Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Congratulations on the passage of the Health Reform Bill. I am impressed and truly inspired by your vision, conviction and determination!

Many political observers in Barbados have come to compare and twin the politics of Washington to that of Barbados. They liken the Democrats in Washington to the governing Democratic Labour Party and the Republicans on Capitol Hill to the current leadership of the Barbados Labour Party.

Sir, in relation to your recent experience with the health care issue, we have an almost identical scenario existing here in Barbados, where absolutely nothing the government does is supported by the opposition.

I can well understand your frustration at having to fight so hard to effect positive and meaningful change. But that, I suppose, is the nature of politics in 2010. The Health Reform Bill, as I understand it, would bring both immediate as well as long term benefits to millions of Americans.

Straight off the bat, health insurers would be required to let young people stay on their parents’ policy up to their 27th birthday. Also, insurers would be barred from denying coverage to kids with pre-existing health conditions, and tax credits, to the tune of 35 percent of premiums, would start to flow to businesses with fewer than 50 employees to enable them to take out and maintain policies.

Mr. President, it is hard to consider how anyone, voted for by beneficiaries of these changes, could oppose them. Yet, we know that every single Republican, all 212 of those who voted, gave the thumbs down to this measure. This is almost as ridiculous, Mr. President, as our Leader of the Opposition here in Barbados persistently opposing free bus fares for school children. Can you imagine that two thirds of the Barbados Labour Party’s Parliamentary team represents rural constituencies, where many children take two buses to school, and these guys violently opposed the abolition of bus fares for school children?

I know how you must feel, Mr. President, because here in Barbados we also had a situation where the opposition opposed holiday camps for school children, constituency councils that would empower ordinary Barbadians and even more recent, the appointment of a Parliamentary Secretary to oversee the day to day operations of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

Imagine you have a situation in Barbados where over the last five years, it became commonplace for ordinary Barbadians to spend as much as 24 hours at the main, general hospital waiting to see a doctor. Also, where there were persistent reports of less than flattering experiences at the hospital by patients, staff and visitors alike.

Your counterpart, Prime Minister David Thompson, determined that in addition to having an energetic and competent minister of health that he would reinforce the oversight of government, by putting in a Parliamentary Secretary who has developed a reputation for getting things done. Do you know, Mr. President, the opposition in Barbados opposed that as well?

And it gets even worse! We have a serious water problem in Barbados. There are residential communities that have had to put expansion on hold, as a result of a shortage of or inaccessibility to water. Eighty per cent of callers on the call-in programmes complain of nightmares in respect of the Barbados Water Authority. The situation called for urgent and meaningful action. The Prime Minister acted. He appointed one of his then ministers to the position of Executive Chairman of the BWA in an effort to get ageless issues addressed and resolved. The number one problem at BWA is said to be human resource and industrial relations driven. Arni Walters is one of the foremost experts on HR and IR issues in Barbados. Do you know, Mr. President, that Mia Mottley and the opposition opposed that move as well?

So this opposing for the sake of opposing is not unique to Washington, my friend, we encounter the same nonsense in Barbados on a daily basis.

We have school children doing as they like both on and off the school compound. The Prime Minister and Minister of Education are at their wits end to find a solution to this problem. Do you think the Leader of the Opposition or the former Prime Minister has said a word in support of the government’s effort to check and stamp out incidents of antisocial behavior among school children? No! Not a word! Their obsession is with talking arithmetic.

Everything that flows from their mouths is GDP, deficit and foreign reserves related. No one is saying that these are not important, but, as the Prime Minister has said repeatedly, Barbados is more than an economy. It is a society. Yet, the Leader of the Opposition, and presumably Prime Minister-in-Waiting, cannot find a single social issue to associate with or to champion.

Indeed, she and her predecessor attended and spoke at their first party meeting in months (I am going to give you the joke about that another time) and when they discovered that the economic techno-babble was not resonating with even their supporters, do you know what they ended up talking about? Mr. President, you won’t believe it. Their time was spent calling for a member of the cabinet to be fired over some incident they say took place in the Members Room of Parliament.

I am waiting, Mr. President, to see where they and their mouthpiece newspaper are going to take this issue, because I recall hearing of a gun being fired among a gathering of BLP government ministers a few years ago. It was never denied or confirmed whether a then representative for a rural constituency received a gunshot wound, but I can tell you no one messed with the then representative for a very urban constituency thereafter. Interestingly, that incident was never reported in the newspaper.

Furthermore, Mr. President, have you ever heard of a pigtail bucket? Well legend has it that a senior Member of the current Barbados Parliament beat his father to a pulp with a pig tail bucket and when he was confronted with the tale of this in the Parliament of Barbados, a fight broke out with a now deceased former member, and an ex-cricketing great was struck by a flying chair thrown by that senior member. A former deputy Speaker also fractured a colleague minister’s nose with a cuff, right there in Parliament yard.

So I am waiting patiently to see how the Barbados Labour Party and its newspaper arm treat this issue of a recent fracas in Parliament, because, while I do not condone such; perpetrated by friend or foe, I will not sit silent and permit the impression to be given that such is unprecedented.

Mr. President, I agree with you. Such sanctimonious grandstanding is an abomination!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

246 responses to “Dear President Obama”

1. @David April 4, 2010 at 7:46 AM

@Crusoe

With your permission perhaps we can engage amidst the distractions.

– of course, Sir

If there were less intrusive and economically more sustainable alternatives as Dictionary is making out why did the Republicans not make a serious effort to legislate or even advocate?

– in my ‘humble’ opinion, even is biased, I do not think the Republicans have much interest in such, thus it could not be left to them. That is a problem.

Is is fair that the world’s richest economy would breed a situation where so many millions are not covered by insurance?

– Certainly not. And thus the Democrats must address, then by the Republicans attitude are forced, even if for not the best alternative, to do something about it.

What does one say to a person with a pre-existing condition that you have to die because you are not covered? How about dem vets as you pointed out?

– That is not civilisation. Say a child born with an illness, etc. To ignore such people, is just inhumane and cruel. The vets the same.

However at the drop of a bat the same country can find the money to war. We have a country in the USA which placed border security above all else and that is the bottomline.

– While security is important, I think, unfortunately, this scenario has magnified the ‘moral’ difference between Republicans and Democrats.

It is sad that in discussing matters of social and economic importance that we have to classify persons by political title. But, that is the way of it.

After centuries of struggles, after years of people, individual and groups, fighting for various freedoms, social problems still take a one or the other context.

That’s it.

Have a good day.

2. @ MME

Man MME, I was looking for you to assist the blog with some information on the HAARP project yesterday (when I had some time) and instead you turn up today – obviously still feeling the effects of your rum and coconut water from last night- challenging the consistency of the bushman…..lol

looka trouble for muh doh nuh!!!

All that the bushman have said has been consistent. Admittedly, it may be a bit complex as a result of my understanding of life and of its purpose – factors which generally drive my opinions and actions.

Normally, in seeking to explain this position, the bushman confuses everyone (including myself LOL), however in light of your impressive perceptive capabilities, (and ability to recall things that BT said ages ago) l will try again here -and maybe you can assist in seeing things from a bushy point of view….

You see this question of ‘Education’? it is a particularly interesting concept because it exactly mimics the overall purpose of life.

When we conceive and raise children the objective is not to produce robots or replicas of ourselves -but to mold individuals who, through our guidance, example, leadership and where necessary, control, become successful, productive independent citizens of the community and world.

Any parent who has tried to raise up a good child by prescribing and enforcing a set of “dos and don’ts” rules -enforced by law- would know ( or will soon discover) the futility of such an approach. Even if the child conforms to all of such wishes for life – what sort of INDIVIDUAL would you have produced? a robot who would have ‘learned’ your rules but who would be lacking in the EDUCATIONAL skills needed to think, to be unique, to be independent and creative and to choose wisely….. you would have created a robot or pet-like creature, not a mature human being.

The challenge therefore with ‘EDUCATION’ or with creating HUMAN adults beings ,is that we need to teach, train, lead, provide example, support, even chasten – BUT IN THE FINAL ANALYSIS, each person NEEDS to freely make choices for themselves about how they will use the ‘education’ that has been provided for them.

The ‘magic’ of humanity (and of education) is the freedom of individual choice to apply, or not to apply, good judgment, good choices and good sense.

Which brings us to drugs.

As a national leader, one has to take on responsibilities to foster a good learning environment; one therefore employs a police force to maintain a semblance of order and control; One pays an army to protect the society from external threat; a fire service etc.
    It is in this vein that a good leader would ban the cartel and movado types- same way that we would have banned Sydney Burnett-Alleyne..

The attempt to use laws and prison to prevent individuals from misusing a substance that in a natural growing, naturally occurring BUSH is another matter. principally because it is FUTILE anyway. (and the only really BAD bush ever was called George…)

MME it is just plain foolish!

Do you know that children also get high by sniffing cow dong? Paint? thinners?

….so what will you do – ban all these?
    ….or would you look at your education system and see if the problem may not lie in the messages that you are imparting there?

Here is my final point – Let’s say that you could remove all of these illegal drugs and then no one ever became addicted- what would you have achieved?

…a bunch of ‘robots’ who have only been clean for want of opportunity….. had that been the aim, God would just NOT have created a devil….

The whole aim of education is for students to overcome the challenges, the threats, the pitfalls and emerge as positive, successful adults who make wise choices.
    ….. NOT coincidentally, this is also the whole aim of life.

3. @ MME

I don’t know if I can fight in this weight category but I will try…lol.

You said..’A more rational approach therefore, would be to keep illegal drugs illegal and discourage the abuse of legal drugs through public education and efficient regulation.’

One of the questions and concerns I have is the classification of cannabis.
    How was it made illegal by the authorities?
    When I read of the manner in which it was classified as an illegal drug, it seems to me that much study was never done on it and only came about after it was demonized politically, in order to maintain a segregationist agenda, accepted back then (note where the word marijuana comes from).

Abuse of any substance, whether it be alcohol, prescribed drugs or sniffing glue is detrimental to any person and by extension society. However, we are humans with our vices and the basics of economics will always prevail.
    As long as there is demand, there will be supply.
    It is because of this that we have the drug dealers, who wreck more havoc on society, in the form of murders and violence (some of the reasons you have steel on your windows and refuse to go out at night). It is because of this that you have corrupt policemen, underpaid but every day seeing the lucrative value of the drug trade.

You also went on to say…”Prohibition did not end because of an escalation in crime. It ended because it lacked the moral consensus of US citizens (and the international community for that matter).

I disagree with you here, IMHO, Prohibition failed because bootleggers then started up on a large scale along with the start of Organized crime, which took over the distribution sector (don’t diss BT’s Untouchables yet). The consensus then, was the public outcry against the gangsters because of the violence that followed because of the fight for control of the markets.

I have to agree wholeheartedly with Anonymous above when he says..’I believe that the time has come to decriminalise marijuana (a distinction from legalisation and so I do NOT agree with California’s intention to get taxes from its sale which implies encouragement of its use) and to aggressively pursue health education and social transformation strategies to combat use. The assumption that usage will increase while not unreasonable, I do not think a critical issue given the present pervasiveness of the drug in some communities. As I have already indicated, prohibition will probably have to remain for other “hard” drugs.

4. I should also note, with the exception of when Anonymous says..’I do NOT agree with California’s intention to get taxes from its sale which implies encouragement of its use).

5. @MME

Despite your articulated position if California and other US states legitimize the use of marijuana and God knows what else, the Caribbean including Barbados will follow like a lamb following a sheep. The penetration of our culture based on what is done in the USA supported by the influence of cable, university, tourism and the Internet will make it a slamdunk.

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hants
    Re most of us are not likely to spend the time to follow the BU Trinity”s
    “searching for”deeper meaning”.

Actually this is much easier than you think.
    This morning I sat with the teen class in Sunday School at my church this morning and my mind went back to July 1968 when I attended SS at the Baptist church where I was taught to read and interpret the Bible for myself.

That Sunday morning I was so impressed with what I saw that I never went back to my beloved Ch Ch Parish Ch after that Sunday morning!

This morning I experienced déjà vu, as I listened to a man explain to some teens how to do inductive reading aka exegesis. How to ask simple questions like WHO spoke and To WHOM WHEN WHERE WHY IN WHAT CONTEXT WITH WHAT RESULT

I listened in awe as these teens were taught as I was 42 years ago how to exegete a passage BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO APPLY IT. It aint so hard. It can be learned.

I do go to the beach at home, and used to go to cricket and go in the bleachers or the Kensington Stand or wherever, when I chose even though I have been a member of the BCA since 1978 and a life member since 1998.

I am indeed comfortable in almost any “environment”, but I do not suffer fools gladly for too long. Irregardless to what sort of fool they are. It is indeed hilarious to read the feeble attempts by non psychologists and other fakes trying futile to classify me.

And I do understand the point you were trying to make, even though the point I made eludes others.

Be good Sir

Mr Technician

Re yet still they become angry and vicious when mocked and scoffed.

Do you think that it is necessary perpetually to scoff and mock at folk who seek to share thier views just as you do?

Why do yo cite that it is prophesied that believers are expected to be mocked and scoffed at, but yet you deny other prophesies that are just as clearly presented in the Bible – such as those concerning Israel.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Technician and others

The marijuana will be legalised. It is to be expected. It is decreed in Revelation that “pharmacea” will have overtaken the worldby the time of the second coming.

Its happening friends.

Also the Presiding idiot and many Presiding idiots and Prime idiots here and there are currently now just political pawns of the evil forces in the cosmos diabolicos that is heading for the one world governnment to be headed by the one world leader to emerge after the Rapture.

With talks of a peace treaty to be signed in Israel , eschaltologists are extremely happy and expectant.

We are not ranting and raving in futile discussion about the inevitable. We are just quietly waiting.

Its all happening before our eyes. Now you can scoff and mock me for this position, but I have said my piece.

8. @Crusoe

However, and apologies, on backtracking to the cause, surely the ‘alternatives’, which I do not deny could be available, but as someone asked why then did the ‘Republicans’ not push for those?

To get a perspective on why the Republicans did not support any aspect of the Health Care Bill you should read the views of David Frum. Frum was a former speech writer for GW Bush and was said to have coined the phrase “Axis of Evil” which Bush used to describe North Korea; Iran and Iraq leading up to the war in Iraq.

For his views Frum was fired from his job at the American Enterprise Institute (a right wing think tank), Frum said he wasn’t fired but his boss told him “you can come in but you won’t have an office”. I heard Lindsay Graham (Republican Senator from South Carolina) say that if Health Care passes the Republicans won’t support Financial Reform; now after the financial meltdown of 2009 wouldn’t Financial Reform be top of the Agenda for both parties? But the Repubs say they won’t support a bill. Don’t expect anything to change soon; one of the judges on the Supreme Court just turned 90 and if he retires Obama can appoint another Justice.

Look for more of the same, anyway here in Frum’s own words.
    Conservatives and Republicans on Sunday suffered their most crushing legislative defeat since the 1960s. It’s hard to exaggerate the magnitude of the disaster. Conservatives may cheer themselves that they’ll compensate for Barack Obama’s health-care vote with a big win in the November, 2010 elections. But:
    – It’s a good bet that conservatives are over-optimistic about November–by then the economy will have improved and the immediate goodies in the health-care bill will be reaching key voting blocs.
    – So what? Legislative majorities come and go. This health-care bill is forever. A win in November is very poor compensation for this debacle now.
    So far, I think a lot of conservatives will agree with me. Now comes the hard lesson: A huge part of the blame for to-day’s disaster attaches to conservatives and Republicans ourselves.
    At the beginning of this process, we made a strategic decision: Unlike, say, Democrats in 2001 when president George W. Bush proposed his first tax cut, we would make no deal with the administration. No negotiations, no compromise, nothing. We were going for all the marbles. This would be Obama’s Waterloo — just as health care was Bill Clinton’s in 1994.
    Only, the hardliners overlooked a few key facts: Obama was elected with 53% of the vote, not Clinton’s 42%. The liberal block within the Democratic congressional caucus is bigger and stronger than it was in 1993-94. And of course, the Democrats also remember their history, and also remember the consequences of their 1994 failure.
    This time, when we went for all the marbles, we ended up with none.
    Could a deal have been reached? Who knows? But we do know that the gap between this plan and traditional Republican ideas is not very big. The Obama plan has a broad family resemblance to Mitt Romney’s Massachusetts plan. It builds on ideas developed at the conservative Heritage Foundation in the early 1990s that formed the basis for Republican counter-proposals to Clintoncare in 1993-1994.
    Barack Obama badly wanted Republican votes for his plan. Could we have leveraged his desire to align the plan more closely with conservative views?
    To finance it without redistributive taxes on productive enterprise –without weighing so heavily on small business — without expanding Medicaid? Too late now. They are all the law. No illusions please: This bill will not be repealed. Even if Republicans score a 1994-style landslide in November, how many votes could we muster to reopen the “doughnut hole” and charge seniors more for prescription drugs? How many votes to re-allow insurers to rescind policies when they discover a pre-existing condition? How many votes to banish 25-year-olds from their parents’ insurance coverage? And even if the votes were there–would President Obama sign such a repeal?
    We followed the most radical voices in the party and the movement, and they led us to abject and irreversible defeat.
    There were leaders who knew better, who would have liked to deal. But they were trapped. Conservative talkers on Fox and talk radio had whipped the Republican voting base into such a frenzy that deal-making was rendered impossible. How do you negotiate with somebody who wants to murder your grandmother? Or — more exactly — with somebody whom your voters have been

persuaded to believe wants to murder their grandmother?
    I’ve been on a soapbox for months now about the harm that our overheated talk is doing to us. Yes it mobilizes supporters –but by mobilizing them with hysterical accusations and pseudo-information, overheated talk has made it impossible for representatives to represent and elected leaders to lead.
    Talk radio thrives on confrontation and recrimination. When Rush Limbaugh said that he wanted President Obama to fail, he was intelligently explaining his own interests. What he omitted to say — but what is equally true — is that he also wants Republicans to fail. If Republicans succeed — if they govern successfully in office and negotiate attractive compromises out of office — Rush’s listeners get less angry. And if they are less angry, they listen to the radio less and hear fewer ads for Sleepnumber beds.
    So Sunday’s defeat for free-market economics and Republican values is a huge win for the conservative entertainment industry. Their listeners and viewers will now be even more enraged, even more frustrated, even more disappointed in everybody except the responsibility-free talkers on television and radio. For them, it’s mission accomplished. For the cause they purport to represent, it’s Waterloo all right: ours.

9. From a political perspective if the US economy bounces come November Obama and the Democrats will benefit tremendously in the mid-terms. The long term economic health of the US economy is another matter and that can’t be blamed on Obama alone.

10. @ GP..

You said…’Why do yo cite that it is prophesied that believers are expected to be mocked and scoffed at, but yet you deny other prophesies that are just as clearly presented in the Bible – such as those concerning Israel.

Please show me where I (Technician) have denied other prophesies, especially concerning Israel.
    My position on Israel is clear, whether prophecy or not, I deal with now and what is going on there. Because it is prophecy, must I turn a blind eye to the everyday suffering?
    Because it is prophecy, does it give the IDF the right to kill children or Hamas to bomb civilians?
    In relation to the mockers and scoffers of the Word.
    It is the Christian who should or ought to know better. It is the Christian who is supposed to set the example for the non believers to live by. These are the goals that have been set up by Christianity, which is to be God like, therefore what is expected of you is much higher than what is expected from a nonbeliever in society.

11. David

Just to be clear on the above my words started from “ To get a….” and ended at “ in Frums’s own words” The rest is all Frum’s , it seems as though Word Press changed the submission format.

12. Ok Sargeant, tidied it up.

13. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

@BT,

You were spot on (including the rum and coconut water quip) up until you introduced the comparison of sniffing cow dung and paint thinners. Man BT… if you feel that the problems which are likely to arise after legalizing marijuana are comparable to those we presently encounter with cow dung sniffers, then I am not sure we will be able to reach any middle ground on this issue.

14. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

@Anonymous,

Your position is somewhat different to BT’s. I interpret you to be saying that marijuana is not potent or dangerous enough to warrant prohibition like other drugs. I would agree that it is not as dangerous as cocaine and crack, but based on my research it is more dangerous than tobacco and alcohol. When comparing statistics on the impacts of tobacco and alcohol, remember that these are a function of their level of consumption. One would have to extrapolate the impact of marijuana when used on a similar scale, which, as I opined in my previous post, is likely to happen if legalized. To put this in context, according to the 2001 US National Household survey, the number of people in the US who used tobacco, alcohol and marijuana at least once a month was: 66 million (tobacco), 109 million (alcohol), 16 million (illegal drugs –of which marijuana is a subset). I suspect we would find similar statistical ratios in Barbados.

I agree with you on health education and social transformation strategies as it relates to all dangerous drug use (licit or illicit). I am not sure you are correct about marijuana prohibition lacking moral consensus in Barbados, but it would be interesting to see the results of a poll. I do know that based on the last US Gallup poll on the subject, 60% of Americans opposed marijuana legalization… I wonder what the percentage would be in Barbados.

Your distinction between decriminalization and legalization is IMHO a slippery slope. Decriminalization would create a much larger (and legal) demand for marijuana, which would put a strain on, and eventually over burden, laws against its commercial supply. Indeed, this was also a contributing factor (albeit a minor one) in the failure of alcohol prohibition… alcohol consumption remained legal throughout prohibition.

There are several case studies on marijuana decriminalization ‘experiments’ which we can draw upon. Two of the best documented are:

– Alaska, 1975, marijuana decriminalized. By 1988 marijuana use among Alaskan teens was double that of the national average. In 1990 Alaskans voted to recriminalise marijuana possession.

– Netherlands, 1984 to 1996, marijuana decriminalized. During this period marijuana use doubled in the 18 to 25 year old age group, and tripled in the 18 to 20 year old age group. The Dutch Ministry of Justice has published statistics showing that the number of violent acts committed by juveniles increased by 85% over this period. In making a case for decriminalization, some people compare Netherlands statistics with US statistics which show a higher prevalence of drug use among teens… this is misleading. To evaluate the impact of a policy, I think it is more appropriate to examine the statistical trends before and after its implementation.

15. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

@Technician

I agree with you regarding the circumstances under which marijuana was made illegal, but my position is based on present circumstances. Decriminalizing marijuana won’t reduce gangsters or drug related crime (check out the situation in the Netherlands).

On the issue of US prohibition, you are right about the public outcry against gang related violence… but IMHO it was the public’s moral acceptance of recreational alcohol consumption (prior to and throughout prohibition) that led to both the huge and highly competitive/violent black-market, as well as the ultimate repeal of prohibition laws… organized crime and violence continued unabated after prohibition ended, as gangsters simply diversified their business.

@David,

All I can say is that I hope you are wrong about the outcome of the vote in California and the possible impact on us in the Caribbean. Thankfully, I know that there are many people like you who will not sit “quietly waiting” as GP put it, simply because “it is decreed in Revelation”.

On a lighter note, maybe the next US presidential campaign slogan should be “Yes We Cannabis!”

16. @ MME..

Maybe after the legalization, we can have slogans like….Bush, Clinton and Obama did it, YES you can….. smoke weed, be President!!

…ROFLMAO!!

17. So. ….. MME?

THAT is your response to my explanation of my position on drugs, education and life???
    Man you have to be overdoing the rum portion in that mix.

I still can’t believe it….. After outlining for you the mysteries of free choice and education and the creation of character – you dismiss my post with some illconceived, fear mongering reference to ‘how bad things will be if marijuana is legalized…..’

What things bad what??!!

Worse than suicide bombings?
    Worse than murder / rape / robbery?
    Worse than alcoholism related crime and self destruction?
    Worse than AIDS?
    GIVE US A BREAK MME!!!

There are thousands of really BAD ways that miscreants can use to inflict pain and suffering on society and themselves.
    Feel free to walk around passing laws against all these dangerous evils.

These difficulties, dangers, traps and ‘evils’ create an excellent environment (crucible) in which TRUE CHARACTER can be tested, tried and proven.

What engineering excellence….. what a plan!! What boss engineering…

That is two strikes MME.

….first you tried pulling a fast one with the chicken changing from live bearer to egg bearer during its evolutionary progression……. asking the bushman to buy swamp land in Miami – so to speak

….and now you here offering the new bridge that replaced the swing bridge (but which seem not to be able to carry vehicular traffic) for sale, with this marijuana thing.

One more strike and the bush man will be de-rating you from your (AAA+) level in brilliance…..rotfl…ahmb

18. David:

It seems I need to underscore that I am gone, on Ezekiel 33 grounds, as I noted in my letter of departure to you yesterday.

As to the outright deception Technician put up just now, that I ducked the issue on design, he is frankly lying: pixie and I had an extensive exchange on technical matters and disagreed in the end. The evidence is plain, that functionally specific complex organization and information are indicators of intelligence, and that there is a way to analyse the microstate summation entropy linked to that; showing that there are excellent relative statistical weight of macrostate grounds for why books don’t write themselves out of circuit noise, why programs don’t arise form random typing and why DNA — a program with data structures — is not a credible product of lucky noise. In short T has willfully misrepresented me, hoping to get away with it because my back was turned.

That is back-stabbing slander, Technician.

Sad to have to say something as strong as that, but this is where the level of discussion at BU has now come to.

I note, also that I have provided additional information — e.g. this — to BU behind the scenes on just why I am pointing out that the US — and Europe too — has become bankrupt; which is why we had better prepare for the crash and burn to come not too many years from now when the financial markets begin to account for the trends, especially if inflationism takers off.

In addition, I have provided some significant information on the underlying economics — some of it by Econ Nobel equiv prize holders, in their own words. Just this morning, I have provided annotated trend line data and associated remarks on the economics and the tax burden patterns.

David, you — and Mr Henry –now have the responsibility to the plainly unwelcome but sobering truth. I hope that you will live up to that obligation; especially given the significance of Barbados in regional councils.

Folks, I will put it in a nutshell: The US currently has unfunded obligations [mostly tracing to several “pay as cash comes in” Ponzi/Pyramid scheme policies on social welfare] of ~ US$ 65 TRILLIONS, more than the gross world economic product. It is growing fast, and the only real solution is to either cut the obligations explicitly or hyperinflate their value away. The former is historically infeasible, so I expect the money presses to start rolling bigtime soon.

For those who can only take the truth in small doses as a video, I post a farewell video link:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1O55SgdGrg&hl=en_US&fs=1&]

Think about the implications for our region which is so strongly dependent on US and European tourism, and is strongly tied to the international economy.

Beyond that I have long since showed over the course of months the extent to which so much of the vaunted skeptical, anti-Christian, mocking rhetoric that hitherto ran riot all over BU is utterly unwarranted.

So, now folks, guess what: I have now blown the Ezekiel 33 trumpet loud and clear.

My duty under God is done, yours now begins.

(Fair warning: That means, T, that my silence is just as much a part of the onward message as what I have had to say. And playing the usual distraction, distortion, denigration and demonisation games only increase your accountability before God. For those who repeatedly plainly hoped to drive me out through nastiness, I hope the implication is clear.)

Goodbye.

Dictionary

19. @ Dictionary

BUZZ OFF!!!

….you can’t even keep your word.
    If you say you going…. MAN GO ALONG NUH!!!

20. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL BT,

But look at my crosses doh… man you behaving just like Moody and S&P now. Just because I don’t ‘buy’ your position, you downgrading my rating… LOL.

Bushman, my response was brief, because I agreed with almost everything you said… including the mysteries of free choice, education and character building. I even agree with your list of ‘worse things’… but in my opinion these do not justify legalizing marijuana. My position is straight forward… on practical and social levels, our society will be better off if marijuana remained illegal.

The basis for my position is that, despite the challenges you have presented, the economic and social costs of the current arrangement are lower than that of the ‘legalised’ arrangement. The cost of ‘policing’, level of crime and deviant subculture will not fall as a result of legalising marijuana… in fact it has gone up in other places which have tried it. I have provided you with two examples where it has been done and failed to deliver on the promised gains.

I agree with you about “traps and evils creating an excellent environment (crucible) in which TRUE CHARACTER can be tested”, but surely you accept that policy makers must set certain boundaries especially where our youth are concerned… and don’t fool yourself… marijuana consumption among our children will increase several fold if it is legalized. This will reduce the character building capabilities of the crucible.

So BT… you can continue lobbying for the ‘Amsterdam’ crucible… I much prefer the Bridgetown model.

21. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… by the way BT… on the chicken/egg issue… there is an excellent series called ‘Life’ now running on the Discovery Channel… you should check it out. They explain it better than a lowly MME ever could. LOL

22. @ Dictionary……

ROFLMAO!!!!!

What underscore what?!?

What backstabbing what??

What slander what?!?

What deception what?!?

Man, if you need an excuse to break your promise of leaving BU (which I said you couldn’t) don’t pick on Technician.
    Just come out and post because no one even took you serious enough to believe that your pride and arrogance would allow you to NOT try to have the final word.

I would like anyone in the BU family to take the time as I did to read you claim of open discussion on your blog. 87 comments between you and Pixie, where, IMHO, you avoided and ducked the challenges from Pixie (providing the evidence is still there).
    I read the entire ‘discussion’ and came to my conclusion.

Show me the slander the deception or the backstabbing you arrogant prick!!
    This is a blog (not yours, thank God) where you can post your opinion.

You are acting like the class bully, who has been caught out in his own lies. Maybe you are the one with the deception here.
    If you are gone , then just GO!!
    No one sent you or asked you to come, you were the one who said GOODBYE, yet here you are still making points but under the guise of trying to correct slander…….stupse!!

Man, you are so full of yourself, that I really wonder if you need to eat!!
    Thanks again for proving my point and saving my pension…..ROFLMAO!!

23. OK MME, I see where you stand.

I don’t agree on the consequences that are likely to result from decriminalizing but I accept that it is a matter of opinion.

By the way, if you really think that marijuana consumption among our children “will increase several fold if it is legalized”, what you are REALLY saying is that the quality of the ‘education’ that we are providing to our children is dismal.
    This is a serious indictment of our approach, and SURELY represents the FUNDAMENTAL problem that needs to be addressed.

I am sure that you will therefore agree that the approach of criminalizing marijuana is an exercise in treating a symptom rather than the root cause…..

…quod erat demonstrandum

24. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Fair enough BT… sometimes we have to treat symptoms while addressing the root causes. When your ‘root cause’ solutions have been implemented we can have the debate again.

… quod erat faciendum

25. Touché MME.

Not to belabour the point here, but I do not think that your excuse of treating the symptom ‘while addressing root causes’ holds in this case. You see this is more than just a ‘symptom’, it is an important INDICATOR and measure of the failure of basic systems.

To use a bush analogy; suppose that the objective of our school system was to produce Barbados scholars, but we were finding that in actuality, we were producing drunks out of children who clearly had the potential to succeed; would you not find it totally crazy to apply a ‘solution’ of banning alcohol?

In a way, we may be lucky to have that indicator to show us forcefully that something is wrong…… so that we can be spurred to corrective action.
    If you kept fish you would know that it is not a solution to maintaining water quality to discard the litmus paper.

…..and here is the coup de grace for my position…. a serious ‘educator’ is one who allows, and even encourages, all the distractions and various ‘litmus tests’ to be available to his students. Anything less undermines the value of the program and is in effect a ‘dumbing’ down…

…any idiot can be ‘drug free’ if kept from drugs by force. If your approach had value then our best citizens would be those residing at Dodds where most vices are banned and the ban pretty well enforced…..

26. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

BT… I would be worried if I thought you actually believed what you just wrote… illegal drugs are analogous to litmus paper… therefore, as a measure of the efficiency of our education system, we should increase the availability of these drugs to our children and measure the ‘uptake’ as a key performance indicator. LOL

Man BT… I feel you need a rum an coconut water yuh.

27. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… by the way, making certain drugs illegal (just like banning music) does not eliminate their availability to our youth… but it does restrict the level of availability.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Techniian

Dictionary was indeed invited to come on BU last year OK? This is a fact that you dont know.

And he was also begged to stay on also OK?

And those of us who read what he said he made a good contribution on BU.

It was great fun to see him destroy those who thought they knew Physics and Maths, and other things.

He presented some great amazing Historical facts.

He evinced logic, coherence, and the fact that he was well read in many disciplines including a sound knowledge of the Bible. These are not things that are valued on BU

On BU you have to fit into molds set by a few

For a relatively young man he is well read, and demonstrated the benefit of his pedigree.

All men have faults. I believe his strengths over shadow all of those that you repeatedly harp on.

You can not change the man, so you scorn him.

You found it so hard with him to live and let live.

He correctly departed from BU’s perpetual and perrennial “distraction, distortion, denigration and demonisation”. It is indeed hard to kick against the pricks, isnt it?

29. Man MME why don’t you concede and let us move on nuh? …..sometimes you make statements that call your triple A rating into question fuh truth…

You said for example….
    “… by the way, making certain drugs illegal (just like banning music) does not eliminate their availability to our youth… but it does restrict the level of availability.”
    *********************************************************************************************
    …..yuh WRONG!!
    What restrict what level of what availability what??!!

It is elementary that banning things that are easily grown by any moron can only serve to increase its value on the market; hence increasing its attractiveness as a product; hence increasing the likelihood that it will be creatively marketed; hence increasing the demand.

….decriminalize it and what happens?
    – anyone who wants it can grow their own.
    – value of the product crashes
    – those already addicted no longer need to rob and steal to meet their habit
    – those not hooked are no longer targeted for marketing
    – in a short time (after those who are already lost anyway are gone) it becomes just like cow dong – ‘there’ but who cares?

You erred by judging the places where this was tried immediately afterwords when the freak addicts would have had their ‘dream’ bash….

Bush Tea is thinking long term here – such structural problems cannot be solved overnight. (otherwise my party – the BTP would have been in power long ago and fixed up things ’bout here LOL)

….skipper!!!, that coconut water and rum thing ‘kicking’ then…..LOL

30. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“What restrict what level of what availability what??!!

It is elementary that banning things that are easily grown by any moron can only serve to increase its value on the market; hence increasing its attractiveness as a product; hence increasing the likelihood that it will be creatively marketed; hence increasing the demand.”

LOL BT… I like I gine have to call LIB for you yuh. There is a difference between ‘demand’ and ‘availability’. Now when you finish wid all dah fancy economics, tell me what was wrong with my statement that legalizing marijuana will increase its availability.
    …………………….

“in a short time (after those who are already lost anyway are gone) it becomes just like cow dong – ‘there’ but who cares?”

In a perfect world where people always act rationally, maybe… but the demand for weed is more likely to mirror that of tobacco and alcohol rather than that of cow dong… trust me on that one BT… ROTFL
    …………………..

“You erred by judging the places where this was tried immediately afterwords when the freak addicts would have had their ‘dream’ bash….”

The increases reported in the examples I gave were not in the volume of marijuana consumed, but in the number of users.

BT… you better throw in de towel on dis one yuh… you en see what happened to Dictionary when he wait for David to ring de bell?

31. @ GP..

Are you serious?!!?
    You guys take yourselves too seriously man.

32. @ MME

Man tek that one!!
    I give up – yuh wear down the bushman.

In any case, right now bushy more interested in getting this ratio of rum /coconut water right – and’ trial and error’ is fine by me….(ROTFHD)

….. so go along man – you can even keep the top rating….

Looka that thing wid the Dick nuh!! these fellows does really take disagreement hard – what he REALLY need is a 3 to 1 mixture (3 measures of rums to one of coconut water) – his posts would become a lot more coherent then… LOL

I bush man will miss the Dick for real…… I had gotten accustomed to the long sessions of scrolling pass his verbosity…

33. @GP…

Since you have directed this attack directly to me , let me see if I can answer plainly on your accusations.

You said..

It was great fun to see him destroy those who thought they knew Physics and Maths, and other things.
    ——————————————————————————————————-

Yes , he did and my only issues here was his arrogant and pompous attitude.

He presented some great amazing Historical facts.
    I have never disputed this, the record will show that I have always admitted his brilliance.

He evinced logic, coherence, and the fact that he was well read in many disciplines including a sound knowledge of the Bible. These are not things that are valued on BU
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Again, you are wrong in your assumption. Many (myself included) have gained a lot of biblical knowledge from BU. It would be a blatant lie to say it is not valued on BU, as you do not speak for anyone else on BU but yourself. If one(1) person went away with a better understanding, it was valued.

On BU you have to fit into molds set by a few
    Where? What molds and set by whom? This is a public blog, whose mold does Kiki, or the PDC, or CH, D,Zoe or anyone for that matter fits? You post your opinions and prove your case for them, there will always be opposition, it is the nature of the beast.

For a relatively young man he is well read, and demonstrated the benefit of his pedigree.
    ——————————————————————————————————
    We have already known this and Zoe and your self have emphasized this point many times over. This has never been disputed.

All men have faults. I believe his strengths over shadow all of those that you repeatedly harp on.
    I know this, which is why I (IMHO) think his strengths would be more readily accepted and be even more useful, if he would just learn to temper the same faults I have highlighted (you can tell me mine later).

You can not change the man, so you scorn him.
    I have never wanted to change him FYI. Every man has a right to decide his own destiny, I believe this wholeheartedly.
    Where do I scorn him? Is commenting on his faults, considered scorn?

You found it so hard with him to live and let live.
    ——————————————————————————————————–
    Actually I find it rather easy, just like his need to correct any and every comment, I too comment on his faults on occasion. The reason being, when you take the time to seek out every mistake others make, it is sometimes necessary to have yours highlighted as well..just for the record.

He correctly departed from BU’s perpetual and perrennial “distraction, distortion, denigration and demonisation”. It is indeed hard to kick against the pricks, isnt it?
    No, it is not, you just stick to your mandate and press on……..oh, I forgot…we all have our faults, don’t we?
    Seems to me, at the end of the day we are all the same.

34. @ BT & MME..

That short but precise debate above is what is really and truly needed to discus this topic.
    I had my views but you both have now put them into another perspective that really has this technician thinking again.
    You both have made valid points without being emotionally charged (either the bush or the rum and coconut water) which is what it takes to discuss a topic such as this.
    No arrogance, no condescending attitudes, no looking down noses……and they say it can’t happen on BU….thanks guys.
    BTW……3:1 is a damn strong portion….tell me you filled the glass with ice…lol.

35. Jim Crow was not a person, yet affected the lives of millions of people. Named after a popular 19th-century minstrel song that stereotyped African Americans, “Jim Crow” came to personify the system of government-sanctioned racial oppression and segregation in the United States.

36. @ technician
    3:1 is a damn strong portion….tell me you filled the glass with ice…lol.
    ********************************************************************************
    ICE !!!! damn! I KNEW something was missing……. LOL

Man the truth is Techie, that between you and me I was hard pressed to follow MME’s logic, so I heard once that in order to understand a man, you need to walk in his shoes…. Well the closest thing I have to MME’s shoes is some old gold and a coconut tree – so I try a thing….

I start with some sane mixtures but MME’s logic still eluded the bushman. Well I don’t give up easily – so by the time I hit the 3:1 mix MME was starting to make sense….

….quick so, the bush man got to see where he was coming from and the matter done right there…… ROTFHD (rolling on the floor half drunk…)

…but thanks for the concern and the ice tip…….. I may have to test that one next weekend though.

37. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL BT… man I doan know who worse… you for throwing dem punches when my back was turned, or Technician for setting me up to receive dem.

Next thing you gine be telling us is that what you call ‘rum’ in your house is actually derived from the greek word ‘oinos’ which would encompass unfermented cane juice.

38. WTH….

No MME…he will be telling you what qaneh bosm is!!

39. Freedom? you’re asking me about Freedom. I’ll be honest with you, I know more about what freedom isn’t. Don’t ask me about what Freedom is because I don’t know what it is. Because I’ve never been Free. I can only share with you my vision.

The way I see it, Freedom is the right to grow, the right to blossom, the right to be yourself, to do what you want to do

40. @ Technician

Rok birthday might have come and gone, I don’t know the date.

@Rok

Hope I didn’t miss your birthday!

41. @Bush Tea

Was that you talking about legalising marijuana on the “Peoples Business” on CBCTV recently.

42. It’s Reality Time again
    It’s Culture Time again
    I’m the son of a father who once said
    Culture and Reality I must defend
    I like to do it proper
    Because the battle is getting hotter

43. oh well happy belated b’day to me
    thank BU for the well wishes not

44. Well Aries
    Belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY.Hope you got everything you wished for.

45. ac I didn’t get much (3 itunes)
    Man say them are warriors
    But Woman are warriors too
    DJ, Dancehall, Disco, Lovers, R & B, Soul, Al Green, Teddy Pendergrass
    teddy-pendergrass
    al-green

46. @KIKI

Nice tunes dem some of my favourites.