Surprisingly the story sparked by the Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA) decision to suspend Equestrian Natya Soodeem has generated a level of activity which is surprising. The BEA has a membership of about 110 members if we recall correctly from the BEA website before it went offline on Monday. BU must admit we find the current disagreement between the BEA and Natya Soodeem to be intriguing. When the dust settles on this issue we suspect there will be some takeaways for the general population.

So who are the people behind the Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA).  Here is what our research has turned up from multiple sources. The 2010 BEA Executive Committee consists of the following officers who are slated to serve for the next two years.

PRESIDENT:    Nicole Tull is a veterinarian who has been sitting for 2 years. She rides horses as a hobby.  Competed very little in her youth; once or twice as an adult.  Only rejoined the BEA a few years ago, attained the post of Vice-president last year.

VICE-PRESIDENT:    Mona Walker – she claims to have ridden horses in her childhood years; young daughter actively competes at riding school level at Big C Stables for Barbados. She held the public relations post last year, which explains why her daughter was featured constantly, some suggest a favourite.

TREASURER:     Monique Archer *(Bjerkham)* – competed in show jumping as a young teenager; rode at Trevena.  Father is one of the BEA’s past Presidents.  Stopped being a member and stopped show jumping for *many* years and rode polo.  Rejoined the BEA about 3 years ago.  Bought a horse, came 2nd in a FEI jumping show in 2008 although incurring a high number of faults, something like 32, Imported an expensive jumping horse believed to be from Sweden.

SECRETARY: Naomi Roachford – rode and taught mainly dressage , she has had many serious fall-outs within the association for many years and served on the BEA committee intermittently throughout the years.  Was quiet after the fiasco within the association at the AGM in 2005 for 2 years when she had the elections null and void Resurfaced as Monique’s show jumping coach; recently got her Level 1 FEI Coach Certificate. It is believed she is the one who runs the BEA.

Other committee members are and sit for 1 year (but can run again):

SHOW JUMPING CHAIRPERSON: Diana Clarke – owner and coach of Big C Stables; the most experienced on this present committee; also the President of the Caribbean Equestrian Association (CEA) which organizes competitions annually between the islands for riding school level children under 17.

DRESSAGE CHAIRPERSON: Tove McIntyre (nee Roachford, Naomi’s sister) – a past serious dressage competitor, competed on the Barbados Dressage Team at the Pan Am Games in Dominican Republic.  Has not competed in several years.

RIDERS REP: Ian Proverbs – does not ride; attempted to have his first riding lessons last year and did not continue.  Both daughters ride and do some riding school level competitions.

PUBLIC RELATIONS: Ricardo Skeete – rode for many years with the Roachford family (Caribbean Riding Centre aka CIRC).  A nice guy, but easily led, has not competed in years.  Never made it past the lowest level of dressage.  Works with horticulture.  Had dreams of becoming an Olympian; gets very agitated that ‘rich’ people only get to make it to the games.  Don’t mind he doesn’t ride anymore, he was still going to the Olympics.

Adriana King: early 20’s; student of Big C stables; competed in both dressage and show jumping at riding school level & CEA until out of the age bracket.  1st time on committee.

SHOW CO-ORDINATORS: Angelique Bjerkhamn (Monique’s sister); like her sister, competed as a teenager and stopped being a member and rode polo.  Rejoined the BEA at the 2008 AGM.

Mike West – English gentleman whose wife and children ride and compete.  They were based here for the wife’s work.  Apparently moving back to England this summer.  We heard that he resigned since January from the committee but the members have not been notified!

BU looks forward to a positive outcome to the discussions!

119 responses to “Looking Behind The Barbados Equestrian Association”

1. I think a Bjerkhamn musee involved somewhere in this. Them don’t like to compete…………………………most of them believe them got a God given right to sucess but not to have to compete and work for it.

2. Masta Rasta // June 17, 2010 at 3:23 PM. Not just they, bro. Most people. But you know what? People compete and at some stage they will have to compete and against people who have had to compete all their lives. They will not do so well then. What is theirs today will belong to others tomorrow. Remember when cars were only owned by the select few? Look now. Throughout history equality has been happening – slowly – but it has been getting more rapid. So, let them hold on to their advantage now. They cannot keep it. Time and progress are their enemies. Today, equestrian sports are the province of the few. Tomorrow, they will be the province of the talented. Miss Soodeen is, I believe, if Indian extraction. And she is Bajan.

By the way, I read a comment that said she was “domiciled” in Germany. My unashamedly legal mind wants to make the point that although she may be resident in Germany, her domicile is not necessarily Germany and it is her domicile, not her residency, that counts. Without going into it in depth, the residency only means that she LIVES in Germany……and Bajans live all over the world, but most are domiciled in Barbados. Garry Sobers lived in Australia for a while. Now, is there a single living (or dead) Bajan who would have dreamed of calling him an Australian because he resided there? Same thing with Miss Soodeen. She is one of our sporting stars……and should be treated as such, whatever her ethnic background.

3. @Bonny. No. Front door. But with SPURS!

4. I read that BEA has a membership of about 100 or so. Therefore, I have to ask if it makes any sense at all that about 100 people and their executive should have the right to rule on who represents 270,000 Bajans internationally? Especially when that person is acknowledged internationally. Seems to me like the tail wagging the dog. What does the BU family think?

5. @Hopi (alleged to be an imposter by Hopi (but since this is an anonymous blog, who the hell can tell?)): “Does anyone still believe that the SH(wh)ITE MAN was first on the moon?

All the available empirical evidence supports that position.

Do you (whichever Hopi) have any empirical evidence to support your argument and your position that this is not true?

Please trust me… I (and *many others*) would be *very* interested in any hard evidence you have to present supporting your above claims….

6. Amused // June 17, 2010 at 4:24 PM please read what you wrote, your position is quite weak with that argument and you know it 270,000 are not members of the association the Association is the ruling body for the sport in Barbados…
    man you letting Bonny Peppa confuse you with pending excitement….. be careful you action does not have premature results

7. @All…

But let’s fast forward to the present, shall we?

What colour of skin will be the human who is most likely to *next* step foot on the moon?

Hint: The odds are they won’t be either white or black, FWTW….

8. There is an imposter.

9. @Hopi: “There is much evidence that the Black man was first on the moon. Look at the ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs. Read Ezekial.

So, from this then, it might be argued that we humans have been visiting our moon, other planets, other solar systems, and distant galaxies, for quite some time. (Asimov, Roddenberry, Straczynski et al.)

So if I may please rephrase my above question…

Ignoring the past, who is most likely to first take advantage of extraterrestrial (read: not of this earth) resources in our collective near future?

10. LOOK, SOMEBODY USIN MY NAME. DERE’S ONLY ONE BONNY; ANY OTHA IS COUNTERFEIT. E.G: BONNY @ 4:03, BONNY @ 4:26 AND AT 4:46. DEM BONNYS IS IMPOSTERS AND SHOULD BE CHARGED AS SUCH BY DE BU PALICE.

CALLIN 911, CALLIN 911. CUM TA MY ASSISTANCE QUICK.

DAVID, YA GOT TA XPOSE DESE SHEEPS IN WOLFES CLOTHES.

11. @XYZ. Please. Where did I write that the membership of your pathetic BEA was 270,000? Let me explain this as simply as possible so that ever YOU, the publicist for the BEA, can understand.

1. The BEA is alleged to have a mebership of under 200.

2. The population of Barbados is 270,000 or thereabouts.

3. Natya has proved herself in the last year alone in international competitions in show jumping the standard of which is WAY above that of the BEA and thereby has reflected credit and glory on Barbados, which she represents. She is, simply, one of the major international contenders.

4. Despite that, she is required, in order to represent Barbados, to “qualify” over derisory courses in Barbados, in order to qualify her to represent Barbados internationally over major international courses. Instead of the BEA giving recognition to her status internationally, it has insisted on this complete waste of time the only benefit of which is to pander to the egos of the BEA – and she agreed. Now the BEA says she had not qualified according to its infantile standards and seeks to suspend her and ban her from representing Barbados and continuing to reflect credit and glory on Barbados.

So just who exactly is the BEA proposing to send to represent Barbados? No! Don’t tell us. Let us guess.

So, my point is, how (to use your word) DARE the BEA and its 100 or so membership try to prevent Natya from rcontinuing to reflect credit and glory on Barbados and its 270,000 other citizens? Just who do you people think you are?

Is that clear enough for you? If not, please don your spurs, leave your pestle at home because if you get lucky one (or maybe more) will be supplied, meet us all in the Carlyle carpark and BROADEN YOUR HORIZONS or whatever…..or at least allow them to be broadened for you. Not by me, as I am spoken for, but there must be a volunteer or two.

And you have any snuff, bring it along. Along with my hip flask, which is missing and which you seem to have personal knowledge of. Remember to fill the flask with Bailley’s. Deeply appreciated. Later.

12. @Bonny. You got to ask yourself what we done to deserve people like XYZ. Bottom (no pun) of the barrell, not only alphabetically. Or in the words of that old song, “Roll out the barrell” Trouble is it will not be a “barrell of fun”. Or even Bailley’s. More like the type of milk that the French call “Ecremee” and probably pasturised and homoginized (I dare not refer to it as “homo”) as well. Not straight from the source at all.

Pinch of snuff, dust of nutmeg, bottle (since XYZ got my flask) of Bailley’s, whip and spurs okay with you? If so, girl, TALLY HO!!!!

13. Many erroneous comments have been directed at people in the sport under discussion. All it calls for is a little resource. For example what about Natya’s Pan Am performance, see document attached from a BU source.

14. Check her 2007 performance

15. Sandra should have that too

16. @david 2

Please email it!

17. What is about 2007 performance?

What is the relevance to the suspension matter?

18. @ Amused
    “So, my point is, how (to use your word) DARE the BEA and its 100 or so membership try to prevent Natya …..”
    *************************************************************************************************
    The reality is that for all internationally recognized sports, the recognized local governing body is THE FINAL authority that decides who represent that jurisdiction.

We can all complain about HOW they make their various decisions, and it is true that they are not above the Law – but is is very difficult to argue against arbitrary sport ‘rules’ and policies in court. In fact I suspect that one would have to prove that the authority broke its OWN rules.

How do you legislate things like selection policies? often it is left totally to a selectors discretion …..

If therefore they make a rule that says that in order to qualify, a rider must participate in the president pet fund-raising event (just an example….) and the top rider chose not to do so – then their dog dead….
    …did something like this not end Desmond Haynes’ career in test cricket?

Bush Tea is willing to bet that if you choose ANY sport in Barbados you will find a similar feud ongoing. Cricket and football are notorious, but almost every one is an ongoing litany of bickering, wrangling and even lawsuits…..
    …hell, the national sports council was just in a big high court case…

19. @Amused ‘Pinch of snuff, dust of nutmeg, bottle (since XYZ got my flask) of Bailley’s, whip and spurs okay with you’

All of them ingredientz sounds like Macbeth tuh me. You is a wizard?

Cauldron boil and bubble….there to meet with Peppa….

But seriously, a woman in tights and boots….lawdy……everyman dream deng!

20. @Bonny, my BP is as black as the oil that the other BP is pumping into the Gulf.

21. Bosun
    Ya,ya,ya, yaaaaaaaaaaa, got ma stammerin. Lawddddddddd, a black BP fa Bonny Peppa (BP) ta have n hold. Cum, I reddy.

22. Unfortunately as we have been seeing more and more this matter seems to be headed to the Courts. What a waste of resources which could be used to fund the sport. As usual the lawyers will have the last laugh.

23. lickin my mout Avatar
    lickin my mout

@ bush tea

i dont tink you right, final authority wha? now you got dem feeling like Gods….

@ David 2

wha performance fu 2007? did she not perform den?
    de suspense killin mu .please tell it like it is…give we de scoop

24. What a joke you are LMM

25. @ Lickin my mout
    i dont tink you right, final authority wha?
    Wait skippa, you related to MME? he never think BT right neither LOL!!
    …anyhow you aint got no chance here LMM.
    BT right!

26. lickin my mout Avatar
    lickin my mout

we will wait and see den..if we ever hear sumting

27. UNITY

let’s talk. Did not make fun at you, not my intention anyway. You got caught in the cross fire

28. Bonny

Yaba daba…. Bonny I in luv…

29. @David. Sad it should be headed to the courts. As you say, only the lawyers will benefit. I fear also the BEA will lose, one way or another. Most countries and cultures oppose monopolies and this looks to me like being one such. It is not like cricket which is essentially a team sport. It is like tennis – a sport primarily for the individual. Therein, I suspect, lies the downfall of the BEA – a downfall they will have richly deserved.

We have been told the number of members of the BEA. By way of comparison, I would like to know the numbers of its precursor and the founding organisation of show jumping in Barbados, the Barbados Show Jumping Federation. It certainly seemed to me, way back when, that there were more members 40 years ago than there are now. Certainly there were a great many more spectators.

Anyway, David, I am sorry to see that this is yet another matter over a truly talented athlete that is headed to the courts due to the overweaning egos of the sports untalented executive. As I said before, it is the tail wagging the dog. It is my sincerest hope that Natya beats the daylights out of them.

@Iain Deane. Any thoughts or information to share on this?

30. Amused, I have no information on the inner workings of the BEA. Apart from the fact that I do not live in Barbados and, even when I did live in Barbados (from 1994 to 2001) I did not involve myself. Mainly because of the apparent lack of progress. I have continued to follow show jumping through the years, but until the advent of Miss Soodeen, was not conscious of anything from Barbados to spark my interest. It seems from what David says that that this interest will now move from the actual practice of the sport itself to the law courts, at least as far as Barbados is concerned. This is regrettable, but what can you do.

As for the size of the membership of the BSJF, I really do not remember. I was never really involved in the running of the BSJF. I have never been a member of the BEA and I can truthfully say I do not know any of the people who run it, except for Neil Clarke’s wife, Di Clarke, and her only very slightly. My interest in equestrian sports in Barbados is restricted to racing and polo, both of which have experienced considerable growth and international recognition over the last 40 years, unlike show jumping. I envy my father in that he, along with Henry Arthur and Victor Weeks, was one of the post-war founders of the polo club and has had the pleasure of seeing it go from strength to strength. I was one of the founders of show jumping and have seen the reverse in that sport.

In England, I follow show jumping. In fact, I live quite close to Hickstead and I am in touch with many of the people with whom I used to compete. I am also in touch with many of my fellow competitors in Barbados, none of whom seem to have much interest in the BEA either. You can infer what you wish from that.

I do recall that when I was competing in Barbados, we mostly competed at Holders on a ground adjoining the polo field that had been constructed (minus the famous bank) on the model of Hickstead, except that the water jump was in a different place. I recall that the larger shows always boasted the attendance of the Police Band and many other attractions (like considerably larger courses) as well as other attractions like carriages etc. I also recall that there were large crowds. I have no idea how many of these were BSJF members. I also note that there used to be at LEAST three heavily patronised bars and, contrary to the un-Bajan and puritanical notions of XYZ, these have not in any way adversely affected those children (now adults) whose parents patronized them. Also, as the concessions were owned by the BSJF, they contributed significantly to the BSJF coffers.

Some of these other attractions, like pop groups, subsequently performed at Hickstead before people like the Duke of Edinburgh. And so show jumping, in my day, provided international exposure for Barbados to more than just show jumping. That no longer seems to happen and, like show jumping itself, it all seems to have been reduced, rather than, like polo and racing, experiencing growth. As a theatrical producer, I can say that to attract an audience, you have to give them a spectacle. I see no spectacle in jumping shows in Barbados today. Just the reverse…….boredom predominates.

Would I be prepared to assist and promote the BEA in its present form? Absolutely not. Would I be prepared to assist and promote a talent of the calibre of Miss Soodeen? Absolutely!

And I agree with your concept that if a rider of Miss Soodeen’s ability is held back, then the whole system looks, as you have said, like if the tail is wagging the dog. I have no idea if Miss Soodeen can enter these competitions as an independent. The whole structure of shows has altered since my day when one could compete in a CHIO (Concours Hippique Internationale Officiale), except for the team events (the Prix des Nations) as individuals. I remember that Canada did not field teams at many of the European shows, but riders like Gail Ross competed individually (but were recognised by the shows as being Canadian etc.) Indeed, many British riders, during my time on the British circuit, competed as individuals, from which the four team members were chosen for the Prix des Nations. I really do not know what options are available to Miss Soodeen today.

However, I take your point that there is something basically wrong if any organization with a membership of just a couple of hundred people (at best) can prejudice the positive publicity that Barbados receives and has been receiving, by having a rider of the calibre of Miss Soodeen compete in its name. What is even more dismaying is the delay in putting its case and minutes before us. This is not a corporation, but a miniscule sporting association that has come in for serious flack. If complete transparency is not practiced, then they could as well shut up shop.

I also want to know about the appeals process. What right of appeal does Miss Soodeen have? At the Turf Club, an appeal is heard by a committee that comprises senior members of the judiciary and at least one queens council. It is they who interpret the rules and give a decision. In this way the matter is not referred to the courts. I see no similar mechanism here. Why not? In these days of alternative dispute resolution, why has Miss Soodeen not been offered the right of appeal to an agreed panel of legal experts to whom she and the BEA can put their case? Surely a swiftly convened and executed arbitration like this would be the answer. I refuse to believe that such a panel cannot be convened within, at the maximum, one week and I can assure you that its decision would be immediate…..and the problem would be solved one way or another.

31. Mr Deane,

The National Sports Council has or used to offer an athlete a chance to sit before a panel. I am
    Not sure if today that is still on offer.
    Every other competition in the world, when sending out their invitions for particular event, will list a disciplanry committee.
    This of course is put in place for these very situations.
    Each Association be it USEF, EQUINE CANADA, has within its committee members stewards, legal depts, displinary
    Departments. It would be the hope, whatever the outcome here, that this can happen within the BEA.

Unfortunately in my mind, the Association cannot continue with the Executive Committee at present. There is no trust, not that there has been any for sometime,
    If we are to go forward from here, transparancy, is paramount. It is obvious that this has been the downfall within this committee.

Soodeen has no options now to get to these games, that time has passed, and if this six month ban is upheld, she will not have
    The option to qualify for the Pan American games either as the are summer next year.

I cannot understand the complete lack of support shown to Miss Soodeen. Is this the course for other riders who will dare to do what she is attempting to do?
    I hope not. For we then may as well forget overseas competitions and just stick to the backyard shows that are offered here. The same ones that were offered to Miss Soodeen and others
    A few years back before she opted to go away to school and train.

32. concerned // June 20, 2010 at 6:53 AM. I know for a fact that the appeals process for the Barbados Turf Club involves a hearing before (certainly in 2009, which was my last exposure to such) a panel chaired by the Chief Justice and with attorneys that certainly comprised Mr. Vernon Smith Q.C. and, I speak under correction, Mr Stephen Walcott (who I also believe is a Q.C.). In my experience, a panel of such eminent legal people ensured that the appeal was heard within days of the appeal and a decision was given immediately the hearing concluded. Done and dusted within a maximum of 2 weeks and justice being both done and seen to have been done. I have no way of knowing for sure if the panel acted without fees, but that certainly was my impression.

I think I saw from the BEA website that at one time Sir Denys Williams chaired the BEA (although I have had problems accessing their website and so cannot confirm my impression). I would have thought that it would make sense for the BEA to set up an appeals panel and and approach Sir Denys and maybe a couple of other top lawyers to hear the appeal and give a ruling. As this is a sports-related matter involving an internationally recognised Barbadian show jumper whose entry and competition in major overseas competitions cannot but reflect credit on Barbados as a whole, I cannot conceive that any organisation that has at heart the advancement of both the sport and of Barbados as a contender in that sport, can fail to take such a simple remedial step. As one of the founders of show jumping in Barbados and as a former international show jumper, I urge them to do so.

I don’t know any of the members of the committee, except as I have already stated. So, I am unable to speak to their effectiveness as committee members, other than the fact that the sport has regressed and, until the advent of Miss Soodeen, Barbados had no identifiable international standing.

The whole issue is shrouded in what can only be described as seemingly arbitrary and unsatisfactory mystery. For the sake of the advancement of the sport that I, among others, started, the authorities that suspended Miss Soodeen have got to come clean. If they do not, show jumping will continue to be a backyard event. But it seems to me that the regression of the last 40 years suggests that it is as a backyard event that they wish to keep it. In which case, they ought to step away from all international affiliations. I look to them to prove me wrong. And if that is viewed as me being irresponsible, then I am unashamedly and unapologetically guilty.

33. Relying on our sources up to this morning the BEA had not seen it fit to issue a statement. Given the implications for the international equestrian rider Soodeem the inaction to date from the BEA leaves a lot to be desired.

34. I think a lot more will come out when this is finished. The BEA would want the best team to go forward, and if Miss Soodeen has not qualified to the standards set, why should she be eligible. That would be paramount to sending Ian Bourne to the Olympics to compete in something other than an eating competition.I believe in justice and if Miss Soodeen has been victimised I am sure it will come to the fore and if the BEA is wrong, then they will be sanctioned, but a lot of what I am reading seems to have come from sources other than the official ones, and you must remember that there are three sides to every story. The bio on Mona Walker at the top could not have been more unfair. Any one that knows Mona would kow that she will bend over backwards to help anyone.Period!!!!!

35. @Jonathan Simpson

Many of the anons commenting on this topic ARE members of the BEA. Stay tuned for more developments.

36. I see that both Iain Deane and his famous sister, Liz Deane, have signed the online petition. I think you can take it, Mr Simpson, that there are certain Bajans whose superior equestrian knowledge cannot be impeached or even questioned by any members of the BEA who support Natya. Do you wonder whay that would be?

37. Amused, your comments really are quite amusing.

38. Thundaheadley Avatar

Jonathan Simpson, you are no smaller than Ian Bourne so what did Bourne do you? everyone knows who ur father-in-law is and so you have to toe the line!

I realise when everyone attacks Bourne, the detractors go on about his size and not the matter, truth hurts?

This when so much can be said for Roy Morris or YOU and your own personal habits. All that’s on BEA news is how Kelsey Bayley gets to go to Youth Olympics – and this is over Emily Kinch who’s better qualified? Why don’t you open your mouth on that Simpson or are you too drunk again?

Then again Emily Kinch’s daddy cant dip his hand in the Polo Club’s till like Kelsey’s and build the CGI tower, or hold a charity auction to buy an Audi as a cheap set of wheels – eh, Brucie?

Btw, Brucie, stop begging Kranenburg for a piece of her pie when Liz is not around at polo games, everyone sees and it really looks desperate – yuh know?

39. @we all know who you are

The reality is this: there is a very small minority of BEA Members who their baggies bundled up over this. we all know each other very well. As such, we also know who is who, you guys are absolutely classless. Your children have some terrible role models to look at in you as parents and it is your children that you claim to be fighting for, whether CADI or YOG. Please take better care of them, you might have your laugh and someone else’s expense and hurt our children in the process. They will grow into adults and they will have the independence of their own perspective. How exactly do you think they will feel about this in the long run?You are throwing rocks while sitting in a glasshouse. Your opinions on the BEA its Executive Committee or personal individuals and their actions, does not exempt you from the fact that, integrity, sportsmanship and honesty are still the most important elements of any sport.

40. I heard a rumour that a certain very well known and publicized QC has been retained to go against the BEA. I agree with Mr. Deane on a suggested appeal process. Best do it now before the whole issue becomes very expensive indeed.

@David. Please keep us up to date. This is getting very interesting.

@ Thundaheadley. Now how could you accuse Jonathan of being fat and drunk? Don’t you know that his broadcasts at polo matches evoke many groans? Surely you do not imply that a man of his wit and brains doesn’t have the sense to realize if he is fat and drunk. Wash your mouth out at once – with XO.

41. @Jonathan Simpson,

What you have stood for in your writing above is understandable, BUT the problem is that there is no transparency.

Syaing that ‘if Miss Soodeen has been victimised I am sure it will come to the fore and if the BEA is wrong, then they will be sanctioned’ and ‘you must remember that there are three sides to every story’, is EXACTLY the issue, to wit, that aside from Ms.Soodeen’s (or those on her behalf) representation that she does not know why she has been suspended and further, that there seems to be confusion on the rules of selection, point to gross lack of transparency, which can only but cloud the issue and appear unfair, in the absence of explanation by the governing body.

My advice to the BEA administration is to, as Mr.Deane opined above, come clean as soon as possible, for a multitude of reasons, not least of which is the perception of the sport in the eyes of Barbadians and the future of the sport, if it ever is to seek Government assistance.

If however, the governing body sees it as an amateur club, that is fine, it may do as it wants, but, again as Mr.Deane wisely pointed out, it will stand to lose international recognition.

Sadly, it looks to be headed another way and having ‘transparency’ wrung out of organisation, is likely to be far less pleasant, for all.

Much better to be cooperative and open.

But, who could care less what I say, I ent nobody.

42. can anyone say if Soodeen has appealed this suspension, or just started as Ian Bourne said a Firestorm. If she hasn’t lodged an appeal, what is her game.

writers are throwing a lot of unfortunate insults back and forth but I have not heard a word from Soodeen, we have seen comments supposedly from her sister but where is her voice or that of her managers on these blogs.

Remember what E.W.Barrow said if you want justice stay out of Coldridge Street, as true today as it was then.

43. I am Fiona Kinch and I have been Manager/Agent for Natya Soodeen since January of this year.
    I have been following the blogs and am extremely sorry that so many people are hurling insults at each other the way they are.
    I have, althugh it has been difficult, stayed away from commenting on any of the blogs. Sometimes they are quite amusing but generally they are based on assumptions and not facts.
    I have commented today as someone has named my daughter as well as Kelsey Bayley. I dont see how any of what is happening with Natya could relate to the two of them. In reading that comment and a few others, bloggers have assumed they were writing to ‘me’ and they werent. I was and still am to a certain degree disappointed with the selection process for the Youth Olympics, and still to date many questions that I asked have been unanswered. But I think there should be no-one that can say I dont/didnt support Kelsey’s selection as I was very open in my requesting that all members should be rallying behind her when I was given a chance to speak at the last AGM. As far as Emily goes, I could not wish for better results than she is getting, she loves what she is doing and she certainly is excelling. I dont need that for my own glory as one blogger suggested.
    I like everyone else, do not know why Natya was suspended and like everyone I will wait. I am not sure what the blogger expects from Natya when they say they havent heard from her.

44. @Fiona Kinch. Finally a touch of class from the people most closely involved. Thank you for taking the high road. Well done.

I agree completely with Mr. Deane’s suggestion for arbitration and transparency. Let the light shine in. So, Mr Simpson, we wait now to hear the other two sides. But tell me. Why are they taking so LONG??!!

45. perhaps Mrs Kinch can advise if Soodeen has appealed her suspension?

46. Or even if there is an appeals process maybe. What is the point of appealing a suspension if there is nowhere to appeal it to – other than the law courts? So @?? just what is your point? Do you know if there is an appeal process? If so, enlighten us.

47. I would think that any suspension would have an appeal process… thats just logical.
    When my collegues at school ( I hasten to add not me) were threatened with suspension their parents were quick to be at the headmasters office to appeal/squash the decision.

I would hate to think that no attempt to appeal the suspension has been made to the BEA, thats puts a whole different light on the debate

48. @???With respect, different situation. This is an association, not a school. When parents went to the headmaster, they were asking him to reconsider his decision. They were not appealing the matter. An appeal would have had to have been carried out by a body above the headmaster. Like the Board of Governors or the courts.

The chair of the BEA conveyed on behalf of the committee the notice of suspension to Natya. You can hardly appeal to the very people who ordered your suspension in the first place. You need to appeal to a higher authority. In equestrian circles in Barbados, as had been pointed out by Mr. Deane, the most effective and TRANSPARENT system of appeal is provided by the Barbados Turf Club. I suppose this is because the money at stake is great and the BTC wishes to avoid expensive litigation through the courts by providing a quasi-judicial process. Whatever the reason, it works and is transparent and highly respected.

It is alleged that criteria required by the BEA was met by Natya in accordance with what the BEA informed Natya was needed. The BEA says it was not. Therefore it is necessary to have the matter adjudicated by an independent body since Natya’s and the BEA’s positions are mutually adversarial. In other words, Natya says she did as the BEA required and is prepared to provide the proof of that. The BEA says that she did not do as advised by it. So, how do you expect anyone to accept that any appeal decision given by the BEA would lack bias? The conflict of interest is clear.

Then too, I question the right in law of the BEA to determine who has the right to represent Barbados in the first place. It seems to these eyes that the BEA may well have usurped a right that it does not have any right in law to claim. In doing so, if I am right, it has placed itself in an untenable position and may well be liable for any losses that Natya has sustained. If Natya proves her case. If I am right.

What I am really confused about is that there is usually a discretionary right of organizations to recognise overseas results and confer on an individual the required qualification. This is so in all kinds of areas of life and professions. Given Natya’s undouted international status and accomplishments, I am confused as to why this has not been exercised by the BEA in respect of her.

Also, given the unacceptable delay by the BEA in making any statement, whether it be that they are reconsidering or stating their case for suspension, it looks as if they are feverishly rummaging around to manufacture an excuse that they think the public will buy.

I hope my thoughts will assist you.

49. i am still not sure I completely agree with you. You quote the BTC but deane himself suggested that appeals were to the BTC committee headed by lawyers/judges whom i presume are members of the BTC. I fail to see why she would not have written asking for a review of the suspension and a chance to be heard. What i have seen, an honestly I don’t know if Soodeen is one of the writers, is an emotional outburst fueled by many to inflame a situation.

Re the rightto represent I something over my head and i wont try to go there i do not know enough about it.

The last place for justice is the law courts and we all know this, maybe an arbiter can be assigned or something. The BEA obviously feels Soodeen has not qualified by not meeting whatever standard they set for the games, Soodeen says she has, we have a stalemate. i do not see how this would cause a suspension these has to be more to it… its not logical

50. Re the delay in answering, that is a concern.