Submitted by Yardroom

slavery_maryland_0327“The first step, advised those who wrote discourses on the management of slaves, was to establish and maintain strict discipline…they – slaves – must obey at all times, and under all circumstances, cheerfully and with alacrity, affirmed a Virginia slaveholder…

The second step was to implant in the bondsmen [slaves] themselves a consciousness of personal inferiority.ย  They had to know and keep their places, to feel the difference between master and slave, to understand that bondage [slavery] was their natural status.ย  They had to feel that African ancestry tainted them, that their colour was a badge of degradation.” [Plantation and Frontier, pp108-11, De Bow’s Review V11, 1849]

The third step…”We have to rely more and more on the power of fear…we are determined to continue masters, and to do so we have to draw the rein tighter and tighter day by day to be assured that we hold them in complete check”. [The Pecular Institution, Kenneth M. Stampp p146]

Some may think these words are the mouthings of a deranged “individual” they are not; these are the words and beliefs of those who enslaved people and sought to disseminate information to farmers and planters, through publications such as the Southern Cultivator and other material of the day read by slave owners.ย  This was a systemic way of controlling and changing behaviour by slave owners.ย  Note this is contemporaneous information, not opinion, plain simple unadorned “facts” of the times at the time.

As Kenneth M. Stampp wrote: ” A wise master did not take seriously the belief that Negroes were natural-born slaves.ย  He knew better.ย  He knew that Negroes freshly imported from Africa had to be broken in to bondage; that each succeeding generation had to be carefully trained.ย  This was no easy task, for the bondsman [slave] rarely submitted willingly.ย  Moreover, he rarely submitted completely.ย  In most cases there was no end to the need for control – at least not until old age reduced the slave to a condition of helplessness”. [The Peculiar Institution, p144]

The belief through this period implanted the notion that the blacker one was meant being closer to Africa and therefore less intelligent, this took years of social conditioning to achieve.ย  It was constantly reinforced by showing favour to those of lighter complexion by slave owners, until its acceptance by slaves.ย  A belief sanctioned and practised until a fewย  decades ago, when only those of a light complexion were seen in the offices of Bridgetown stores [Barbados] and other such places.

If you say what appertains to America is not germane to Barbados, I will contest that, because this behavioural conditioning was systematic to slavery and, if you are still not convinced.

“Col. Henry Drax, the second-wealthiest planter in Barbados, set down his philosophy regarding the punishment of slaves in a list to his head overseer…”The end punishment of slaves was either to “reclaim the malefactor or to terrify others from committing like fault” [Little England p79]ย ย  …”many of them [Negroes] being of the humor for avoiding punishment when threatened to hang themselves.ย  The propensity for slaves to commit suicide was related to the torture and mutilation they were sometimes subjected to.”

The situation these proud black people found themselves in justified in their minds, death by their own hand as a solution to their plight…but, even that was denied them.ย  The behavioural conditioning was so pervasive that parents sometimes loved one of their children more than another for no other reason than that they were fairer complexioned.ย  This abnormal behaviour by constant reinforcement over generations of the worthlessness of blackness, was considered normal.

The “crux” of the matter is, should we hate anyone because of the foregoing? NO! hate involves a waste of emotional energy.ย  What we should endeavour to do is help our brothers, there are many ways.ย  Be prudent where and with whom you spend your hard earned cash, encouragement in business, support their businesses, emotional support, it is with these activities andย  positive interactions help can be offered.ย  Do not expect reciprocity just remember you are dealing with hundreds of years of conditioning.

The easy phrase ” that is what black people are like” should be abandoned, left to those who used it first to denigrate a people, it should not be part of “our” vocabulary.

Of course there are those who will counter what I have written, not with facts but with the pious, I only know the “human race” not black or white, what a pity they are so late to the party, now that all the goodies have been distributed…very convenient…the slave masters never had the difficulty they now profess.ย  Some say why go on about it, it was in the past lets move on…true?ย  The Jews lost people between 1939-1945 in the “Holocaust” they never let you forget it…quite right too.ย  Blacks suffered “hundreds” of years of slavery knowing facts from the past the behavioural conditioning and the ways of overcoming existing problems should not be avoided.ย  If does not matter if some people are uncomfortable…they are not as uncomfortable as the slaves were, and hey! it is their history too.

Why mention this period at all, it does not matter some say, yet they will talk of stories that happened thousands of years ago.ย  A lion in a room covered with a black sheet is still a lion, the sheet does not remove its presence.

We must go back to the proud people we were, before it was necessary by force to break us to become bondsmen [slaves].ย  It is hereย  a few will ask “proud” what about killings in Africa, Rwanda, Zimbabwe and other such places…however Africa and Africans are not the the only ones to have killed in wars or internecine fighting…Bosnia springs to mind.ย  The 1st and 2nd World Wars saw the slaughter of millions in Europe not to mention the “Holocaust” but that is often forgotten in the race to denigrate Africa at the sight of blood there.

We must understand where we are, and why we are here and what was done in the process, it is by understanding the behavioural conditioning involved, we can regain what we have lost and not see “blackness” as a negative condition but a reason to help others of like kind.

67 responses to “Race And Slavery: The Behavioural Conditioning Of A People”

1. Nothing has changed –Nothing !

You know some if us believe the hype that black people were savages , Listen black people were people too with feelings , emotions and every human desire.

2. some if us (delete)

(add ) some of us

3. The sad thing is that today there are still lots of people around the world being subjected to the same conditions or worst! In 2009!

4. You really nailed it when you commented on the “Behavioral Conditioning” that has been practiced for centuries!! And you are correct when you state you should not hate in return…. just turn it around, YOU apply the ABC’s of Behavioural Conditioning on them to modify THEIR approach & response to you.
    “A” – the anticendet event
    (what happens first)
    “B” the Behaviour YOU display in response to “A”
    “C” the consequence
    … in order to change the “C”onsequence YOU must first try changing the “B”ehavioral response…. which in time changes the the interaction completely because your “B” will in time change the ABC’s in your favour…. YOU have the tools and control to change the interaction…. YOU can start mofiying THEIR behavior. It takes time and it takes practice to see change, but isn’t time to be the one in control??

5. This blog would make a white supremacist chortle with glee!! Where are these Black people that suffer these mental imbalances? All those white loving, black hating, massa genuflecting, ‘frighten’ brainwashed African people raise yuh hand!

6. We need to make some inquiries about what is happening to the Indians in Canada. Talk about conditioning. The Indians are dying out. Body bags being sent to reservations to collect dead Indians.

Apparently they have targeted the Indians so much that they have lost their body resistance and there are outbreaks of swine flu in the reservations that are killing the Indians and not their neighbours. This is a sad state of affairs. We could be next with all the GMOs and bad food they have been sending down here.

Diabetes is high among the Indians. Apparently something in the food they are being fed attacking the pancreas beyond repair.

It is also being said that they can’t get off the whiskey which the white man gave the Indian. They drink anything with alcohol on the label. I am told they drink hair products, skin care products, etc. I would have to see that but that is what is being said. Any Canadians can confirm? Is it just Canada or includes the USA too?

I am further being told that the Indians receive some kind of monthly payment from Government; not sure if that is reparations for taking the Indians land. I am told that an Indian could live their lives without having to seek work. All I am thinking is that the more Indians die, the less that reparations bill would be for the Government.

7. Yardbroom

The flaw(s) in your article is(are) that you use a handful of people and a few words they spoke to form an opinion on relations between two races, “black” and “white” which do not exist genetically and did not exist as social constructs until relatively lately.

Suppose 400 years from now the words of Negroman and ROK were used to characterise you and all “black” people.

So much for all your protestations that you do not “hate “white” people” (whoever they are) and your urgings to “banish these words”.

There was mixing of bloods in the same Virginia just as there was in Barbados which to me demonstrates that the separation you imply existed based on the words of two persons did not in reality exist.

There was the custom of freeing slaves from early and no doubt as the article by Bobby Morris demonstrates these freed men and women formed classes in the society which exist with us today.

Here is what a quick google turned up.

http://www.ncgenweb.us/perquimans/familyinfoslavemulattocolored.htm

Is this the whole truth?

Of course not.

Just as today different humans think different so too was the case 400 years ago.

The difference is not based on our race or colour, rather our humanity.

We are, all of us, both great and small …. and in between too!!

Generalisations don’t work with humans!!

Even particularising is prone to errors because one moment we can be base and the next, great.

That is just how we are …. and were …. and proably always will be.

8. @John

“The difference is not based on our race or colour, rather our humanity.”

Exactly where are you going with this? We already know that the use of race was a fiction to support the greed (humanity) of the white man. What are you saying by making this observation? That racism does not exist? What is the purpose of taking this route? Anything to be achieved?

9. @ John Sept 25, 2009 @ 8:20am
    You wrote quote:

“The flaw(s) in your article is (are) that you use a handful of people and a few words they spoke to form an opinion on relations between two races,”black” and “white” which do not exist genetically and did not exist as social constructs until relatively late”.

Where in my submission did I mention “GENETICS” or infer anything about it?

Please point me to the paragraph: over to you.

10. ROK..the indians are dieing out because they were given the Tamiflu Vaccine that they soon want everyone worldwide to take..i hope people wake up and not be led like the real sheep they are to slaughter.

11. Now, it’s been too long.
    Too long, too long in slavery.
    Free us god.
    Now, it’s been too long.
    Too long, too long in slavery.

But we were brought here,
    to do a very necessary job (job job job)
    Now that the work is over, we want to know when we will be returned.
    That’s what we ask.

Too long in slavery
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/too-long-in-slavery/

12. Yesterday’s news on Channel 4 on :-

The untold suffering of Kenya’s children

http://www.channel4.com/news/

13. @freewilly

I am not sure how close you are to Canada but I am being told that the Indians are particularly susceptible to anything. Some think it is because of the alcohol and others are throwing up their hands in the air thinking that it can’t be the alcohol, it has to be something else.

Still some others are saying that this is not the first time that health care has gone into the reservations on medical health expeditions to try to treat sickness and diseases on the reservations and like you they are saying that the Indians got pumped up with drugs that causing all kinds of sickness.

For example, it is said that diabetes is rampant among the Indians. It is also said that many Indians have sores on their skins and other signs of “unwellness.”

I am being asked (as a “leader”) to temper my contributions and await official reports. Therefore, I would qualify all that I have said as unconfirmed reports from people on the scene.

14. @ROK et al.

Just for clarity…

The demographic you refer to in your immediate above are more appropriately known as the “Aboriginal Peoples”, comprised (within Canada) of the First Nations, the Inuit and the Metis.

They are only referred to as “Indians” by those ignorant of the history. The indigenous people were erroneously labeled thusly because those who “found” the Americas thought they had reached India.

(As an aside, it was (IMHO) a truly great and just day when the Government of Canada officially apologized to the Aboriginal Peoples for the wrongs committed in the past (with all the legal exposure so associated).

15. Had to share this with the BU Family:

Last night in class a teacher asked if there was really segregation in Barbados between the whites and blacks. I think she was sorry afterwards for asking the question. A girl responded by talking about an incident that took place with her sister and her so called friends ….. It seems as if her sister is what we would call an ‘oreo cookie’ this is: a black person who thinks they are white. She said that her sister would always be in Harbour Lights and anywhere the whites are she would make sure that she was there! However, she was in for a rude awakening, it seems as if there was an event up Cattlewash and she and another oreo cookie decided to turn up man they were so sorry. The young white people whom she thought were her friends pretended as if they didn’t know her and to make it worse ……. they went into one of the little pools in the sea amongst some white teenagers and would you believe they got out of the sea! The girl said her sister and friends were close to tears!

Then another girl talked about her experience which was that whilst walking on Broad Street this white tourist was screaming at the top of his voice “LOOK THE MONKEYS” and she said what hurt her was that the taxi men were still asking him if he wanted a taxi! LOL (oh when will my people wake up!)

Those two stories troubled me!

16. @JC…

I would argue that perhaps the three girls from your story might have learnt very important lessons.

The first girl and her sister might have finally discovered at just because you think someone is your friend, they might not actually be.

The third girl from your story might have learnt that there is still amazing ignorance and stupidity in this world.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

17. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

Simply had to say this.
    @ John

You are an apologist idiot. one of those persons who would let somebody rub shite in their mouth and tell them it is peanut butter. they could probably convince you to say it tastes good too.

The examples given by Yardbroom were from Mainstream journals of the day. It can be safely said that labour intensive farming in the south and the Caribbean was effected through black slave labour. Indentured labour made up less than 2%. And the same way that a horsebreeding community would trade tips on raising horses or ranchers would share info on the best way to rear cattle, people shared tips on how to control your slaves. They were even professionals who specialized in controlling slaves on unruly plantations. These things are documented and irrefutable as being the norm of the day so to suggest that because 1 or 2 persons out of the thousands of slaveowners may not have agreed with the methodology it means Yardbroom is being unfairly general is either stupid or dishonest.

Yardbroom does not need anyone to defend him but your tendency to deprecate and make excuses anytime anyone has a legitimate race or societal complaint which may implicate a white person or a group of white persons is just sickening.
    I do not for one minute advocate that slavery or race is responsible for all our ills and I don’t believe that Yardbroom is doing that either. But the fact is that up to 20 to 30 years ago the “light skinned is better ethos ” used by slaveowners to divide and rule was still prevalent and prominent in Barbados.

Class differences, “moving on up and out” and “coming from nowhere” are still with us.

It is what it is. We have to deal with it. Understanding it helps to overcome it.

18. As a former Canadian now resdining in the USA… our First nations Peoples (natives, indians) did indeed receive appologies for past atroscities committed against them. There was financial restitution made from Government… however most importantly … our Fist Nations People are now self-governing, in most cases they maintain their own Schools, Hospitals, Police Forces, they have created self sustaining income through development on their lands… shopping centers, casino’s….and although they are self governing… they can and often do chose to leave their land and integrate in Canada as a whole. First Nations Historical Museums are attended by persons from all over the world and well respected, several First Nations people hold high positions in the Canadian Provincial and Federal Goevernment. There are numerouus radio & television stations that are soley owned & operated by First Nations persons… they are NOT forced to remain on Reservations, nor are they targeted by Swine Flu epidemics or any other form of race-detrimation…. they are human beings … they are Canadians… they are a contributing part of (and a valued part of) Canada as a whole. Of course it wasn’t always this way… and of course there are pockets of Fisrt Nations persons that suffer as in any race… more through economic reasons than anything else. The statistics related to rise of any illness on First Nations land is indicative of their natural and understandable need to return to their home community .. their family in a time if need, to recover… to be surrounded by their families and traditions. The diseases are caught in the major cities… the violance is in the major cities… it is a healing path to return to their beliefs & culture. First Nations person can go to any school, College or University free of charge. Canada is not perfect and it has been a long time coming for our First Nations persons to regain the dignity and pride that had once been beaten down on them through years of racism and whites trying to convert them to meet “their needs”… but it IS happening. Self Governement was a major step to taking their rightful place in the world.

19. Mr. ROK, as always, has many opinions. He has opinions about child prostitution and the relative nourishment merits of sperm from black men. He also has, for example, this opinion:

โ€œApparently they have targeted the Indians so much that they have lost their body resistanceโ€.

Who is the first โ€œtheyโ€, Mr. ROK?

May you always be well.

20. (I copied his speech for this comment)

Prime Minister Kevin Rudd – Australia

Muslims who want to live under Islamic Sharia law were told on Wednesday to get out of Australia , as the government targeted radicals in a bid to head off potential terror attacks.

Separately, Howard angered some Australian Muslims on Wednesday by saying he supported spy agencies monitoring the nation’s mosques.
    Quote: ‘IMMIGRANTS, NOT AUSTRALIANS, MUST ADAPT. Take It Or Leave It. I am tired of this nation worrying about whether we are offending some individual or their culture. Since the terrorist attacks on Bali , we have experienced a surge in patriotism by the majority of Australians’.

‘This culture has been developed over two centuries of struggles, trials and victories by millions of men and women who have sought freedom’. ‘We speak mainly ENGLISH, not Spanish, Lebanese, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, or any other language. Therefore, if you wish to become part of our society . Learn the language!’

‘Most Australians believe in God. This is not some Christian, right wing, political push, but a fact, because Christian men and women, on Christian principles, founded this nation, and this is clearly documented. It is certainly appropriate to display it on the walls of our schools. If God offends you, then I suggest you consider another part of the world as your new home, because God is part of our culture.’

‘We will accept your beliefs, and will not question why. All we ask is that you accept ours, and live in harmony and peaceful enjoyment with us.’

‘This is OUR COUNTRY, OUR LAND, and OUR LIFESTYLE, and we will allow you every opportunity to enjoy all this. But once you are done complaining, whining, and griping about Our Flag, Our Pledge, Our Christian beliefs, or Our Way of Life, I highly encourage you take advantage of one other great Australian freedom,

‘THE RIGHT TO LEAVE’.’

‘If you aren’t happy here then LEAVE. We didn’t force you to come here. You asked to be here. So accept the country YOU accepted..’

21. australian dogs should be banned from
    britain

22. John,

you just don’t get it. The sins of the father is on the sons or the sins committed against the father is on the sons. That my great, great, great, great, great grandfather was kept in ignorance and fear means that today I am in ignorance and fear. Behaviour like physiological conditions are obviously passed onto offspring. So effective were the efforts of plantation owners decades ago that whenever I meet a white man today I must resist the urge to say “How you massa, you be good today? Anyting Golly can do fuh yuh?”

JC

you clearly are proof of Yardbroom’s implied thesis. By the way, did you send your bank details to Spain after receiving notice that you had won $619,595 in an International Lottery?

23. On a related matter:

24. @Nancy

“The diseases are caught in the major citiesโ€ฆ the violance is in the major citiesโ€ฆ”

Not sure what you are saying here. Any proof? More important, why would a disease caught in the cities cause an epidemic on reservations? There are no medical services there?

Here is one apology uploaded to youtube in 2008. How much different is it for the Original peoples today; one year later?

25. See Chief Phil Fontaine a few months before that apology:

26. The Original Peoples quoted Martin Luther King:

27. If you are not watching Larry King Live now, it is your loss…
    President of Iran Ahmadinejad making Larry King and the whole USA look like incompetents…

28. ROK..watch this video..and form your own opinion of what you believe.

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ez4zVwxCCtc&hl=en&fs=1&]

29. Anonymous // September 25, 2009 at 6:19 PM

John,

you just donโ€™t get it. The sins of the father is on the sons or the sins committed against the father is on the sons. That my great, great, great, great, great grandfather was kept in ignorance and fear means that today I am in ignorance and fear

You realise of course that if you go back that many greats, include your grandfather and father then you are looking at 7 generations?

You, like every one of us had 2 raised to the power 7 ancestors back then, half of them male.

All of us have/had

2 grandfathers,
    4 great grandfathers,
    8 great great grandfathers,
    16 great great great grandfathers,
    32 great great great great grandfathers
    64 great great great great great grandfathers.

It follows you had 64 great great great great great grandfathers.

My bet is you haven’t got a clue who many of those 64 persons were …… I have been at it for 15 plus years and I don’t know mine and I am yet to meet anyone engaged in genealogical research who knows theirs.

Who is to say that some of those 64 great great great great great grandfathers were not slave owners,

….. besides the one you claim to have been a slave?

Then, by your logic, you would have alot to answer for

….. maybe as may as 63 times.

However, this interpretation of the Holy Bible may calm your fears.

http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/TasteAndSee/ByDate/2009/3664_How_God_Visits_Sins_on_the_Third_and_Fourth_Generation/

…. or you could claim that your great grandfathers were the last to have been held accountable as he was four generations down.

30. Bad Man Saying Nuttin // September 25, 2009 at 3:47 PM

Simply had to say this.
    @ John

It is what it is. We have to deal with it. Understanding it helps to overcome it

You just have to ask the other half …. ie the female half, how it is done.

…… then, follow their sage advice.

If you are too proud to ask or can’t verbalise it, just watch.

Besides being a rather pleasent past time, ie watching, it is also an education in life skills,

……. but you need to be perceptive and it helps if you know a little history.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/03/uk_suffragettes_under_surveillance/html/1.stm

31. @John

You are entitled to your view but however you spin it there is the current reality that as world citizens we have to face. The legacy of slavery continues to leave a bitter after-taste. To overcome the tensions which only idiots would deny exist we have to face up to the issue i.e engage with a view to healing the psyche of the Black man. It will not happen because of denial, we must be honest and treat with the psychological wounds.

32. AGAIN
    @ John Sept 25, 2009 at 8:20 am
    Quote: “Yardbroom”

“The flaw (s) in your article is (are) that you use a handful of people and a few words they spoke to form an opinion on relations between two races, “black” and “white” which do not exist genetically and did not exist as social constructs until relatively late”…

You addressed your remarks to “me” Yardbroom. Where in my submission did I mention “GENETICS” or infer anything about it.

Please direct me to the paragraph.
    Your habit of writing without foundation or substantive proof to denigrate is being exposed..be “man” enough to stand up.

33. Jah Shaka – Live Dancehall Session
    http://ambassada.podOmatic.com/player/web/2007-02-13T11_52_40-08_00

run but them just can’t hide..
    >===> 4:00 mins Icho Candy
    slavery we are living in slavery
    we know what we are about
    we know we are strong
    we know where we are heading to

34. John

my post went right over your head!!!

35. David // September 26, 2009 at 12:23 AM

You are entitled to your view but however you spin it there is the current reality that as world citizens we have to face. The legacy of slavery continues to leave a bitter after-taste. To overcome the tensions which only idiots would deny exist we have to face up to the issue i.e engage with a view to healing the psyche of the Black man. It will not happen because of denial, we must be honest and treat with the psychological wounds.

I am not denying anything, just showing there is something called acceptance of things over which we have no control and showing that others have done it and it works.

The first post last night attempted to demonstrate this to Anonymous.

The second post was meant to show how people in the past have dealt with unjust situations.

ROK pointed out that the Civil Rights movement used Civil Disobedience as a way of overcoming an unjust situation and that this was taken from the experiences of Mahatma Ghandi.

However, the Mahatma visited England in 1906 and took many of the principles from the Suffragette movement.

He was not too proud or too big to learn.

They were applied in South Africa first, not India, to help his countrymen who had gone there.

http://www.fredsakademiet.dk/library/satyagraha.pdf

Google Mahatma Ghandi Suffragettes for more reading.

In fact the term Satyagraha was coined there by Indians.

The link attempts to explain how other people proceeded when acceptance of an unjust situation was not possible,

… but be warned, the principles are powerful and can get you in bare trouble,

…. and you need to really be able to define the unjust situation and the specific laws you want to protest

….. and you need to prepare yourself inside for the ensuing struggle which will not be of this world.

Rosa Parks is usually credited as being the spark that started the Civil Rights movement ….. and she was a woman.

I am not sure that healing the psyche of the “Black” man is something that can be accomplished from the outside ….. it has to come from within

…. and I repeat again, study the experience of women over time and learn.

There is no need to reinvent the wheel.

36. Yardbroom

You are of course correct, you did not use the term Genetics in your article.

I used the term to show that there really is no basis for trying to separate humans into “Black” and “White”.

37. Anonymous // September 26, 2009 at 8:17 AM

John

my post went right over your head!!!

I am sorry you feel this way.

38. @freewilly

That is what is called producing news.

39. @ John Sept 26, 2009 at 9:10 am

Quote: “Yardbroom

You are of course correct, you did not use the term Genetics in your article.

I used the term to show that there really is no basis for trying to separate humans into Black and White”.

John my submission was about slavery specific to whites enslaving blacks, the methods used and the deliberate conditioning – repeatedly enforced – to ensure denigration of Black people.

Now to your charge against me. Quote: …”that you use a handful of people and a few words they spoke to form an opinion on relations between two races,”black” and “white”…Unquote.

I will now explain to you what relations were “really” like at the time.

“Even with assurances that conversion would not free their slaves, Barbadian planters remained opposed to the christianization of blacks. Their continued resistance was rooted in a growing racialist conviction that Negroes constituted a nonhuman form of life.

“Any Minister who dared to baptize them”, a pious woman opined,

“might as well baptize a puppy”
    [Godwin, The Negroe’s Advocate.pp39-39]

Negroes another declared: “were beasts” and had no more souls than beasts”. [Ibid.,p39]

The idea that blacks were beasts without redeemable souls was part of a larger, but not clearly delineated, belief system that categorized them as a suborder of man – “ape-man” was Henry Whistler’s term”.
    [Henry Whistler’s Journal of The West Indian Expedition, C H. Firth ( London: Longmans, Green 1900) p146

You see John the thinking of the day was not “only” a matter of “White” Or “Black,” some believed we were no better than ANIMALS.

You can try your nonsense with others but not with me, I will always give “facts”.

40. Yardbroom

…. and yet “Bondsmen and Bishops by Bennett” deals with Christopher Codrington’s bequest of 1710 leaving two plantations in St. John to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel.

On page 1 it states “Codrington had cherished the ambition of converting the West Indian slaves to Christianity, but had doubted that “the secular clergy, who will be sure of their wine before they set about their talk” would lead themselves to the mission. The work called for regular clergy, apostolocal men …. able to take much pains for little reward.” It was in the hope of providing for such men of monastic vows that Codrington had devised his estates to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel”

Also, RB6/5/485 in the archives for the detail of the will. Haven’t actually read it just providing a reference.

Codrington was a Barbadian Planter therefore Godwin’s statement, “Barbadian planters remained opposed to the christianization of blacks” can only mislead as it is not true of all Barbadian Planters.

I think it lacks balance and ignores completely at least one uncontrovertible fact.

…. and then there were the Quakers, also Barbadian planters, more facts to further compound the flaw in the statement!!

That’s why I think sometimes it is worth going to the source data on which a historian bases a generalisation.

… yes, some peple of the day did think of slaves as no better than animals, and there is a written record to prove it,

…… I can remember seeing an even more horrible characterisation than the one you quoted as an example.

…. but, Yardbroom, it is incorrect to characterise it as “the thinking of the day ” ….. this statement is comletely lacking in balance and does not reflect actual facts.

41. @ John

I made a mistake slavery never happened, white people never enslaved black people in Barbados and barbaric acts were never committed against slaves using race and supposed inferiority as justification for their evil deeds.

It is a figment of my imagination, sorry John it “never” happened.

As a result there is “nothing” further to discuss with you.

42. @John

“yes, some peple of the day did think of slaves as no better than animals, and there is a written record to prove it…”

Not some people John, nearly the entire society and to say that you should give balance to a minority view would be to disproportionately allocate credence to the view that those who though otherwise made any difference to the predominant view.

Today we would have to say that Barbados is a Christian society. Would the existence of Muslims and atheists in the society make the statement incorrect.

You are trying to give the impression that the society was divided on the matter when it was not. Not even the slaves at that time believed they were equal to white men.

43. @John

I have heard the word apologist being used to describe how people defend and seek to defend by twisting and distorting for their own purposes, but you, I am afraid, are the first true living epitome of an apologist I have read.

44. Re Nancy at 5.59 p.m. yesterday.

The speech you quote has been doing ‘the rounds’ for years and unfortunaely is a hoax. I have received it many times and quoting other countries other than Australia – namely Canada and the USA. In fact some of it is a mixture from speeches made by Politicians in those countries but the majority of the text is hype. However, like many, I feel it would be fantastic if SOME Politician did actually say something similar, as it is what most of us believe. If only people realised when they threaten and criticise our countries (I’m in the UK) that they WOULD NOT be allowed that freedom of speech in their own country or the country of their ancestors.

45. Rudd is right. You want to live in a country then live by their rules. After all, that is exactly what we have just told Caricom nationals, including Guyanese.

46. Slavery did exist and it was terrible – and I live in Bristol in the UK and so this subject has a very high profile here. However, in saying that, when speaking with black Barbadians when on your wonderful island (of both the professional and manual walks of life), the general concensus of opinion is that they feel that they have a better life now in Barbados than their corresponding ‘relatives’ are having in Africa and, without exception, are glad that their ancestors were (albeit reluctantly) able to start the path that leads to the way and standard of life they enjoy today. They also say that they feel more affinity with the UK than they ever have, or would have, for Africa.
    Research has also made it quite clear that as far as Africa is concerned, most black slaves were captured by their OWN people and sold to the British Slave Merchants. They were not always torn from their homes by white British sailors but were actually delivered to the ships ‘personally’.
    The UK and Bristol in particular have officially apologised for these actions of the past (which I think is pretty ridiculous really as it doesn’t change a thing). Unfortunate and inhumane actions have happened in the past and continue to happen now and all we can try to do as individuals is to not be a part of it and to do what we can to change it.