Submitted by JN (as a comment)
Sir Garry Sobers

I donโ€™t normally write on blogs but after reading some of these comments I had to intervene because I feel the same way!!!

Iย  am a young Trini man and I can tell you that you should get rid of those Indo-Guyanese and Indo-Trinis before they try to dominate your country! They work in stages and it must be said they don’t and never will like black people. Bajans you must understand this so don’t be fooled by their smiles and stuff…that’s how it started in TNT all throughout the 70s, 80s and 90s, they smiled and befriended black Trinis because we had control of the economy and government and then after the UNC was given two seats by the NAR (because of ANR Robinsonโ€™s hatred for the PNM) they got power and that’s when TNT went into racial tensions…for the first time the rest of the population saw their true colours they would call black people niggers almost constantly, saying is “we time now!” and stuff like that the population was really shocked that they were so racists after all they were so nice and cool before 1995…but after reading books about race relations and politics in TNT I discovered that Indo-Caribbean people hate black people and are very resentful of us because our culture dominates…calypso, steelband, music etc and they always felt slighted they call the “fear of creolization (aka becoming assimilated into black culture) So they smiled and laughed with us until they established themselves.

Then they started the cleansing process, Panday fired Manningโ€™s wife who had a high post job in the government I think…they put themselves in the important areas to gain control of the economy….this is a warning to you Barbados if you see them doing this be very very afraid and get them out!! They fired all the blacks in areas of health, medicine, education, business and law and placed their own kind….and over the years the Indians would employ only Indians and not blacks…I remembered they even took black children off the list for colleges in common entrance and put their own it was horrible! and it was easy for them just look at the surnames if its Indian leave it if not deleteโ€ฆhealth they made sure the heads were Indians so that the newly graduated blacks would be denied from getting jobs and passing exams to start practicing..same thing occurred in law…and the worse was education UWI became completed Indian dominated and lecturers would boldly discriminate against blacks however thanks to the current PNM tertiary education for all now there are a sizeable amount of blacks and other black students from the Caribbean.

I could tell you from personal experience the Indo-Trini lecturers are horrified that their are now some many black students in their law, business and medical classes you can see the hate on their faces I even had a racist lecturer who wouldn’t even hide it!! They are now trying to deny us by giving us bad grades and giving help to their own secretly!

They changed a holiday for all races from Arrival Day to Indian Arrival Day thanks to Panday…they wanted most of govt funding to be sent to build infrastructure in Indian rural areas only and the list goes on!! That’s why black and mix people were relieved that they were ousted from power Panday even wanted to put more Indians on the police and army forces because it had too many blacks…that made headlines! I read a lot of old papers and political books about race relations because I did assignments and my thesis on it as well!

I had Indian friends at school and I always tried to see the good in them and would tell other people do notย  judge them but when I caught my friend talking about niggers and making jokes about black people and even certain comments about us from his parents I realized black people have to stand up to this shit!! We always look for the good in others but the others look down on us so Barbados fight for your country and get them out…they want to buy your land and before you know it they will take over and discriminate against us!!

When they do it its called preserving their culture and identity but when blacks stand up against it its labelled racism! I think what shocked the Indo-Caribbean people about the Bajans stand against their influx is that for the first time black people are saying no and in mass voices!! They are accustomed to us sitting back and letting things happen.

107 responses to “Barbadians Warned To Safeguard Barbados Against The Ethnic Invasion”

1. Interesting occurrence on the Trinidad Guardian where a Barbadians Anthony Wiggins was told to butt out of discussing T&T politics on that newspaper.

2. Angry Yank-E Bajan Avatar
    Angry Yank-E Bajan

I KNOWWWWW!! I am half Bajan Half Trini, and I see how those indians are. They are NASTY and a VILE people. T&T, had their chance, but lost. The only hope now is for T&T to take in HAITIANS and to repopulate the island as a BLACK NATION ONCE AGAIN!! If they don’t do that, then the indians will continue to dominate. As for Barbados, as a half b=Bajan, I worn you as one of ur own, DO NOT STAND FOR THE “GHANDI” THAT SMILES AT YOU. He is only plotting, waiting, and timing the negro to take away his riches, heritage, land and culture. They molest your sons and rape your daughters, they are not to be trusted. IF SINGAPORE AND MALAYSIA CAN KEEP THE INDIAN ON A LEASH, THEN SO CAN THE BLACK MAN!! We DO NOT have to stand for this injustice, WE MUST STAND UP FOR WHAT IS OURS, AND TELL THE INDIAN< THAT IT IS OUR WAY, OR THEY GO BACK TO INDIA. BUT AH FORGET, EVEN INDIA WOULDN"T TAKE THEM BACK.MY BAJAN BROTHERS-NO, MY BLACK CARIBBEAN BROTHERS, STAND UP FOR WHATS RIGHT. DO LIKE JAMAICA AND BARBADOS, AND LIMIT THE INDIAN"S POWER. BECAUSE ONCE THEY HAVE IT, WE WILL NOT GET IT BACK!!! STAND UP FOR YOUR BLACKNESS!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!

3. There will be many who will come on this site after reading that article by JN and seek to villify BU and david for warning us of the dangers that lie ahead.

There will be many so called ‘intellectuals or naive utopian apologists’ black barbadians in their ignorance who will seek to tell us these comments are racist and nasty and why can’t we all hold hands and sing ‘kumbayah’ instead of speaking about these things.

The truth is the termites are already in the house the only question is whether effective treatment will work or the house as we know it will be no more.

Almost every week as I read this blog I see afro guyanese coming on BU and posting and pleading with black barbados to highlight the hardship that their racist pro-indian government is handing out to them in Guyana.

The black trade unions here,that is the Barbados workers Union and the Nation public workers union are not troubled by these hardships of their fellow black union brothers and sisters in Guyana.

The black prominent national newspaper here ,that is the Nation newspaper is not troubled by these black guyanese hardship in heir own land by a racist indian led government instead they are more concerned with trying to project this country as heartless and seeking to ensure that as many of these indo guyanese take up refuge here.

The mainly black television station and radio stations here in Barbados are more interested in denigrating blacks by poisioning our children mind with BET,hip hop and dub.

What I ask you is really wrong with the black race?

Why don’t we reach out and protect our own unapologetically as the other races do?

When you read the trinidad newspapers and you listen to trini friends you quickly realise that unity among the races is a lost cause in trinidad after the election of Basdeo Panday.

It seems that the indians in Guyana and Trinidad will not be satisfied until every black person in these countries is reduced to the early post emancipation state where he is free yet not truly free.

Where the indians have replaced the white colonial masters and control the wealth and the important areas of the society and consequently the destiny of the black man,until he is finally reduced to being the hewers of wood and the drawers of water.

WHITHER BARBADOS?

Only time will tell.

Those blacks who are serious will continue to put pressure on this and any other government to preserve and protect our land from the ravages of indo hatred and discrimination against persons of african descent.

Whites have nothing to fear because these indians gravitate to them in the hopes they will be considered white but in this little 166 sq miles land space if we don’t open our eyes and ears we will soon be crying for help out on culpepper or pelican island.

JN is telling us what he is currently experiencing and angry Yank-e Bajan seems to be saying the same.

Hope we will not be like the 5 foolish virgins.

4. Enlightened Bajan Black Man Avatar
    Enlightened Bajan Black Man

How is this any different from what comes from the British National Front or similar racist propaganda? I lived in Trinidad for 4 years in the ’70s and they were preaching this same racist line against the Indians even then, and that was long before Panday became Prime Minister. What Barbados needs to guard against most is the building of race-based political parties as obtains in T&T and Guyana. Btw, I have also lived in a culture dominated by a race other than my own so I am not naive about racial tensions. Racism is ultimately about fear which is engendered by ignorance. Stop the ignorance! Bajans are more enlightened than that – at least I thought so.

5. As white British, and living in the UK, I won’t pretend that you can learn from what has happened in Britain, because the same thing is happening here, and probably the world over. The economic crisis is fostering support for extreme right wing parties across Europe, and there is a distinct shift in public sentiment towards nationalist and protectionist views. This is born out of frustration with the politicians, who have been denying for years that there is a problem. There is a growing crisis, but politicians offer “statistics” to prove their case, claiming that things aren’t so bad. In Britain there is a growing support for the BNP, with their openly racist constitution that has landed them in court. In other European countries (Holland, for instance) the shift in power is even greater.
    My view is that the problem is not the “outsider” who is taking your job, trying to create a power base, and undermining your rights and opportunities. The problem is the politicians who let things come this far. Politicians who do not defend the rights of their constituents. Politicians who are not putting their electorate first.
    A word of caution. Don’t wait for someone to come along who understands your problems, and promises a solution, because Hitler did that in Germany, and it didn’t turn out well. Idi Amin tried it in Uganda, but it didn’t work out there either!
    I think the answer is to make the government, and all the political parties, aware of just how you feel. Although people will accuse it of fostering racist views, BU is serving a purpose in giving a voice to people’s fears and frustrations. There is a reason why these views are aired more openly, and it is because they are often based on facts, from people’s own experiences in the real world. The sooner that politicians accept that they are legitimate views, the sooner they can work towards a solution that protects Bajans’ rights and interests, while at the same time not becoming an obstacle to investment or tourism. That is the difficult thing!

6. In March 2010 the BU household sat in front of our TV and watched with horror as a group labelled the Boston Tea Party spat on a group of Black congressmen. It is despicable that within that group was John Lewis a Black Congressmen who in the 60s would have marched side by side with Martin Luther King. It is with interest the lobby or advocacy of the Boston Tea Party has been embraced by Conservative America. BU noted with interest the disparaging way Obama (Black President) has been poked fun by the Republican side.

The point here is some Barbadians have been witnessing with horror the growing enclaves of ethnic groups who have been taking root in Barbados. While there is nothing wrong with people entering Barbados; it must be done in a way which does not threaten the way of life of the majority population. Barbados was built on the backs of Black slaves who were brought to Barbados under the wretched system we refer to as slavery. BU agree with Mark Williams, if our politicians donโ€™t fix the slapdash system which currently exist to manage the immigration system what can our children expect in 20 to 30 years?

The following press release was submitted by our Black brothers in Guyana:

PRESS STATEMENT

Guyana Bauxite and General Workers Union

March 25, 2010

The Guyana Bauxite and General Workers Union (GB&GWU) is not fooled by recent statements made by Labour Minister, Manzoor Manzoor, that his ministry is awaiting the ruling of the Trade Union Recognition and Certification Board (TUR&CB) before the ministry moves to conciliation in the impasse between the Union and the Bauxite Company of Guyana Inc (BCGI).  Minister Nadir ought to know that he nor Labour has no direct control over the TUR&CB which is an independent body chaired by Justice Prem Persaud whose mandated responsibility is outlined in the Trades Union Recognition Act Chapter 98:07. Minister Nadirโ€™s statement has implicated the Board as the hindrance in moving the process forward.

The union is of the view that the TUR&CB is either being dragged into this corruption, or sad to say Justice Persaudโ€™s authority is being usurped to perpetuate acts of law breaking and discrimination.  The Union is prepared to accord Justice Prem Persaud and the TUR&CB the benefit of the doubt for we believe that he, as one of the highest custodians of the law will be guided by the lady of justice  and act in accordance with the noble charter he is committed to.  Towards this end GB&GWU has dispatched a letter on March 24, 2010 the Secretary, Mr. Yoganand Persaud, copied to Justice Persaud, seeking in writing the Boardโ€™s ruling on the recognition issue.  In January the union met with the Board who subsequently met with the company and later orally communicated to the union via the secretary and chairman that the Board has informed the company it has to deal with the union until such time as it (the TUR&CB) rules otherwise.

In the meanwhile BCGI continues to break the labour law and since December when it moved to coerce workers to sign their prepared petition asking the Ministry to get them a new union; in February the company has permitted a worker and known PPP activist to solicit signatures from workers and convened meetings with another union to meet with the bauxite workers; and since March 18th the Human Resources Manager, and Labour Consultant, Mr. Mohamed Akeel (former government Chief Labour Officer), are having daily meetings in the plants, coercing workers to form Workers Committee to have engagements with management until the Union is replaced by the TUR&CB.

Mohamed Akeel knows better. Now the Union has cause based on his highly unprofessional actions and inability to represent the laws which he was for a long while responsible for enforcing to question the gentleman’s performance as a public servant. We have sufficient reason to critically review past decisions and actions of Mr. Mohamed Akeel  who is demonstrating that he is has no respect and will not protect the laws of Guyana but abrogate these for self serving and other interest(s) that have no place in a fair and just society. 

Bauxite workers of BCGI Linden and the people of Guyana, will no longer be duped by the Minister, Akeel, nor  attacks  perpetrated against GB&GWU leaders and Bro. Lincoln Lewis, telling the workers the company has problems with their leaders and that the union is lying to them. Workers and this nation know who is lying to them and remain strong in solidarity behind the GB&GWU. Negative comments from a blogger, Jamal Ali, on Stabroek News article โ€œJoseph rejects union busting claimsโ€ (16/3/2010) are being  Xeroxed and distributed to workers to discredit General Secretary (on leave)  and veteran Trade Unionist Bro Lincoln Lewis and as supporting evidence of why the union does not want the GB&GWU.   

Workers have since signed a petition dispatched to President Jagdeo, Opposition Leader Robert Corbin, TUR&CB Chairman Justice Prem Persaud, Labour Minister Manzoor Nadir, and Guyana Trades Union Congress General Secretary (ag.) Norris Witter demanding: immediate involvement of the Ministry to ensure their rights are respected and the rule of law upheld; re-commencement of the 2009 Negotiation for Increase Wages Improved Working Conditions; BCGI engagement with their union; reinstatement of all union leaders and dismissed workers; and that the company desist from engaging in tactics which are creating fear and making the workplace very tense. The union is also engaged in a worldwide petition, now carried in 7 different languages seeking to bring attention to the illegality and demanding the Minister put an end to the lawlessness.

These coercive and illegal actions will not deter workers. It will only serve to strengthen their resolve in the fight for having their rights restored under the laws.

Whereas the struggle is long and hard the union is encouraged by the goodwill of its many local and international supporters. The most powerful America Federation of Labour and Congress of Industrial Organisations (AFL-CIO), the federation of U.S. labour, has written the Minister of Labour this week about the violations, and in the days ahead the Union with its local and international support will be escalating its struggles based on the efforts to bring resolution.  

Workers have nothing to lose but all to gain in this struggle.

Leslie Gonsalves

General Secretary (ag)

GB&GWU

7. “The Pan-African formations that have been the basis of this study have ALL FOUGHT A VALIANT FIGHT IN THE PROTRACTED STRUGGLE AGAINST RACE AND CLASS DOMINATION, COLONIALISM, NEO-COLONIALISM, IMPERIALISM, BLACK-DISENFRANCHISEMENT, APARTHEID AND EURO-CENTRISM.

These groupings also FOUGHT TO BRING BLACK UNITY as a necessary pre-requisite to bring about black dignity and fight against all the economic, social and political disabilities facing the black Barbadian masses. In addition, these Pan Africanists knew no boundaries when Black people worldwide were being threatened as seen in the Italian invasion of Ethopia, the struggle against apartheid, and the civil rights struggle in the United States of America. The Pan African bodies offered tremendous support in the above battles to prevent the savaging of their brothers and sisters world wide in the struggle for dignity and justice.

These Pan-African movements to formations BATTLED AGAINST extreme odds in a very reactionary political order in the quest for the betterment of the African masses. Many of the members suffered financially, were discriminated against, vilified and classified as being madmen who were harassed by the police authorities. However, history has vindicated these Pan-Africanists who in many cases were the conscience of the people in leading the STRUGGLE against societal injustices. They can feel proud of their work in trying to educate the black masses of their proud and glorious past and challenging the myths and fairy tales about Africa and the black race.” TAKEN FROM THE CONCLUSION OF THE TEXT: PAN-AFRICANISM IN BARBADOS – AN ANALYSIS OF THE ACTIVITIES OF MAJOR PAN-AFRICAN FORMATIONS IN BARBADOS BY MR RODNEY WORRELL, TEACHER AND PAN-AFRICAN ACTIVIST.

The following five points can be made directly against the backdrop of the above closing passages of the said book.

1) That proper sustained credible organized thought and action around some essentialist hard core Pan-Africanist Rastafarian Spritual Baptist movement or organization is absolutely necessary for helping to destroy eliminate any attempts to dominate Barbados in the long run by Indians, Chinese, Arabs, or any other race that was not known to have been settled here when blacks were being enslaved, and had laboured to build the foundations for this country.

Simply doing as BU and many others on here do – flagging some issues that deeply affect – mainly intellectually and psychologically – some Black middle class people in Barbados esp., is totally insufficient however. We in PDC dont even know what Afro-centric Black conscious ideologies they really conform with!!

These persons including the person behind BU seem not to be really grounded in those ideologies, which if it were so, would give them a greater perspective on and appreciation for many more Black people issues and affairs than they raise and deal with on here, and would help them to greater fight against those current and future events and trends that are so anti-black anti-African in Barbados, in the English speaking Caribbean region, In Africa and across the entire Diaspora.

2) Simply posturing about using immigration as a theatre of action in winning this fight WILL NOT CUT IT either, as that, many actual and potential inter-racial problems in a country like Barbados go way beyond properly clinically functionally being dealt with in the context of an immigration policy, and especially since many of these problems – some of which are cited in the above extractions from Mr. Worrell’s book – have pre-existed the emergence of any immigration policy, Immigration Department, etc. in Barbados.

3) It would be therefore disastrous to continue the struggle for greater black enfranchisement and empowerment in Barbados on the basis of any sort of present or future immigration policy. For, wicked demonic disenfranchising emasculating policies like TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE, IMPORTING THE “PRICES” OF FOREIGN GOODS AND SERVICES, THE REPAYING OF INSTITUTIONAL PRODUCTIVE LOANS, THE SELLING OF LAND RIGHTS TO FOREIGNERS, AND LIKE DLP/BLP CORRUPTION are doing far more destruction and damage to black people, their psyches and their affairs on the whole in this country than to the other races and their psyches and their affairs in this country, and far more damage than any immigration policy has hitherto done to blacks and to the state within which they live.

Yet, many so-called Pan Africanists and Pan African sympathizers in Barbados refuse to fight against these dreaded Euro-centrisms and their effects on esp. Blacks in Barbados, but prefer to side with them against what is right!! What great fools they are too!!. Many of them think that most of the Black struggles are over in Barbados and in many other places since the end of many brutal vicious downpressing local and international systems – well those that meant the worst for blacks – like enslavement, European colonization, segragation in the USA, apartheid in South Africa. But they are dead wrong!! As the emancipation process starkly shows the struggle for greater black dignity and valor must continue or continues always wheresover black people live and wheresoever other races seek to trample on our rights or disregard them.

But, yes, a clear consistent pro-nationalist anti-imperialist anti-expansionist immigration policy is very important now and for as long as possible in so far as it must be seen as one of the first battlegrounds in which this fight must be won and be won on sheer intellectual political leadership and vision, the will to properly implement and police such a precise clear cut easily understandable immigration policy, and to have it backed up with strong unwavering mass based support – in the absence of the invocation of some counter military warlike responses. Indeed, such implies that such a policy must also be in harmony with many other important national policies and strategies which would invariably seek to strengthen and develop the affairs of the Black masses and middle classes in the country.

4) At the same time, SERIOUS POLITICAL STANCES MUST BE TAKEN against Pan-Africanists like Mr. Trevor Prescod, Mr. David Denny Mr. Commissiong, and all such persons – as Pan Africanists – who have been and are too ideologically confused and too politically conservative and contradictory, and who have themselves already demonstrated and will continue to demonstrate that they can terribly mislead many people within an entire Pan-Africanist movement in Barbados into believing that many Whites Indians Mestizoes Arabs and their cultures can still coexist properly with blacks and with what little culture and heritage they have in this country . Ironically, many of these persons would have substantially become Pan-Africanists and serious preachers of Pan Africanism only after the collapse of Socialism in the EAST, whereupon they sought ideological philosophical refuge in Pan Africanism. So they are still NOT fundamentally equipped to deal with black people issues like the late Marcus Garvey, late Dr. Khalid Muhammed, Minister Louis Farrakhan, etc. who dealt principally with blackness Afro-centricity and who did NOT get too mixed up with communism socialism – the caucasian’s creations.

Like before the times of collapse of Socialism in the East, many of these people – who believed strongly in Socialism ( which places ideas of class first before those of race), and who branded themselves communists/marxists – are still seen to be suffering from serious delusions of class superiority or racial inferiority/ superiority – depending on how many of their thoughts/actions are viewed in different instances as well as depending on how they think – as judged by many of their actions in so many circumstances – so much so that for them white Euro-centrism is still superior to black Afro-centrism when it comes to the question of the building and maintenance of capacity for real alternative developmental strategies and programs for this country.

Hence, these persons’ primary focus – as socialists – in on criticizing – and quite rightly so – the unequal distribution of wealth, income and power among the classes within a capitalist system, BUT they are so dastardly weak as Pan Africanist in locating a Pan Africanist ideology that can help build an alternative political system that can better the capitalist system at generating wealth, income and power in and among esp. predominantly black countries and also at distributing such fairly equally among the classes. So, much for being Pan Africanist. The late Marcus Garvey must be turning in his grave today!! How did a Pan Africanist like Trevor Prescod really manage to swear allegiance to the Queen when he was a parliamentarian and Cabinet Minister? How the hell?? Where are his allegiances really lying??? What a big joker!!!.

5) Many of these so-called Pan Africanist leaders have too often set personal professional ambitions
    above and beyond making sure that there is the continued growth and development of the Pan-African movement and its ideological political enterprise in Barbados, and therefore as a result of such will overtly or covertly side with ideas or people including Whites, Indians, Chinese, Arabs to help ensure that their ambitions are realized and secured – even if some of these kinds of actions raise questions from some quarters – and even if it means that some Pan Africanist project is sometimes compromised or the movement is.

How could any serious devoted Pan Africanists join the DLP or BLP – which have disgraceful histories of when they are in government or in opposition in Parliament, of deliberately receiving monies and other kinds of support from these same people – who do NOT give too wuk ups about the interests of black people – in exchange for agreements with them, esp when in government, to keep the broad masses and middle classes across this country suppressed and oppressed in so many spheres?

Instead, why have they NOT gone and formed their own Pan Africanist parties or parties with heavy Pan Africanist overviews? Well, in this regard we have to congratulate Mr. Commissiong for helping to form the PEP even after hoping and skipping from the DLP to the NDP to the BLP, and even when we in the PDC have been detesting his constant criticism of wukking up – which is the normal black person’s style of dancing – in many of his party’s writings.

Furthermore, some fissures that opened up within the Pan African movement ( not the organization PAMOB ) about five years ago and principally involving Mr. Commissiong and the late Ikael Tafari and their own supporters did more to damage the movement than to help create the unity and stability that is so much needed within Pan Africanist organizations and the wider Pan African black conscious groups and environments. So, it is these kinds of happenings that are also doing much more harm to the preservation and further growth of fundamental holistic bastions that have to be used by many black conscious people in protecting against any incursions into our country by too many Indians, Chinese, Arabs, whites and their customs and cultures ( NOT just the convenient flagging, esp in very reactionary ways, of some issues that are affecting some black people in our country).

But, we have long said that as many black people as possible from wheresoever must be welcome in Barbados to stay to visit or whatever as long as they behave themselves and respect many of our traditions and customs and as a national strategic counter against the growing numbers of Indians, Chinese, Arabs, etc in this country.

So, there you have it, a set of balanced and reinforcing Afro-centric Pan African Rastafarian Spiritual Baptist perspectives movements are always needed for our country and other spaces where blacks occupy in this an increasingly moderning and complex global age.

8. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Mark Williams

Thank you,thank you,thank you.

We don’t have to think very hard we have Fiji as an example before us of a small island nation with a black indigenous population who allowed indians to come and work in the sugar fields and 50 years after, they had multiplied,brought in their families and seeking to control the commerce,the parliament and the lands.

Thank goodness a white british man in mark williams, can see what we are seeing while those who write saying they are proud black bajan can’t see the truth if it smacks them down.

At every turn we need to educate our children and family and friends about the threats that are posed by this indian invasion.

9. Good on Mark Williams on speaking out for Barbados. I too am a White British woman who, with her husband, loves Barbados and its people. We say to the true-Bajan people, do not let Barbados get into the same uncontrollable downward spiral as Britain is in at present. Be in control of your own country and do not let anyone, whether White, Brown, Green or Blue, try to tell you what you must do with it. You must tell your Government what you want, not what outsiders think you should have. Because you can guarantee certain immigrants will most definately ruin the whole, beautiful island and Bajans will then become the emmigrants.

10. De fella in the blue jeans and blue shirt, sitting patiently waiting for the opportune time to get a politician’s ear.

http://rumshoplime.shutterfly.com/71

He manages to get to the PM, but Thompson doesn’t seem to interested.

http://rumshoplime.shutterfly.com/70

This had been my experience. These folks come from a culture that does not care about laws. Theres has always been an approach of befriending those who can help them continue to break the law. That is why there is so much police, immigration, custom, and political class involvment in the high number of illegals in Barbados.

IT IS IMPORTANT THAT YOU CONTINUE TO JUDGE YOUR POLITICAL REPRESENTATIVES, SINGULARLY ON THEIR VIEW ON ILLEGAL IMMIGRATION IN BARBADOS.

11. all yuh racists jerking off before the keyboards with this type of anti-indian stuff, take time to remember that black people all over fought, wih solidarity of other races, for integration (remember Martin Luther’s speech about all races and the ANC’s Charter) –they still are fighting and suffering with the neo-fascist National Front in England. Yuh is the same as the National Front.Whey yuh got yuh brains ? . Keep jerking off–it may clear yuh head…

12. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Emancipation day message – we know you are norman faria honorary consul for guyana.

Our eyes are opened and now thankfully even white british visitors to this island are warning us about the negative effects of large number if idians in their country.

13. Barbadians should be monitoring the multicultural experiment(?) ongoing in Europe, it continues to fail dismally. Why should Barbados not discuss how we see the growing ethnic population impacting Barbados?

14. @ emancipation day message // March 29, 2010 at 10:32 AM

Its much easier to shut your mouth and look cool than to open it and let the world know your and an a**

15. Barbados no haven for illegal immigrants

3/29/2010

By Randy Bennett

Barbados has no problem against the free movement of CARICOM members, once they do so legally.
    This point was made clear by Prime Minister David Thompson last Thursday night, as he spoke during the final Town Hall meeting on the Green Paper on Immigration at Solidarity House.

Before a packed hall, he made it clear that Barbados did not want to stop persons from the other
    Caribbean territories from coming to Barbados, but that there needed to be some order in the manner in which this was done, just as in the other CARICOM member states.

In so doing, Thompson, under whose remit Immigration falls, acknowledged that Barbadians were known to have emigrated on large scales to other territories such as Guyana and Jamaica, but said that they did so legally, mostly through the use of schemes and programmes designed by those territories to attract workers there.

โ€œThe vast majority of Barbadians who migrated, did so under schemes. People tend to talk a lot about the Barbadian movement, but the majority of Barbadians who moved did so under official guest worker or other programmes.

โ€œThat is a fact. So when you hear people argue and say that Barbadians have moved more than anybody else, that is true โ€“ but they have done so legally,โ€ he told the audience.

โ€œWe have simply, as in other areas of national lifeโ€ฆ not acted and spouted a lot of rhetoric about commitment to things that we cannot make. We do not have the financial resources to do it, we do not have the physical space, we have housing challenges and we are having big health challenges in some areas because of squatting. I am not going to allow that to happen,โ€ he stressed.

He also spoke on the issue of Barbados not acknowledging common-law marriage as grounds for gaining citizenship, saying that none of the other member states were supportive of it.

โ€œThe other countries have said no because their church communities do not agree with it and they are not implementing it. So why must Barbados be the only country of 13 CARICOM countries that is going to allow a situation where people who are in union other than marriage enjoy benefits and if a Barbadian goes to any of the other 12 then they cannot enjoy that right?

โ€œIn that sense we have to find a compromise, but the compromise cannot be that people must enjoy greater rights in Barbados than Barba-dians can enjoy elsewhere within the regional grouping. Why should we be more generous than anybody else?โ€ he asked.

16. Lets not misplace our outrage on this issue. Illegal aliens did not get into Barbados on their own. They were encouraged and sustained by a Political class that still defends their existance in the numbers that they are in Barbados. Reserve your anger for those who are ultimately responsible. Your political representatives to the parliament of Barbados.

17. If you have money in Clico, better try and get it now! The Ponzi scheme is about to
    collapse. Might take the whole island with it.

18. Madoff // March 29, 2010 at 1:24 PM

If you have money in Clico, better try and get it now! The Ponzi scheme is about to
    collapse. Might take the whole island with it.
    —————————————————————————-

Sad what Mottley did to cause the “run” on the Company for pure political greed.

by GERALYN EDWARD

THERE HAS BEEN A RUN on CLICO International Life Insurance Company and its top management say they are fighting to restore the company.

Terrence Thornhill, president of CLICO Holdings Limited, said last night that confidence in the institution had been battered and despite all its efforts, people have been calling on it for their money, making a bad situation worse.

He said CLICO had gone from being a very strong company with more than $150 million in cash at the beginning of 2009 to one forced to pay out more than $118 million over the past 12 to 14 months.

In his first interview with the SUNDAY SUN since CLICO’s parent company CL Financial Limited revealed it was on the verge of collapse unless the Trinidad and Tobago government came to its rescue, Thornhill said his management team and sales force were committed to seeing the company restored.

Weak cash position

“The fact that the company has paid out so much cash means its cash position is very weak,” the CLICO Holdings president pointed out.

He said the company continued to meet its commitments to policyholders “but it is not in a position to meet the commitment at this time to every single client”.

The CLICO group, which reportedly has more than $1 billion in assets, has been selling some of its vast holdings.

Thornhill said that CLICO International Life president Geoffrey Brewster and his team had been “working diligently” selling millions of dollars in assets to meet the demand of CLICO policyholders.

“There are a number of people who feel a strong loyalty to the company, but their confidence has waned over time because we have not only been battered in the Press, but by friends of policyholders . . . .

“The constant hammering over time wears people out,” he said.

He added, “Because of the weak cash position we can’t pay all those persons whose policies have matured.

“It is not everybody who will immediately get their full amount even when we sell down some of our assets.”

Asked how he and the management team at CLICO have been able to keep the doors of the company open in the face of such perilous circumstances, Thornhill said:

“Our staff and agency force are extremely loyal to CLICO and some have been with the company for a long time. They know the company was in a strong position before . . . but this is what can happen when you are part of a bigger group.

“It has been a learning experience in how you manage in a period when there is so much distress. And now that the economy is not doing well, as other countries’ around the world, that too has created some constraints in terms of what options people may have.” Please see also tomorrow’s BARBADOS
    BUSINESS AUTHORITY.

19. Deeply saddened by your ignorance. Your education system really let you down. Avatar
    Deeply saddened by your ignorance. Your education system really let you down.

The editor and publisher of this blog has this to say:

โ€œIn March 2010 the BU household sat in front of our TV and watched with horror as a group labelled the Boston Tea Party spat on a group of Black congressmen.โ€

And where were you watching the TV, Mr. Editor/Publisher? On Mars? Do you get TV signals from Venus?

First, there is no group โ€œlabelled the Boston Tea Partyโ€. It doesnโ€™t exist. You made it up.

Second, โ€œa group labelled the Boston Tea Partyโ€ did not spit โ€œon a group of black congressmenโ€.

Third, since the first and second things above are irrefutably true and your opinions, Mr. Editor and Publisher, are irrefutably false, why did you โ€œwatch with horrorโ€ at something that didnโ€™t happen?

Some abominable racist shithead might have spat on a black congressperson. And if that happened, that dickhead should be hunted down with the full force of law enforcement and should, in my view, be sentenced to whatever if the maximum term in his jurisdiction for whatever his jurisdiction defines as a hate crime.

New Barbados Underground motto: โ€œBringing Made-Up-Stuff and Opinions to the Peopleโ€.

There are several 100%, cast-iron, certain guarantees here, but for now itโ€™s really only worth mentioning the first reaction.

This is it: someone who couldnโ€™t put together a grammatical sentence (aka, a coherent thought) if his or her life depended on it, will now call me a racist. Guaranteed. The only challenge is in observing how they say it. Will it be in the vomit-inducing racism of โ€˜Negromanโ€ (and I think we all know who he is) or the I-lust-for-ignorance mindlessness of the racists who supported โ€˜Negromanโ€™ when he said that an elderly Canadian lady murdered on this island was โ€œwhite thrashโ€. Right, he couldnโ€™t even spell โ€œtrashโ€ in his insult to her in her appalling murder.

20. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

PDC ?

HAVE YOU thrown away the down with the DLP /BLP SLOGANS

You must keep it going
    words are powerful things –

Remember that

21. Dude get grip. Why carryon on about something (being called a racist on the issue you highlighted) before it occurs? I think your intervention was to correct an untruth regarding events in the US and not to engage in prophesy.

It appears that you are playing with words to refute BU’s contention. Yes there is no Boston Tea party group, and yes there is no “group” that spit on a congressman. I am aware of the incident BU is refering to and semantics aside, that incident as reported did not occur. Had I seen BU’s article I would argued the point that I am now about too.

22. BU take a look at the video on the page below:
    Video Of The Spitting Incident Appears On Youtube
    March, 25, 2010 โ€” nicedeb
    In a news break during the Rush Limbaugh Show, Kansas Cityโ€™s KMBZ reported that a video that proved Mo Rep Emanuel Cleaver was spat upon ( with the clear implication that it was purposeful) had appeared on You tube, and you could find the link at the KMBZ website.

Well, here it is, and what it shows is a guy cupping his hands around his mouth to form a makeshift megaphone, hollering โ€ kill the bill!โ€ as the black caucus entourage walked by. The spittle that sprayed on Cleaver was clearly unintentional:

As you could see, the guy was yelling the entire time, and there were Capital police officers accompanying the entourage the whole time. If there had been any criminality whatsoever, they would have acted.

23. Let me tell you about an incident I experienced at a motel in Florida a few weeks ago. It was getting dark. I tried to open the door to the check-in area of the motel. An Indian desk clerk pointed to a window and told me I would have to check in from outside (in the cold I might add). At first I didn’t think anything of this, because many motels in Florida have policies that guests must check-in from windows after dark for the safety of the desk clerks. However, minutes after I checked in, I saw the Indian desk clerk open the main door for first, a White couple, and then a lone White man. I saw him respectfully checking them in, in the room he refused to allow me, a university educated, Black Bajan woman, to enter minutes earlier.

The lone White man tried to let me into the room when I went to confront the racist Indian desk clerk, but couldn’t because the desk clerk controlled the lock from behind the desk. I had to wait until the bigot felt like letting me in to go in and tell him that I had seen what he had done.

I have reported him to various agencies and organizations. The interesting thing about this is that I had gone to the Barbadian Consulate in Miami (Coral Gables), Florida the previous day and saw what appeared to be an at least part Indian woman with a Trinidadian (possibly Guyanese) accent working at the reception desk in the consulate. I thought to myself, “Black Bajans gave that Indian woman a job that a Bajan could do, and here I am, a few miles away, being discriminated against by an Indian.”

24. I forgot to add that the Indian man smiled at me the entire time he was discriminating against me.

I also want to add that Bajans need to watch all immigrants, not just Indians. Within the last year, I have read many nasty comments made by Brits and other Europeans, Americans, Canadians, and Caricom nationals on various websites, like “British Expats.com,” about Bajans. Imagine, a commenter on Britishexpats.com tried to discourage someone who inquired about Bajan government schools from sending his/her child to a government school because, according to her, the only kind of children you will find at the government schools are “dark skinned children.” lol. Many European, American, and Canadian immigrants love Barbados because of the sun, sea, and sand. Many of them don’t care for Black people. Watch them too.

25. Look we don’t need the individual stories, about discrimination. It happens, we know.

26. @Bim Girl…

You are, of course, aware that you are exhibiting the exact same kind of racism that offends you?

Racism, sadly, still exists. We know this.

27. I live in Toronto,On.Canada, and the Indians are even trying to take over Canada so imagine Barbados. I would be one bajan who would surely fight to the end for my country and fellow bajan sisters and brothers. There is no-way that we bajans should allow the Indians and the Chinese or anyone to come and try to take over our beautiful island country. Indians only care for indians, they don’t even care about the white man further more so again imagine a Black man. They are never to be trusted with anything because, their only goal is to want to take over everything everywhere. And they are not smart either, they pretend they are teachers and doctors and don’t even know anything and I am speaking from 100% experience and observations.

28. Adrian Hinds.
    I just watched the youtube video. Have to disagree with you. It looks to me like the guy intended to spit, to provoke a reaction. Guess we’ll never know for sure.

29. Deeply saddened ... Avatar
    Deeply saddened …

Bajanselly has this jaw-dropping assertion to offer:

โ€œthe Indians are even trying to take over Canadaโ€

Perhaps you should alert the media. Perhaps you should call the police. Perhaps EVERY SINGLE PERSON IN THE WORLD who makes a living by studying politics and demographics should immediately abandon their posts and come to you for wisdom. Perhaps you should do your absolute best to grow a brain and not say things that are demonstrably mindless.

Perhaps Catholic priests are to be trusted alone with little boys.

Itโ€™s all so terribly unconfusing.

30. BajanShelly: I don’t know what part of Canada you live in but from where I’m sitting, the East Indians, Pakistanis and Sri Lankans are on the lowest rung of the socio-economic ladder. The only thing they seem to be taking over is the jobs at McDonalds, KFC and/or delivering pizzas. Your post is pure rubbish.

31. I seem to have a problem.

Bajans are Black,White or mixup red like me.

It may be that I went to school in Barbados in the 50s and 60s
    and it is engrained in my pysche.

I have no problem with Barbados adding to the racial mix but we must
    avoid the apparent racial divide that exist in Trinidad and Guyana.

It is important for Government to protect the rights and quality of life
    of the descendants of Slaves and Slavemasters who are Black,White and Red.

32. Angry Yank-E Bajan Avatar
    Angry Yank-E Bajan

And wut is that supposed to mean Mash Up & Buy Back? I’m Half Bajan (father is Bajan) and Half Trini, but I live in New York. I claim my Bajan Heritage ANY DAY! Does that make me less of a Bajan in your eyes??

33. Angry Yank-E Bajan Avatar
    Angry Yank-E Bajan

I think “Enlightened Bajan Black Man ” Should Change his name to “Foolish Ex Bajan Sell Out”. What is this “Ignorance” you speak of? When you have Indo-Guyanese and Indo Trinidadians segregate themselves from their Black counterparts in New York City? They Live in Queens and Profiteer of us in Brooklyn. THEY ARE LEECHES. THEY are flies that need to be swatted at because wherever the black man goes, the “Ghandi” isn’t to far behind trying to pinch a dollar off us. My BAJAN BROTHERS, Tell our families back on the island to make NOISE to the politicians. Create a petition of the green paper, MAKE THE POLICIES MORE STRICT, BARBADOS WON’T BE ANOTHER T&T OR GUYANA. THE RAT CATHER CURRY MUCHING MONSTER SHALL NOT TAKE WHAT IS RIGHTFULLY OURS!!!!

34. Mash Back and Buy Up
    “Well, no, you wouldnโ€™t. Because youโ€™re just another Bajan comyuh in Canada, several thousand miles away. You shouldnโ€™t even have a vote in Barbados, much less an opinion about its immigration policy.”

unfortunately you dont know that you are an arse if you did you would keep quite, my mother always said to me when you have nothing to say just say PRETTY

35. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Please remove that stupid comment from one of those BFP creeps using a distortion of my handle.See post at 29th March @ 9:41 p.m.

Give it another name or something.

36. Whey “Negroman” poster dey ? He flat on he back. ? He supposed to be the coxswain (cheerleader) head jerker fuh the two or three person pack of racists posting here. De police should really round yuh all up and put yuh in a cell where yuh continue yuh racist gossip……No bail and no release until instigators like this so called blog an opportunist opinion makers including some politicians get the message they living in a global village where all this racism, xenophobia and insularity has no place…

37. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Narman – emancipation message

Yuh like yuh frighten.

The people eyes are opening and you and all of your people should go back to guyana.

This is not VOB where you can call vic fernandes or mike browne and tell them to shut up the people and this is not the Nation where your guyanese buddy roxanne gibbs can control what goes out.

What the a** yuh coming on this site for.You seem to be a pevert who always thinking about men jerking off.Faggott.

38. Adrian Hinds,

Just write your comments and don’t lecture others on what to write. I see your comments all over the Bajan media, not just on Barbados Underground. I don’t always think your comments are worthwhile, but I don’t tell you that. When you get your own blog, you can control what people write.

39. Christopher Halsall,

There is an old saying, “Those who forget the past are doomed to repeat it.” Based on what I have been seeing lately in Barbados, the current generation of Whites who are moving into Barbados are not very different from past generations. What was essentially apartheid existed in Barbados when Whites were running the government. Now I am seeing White immigrants coming into Barbados saying they want only expat (White) friends for themselves; expat playmates, schools, and nannies for their children; private (White) clubs; and expat communities in which to live. Of course the expat communities have gates, walls, or trees to keep out the colored natives.

These racially biased people will resegregate Barbados and cause future generations of Black Bajans to experience what their parents, grandparents, and other ancestors experienced. After Black leaders fought hard to desegregate Barbados after independence, it would be a tragedy for Black Bajans to now allow bigots from abroad to enter Barbados and recolonise the place.

I think Black slaves are rolling over in their graves at the thought of Black Bajans allowing the descendants of people who oppressed them to come into Barbados and take over the land they were forced to work so hard on and were even murdered on, and to position themselves to oppress future generations of Black Bajans.

Mr. Halsall, I am not fazed about being called a racist. I am proud to be a racist if it means I can help save Barbados for future generations of Black folks whose ancestors shed blood, sweat, and tears for it.

PS, do you see how badly White Americans are behaving just because a Black man is president. lol. They are in the streets everyday in mobs acting insane. Black people need a refuge like Barbados in which to escape the insanity of White folks. There is insanity in many of the Black run countries of the world also. Barbados is different. That is why we need to hold on to it.

40. @ Bim Girl

Time to throw out all of those foreigners. Don’t pay attention to Christopher Halsall, he is just playing devil’s advocat.

Interesting to see how those white racists are quitting the UK and moving to Barbados. They will bring their diseases, lewd drunken behaviour, drugs and promiscuous lifestyle.

Don’t let them in. I know these people – don’t ever believe that they have respect for the afro-bajan.

41. Well thanks for your comments, mine were made in all sincerity, obviously Barbados will not go forward with people like you. I do not profess to be supposedly intellegent as you seem to think you are, I support Barbados and its people in fighting for their right in their own country, and if you can’t see that quite a lot of so called “Whites” are sick of such wrong doings also, then you are the fool, not I. Grow up and maybe shut up!!

42. BU, this story has been hijacked by some fool trying to pick a fight. The arguments started good, on both sides, but then the insults started. I think most the insulting comments are from one guy, just trying to provoke an even more extreme exchange. It has ruined a good discussion. BU, please remove all the insults, so we can get back to having a debate on things that matter. Don’t let this site get dragged down. You are being used.

43. I am happy that more and more Black Barbadians are waking up to threat the stinking rat catcher/mango seller Indians & Pakistani,the killing,disease carrying,musty Europeans, the equally nasty Chinese & the most offensive of the lot the miscreants,the human scums Indo-Guyanese.

Black Barbadians will never be conquered and dominated by any other ethnic group again.Black Barbadians are going to stand up and defend their right in this country.Our parents & grandparents have sacrificed too much for us to give up this little gem of a country, the best Caribbean country to the invaders,the murderers,the suicide bombers from Europe,India & Guyana.

I was a proud Black Barbadian man when the show window to the Royal Shop in Broad Street was smashed during the strike by the former employees of that store.I want to now congratulate the person or persons for showing such bravery by performing an act like that.That person is a true & patriotic Black Barbadians.That act forced the stinking Indian rat catcher owners to find expensive shutters to protect the store.

incidents of that nature have given rise to the idea that Black Barbadians are not going to allow those wretches to come into Black Barbados and dominate us.The timid,passive nature of our parents & grand parents have been overtaken by an aggressive & forthright attitude in our young people.An attitude that allows our young people not to be intimidated by the stinking foreigners in Barbados.

Black Barbadians are going to defend this country with last breath in our bodies.We are prepare to make this country ungovernable and create anarchy if our right to exist freely in this country is threatened by any other ethnic group.The old colonial days of Barbados have long passed and Black Barbadians will defend this country by any means necessarily.

44. Moongoose Crap Avatar

Wait tell me someting Barbados have an Indian population ain’t it? Wha mek de Indo-Guyanese or Indo-Trini so different from the population ’bout hey? What a load of mongoose crap!
    What is the purpose of referencing the Trinidad Guardian re commentator Wiggins? I am a Bajan and several of my comments have been rejected in this forum, that is part and parcel of making your comments from your armchair.

45. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Are we going to have to deal with this poster using other handles all day?

Isn’t there something you can do to ban this sort of thing like BFP usually do?

46. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I have just read Spaceman comment which asked that BU remove all those disgusting comments which we know are being posted by that BFP creep jack bowman.

I too am suggesting that you delete these posts whenever they appear because those persons from the other site keep disrupting these posts too often.

Go and bathe musty desmond bourne and BFP fleabags.

47. @Bim Girl: “There is an old saying, โ€œThose who forget the past are doomed to repeat it.โ€

Indeed.

@BG: “Now I am seeing White immigrants coming into Barbados saying they want only expat (White) friends for themselves; expat playmates, schools, and nannies for their children.

I will admit that is true for some — generally those who are only here for a short time. It is *not* true for all.

For example, within my circle of friends and acquaintances, there are those of all colours and faiths. But then, I tend to hang out with intelligent people, who judge people based on what they think, not on how they look.

@BG: “I am proud to be a racist if it means I can help save Barbados for future generations of Black folks whose ancestors shed blood, sweat, and tears for it.

Two wrongs don’t make a right. It just makes the disagreement go on, and on, and on…

We all share the same (very small) planet. It truly pains and saddens me to hear you (and others) speak they way you have.

You complain about being judged because of your race, but then you say you are proud to do so to others.

@BG: “PS, do you see how badly White Americans are behaving just because a Black man is president. lol.

Was it not mostly Whites who voted a Black man into the most powerful office in the world (currently)? Over two white females and a white man?

I would argue the current chaos in the USA is about profit, not race.

48. What a bunch of whiners, wankers too. Mash Up & Buy Back et al, if you can not stand behind what you have to say and insist on running to Mummy (David) every time someone shows you up for the idiots you are, then perhaps you should consider a) thinking before you type b) going back to school or c) sticking to the rum shops frequented only by black Bajans. That way you can always be right!

49. @mash up

Bear with us, we have an idea who is perpetrating this attack.

50. @David: “Bear with us, we have an idea who is perpetrating this attack.

Two identical posts using different pseudonyms. Were they using different IPs? Or different browsers?

For the record, I will swear on a stack of Linux distribution DVDs (or holy books) that it was not me that did this.

But a deeper question… With the “silly season” starting so early, is BU appropriately prepared for the “games”?