Natya Soodeen

Why has the Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA) issued a Letter of Suspension to Natya Soodeen? According to reports Natya Soodeen is the first rider to represent Barbados in the sport. She represented Barbados at the Pan American Games in 1995. An interesting footnote to this developing story is the known fact that Soodeen has paid her way when selected to represent Barbados.

The question remains, why has the Barbados Equestrian Association turned its back on Natya Soodeen?

On the face of media reports Soodeen … until recently [has been] trying to qualify to represent Barbados at the up-coming CAC Games. The BEA kept changing the rules on Natya, and without any explanation sent a notice to all that Soodeen had not qualified. Soodeen and her managers had thought she HAD met all BEA criteria and would qualify.

All of Natya’s results submitted to the BEA were received from the official show office of each show (German National Shows) and printed with the German Federation stamp endorsing these results.

When contacted by the media Nicole Tull, president of the BEA declined to comment.

Why is it Barbados authorities always disrespect the Barbadian public by refusing to disclose pertinent information? This is a sports person who represented Barbados. She paid her way on those times she represented Barbados and deserves to know what she has done to have earned the cold shoulder of the BEA. We live in times when full disclosure must be par.

Although the equestrian sport is associated with the elite in Barbados it does not mean an apparent injustice to Soodeen should not be exposed. On behalf of Natya Soodeen we urge the BEA to do the right thing by communicating what rule she has run afoul of or if she failed to meet the qualifying standards to compete in the upcoming CAC Games.

Fair is fair!

198 responses to “Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA) Suspends Natya Soodeen”

1. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

who de hell is she and who cares about this.

Does not put food in hungry stomachs.

2. @mash up

It is not about immigration so who cares right?

You may come to understand one day that how as a people we treat to ALL injustices is all the same.

3. Very long ago I met the young lady in question and also have come across her since.

She is extremely well presented, well spoken, seems very gentle and with a lovely demeanour.

I trust this is not about ‘who’ she is and that some are not trying to ensure that ‘their’ own favourites represent Barbados instead.

Barbados is still full of cliques, after all.

4. @ David

While your point is taken, surely based on what is presented alone, you cannot fault MU&BB’s position.
    Athletes get ‘not selected’ all the time -for all sorts of reasons -and to a man, they all feel hard done by.

The fact that she has ‘paid her way’ before is not really relevant… nor, in itself, the fact that she have official results from some German show. Sounds a bit like the tail seeking to wag the horse if you ask a bushman…

Now if there is more in the pestle that is a different story…

5. @Bush Tea

Not faulting mash up’s point only defending BU’s right to highlight the lack of disclosure on the part of the BEA. It is the BEA’s right NOT to select her but it is the right of the athlete and the public in the name of transparency to ask WHY. It is only after asking questions if 1+1 = 3 that we may eventually find out if there is more in the pestle.

6. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Thank You Bush tea.Keep well.

7. Professional atheletes spend their whole lives working towards that sport. This is also how they make their money to fill their empty stomachs…. no?
    MOST professional atheletes are not paid well at all. So when you dedicate 20 years of your life to a sport, and then suspended by your national association for no reason, what do you do? I also believe that there are too many conflict of interests within these national sports council’s and thus, politics are played to favoutr one sportsman over the other. This is just not how the world works any longer.

8. @Bush Tea

Further to BU’s response to your comment above. You have been a big advocate of building character which by extrapolation is about individuals doing what is right. When we observe injustices we should be driven to do the right thing whether we discern personal reward or not. Would be interested in your view.

For example if this were a similar incident affecting Barry Forde what would be the reaction.

9. Is this about injustice or is this about the BEA rules?I am in no position to comment on the storyexpect to say that if a rule was violated then it is up to BEA to follow through. WE need to hear the otherside!.

10. @ac

Do you think if she had contravened a rule she should have been told which is the point made about full disclosure? Don’t you think it should have been communicated in the letter from the BEA? If she contravened a rule don’t you think Nicole Tull the president had the chance to clarify when contacted by the media?

11. Thinking about this a bit further, any action towards an athlete, including suspension, should come with an explanation.

If an explanation does not come with the action, clearly the rules of natural justice are breached.

Now, most of us do not have the time, energy nor funds to waste with a lawyer on matters of athletic associations etc, neither wish to create a situation of long-term dispute, which is one possible side effect of a case.

However, if the association still refuses to give an explanation of their action, I would think that a letter back to them, expressing disappointment and that their lack of response contravenes natural justice, copied to the International Equestrian Association, copied to the Minister of Sport and also to the Ombudsman, would be in order.

By this, one maintains communication with them, but brings their actions within the reach of noth the international body, plus the local Ministry.

That is just my opinion however and the young lady would do well to have an attorney review the rulebook, not for a lengthy court case but as a preview to such a letter as above, which hopefully should bring some decency to their response, without a lengthy and expensive process.

Just my 2 cents.

12. @David

I am going to procrastinate and say whatever she needs to know maybe part of the rules and further explanation might not be necessary.I think there is a game being played here to rally support for her and that is o.k. too . Nicole Tull is trying to avoid a fight in pubic by not answering or clarifying BEA position . I”ll bet whatever problem she is having she might have been previously aware of before and at this point BEA might have had enough of her.

13. @ac

That is a possible position however President Tull citing a rule violation is a reasonable expectation no?

You are correct in one thing, President Tull needs to spill the goods. Maybe we can get the opportunity to eyeball the letter sent by the BEA to Natya if it is not classified info.

14. CAC is not for professional atheletes so why would she be trying to qualify.

Also I thought the BOA funded atheletes to these games. I guess moving a horse is expensive so the rider might be expected to
    Do some fundraising. That’s why we see the bake sales charity dances etc.

I seriously doubt she personally financed anything.

This thing has a stink about it. Too many questions

15. @David

But giving the way things are today everybody files a lawsuit . THen it would be against BEA best interest to divulge any information to the public. However the lady in question can seek alternative ways via court to have anexplanation.
    I rather think she has chosen the court of public opinion to do so . Would it work?
    Then again I don’t see her taken this problem to court it is more about putting pressure on BEA..I am hoping for her sake that any information BEA would be supportive of her but i doubt.
    Some thing as being tardy can be a reason for her dismmisal. Just my opinion!

16. @ David

Bush Tea feels that you know something that you are not telling us yet…..

What explanation what?!!

In sports, decisions have to be taken every day about including or excluding athletes from national and other teams or from ‘qualifying or not’ to participate in games.

Selection committee have to make decisions based on numerous criteria – from performance, to behavior, to costs. Do you think that an athlete who obviously likes to travel and compete will ever be happy about being overlooked?

The committee may have issues with expenses; They may be concerns about others who may also need some exposure, but who would never get the chance if every cent is spent on her; ….or many other issues.

One of the problems with sport in Barbados is the number of ‘athletes’ who use the sporting competitions as opportunities to see the world like tourists – without the needed commitment to perform and represent Barbados as ambassadors.

No committee needs to explain every detail of why a particular athlete is chosen or not, that would be tedious, ludicrous and likely counter productive. Athletes need to build character by taking the good with the bad and demonstrating that they are indeed committed to the sport and not just to self promotion.

17. @Bush
    Yes buhman so correct.!

18. @BT

You get points for a good retort but what tedious what!?!

It is not as if the BES Administration is currently overloaded with managing nuff people representing the sport…lol.

19. @ David
    You just told us something about yourself. You have probably never been involved in an amateur sport organisation in Barbados…… otherwise you would never say that.

These bodies are mostly volunteer driven. The committee members are those who can leverage influence at the AGM and get themselves elected (no relationship to those willing to work hard for nothing).
    Meetings are few and far between, so decisions are taken on an ad hoc basis pressed by various deadlines imposed by registration etc…

Committees are constantly at war with themselves, and even minor issues like who gets to go on a ‘trip’, or accounting for expenses, become major causes of friction.

Check the Courts over the past years if you doubt me, …and this is not to include the ones that are resolved by the NSC, BOA and even regional bodies.

….so true!
    What tedious what??!
    it would be next to IMPOSSIBLE to have a structured, coherent and dependable process to advise athletes of the basis for decision making by such committees…

20. ”No committee needs to explain every detail of why a particular athlete is chosen or not, that would be tedious, ludicrous and likely counter productive. Athletes need to build character by taking the good with the bad and demonstrating that they are indeed committed to the sport and not just to self promotion”

.ull.hit.

So, someone like Thelston Payne, who topscored regionally for years and should have been selected early on in his early twenties, waited till too late to debut in West Indies, with no explanation.

Now Windies cannot find a man of quality to even play marble cricket.

Such is the result of the ‘no transparency, no accountability’ that you profess.

You are way wrong on this one, Sir.

21. Mr Crusoe,

No need to adopt GP’s language and attitude to disagree, in any case Bush Tea is not intimidated so save it. LOL

OK, I get your drift.
    If the selection committees would have explained why Mr, or Ms. X was not selected, then everything would have worked out well…

~What if the problem had been a suspicious drug test result?
    ~Suppose he was not selected because the committee became aware that he had made some personal decisions that could lead the team and country into disrepute should they be disclosed while he was representing us?
    ~What if there were disciplinary problems relating to attitude which were being addressed, but which resulted in his non-selection?

….do you get MY drift?

The solution is to put in place a competent, experienced and effective selection committee that WE CAN TRUST.
    It is NOT a solution for us ALL to become the selection committee by airing all the details that are needed to make such decisions….

…..but the bushman still understand yours and David’s concerns for transparency. The problem is that that is really needed in an atmosphere of incompetence and of dishonesty. What we should be focusing our attention on is on the process of SELECTING THESE VARIOUS COMMITTEES.

It is the same with politics, rather that look for a SYSTEM to produce honest politicians, we want ITAL so that everybody gets to know everybody’s business. That approach just DOES NOT WORK.

22. Mr. Bush Tea

You have earlier opined that many of these sports organizations depend on heavy doses of volunteerism. If this is the case what system would you recommend outside of paying people to do the job? The fact many of the sports organizations rely on volunteers is self-explained. Now when we add to the pot that the members of said committees which rely on volunteers come from the same society which we continue to lament the pace of moral decay…

To your point, we can try to establish a system which provides for the best selection but the reality of the situation suggests there can be no substitute for transparency at this STAGE.

23. @ David

Yours would appear to be a strong case on the surface, but the difficulties lie in the foundation.
    Volunteers of themselves are not by any way or means to suggest poor quality. The problem lie in the disconnect between election at the AGM and demonstrated ability and commitment to do the job for which one is elected.

In fact, the bushman would go so far as to suggest that volunteers can be a better option for high quality committees since these will likely be persons who are offering their services out of love for the game and willingness to contribute.

Paid persons are often in it for the salary. The fact is that there is no salary high enough for what a really good leader is worth, so there is always a problem with ‘worth’ when dealing with paid staff.
    BT LIKES volunteers.

HOWEVER, many volunteers only offer their ‘services’ because of the many perks that come with the appointment. (the trips, the functions, the publicity, the prestige).
    On the other side of the coin, there is no commensurate requirement that they PRODUCE.

My ‘solution’ is well documented sometime ago on BU.
    It involves the establishment of independent oversight committees with access to ALL information and the power to call the management committee to account.
    The model is well established in the cooperative movement (supervisory Committees) and I seem to recall suggesting this the model for our senate in Barbados.

While maintaining the dignity, and confidentiality of all involved, strong and decisive actions can be taken early to address foolish decisions by committees and to therefore encourage persons seeking such office to get themselves properly prepared to do an effective job.

24. Nllt

Suspension of an Athlete implies wrong doing on the part of the Athlete.

The Athlete has a right to know the reason for the suspension.

Any organisation representing Barbadians must let the Barbadian public know why they have suspended an athlete who represents Barbados.

25. is this a rich people sport??????
    who the funk cares.

26. The BES website, BT look at the profile of the volunteers man. The committee is a who is who of Barbados.

About Us

General Information:
    The Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA) abides by their motto:-

"We exist to build, encourage, and advance the continuing development and progress of equestrian sports in Barbados."

There are approximately 110 active members consisting of competitive riders of all ages, family members , non-competitive members and honorary members who support and keep up to date with the association.

The BEA is governed by an executive committee comprised of members of the association who are nominated and voted into their specific positions by the voting members. The positions of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer all carry a term of two years while the positions of Jumping Chairperson, Dressage Chairperson, Public Relations Officers, Riders Representative and Show Coordinators all carry a term of one year.

Dr Nicole Tull is the Association’s President having been elected in November 2009, Mrs Mona Walker Is the Vice-President. The Post of Secretary is held by Mrs Naomi Roachford-Holder, former Dressage Chairperson and Mrs Monique Archer is Treasurer.

History:

The Barbados Equestrian Association was formed in the 1970 ‘ s and was governed by its first President, Sir Denys William. Prior to this, the Barbados Show Jumping Federation (BSF) was formed in the 1960’s and along with the B’dos Polo Club and the B’dos Turf Club were the clubs representing the horse world in Barbados. After the demise of the BSF, the BEA was formed and came to the forefront of equestrian sports in Barbados.

In 1992 dressage was officially amalgamated into the Association under the guidance of the first ever Dressage Chairperson, Ms. Elisabeth Roachford.

In 1994 the BEA became affiliated with the Federation Equestre International (FEI), the international governing body for equestrian sport and continues to take part in both their FEI World Dressage Challenge and FEI World Jumping Challenge annually since 1995.

In 1995 Barbados was represented abroad for the first time ever in equestrian sports as they sent a rider to the Pam American Games to compete in Show Jumping.

The BEA is also a member of the Caribbean Equestrian Association (CEA) which was formed in 1998. Mrs. Diana Clarke, the Barbados National coach and a former BEA Show Jumping Chairperson, is currently President of the CEA .

In 2002 the Barbados flag was raised in Hagen, Germany for the first time as we won individual silver in the FEI World Dressage Challenge finals.

In 2003 Barbados was represented at the Pan American Games in Santo Domingo where the Bajan Dressage team finished 8th out of 19 countries.

In 2006 A Dressage team represented Barbados at the Central American and Caribbean Games (the CACs) in Colombia.

In 2007, Barbados was represented at the Pan Am Games in Show Jumping.

The Executive for 2009-2010
    President: Dr. Nicole Tull

Vice Pres: Mrs Mona walker

Secretary: Mrs Naomi Roachford-Holder

Treasurer: Mrs Monique Archer

Dressage Chairperson: Mrs Tove McIntyre

Jumping Chairperson: Mrs Di Clarke

Show Coordinator: Mr Michael West

Show Coordinators: Ms Angelique Bjerkhamn

Public Relations Officer: Ms Adrianna King & Mr Ricardo Skeete

Riders Representative : Mr Ian Proverbs

designed and managed by Commit Design | webmaster@barbadosequestrian.com

27. @harry and other of the same mind please digest the short quote from the good book!

Luke 6:31 (New International Version)
    Do to others as you would have them do to you.

28. All,

I have to say that after working with youths for many years in various arenas, throughout the Caribbean, it is indeed an injustice to suspend anyone from anything without a proper explanation.

I have read the various comments and rebuttals and to those who support the BEA’s “indecorous” position of “we can do what we want without explanation”, if this were you I think your stance would be much different.

Where in God’s name is empathy? Put yourself in the rider’s shoes. It does not matter where she is from, or whether she is “rich, poor, indifferent, red, white, black, blue, yellow or green”.

This is not about the rider, this is about the way WE do things in the Caribbean and it NEEDS to STOP!

How would you feel if the police walk into your house arrests you, charges you and you are sentenced to life in prison for no apparent reason? Before you get upset and decide to comment, answer the question. How… would… you… feel?

What took place here gives us an opportunity to make a positive change. As far as I am concerned, if Barbadians let this slide it is the start of more to come at different levels throughout the Caribbean.

I call for the BEA to comply and fully disclose the reason’s behind their decision.

How hard is that? Does it not bother you that they refuse to say why they did what they did.

Stop trying to sound right and do what’s right…

29. David do you have pictures of the persons on the BES board? and what they do for a living? Also a better pic of Natya, who she is, what is her background etc.

This looks like a “Class” thing to me. Natya may not belong to right circles and class.

30. @BushTea ”~What if the problem had been a suspicious drug test result?
    ~Suppose he was not selected because the committee became aware that he had made some personal decisions that could lead the team and country into disrepute should they be disclosed while he was representing us?
    ~What if there were disciplinary problems relating to attitude which were being addressed, but which resulted in his non-selection?

….do you get MY drift?”

——————-

I am not ‘adopting anyone’s attitude nor made any attempt to intimidate, merely pointed out that your approach is simply…..irrelevant.

In answer to your questions ..re drugs test, then state so, what is the problem with that.

Re potential behaviour, that is not for the committee to ‘assume’, they have no right to judge others.

If so, then what are the ‘rules’ for?If it related to disciplinary problems, then the due process is to state that selection is pending outcome.

This is not the old plantation days of plantocracy deciding what is right for everyone else, transparency and accountability are not only right, they are mandatory.

Sorry Sir, but your drift holds little water, no substance.

31. @Adrian

Natya is on FB. A Caucasian who appears to be residing in Germany. Suspect this is a case where the BES wants to be represented by homegrown talent…lol.

A look at the Constitution of BES does not address the matter of selection directly. It looks like the committee has free a lot of powers if they get the floor to side with them.

Wonder if the head of BES Dr. Nicole Tull is former government minister Louis Tull’s daughter?

Don’t think it is a class thing Adrian unless you mean class within class…lol.

32. Natya was sent a letter suspending her from competing for barbados for 6mths.because of discrepancies with her results submitted to BEA.

33. @Adrian
    What class thing . You mean it would have taken them 15years to decide on that!

34. @David – not caucasian, of East Indian descent, possibly of Trinidad origin.

Third paragraph, yes.

35. concerned member Avatar
    concerned member

It is not important who is on the committee. What you have to ask is who on the committee was also trying out or one of their family members for the position the Miss Soodeen was clearly more qualified for. In order to better oneself, one needs to travel overseas to gain exposure and experience on the world stage. These games that athletes seek to represent Barbados at have world class athletes and as such alot of training for our athletes takes place overseas. I might add at great expense to the athlete and their families.
    Surely there was criteria set by the committee for Natya to attain……Why would anyone falsify their results when these federations all over the world anyone can go onto their websites for information? This particular athlete has represented Barbados at the Pan American Games and we all know that those games are of an even higher standard. As far as the suspension goes, the Association is wrong, purely wrong. Nowhere, never is someone suspended without a hearing and at least a reason, this is a straighforward case of the committee members trying to show power as NAtya dared to question them. This entire association needs to be disbanded and a more nuetral based committee voted in. We live in a small community and as there are only volunteers some conflicts of interest will crop up but we must all strive for fairness. Not just accept decisions that are made by a few on a committee who are on a power trip. What they have done will cause detrimental consequences for NAtya.
    Is there no recourse for athletes? Is the Barbados Olympic Association not there in place to assist? Or is the fact that the Prsident of the BOA is family to one of the members of the committee who was one of the contenders for these same games, playing a role here?

36. @Concerned member

Are you implying that a commitee member might have had theinterset of a family memberas a possible replacement for Natya.? Can you expound more! Would that not jepordize that persons job?

37. Could it be that Soodeen simply did not make the grade… I still think this stinks to high heaven. No association is going to suspend someone without reason and no I do not believe for a moment that Soodeen is unaware of the reasons.

In all associations management in barbados we have competitors or family of competitors so this is really a nonissue its in swimming, cycling, gymnastics, weightlifting, fencing etc. It sounds like sour grapes to me.

I think the best thing is for the equstrian Association to state its case, although that might be embarrassing to Soodeen, and if so what then we castigate them for the revalation.

38. Daviod/BU wrote:

“The committee is a who is who of Barbados, Nicole Tull, Mona Walker, Naomi Roachford-Holder, Monique Archer,Tove McIntyre, Di Clarke, Michael West, Angelique Bjerkham, Adrianna King, Ricardo Skeet, Ian Proverbs”

David it sound like any old elementary school class to me. Have any of these people ever done anything besides go to work (and I bet a good number of these women never work a day in their lives) and come home and play with their little horsies? And David if a woman does not work how does she differ from the boys on the block?

Who’s why my *ss.

Ya mek’in’ me laugh man.

39. Dear David/BU/BU family:

One question please: Is Natya Soodeen a Bajan?????

Or is there a pink elephant (or maybe a big pink horsie) in the room.

40. @XYZ

Your position can be challenge by logic. If Natya knows the reason which as you suggest places her in a bad light, why would she make a stink knowing the committee would probably go public?

41. @XYZ
    I am in agreement with you as i so stated in one of my comments. Things like this doesn’t just happen overnight . This ws a persistent or on going problem which reached a climax.
    Why is she being vocal : out of embarassement . Wouldn’t you? She has put plenty of time and probably money in the sport only to be told she is not wanted.

42. concerned member Avatar
    concerned member

to ac

exactly what I was saying….and yes this is something that has been building I am sure….Natya’s results are there for all to see…there is no claim to falsifying or not disclosing results. the President needs to admit that they were/are wrong. I dont think Natya has anything to hide. The article shows videos of her competing…youtube bajanjumper123 go look at them. Aso someone earlier highlighted a page from the website stating that a show jumper represented Barbados at the Pan American Games in 2007…that was Miss Soodeen.
    I am sure many times athletes feel they are hard done for, but this one takes the cake. without reason or explanation. and it should be dealt with in the courts as someone mentioned earlier. When people are voted onto a committee surely it is for them to act in the best interest of the members not to satisfy one’s own personal growth.
    Why wouldnt the President tell everyone the reasons behind the suspension, was the whole committee in agreement? If she has nothing to hide and is confident of her decision she needs to spill the beans
    She needs to place in chronological order the events and correspondence from the day it was decided the BEA would try to send a team to the Games. Let everyone see the results for themselves on the website that is there for public viewing.
    I think you will find that for each competition depending on who wishes to represent different rules apply.

43. @Concerned

It seems to me that you have somewhat knowledge as you alluded to in previous comments as to the cause. Therefore why wouldn’t you embarassed the BEA by going public wth the reason. In doing so that what would force the BEA to defend themselves against any attacks. The BEA is in a sport that cannot afford bad publicity.

44. concerned member Avatar
    concerned member

The BEA will embarass themselves no need to help them. Sooner or later, hopefully sooner they will reveal these discrepancies and deceptions alleged made by Miss Soodeen, I believe you will see there are none. Unfortunately for Natya, the CAC Games will not see her due to the jealousies and greediness of some people. I hope this foolishness will not deter others who look up to these figures of authority for guidance and help, to continue and pursue their goals, this goes for all athletes .

45. Soodeen was suspended without ANY explanation. Her results were submitted to the BEA directly from the German Federation. I know some Germans and boy, dem people doh funk around. If you are an athelete representing your home country, and your national sporting association suspends you for ‘discrepencies’ they MUST at least give you a good idea WHAT the discrepencies were and a chance to clear up those discrepencies. It is as simple as that. And why is the BEA so quiet? And why couldn’t Tull just speak to the writer who called her for a comment?

46. concerned member Avatar
    concerned member

Remember she is a Barbadian rider, wearing the Barbados flag, this doesnt just hurt her, it hurts us all as Bajans…

47. concerned member Avatar
    concerned member

@ Savannah

Yes why the secrecy? Give her a chance to defend herself…Surely with all the press and publicity she has nothing to hide…. It seems the only ones with anything to hide is the Association themselves

48. @Concerned

you are giving an some insight as to the going on within that association. However i am at a lost as to what greed or jelousy has to do with Natya results.Is this an association on a course with self destruction. it seems like that to me.and why the secrecy?

49. concerned member Avatar
    concerned member

well for some it would appear that she is just living it up in Germany. I think she is training hard far away from home assuming that she has the encouragement and support of her Association which I believe she has been a part of for many years and represented well. You well know that as Bajans we tend to be- little those who appear to be fortunate. For others, they are accustomed to buying their way into certain circles.
    Thats the greed, remember I mentioned the committee may have been trying to pave the way for one of themselves or one o f their family members to go instead.

50. concerned member Avatar
    concerned member

as far as the results go, I dont think she would be fighting this if she didnt have the results to back it up.