Submitted by Looking Glass
gdpchart.jpg
Click to read 6 month review 2009

Given the plethora of utterances flooding the various media, if our survival depends on the understanding of the socio-economic dynamics of the country then we are in deep trouble. It would appear that we understand little about the country and less about how the real world spins. We appear to be lacking in ideas, have a blurred image of reality and terribly short on philosophical contemplation. Here Cave Hill comes into view.

The influx of 40,000 plus foreign residents, mainly European, radically alters the socio-economic dynamics but we don’t even have an up-to-date manpower study, which means a) that analyses based on the old study will likely be way off the mark, b) social science and marketing grads will know little about the country in which they will likely work.

I raised this issue on a couple of occasions in the past and was told that it is a “teaching institution.” True but even private institutions engage in ongoing research. Except for a handful of ISER papers there is a woeful absence of even descriptive data. And much of our history appears to focus around race and colonialism. Chances are few know anything about Drax Hall, Locust Hall, Fortesque, Holborn, Holland Bay or Jew Street. It says a lot when Cricket Management takes precedence over the socio-economic and psychological dynamics of the country. Would the other cricketing nations send personnel to us for training? The money would have been better spent on a manpower study and books for the library.

The current Central Bank Governor is reported to have said that “the Island’s financial system and overall economy were not in crisis…and even though 2009 will be a challenging year the system here had certain ‘buffers’ to safeguard the island’s economic fortunes.” This after the Standard and Poor down-grade. I suspect the above was in support of an earlier statement to the effect that apart from tourism and construction which were in decline, the rest of the economy would weather the storm. I accept that the major foreign owned commercial banks are liquid and not in crisis. The Canadian ones have already been or will be stimulated when necessary and can so afford the luxury of restricting credit. But do the banks alone constitute the ‘Island’s financial system?” If not then we need to identify the other system components. The ‘buffers,’ whatever they are, also need to be explained. If external funding (loans) is one of the safeguarding buffers then the pit will be deeper. There are no barley loaves. The carefully crafted IMF and other reports and projections suggest that the buffers are at best ineffective and a less than optimistic outlook.

The goodly Lady is correct in suggesting that the word crisis “is probably not appropriate to the Barbados landscape at this time.” Ongoing or Deepening crisis would have been much more appropriate. All told one should not be too hard on the Lady whose hands, like those of the gentleman currently in the hot seat are tied.

The same cannot be said for one Courtney Blackman who had the temerity to announce that “the effect of the crash should be minimal in Barbados.” (Nation 3/5/09). And extreme case of utter folly, to put it mildly, passing for wisdom, intellect, knowledge and integrity. It is incredible that a supposedly eminent economist and former Central Bank Governor should even venture to make such a statement. Among other things it says a lot about the competence and effectiveness of the last regime. An economist with an open, inquiring mind would have caught on to the fact that a) we were in crisis before 2007, b) we have precious little with which to foster economic growth, revenue generation and to facilitate debt service, c) the impact of the global financial crisis would be severe, and would continue long after the global recession ends.

He also added that Barbados “had never completely embraced the model that posited that the market should dictate.” Well, do we or did we ever have a choice? Has any country in the embrace of the IMF a choice? Remember Adam Smith’s “invisible hand and the competitive market setting the “natural price.” Economic liberalism (free market capitalism) may not support a market economy without supporting free trade, but it demands that the market should dictate. The Good Book warned against listening to those prophets who “speak a vision of their own heart.”

The Central Bank Report comes with limited data and in a way reminds one of “convenient accounting.” It gives the impression that the economy is not in very deep trouble. There is no mention of the debt or deficit both of which will grow; and almost nothing about the saving rate, employment, revenue generation or the gross domestic product. There is no mention of deficit spending, much of which has been and will be on non-revenue generating projects. To raise money government must sell bonds, raise taxes, or borrow more.

Here it should be noted that our foreign reserves deemed ‘sufficiently adequate” today will be inadequate tomorrow. The old practice borrowing to shore up reserves, spending the money on largely non- revenue generating projects and borrowing again suggests non-sustainability and insufficiency, which is underscored by the need to borrow yet another $80m or so. The borrowed money is neither a gift nor a donation. It has to be repaid and comes with strings attached (obligatory conditions). Ditto for financial support from the IMF and or the World Bank. For one thing allocations will be curtailed to those countries that “borrow at non-concessional terms from commercial or new sovereign lenders.” Note too that President Obama at the Caribbean Summit never really got beyond offering assistance to fight the drug trade.

That retail price inflation has subsided due to falling oil and commodity prices tells us nothing about consumer prices period. People everywhere are spending less but, sales notwithstanding, retail food prices are on the rise and supermarket chains are reporting good profits. Are we to understand that consumer prices have or are falling? Huge markets are normally the beneficiaries of falling oil and commodity prices. Oil prices will rise if only because demand will exceed supply, commodity prices will rise and so to retail price inflation on the island. Local demand is too minimal to affect import prices.

All told the Report is on the vague side and unlikely to generate public confidence. Reading between the lines it suggests a protracted period of privation The IMF projected the volume of goods and services trade to fall by 12.0 % in 2009 in spite of the buoyant stock and currency markets, and the world trade picture remains bleak of 2010. This suggests that prosperity for us is somewhere in the distant future. With credit restricted and no barley loaves in sight the debt will rise and people may have to settle for a pay-cut just to survive.

1. What a profound blog!

David, if this is from LIB I hereby forgive him all his many sins.

It is almost funny how our officials persist is misleading us under the guise that it is better not to cause us to panic.

Bush tea thinks that it is far better to face reality and prepare seriously for the storm.

Reports like the central bank report , (like most Company reports) are nothing but public relations releases that are sanitized and tuned to present whatever message the various publics are intended to digest…

This is why Enron’s demise was not predictable from it’s ‘annual reports’; why Madoff could steal 64 billion dollars; Why Bush Tea does not want minority shares in any public company; and why we will awake one morning soon to the reality of our economic storm.

As to any serious analysis from Cave Hill, Bush Tea’s analysis of that scam is well documented on BU….

2. @BT

Forgot to insert the credit.

Sorry Looking Glass!

3. Noted David!
    Expected from looking glass.

Somehow I felt confident that the Bushman would not need to extend any forgiveness….This is many levels above LIB.

4. A reminder we have Lindsay Holder, Harry Husbands who was fired from the BEC and Walcott the BEC boss et all on the talk show tomorrow to talk about the economy and these companies who dumping employees after making mega-profits etc.

5. Looking Glass wrote “The influx of 40,000 plus foreign residents, mainly European, radically alters the socio-economic dynamics but we don’t even have an up-to-date manpower study”

My question: Since we do not have an up to date manpower study, where did you get the numbers to support your statement “The influx of 40,000 plus foreign residents, mainly European”

I don’t see those 40,000 mainly Europeans as I walk about the place.

And what is a European anyhow?

If my sister’s son who was born and raised in the U.K. moves to Barbados to work is he a European? a returning national? or a Bajan by descent?

6. Presumably those are rhetorical questions raised by J.
    Where do you walk? …. maybe you should try driving through many of the well-to-do areas and find out who lives there….

In my area alone there are enough ‘foreign residents, including ‘Europeans’ (…Europeans as in people who came here from Europe???) that would make Looking Glass’s estimation conservative if extrapolated across the Island.

…what is the surprise? Ex-PM O$A publicly declared his intent of making Barbados ‘world class’ by ignoring ordinary Bajans and encouraging outsiders who fit his bill to come here….

No data exists, because he had people like you convinced that unless someone actually counted these newcomers for you there is no problem….

As Looking Glass says, the FACT is that this has changed the character of Barbados and we need to UNDERSTAND this reality if we are to successfully chart a path into a difficult future.

…as to your sister’s son…. He is all of the above. But he is definitely NOT the traditional Bajan that grew up in Bank Hall….

7. Barbadians are very educated and usually need facts before they act. The fact we live in a 2×3 country without an efficient immigration structure (see Auditor General Report) mean nothing. The fact Barbados is a magnet economy means nothing. The fact Minister McClean indicated at a high level we have had more people visiting Barbados than leaving for a few years mean nothing. We wait until the crime and hell starts to break lose before we act. We allow the politicians to unravel their experiment and mash up Barbados. Why are we so passive a people ALL the time?

8. To do proper research you need to get up- to-date data.

The Statistical Department should be given resources and lots of independence to collect and disseminate social and economic data that could be used by researchers.

Under the existing system the information that is given to the public by the Central Bank and the Statistical Department is most likely scrutinized by the political bosses before being released for public consumption.

My guess is that “looking glass” is Clyde Mascoll. He has always felt that no one was in his class. Even the others who also got first class honours and went on to get doctorates from good universities

9. Between you and Bush Tea you are prepared to label a cadre of Barbadian professionals as irrelevant? Could it be?

10. David you ask why Bajans are so passive. Could it be because of the British influence pre 1966 i.e. ‘stiff upper lip syndrome’? If Barbados had a stronger Spanish or maybe French influence pehaps things would be different?

11. Bush Tea wrote on August 16 at 12:05 A.M. “In my area alone there are enough ‘foreign residents, including ‘Europeans…that would make Looking Glass’s estimation conservative IF extrapolated across the Island.”

Dear Bush Tea:

A good friend told me once “IF your grandmother had balls she would be your grandfather, but she didn’t and she wasn’t.”

IF is a big, big, big, word.

In fact your upper class neighborhood is NOT extrapolated across the island.

No visible Europeans live in my neighborhood of several hundred families, and there is only one person of traditional European appearance who lives in the rural village in which I was born and raised, and yes I know this for sure because in spend many hours in my village every week.

Maybe you should get out of your car and walk about Barbados a bit and maybe you should catch the bus sometimes. While walking and traveling by bus you may learn much more about Barbados than you can while driving in a private car.

And a question for you, if my sister’s European born son (or daughter) spent many years at Grace Hill school, or St. Margaret’s School on Mess House School does that make him traditional Bajan enough for you?

12. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY IS -”*DOOMED*”

13. “*Adviser to the President*” // August 16, 2009 at 11:37 AM

THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY IS -”*DOOMED*”

…. cometh the hour, cometh the man/men …. and/or woman/women.

If people wake up and decide to make our country work, both the BLP and DLP are doomed …… and funny thing ….. Barbados may just prosper.

The sooner the better!!

14. David wrote “We wait until the crime and hell starts to break lose before we act.”

Dear David:

Do you agree or disagree with Bus Tea and Looking Glass?

Bush Tea and Looking Glass indicate that the recent migrants are largely upper class Europeans.

You indicate that the recent migrants will cause”the crime [to rise] and hell…to break lose ”

Do you have any evidence that upper class Europeans at home or abroad are highly likely to commit crimes? Do you have any evidence that European migrants to Barbados are over represented in Barbados’ crime statistics?

J is curious and looks forward to a response from David, Bush Tea or Looking Glass.

15. Looking Glass wrote “Given the plethora of utterances flooding the various media, if our survival depends on the understanding of the socio-economic dynamics of the country then we are in deep trouble:

Cheeze-on-bread. I studied English at university and I have no idea what that sentence means. Could you please translate that sentence into standard Bajan or standard English?

I went to what used to be called a 2nd grade secondary school, and my 3rd form English teacher (who is still alive, so I won’t call her name, but I salute her) would have killed me if I had written a sentence like Looking Glass’

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bush Tea,
    I confirm that I did not author this piece, but will ponder why I would have possibly done that given that I have my own blogs. Thanks too for the accolade and then the quick smack down. I almost fell badly.

I will add some points I posted on BFP yesterday:
    What has happened with Ocean Park strengthens one of my theses about what Barbados may face after the current world recession.

1. The recession will see the death of several important pillars of the tourism sector: Adrian Loveridge has confirmed what has happened to some very prominent restaurants and hotels.
    2. The end of the recession will not see the rebirth of these now dead pillars, and may not see the emergence of any significant new pillars–not least because the recovery will be slow and fragile.
    3. That loss may be a ‘dead weight’, ie never removed, and has serious negative implications for job creation and income generation in Barbados.
    4. The challenge is to fill the hole left by those dead pillars and I do see anything that is coming along that looks remotely likely to go far in filling the hole.
    I have made the point 2-4 before in public.

I have made points on the debt issues here and in the regular press. I wont repeat them here.

I have nothing much else to add to the original piece, other than repeating what I have asked before about why local economists seem to have nothing to say or write about the local economy (present panel on BT gives a bit of relief there).

I will be looking at entrepreneurship and helping it (I hope to have the post done by tomorrow latest), based on some conversations this weekend with BLACK Bajan entrepreneurs and a black non national who is actively promoting young BLACK Bajan entrepreneurs.

If Looking Glass is indeed Clyde, then I may want to ask for at least an equal pegging. If we go head-to-head, I will bow to his better hands-on policy making, but hope to put up a good show with my breath of knowledge of policy making. It could be a close call.

17. About two years ago, the BBC in a series about British migrants around the world stated that Barbados had the highest number of British citizens in the Caribbean. The number of British citizens residing in Barbados was of the order of 21,000 (yes thousand). However there was no indication as to the percentage of these that are of Barbadian descent.

18. J,
    ..I presume that you are a woman, and Bush Tea does NOT argue with women….but cud dear, you telling me that you do not get Looking Glass’s point unless you get an exact count of what foreign residents are here?

J, all LG is saying is that there is a CHANGE in the dynamic which is not being taken into consideration in planning our future.

If you live in a village you expect to find Europeans round there in chattel houses? wah hardly any Guyanese live in my neighborhood – so does that mean that no Guyanese are here?

The issue here is not whether foreign resident should be here or not, but rather that we must study carefully how this changes the social dynamic…. what problem you have with that?

Notwithstanding any undue preoccupation with grammar, If you really do not understand that statement made by LG, I am not surprised that you fail to appreciate the problem outlined…

…read the piece again and see if you are not misreading the issue….

19. LIB
    “I confirm that I did not author this piece, but will ponder why I would have possibly done that given that I have my own blogs.”
    David already confirmed the author of the Blog.
    Obviously Bush Tea was on your case as usual – making the point that you COULD NOT have been the author (else I would have been forced to do the unthinkable – forgive you for your rudeness to Bajans)

…as to why you would author such an article when you have your own blog -is that not obvious?
    …same reason you always posting here – to get a real audience.

Man listen carefully;

Until I see you taking serious steps to help your own kith and kin in Jamaica to overcome their challenges, Bush Tea will have no confidence in you or anything that you do or say.
    You are a fraud!

…imagine my own son went way to work with the IMF all over the world. He comes back claiming to be a big expert on everything.
    My household suffering badly, the very IMF at my doorsteps – and this SOB gone at the neighbors down the road hanging around unwanted by their back door and dissing his own flesh and blood…..
    …a double loser…

20. All of this socio/economic analysis is all well and good, IF that was the real problem, when in truth and in fact, these indicators are only the ‘symptoms’ of a far deeper crisis; as the very fabric of any society is based on its ‘Spiritual’ and Moral integrity!

That Good Book, made mention of, God’s Word, tells us exactly what is going on, and, COMING DOWN on all Nations!!! Read Matthew 24 carefully, for the ‘Season’ is at hand!

21. livinginbarbados // August 16, 2009 at 12:48 PM

I will be looking at entrepreneurship and helping it (I hope to have the post done by tomorrow latest), based on some conversations this weekend with BLACK Bajan entrepreneurs and a black non national who is actively promoting young BLACK Bajan entrepreneurs.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Here we go again on the Black/White discussion/divide.

Why not just try Bajan Entreneurs, or just stick with Entrepreneurship!!

One of the reasons why the recent discussion on race attracted 640 comments is because Black and White are terms that can be used when discussing:

Skin Colour

Race

Economics and business.

to name just a few areas.

It is possible for a person to start out in one area and end up straying into various others and never state any facts.

Confusion results.

I recently came across a book titled “How the Irish became White”.

I was intrigued so checked it out on Amazon.

The synopsis suggests that black and white can mean entirely different things when you start talking about them in the US ……. depends on the time period and experience and everywhere has a slightly different experience.

This adds another dimension which carries the discussion off in other directions.

I found the title made good sense although it appeared at first glance to be non-sense, I mean, how on earth could the Irish be Black?!!

Try to use the term Barbadian and see how it works for a while or you may end up with Bloggers discussing Black/White and saying little on Entrepreneurship.

……. kind of like I just said very little on the economy or the Central Bank Report!!!

I’ll try and remedy that now!!

I agree that Entrpreneurship is vital.

But an Entrepreneur’s product is soon superceded.

What needs to be addressed is the finite product/service lifecycle and how to overcome it by keeping new products and services coming.

Nothing lasts for ever in the dog eat dog world of business.

This year’s good product is next year’s bummer.

Protection doesn’t help.

Where do the new ones good/bad come from …… and keep coming from?

Is Ocean Park a victim of finite/short product lifecycle?

Sugar worked for 300 plus years. It had its ups and downs, but it worked.

It did so because like most agriculture the products are “renewable”.

Tourism and land development has already maxed out the resources of the island.

… and yet that can’t be as I see there is a 1000 unit housing development at Coverly which according to the news last night is being “fine tuned”.

…. not too far from Ocean Park either!!

A Joint Venture between Government and the Private Sector so the news says.

An entrepreneur has probably invested in a factory producing houses and needs a leg up!!

Lets see, 1000 households at 100 gallons per person with four to five people per household …… getting up to half a million gallons of water per day.

When O$A rezoned Norwoods the design yield for the well projected for that area would have been about half a million gallons per day, probably less, trifling almost, ….. but if you don’t got it …. you don’t got it.

The coarse reality of the maximisation of the allocation of available water means that unless it makes economic sense to desalinate, fine tuning is a waste of time.

Maybe the houses will catch their own water and become self sufficient.

An entrepreneur might just do something here, ….. regardless of his colour.

…. of course the factory could look at the export market too and earn much needed foreign exchange.

22. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bush Tea
    “Until I see you taking serious steps to help your own kith and kin in Jamaica to overcome their challenges…”[I’m not sure how much you have been involved in advising governments, but much goes on outside the public gaze. If I were doing as you’d like where would you need to be to see me? Were you there?

As I have written before some commentators seem to think that everyone has only one dimension and can only work in one place at a time. You are out of touch with modern times.

23. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bush Tea
    “…as to why you would author such an article when you have your own blog -is that not obvious?
    …same reason you always posting here – to get a real audience.” [As it was one of the commentators on BU–Adrian Hinds–who initially pointed out 2 months ago that traffic on my blog was about the same as that on BU and BFP , about 3 million, your contention really makes no sense. Why deprive my 3 million to come and satisfy your 3 million? They may of course be the same. Who is real? Who is robot?

24. @LIB

To clarify what Adrian wrote, he referred to link popularity which is different to hits, visits, average time spent on site etc. We discussed yesterday the benefit which link popularity offers not to be confused with hits/visits.

25. Wishing In Vain Avatar

With this much knowledge and wisdom spouted on someone else’s website that suggest to me that his own site maybe lacking in attention.

I am amazed he is not the King Of England or The President Of The USA.

26. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I do not want to focus on the divide. But I made the stress because some have suggested no one is helping black entrepreneurs. They have also suggested that foreigners are not supportive of Barbados, particularly its black-controlled enterprises. I did not believe either contention. My discussions support my belief.

27. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@WIV
    “I am amazed he is not the King Of England or The President Of The USA.”[What little knowledge I have makes clear why I cannot be either–wrong family line; wrong place of birth. So, I hope you are less amazed now.]

28. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I understand that a lot of things are relevant in determining blog popularity. The real information resides in scrutinizing reads/users/contributors. We guess at a lot with the numerical metrics. I personally don’t look much at them; I said before I did not believe the 3 million figure–and was upbraided for such skepticism. I trust a bit the geographical profile data I see on my blog.

29. LIB
    Pure rat-piss, per usual.
    Not to mention boringgggggggggggggg.
    (yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn)
    an’ stretchhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

30. If Looking Glass is indeed Clyde, then I may want to ask for at least an equal pegging. If we go head-to-head, I will bow to his better hands-on policy making, but hope to put up a good show with my breath of knowledge of policy making. It could be a close call.

LIB, you don’t have to ingratiate yourself to Clyde (I assume you mean Mascoll) since you did enough of that on Starcom on Budget night.

Is he now a economic policy-making God (having spent only one year as a Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance and reversed himself on every previous policy stance he took)?

Looking Glass cannot be Clyde Mascoll.
    1. Mascoll writes essentially about Mascoll except when he wanted Owen Arthur to notice him.
    2. There is no occasion that Clyde Mascoll has written an article since 2008 without impliedly or directly criticising David Thompson. It is a fixation with him even when he could rise to higher heights.
    3. If he wrote the above, it would be a further reversal of all he has said on previous occasions. (Although that is par for the course).

Put on your thinking cap, man.

31. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

The other point I have mentioned is commentary ‘patterns’. I see them again. When one sees things repeatedly they get described as ‘trends’ (follow a general course).

They are quite obvious and I suspect that while others might not have commented on them, they are pretty obvious to most people.

32. @LIB

The commentary patterns is based on casual observations?

33. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas
    I see that satire and irony are lost on some, so next time I use them I will put an asterisk, meaning “not to be read literally; possibly meant in reverse; idea is to be humourous…”

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Casual initially (but one can see number of entries per commentator, tone, language, pro, con, catalyst for intervention, etc.), but I am trying to see if it can be mapped–it is complex, and I did say I did not know if it is workthwhile. As I do not follow all threads it would always be limited. But I can toggle it to presence of certain types of views, then it would be much easier to see the general patterns.

35. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

You asked and wondered why certain types of persons (let’s call them intellectuals) prefer to interact elsewhere. Do you have a good idea yet?

36. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

9.58…is all he wrote…

37. Loioking Glass makes some good points but there are factors other than “the economy” that determine whether a society sustains itself, achieves excellence or not or survives. What undermined Jamaica, Trinidad and Guyana were institutional and societal failures not simply economic in the strict sense of that word.

What accounts for the fact that Jamaica was in Barbados’ position 40 years ago in relation to human indicators?

Let’s look at a few of these issues – crime, political polarisation, class polarisation, literacy, health indicators. People will always invest in Barbados as long as the Barbados standard of living is comparable to theirs.

There is much reverse migration in the United Kingdom because of the changing composition of the UK population and society. There are many wealthy UK citizens who are running from the UK because of the rise of Muslim polulation and other factors.

LIB must know this. He should scratch deeper when he meets with his UK intelligence authorities and I suspect they will highlight this fact. This presens a new opportunity for Barbados! And we should seize it.

38. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas, one can see most things at least 2 ways, eg Muslims (some very wealthy) going to UK (host of reasons) and replacing say Caribbeans (returnees). I’m interested to see the picture you draw. My direct expeience of living is a bit stale though I visit annually at least.

Much

39. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

How much CMC needed to pay to get rights for things like World Champs? Fees paid by customers are for what service? You must watch Canandian TV or wait for YouTube. Love de focus. Love de support for de region.

40. Despite the success of Barbados through the years one thing which has been managed from the seat of the pants is data. We live in a time where managing data at the national level has taken on great import.

The point about entrepreneurship, it cannot be legislated. The expectation of the Barbadian must become aligned with the national expectation of what is necessary for Barbadians as a collective to sustain our success. Making funds available will not cut it alone. People must come to love the feeling of being creative at the individual level. In a 90+ Black majority country the comment is directed at Black Barbadians.

41. 1. What have been the data failures? Yes some information is imperfect (unemployment and labour force, GDP) but, by and large, we have succeeded in having a high quality of data comparatively in the region. Don’t push that point too far David because you will trip up yourself with LIB on the immigration issue.

2. Recently for example, LIB has scoffed at the absence of immigration data and statistics so he (the judge) can make an assessment of the valdity of the government’s policy. This is a foolish request and position and should not be entertained under any circumstances. The exercise would be too subjective. There is no settled view of Barbados’ carrying capacity statistically and there doesn’t have to be one. In a democracy, political parties should respond to the majority view. All that is required is that the minority is protected from abuse.

If the government knew the number of illegals who are here, there would be no need for an amnesty now or before.

Secondly, the pledge was made by the DLP government to deal with the illegal immigration situation and was much applauded by the people who can vote in this country. That does not require any big analysis – the prevailing public opinion even if wrong – is that the matter needs to be dealt with.

42. @Veritas

Good data management is not only about collection but manipulation to facilitate meaningful decision making. BU is saying given the changing dynamic occurring in the world we need to move to the next level.

43. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David/Veritas
    (Note 1 of Veritas’ comment, which suggest that you pull away from an ideal because it might make you put you into an uncomfortable position. That could be read as better to be economical with the truth and play safe, rather than be honest and get caught out. Food for moral thought.)

A lot of data issues can boil down to some simple things. One is reconciliation. There are 3 possible measures of GDP (production, income, expenditure) and they should give the same results; but data systems differ and so do the measures. So, which do you take as being the more reliable? Answer depends on collection systems, compliance, rapidity of dissemination, etc. It also depends on which seems to be consistent with other things.

Monetary statistics may have a bias toward consistency with say the income series. But spending series comes out more quickly and production last of all–and this one is viewed as the best. All of that matters. You have to make trade offs and/or put caveats on what you say.

You have other things like discrepancies within data. Example: banking statistics–(simplified) central bank lending to commercial banks, should be equal to commercial banks’ deposits received from central bank. But central bank accounts show different numbers from that in commercial banks’ accounts. When the numbers are not equal and this happens regularly, why is that? Timing? Coverage? Classification? Entry errors? The discrepancies need to be resolved, but sometimes they are not and you get flawed analysis and policy making. (Some countries live with large discrepancies like this for years, which is possible because one side or other does not need the money owed.)

A statement such as “There is no settled view of Barbados’ carrying capacity statistically and there doesn’t have to be one. In a democracy, political parties should respond to the majority view. All that is required is that the minority is protected from abuse.” holds so many things that I think might not be what the writer wants. For instance, as the majority view changes so should the policy? But is that what he/she really means? That could be an on/off strategy that is chaotic–you build up for one outcome, then tear down for another.

If there is no settled view on carrying capacity then one cannot say that resources are stretched. If so, how so? It feels tight? Well fat people feel squeezed more than thin people if the seat is the wrong size. You can widen the seat of get the fat to slim.

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“The point about entrepreneurship…”[I’ve made this point on VOB, when discussing productivity, eg all of Barbados has to see itself as part of a ‘foreign exchange earning effort’. Things that detract from that, detract from national progress.]

“Making funds available will not cut it alone.”[True. What I have in draft discusses ‘business angels’ in Barbados,who seek and find young entrepreneurial talent, and help it develop in a holistic way (including identify market niche, networking, marketing, diversifying, etc.). One such example relates to internet radios in Bim.

Banks are not the issue, because other capital can be brought to bear.

I hope to have cleared my thoughts tomorrow.

45. For instance, as the majority view changes so should the policy? But is that what he/she really means?
    _____

But that’s what democracy is all about! Is the US foreign policy chaotic because Obama has a different view on Cuba or trrops in Iraq? There is no chaos if the change is implemented carefully and protects the minority view where possible.

When Cameron wins and tax policy in the UK changes, does that mean chaos?

The DLP was elected because the shoe was too tight. The shoe can be widened but primarily for who? To accomodate illegal immigrants? I hardly think so, and neither do you LIB.

46. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas, on Obama, I think there is a lot of chaos in the changed policies re Iraq, Afghanistan, Pakistan-and it was heading that way in the lead up to elelction. Health case reform is not very turbulent political terror, judging by early town hall meetings. I hear what you’re trying to say but democratic change is often not smooth.

47. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas, on UK, I think much depends on when and if the Tories win. On immigration, I’ve said before the balance of vested interests is not clear, so that suggests some bargaining ahead, between say employers, affected Bajan workers, landlords, politicians, etc.

48. @ Veritas
    “1. What have been the data failures? ”
    Would you not agree that we in Barbados have suffered from the lack of a focused analysis of the critical data?

Questions like – what really worked for Barbados over the last decades?

What are the key tourism factors that drove success for us so far- and what is counterproductive?

What are the real options for our sugar?

How does immigration alter the basic model and what are the implications for continued success given the reality of immigration?

What are the best possible alternative economic models available should tourism fail?

….instead, we have UWI organizing itself to study cricket and to build a football pitch while churning out hoards of lawyers and social scientists….

Of course you are correct via “…there are factors other than “the economy” that determine whether a society sustains itself, achieves excellence or not or survives.” However the “economy” provides probably the best global measure of overall performance.

As to the analysis of the root problem that we face, Bush Tea has outlined for some time now, that the global master plan has determined that life as we know it will shortly be terminated.

The end of this phase of ‘life on planet Earth’ will be chaotic and traumatic.

The level of planning needed in preparation for this scenario requires another level of study altogether…

49. Bush Tea, none of the issues you raise are data issues. These are important, though subjective policy issues, many of which can be analysed on anecdotal evidence rather than hard data. Planning and studying – there has been a plethora of that.

Do you think Peter Morgan confused himself with data collection? He had instincts, entrepreneurial sprit, international experience and passion. He had a plan from the time he left the Army!

You don’t need “data” to know what works for our tourism.

Likewise, in other areas.

You have raised important issues but put three or four bright Bajans in a room and those issues can all be solved. It is likely that our Stategic Development Plan raises all of these issues.

Our major deficiency is that the public service cannot deliver. Simple.

50. A recent Nation Editorial ( Thursday, 8 August, 2009) entitled: Shaping of a new world order, contained a number of horribly deficient arguments. It seemed as if it was written by a person or persons who is or are still being under the influence of an outmoded and flawed UWI type education.

Anyhow, very quickly we will highlight some of these deficient arguments.

1) That the meltdown of the last two years has exposed the fragile nature of many elements of the global financial system, and has caused a resurgence of the virtues of the state solving the problems created by market forces.

Pure unadulterated poppycock!!

This meltdown, if the PDC can refer to it as that, was deliberately started – and as has happened many times before – by many of those agents within the globalist elite power structure as a means of testing for the extent of their control and dominance over the human, material and financial affairs of much of this western world. The states of many western countries that have been suffering from this international economic and financial crisis are being used by these agents and some others as primarily the means of absorbing as many of the risks as possible of their crashing and then jump starting huge portions of these so-called economies. Surely, this is stuff that is hardly lectured at UWI, Cave Hill.

2) That free markets which have dominated economic orthodoxy for decades have been shown to have significant shortcomings ( in the context of this deliberately engineered manipulated international recession).

That is bare junk!! Such analysis is poor and shoddy.

For, “free markets” even in this Western hemisphere have NOT been proved to have significant shortcomings in this international economic recession. Again, it is those agents of global elitism and corporatism that have primarily been using economics and Western finance and particular media broadcasts to create the many impressions of these particular shortcomings of the “free market” system that the Nation editorial alluded to, when in truth and in fact it is these people – who are using economics and Western Finance to achieve certain nefarious objectives – that are really responsible for these shortcomings.

In this Western Hemisphere it is “free markets” that have really helped to bring to bring about greater wealth and prosperity in this Western hemisphere. Even in the Eastern Hemisphere a la China, India, and the Southern Hemisphere, Brazil, South Africa. and some other places the institution of some “free market” policies have helped to bring greater advantages to them and their people than many previously instituted socialist conservative policies would have. Nevertheless, for PDC the key is to properly manage these “free market” policies and their different social and other effects in various places.

3) That as a consequence of this meltdown, globalization, a relentless historical trend since colonialism that changed the world beyond recognition, is now in retreat.

What bunkum and idiocy!!

Far from being in retreat, globalization is further expanding and intensifying. For, it is this said globalization – in its fullest kinds of expression – that is primarily forcing many countries across the world esp. those that have been suffering from multifarious effects of this meltdown to become more nationalistic and protectionist. It is the driving force of these nationalist protectionist trends. Yet, the editorial writer/s make the point that developing economies now have to abandon their independence – as if there was always this independence philosophically politically speaking before having to go to the IMF – and thrust themselves into the arms of the hopefully magically revitalized ( what about eagerly waiting imperialist ??) International Monetary Fund. To that person or those persons who wrote this editorial, the IMF is STILL an agency of globalization and neo-liberalism. What foolishness wanna da write!! Pure crap that passes for an editorial comment.

Also, what is primarily causing this decline in world trade that the editorial refers to are those laws and standards that many of the global elites and their minions have used to help bring about the shortaging of money/value to finance only so much and no more international trade and investment transactions than planned for, and by such devices to help make societies and peoples that are ranked lower in this global stratification order to become poorer and more dependent on them.

4) That the reaction of most governments to the economic crisis has further undermined the credibility of economics.

Pure piffle!!

It is NOT ONLY these said elite globalists and their minions that have shown that economics and Western finance are in the main foolish rubbish, BUT also it is those who are very critical thinkers like many of those who are producing and marketing DVD documentaries like the End Game, like Obama, the Deception, on the occult, the Illuminati, the Bilderberg Group and many other intellectual political pieces, and many other political movements and groups across the world that are proving that economics and Western finance are, in the main, pure rubbish, NOT the reaction of governments to the economic crisis. What shallow foolishness from that/those editorial writer/s.

For instance, we in PDC have long been saying that DLP and BLP Governments have been wickedly demonically stealing portions of the incomes of many people, businesses and others in this country a la TAXATION. And that some of what they steal have been going into their parties’ coffers or their party connections coffers and have been going to many big businesses via public contracts in order for these big businesses to later on give them money to help them try and win elections. How therefore more corrupt and devilish can the DLP and the BLP get in this country?

The broad masses and middle classes we beseech you to do more to take control of this country. You have the opportunities to do so. Simply make use of them, notwithstanding the trash that emanates from some editorials of the Nation Newspaper some times and the damned DLP and blasted BLP almost all the time . For God Sake, get up and make your selves more empowered and enfranchised!!