Publisher of the Nation newspaper Viviananne Gittens

The theatrical production of two St. Leonards Boys recorded on video being flogged by a teacher was confirmed to be a prank by the Nation newspaper today. The video first appeared on Facebook and was subsequently downloaded and posted by an over zealous and exuberant blogger. BU first heard about the video when Anthony ‘Admiral’ Nelson discussed it on his morning show early last week, this would have been before the video was published by the blogger. Given the damage to the reputation of young children, a school teacher and a school which has always gotten a raw deal in Barbados, BU took a decision not to publish the video until we could confirm its authenticity.

The difference between the blogs and traditional media we are told is the extra-mile which is traveled by them to verify stories and be responsible in reporting. The Nation newspaper in its article today which condemned the video as a prank took the opportunity to name blogs and websites which would have published the video. It was obviously a deliberate action by the editors of the Nation to smear the non-traditional media because of their injudicious action.

The Nation is entitled to punch back because it is usually at the receiving end from us.

The problem we have with the Nation newspaper article is one of business ethics. An alert BU family member (Sargeant) informed us that the same Nation newspaper in its gossip column Pudding and Souse published the following on the 26 December 2009; two days after the blogger posted the video:

CRICKETERS TAKE LASHES OFF PITCH

SEEMS THAT TEACHERS at a certain secondary school are still not afraid to instill  discipline on their charges with the use of a whip.  A video making the rounds on Facebook shows a teacher at the school putting some hot lashes on three teenage boys from the cricket team who apparently went to a strip club and returned to their hotel room late at night. Apparently this took place while the team was on tour in a neighbouring Caribbean country. From the looks of it, the boys who got the lashes will never step out of line again. Wonder what education authorities would say this time around?

Should we let the BU family be the judge? Yes the article did not name names but Barbados is a small business and as the people down by the Riverside is fond of saying, one does not have to name names to identify the guilty party.  Why is it the reputable and upright Nation newspaper is able to get away with publishing lies and innuendo every Saturday (see above) and it is given a pass mark?

Note the last sentence in the piece quoted Wonder what education authorities would say this time around?’

65 responses to “Whax Palax Bruggadown Brax”

1. @ Hants

I read you, sorry, I feel you, of course, but this video thing should not be used by you or Negroman to vent such sentiments. IT IS A HOAX! And a disgusting Fat Ars is using it to drive traffic to his website…!

@ Bushman
    Seems to me that you are still “98% hormone driven”. ROMTLHW

2. Agreed. Clearly being used by the attention whore to get hits over at BR. So obvious and shameless especially since he has no real journalistic talent. Cue Ciboney and/or Gaston La Rue (aka BR) now…

3. I just don’t get it! Why would someone/anyone go to such length to tarnish a teacher’s reputation in such like, knowing full well that incidents like this can rise to a level that is embarrassing to the country as a whole having been published where the world constantly treads.

I’m sure going forward BR would be more conscientious in what it reports.
    We all are aware that when it comes to reporting, every media house/blog, etc wants to be the first in releasing a story, and sometimes fail to Xcheck

4. Quite simply it’s a growing epidemic out of there of holier than thou ppl who thrive on tearing other people down so they can make a name for themself and profit financially in the process. It’s a new breed of Barbadian professional who will do anything to “get paid”. Watch it and see.

5. @ Technician who wrote”would it have been better if a white boy was included in the cast?”

A white person would have welts and be “black and blue” if beaten as depicted in the video.

There is no way a black teacher in Barbados would beat a white boy as depicted in the video.

This was pure Black on Black violence.

6. @ BAFBFP
    @ Bushman
    Seems to me that you are still “98% hormone driven”. ROMTLHW
    Truth to tell B, it like it gone to 99% now yuh …
    .. fortunately, the bushy has been able to engage the willing services of one of Bonny Peppa’s second cousins who has considerable experience in dealing with the situation.
    Matter fix!!!

By the way, what the hell is ROMTLHW??!!
    …. you like you looking to be ABFBU yuh…

7. Bushman

” what the hell is ROMTLHW” … tell you de truth I realy don’ know…! ROPJHBJ

ha ha ha Ha

8. Bushman

What is the goin’ fah people like Bonny Pepper’s second cousin in your part of the world?

9. goin’ rate

10. Ya don’t want to know the rate B….

…cost me half of every single thing the Bushy got…. plus NUFF stress..

11. Well if de second cousin is anyt’ing like de original Bonny, yah deserve wah yah get…haha.. AHWGUIBS

12. Bush/BAF
    Prosperity in the New year my dawlinks.
    By de way, it was my haff sista not my secon- cousin.

Bush
    ‘everything that was important in life wore skirts’
    Dat is a classic. Ya badddddddd. Ya in lie. Still is today pardner. Ask BAF.

13. @Hants
    I have used tolerance when in dealing with most of the gay issues but at this point i am using logic to understand same sex marriage and so far the reasoning does not make sense.I am not one to go along just to get along my mind has to premit me to thoroughly understand the facts before I make a decision.

14. The above comments in error .Wrong topic

15. ac
    watch de drinks girl, watchaaaaa.