McClinton/Getty Extra weight in middle age can have a dramatic effect on women's health as they grow older, according to new research.

There is the saying the health of a nation is the wealth of a nation. According to reports from the experts, non-communicable diseases (CNCDs) are on the rise globally, of more concern to Barbadians is the more significant rise occurring in developing countries. It is not our approach to this subject to be judgemental, we all have our challenges with balancing our lifestyles and healthy living.

What cannot be denied is the rising number of CNCDs in Barbados  according to the periodic reports we get from our officials. Concern by the former government forced the establishment of the National Task Force on CNCDs which was established to produced a policy document for the prevention and control of CNCDs. Among the recommendations were:

• The establishment of a Health Promotion Unit.
  • The establishment of the post of Senior Medical Officer of Health (CNCDs).
  • The establishment of a National Commission on CNCDs.

Despite the task force initiative our country continues to struggle with perpetuating a culture of healthy living. We understand Barbados currently occupies the highest category for incidence of diabetes and obesity.

To arrest the problem calls for a lifestyle adjustment which maybe a cry in the wilderness based on how our society continues to develop i.e. proclivity for fast food, foods infected with preservatives, driving instead of walking etc. The greatest irony for the BU household continues to be the rising number of CNCDs as we boast of achieving first world status in 2025. What yardstick are we using to measure success?

Yet another study has been released by the medical fraternity which predicts a sorry outcome for people who surrender to the battle of the bulge. The study used females to feed its research, we hope our resident medical expert Dr. GP can validate whether we can extrapolate the findings to include men.

Women who are overweight in middle age are 80 percent less likely to be healthy later in life: study

Obesity is a “significant factor” in predicting how long a person will live, according to a study published in the British Medical Journal (BMJ).

Researchers from Harvard School of Public Health in Boston, Massachusetts, and the University of Warwick in Coventry analysed data gathered since 1976 from more than 17,000 female nurses living in 11 US states.

They found that women who were obese in middle age had 79% lower odds of healthy survival compared with women who kept their weight at a healthy level.

The study also found that putting on weight from the age of 18 until middle age was a predictor of how long women would live in good health.

For every 1kg increase in weight gain since age 18, the odds of healthy survival decreased by 5%, the researchers said.

Women who were overweight at age 18 and gained 10kg of weight to middle age had particularly low survival – reduced by 82% – compared with women who were lean and maintained a stable weight.

Obesity was defined as having a body mass index (BMI) over 30, while lean women had a BMI of 18.5 to 22.9.

At the start of the study, nurses filled in questionnaires on their lifestyles, weight and height and history of disease. They were questioned again every two years for more than a 20-year period, providing updates on their health as well as weight and current lifestyle. Any reported illnesses were checked against medical records and other data.

The experts classed people as healthy if they reached the age of 70 or older while being free from major chronic diseases and associated surgery: cancer, diabetes, heart attack, coronary artery bypass graft surgery, congestive heart failure, stroke, kidney failure, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.

110 responses to “Obesity Decreases The Odds”

1. The authorities should be aware of the studies. The book was first published in 1991. By the way, I had an error with the names of the authors when I mentioned the book earlier. The names are William Evans, Ph.D and Irwin H Rosenberg MD.

@ROK
    On the question of lean, I don’t see why there should be any difficulty with the term. Here’s something on the subject that may be of interest.
    •Waist-to-Height Ratio – The Waist-to-Height ratio is determined by dividing the waist circumference by the height. Waist-to-Height ratios of 0.5 or greater are indicative of intra-abdominal fat for both men and women and are associated with a greater risk of cardiovascular disease. A study found that persons with a normal BMI but a large waist circumference, corresponding approximately to a Waist-to-Height ratio of 0.55, had a 20% higher mortality risk than persons with a normal waist size.[7]

•Percent Body Fat – The percent body fat is calculated using the formulas developed by Hodgdon and Beckett at the Naval Health Research Center in 1984. The formulas require the measurements to be in centimeters with an accuracy of 0.5 cm. However, the form above has been adjusted to accept measurements in inches. Men and women require different methods for measuring because men accumulate fat mostly in the abdomen (the “apple” body shape or “beer belly”), while women accumulate fat in their abdomen and hips (the “pear” body shape). The equations take this into consideration.
    The formula for men is:

%Fat=495/(1.0324-0.19077(log(waist-neck))+0.15456(log(height)))-450

The formula for women is:

%Fat=495/(1.29579-0.35004(log(waist+hip-neck))+0.22100(log(height)))-450

The American Council on Exercise uses the following categories based on percentage of body fat:
    Women Men
    Essential fat 10-12% 2-4%
    Athletes 14-20% 6-13%
    Fitness 21-24% 14-17%
    Acceptable 25-31% 18-25%
    Obese 32% or more 26% or
    more
    There are some sites on the web that do the calculations for you. This info is taken from the following link: http://www.scientificpsychic.com/fitness/diet.html

2. I think Bajans have to start eating more vegetables. Half the plate should be vegetables, one quarter meat/fish and one quarter carbs. Breads should be preferably whole grains, pumpernikel, good hearth, etc. These are pricey but good. I have not seen them in Bim, unless they are at the specialty shops.

Most vegetables should be eaten raw whenever possible. Dressing can be what we used as kids, lime and salt. Sometimes as a treat, my aunt would buy salad cream, but it was used so sparingly it did not count.

Eating like this, snacking on cucumbers and carrots and moderate exercise will see the pounds fall off, about on average one pound a week.

Of course, you have to cut out the Ju-Cs, the sugar cakes, etc. One scoop of ice cream is good, as well as two digestive, or arrowroot cookies. You dont have to give up all the tasty choices. Just cut back. No more than 3 fruits should be eaten per day, as they contain sugar which converts to fats as well.

When in Barbados, I eat all my carrots raw. I buy the small locally grown ones. They sweet for days. I bought some of the seeds and planted them up here, they good, but not as sweet as at home. Probably something to do with the soil, as they are sweeter when cooked.

Bajans have to park the cars and cut out the fried chicken and potato chips. There is a chicken shop 5 blocks from our house and when the wind shifts, you smell the oil. yuck! That smell will turn anyone off fried chicken. We have not eaten fried chicken, nor chicken skin in our house for over 15 years. Are we lean? nope!

@ROK
    Bananas contain most of the minerals you said are lacking in our diets.

Zinc can be had from meat and all those land crabs roaming Bathsheba. Just go up at night with a crocus bag and a smut lamp (torch) and catch as many as you want.

3. Sometime ago I read an article in Forbes magazine which claimed that Barbados was number 12 on the list of the World’s fattest countries. So things have changed quite a bit from the time GP hearkens back to. There was also a time in Barbados when women would speak disparagingly about other women who were thin. You would hear phrases “she like she starve out” or “she like a long neck galling”.

I believe some Bajan men preferred their women to be buxom (not fat) so much so that in the 60’s there was a popular product called “Wate On “which was sold to many women who felt they were too thin.

Another observation, to combat overweight one should also control portion sizes. Many Bajans simply eat too much, I think some of them miss their calling as engineers when you see them pile on the food on the “small plate” at Cave Shepherd or the buffet offerings at the various establishments.

I’m not sure how being No.12 on the World’s fattest countries ties in with the fact that according to the UN Barbados is number 42 in terms of life expectancy, however the CIA places Barbados at number 95.

Is the BMI above valid for all races? Or are they skewed to those of European descent?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_life_expectancy

4. Good question Sargeant.

I am not sure that BMI is relevant to me. I am 5 foot, six and 3/4 inches. I wear a size 14, but my Dr. thinks I am over weight and should lose weight. I dont look fat, but I weigh heavy at 190. I would like to lose another ten if that would reduce the chances of a heart attack or diabetes, which runs in the family.

5. @Pat

I never said we don’t have any foods without those three minerals, I said our diet is deficient in them. Bananas have in a low supply of them. according to established daily requirements we are supposed to use about 400 mg of magnesium. You would need to eat about 20 bananas daily or more to get that amount.

On the other hand, its partner, calcium, is easily had in our daily diets so you can get more than the daily requirement of 400 mg of calcium per day from eating several different foods.

That is really the essential point.

6. Hey Pat, you thick. You ladies will soon get my mouth watering, lol!

7. Well! Well! Well! You see the kind of strokes the GP recommending? Tickling off the back foot; drive through covers?

So Bonny, you bowling? I batting with gloves only; no pads involved here, Just shut your eyes and google it. LOL!

Well if you feel like playing socca, we could dribble, LOL!

8. @Pat

The BMI is a waste of time as it does not say anything about body composition. Weight alone is irrelevant. What is important is your body fat levels. To see what is healthy and also to calculate yours I suggest you check out my earlier posts. You may also try to convince David to publish the document I sent him some time ago.

9. ROK
    I did not say “Tickling off the back footor or drive through covers” Driving through the covers is a big shot!

I tell you tickle or deflect down to fine leg and sterr down to third man. These are exquisite, deft strokes that will conserve energy. And note Rarotonga actually used to WALK his singles at the end of his careeer when he became a bit portly.

10. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

Georgie Porgie is right. Its so simple. If you start with 1 hr of exercise 4 days a week and couple that with some diet changes ; no soft drinks ; little or no alcohol; no fried foods; fish and leaner meat cuts and natural starches like potatoes , yam, cassava, breadfruit instead of pastas and breads you will lose weight consistently. The problem is that it is so easy to slip off the wagon and pig out on the fattening stuff.

11. Bently is correct when he opines

The BMI is a waste of time as it does not say anything about body composition. Weight alone is irrelevant. What is important is your body fat levels.

Besides milk you can get a lot of calcium in sardines! I suppose you can also from any small fish in which the bones are soft enough to chew and swallow.

Preparations like Centrum with A to Z will give all the minerals and vitamins required. Some similar preparations also contain lycopene for the men. Co enzyme Q supplements are worth taking.

CoQ along with Iron and sulphur are needed for the electron transport chain that effects the generation of a substance called ATP which is essentially the currency (and current!) of the body. ATP is what we are talking about when we say we feel full of energy or not.

Manganese and magnesium are important in stabalizing enzyme complexes to allow many chemical reactions to occur that generate energy (ATP) in the body.

12. Pat
    You can easily lose that weight by using anti- yeast products and cutting out as much bread and carbs as you can.

Replacing glucose in your diet by the equally sweet, but less readily absorbed xylitol works wonders, and is good for the teeth too.

Your contribution to the discussion has been stirling. You need to teach that moron Danjuma that pushing and peddling diet pills is not the answer

13. David, does the caption picture, display the image of a Barbadian citizen? If not, and given the near endemic occurrance of obesity in our local population, it should not have been to difficult to find a relevant picture. What with plenty buxom Captains of politics and commerce, even a Market Vendor, and the contestants in the yearly “Miss All That” Big Beauties Show, I am very sure you would not have had to difficult a search. lol!

14. KISSMYA // October 2, 2009 at 7:13 AM

In 2005, a calypsonian, -what was his name ? sang that he liked them big fat and thick and the bigger the better or something to that effect.

I think he won something.

Bajans like to be fat. I overheard somebody recently saying that she wants to be fat——-unwise-uneducated and ill informed !
    ——
    originally posted on the wrong thread

15. Biggie Irie

Won the 2007 Trinidad Calypso crown:

16. Another study says hungry men like fat
    women.

It isn’t that hungry men like to eat fat
    women, it’s that hungry men know fat
    women have food in the house.

17. Georgie Porgie // October 2, 2009 at 9:50 AM

Thanks Dr. Porgie. I have been doing all those things and lost 12 pounds since June. I was 203. Thing is I was skin and bones until my twenties, when my then Dr. gave me something called ‘trophite’ to increase the appetite. It has now been banned and I think it messed up my thyroid, so that I later had a partial thyroidectomy.

Mind you, I was happy to put on the weight after years of being called “Spokes and Bones Ltd.”, ( a play on Stokes and Bynoe Ltd. in Bridgetown), by the fellows in the next village. So Sargeant has something there about Bajan men.

I think my problem is that I have been lifting too much weights at the gym for the past two years and have built lots of muscle. So, this summer I started walking instead. The weight loss has caused my face to droop and I have a turkey goggle under my chin! ha aha ha.

I eat very little carbs and no sugar for years. My bread is whole grain. If I make dumplings they are whole wheat. No pop, but I like a fine scotch.

I will follow the Doctors orders and lose the 20 pounds that she wants me to. That will bring me down to a size 10 and I will have to fork out for a new wardrobe. The good thing is that I love vegetables of all kinds, so I never get bored eating them. What I dont grow I buy fresh, no canned, too much sodium! I always read my labels. I eat no transfat, if possible no cholesterol (two heart attack deaths – grandfather and aunt) heart desease galore in the family. Hopefully, I will live to 80 and keep my teeth too. I pay my periodontist a good piece, three times a year to keep these crunchers in de mout.

I am not one for pills. People who take pills to lose weight have no self control nor will power. My Dr. would never recommend a pill. When you stop taking the pill, the weight comes running back on. The money would be better spent at the gym or on good fresh veggies.

Only lifestyle changes will remove the excess weight permanently. I am so psyched out that if there is more than a half cup of rice on my plate, I am satisfied at half a cup, leaving the rest. Finally, I always eat the veggies first.

18. For those who can handle the technical stuff please view a relevant presentation on Vitamins and Cofactors which has been converted to PDF.

@Bentley

Please resend the email/document which you referred to above.

@Adrian

We did not want to detract from the important topic at hand by using a known Bajan figure.

19. Bajans like fat. Pat’s comments above helps to confirm this fact.

I know it, I hear it from people in Barbados all the time . I have seen men and women eating icecream etc and saying that they are eating to get fat. really !.

It is a slave thing. The massa and slave owners were fat and they were imitated by blacks.

Barbados never change hands-from the British.

There is your answer and clue to the problem.

signed: KISSMYA who has been accused as being partisan political (by people who are themselves partisan political) expounding on things healthwise.

20. ROK
    I don’t like cricket so the jargon will buffle me but I know dat you got ta be able ta play pun my wet wicket whenevva de match start. Whether it be 20/20 or a test series. I ready ROK, you too? Start de ‘balls’ rolling.

KIki
    Don’t thin people have food in their home too? Oh shiteeeeeeeeee, man.

My take on dis ting is to eat evryting, even sum dog n’ pussy sometimes, in moderation. Fat people are prone to diseases, so are thin people.Fat people die young, so do thin people. Fat people are fit, so are thin people. Fat people (like me) are sexy, so are thin people. Live n let live. I gine n eat a pork chop now. Care ta join me?

21. Bonny happiness is attractive
    (so you are beautiful)

22. KissMya,
    The calypsonian was Captain Sawyer and the calypso was sweettttttttttttt, fa days. I use ta ‘wukk-up’ baddddd to it. Dat was my anthem for day year boy. He won the peoples’s ‘someshite’ dat VOB sponsors. Can’t rememba de name now. Edwin won dis year.

Kiki
    Tanks for de compliment my Sucre-pop.
    Mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh(blushinnnn)

23. @ GEORGIE PORGIE
    “Replacing glucose in your diet by the equally sweet, but less readily absorbed xylitol works wonders, and is good for the teeth too….”

Xylitol, like Stevia (which my daughter swears by as a nutritionist) is extracted from birch cellulose and is considered to be a carbohydrate alcohol.

But GP, it has the same amount of calories as sucrose, it metabolizes in a dissimilar manner and may be used safely for diabetics and hypoglycemics as you are aware.

We appreciate that bacterial salivary organisms do not feed, grow or ferment on Xylitol as they do on other simple sugars.

The safety of Xylitol is however in dispute because in 1986, the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB) was commissioned by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to review all relevant data concerning Xylitol and other polyols.

The scientific conclusions of the FASEB report indicate that the use of Xylitol in humans is safe. The report also affirms Xylitol’s acceptability as an approved food additive for use in foods for special dietary uses.

In 1996, the Joint Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA), a prestigious scientific advisory body to the WHO and the FAO of the United Nations, confirmed that adverse findings in animal studies conducted in the 1970s are “not relevant to the toxicological evaluation of these substances (e.g., Xylitol) in humans.”

JECFA has allocated an Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI) of “not specified” for Xylitol. ADI, expressed in terms of body weight, is the amount of food additive that can be taken daily in the diet over a lifetime without risk. An ADI of “not specified” is the safest category in which JECFA can place a food additive.

The scientific Committee for Food of the European Union (EU) also determined xylitol “acceptable” for dietary uses. (Dr.Robert Crayon Research)

24. @GP

According to Genesis 1:29 – man’s original diet was meant to be herbivorous. The post antediluvian conditions of planet earth have been such that Noah’s generation had to eat flesh food – hence the diminution of man’s lifespan to meager 70 years if we are lucky.

Thankfully, there are some exceptions –

http://health.usnews.com/articles/health/baby-boomer-health/2009/02/20/10-health-habits-that-will-help-you-live-to-100.html?PageNr=2

http://lifetwo.com/production/node/20070107-longevity-seventh-day-adventists-life-expectancy

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/7250675.stm

25. David
    Re the presentation on Vitamins and Cofactors which you have converted to PDF

Although the presentation is a bit technical, the uninitiated reader ought to be able to note the diseases that are caused if the various vitamins or cofactors are not taken in in one’s diet.

Also they should be able to grasp which Vitamins and Cofactors ought to be ingested.

Using a product like Centrum with A to Z (vitamin A to Zinc) and Co Q supplements daily should go along way in covering the basics.

Eating vegetables will help too, but if enough is not taken supplements might be the way to go.

Vegetables will increase the fibre and fibre in the stool, prevent stasis in the large intestine and promote a declne in the risk for colon cancers.

Diabetics and obese migh profit from using chromium picolonate.

@ Terence M. Blackett

Xylitol is the alcohol of the five carbon xylose, which is produced in the body normally in the pentose phosphate pathway.

Despite having the same amount of calories as sucrose, it is not as well absorbed, which makes it useful in diabetics.

You have correctly touched on one of its great benefits when you state “bacterial salivary organisms do not feed, grow or ferment on Xylitol as they do on other simple sugars.”

The use of Xylitol in humans is indeed safe.

We ought to start extracting it from the bagasse that we throw away when we extract sucrose from cane.

I know that this suggestion was put to the Minster of Agriculture by a church in St George that he visited this year.

Genesis 1:29 does indicate that man’s original diet was herbivorous. I am not sure if the post diluvian conditions of planet earth caused the diminution of man’s lifespan to meager 70 years, or if this was part of the judgement on man that closed that dispensation.

26. @GP
    Genesis 1:29 does indicate that man’s original diet was herbivorous. I am not sure if the post diluvian conditions of planet earth caused the diminution of man’s lifespan to meager 70 years, or if this was part of the judgement on man that closed that dispensation…”

Then how does one explain the dramatic diminution in longevity and lifespan from 969 years in one case to sometimes barely 70 years in another?

Could a Holy & Righteous God allow men to lives for eons as they did before the Flood given that every imagination was ONLY* evil continually?

Since Noah, men have been digging their graves with their knives and forks…

Appetite is still the hurdle at which men fall….

27. @GP

As a side note – something which I have found helpful for many years is the use of 1200mg Lecithin softgel capsules to rid my body of excess fat….

My lovely daughter suggested it many years ago and I have used it successfully – she uses the crystals(granules) in her muesli and sprinkles it on her salads…

Really “Good stuff”!!!

Final thought, one of the things that I haven’t seen come up is the high incidences of “PROSTATE” cancers in Black Bajan men – the numbers are alarming to say the least and must surely be a cause for concern…

I welcome your thought!!!

28. I imagine that prostate disease will be discussed in some detail eventually

interesting use of lecithin

29. This attachment is presented by BU’s Medical Expert for the technically minded in the BU family to digest.

30. Slides 37 to 47 are especially germane to the this thread because they show the relationship of the use of trans fats to heart disease.

Certainly Bajans of yesteryear were not consuming so much trans fat, as we do today.

Trans fat is convenient for the food manufacturers because it allows foods to have a longer shelf life, while simultaneously causing us to have SHORTER LIVES!

31. @ Georgie Porgie

Thanks for your contribution. This information is very beneficial.

Pat.

32. Thanks Pat

One of the first slides in this ppt reveals that we should be eating albacore, sardines, mackerel, herring and cod (deep sea fish)… all standard Bajan fare when I was a lad growing up, when we were poor!

Now we eat fried and fatty meat that is well marbalized with fat.

When you read omega 3 fatty acids or short chan fatty acids or deep sea fish oils think SEVEN SEAS COD LIVER OIL! Didnt taste good, but we all had to take it as children.

Question is… Wha went wrong? We all know the answer.

And it is not “popping diet pills!’”

33. FROM MEDSCAPE

Waist-to-hip circumference ratio (WHR) may be a better predictor of all-cause mortality in older adults vs body mass index (BMI), according to the results of a study reported in the October issue of the Annals of Epidemiology.

“Basically, it isn’t BMI that matters in older adults — it’s waist size,” lead author Preethi Srikanthan, MD, from the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, said in a news release.

“Other studies have suggested that both waist size and BMI matter in young and middle-aged adults and that BMI may not be useful in older adults; this is one of the first studies to show that relative waist size does matter in older adults, even if BMI does not matter.”

The goal of this study was to evaluate the association between 3 measures of obesity and all-cause mortality in a group of healthy older adults, using data from the MacArthur Successful Aging Study, a longitudinal study of high-functioning men and women aged 70 to 79 years at baseline.

The association of BMI, waist circumference, and WHR with all-cause mortality risk was determined with use of proportional hazards regression to adjust for sex, race, age at baseline, and smoking status.

The investigators tested for obesity interactions with sex, race, and smoking status and performed stratified analyses based on the results of interaction testing.

In both unadjusted and adjusted analyses, there was no association between all-cause mortality and BMI or waist circumference, whereas all-cause mortality increased with WHR.

There was an interaction with sex, with a graded relationship between WHR and mortality in women (relative hazard, 1.28 per 0.1 increase in WHR; 95% confidence interval [CI], 1.05 – 1.55). In men, a threshold relationship was observed (relative hazard, 1.75 for WHR > 1.0 vs WHR ≤1.0; 95% CI, 1.06 – 2.91).

“WHR, rather than BMI or WC [waist circumference], appears to be the more appropriate yardstick for obesity-related risk stratification of high-functioning older adults, and possibly all older adults,” the study authors write.

Limitations of this study include possible underestimate of BMI because height and weight were self-reported. In addition, WHR, waist circumference, and BMI were based on single measurements.

“Given our use of self-reported weight and height data, these findings need to be confirmed in other cohorts of older adults,” the study authors conclude.

“Further research into the mechanisms underlying the increased health risks associated with high WHR is also needed, specifically to delineate the role of intra-abdominal visceral fat, relative to pelvic bone size, gluteal muscle, and gluteal fat, in older adults’ health risks.”

This study was partly supported by the National Institute on Aging. The study authors have disclosed no relevant financial relationships.

Ann Epidemiol. 2009;19:724-731. Abstract

Clinical Context

Obesity is linked to a shortened life span because of associated risks for insulin resistance, diabetes, myocardial infarction, stroke, and other morbidities. Even after age 60 years, the incidence of obesity continues to increase with age.

In older adults, the relationship between obesity and mortality is still unclear. BMI may not be an optimal measure of obesity in this age group.

If abdominal adipose tissue is the predominant underlying factor in the health risks associated with obesity, measures of absolute and relative waist size, such as waist circumference and WHR, may be more clinically meaningful.

Study Highlights

Data for this analysis came from the MacArthur Successful Aging Study, a longitudinal study of high-functioning men and women aged 70 to 79 years at baseline.

The goal of this analysis was to determine the association between BMI, waist circumference, and WHR and all-cause mortality in healthy, high-functioning older adults.

The average age of the participants was 74 years.
    Proportional hazards regression was used to adjust for sex, race, age at baseline, and smoking status.
    Stratified analyses were based on the results of testing for obesity interactions with sex, race, and smoking status.

All-cause mortality was not associated with BMI or waist circumference in either unadjusted or adjusted analyses.
    To decrease the potential for residual confounding by recent weight loss caused by a terminal condition, deaths in the first 2.5 years of follow-up (and first 7 years in a second sensitivity analysis) were excluded.

These exclusions had only minimal effects on the nature of the relationship of WHR to mortality.
    All-cause mortality rate increased with WHR, and there was an interaction with sex.

In women, there was a graded relationship between WHR and mortality, so that each 0.1 increase in WHR was associated with a 28% relative increase in mortality rate.
    In men, there was a threshold effect, with mortality rate 75% higher in men with a WHR of more than 1.0 (waist larger than hips) vs men with a WHR of 1.0 or less.

The investigators concluded that WHR vs BMI or waist circumference was a better measure for obesity-related risk stratification of high-functioning older adults, and possibly all older adults.

Limitations of the study include self-report of height and weight leading to possible underestimate of BMI, and only single measurements of WHR, waist circumference, and BMI.

Clinical Implications

In high-functioning older adults enrolled in the MacArthur Successful Aging Study, all-cause mortality was not associated with BMI or waist circumference in either unadjusted or adjusted analyses.

In contrast, all-cause mortality rate increased with WHR. In women, there was a graded relationship between WHR and mortality, whereas in men, there was a threshold effect, with mortality rate 75% higher in men with a WHR of more than 1.0 vs men with a WHR of 1.0 or less.

34. @ Georgie Porgie

I saved that presentation to my desktop.

Now I have a question, what should be the hip to waist ratio? For old women over 60?

35. Dont know Pat
    Was just sharing recent research that came intoday’s email LOL

36. Mr. GP states re cod liver oil ‘Didnt taste good, but we all had to take it as children’

Not True Sir! It ios one a de sweetest tasty tings bout de place.

Speak fuh yuhself. I used to tek it offa de spoon and mmmm, mmmm, good!

37. I hope you got the real point; i.e that cod liver oil is an omega 3 fatty acid , or a deep sea fish oil, that is good for folk’s health.

38. First ting. Get RID of the sweet drinks.

Them is killas.

Second ting.

Get rid of de deep-fried foods.

Them too is killas.

Third ting.

Exercise.

It good.

Fourt ting.

Drink enough (not too much) water. You want plenty, but not drowning in it.

Dats it from an ig’runt layman.

39. Yessie Mr.P.

I get de point. So, nows you on, can you please let de folks know bout de porridge oats.

Is as good as I think? Is it true it soaks up the precursor to cholesterol, de bile and eliminates?

Oats sweet fuh days.

And cheap! Shhhhh!!!

40. By the way, thanks fro ediccating people and pushing dis health ting.

I still ent sure, de Govment does onnerstand, that if people exercise and eat right, de health bill will come down?

SO, make exercise products cheaper, make the RIGHT vitamins cheaper and make gym etc more available.

This will help reduce health service costs over the medium and long term.

41. @Not True

I wish they had given you shark oil, like we had. I think very little of mine got down. On the other hand, the brothers and sisters used to roast the shark liver (in the yard mind you) and eat it like it was cake. Me, I could not stomach the smell. Never ate shark, never swallowed the oil. When my grandfather made shark oil, they used to eat the mud (the left over solids), yuck, yuck, yuck!

Yes, oats are good. I have oats one day, sardines the next and egg whites the third. Then I rotate. Sometimes for a change I would have peanut butter on 12 grain bread, or lowfat cheese with tomatoes.

You dont need exercise equipment to excercise. Just two legs – and good walking shoes like brogues.

42. I have never had problems wid cholesterol
    I have drinking oats for many years without even knowing it was a cholesterol preventor

good for me !
    good for the KISS !

43. I have never had problems wid cholesterol
    I have been drinking oats for many years without even knowing it was a cholesterol preventor

good for me !
    good for the KISS !

44. may I mention that at 27 I am as thin as a pin and that I dont like to see fat jibbling bout the place pon nobody—-it reminds me of the grease traps I help to clean . the grease looks a lot like cellulite and if you look at some people their bodies especially the thighs and butt look like grease in a grease trap-(cellulite)

45. @Pat

Egg whites?

You making bare sport. I thought that myth was debunked years ago. I cannot believe that you don’t know that egg white is full of cholesterol and that the real nutrition is in the yolk.

Well! Well! Well!

Let me ask a question. What turn into the chick, the yolk or the white? If you agree that the yolk turns into the chick, which one would have the most protein, minerals, etc? Most value? The white is a mere protection for the yolk and full of energy not protein.

My dear, if I were you I would eat the yolk and throw the whites to the pigs. It is a commonsense thing.

46. KISSMYA

you like to see flesh hanging and wrinkled when it gets old? You like to see bones protruding? LOL!

47. Pat,

Question, I am surprised the shark liver did not have a harsh taste, as the meat needs boiling (at last for me) before further cooking, to remove the strong ammonia taste.

Another question,

How did they ‘prepare the oil’, I do not know the process?

48. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“I cannot believe that you don’t know that egg white is full of cholesterol and that the real nutrition is in the yolk…. Let me ask a question. What turn into the chick, the yolk or the white? If you agree that the yolk turns into the chick, which one would have the most protein, minerals, etc? Most value? The white is a mere protection for the yolk and full of energy not protein.”
    ————-

The yolk is certainly the most nutritional part of the egg, but there are several misleading statements above.

– the egg white does not contain any cholesterol. All of the cholesterol in an egg is contained in its yolk. The yolk also contains virtually all of the saturated fat found in an egg.
    – neither the yolk nor the egg white turn into a chick. They both provide nutrition to the embryo (if the egg is fertilised), which ‘turns into’ a chick.
    – The egg white contains more protein than the yolk. Approximately 57% of an egg’s protein is in the egg white.
    – The yolk contains three times as much energy (or calories) than the egg white.

… thought I would correct those errors before Not Saved got here 🙂

49. @MME

You are not correct. The yolk is the nucleus of the life form and the white is merely food in the form of energy. Very high in energy too.

I think that we have been duped into believing many myths about the egg. It needs to be clarified. Now this is the part that gets me. I am sure that the contents of the egg are known to the scientists who do the research, yet misinformation is put out there on such a simple matter.

I am not sure what is the purpose of the conspiracy here but I think we should stop talking about conspiracy theorist and call them “Conspiracy Detectors”.

I have therefore made no errors. Actually, you have made the errors. I want to ask you a question. Which is you, the food you eat or your body; granted that what you eat also contains the materials which make up your body??

50. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“I am sure that the contents of the egg are known to the scientists who do the research, yet misinformation is put out there on such a simple matter. I am not sure what is the purpose of the conspiracy here…”
    ——–

ROTFL… always good for light weekend humour. For those who want to dig deeper into this chicken egg ‘conspiracy’, here are some useful resources:

– “The early embryology of the chick” By Bradley Merrill Patten

– “The atlas of chick development” By Ruth Bellairs and Mark Osmond

– “Color atlas of embryology” By Ulrich Drews – Pages 148 to 159… (the illustrations on pages 149 and 157 are particularly useful in showing the position of the embryonic disc and later embryo and amniotic cavity relative to the yolk and egg ‘white’)

As for the “you are what you eat” argument, I have no difficulty accepting that on a philosophical level… we are also the air we breathe and the thoughts we possess… but the yolk is no more a chick than I am the pudding & souse and banks beer I consumed yesterday.