Submitted by Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK: The President of the New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy, Rickford Burke, on Friday called on the United Nations (UN), US State Department, Organization of American States (OAS) and the Caribbean Community (Caricom), “to evacuate Haitians who have been injured in Tuesday’s devastating 7.0 earthquake to sister Caribbean States in the region for medical treatment, so as to avert further humanitarian catastrophe and to free-up resources and congestion in Port-au-Prince, the Haitian capital.”

Burke specifically called on Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrits of the neighboring Island of Dominica and Prime Minister Bruce Golding of Jamaica,  to “step up and help the Haitian people in this hour of crisis, and allow some of the wounded to be treated in their country.” He also endorsed a call for some injured Haitians as well as some who would become refugees, to be temporarily resettled in the South American sister Caricom State of Guyana, located along the Atlantic Ocean.

Burke said that “Guyana is a country that is 83,000 square miles large with a population of only 650,000, who are mainly concentrated along the Atlantic coastline, occupying only about 40% of the country.” Noting that “More Guyanese live outside of Guyana, with approximately one million living in North America and the Caribbean alone, he observed that with about 60% of Guyana uninhabited, that country can easily accommodate a large number Haitians, and that the international community will be obligated to help the Guyana government manage that process.

Guyana, which is 1326.91 miles from Haiti, is the only English-speaking South American State and is a member of Caricom. Caricom is headquartered in its capital city Georgetown. The former British colony is bordered by Suriname – also a Caricom State, Brazil and Venezuela. Trinidad and Tobago is its closest neighbor in the Caribbean.

Burke contended that the “Under the status quo ante, the Haitian health care system was extremely primitive and fragile and that that fragile system along with the physical infrastructure in Haiti are now in ruins and fundamentally lack the capacity to cope with possibly hundred of thousands of sick and wounded and the magnitude of the disaster and relief effort. Guyanese-American leader criticized Caricom countries for not offering to have the wounded medevaced to their States.

In an urgent letter to Former US President and UN Special Envoy to Haiti, Bill Clinton, State Department Counselor Cheryl Mills, Caricom Secretary General, Edwin Carrington and OAS Secretary, General José Miguel Insulza, the Institute’s head suggested that the three meet urgently with Caricom Leaders to discuss the issue, as “Time is of the essence and the images of the injured being either ignored or treated in hospital compounds, on roadsides and on floors are heart-wrenching.” He added that “Obviously the injured cannot receive acceptable medical care in Port-au-Prince and that medical personnel arriving in the city are already overwhelmed.”

“The lack of action is regrettable. There is absolutely no reason why neighboring Caribbean States cannot become staging areas for the sick and wounded on a larger, well coordinated scale, so as to free up the congestion of relief personnel, medical and other resources being currently flown directly into Haiti, which does not have the capacity or infrastructure at this point to facilitate such a huge, simultaneous recovery, humanitarian, relief and medical effort” Burke observed.

He expressed condolences to and solidarity with the Haitian people and said his organization is working with Haitian-American leaders to mobilize additional humanitarian and financial recourses for the relief effort.

The CGID President commended the Obama Administration for its swift response to the crisis in Haiti and praised US President Barrack Obama for pledging 100 million US dollars to help rebuild Haiti and for tasking former Presidents Bill Clinton and George W. Bush to help mobilize resources to help Haiti.

61 responses to “NY Caribbean Institute Calls For Haitians Injured In Quake To Be Medevaced To Caricom States”

1. A good idea, but if you do not train the new Haitian immigrants to guyana on the use of modern means of cooking, Guyana, would be at risk of deforestation. Anyway pure musing by Rickford et al. Indo Guyanese control Guyana agreeing to an increase in there Afro population is totally out of the question.

2. @Adrian

Interesting comment!

3. At this time every ounce of help is necessary to help the survivors of that devastation.This is no time to play politics.Any country willing to extend a helping hand I say good for them.

4. @ac

Your heart is in the right place with the comment but politicians will always make political decisions. Look at the decision based on the blog above to give illegal Haitians asylum? Given the economic situation in Haiti why do so now? Why not before? It is said to be a country of 75% unemployment, a country looted by dictators etc, who better to qualify for political or economic asylum than the Haitians. USA and Canada are countries who got the resources.

5. @David
    I hope the public in general would not be drag into what others think politically but would rather stay focused on helping the country of Haiti to rebuild.

6. @David:
    There is the educated class and the emotional class, I don’t know which AC belongs to, maybe they straddle entry to both. lol!

They cannot get food and water to the victims, but can the victims get to the food and water? The same way the rumour of an aftershock, supposedly larger than the quake itself (a situation never recorded in history) is emminent, why can’t someone start a deliberate rumour designed to get the able body Haitians out of the city center to locations at the city’s edge where it would be easier to feed, and shelter them? With the city less crowded rescuers, recovery operations, and clearing apparatus can go to work much more freely. I am not paid to think but I love doing so nevertheless.

7. During the week the Haiti Ambassador to the USA on Larry King made the point that he has always had concerns about the overcrowding of Port-au-prince. He said it was a city originally designed for 50 thousand people, now thought to be 2 million. The housing he said was substandard and on he went.

Your point is valid Adrian but to cater to so many evacuees would require significant infrastructure.

What can Barbados and other countries learn?

8. Concentrating people in small areas has significant drawbacks in times of emergencies, whether it was approved like the World trade center, or not approved like the overcrowding of the station-night club fire in New England that killed 100 people, or allowed to get out of control like Port Au Prince population.

Indeed the number of evacuees is a significant hurdle in life and death situations, but leading the people to open areas as oppose to the debris blocked streets of an already congested city would see much more access to aid and food for the victims.

9. I thought it would come to accepting refugees and that is why some countries moved quickly to contain the problems in Haiti.

Now, having gone to Haiti and having seen the destruction first-hand, what is our Prime Minister doing?

I mean – really ding to really help!

Further, now that the tour is over, and having seen such horrific sights will he need counselling?

After all, it cannot be easy seeing someone with their hand or leg off or their bowels gushing out.

Did the Prime Minister hug the wounded?

Did he apply bandages?

Did he wipe blood off with cotton swabs?

Did he reassure the injured and those who were afraid? Did he promise to allow children to be schooled in Barbados?

What exactly did our PM do in Haiti?

10. David,they can learn that planning is vital in all aspects of life and that a plan has to evolve as time goes on.

11. Forget the talk about a Field Hospital!

Now! Having gone to Haiti and having seen the destruction first-hand, what is our Prime Minister doing?

I mean – really doing to really help!

Will he ask Dr. Brian Charles to head Team Barbados’ medical response?

12. David et al, considering all that has happened in our neighbouring country, and our experience 2 years ago, what preparations and measures are in place within in Barbados with respect to the impact of an earthquake ?? or are we taking the situation lightly.

And are the building including the high-rises that so many occupy daily up to standard with resistance to an earthquake, long enough for the to be evacuated ???

13. @Alex Fergusson
    The PM has requested you be given the KEYS to the City.

14. @Young Bajan

As far as we know there is a draft building code and that is all. If it is draft that suggests it is not enforceable.

Knowing the greed which is prevalent in all societies it is likely the various actors in the construction sector maybe deserving of scrutiny.

15. @Adrian Hinds
    I’ve heard of people straddling “the fence
    Never heard of “Straddling the class”.
    Indeed very funny only you could have thought of that one .You get 4 stars for that. By the way they can use you on jokers corner HA! HA! HA!

16. Thanks David

17. @BU.David: “Young Bajan… As far as we know there is a draft building code and that is all. If it is draft that suggests it is not enforceable.

Just for the record…

Mr. George Matthews was seconded from the Scottish Executive as Director of the Barbados Building Authority for a two year period.

I had the privilege of spending some time with Mr. Matthews during his time here in Barbados.

Mr. Matthews left before his work was enacted, but not before he did a great deal of work here.

The fact his work was not enacted was no fault of his own; it was quality work…

(Heck, I personally have done work here in Barbados which resulting in my language becoming Law; but not then being enforced…)

(Please read into this a great deal…)

Please see http://www.barbados.gov.bb/bsa/ …for some confirmation of my above about the building code work of Mr. Matthews.

18. @Chris

If the work was so good and we are not saying it wasn’t why only a draft code?

19. Thanks Mr. Halsall.

I wonder if we have gone back into reactive mode again.

20. ac I lonely, come gimme some sweet talk…!

21. I would like to know why Caricom needs a fact finding mission to Haiti at this point? What facts do they still need to know? haven’t they seen the devastation in the country? Once again Caricom has failed the region and the people of Haiti. The entire world knows what is happening there and what is needed. Why Caricom has not yet, in an organized fashion, sent in a team of doctors and nurses? Why haven’t they activated the regional security force and send in some security personnel to help with order? Why aren’t the neighboring countries taking in some of the sick and wounded? Caricom’s chronic culture of meeting and more meetings is sickening! We don’t need a fact finding mission to Haiti now. We need immediate action to help the people; tents to dwell in, medical supplies to treat the wounded and humanitarian relief for the people in need. This was Caricom’s opportunity to show compassion and unity and to shine and demonstrate solidarity with the Haitian people to the world. They should be taking the lead in at least helping to reinstate some semblance of government in Haiti. Instead, they are sending a fact finding mission. What a disappointment! What a wast! Our leaders all lack vision1!

22. @Young Bajan: “I wonder if we have gone back into reactive mode again.

Let us please recognize the elephant in the room.

*WE* have never left “reactive mode”, despite what some close to you might try to tell you….

23. Please see email making the rounds!

PM David Thompson of Barbados responds to an article written by Mr. Hal Austin of the Financial Times.  On the topic of Caricom’s response to the Haitian Crisis.   

By Hal Austin of the Financial Times Adviser of London

Once again the moribund, dysfunctional, embarrassing Caricom/CSME has failed the people of the Caribbean. As one of the worst natural disasters devastate a member nation of Caricom, the leaders of the regional union have stood by like rabbits trapped in oncoming headlights while the rest of the civilised world has acted with urgency.

It is another example of the huge structural, visionary and intellectual weaknesses of an organisation that has lost its moral compass.  Whether it is a financial crisis, a natural disaster or even something as boring as cricket, Caricom/CSME has failed to speak with a single voice and act decisively in times of crisis.

In the aftermath of the disaster, Barbados prime minister David Thompson made the bold claim, according to the Nation Online, that Caricom would do all that was humanly possible for those Haitians trapped under collapsed buildings literally struggling for their lives.  He is reported as saying: “It is with a sense of profound sadness that Barbadians learned of the earthquake. While the world is only now coming to understand the scale of the destruction that has taken place, initial assessment indicates Haiti has again suffered a calamity of horrendous proportions.”

Admittedly, this statement was made within hours of the disaster. But Caricom has an office in Haiti and the country is a member-state, not just a regional neighbour.   Nevertheless, prime minister Thompson went on: “We want to work with Caricom and to ensure that Caricom has a co-ordinated response to this matter.”

We now know, three days after the event, that Caricom has no real co-ordinated response.
    Then he added: “We are not able to make an assessment at this stage which would help us to come up with a definitive(relief) programme….Our resources of the Regional Security System should be adequate to provide some emergency assistance as soon as possible.” Meanwhile, people were dying.

At the same time, Guyana president Bharrat Jagdeo, pledged US$1m to help in the rescue and reconstruction plan, which was reasonable, given the nature of Guyana’s government and its economy.
    In the Bahamas, Hubert Ingraham, the prime minister, made a bleeding heart speech, but no offer of assistance or funding, at least in the early stages.

Once again it was left to the developed world to give moral and material leadership. President Obama promised US$100m, sent 3500 troops, 2000 marines, ships and helicopters and mobile hospitals – and that was only the beginning. Saving lives was the priority.

Planeloads of rescue workers were despatched from Britain, Italy, Belgium, Canada, Holland, Poland, Portugal, Russia, China, Spain and Switzerland. Australia promised Aus$1m, and non-governmental organisations throughout Europe had launched a massive campaign for public donations.

Even Digicel, a small regional telecommunications company, offered US$5 and promised to repair the telecommunication network; Israel sent field hospitals, the Italian bishops’ conference donated US$2m, Japan US$5m, Mexico sent doctors, nurses, search-and-rescue dogs, and infra-structure experts to assist in assessing the damage; South Korea offered US$1m, Sweden offered US$0.5m and sent tents, water purification equipment, medical aid and construction workers; Venezuela sent rescue workers, doctors and fire fighters; Taiwan sent rescue workers, tonnes of aid and equipment and transport planes.

In short, the world has responded to this disaster in one of the poorest, if not the poorest, nation in the world.   Yet, there was Caricom/CSME, with its bulging military, self-important politicians and docile civil servants sending tea and sympathy.

If nothing else, this disaster should make the point stronger than words can, of the need to drill down Caricom/CSME as a regional body, or just call it a day.
    We need a regional army, navy and air force, and regional security should be one of the priorities of the organisation.

Once again the people of the Caribbean have been sold short. By the way, nothing came in from the Middle East states, with the exception of Israel.

Hal Austin, London

—————————————————————————————

Sent: Friday, January 15, 2010 9:44 AM

To: *****

Subject: Re: Haiti – The Response

Junior,

Rubbish! All like now medical personnel, supplies etc. are going into Haiti from CARICOM. The staging point is JA. I am in JA about to board a plane with PM Skerrit and CDERA, RSS, BDF, Archbishop Holder etc. to meet with civil defence authorities about additional needs.

We are establishing a CARICOM emergency medical facility to deal with the injured along with other support.

I would not normally respond because we are a democracy and all views – even the misguided ones – should contend.

—————————————————————————————

Sent: Friday, January 15, 2010 10:27 AM

To: *****

Subject: Re: Haiti – The Response

Junior,

Haiti’s airport and ports are damaged and the airport ramp is congested … At this stage what is promised by countries is one thing, how to distribute it is another. Ground transportation is a challenge. So we have to find a way to coordinate all of the national responses in the region.

And we are trying to go to Haiti today to do much of this. In the interim, we have identified all the additional resources.

Please note this was a private correspondence between the PM and a friend.  After the fact, permission was sought to broadcast its contents to our  recipients because of the relevance to our society.  

24. @Alex Fergusson ,the question is , What are you doing to assist the poor Haitains?

25. Alex fergusson is doing what he does best
    having diarreah of the mouth.
    Talk is cheap.

26. @BAFBFP
    You always on my mind.i asked you to play a Pendergrass song for both of us.
    I hope yuh taking care of de problem.

27. David:
    With all due respect, the Prime Minister is talking bilge! I agree in principle with the Financial Times writer. The Caricom heads who went to Haiti should have gone to announce the actual implementation of what David Thompson now claims that regional Heads are planning. They should have sprung into action immediately on Tuesday night and Wednesday morning. They should have been the first ones to announce a plan of action. Instead, they left that task for President Obama. For a region that is prone to hurricanes, earthquakes and other natural disasters, there should be a regional/Caricom disaster preparedness plan that is ready for implementation at a moment’s notice. The medical facility he talks about should have been up and running already and injured evacuees should have been already receiving treatment there. And some of the medical supplies he talks about should have been diverted to that facility so as to ease the congestion in Port au Prince. What “civil defense” authorities is he talking about? There is no functioning ‘civil defense” in Haiti at this time, and most of the government officials are either dead or injured. They should help to ease the burden on President Preval by moving swiftly to into action. Have they noticed that President Rene Preval signed a MOU with US Secretary of State Hilary Clinton yesterday which gives the US greater authority/autonym to help restore governance and order in Haiti and to coordinate the relief effort? That MOU should been signed either by Haiti, Caricom and the US or by Caricom and the US. As I have said before, Prime Minister Thompson and his colleague Heads have established a culture of talk, more talk – meetings and more meetings within Caricom, with no resultant action or implementation. My wife is Haitian, so I understand the desperation, suffering and frustration of the Haitian people. Where is the regional security apparatus that they established for the world cup cricket? Why can’t they reactivate that and send in a security force to help restore and maintain order? Why can’t they as a region send in a coordinated team of doctors and nurses? Why can’t they send in a team of “civil defense” experts to help the Haitian government coordinate the overwhelming humanitarian and relief effort, and to help coordinate the restoration of the infrastructure? I know most of the Caricom Heads, I am not just criticizing them just to be negative. I actually think that they have failed the people of Haiti once again, and continue to demonstrate a lack of urgency and vision on this matter.

28. @Rickford

You must be aware by now that an MOU has been signed between Haiti and the USA at the exclusion it seems of Caricom. BU understands the security which a disorganized Haiti might have giving the USA the keys to the city; the fact they have done it at the exclusion of Caricom is insightful.

29. Coulda ! woulda! shoulda! does not add a to a hill of beans. From all I’ve read via media countries are doing all they can to
    help the Haitians.
    Most people who are criticising these efforts have their own poltical agenda .They ought to ask themselves
    “what am I doing to help”

30. @ac

Again you are correct in the position that we ALL should help Hailti in whatever way we can.

However you may recall an earlier conversation we had which addressed how politicians make decisions. Don’t believe for a minute the politicians involved in the Haiti relief effort are not taking decisions which are in their interest given the geopolitics at play. In response Caricom must be cognizant and make demands if the situation requires it. How can our regional politicians maintain and accrue credibility as a regional institution charged with overseeing critical change like CSME (immigration etc) if the USA comes into our backyard and control decisions affecting Haiti which is a member (observer) in Caricom?

There is a big picture!

31. @David
    Agree.
    Politicians use Divided and conquer as a way for people to look the other way as it is evident in the responses .Nobody has
    given a true response as to whether carribbean islands should allow injured
    haitians to be medivaced.
    Instead they have been more focus on goverment.I think most people are not comfortable and forthright in given an answer.Individually we also need to be forthright.

32. @ac

BU would be very surprise if regional politicians touch this issue. They have a way out now by referring to the action of the US and Haiti in signing the MOU.

33. If this disaster had happened to any Caribbean country, we would still be dependent on the US for help. Even if Caricom was up and functioning, the magnitude of this disaster would still be overwhelming.
    It is ok to sit in your office and write shit, than to get up and go see for yourself.
    Where in the Caribbean do we have the resources to handle this type of disaster alone…where?

ac is correct about people and their agendas, what we should be doing is helping anyway we can, there will be lots of time for finger pointing and chest beating later but for now, helping the Haitians should be everyone’s priority.

34. @Technician

We all agree that we should help; that is a given.

Let us draw a parallel. USA decided to hunt Hussein down because it was said they had strong evidence of WMD. While the many in the world agreed at the time that the Iraqi dictator had to be stopped many of the same never understood at the time the kind of reconstruction effort which would have required. Maybe some did and that is the point. Now the geopolitics of the world remain trap in a decision taken by ONE country which had nothing to do with WMD. All some of us are saying is that Caricom when it sits at the table of the mighty it must be cognizant of the geopolitical decision making unless you think lines drawn now can be erased later.

35. Technician

Couldn’t agree more

36. Another question Technician. Based on news reports in the media the US authorities controlling the airport in Haiti refused to allow a Caricom mission including Prime Ministers to land, do you agree this should be happening? It has nothing to do with US helping it has more to do with involving people on the ground. Have a read of Sir Hilary’s piece posted on the other blog on Haiti. There is alot at stake here and as Caribbean people we must be able to see the big picture.

37. Another point:

The US media has not had any problems getting access to Haiti.

38. I have a question.

When the Caricom maguffys (PM’s Thompson, Skerritt, Golding, CDERA, RSS, BDF, Archbishop Holder etc.) were attempting to fly into Haiti, were any medical personnel and supplies, food, water, tents, search and rescue teams, etc on the same plane?

It appears to me (but I hope that I’m wrong) that these distinguished persons went to “sight see”. Talk about meeting with “civil defence authorities about additional needs” is fanciful nonsense given the death and dislocation of many of the Haitian authorities. Those countries sending in real resources are flying those resources to the Dominican Republic and trucking these into Haiti.

39. @Anonymous 2010/01/17 at 12:50pm

Is it inconceivable to think that leaders of the Caribbean should play a part in the governance of the country at this time given the obliteration of governance structures?

40. @ David…

The US control of the Haitian airport came about after Haitian officials asked the FAA to stop flights coming in because of congestion and the dangers therein.
    I do not agree with the refusal to let the plane with the PM land but the reality of it is that the US controls the airport and it is now their choice, what the PM and others should do is to take it up with the higher authorities at that level.
    Maybe what should have been done was for Caricom to come out from the beginning and established themselves as the Representative of Haiti.

41. @Techie

We posted our last comments almost at the same time. We are singing from the same song sheet.

42. The US media are coming in along with the supplies, They running the show right now……what else to expect?

43. The hate and the quake

Published on: 1/17/2010.

BY SIR HILARY BECKLES

THE UNIVERSITY OF THE WEST INDIES is in the process of conceiving how best to deliver a major conference on the theme Rethinking And Rebuilding Haiti.

I am very keen to provide an input into this exercise because for too long there has been a popular perception that somehow the Haitian nation-building project, launched on January 1, 1804, has failed on account of mismanagement, ineptitude, corruption.

Buried beneath the rubble of imperial propaganda, out of both Western Europe and the United States, is the evidence which shows that Haiti’s independence was defeated by an aggressive North-Atlantic alliance that could not imagine their world inhabited by a free regime of Africans as representatives of the newly emerging democracy.

The evidence is striking, especially in the context of France.

The Haitians fought for their freedom and won, as did the Americans fifty years earlier. The Americans declared their independence and crafted an extraordinary constitution that set out a clear message about the value of humanity and the right to freedom, justice, and liberty.

In the midst of this brilliant discourse, they chose to retain slavery as the basis of the new nation state. The founding fathers therefore could not see beyond race, as the free state was built on a slavery foundation.

The water was poisoned in the well; the Americans went back to the battlefield a century later to resolve the fact that slavery and freedom could not comfortably co-exist in the same place.

The French, also, declared freedom, fraternity and equality as the new philosophies of their national transformation and gave the modern world a tremendous progressive boost by so doing.

They abolished slavery, but Napoleon Bonaparte could not imagine the republic without slavery and targeted the Haitians for a new, more intense regime of slavery. The British agreed, as did the Dutch, Spanish and Portuguese.

All were linked in communion over the 500 000 Blacks in Haiti, the most populous and prosperous Caribbean colony.

As the jewel of the Caribbean, they all wanted to get their hands on it. With a massive slave base, the English, French and Dutch salivated over owning it – and the people.

The people won a ten-year war, the bloodiest in modern history, and declared their independence. Every other country in the Americas was based on slavery.

Haiti was freedom, and proceeded to place in its 1805 Independence Constitution that any person of African descent who arrived on its shores would be declared free, and a citizen of the republic.

For the first time since slavery had commenced, Blacks were the subjects of mass freedom and citizenship in a nation.

The French refused to recognise Haiti’s independence and declared it an illegal pariah state. The Americans, whom the Haitians looked to in solidarity as their mentor in independence, refused to recognise them, and offered solidarity instead to the French. The British, who were negotiating with the French to obtain the ownership title to Haiti, also moved in solidarity, as did every other nation-state the Western world.

Haiti was isolated at birth – ostracised and denied access to world trade, finance, and institutional development. It was the most vicious example of national strangulation recorded in modern history.

The Cubans, at least, have had Russia, China, and Vietnam. The Haitians were alone from inception. The crumbling began.

Then came 1825; the moment of full truth. The republic is celebrating its 21st anniversary. There is national euphoria in the streets of Port-au-Prince.

The economy is bankrupt; the political leadership isolated. The cabinet took the decision that the state of affairs could not continue.

The country had to find a way to be inserted back into the world economy. The French government was invited to a summit.

Officials arrived and told the Haitian government that they were willing to recognise the country as a sovereign nation but it would have to pay compensation and reparation in exchange. The Haitians, with backs to the wall, agreed to pay the French.

The French government sent a team of accountants and actuaries into Haiti in order to place a value on all lands, all physical assets, the 500 000 citizens were who formerly enslaved, animals, and all other commercial properties and services.

The sums amounted to 150 million gold francs. Haiti was told to pay this reparation to France in return for national recognition.

The Haitian government agreed; payments began immediately. Members of the Cabinet were also valued because they had been enslaved people before independence.

Thus began the systematic destruction of the Republic of Haiti. The French government bled the nation and rendered it a failed state. It was a merciless exploitation that was designed and guaranteed to collapse the Haitian economy and society.

Haiti was forced to pay this sum until 1922 when the last instalment was made. During the long 19th century, the payment to France amounted to up to 70 per cent of the country’s foreign exchange earnings.

Jamaica today pays up to 70 per cent in order to service its international and domestic debt. Haiti was crushed by this debt payment. It descended into financial and social chaos.

The republic did not stand a chance. France was enriched and it took pleasure from the fact that having been defeated by Haitians on the battlefield, it had won on the field of finance. In the years when the coffee crops failed, or the sugar yield was down, the Haitian government borrowed on the French money market at double the going interest rate in order to repay the French government.

When the Americans invaded the country in the early 20th century, one of the reasons offered was to assist the French in collecting its reparations.

The collapse of the Haitian nation resides at the feet of France and America, especially. These two nations betrayed, failed, and destroyed the dream that was Haiti; crushed to dust in an effort to destroy the flower of freedom and the seed of justice.

Haiti did not fail. It was destroyed by two of the most powerful nations on earth, both of which continue to have a primary interest in its current condition.

The sudden quake has come in the aftermath of summers of hate. In many ways the quake has been less destructive than the hate.

Human life was snuffed out by the quake, while the hate has been a long and inhumane suffocation – a crime against humanity.

During the 2001 UN Conference on Race in Durban, South Africa, strong representation was made to the French government to repay the 150 million francs.

The value of this amount was estimated by financial actuaries as US$21 billion. This sum of capital could rebuild Haiti and place it in a position to re-engage the modern world. It was illegally extracted from the Haitian people and should be repaid.

It is stolen wealth. In so doing, France could discharge its moral obligation to the Haitian people.

For a nation that prides itself in the celebration of modern diplomacy, France, in order to exist with the moral authority of this diplomacy in this post-modern world, should do the just and legal thing.

Such an act at the outset of this century would open the door for a sophisticated interface of past and present, and set the Haitian nation free at last.

44. @ David..

We are aren’t we?

IMHO….I just think that to politicize this is not in the best interest of the Haitian people….they are the only ones worth thinking of right now. After some stability, then we can jump on as many peoples’ backs as we can.

45. Were the Caricom PMs carrying any relief supplies on the same plane or were they traveling “empty handed”?

46. @Techie

Don’t be naive about the issue of Haiti, no disrespect intended.

Billions have poured into Haiti over the years with much of it directed away from the people.

Why do you think it happened?

POLITICS!

Politics is life, it cannot be distilled from the issue.

47. @ David…

None taken, I am not being naive about Haiti.
    I think you of all people can tell from my posts over time, my stand on matters like these. Mr. Beckles’ piece above should be mandatory reading in schools.
    Maybe the death,destruction and suffering is too overwhelming and has dulled my senses but right now help is all I can think of.
    Just last night some friends here in NY were organizing supplies with the help of the Council Rep for the district and to see big men cry is something else.

48. Will there be any accountabilty for the massive amount of aid that will be going to haiti “to assist haitians” or will the funds be squandered with history repeating itself? Is it right and moral to assist he victims but as everyone knows financial accountability is a concept which seems to constantly eludes haiti and haitians.

49. When the Caricom Heads complain to the so-called “higher authorities” who will listen to them? The earthquake was Tuesday afternoon at 5pm. Why it took until Friday for them to attempt to go in? Why couldn’t they have asked the President of the Dominican Republic for access thru’ the DR? This is how many journalists have entered and are entering Haiti. Moreover, why didn’t they coordinate with the President of the DR and visited at the same time he did on Thursday? There is no excuse for Caricom’s obvious laissez faire, hands off, not our problem – attitude. This has always been their approach to Haiti, and it is unacceptable. In the status quo ante, they played no meaningful role in helping to establish and/or strengthen democratic institutions, “stand-up” the government, help operationalize sustainable development strategies and measures to ameliorate economic hardship the and the devastating, dreadful impact of a stagnant economy and impact on the socio-economic conditions, or implement sound public policy in their sister state. Haiti has been depending on the multilateral financial organizations, US, Europe and other countries around the world for this kind of assistance. No one expects Caricom to help with matters like balance of payment support, financial or macro-economic support, but the region can certainly contribute human expertise and technical assistance to help with human and social development, monetary policy, infrastructural development and the overall planning and implementation of a comprehensive development strategy – after all, it is our experts who work at the IDB, IMF and IBRD, who go all over the world to help develop poor countries. While the blocking of the regional leaders from entering Haiti is unfortunate and disrespectful to those leaders personally and to the region general, it should be a wake up call to them for being inexcusably too late to the calling.

50. @David
    It is a shame but true.