Peter Wickham

The controversial Peter Wickham is at it again. He continues to use the studios of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), a media house which is subsidized by the taxpayers of Barbados to propagate the messageย  Barbadians are xenophobic.

BU has identified in previous blogs the great irony concerning Peter Wickham. He uses quantitative techniques and analysis in his line of work as a leading pollster in the region. Yet without hesitation he continues to bellow across the national airwave his opinion that Barbadians are xenophobic.

In the same way Peter Wickham agrees Shridath Ramphal crossed the line when he used his now infamous intimation of ethnic cleansing reference to Barbadosโ€™ new immigration policy, so too Wickham shoulders a similar responsibility.ย  He needs to be more guarded when sharing his opinions given his prominent regional profile as a leading regional pollster. He should be sensitive to the fact his profession relies on the use of quantitative analysis and decision making.

BU gives credit to Margaret Gill who we think is a UWI lecturer in history. She was the last caller to his show today and severely rapped him on the knuckles for the loose talk he has engaged referencing Bajans as xenophobic. Clearly Peter Wickham has demonstrated great insensitivity by loudly sharing his opinion given the prevailing concerns about immigration matters, especially as it related to the growing ethnic population.

We respect Peterโ€™s right to vocalize on issues as he sees fit but to label Barbadians xenophobic is highly subjective and injudicious behaviour at this time. He must be aware that traces of xenophobia can be found in any country, sometimes nationalistic behaviour maybe construed as such.

The recent change in government has seen Wickham rejuvenate his career as a social commentator on the CBC network. He is now easily the leading talk show personality in Barbados. Peter is intelligent to know to whom much is given much is expected.

200 responses to “Peter Wickham Should Apologize To All Barbadians”

1. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    Have you contacted Wickham and/or CBC and/or The Nation regarding his articles/positions? He is not hard to reach and is also on Facebook.

At the least you should send him your views and then you can say if and how he deals with those, as you did regarding Norman Girvan’s blog.

If the implication is that you have tried and failed could you make that clear?

2. Barbados tries to put its Immigration house in order and all hell breaks loose. Words and phrases not in common use in our part of the world are becoming part of our everyday jargon. There is the ongoing saga of โ€œethnic cleansingโ€ and today there is โ€œxenophobiaโ€.

Soon from now I expect some commentator to say that he saw Thompson with a toothbrush moustache surrounded by men in jackboots and you know what word is coming.

I donโ€™t have a problem with what Wickham says what worries me is the lack of balance e.g Singh in the Nation and Wickham on CBC and no one with a column or radio show to refute or argue against their stances or perhaps the issues donโ€™t concern the others with a byline or call in show.

I am loathe to quote Spiro Agnew but his description of the Press as โ€œnattering nabobs of negativismโ€ fits some in Barbados like a glove.

BTW I noticed the Nationโ€™s internet version of Singhโ€™s article was severely edited while the Observerโ€™s was complete, not sure what that tells us.

3. I think all Barbadians should read & reread what our Minister of Immigration Arni-Walters has said as reported in today’s Nation Newspaper.It sums us nicely the future direction of Barbados.

I had Steve Blackett as the dumbest minister in the history of Barbados but after reading what that idiot the foolish minister Arni Walters said the title of dumbest minister in Barbados must go that bungling idiot.

The other ethnic groups that choose Barbados as their home must accept we the Black people of Barbados .It angers me that the idiot for a minister could insult all right thinking Barbadians by suggesting that the rat catcher /mango seller Indians & Pakistani ,the white European expatriates & all the other ethnic groups in Barbados could be making demands that only members of their ethnic grouping should look after their domestic affairs and their ailing seniors.I cannot believe that work permits issued based on ethnicity is really what that idiot is telling us.

It seems that we will soon be seeing work permits stating that only whites,Asians,or Indians need only to apply.No Blacks wanted.

The statement by the foolish minister indicates the control the rat catcher/mango selller Indians & Pakistani along with the Whites have over the inept,confused,bungling set of misfits we have pretending to be a government of Barbados

The policies of this govermment is being dictated by the rat catcher/mango seller Indians & Pakistani,the Whites in Barbados & the emerging powerhouse in Barbados the Chinese.

Barbados has reached the lowest it could ever think of going with this present government.Barbadians were insulted by our Minister of Immigration and I hope that Black Barbadians never forget the words of Arni Walters.I would never forget his words and I have photocopied his statement and will keep it for prosperity.

Black Barbadians are in a hopeless position .We are doomed..

4. Xenophobic and Homophobic……there….I said it!!

5. Technician wah dah suppose to mean LOL!

6. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Negroman

Tell us in precis what arni walters is saying.

It is time maxine mcclean returns to immigration,but I believe a lot of persons ensured david thompson get her out of that ministry because she was putting a lot of wrong things right.

The comments of persons other than the regulars on this immigration topic tells us that this an explosion waiting to happen.

More fyah,slow fyah.

7. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant,
    Allusions to persons living or dead aside. The alleged imbalance is created by whom? Not the commentators, surely. I am bemused that CBC–state-owned–is not a fully-fledge mouthpiece of government. But, maybe it is. Why are the other commentators whom you feel would provide balance not in the fray?

I posed a question to AH, and have not seen a reply but is it passivity/indifference on one side of the discussion that is a problem?

I have no answers.

8. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Technician/David
    While the audience holds its breath at your revelation, or allegation, let me hope that having got that off your chest, you will then help the debate on xenophobia and the quality of commentary.

I’ll let David mull over what the entry means for him and the ‘nasty’ agenda, and in other ways.

9. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Negroman
    Your entry puts on the table some points that David had previously said were not so important–namely Europeans. But I will let him catch up. I would be bothered by your descriptions because of who and what thye leave out. You focus on a subset of Indians and Pakistanis, and that is interesting because of why you might have selected that narrow group. By not using adjectives you could have been comprehensive. Now I wonder why you hav shown a partiality to some of the same ethnicities. People might suspect some vested interest.

Your touching on the country’s low point goes also to a point I just made on the LIME thread, so wont repeat here. It is a fundamental set of economic issues, which to me are more critical than whether Barbadians feel that they are or not xenophobes.

10. @LIB

You may not be aware but when the Nation newspaper stymied the publishing of the Wickham’s weekly article Adrian H was very active in getting BU to publish Wickham’s articles. Please separate the issues!

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB
    “The comments of persons other than the regulars on this immigration topic tells us that this an explosion waiting to happen.”[You are joking, I imagine. I have a hard time getting my calculator to round the figures of blog participation/head of population to get to a figure significantly greater than 0.

12. The question here is definitely one of responsibility. I think that Peter knows that who says what, makes a difference.

The dilemma here is what is the difference between nationalism and propaganda. For those with responsibility for news and fair reporting, it is unjournalistic for an editor or manager of a news agency to fill the airwaves or press with personal opinions.

Just as much as some would criticise The editor of the nation for allowing everything negative about Barbados in the paper, what is wrong with being critical of Peter for his utterances?

What I would say about Peter being a pollster is that before he accuses all Bajans, he should do a survey. That way he will cover himself if the survey finds a majority of Bajans to be Xenophobic.

However, the practice of throwing around labels is very irresponsible of a news manager. Then CBC would become a propaganda station rather than a news service. I would say that a good journalist would find programs that would help educate the masses away from the negative.

Even though Peter is not a journalist by profession, he cannot be excused because he is certainly holding a responsible position in a news agency and he should learn fast about being a journalist rather than remain as a square peg in a round hole, and as a result reduce the art of journalism to a propaganda machine. It is important to maintain standards otherwise you will erode good culture.

When the colonies were under British rule, movement of people was not a problem… but with the division of the colonies into states, they are now unequally yoked. This is the real cause of the confusion.

The main reason for Guyanese flocking here is because of the lack of good governance in Guyana. Here is where the strain of being unequally yoked is felt. We are therefore placing the charge of xenophobia wrongly and the reaction to Guyanese is really a reaction to the bad governance of Jagdeo.

To measure xenophobia in Barbados, I would want to cast our minds back to when there was no influx of people in the magnitude of Guyanese coming to Barbados.

Many Lucians and Vincentians, Antiguans, Dominicans, etc. I should say lots of them came to Barbados in the early years of Independence, bringing their produce to Barbados to sell. They just got on a boat and came to Barbados. Landed at the wharf and before they could get their cargo off the boat, Bajans in droves were buying.

I know so many of these people who simply got off the boat and set up shop. They left their countrymen in the fields back home and handled the retail trade in Barbados. I knew the boat owners well and as a matter of fact, they also brought youngsters to Barbados who ended up as domestics and general workers in homes and businesses across Barbados. We had several of them in our household when I was a lad.

As a result there were many children born in Barbados who were not registered. I dare say that there are still some of them who are probably in their old age who came as youth and are still not documented.

I know of many Bajans who took many of these people under their wings. When I look at the days of old, passing through Nelson Street and its environs; New Orleans and Westbury; Suttle Street and the likes and could hardly hear a Bajan accent.

Amazingly, this never caused a Bajan to bat an eyelid. I have never seen immigration raiding these places. I never heard any talk about a foreign invasion. We have names like Milan Louis and names like Napoleon, etc. whose parents were not Bajan and I never heard of any problems with them. The fact that many of these children got into Bajan schools even though they did not qualify is testament to the fact that Bajans are not xenophobic.

I therefore put it to Peter, that the charge of xenophobia is unfair. Bajans can’t deal with Jagdeo so they protest based on what is happening to them.

Further, if we say that there are 30,000 Guyanese here, how long would it have taken for such a large number to build up? This criticism of the Guyanese influx only started a few years ago; maybe three. By that time we were definitely overrun. The first complaint I heard from the vendors about Guyanese was in 2007.

I would only say to Peter that to charge Bajans with Xenophobia is to support Jagdeo in his foolishness. Many Guyanese will tell you that they are running from the conditions in Guyana. If Guyana was different, no way a Guyanese leaving there to go anywhere.

Take Jamaica, while not as bad as Guyana is bad and Jamaicans too are leaving home. It is unfortunate that the Lucians and Vincentians getting caught up in this because we never had any problems with them. The problem as I reiterate is just one man. Jagdeo.

From this point of view, I would say to Peter that the news media is not doing its job of informing the public and educating them to the real truth. Therefore the media can only hold itself responsible for allowing Guyanese to be the victims and spreading xenophobia in Barbados rather than printing the truth in such a way that there would be some sympathy for the Guyanese refugees.

We are allowing our politicians to get away with corruption by sowing seeds of discord among the populations while corrupt politicians run free. Where is the responsibility?

I am just waiting to see what CARICOM will do about Jagdeo.

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David, I think you have the arguments confused. AH wanted an ‘equal voice’; it was not about Wickham getting his voice elsewhere or more widely. If AH seeks a voice in the same arenas as Wickham, what has he done? Has he submitted a fully worked set of articles on BU. My search indicates he has been a source by e-mail but I take that as being very different. I have no problem being corrected on that latter point.

In the same way that AH alluded to not have a voice on my blog, I pointed out that in fact he had not been submitting comments or posts. So, again, no cake and eating it, please.

14. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Living in Barbados

I don’t care a shite what you have to say.

Get it?

You are a non national nuisance who has too much time on his hands.

At first I was willing to give you the benefit of the douby re your agenda,NOW, not so much.

David is allowing you to post 7 and 8 posts one after the other and because david appears to be ‘soft’ and non-confrontational,you are taking a good thing too far.

A large number of us are real,real fed-up of you ramblings.

15. ROK,
    Well said, you sa sweet doe.

Anon,
    “Peter Wickham (Pickum/Wickhim) is a buller”.
    Now you kno’ dat a statement like dah gun mek Bonny cry. Murdahhhhhhh.
    I still tryin to fine out wah it got ta do wid anyting, but I still laffin anyway. Ya bad.

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK,
    Being xenophobic (which is not an absolute, or a static, state) is not inconsistent with letting people in, etc. Note I said earlier one can argue about degrees of xenophobia.

17. Mash & buy back,
    Ya in lie.
    He/she/it becomin a real nuisance fa tru.
    He/she/it like it doan kno when to stop.

Poooooooooooooooooooooooooppp.

18. There are those who would suggest that Barbados is xenophobic, but what the other Caribbean countries? In my OPINION, most Anglophone Caribbean countries are homophobic, for they imagine Barbados to be the playpen of homosexuals. I wonder how they got this idea.

19. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB
    Be nice now and engage correctly. I have the same amount of time as you and others, I manage it very differently, that is sure.

I started at 2.30am, then went back to bed at 4am. I got up again at 4.30 am as I needed to get to St George for 6am to collect some fruit. I have been doing things on and off, since.

I have just delivered the 20 guavas to one Bajan doctor in exchange for 20 pawees, 3 julies and 1 Imperial–a complex rate of exchange. Another 80 guavas were delivered with flowers and cuttings to another doctor, for no consideration.

I have Bloomberg on on the PC, and watching the SP500. I will soon be making some calls on Skype.

I already wrote what I wanted to on my blog and am commenting with varying degrees of enthusiasm on blog threads. I have lunch scheduled for 12.30, then watching the ATP from Montreal after. I will play tennis from 4.30 to 6pm then take a rest.

Tell me again about my time. That’s the joy of modern telecoms and a flexible approach to working.

Hope you have fun like I do.

20. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Please say if you would prefer if I did not post further. Happy to decouple at any time.

21. @LIB
    “Being xenophobic (which is not an absolute, or a static, state) is not inconsistent with letting people in, etc.”

Could you please clarify? I am not sure what that comment is addressing about my comment.

22. I disagree with this article, whether he’s in a particular position with this perceived responsibility or not, is this the kind of thing blogs like this exist to perpetuate? free speech? he should be able to express his opinion the same as any of us, no?

23. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Let me take one more second. When I was teaching MBA courses at UWI last year, I saw a lot of papers written by senior public officials. Most of them were terrible. They lacked good construction, consistent arguments, clear statements, and robust conclusions. I offered to teach a course in critical writing. I too that off the table because of other commitments, but I may want to offer it again.

Weak thinking is often reflected in the way that arguments are presented. I have had issues about literacy statistics and I based my views on what I saw and had to address from people who were supposedly near the top of their professions and representing the country at very high levels. If the course flies, I’ll let you knw. Enjoy the rest of the ‘debate’. I will read without comments. That has freed up some time.

24. @ NM

I know for a fact that 15000 work permits have been given to non nationals and there is no longer a construction boom; Cow has just sent home 100 and the list goes on. These non nationals are still not going home, bajans can sing from now until next year Jagdeo and company have spoken.

Ask the immigration officers how many persons have come in for the amnesty …….. why doesn’t the nation newspaper do their job! Oops … I forgot it is not Barbadian owned they just work from here!

25. Unugly,
    ‘……for they imagine B/dos to be a playpen of homos’

And when/how was your survey conducted? How was your data collected? By observation, interview or questionnaire? I’m dying to kno.

26. Living in B/dos and Loving It,
    You are too full of yourself. We tired wid all de shit, okay?
    Go and make some more deliveries.
    Ga long.
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

27. LIB

We hope that CBC does not become the mouthpiece of the Govโ€™t. I know that it is a staple of Caribbean politicians to treat state owned enterprises as an arm of the Govโ€™t/Party in Power.

The Nation is not Barbadian owned perhaps the interests of their ownership does not necessarily reflect the goals of Barbadians. The Nationโ€™s corporate ownership are probably afraid that if they allow a voice in favour of immigration reform in Barbados it may negatively affect their holdings in Guyana, thus they can get their timid Bajan management to follow the โ€œ see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evilโ€ maxim

28. A prominent politician and Pan Africanist who depends on black bajans to vote for him said amongst his pan Aficanists brothers and sisters that he would prefer any foreigner be they indian, Lucian Guyanese anybody else but a bajan to work for him since we are thieves and rip offs. Thank you Mr. Marshall. We thank you for your honesty we thank you!

29. Bonny Peppa // August 12, 2009 at 12:30 PM

It was done by QUIET observation. I recall on several occasions when I was in the presence of our Caribbean brothers and Barbadian men would be the butt of may gay jokes. They were unaware of my nationality for I was not speaking at the time, but this has happened several times and in several Caribbean islands.

30. Bullers does talk a lot of shite, Bonny Peppa.

31. I wish to take this opportunity to wish Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur and his wife Julie, a happy third wedding anniversary.

@David thanks, but I do not need any defense against LIB’s probes, neither do I care to answer any questions he may have directed at me. I have long felt what MUBB has recently voiced.

@Unugly:
    Certainly this has been my experience in the North American Diaspora up to know.

32. Peter Wickham as an university scholar & a respected Caribbean pollster his column is saying little or nothing.

Peter Wickham as a data collector & analyzer of data uses empirical evidence and raw data to help him prove or disaprove his findings.Sir Shridath Ramphal has not brought any hard evidence to support his outrageous claim that the Barbados government is engaging in ethnic cleansing as a consequence of its new immigration policy.Has Sir Shridath Ramphal gave us the figures on the amount of Indo-Guyanese as compare to Black Guyanese deported or ask to leave Barbados. ? Has Sir Shridath Ramphal used comparative analysis for a specific periods of time to base his conclusions?

Sir Shridath Ramphal used the editorial of a private Newspaper to accuse our government of racism as a result of a new immigration policy.

Peter Wickham has supported Sir Shridath Ramphal position.I want information to support the view that the Barbados government is practising ethnic cleansing as a result of its new immigration policy.

Sir Shridath Ramphal should not only be made to apologize to the government & people of Barbados but his citizenship of Barbados should be revoke.However that will not be the case because we do not have a strong leader who is prepare to make such demands.Sir Shriadth Ramphal,Bharat Jagdeo,Ralph Gonsalves know it and that is why those individuals could make the most outrageous statements about Barbados with out a response from our government.

David Thompson is a weak leader.

33. *************************************
    livinginbarbados // August 12, 2009 at 12:03 PM

Please say if you would prefer if I did not post further. Happy to decouple at any time.
    P L E A S E David!!!!

…tell ‘e nuh!!
    …come on Davy. SAY IT…

… or can Bush tea have powers of attorney???

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK
    “Being xenophobic”: see opening para of article “…propagate the message Barbadians are xenophobic”–the crux of the discussion.

35. Bush Tea,
    I now grant you; Power of Attorney.
    Open an’ shut case.
    Ya wicked but I luv um.

Unugly,
    I have been in the presence of many, far and wide and have ne’er heard such said of my bred’ren.
    I kno’ dat Bajan men like nuff nuff nuff you kno-what? So wah I missin?

36. @ Bush Tea

ha ha ha lol you and ROK and GP get my vote every time for sticking to your guns!

No matter how confrontational things get !

I luv it !!

37. Why is it that when a black man gets to the top, he must cry down his fellow people and become so selfish?
    Peter Wickham benefits greatly from free movement and he puts his individual interests ahead of the majority of Bajans by constantly criticizing Thompson’s policy. If Mr Shridath (he does not deserve the title Sir anymore) comments does not open up all Bajans’ eyes to what is going on nothing will. These people are out to cripple Barbados at any cost. Home drums gotta beat first. Peter, Shridath and Ricky Singh can go and seek permanent residence in Guyana or St. Vincent.

38. @Bush Tea

If LIB’s arguments are weak expose them. Isn’t that the honourable approach?

39. @JC

If you come from a solid base, nothing can throw you off. Not sure that GP on any solid base though. I think he learned the art of swimming in quicksand.

40. Wunna know Peter Wickham is ‘married’ to a man and the evidence is there to prove it. He should be sent to Jamaica, then he could talk (if he lives!)about about homophobia instaed of xenophobia.

41. @LIB
    Why don’t you stop being so cryptic and come out and say what you want to say?

42. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK: David says I see things as black and white; you say I’m cryptic. Can’t be both. As I said I think you all have a lot of internal confusion to resolve.

43. @PB
    What has that got to do with the subject at hand? So because he marry a man he can’t have an opinion on Xenophobia?

We need to wake up and take on matters seriously.

44. @LIB
    “David says I see things as black and white; you say Iโ€™m cryptic.”

If the movie in colour, black & white is surely cryptic.

45. @LIB
    Since when did the word cryptic connote shades of grey?

46. Uh see wunnuh still wasting wunnuh time wid LIB.

….. When did Carl Moore apologize to Ricky Singh for his “allusions of Aparthied” comment?

47. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK
    “If the movie in colour, black & white is surely cryptic”[Good point. For colour think complex issues. Inkwell // August 12, 2009 at 9:38 AM introduced a qualifier, “some Barbadians”, which seems similar to my notion of degrees of xenophobia. But the pack has run off with other bones.]

48. Arrogant people like peter Wickham I ignore. I have made a concerted effort not to listen and call any call-in programme he is hosting. If the caller does not agree with him, he either tries to belittle the individual and talks over the caller’s comtribution or have them cut off. He comes over as someone who thinks that he is God’s gift to humanity. the road he’s travelling would lead him exactly where he was led when he hosted that progromme “poele’s business” during the last administration. Peter is simply a selfish guy trying to establish himself and the best way he knows how is contreversally.

49. @ Bush Tea

You is a real s#!t disturber. You want David to stop LIB from posting? Got me cracking up. Lol.

Don’t mind LIB. He is not a bad fellow. He has a lot of good ideas and information. But wuhloss. He can certainly pompaset. He got to let everybody know that he can talk french, he went here, there, and everywhere. He knows everybody. He telling people how they should think, speak, write.

Wuh loss, LIB. As your girlfriend Bonny Peppa would say – we luvs ya.

Drink a good bajan rum and don’t be so tightarsed.

50. PETER
    -WICK
    -HAM
    knows more about plumbing than the Plumber but I would say that Peter is also a provocative individual who is perhaps looking for some attention and why not look for attention.? Human beings do seek attention for one reason or the other.

Why single out one individual ? or is this an effort to garner Peter more attention than usual or perhaps keep the attention meter running at the desired level ??

I dont trust wunna people yuh know because I dont know who connected to who and I know that a lot of trickery does go on bout yeh >