than twenty-four hours after our Prime Minister did what none of us would ever wished to be faced with, the electronic edition of the Nation Newspaper launched an opinion poll which posed the question, and I will paraphrase – Should the Prime Minister reveal to the nation the nature of his illness?.

What I wonder has informed this question. Is it not enough that he has told us that he is ill – so ill in fact that he has asked us to continue to pray for him and craved our forbearance while he attends to his health? I emphasize ‘continue’ because I know as a people we Barbadians always pray for our leaders.

Does the public’s right to know trump a fellow human being’s right to dignity – even if he happens to be the Prime Minister? If we find out the detail of what ails him will that change the course of the events that have unfolded so far? Is it that we wish to ascertain whether the illness that has stricken our Prime Minister is contagious so that it is in the nature of a threat to public health? I think not? What will we be asking for next – what medication he is on or what diet has he been following?

We must resist the unfortunate human condition which tends to gossip. I would expect our media houses should feel a sense of responsibility in making sure that while they fearlessly and impartially report the news they do not lower our common standards of decency and propriety which I hope we still hold dear.

Unfortunately, the Internet poll was one of three offerings from the Nation which I found particularly distasteful. The second was the image of the PM on the front page. Again, whether or not his current state was plastered on the front of today’s paper, the revelation of him handing over the reins of government to his deputy is already newsworthy. This is not a question of the public’s right to know – we know – PM Thompson laid bare his condition on television just the night before.

The dignity of the man, as husband, father and leader of this nation is what is at stake. Why can we not use the ‘official’ photos of our Prime Minister even now? Do you think we will forget that he is not well?

Equally disingenuous to both the Prime Minister and his Deputy – at least in my view – was the cartoon depicting the PM taking a step down and his seemingly gleeful Deputy stepping up to the top tier of a podium. How absolutely uncalled for! Has the Attorney-General won some hard-fought prize? Has he ousted his colleague and leader from power? Absolutely not! This is not a power struggle that has been determined.

I sincerely hope that this brand of journalism is not in an effort to boost sales. I expect it is not a secret that the Nation’s current circulation is enviable. Can we please put ourselves in the PM’s shoes and follow the oldest maxim – love one another as God loves us. In our speech, in our actions and especially in our reporting let us treat our Prime Minister as we would wish to be treated – especially in this time of illness.

Congratulations Mr. Editor in handling the Prime Minister and your readership with the dignity and respect we deserve.

Dear Reader, what can I say? I do not propose further comment at this stage…but, rest assured, further comment will come! The backdrop to the foregoing will be shared with all Barbados…in the fullness of time.

But I find myself humming to the strains of one of Mighty Gabby’s classics: One Day Coming Soon…the people will wake up!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

330 responses to “Points To Ponder”

1. Have to admit BU is in the camp which says the PM should be allowed to use his best judgment. Barbados is a small society and the balance between disclosure and privacy must be weighed. We have these journalists who are indoctrinated by North American ways of doing things and as usual without any deep thought they will try to foster their opinions oftentimes on an unsuspecting public.

Where were these journalists when former PM conceived a child while still married? Where are these journalists when the whole of Barbados know the corrupt lifestyle which many of our past and existing leaders have engaged and are still engaging? The hypocrisy!

The PM sits in a cabinet and we have to trust the system that if his colleagues believe he is sick or unfit to lead they would collaborate and come to the right decision. To prove the point PM Thompson has taken 2 months leave which is unprecedented. All of a sudden we have Julius Gittens et al who were silent as church mice in the Arthur era being so strident on this matter. Why have we not heard the same from them (journalists) calling for the implementation of FOI or IL?

Also BU agrees with HH that the publishing of the PM’s close up photo was in bad taste by the Nation especially. What can one expect? This is the same paper who went ballistic at alleged interference by Henry in the Carol Martindale matter. Why are we not hearing the journalists asking for an update on that matter?

2. How can publication of an undoctored photograph be in bad taste? I agree though that the PM is entitled not to disclose the precise nature of his illness, even though he promised to.

3. Here is the picture in question, you decide.

4. He looks ill, but is he not? Is it doctored in any way? Was he not on TV similarly?

5. @Bagehot

Why did the Nation more than any of the others zoomed.

BU notes that we have had many significant stories when the PM should have been featured on the front page and he was not.

The Nation as usual is playing the ass* with this matter but you are correct there is nothing wrong technically with what they have done.

6. David
    I was taken aback when I saw this pic of Mr. Thompson too. These bitches took particular pains to make sure that they got the best ‘worst’ looking shot to publish. Look, life is a mystery. Today you could be in the pink of health and in the twinkling of an eye, a sickness hit ya and ya in duck’s guts.
    It would appear as though they’re rejoicing. But no man knoweth not when his moment in time will be so Mr. Nation News, have your fun. For now.

Owen breed he secretary apparently while she was taking he DICKtation, to quote Carson C and not a whisper from a boy. Next baby ‘still-born’ and what a fan-fare. Dese tings make me feel like doing sumting very, very WICKEDDDD.

7. David
    Doan mind dah puff a win Bagehot. De pic was in poor taste. We all know that he is ill but they went full-mileage to mek sure dem zoom in ta de fullest to get de exact effect. Sorrry pack a bitches man. Sickness is nothing to prance up pun. Today fa me, tamorr fa you. Plain n simple. Ef it was Owen I would feel de same even though………

8. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

David every single word you and Hartley have written are 100 % honest and truthful.

The Nation has been on the campaign trail in support of their party led by Sir Fred Gollop from the day the BLP were evicted and kicked out from office.

I have often said my way of dealing with them would at an advertising level but to credit of The Prime Minister The Hon Mr David Thompson MP QC he has held the high ground on this matter and said it is not his intention to hurt anyone from the position in which he sits, so I have to abide by his honourable wishes but trust me were the Nation to have been a DLP manipulated and managed paper it would not have lasted under either Owing nor Muttley.

I always remember her warning to us when the contractors met with her about the number of Chinese workers on site at the Four Seasons project, her warning then was that you better tow the line or expect a VAT and a TAX Audit coming your way if you rock the boat.

That comment just about sums up how willing these people in the BLP were to abuse power to subdue the voices of honest Barbadians ( more than I can say for all of them in the BLP as none of them with maybe one exception knew anything about honesty ) in their quest to control power and thinking in this great island Barbados.

9. Straight talk Avatar

Are you saying a Tax/VAT audit is unfair?

Give us all a break WIV, we’ve all heard your empty accusations with none of the long promised legal actions from a supposed reforming government.

Admit it, you and your kind are the problem in Barbados, not the solution.

All the evidence you amassed and not a single prosecution.
    You and your party are a joke.
    Just stay away from public discussion, all long talk and absolutely no action.

Pathetic, but indicative of our state of governance.

Shame on you.

10. HH said “One day coming soon.” You are right. De people tired o wunna and wunna incompetence.
    Nothing wrong wid de Nation printing the picture. It created the sympathy that HH wanted to generate. Maybe his strategy backfired.

11. David // July 7, 2010 at 7:17 PM

@Tell Me Why

PM Thompson conferred full powers to Stuart which means Stuart had to shed the AG portfolio. When (if) Thompson comes back the situation can be reversed no? What is the big deal?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    David you haven’t answered my question. What position will Minister Stuart hold when the PM returns. However, I see no problem why the hush, hush about the Prime Minister’s illness. He’s a public figure ad people will be asking what’s wrong with my PM.

I know that I am going to get nuff licks, but I must speak out based on fairness. Supposed Mr X visited the doctor with serious stomach pains, the doctor will punch up his body to draw blood and send it to be analysed, he will also get a stool sample,
    a MRI., and all types of test. Within a few weeks Mr. X would be have been privileged to his exact illness. This is the reason why people are speculating and it will not stop until a defined prognosis is announced. If we want to be a first rated country, or communications must be on par like a first rated country.

What’s wrong with the picture. It would have been hypocritical to use an old picture with the story. Did you see the press conference on television?

So David, WIV, Hot Pepper et al., trying to hide reality under the carpet will do us no good, we will only create a bigger curious picture in the minds of the populace.

What I am seeing in the above posts are a concerted effort to create a gutter talk mentality about Owen and Mia etc. And David you enjoy that type of behaviour.

….and remember, PM Thompson is also my Prime Minister and I am also praying for him.

12. WIV says
    “But I find myself humming to the strains of one of Mighty Gabby’s classics: One Day Coming Soon…the people will wake up!”
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    So true. At last you are speaking the truth.

13. Just Wondering Avatar
    Just Wondering

I find nothing wrong or offensive with the photo recently published in The Nation or with their reporting on the Prime Minister’s illness. What I do find wrong and offensive is the apparent conspiracy on the part of CBC TV, The Advocate and others to keep the nation in ignorance and superstition about it. I cannot imagine anything like this ever happening in the USA or the UK post WWII.

14. I does got tuh laugh when I hear really obese people making comments about somebody sickness, as if they are not sick themselves.

15. Scuzzy thing to have done to have published that photo. Also, it is up to the PM when and if he tells the nation what is wrong with him. We must respect his right to privacy at what is, after all, a very difficult time for him and his family. We would expect no less for ourselves, so we cannot deny that right to him or anyone else. We are a democracy, not a dictatorship. The ship of state will carry on regardless and we know it. We are Bajans. We were raised with manners. Let us exhibit them.

16. Ah wonder who yuh talkin’ bout dat is obese. Surely not me.

17. 1) Such hypocrisy!! How did the Advocate treat the BLP when it was in power.

2) I will expose Hartley. Hartley you wrote that letter yourself. I have the proof. I keep telling your friends to tell you that dishonesty put you where you are today, on top, but it won’t keep you there. These manufactured propaganda tactics won’t last forever. People will see through them more and more each day, just like I saw through you and have the evidence that you wrote this letter and have someone submit it as they wrote it. (Don’t panic. Yes I met with the so-called author)

How dishonest can Hartley Henry get.

18. I agree with you Julius. Expose. As I read the article, it was clear to me that Hartley wrote it himself.

19. Things that make you go hmmmmmmm.

All of these people suddenly have voices!

Yawn!!!!

20. JC, You have never heard of the silent majority. If you think the people don’t recognise this nasty psychological ploy to extract every last piece of political sympathy out of the P.M’s illness, while at the same time trying to paint others as glorying in the unfortunate circumstances, think again.

In the meantime, the country’s business is taking a long slumber. A lot of cosmetic foolishness going on.

21. What a Moderator! Avatar
    What a Moderator!

Not directly related to the subject here, but I was just listening to host Tony Marshall, described by some as a top moderator.

Truly, this gentleman is so loutish and boring, and so full of himself, always trying to change people’s opinions without justification….just to make them match his. Another thing, he should practice giving callers the final word sometimes.

The man has overspent his time on radio. He feigns gentlemanly behaviour, but is often uncouth to callers. I suggest that VOB end this aberration inflicted on the people, or at least limit the public’s exposure.

22. What a Moderator (continued) Avatar
    What a Moderator (continued)

Oh I forgot to mention that Marshall so reminds me of Hartley. Both cut from the piece of cloth. VOB, take action, and I agree with the comment I saw back a while, that the acting P.M. should take the opportunity now available, and get the rid of Hartley.

23. Not exactly true that they are cut from the same cloth
    At least Marshall was good enough to rise at Barclays and to be elected President of the BCA.

To what office has HH ever been elected? What body did he ever rise through the ranks to lead.?

24. @Tell Me Why

We all know your aversion to deal with anything grey yet you hide behind generalities. Tell in detail what is it David likes.

25. It’s amazing to me Hartley, how The Advocate, the once venerable Old Lady, has so obviously and profoundly become the national mouth piece and wash rag of the DLP.

I wish I was the fly on the wall, so that I could find out what really happened that they completely lost their balance. Very unhealthy for journalism in Barbados I think.

I also know that CBC was mostly Gov’t biased for donkey years, but never in its existence have I witnessed such outright and plainfaced political prostitution as what is being exhibited in the Pine right now.

Everynight, a parade of ministers talking nothing of consequence, and interspersed by the spinner and obviously biased political analyst Wickum.

Oh the things that Bajans accept and put up with.

Is Parris still in charge there? If he is, is not his position there

26. untenable?

27. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

The photo of the Prime Minister came as a complete shock to me it moved me to tears and sent me on my knees to earnestly pray for his recovery.Even though I admit I didn’t like it, the truth hurts so seeing it was really an eye-opener for lots of people. What I thought was in bad taste, was the picture of him taken earlier that was hung on the wall behind the chair he was sitting in. It seemed as though the photographer wanted to compare him now and him past, there was no need for that . Does the DLP have a PRO if this is so how could they allow that particular photo to be published.
    Hartley Henry could really stop writing these letters himself. It’s becoming a bit boring now

28. Can we please put ourselves in the PM’s shoes and follow the oldest maxim – love one another as God loves us. In our speech, in our actions and especially in our reporting let us treat our Prime Minister as we would wish to be treated.
    Quoted by Hartley Henry.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Do as I say and not as I do. The above is the biggest joke since sweet bread made with coconut. The last Prime Minister was and still is the most abused PM of all times. If it is not about his (all alleged) love for Caucasian rum, it is his sleeping with his secretary or his cussing people at nights or his past marriage or the myriad of negatives by known operatives. Did you HH thought about any respect for a Prime Minister? Oh thou hypocrite.

29. We all know your perversion to deal with anything grey yet you hide behind generalities. Tell in detail what is it David likes.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Ha! HA! David.
    I can tell you without fail what my wife likes.

30. @Tell Me Why

In the opinion of BU the most disrespected Prime Minister was Sir Lloyd. This was illustrated by the no-confidence motion which was eventually brought.

You haters of HH if you know who wrote the letter, why would you not come clean?

31. David you got it wrong. Arthur was and still is the most abused PM. Sandiford had softer language like ‘being stubborn’ , ‘talks slow’ and the likes

32. There are “times” when it is necessary to reach out to others, and our reach should be beyond politics, religion or ethnicity. Our reach should strip away what we see, hear or know about them, and see them naked as when they came into this world as human beings…because circumstances and compassion dictate that should be so.

If we cannot for one moment be less judgemental to our brothers, sisters and leaders who sought to lead us, “now” in their hour of need; then we do not deserve to be properly lead by anyone.

For my part if the situation was different and the person afflicted was Mia Mottley or Owen Arthur my sentiments would exactly be the same.

David Thompson is now first a husband, father and a son and most important a “man” everything else pales into insignificance…he deserves our love and compassion.

33. @TMW

You forgot errant school teacher.

34. Paige Thompson Avatar
    Paige Thompson

BU (David), didnt you see Julius came clean and gave you the answer? Julius said it was Hartley who wrote the letter. How much more clean you want him to come? It seems as if you are oblivious to the unscrupulous, dishonest, corrupt agenda of Mr Hartley Henry.

35. 1. Freedom of speech includes the press

2. Both the nation and advocate have sucked for years.

3. When you become a public figure all bets are off.

4. We are in a modern era of communication whether we like it or not.

Get off the dam high horse people…

36. No one has as yet responded to my statement this morning that Thompsom himself promised he would disclose the illness. No one forced him to say that.

37. Tony Marshall is the best moderator in de world. He and John Lovell up in day. De two a dem is to moderating what RPB is to Cropova.Widout dem de show ‘dead’. Just so.
    TONY MARSHALL, ya too sweet n frank n a no-nonsense person. Luv ya bad.

38. Bagehot
    Did he say WHEN he would disclose? You very anxious, wah happen? Whatever de illness, knowing what it is won’t make it any better or worse. Tek ya time. You beginning to sound sick too but in ya …………………………………..head. Tek um lite.

39. @Juluis

Talk is cheap ! Now show us the proof . I didn’t think so!

@TELL ME WHY

Sweet bread and coconut .that’s no joke. That is serious stuff. D’s and B’s agree on that.

40. @Bagehot

What difference does it make to you the nature of his illness are you in any position to cure what ails him? He is being surrounded by people who are supposed to know, and are doing whatever possible to take the best care of him. What de hell can you do for the PM expect what you are doing now. NOTHING!stupseeeeeee

41. Owen Arthur was sick morally. The PM is sick physically. Don’t you see the difference.

42. @Paige Thompson

Julius Gittens can confirm to our FB inbox if he was responsible for the comment above.

43. http://www.allvoices.com/news/5852071-bajan-pm-flies-out-for-cancer-treatment

The TrinidadExpress article of the 18 May 2010 has been removed from the web but there was another one, last Friday and I just can’ find it…

Freedom of which Press…

44. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

@BAFBFP
    Saw the Express article. Asked how it was that the Express published that story and no one here made any reference to it. Was asked if I was certain that was what the story said; went to show the person who asked the Express page; and …..it was gone!
    Yes! Freedom vanishes when we drop our guard!

45. Cuthbert Canecutter Avatar
    Cuthbert Canecutter

This bare nonsense, the public has every right to know what is wrong with Thompson, Henry is just trying to deflect his disastrous trip to Guyana to seduce their Opposition after advising said same Thompson to cast out all Demerara residents here in Bim! Henry is readying to leave a sinking ship and wants a gravy train to land on, but first he needs a stupid or willing sugar daddy/mummy – Henry makes folk on Nelson Street look saintly!

46. Dennis if you call me an Anti-American I gun shoot you…

47. But I whispering now to you Dennis so no one else could hear… which company you wuk fah again..?

48. @What A Moderator who wrote:

Not directly related to the subject here, but I was just listening to host Tony Marshall, described by some as a top moderator.

Truly, this gentleman is so loutish and boring, and so full of himself, always trying to change people’s opinions without justification….just to make them match his. Another thing, he should practice giving callers the final word sometimes.

The man has overspent his time on radio. He feigns gentlemanly behaviour, but is often uncouth to callers. I suggest that VOB end this aberration inflicted on the people, or at least limit the public’s exposure
    ===============================================================
    THANK YOU VERY MUCH. That is exactly opinion of Tony Marshall…he’s a real arrogant and unmannerly jackass. I’ve been tempted more than once to call in and tell him exactly what I think about him, and I just might do it one of these days…whether they cut me or not. He’s one obnoxious moderator.

49. BU Family

Please Please Please, I will drop my shorts please… run a vote on the above..run a poll. If TM gets ONE vote in favour, I will lose my shorts (ac you don’ get to vote…!)

50. @BAFBFP: “Please Please Please…

Please calm down…

We’re all being played.

We all know this.

(Don’t we?)