Natya Soodeen

Why has the Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA) issued a Letter of Suspension to Natya Soodeen? According to reports Natya Soodeen is the first rider to represent Barbados in the sport. She represented Barbados at the Pan American Games in 1995. An interesting footnote to this developing story is the known fact that Soodeen has paid her way when selected to represent Barbados.

The question remains, why has the Barbados Equestrian Association turned its back on Natya Soodeen?

On the face of media reports Soodeen … until recently [has been] trying to qualify to represent Barbados at the up-coming CAC Games. The BEA kept changing the rules on Natya, and without any explanation sent a notice to all that Soodeen had not qualified. Soodeen and her managers had thought she HAD met all BEA criteria and would qualify.

All of Natya’s results submitted to the BEA were received from the official show office of each show (German National Shows) and printed with the German Federation stamp endorsing these results.

When contacted by the media Nicole Tull, president of the BEA declined to comment.

Why is it Barbados authorities always disrespect the Barbadian public by refusing to disclose pertinent information? This is a sports person who represented Barbados. She paid her way on those times she represented Barbados and deserves to know what she has done to have earned the cold shoulder of the BEA. We live in times when full disclosure must be par.

Although the equestrian sport is associated with the elite in Barbados it does not mean an apparent injustice to Soodeen should not be exposed. On behalf of Natya Soodeen we urge the BEA to do the right thing by communicating what rule she has run afoul of or if she failed to meet the qualifying standards to compete in the upcoming CAC Games.

Fair is fair!

198 responses to “Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA) Suspends Natya Soodeen”

1. @Neutral Nancy

Consider that they are some who want to bottle this matter.

How do you know the BEA has not been served with a legal notice on this matter?

This matter broke on Saturday on the Internet, it is Monday.

2. @David // June 15, 2010 at 11:14 PM: “This matter broke on Saturday on the Internet, it is Monday.

Ummmm… Sorry to break this to you, but it is currently Tuesday here in Barbados, about to become Wednesday…

It is not Monday anywhere in the world….

3. @ nancy the nuetral, seeing as you left off because 100 posts ago the bloggers repeated themselves, well it is just as well for nearly 100 posts now, we HAVE said the same thing. Soodeen HAS been suspended for NO apparent reason and she does not know what has warranted it. didn’t actually notice the copy and pasting. Some people are operating on the limited and muddled information, however, some actually arent. perhaps this is why some state the same thing over and over.
    @unity if it weren’t about Natya Soodeen we wouldn’t be here. Really do you think she should ‘blog’ about this? She is training as you say but unfortunately unable to show due to her suspension.
    @ anonymous….this is shite and we will hopefully know why it has happened,

4. Dave,

I really don’t know anything but what I read. I assumed if the BEA had been served with a legal notice it might have been mentioned that’s all.

I get that you seem to be very anti-BEA probably because you know more than I do.

But I ask you to consider that people may not all take your side right away. I’m not really the type to make quick judgments like that. I take my time.

And I definatley do agree that its fishy that this has been kept quiet but I am also a little bit skeptical that they would have suspended Soodeen for no reason. If they did then i will definately be outraged and share in your displeasure. It would be a terrible injustice that ought to get far more attention than this!

But you need to understand that, as it stands for me, I don’t know the exact details. I don’t know wheather it was jealous people on the committee that acted out of spite, I don’t know whether it is as some people have suggested Soodeen herself that is acting out of spite because she failed to qualify and has been suspended. I don’t know wheather she was given an opportunity to speak against the grounds on which she was suspended. And i don’t know anything about the laws governing the suspension of athletes to comment on whether the suspension was carried out Justly and in accordance with rules. I really know very little.

So i’m just waiting for the rest of the story. This is an issue of great importance and i’m sure that there will undoubtedly be some sort of comment released.

Until then I’m not sure what to think except that it looks like one hot mess at the moment.

Good night again all,
    (i mean it this time)

Nancy

5. well i am glad you are willing to wait on the facts, here’s hoping the BEA will reveal them, if they dont and I am sure there has been legal advice sought, then the Soodeen family will, I am sure reveal to all the contentious facts. For now, unlike the BEA did for NAtya, the Soodeens are giving BEA a ‘chance’ to come clean. And I think it shows that they have nothing to hide…no? perhaps the few bits of infor that have been circulated have only shown what they want you to see? that seems probable, thats why the few that are a bit in the dark are able to side with them.
    At the moment, it does not appear that there are many sporting organisations willing tostick their necks out and make a determination, which is a pity.
    For now we wait, have a good night’s sleep….123

6. @ puzzled….You use the word ratification……It stood out to me as it is often used by a few of the members of the BEA committee….hmmm!

7. I met Natya in a horse show in Germany , she is a very good horse rider , Decent , a great Ambassador to her country , i feel that this Site is very personal against Natya , and it feels to me like Anvie !!

8. ac

Do you also measure in hands..? Wow…

9. I can see little point with serving the BEA simply with legal notice. By the time the case comes to be heard, the competition that Miss Soodeen wishes to compete in will be long over.

HOWEVER, maybe Miss Soodeen should seek legal council on whether she could claim damages and, if so, how much. If the damages are likely to be substantial, maybe Miss Soodeen should then look into whether the committee and executive members of the BEA could be made personally liable for paying these damages.

Also, I see that it is suggested that Miss Soodeen relies on showjumping and horse-related bits as her profession. If her suspension by the BEA is groundless, it may also be defamation.

If it is advised that she has a case, then forget notice, simply sue the BEA.

However, that is all for a legal professional to determine, not an aged (although not 9 or yet 90 as XYZ seems to impute) itinerant former show-jumper turned producer/director like me. So, it is merely a suggestion.

10. It seems to me that there is much wisdom and insight in the following statement, made by “Puzzled”

“And all competitors, young children, administrators etc etc must learn that the truth…the WHOLE truth and nothing but the truth is what is expected at all times and in particular when submitting results to their local association for ratification for these international games.”

Herein appears to lie the rub. Right out of the horse’s mouth. Go figure.

11. Just wish the WHOLE truth would come from the BEA! as Administrators as it appears the Competitor has already submitted all of hers attaching websites, videos etc. It is interesting to note that of all the shows that this competitor attended and competed, just the ones which were unsuccessful were then chosen as approved qualifying shows!!!! hmmmmm

12. @Inkwell

As always your provocative comments fuel food for thought.

Perhaps you can explain why the BES Website was up and running as recent as Sunday nignt when BU checked it and now it is offline.

Things that make one go hmmmmm.

13. But 123, i didnt see the video with the elimination or the 34.5 faults, on you tube.. are they listed somewhere else?

14. David, don’t think you are right just visited the B.E.A website

15. @Oh my.
    The site is down. What you saw was a cached version.

16. @ hants… no sir its up

17. Hey David, is that the conspiracy theory or do you think the culprits put something on the website that proves beyond all doubt that the big powers just put their heads together a bit to quick and ended up with a booboo? That was quick thinking though to shut down the website, dont you think, because that changes everything!

@1,2-3, truth is not a word you use when it looks like it would fit well into a sentence, quite a few little and not so little birdies says that you may have found yourself in deep horse manure (the VERY GREEN fresh grass kind) more than once, gaining international recognition yourself! But hey, thats another story and who’s counting anyway eh?

Mr Deane, nothing personal, I do agree with you though, Ms Soodeen’s form and style is certainly first class, you guys may have been competing way up there, but haven’t seen any pretty pictures from way back when! I read that you are saying there are things in the petition that are incorrect, (Soodeen not being the first to compete internationally for one) thats good to know before signing, wouldn’t want to hop onto something with both feet and my big mouth to find out its full of holes! I think its good that veterans like yourself can give us a history lesson, albeit, history is just a report of an interpretation, and I have heard quite a few, Sammy Chandler have a lot to teach too! This I wonder, since you have to be affiliated to the International Federation in order to compete internationally (otherwise the competition is called an invitational meaning you invite those you want to come) and the BEA only affiliated in 1994, I must confess again, I’M CONFUSED!!

Hey David, is that a strategy you think employed but the non-culprits??

18. Don’t have a clue, David. I’m just an “onlooker”

19. No, the website is not up!

20. My name is Khaled , i am an international rider representing Egypt , last year during a horse show in Germany i met Natya , i must say a word of Honesty , She is a very good international rider with a lot of skills as well as talent , Natya is also a very decent person which makes her a great Ambassador to her country on both levels , sports and human level . I guess people only trow stones on fruitful trees !!!!

21. y’all better check your lime connection as the website is certainly up… not even sure why this is a discussion point however… David you started it why do you consider the fact the the site may have been down for a while as odd… BU has on occasion been down.. should something untoward be thought about that.

22. hello my name is Adolph, from Holland. I say Natya ride in a show in Germany recently and she was spectacular. her calm and composure after her fall was commendable

23. @ David – and all those others that are going ‘ hmmm ‘ to the B.E.A website…. perhaps updating it?! hmmm???? websites go down for technical reasons…. how many times has facebook sent you a message saying that they are currently updating their systems and update the link you want???.. think people think!!… why is it in human nature to always go to the negative reactions first?
    I preach again… no one except the B.E.A Exec and Natya… actually lets add in her managers this time…. no one other than those listed above know the real story…

So why doesn’t everyone stop rushing to conclusions..
    @ oh my! of course that is not on youtube… if you were a ‘professional’ horse rider and you racked up a cricket score would you put it on youtube?…

24. I agree but 123 said all was available? i was just asking. you think she could make the cricket team then?

25. @ oh my – Meaning 123 is a member, as am I…

I back the B.E.A 100%. There are no stable cliques…. there are those who have done wrong in the past.. you know who you are.. and have made it very uncomfortable for yourself…

Every show I have ever gone to, it seems that the stables help each other out, share jokes on and off horse back, and generally get along… so these ‘cliques’ do not make sense.

I received an email from the Exec with all of Natya’s results, every member did as we are supposed to by paying membership fees!!! Please all who want answers come and join the B.E.A feel free…. then you would get all of the results instead of guessing and listening to absolute bullshit talk….

26. You know what Anonymous, I’m starting to see your point. I think everyone should just hold their horses after all. Perhaps we might be jumping the gun, and the claims of victimisation might be unfounded after all.

I think i’m gonna wait to hear from the BEA

hmmmmm

27. @ Anonymous

By chance then did the BEA send out to it’s members the reason for Natya’s suspension?

28. no they didnt….nor have they sent out to members that recently an executive member has resigned.
    Also as criteria stated only videos of rounds succesful were to be sent..
    please join the association and see for yourself.

29. @ anonymous –

I as a member have yet to receive anything re- suspension.

But I know the people on the Exec, and they are all hard working people, and we need to remember that the Exec are people who volunteer to do this, this is not their job that pays bills.

I am sure the truth will come out in time….

30. @ 123.

You are giving false information to non-members, NO WHERE in the criteria does it state only successful rounds, it says ALL results and all rounds are to be sent.

Did she send all results? If we have not seen the videos of her cricket scores on youtube, did she not send those in to the B.E.A?
    These are questions to be asked as THESE are the issues that can be brought up under her discrepancies …. if she was told ALL must be submitted, and she did not do so, this, in my opinion is trying to cheat the system.

31. @ Anonymous

Okay, I was just wondering if the members were privy to the reasons behind the suspension as it’s clear from this blog that Natya is not.

I can not speak for Natya, or anyone else on here for that matter, however had I received a suspension for reasons unknown, I think I too would feel as she does. Wouldn’t you? Should the reason not have been stated?

I anxiously await the truth….

32. Somehow I feel that this thread is best suited for BFP. It feel BFPish… Man David you converting this site or whah…?

33. Is it possible to see the CAC games qualification criteria?

34. Ususally these things are only available to members.

But you can check the website..

http://www.barbadosequestrian.com

35. Alas, I can’t get on the website! It appears to be down at the moment…..

36. Hey David, is that the conspiracy theory or do you think the culprits put something on the website that proves beyond all doubt that the big powers just put their heads together a bit to quick and ended up with a booboo? That was quick thinking though to shut down the website, dont you think, because that changes everything!

@1,2-3, truth is not a word you use when it looks like it would fit well into a sentence, quite a few little and not so little birdies says that you may have found yourself in deep horse manure (the VERY GREEN fresh grass kind) more than once, gaining international recognition yourself! But hey, thats another story and who’s counting anyway eh?

37. Mr Deane, nothing personal, I do agree with you though, Ms Soodeen’s form and style is certainly first class, you guys may have been competing way up there, but haven’t seen any pretty pictures from way back when! I read that you are saying there are things in the petition that are incorrect, (Soodeen not being the first to compete internationally for one) thats good to know before signing, wouldn’t want to hop onto something with both feet and my big mouth to find out its full of holes! I think its good that veterans like yourself can give us a history lesson, albeit, history is just a report of an interpretation, and I have heard quite a few, Sammy Chandler have a lot to teach too! This I wonder, since you have to be affiliated to the International Federation in order to compete internationally (otherwise the competition is called an invitational meaning you invite those you want to come) and the BEA only affiliated in 1994, I must confess again, I’M CONFUSED!!

38. Mr Deane, nothing personal, I do agree with you though, Ms Soodeen’s form and style is certainly first class, you guys may have been competing way up there, but haven’t seen any pretty pictures from way back when! I read that you are saying there are things in the petition that are incorrect, (Soodeen not being the first to compete internationally for one) thats good to know before signing, wouldn’t want to hop onto something with both feet and my big mouth to find out its full of holes! I think its good that veterans like yourself can give us a history lesson, albeit, history is just a report of an interpretation, and I have heard quite a few, Sammy Chandler have a lot to teach too! This I wonder, since you have to be affiliated to the International Federation in order to compete internationally (otherwise the competition is called an invitational meaning you invite those you want to come) and the BEA only affiliated in 1994, I must confess again, I’M CONFUSED!!

39. nor I but of course I am but a mere twat…

40. Straight talk Avatar

Natya, domiciled in Germany , believes her results in competition merit support the of the BEA.
    Unfortunately the committee responsible for selection seem to disagree, she fails the required standard to represent Barbados.
    The key to this whole debacle is not Natya, but who will be nominated as Barbados’ evetual representative and how exactly did they qualify above Natya’s results?
    I know nothing, and do not care to know, the internal wranglings of the BEA.
    But speaking as someone who has only ridden a horse three times and always scared s**tless, eventual selection will indicate what this whole non-story is about.

I suspect power and glory, but little success.

41. This is a matter that many people clearly feel strongly about, and that is as it should be, if we perceive a grave injustice is being done. At the end of the day, it seems that if the BEA were proceeding in a correct and proper fashion, there should be documentation to back up their decision; and any decent professional organisation should more than pleased to come forward, clear their name and provide the obviously concerned public with that information.

What concerns me is that the whole basically reeks of improper and unprofessional conduct. And this isn’t the first time that I have seen this sort of conduct here in Barbados…whether the organisation is a school, a bank, a sport association, whatever, there desperately needs to be a climate of professionalism, transparency and common decency that will allow us to compete on a truly international footing. Too often little cliques, drunk on their perceived power, choose to flex their ‘muscle’ in a strangely irrational and improper way. WHY? Come on people, grow up! Power and glory does not come from being a big frog in a small pond; it comes from competing in a sporting manner on a level, international field. Then you can be truly proud of your and your countries’ achievements.

This has been simmering for days and I really hope that the BEA will see fit to conduct some desperately needed ‘housekeeping’, clear up the mess and look to move forward in an open and professional manner, and allow a highly regarded, international athlete to get back to what she does best.

42. @unity
    think you might have the wrong person in mind which of course is the intention when writing these blogs…ha ha
    obviously though you have something against canadians with your last word in sentence (eh?)

43. @123 an exec member resigned? Who might that be.

44. Never before have we seen so many privileged white Bajans on BU over an issue which is comparatively trivial. since it involves one sportswoman who has not been selected on a national team- an event that occurs every year throughout the year.

What is nice, however, is that all the whites posting on BU on this matter are displaying an IQ much higher than the resident jackass on BU – one Christopher Halsall.

I am happy to know that white Bajans are not quite as stupid as Halsall. Hurray!

45. @ Anon

It that really necessary and what does it prove you are?

46. Wait a minute. 123 says an exec member resigned. Does that mean that 123 is really an insider, and member of the same exec committee they criticise.
    Now that’s interesting…. Come clean 123 are you a turncoat.

47. lickin my mout Avatar
    lickin my mout

so wayt…you feel de body dat left dese peepl pun dum hi horsis is a mute? you doan feel de body dun tel nuff peepl. yu mekkin muh laff fuh trute.
    i feel de music dat did play wen dat big shark was cumming in de movie jarws shud be playin right about now.
    dunudunudu….attack

48. Further comments can be posted here.