Submitted by Bajan Yankee

Last weekend I had diner with friends from Jamaica who explained what a horrible time they had while shopping in Bridgetown, to my surprise they explained how poor across the board service in stores was to them, as if their money had another value then that of other international patrons. I started off by dismissing the allegations but the very next day I read a nation news article, based on a study, which pointed to the same factor, “poor service”, as a key issue impacting the Barbados tourism industry.

With that said I have decided to get the BU perspective on this issue, more specifically is it ” fact or fiction “. I know that as a frequent visitor to other islands there is a completely different vibe given off by those in the service industries as compared to Barbados, “why” I’ve been forced to now ask myself.

The Bajan as a personality type is a proud individual with strong family and career values, however it is possible that they are now many in our society who are personally dissatisfied with having to serve others with such an educated mass of people. Noting the last election as an indication of this matter. Or are the daily struggles of Bajans making it’s way to the workplace and being negatively expressed to selective types of visitors, whether from the US, UK, Canada or the greater Caribbean region.

So BU, do we Bajans need to check our attitudes at the door before we go to work or what?  Things are hard enough in the tourism industry and if there is more we can do to service our guest better who help our national economy we should.

94 responses to “Are Negative Bajan Attitudes Playing A Role In The Declining Tourism Industry”

1. @hood
    you ain’t got nothing to worry about just havea job and don’t forget to smile!

2. @ ac
    Sure ac, I know I GOT to keep smiling. You did not see the big one I left with my last comment? How bout dis one? 🙂

3. Here is the report which Amit refers to about his findings in the tourist industry.

4. While at the harbour in December 2009, three cab drivers ignored the custom of my wife and I in preference to white customers who were behind us in the queue. One driver (AB) was embarrassed by what he saw and took us on our island tour and was very pleased with our gratuity. We have experienced similar poor service from staff in Barbados hotels on previous occasions.

If pay is the reason for poor service I dread when tourists begin to bypass Little England for other Caribbean destinations. I am a son of the soil but thanks to the few bigots on this blog I will in future take my custom and influence others to take theirs to Jamaica (prettier than Barbados), Antigua, St Lucia, Dominica, St Vincent where there is more value for money, and people leave their personal problems at the door to perform their jobs in a professional manner.

5. I have a cousin from the states that stayed at a luxury hotel here with his wife some years ago and one morning he and his wife were walking on the grounds of the place when they were approached by a security guard and asked what was their business on the property,well my cousin told him that he and his wife were guests and could you believe the guard had the guts to call my cousin a liar..like black people can’t stay at a nice hotel in Barbados the guests have to be of a certain denomination,this altercation nearly led to blows because my cousin automatically knew that they were being disrespected because of their skin colour..attitudes really have to change here first before we can see an improvement.

6. English Tourist Avatar
    English Tourist

When I first visited Barbados, quite some years ago, I found the service anywhere outside of the tourist shops as bad to appalling. Supermarket staff seemed plain rude, and the minibus crews, once they’d enticed you onto their vehicle, seemed strangely to lose the power of speech, like it was beneath them to speak to you. Any questions were met with nods or gestures. I put it down to a cultural thing. Maybe Bajans don’t like the words please and thankyou. Funny thing is that when I spoke to Bajans living over here, they told me they shared my opinion, and thought the service in Barbados is dreadful. I’ve visited a few times since, and I think things have improved over the last twenty years. But they’re still not good. I only earn just above the minimum wage, so have to save long and hard to get enough money for a decent holiday every couple of years. I don’t expect to be treated like royalty, but I don’t want to return home from holiday feeling like I’ve been insulted. Maybe Barbados is looking for richer tourists than me. I know some people will just say “don’t come to Barbados then!” but there must be lots of people like me, trying to plan for their next holiday, and one bad experience can make them decide against returning to Barbados.

7. I really have to laugh at the BS and Bovine Excrement coming from some people on this topic, especially the ones comparing Barbadians to Americans…..wtf!!

I just spent 5 months in the US and trust me, unless you are in upscale Manhattan, the service aint that great!!
    The English poster above needs to go to the US and tell me how many times you will hear the words please, excuse me or thank you even in just using the bus or subway. Try asking a New Yorker for time or directions. I used to find it so strange, you walk into a room filled with people and say good morning, people look at you as if you are crazy. You get on the bus and say good morning, not even the driver replies.
    I was also a guess at a hotel in Manhattan, but was still accused of lying (I would assume because of being in the company of a white lady and having dreads), until the idiot saw my name on the registered list.

It is all about training before and during the execution of duties for staff. As someone said earlier, they are some people that are just not suited for certain jobs and training does help in these instances.

8. I really don’t understand this “I don’t get paid enough so I’m not going to do my job properly” thing. Surely when you accept the job, you accept the conditions that go with it? Otherwise, don’t take the job! Fellow boggers, I want you to look at Greece right now – a country that greets millions of visitors every year. Their successive governments overspent and wasted their income and had to borrow to maintain that way of governing. Sound familiar? They have no manufacturing and some agriculture, but their economy is almost totally dependent on tourism. Sound familiar? They have to mend their ways to get out of this mess and this means cutting back. Sound familiar? So what do they do? They hit the streets, call a general strike and paralyse the country, including the tourist industry. Really smart.
    Barbados is not too far from Greece’s problem and we need all the tourists that we can get to keep our economy afloat. It literally affects everyone in the country, including those who would rather sulk and be rude to those who are responsible for their income. There is no excuse for poor service, absolutely none! If you can’t find it in yourself to be polite to customers, then work in the back office or the warehouse and be rude to your colleagues instead. See how long you last.

9. That is “bloggers”. Sorry

10. @ Technician
    New Yorkers are rude as a way of life, so are Parisians, but fortunately for them, they have so much going for them that we don’t (shopping, theatres, restaurants, etc). Our problem is that we don’t have anything to differentiate us from other countries with sun, sea and sand, except our people, and that is why service and hospitality are so important.

11. Sorry but I have to ask……

How many of us, as tourist or guests take the time to tip and praise these same workers when the do good?
    How many of us reports the good deeds of the staff to the Manager ?

Some tourist can also be rude, insulting and condescending to workers but because we need the tourist $$, we must smile and walk away

Sorry but this generation is quite different to the older and it will never be so.
    I am all for good service and decency but we must look at this from all sides not just the fact that you had an unmannerly employee. For all you know, that same employee might have been insulted and humiliated a day before, not that it would justify bad service but hey, we are human.

There is service and servitude.

12. We now have the big dilemma for our country.

A country (Barbados) that relies almost solely on tourism but a growing apathy by many who are involved in the sector especially at the counter level. Boy do we have a problem.

BU’s comparison to N.America was in the area of recruitment where younger people are recruited in the fast food and similar businesses for the obvious reason. In Barbados the days of employing a friend and someone you know are done. We have to employ people who bring customer service skills to the table. Of course at the sometime it does not exempt the business from employing effective training programs.

Here is the 64k question, why would a business in Barbados in the service sector especially NOT implement a proper training environment for its employees?

13. “There is service and servitude” sounds like a really good slogan to use to get the Bajan public to see service as something that worth to be done. Its way better than its nice to be nice in my opinion.

14. “Barbados’ itself is a selling name, friendly, unique. We love this name, and for tourism world, Barbados is associated with beauty…..

15. eyes wide shut Avatar
    eyes wide shut

sometimes the case might be that the tourist or Bajan coming home, present to the sales clerk with an attitude of you “i’m better than you’. i know – i’ve witnessed this on many occasions but one stands out – a mature bajan living in New York went into a store on Broad Street. While standing in the queue for the cashier, she took something and put it in her mouth. she did not pay for itt. A security guard saw her and told her, she shouldn’t have done that – she acted very hostile to him. he proceeded to tell her, he could arrest her, ‘don’t it again’. all the while talking in a very cool and respectful manner. she continued to insult him, letting know, she was from new York, she would sue him if he attempted to touch her etc, etc. i felt highly embarrassed. there were very young children behind her. he explained to her that she should be setting an example for the youth around her but all he got was how she would sue him, even tho she knew that she should have paid for the item. i witnessed also many bajan yankees, seemingly believing that because they travel to a Barbados, the cashier must be in awe of them!!! and you know who they are as they make a point of talking loudly, trying to imitate an accent which comes off as a weak attempt of mimicking and somehow, you hear the words ‘back home’ etc. there’s no excuse for cashiers treating people as second class citizens but i think that when it comes to bajan yankees especially, cashiers are turned off from their pretense of ‘i am better than you’ attitude.

16. @Eyeswideopen
    Do i sense some hostility against bajan yankees? Now it is people like you who should not be dealing with the public!Case and point the responsibilty squarely lies on the shoulders of management when hiring people .This person attitude speaks volumes..
    Look at the way she critique the customer in a
    condescending matter. Who in they right mind would want to hire such a person?

17. The above comment was for Eyes wide Shut “. How
    appropiate! LOL

18. David, because it costs them less to hire and fire and replace than train. If the are only mindful of the numbers on the books. however that eventually changes as the numbers go more negative.

19. It costs nothing to be polite and mannerly when dealing with people, regardless of your job title or pay. Some persons will always be bitchy and no amount of training will change them. I think that some persons would be better off working at the abattoir slaughtering pigs because they exhibit the same behaviour as the pigs they’re slaughtering. And that goes for the persons in the private n public sector. There are some persons in high paying jobs that are rude as shite to persons doing business with them too, so I don’t see why we are only mentioning persons in the low wage bracket. Some persons are just downright UNMANNERLY. Don’t blame the wages but the person’s ability or lack there of to treat persons with respect. All wunna telling me ’bout low wages, if any a wunna ga sumway and get snob at or treat like shit, wunna gun feel bad or probably ‘buse de body stink. I lie? Remember the golden rule and apply it to your dealing with people.
    I had reason to call LIME recently and the operator or whoever, was speaking with an accent and I could not understand what she was saying at times and so I had to ask her to repeat what she said more than once and she start to get an attitude with me. I had to put her in her place real fast. And I mean wid real speed. And not in a nice way neitha. If I am not shouting at you, don’t shout at me or come wid attitude cause it just pisses me off real damn quick. Is she working for low wages too? I doubt.

20. @Bonny Peppa

I agree with you. ‘Regardless as to salary people should be polite and mannerly when dealing with people.’

This should include people in the front line and behind the scenes. No point putting the rude ones behind the scenes because they will upset other staff members and eventually this will filter through to the front line staff.

What also doesn’t help is people looking down at you because of the job you do. I used to shake my head sometimes when people dressed to the nines in suits were dismissive of the car washer, treating him like he was nothing. When you add up the potential amount of money a car washer can earn in a day, week, month, particularly those based in large car parks. The car washer should be laughing at them because he/she is earning more money than the person in the suit.

The other thing when customers are rude to staff in stores etc. I’ve seen one cashier advise a customer that she had given her a dollar short. The customer copped an attitude and threw the money at the cashier. Totally uncalled for. The cashier was professional and did not react in front of the customer. After the customer left I asked her if she was ok, let her vent a little bit and then she composed herself and got on with the job at hand.

People can misjudge persons in what could be considered lower wage jobs, thinking they are nothing but sometimes this person is studying for a degree and just needs money to get by. Or in this day and age it could even be a highly qualified individual whose lost their job and needs money to feed their family. As long as the person is earning an honest living all credit goes out to them.

I’ve experienced extremely poor verging on rudeness in terms of customer service when dealing with a Government Department and some of the workers in the offices I believe are reasonably paid. The incident happened must be 8 years ago and if I think of it I’m still seething!….so let me get of this topic.

Politeness and manners needs to run through the whole of Barbados, whether its front line staff, behind the scenes staff, Government workers or private sector. If this could filter through customer service in general should improve.

However I think part of the problem is that everyone wants to be a leader and very few want to be doers. Everyone wants to instruct.

I keep wondering what happens between school when the children say ‘yes please’ and adulthood, where sometimes the politeness is lost? However in saying that you do get the child outside a supermarket thrusting a piece of paper in your directions saying ‘sponsor’. The child that gets my money is the one as the advert says that asks nicely! Sometimes when they are washing cars to earn money for some event if they ask nice enough I just give the $10.00, they don’t need to wash my car.

Also those people who consider themselves elite need to remember where they came from and treat people with respect.

Another blogger mentioned tipping I believe. To me tipping in the US is ridiculous. People tip because of habit and what is expected not because the service is good.
    Call me mean but I think you should only tip if the service is good. Let them get vex, I have to work to hard for my money to be giving it away to someone who did not provide good customer service. Even if there is a service charge, if the service is not good i am not paying it.

It annoys me If I’m in a restaurant and the bill is say $195.00 and I give the waiter $200. Bring back my change. If they don’t bring back my change automatically I ask for it. No tip for you. It is my decision as to whether I tip you or how much I tip. Don’t assume.

21. I see supercentre was mentioned here.

They certainly take first prize for rude and insolent staff.

Hellos you bunch of lemon faces customers are people too!

22. In fairness yes Barbados could improve its customer service but so could other countries.

In relation to tourism have you ever flown in on a plane where the Air Host or Hostess has been less than accommodating? I have. Your vacation starts from your airport of departure and then your flight. So if you’ve had a poor experience there by the time you arrive in Barbados your mood is none too good.

Granted the Immigration Officers like years ago could say ‘welcome to Barbados and use your name or welcome home and use your name. Little things like that could make the difference and change your mood. But at the end of the day Immigration, Customs play an important role in keeping this country safe.

23. @Pearl who wrote,
    “If I’m in a restaurant and the bill is say $195.00 and I give the waiter $200. Bring back my change.”

I trust you don’t go back to that restaurant. You might be served pee soup.

24. @Pearl

You are FIRED!
    Reason: Bad Attitude!

25. @Hants. See you’ve assumed. If they bought back my change I would of added to give them at least 10%. By assuming they forfeited the tip.

@AC maybe you see it as bad attitude but I have to work too hard to give away money on poor service.

Perhaps if more people do what I did perhaps the customer service level will improve. By tipping for poor service you are saying that the service you received is acceptable.

26. @Pearl
    A bad attiutde does not lend it self well in any situation
    no matter who it’s done to , or who is doing it.

27. English Tourist Avatar
    English Tourist

@Technician wrote:
    “The English poster above needs to go to the US and tell me how many times you will hear the words please, excuse me or thank you even in just using the bus or subway. Try asking a New Yorker for time or directions. I used to find it so strange, you walk into a room filled with people and say good morning, people look at you as if you are crazy. You get on the bus and say good morning, not even the driver replies.”
    You are right. London is just like that, as are most big cities. The point is the post is asking about negative attitudes in Barbados affecting your tourist industry. If it were about London I’d be the first to comment about a load of stuff. I did say I thought things had improved in Barbados, so I don’t think it’s the fault of the younger generation, and I don’t think a great deal would need to be done to really improve things.

28. I Absolute love the slogan “Da is service and da is servitude” A couple advertisements on TV would absolutely change the way in which people serve others. This slogan speaks volumes in that it identifies the root of the problem and allows the individual to combat that while saving face.

Bajan public views friendly service as begging for money or a slave type manner of doing things. This slogan specks directly to the individual and should be shown on tv being used in every day situations eg. a countutor being nice to a tourice and after the tourice disembarks the driver teases him and the conduter replies ” talk wha ya like i dun got the money Da is service and da is servitude” And a similar one in a fast food outlet.

This is an excerpt from a web site to illustrate the effectiveness of direct targeting.
    “Research indicates males aged between 16 and 30 do most of the littering along roadsides. This information caused the state of Texas to launch its famous “Don’t Mess With Texas” campaign which used well-known sports celebrities (persons this group of males looked up to) delivering tough, anti-littering television commercials. The result was a dramatic reduction in roadside litter.

In Oklahoma, the “Don’t Lay That Trash On Oklahoma” campaign debuted in 1988 and reduced litter by 60 percent according to the state’s department of transportation. But programs end, while littering continues. The state hopes it’s new theme (Keep Our Land Grand) will be just as successful.”

29. Pearl
    You’re very correct. You have to learn how to sell yourself. And I don’t mean ‘short’. A tip is not mandatory and like you said, if you don’t deserve it then you don’t get it. I respect all persons and treat them as human beings regardless of their job title. Look, I used to open my door to my garbage collectors if one of them was celebrating a birthday. We had that sort of good relationship. And they would sit at my table and we would have a ‘drink’ man. Not me, I get giddy too quick bosey. But they were well respected by me. They’re off my route now and I really miss them. The set that replaced them, I had ta ‘buse’ de driver cause he got a real stinkin attitude. I still would offer the two fellas anything like mangoes or anything but ya see dah driver, he could drop down dead at my door as far as I”m concerned. He is such a klown, the first day he worked out here, I had my garbage inside my gate as usual, because of the stray dogs. He fly pass it and when the fellas asked him to reverse for it, he came back with this attitude and his first words to me were, ‘I is a pig, hear, I don’t mek sport. I had ta tell he dat it in my fault if he is a bigger khunt than the one he come thru. I extend the same courtesy to my postman. If’ you’re nice, you will be treated nice by me in exchange but like you said, I’m not embracing mediocrity. Sorry. Not me fa shoiteeeeeeeee.

Hants,
    How pee soup does taste? or you mean PEA soup? Typo error? dat’s ok. But i luv um. I prefer pumpkin or cucumber soup as my ‘starter’ though.
    De only body I would drink pee soup from is my ROK. ya mekkin sport?

30. It’s true that Bajan staff have an “attitude” and the reasons for this have been discussed at length above. Everyone is right about the reasons. I have found a way to diffuse the situation when confronted by an unhelpful person at a checkout or in a shop. Simply engage them in conversation. That breaks through the barriers causing all this disgruntlement that staff may feel, whether that disgruntlement may be justified or not. Bajans are friendly, chatty people and if you just say something more than “how much?” you will get star treatment. Issues about pay, management etc. will be forgotten because every girl on the checkout, even the most snobby in Cave, will respond to personal engagement, even if it’s just talking about the weather, the price of goods today or “love your nails, where did you get them done?” Those check out girls care about their appearance, particularly their hands, and they care because they are under public scrutiny every day of their working lives. If someone is acting snooty, why not ask them how they are feeling today? I know this works. If people have issues about status, all you have to do is reassure them you are not treating them as inferior just because you are handing amounts of cash to them which might make their hearts sink with envy and worry. There’s a whole status issue going on here. Wealthy Bajans seem to feel the need to gloat when they are spending cash in front of shop staff, flashing expensive jewellery, watches and credit cards the staff could never have. You will notice, if you go into gem shops in Bridgetown that you are treated with the utmost respect. I wonder why? If someone is being rude or offhand, why not say “you must be exhausted, poor you”. Just try it, really works. “Have a nice day” is all very well but does not cut the mustard with somebody who is struggling. Talk to people. We are all human.

31. Victor
    You gine to do business or conduct an interview? You sound like a real angel man but you shouldn’t make it seem as though you’re ‘begging fa friends’ when conducting business. Some persons are just unmannerly and abrupt.
    I remember quite well a few years ago Liz Thompson’s father brought a law suit against a young lady who either struck him or something of the sort when she went to his laundry to conduct business. The young lady’s argument was that he was deliberately ignoring her because of some past ‘spat’ or some shoite. She didn’t like the idea of being ignored, so she took action. Don’t remember the outcome of that one. Maybe she had a few screws slack up top. Ya never know. It takes nothing to be courteous man. If your job entails interacting with persons and you’re not a people’s person, then you’re in the wrong place.

Another set of the most uncouth, unmannerly persons on this planet are nurses. Not all, which is obvious, but the majority I encounter seem to be on a mission to ‘hate the world’. What ever happened to TLC. Good God mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnn. They behave as though they’re God’s gift to mankind. Wunna does get sick too.Gimma a break do.

32. Bidding Website Avatar
    Bidding Website

Tourism is no doubt plays a vital role in the revenue generation of certain country. Declining tourism industry can directly effect economy of the country.

33. Submitted by Bajan Yankee, “I read a nation news article, based on a study, which pointed to the same factor, “poor service”, as a key issue impacting the Barbados tourism industry.”
    ——————————————————————————————————————–
    I’m curious….
    Do we know if the study shows how we rate overall as an island of preferred vacation destinations?
    Do we know if the company that conducted the study was selected by the Tourism Board OR
    Was the company that conducted the study hired by other agencies other than the Tourism Board to do these type of studies.

Moving along, do Barbadians think that a tourist is only interested in the sea and sand, and that a tourist is not interested in other aspects of his/her vacation? It is embarrassing to hear that a customer, be it a tourist or non, has negative feelings due to poor service received. Unless the dissatisfaction is voiced to those in authority, whether action would be taken or not, customers are responsible partially for not reporting it. Having said that, we should not only complain but take the time to acknowledge those whom have provided excellent service, and not wait for occasions when service is below our expectations.

Although there are people who do not expect to receive exceptional service at all times, tourists including our residents look forward to good service. However, taking into account what one considers exceptional service, another person might not classify at such high level and vice-versa.

I often wonder how many businesses have guidelines in place to investigate complaints including poor service and the appropriate action that would be taken. If they do, perhaps those guidelines are not being adhered to. It does not seem that practices are in place or reinforced to handle employees who are weak in customer service area. Unless employees realize that there are serious consequences for their actions, they may never think that they did something that was unacceptable.

Is it not the obligation and would be in the best interest of a company to clearly categorize, define and demonstrate to their employees the various levels of service: exceptional, good, fair, poor services? When businesses fail to provide the appropriate training, poor service not only reflects on the business but could on the country as a whole.

The BTA may need to do a lot more, whatever that is, to keep Barbados in a positive limelight and to be always included and seen as a favorable destination. We as a people have to realize that there is no “resting period” in the Tourism industry.

Let me say, there should be a way especially for Government agencies to set up video cameras that are undetectable at their locations to detect the type of service given to customers. It might be a deterrent to employees, after a few are identified of providing “poor” service, and as reinforcement that the agency will not tolerate poor service to its customers.

34. A few tips for the service industry:

1. The “teller” should always look the customer in the eye when they’re interacting with them.

2. The “teller” should *never* be holding a conversation with another employee (or a “friend”) during the transaction.

3. The “teller” should count out the change to the customer to ensure it is correct. Rather than counting out the change to themselves and then hand over the change.

4. Very importantly, the customer is the most important person in the world during a transaction. This is something the Asians and the Americans understand *very* clearly. It is not a matter of subordination — it is your job; and why you have one.
    ———————————————————————————–
    Great tips
    Can someone send them on to the insolent bunch of check out ‘attendants’ at

1)Holetown Supercentre?
    Customers are eyed if eyed at all with loathing and contempt.
    A they see a male acquaintance in the next queue you will be ( not) attended to in between coy and sickening flirtatious innuendos.

2)Surepay
    Customers have to compete with private telephone conversations and / or private gossiping with each other. Customers are glared at as if one is interrupting a private tea party

And please can the long fingered brigade actually hand the customer change/ receipt . The languid limp wristed custom of barely offering either leaving the onus of the customer to have to lean closer to retrieve what should be given to them smartly not dropped into their hand by a disinterested diva.

35. Another lot who want a good kick up the pants are at the bottle recycling centres who are without doubt only employed for their rudeness and bad attitude.

People stagger in trying to do their best to recycle and all get treated like dirt by the brain dead morons that ‘work’ there.

They issue rude orders put this there throw that there whilst able bodied young louts ( of both sexes) let elderly people struggle with bottles and empties.

No wonder people get put off recycling if they have to take a dose of insolence by a bunch of ignoramuses every time they go there.

36. Bonny P, I am not talking about “interviewing” at the point of sale, simply a few words will suffice. The sales person is not a robot though the job may be robotic. Passing the time of day makes a bit of a break for them, they stop seeing you as the enemy. How about the rude customer who is talking on their phone throughout the transaction, barely paying any attention to the person serving them? The problem of rude staff must be addressed at management level but in the meantime, in order to make your shopping experience less gloom-inducing for you, try my method, it really works. It’s not that I am an angel, simply trying to not get furious each time I shop! Over and over again tourists say they prefer Barbados as a destination because of the friendliness of the people. Give the shop assistants a chance and they revert to being nice.

37. Victor
    The customer talking on his cell phone while being served would not be considered rude by me because I don’t know the importance of the phone call. But I am buying the service that you are selling so the onus is on you the server, to treat me with courtesy that I will return to your place of business and better yet, spread the word. Have you ever heard that ‘word of mouth’ is the best advertising you could ever want?

Speaking of service, I had to go to the St. Philip Polyclinic recently because I was injured on the job and that is my work area. The ENTIRE staff at that clinic are NICE. There’s a nurse that has dreadlocks and a tatoo on her right foot, yes I was checking her out and no, i’m not gay, but she was exceptional. Talk about pleasant and nice. Man all of them had me captivated. And the doctor, was nice also. So down to earth and pleasant. I feel like I would get injured on the job again just to see all of them again man. teehee. I had to wait long as expected because I was a ‘walk-in’ and the injury wasn’t life threatening but it was worth the wait. The Pharmacist was also very friendly and courteous. I had my eye pun he doe. Ya know me? I would like he numba.
    KUDOS to the staff at St. Philip Polyclinic.

38. A few years ago, I read the following titled, “Racism In Barbados: Why Pretend”

“In Barbados, there is a lot of racism!! However, the reason why people don’t acknowledge it is because it is racism of a different kind: blacks against blacks. There is a great difference between how black bajans treat each other and how black bajans treat white bajans. Just look at the language they use, when referring to someone white, a black bajan would normally say “That white lady” however the title lady is hardly ever given to a black woman unless it’s her official title. Another thing is how black customers are treated in stores. Almost whenever I go into a store, I must always remark on how unmannerly and how unfriendly the clerks, cashiers are. Numerous times I went into stores for example shoe stores and had to approach someone just to get some service. However, when a white woman had walked in, the clerks were only too glad to help her find a pair of shoes.

Still on the store issue; I find it extremely disgusting that when I go into stores I am always followed by the guards or looked at in a suspicious manner. Many other black people I know have complained about guards in stores following them from aisle to aisle or being regarded in askance. But they never ever follow white people. I HAVE NEVER SEEN ANY GUARD IN BARBADOS FOLLOW A WHITE PERSON. No one ever looks at them with suspicious.

One of the most embarrassing things for me was the comments that I get from a lot of the black tourists I meet. Many of them realize the racism in Barbados and talk about how badly they are treated by Barbadians. Many have told me horrific stories about how unmannerly some of the people in stores act to them. It’s extremely disturbing. On the other hand, the white tourists always remark that Barbadians are friendly. That’s because in Barbados, many people still are of the opinion that only white people are “real tourists”. Barbadians must realise that there are also lots of black tourists coming to our beautiful island also.

As a tourism orientated nation, we cannot continue to turn away our black tourists like that. In the long run, it will not do the country any good especially since there are many other countries such as Cuba, Jamaica, The Bahamas and other Caribbean countries where people have a much better attitude”.

39. Sapadillo
    So true. They behave as though you’ve come a begging. They behave as though times are so hard , they can’t afford not even a smile.stupseeeeeeeee, it is disgusting.

Anyway, the librarian at Holetown library is very courteous, helpful and pleasant. I take my grans there and she’s very ‘human’.
    She would mek me join de library man but I khan read sa good :-()

So there are still a few pockets of hope scattered about here. Don’t despair.

40. @ Sapadillo
    There are a few places that shine like beacons of light; they should be celebrated. I have no connection with the undermentioned, neither do I know the staff or owners.

The little eatery in the chattel houses in St James it is called “Dene” something, nice people friendly service…a gold mine of courtesy.

39 Steps Restaurant near the Drill Hall, nice service excellent meal.

The ladies at the Self Help shop at the top of Broad Street.

All of you take a bow you have done Barbados proud.

To the Holiday reps of a particular company who do not disseminate information to “all” as you are paid to do I am working on you case…it is on-going.

41. Its really great that we are addressing this topic. It goes back to the management team and the ongoing training they promote within their establishments.

Many Barbadians returning home are so often mistreated in their adopted homes across the globe. Going to Barbados is a period of upliftment and the opportunity to reconnect with culture. However, there is an ongoing attitude problem in the main tourist parishes. St. James and Christ Church. Please take a trip to other parishes where the service is genuine, where the good old Barbadian hospitality lives on. Leave those bigger restaurants alone and lets give the small shop our money for a change. It gives us hope again in being home.

42. I’m from Barbados but have been living in USA for 22yrs .I travel back home often but yes I will admit that Bajans are very rude in the service sector,I had thought by now that things would’ve improved but the nasty treatment I got at the airport just for asking for directions by a light skin woman behind a.small enclosed booth where I needed to go to pick up my bottle of rum the _ _ _ _ _ didn’t even answer me..is that rude or what

43. Mark,
    Bajans in the service sector are very rude to fellow Bajans,, which is different. ..But much of tourism is poverty safari, driving through the country then returning to Europe and North America reciting stories about the poverty they have seen. You cannot build an economy on tourism, it is the icing on the cake, not the cake. ..

44. This old time ‘poor talk’ has little credence.

We’ll tell you why

For years White people and their acolytes have been mekking money on the backs of smiling ‘natives’

When we aren’t smiling like cheshire cats the White people complain about not mekking enough. That Bajans not as friendly as before, and so on.

But capitalism is not as friendly either. We would argue that capitalism is more brutal than it ever was. There isn’t enough in it for the Bajan to be always smiling.

How could the capitalist change the system to make life nearly unbearable for the Bajan and then expect a smile to boot?

If dah want an island of smiling Bajans, they should leah dem own some uh that!

God blimah!