leadershipIt seems appropriate that we should end 2009 by focusing on the global recession which has decimated the developing economies of the world, Barbados included. The irony of it all is while some have lauded the benefits of globalization and economic partnership agreements; the resulting inter-connectivity of world economies has exposed the vulnerability of such an approach. Continuing the current model will ensure that  Barbados and other developing economies will forever be dependent of the economies of the G20. Importantly is the challenge of small states to generate options to grow GDP capacity given our high debt burden. Although a significant percentage of our debt is  a result of vision-less regional governments over the years there is the greed of Wall Street which must be factored.

Entering 2010 the challenge for Barbados must be to build a roadmap and find the financial resources to roll out policies and projects which will reposition the economy of Barbados to grow GDP. Some may suggest that a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government is not suited to manage the economy at this time given its historical focus on rolling out social programs at the expense of  fiscal and monetary policies. Time will tell if the experience gained in the 90s would have equipped Prime Minister David Thompson and the new Central Bank Governor Dr.  Delisle Worrell to confront the current economic challenges.

GDP GROWTH FORECASTS 2010
US 1.5%
Germany 0.3%
France 0.9%
Italy 0.2%
UK 0.9%
Japan 1.7%
Canada 2.1%
China 9%
India 6.4%

Source: International Monetary Fund

A look at the IMF projections for the major economies of the world supports the view that 2010 will be a challenging year. Although the major economies of the world are projected to move from negative to positive GDP growth, it is worrying that our major source markets for tourists and foreign direct investment are projected to struggle in 2010. It is no secret that in the US and UK economic recovery continues to be threatened by excess inventories especially in housing stock. Until restocking takes hold in the US, UK and Canada major recovery will be elusive and in the process Barbados will remain anxious.

Barbados has demonstrated over the years that we are a resilient people and we will do what is required to sustain the decent standard of living of which we have become accustomed. Unfortunately the current debate by our political leaders does not engender confidence. The unprecedented events of the last 18 months call for unprecedented decision making by our leaders. So far we have had more of the same; not good enough.

Barbadians maybe surprised to learn that St. Kitts and Nevis with a combined square mileage of 101 has exported US41.3 million up to October 2009 to the USA. Barbados by comparison exported US26.2 million dollars in the same period. BU has blogged before about the progressive decision making in many of the smaller Caribbean islands concerning the development of Renewable Energy (RE) programs. The benefits of developing an RE program are many, saving foreign exchange, new employment opportunities,  buffer the economy against external shock by weaning from fossil energy, developing a greening policy etc. The government of Barbados task is not easy in the current environment and as it approaches mid-term the public although sympathetic will expect leadership which equates to perceived performance.

Barbadians have been told there are no immediate plans to borrow on the capital markets. There has been no concerted effort to educate Barbadians the need to reshape their consumption behaviour. With foreign direct investment tailing off given the bearish financial markets, the fickle tourism industry not expected to surpass 2008 figures anytime soon there is only pessimism regarding the government’s capacity to grow GDP.

The time has come and almost gone where a national consensus by our political parties on a way forward should have been agreed to. How long will we remain on the ropes? How long will we continue to bury our heads in the sand by resting on laurels?

23 responses to “Is Barbados Resting On Its Laurels?”

1. Although GDP growth includes the measurement of foreign exchange earned it is a horrible tool to measure the performance of a Government in a country that is as small as we are. It might be a cool tool for the US or UK or even Canada whose citizens could jump on a plane with the money that they are paid their salaries in at home and spend it anywhere in the world; but for us the only thing that is important is the fact that we are earning more foreign exchange than we are spending…full stop.

Are the conduits to the overseas markets performing, the overseas missions and agencies, how do you measure their performance?

Is the tourism machinery interacting with Barbadian producers, how do you measure the level of interaction?

And so on.

This GDP Growth convention only allows little Governments the opportunity to hide behind activities that cost serious US dollars ((eg: construction and retail). These activities may suggest that Barbadians are working, but they are doing so at the continued expense of the international current account.

2. The fact is GDP is a macroeconomic indicator and should not preempt the other performance economic measures. But your point is taken.

3. […] to rollout policies and projects which will reposition the economy of Barbados to grow GDP”: Barbados Underground wonders if the country is resting on its laurels. Cancel this […]

4. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@BAFBFP, there’s no need to focus on GDP, except that as a measure that is well structured with a broadly agreed methodology, it allows for easy comparison across countries. Just look at income and expenditure, however you want to configure them. The picture should broadly be the same. If you want to get really clever then look at inputs and outputs, and then you get a very good picture of who contributes what on how that’s done. If you want to make it simpler you can just carve the economy into its main parts: government, financial sector, private sector, and overseas sector, and see which contributes what in terms of cash flow, income, expenditure and jobs. Good fun for the Christmas holidays.

5. Living In Barbados

Living In Barbados

Happy pagan Yuletide and Winter solstice to you. I am looking forward to Turkey, Ham and Sorrel from every house in the St Michael South Central district…!

I frankly just look forward to the day when ALL commentators on Caribbean Government economic policy force the issue that it is no longer good enough to quote GDP figures. In fact the term GDP should be dropped from the Caribbean parlance period…!

6. The following note about GDP explains in layman’s terms for those not of that field.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of Gross Domestic Product?

Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is an economic measure of a nation’s total income and output for a given time period (usually a year). Economists use GDP to measure the relative wealth and prosperity of different nations, as well as to measure the overall growth or decline of a nation’s economy.

The most common way to measure GDP is the expenditure approach. With the expenditure approach, GDP is the sum of the following elements:

Total domestic consumption: This is the total amount spent on domestically produced final goods and services. Final goods are items that will not be resold or used in production within the next year — milk, cars, bow ties, and so on.

Total domestic investment expenditures: This measurement includes not only investments in stocks and bonds, but also investments in equipment — such as bulldozers, computer servers, and commercial buildings — that will be useful over a long period of time. It also includes inventory goods — final goods waiting to be sold that a company still has on hand.
    Government expenditures: This includes everything from paying military salaries to building roads and maintaining monuments, but does not include welfare and social security payments.

Net exports: Net exports is the total of goods and services produced domestically and sold to foreigners minus goods and services produced by foreigners but sold domestically (imports).

Using GDP as a measure of a nation’s economy makes sense because it’s essentially a measure of how much buying power a nation has over a given time period. GDP is also used as an indicator of a nation’s overall standard of living because, generally, a nation’s standard of living increases as GDP increases.

But there are a number of shortcomings to using GDP.

Here are just a few:

GDP doesn’t count unpaid volunteer work: GDP doesn’t take into account work that people do for free, from an afternoon spent picking up litter on the roadside to the millions of man-hours spent on free and open source software (such as Linux). In fact, volunteer work can actually lower GDP when volunteers do work that might otherwise have gone to a paid employee or contractor.

Disasters can raise GDP: Wars require soldiers, oil spills require cleanup, and natural disasters require health workers, builders, and all manner of helping hands. Rebuilding after a disaster or war can greatly increase economic activity and boost GDP.

GDP doesn’t account for quality of goods: Consumers may buy cheap, low-quality, short-lived products repeatedly instead of buying more expensive, longer-lasting goods. Over time, consumers could spend more replacing cheap goods than they would have if they had bought higher-quality goods in the first place, and GDP would grow as a result of waste and inefficiency.

Although economists are constantly working on other ways to measure an economy, GDP is still the best indicator of a nation’s overall economic health, in spite of its shortcomings.

7. “… GDP is still the best indicator of a nation’s overall economic health, in spite of its shortcomings” Not Applicable to the ACP US Foreign Currency dependany countries like BIM..

Sorry David, not playing …!

8. @BAFBFP

I agree 100%, we in the caribbean cannot seem to emerge from this constant brainwashing….if the majority of economic activity is the result of trading only within barbados, or government activities etc., then where does that get us as a country. Absolutely no where. It’s like creating monopoly money within a household and the husband trading with the wife and children only…yeah to that family its real money. Now take that monopoly money to the supermarket..exactly! The family has to earn real dollars not monopoly money. So Barbados’ focus should be on earning real hard currency!!

9. Recession?
    Nobody ain’t tell Bajans or they know something that wunna ain’t know.
    You see how duh had town today? Tomorrow gun be worse, this christmas thing getting ridiculous now.

10. Thanks fah de support Baje, your sentiments are mine exactly.

Scrooge;
    You got any idea how many retirees jumping on Cruise Ships tah spen’/gamble away de nex’ two weeks at $6000.00 a cruise? T’ink dese ‘ol’ people cay? Dey time up so dey partying now, wid foreign exchange dat none ah dem neva earn a red cent of…! Harsh… hell yea, so what…!

11. BAFBFP // December 23, 2009 at 8:15 PM
    ……..wid foreign exchange dat none ah dem neva earn a red cent of…! Harsh… hell
    uh uh.. no. Yuh wrong deh. Lots of those retirees are “returned nationals” whose foreign pensions are helping to build up the foreign reserves. Or their grown childre in Hingland, the States and Kanada sending dem de money. Most local retirees cant afford to cruise and gamble.

Dont envy them, your day will come.

12. Get Non-residents to invest their foreign currency in bim by offering them higher interest rates.. (if it is not done already).

13. It is clear how both the traditional DLP and BLP have been continuing to starkly fail the masses and middle classes of people of this country – improper political representation of the fundamental needs of those same masses and middle classes of people of this country – serious failures to empower politically the masses and middles classes of people of this country – willful neglect in NOT moving to arrest and eliminate severe disparities in income and wealth among the major social categories of the country, etc.

And, almost everywhere the members of the PDC go the cries from many people within the poor and middle segments in the country are the same: “we are sick, tired and frustrated with the DLP and BLP”; “they are NOT for us, they are for themselves”; “oh, they are for the rich, NOT the poor”, etc.,

Well, the time for the masses and middle classes to send the damned DLP and blasted BLP packing once and for all is NOW, NOW, NOW!!

Therefore, the vast majority of people of this country must NOT be made to go into 2010
    thinking that these two vision-less and intellectually bankrupt and selfish parties are any where near capable of really taking us into the deepest points of the next decade. For, they are really NOT!!

But, how could any one see it possible to imagine this ossie moore, ineffective DLP Government having the gall to be seeking at this stage to get the public to subscribe in Treasury Bills and Treasury Notes to the tune of BDS $ 54 million and BDS $ 100 million respectively? Could any one imagine – if these issues are going to be fully subscribed any time now- the very staggering effects of such actual debt increases on the production and productivity incomes earnings of the far more efficient private sectors in the country? But, how are individuals and businesses and financial institutions in a country that has been in a depression in recent time, or that has been producing less and less national income within recent time, going to be able to properly subscribe to these issues without having to forgo further investment opportunities? Could any one possibly imagine the impact of these issues on the already skyrocketing government debt of the country? What would Standard and Poor’s and Moody’s have to say about these recent issues – which total just above 2% of Barbados’ GDP? Are NOT further downgrades from them possible?

So, while we consider possible/answers to these questions, what must therefore become more and more certain to the very politically conscious in the country is that the vast majority of citizens of this country must really help rid the DLP and BLP from the political landscape of this country, and at the same time help give greater political and other supports to the PDC and any other serious nationalist people centered parties in the country.

14. By the way Pat , I don’ plan on gettin’ ol’, and if by nature’s design that does happen, you can bet that by then every cent in US currency that I spend will be as a result of the US money that I am presently strugling to generate …!

15. @ BAFBFP

Nice to know. How is it coming? Why not do it the easy way and buy it off of vacationers like the Guyanese do!

16. Pat,

Business slow all round, even in the sex trade… LOL

17. History
    Babylon you are a lie old fox
    Locked you in the box and throw away the key
    For all those tricks you played when I was me
    jah jah jah jah jah jah has the master key

18. Nice Blog, and nice post to, i get so many information in this blog, i will visit this blog frequently…

I like your post, specially about
    seems appropriate that we should end 2009 by focusing on the global recession which has decimated the developing economies of the world, Barbados included
    Cheers