Peter Wickham

The controversial Peter Wickham is at it again. He continues to use the studios of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), a media house which is subsidized by the taxpayers of Barbados to propagate the messageย  Barbadians are xenophobic.

BU has identified in previous blogs the great irony concerning Peter Wickham. He uses quantitative techniques and analysis in his line of work as a leading pollster in the region. Yet without hesitation he continues to bellow across the national airwave his opinion that Barbadians are xenophobic.

In the same way Peter Wickham agrees Shridath Ramphal crossed the line when he used his now infamous intimation of ethnic cleansing reference to Barbadosโ€™ new immigration policy, so too Wickham shoulders a similar responsibility.ย  He needs to be more guarded when sharing his opinions given his prominent regional profile as a leading regional pollster. He should be sensitive to the fact his profession relies on the use of quantitative analysis and decision making.

BU gives credit to Margaret Gill who we think is a UWI lecturer in history. She was the last caller to his show today and severely rapped him on the knuckles for the loose talk he has engaged referencing Bajans as xenophobic. Clearly Peter Wickham has demonstrated great insensitivity by loudly sharing his opinion given the prevailing concerns about immigration matters, especially as it related to the growing ethnic population.

We respect Peterโ€™s right to vocalize on issues as he sees fit but to label Barbadians xenophobic is highly subjective and injudicious behaviour at this time. He must be aware that traces of xenophobia can be found in any country, sometimes nationalistic behaviour maybe construed as such.

The recent change in government has seen Wickham rejuvenate his career as a social commentator on the CBC network. He is now easily the leading talk show personality in Barbados. Peter is intelligent to know to whom much is given much is expected.

200 responses to “Peter Wickham Should Apologize To All Barbadians”

1. The last paragraph suggests that Wickham should behave like a ‘yardfowl’!

Whether one agrees or disagrees with his opinion he has a right to express it, just as others have a right to disagree.

2. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

Peter is a good fella.

3. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Peter is definitely a good guy and does not deserve the warnings that I am reading from the comments. If we all thought the same way and held the same views on each subject, I can imagine how dull this world would be. One of the hallmarks of Barbadian society is that people enjoy a privilege not found in many societies (including western developed countries) — we can freely reflect our views once we stay within the bounds of libel laws and even then this is often bypassed. Yes, xenophobia does exist. However, I remember presenting a paper in Jamaica about 4 years ago and today as I did then, I believe it is more based upon ignorance and a structural legacy of colonialism than on any real desire to fear our CARICOM brothers and sisters. Furthermore, much of it is fueled by the uncertainties associated with identities and our sense of social and political communities. This is both domestically and regionally. I sincerely believe that rather than hide our feelings or suppress our thoughts in order to maintain a status quo of good impressions, what is needed is open and public dialogue and debate. Only then will we be able to overcome the devils of fear of the stranger. Peter is genuine even if he mashes the crease with his liberal outlook, but that does not make him an enemy of Barbadians. On the contrary, it is that genuineness that we can respect if we decide that we stand in opposition to what he advances. Talk ya talk, Peter and everyone else. If you silence me today, tomorrow it may be your turn.

4. We have to decide whether we respect free speech or not in Barbados.
    Why should Peter Wickham have to apologize for voicing his opinion on local radio, and operators of blogs not have to apologize for allowing distasteful and often divisive racist remarks on blogs?
    Can someone please explain the difference.

5. Who is questioning free speech?

He said what he said and BU is asking him to step back given his prominence make a judgement decision in the prevailing climate.

He is entitled to his view and we ours.

There is enough evidence to show Barbadians are NOT xenophobic. Indians, Syrians, Pakistanis, Lebanese, St. Lucians and others have existed in Barbados over the years without rancour. Why is it Barbadians are making noises now? Do the concerns of Barbadians have some legitimacy?

BU has many stories/leads/pictures which we have not posted because we have exercised judgement and it had nothing to do with free speech.

6. Here is a link to the Rickey Singh article where he defends Ramphal. Of interest are the comments of Jamaicans to the article. Not only Barbados is wising up to the Rickey Singh game but others across the region. BU will NOT forget the platform which Wickham gave to these people with their nasty agendas. Like we said it is all about judgement and knowing when home drums should beat first.

7. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I think there are reasons to be puzzled by what you’re saying or trying to say.

1.”BU gives credit to Margaret Gill who we think is a UWI lecturer in history.”[That should be easy to check, so why not verify?]

2. “Clearly Peter Wickham has demonstrated great insensitivity by loudly sharing his opinion given the prevailing concerns about immigration matters, especially as it related to the growing ethnic population.'[And…? He is a public commentator, not a cheer leader for prevailing views. Should he have added “But my view is perhaps the minority…”?]

3. “We respect Peterโ€™s right to vocalize on issues as he sees fit but to label Barbadians xenophobic is highly subjective and injudicious behaviour at this time.” [Yet, you make the preceding statement, which seems to at least a few that you think he should not vocalize as he sees fit.]

4. “He must be aware that traces of xenophobia can be found in any country, sometimes nationalistic behaviour maybe construed as such.”[I’m sure he is. But, so what? Do you want him to say “Barbados is among X countries that exhibit this characteristic”?]

Your subsequent comment adds to the puzzlement, as you clearly suggest that he should speak as you perceive the prevailing mood to be. Who are “these people”? Who else gives people platforms for “nasty agendas” and can you list some of what you call “nasty agendas” and constrast that with what you would call “nice agendas”?

8. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

You opened with”The controversial Peter Wickham is at it again.” So, with that “controversial” (and check it’s meaning if needed; I go with Webster’s “of, relating to, or arousing controversy”, and controversy is “a discussion marked especially by the expression of opposing views”), what do/did you expect of the man?

9. @ David I rarely have reason to add to what you have written however, on this occasion I will disagree.

The gentleman to whom you refer has not got the “weight and stature” to warrant such an apology; he is just a private individual making an unjustified comment…it should be seen as such.

I “know” you do not share that position.

10. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David // August 12, 2009 at 1:30 AM
    Here is a link to the Rickey Singh article where he defends Ramphal. Of interest are the comments of Jamaicans to the article.
    I’ve read the comments twice and cannot identify at all which are by Jamaicans. Can you help there?

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bimbro
    A friend asked that I add to the list. So, I offer Lebanon. Iraq (post US intervention). Iran. Afghanistan. Myanmar. East Timor. Israel. Honduras. Cyprus.

I’ve still not had to touch Africa or places where blacks/negroes are the majority.

In fact, if I take seriously the arguments of some of those you cite, it is not Africanism at work at talk but the impact and after effects of white people’s intervention.

Now, I will have to see if I can somehow marry those two apparently contradictory positions. Feel free to help in this mental exercise.

12. @Yardbroom

He is an ordinary citizen who is using the public airwaves to loudly trumpet nothing more than an opinion.

We can use the letter of the law and the spirit of the law example analogy. Let emotional intelligence reign!

@LIB Some of your observations are valid but the point of the blog is not diminished in our view..

13. David,

You are most unclear today. First, I don’t understand the criticism of Wickham? Are you saying that his view is not honestly held, that he should not express it, or that Barbadians are not xenophobic? And what do you mean by let emotional intelligence reign?

The real counter to an opinion is not censorship for whatever reason, but the proffering of a more cogent opinion to the contrary. In my opinion,the blog is misadvised!

14. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“@LIB Some of your observations are valid but the point of the blog is not diminished in our view..” [Tedday iz me Jumaykan side yu go see. Me did hask you which o de comments dem mek by Jumaykan. If yu don kno, seh so no man. Yu lef a trail an it no lead nuwhere. Dat iz pur dishonesty. A no fool-fool peeple yu a deal wid. Is smoke me a see an you a yell “Fiya!” Tschoupe!]

15. LIB, Hard Driver, as has been said before, to David, free speech only exists if you maintain the status quo.

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“He is an ordinary citizen who is using the public airwaves to loudly trumpet nothing more than an opinion.” [What on earth do you think most journalism is? If you are going to rip into one, then rip into all. Don’t waste time concocting some story about a thing you dislike from one man on the radio. Do you want to see and hear pure facts and nothing else? Even then we have the biasing of the truth. Sorry, I think you lost the plot early on this one.]

17. @David
    I totally agree with you Barbadians in general, are not xenophobic, but I see no problem in any person, however prominent, voicing the opposing opinion.
    I think Barbados needs more people like Peter Wickham, especially in the media, who are not afraid to be open with their views.
    Once he is not making any defamatory or libelous statements singling out any particular person, in my view, he has no apology to make.

18. BU expects the usual voices who see things in black and white to become submerged in definitions on this issue. In the blog the point was made repeatedly we respect his right to vocalize but it cannot be at the expense of good judgement. Peter Wickham’s strident accusation of Barbadians being xenophobic combined with Ramphal’s own injudicious accusation continues to make the climate for reconciliation in the Caribbean untenable. In Peter’s position as a leading talk show there are many ways he could have constructed his opinion to not be inflammatory.

BU believes in freedom of expression but we fully expect that at times we will have to exercise judgement when that position is abused.

@LIB
    You should be familiar with our style of delivery by now. Several things we know but sometimes maybe we don’t know.

19. @Harddriver

Fully agree and when those opinions are expressed they should fully expect to have them critiqued. It’s a process isn’t it?

20. ” BU believes in freedom of expression but we fully expect that at times we will have to exercise judgement(sic) when that position is abused…”

And who determines when freedom of speech is abused? If it is your blog, then you have all right to determine what is to be said, but then it will be for others to determine whether that is consistent with freedom of speech.

But if something is said in another forum, you can merely disagree with it, not decide that it cannot be said.

I agree with LIB and Hard Driver. You missed the plot on this one, principally by being guilty of what you accuse us of…seeing things in black and white- If you are not for us, then you must be against us!

21. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“Fully agree and when those opinions are expressed they should fully expect to have them critiqued. Itโ€™s a process isnโ€™t it”…” In Peterโ€™s position as a leading talk show there are many ways he could have constructed his opinion to not be inflammatory.” [Me ketch fya now. You want cyake an nyam it too. Yu seh de man contravershal, den yu friten cos yu tink im hinflamatary. Is wha dat?

So why yu a jump up wen people a put Lindsay pon de stan, like dem cyan challenge de man? A no critique dat?

Fi sum of oonu is pur black and white. Read wha one o you commentatas jus write:
    “Wait-a-minute // August 12, 2009 at 6:43 AM
    I totally agree with Shridath Ramphal. Itโ€™s a policy of ethnic cleansing and we should start with him. Get to hell out.
    You all are hiding behind a lot of fancy analysis. We do not welcome indo-guyanese economic refugees in our country. Full stop.” Is pur black an white dat.

22. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

If yu wan Dr Don hemail mi haf it, so sen me a messig fi get it.

But wait. Is jus now yu memba im did promis sumting an nah deliva? Soon come. Never reach.

On o fiyu problem is dat yu don wan hol peeple haccountable by simply gettin in touch an seyin “Bredrin, is wha yu a do? De peeple dem expec betta dan dis. Sen me de paper today or tomorra.” Yu jus wan shout out dat de man nah do disya ting or datdeh ting. Like yu wan shame im. Yu nah do nutun fi fix it.

23. @LIB

Yoy think LH’s CBA has created an incendiary climate in the debate compared to Wickham and Ramphall?

24. Mr Singh made errors in logic in his attempt to add legitimacy and substance to his article.

He twice refers to Barbados’ enforcement of its immigration laws as “controversial” and also alludes to “the immigration impasse between Barbados and Guyana”. How can a “right” be controversial? Guyana too, as it is entitled, enforces its laws in respect of illegal immigrants, but does its actions create an impasse with the governments of the illegals involved? Why only Barbados?. If the Guyana Government wants to continue to make itself look stupid over the immigration matter, it has that right, but there is no impasse between Barbados and Guyana.

Why does Singh italicize “illegal immigrants” in his article? Is it to suggest “so called” and that they may not in fact be illegal and that the Barbados authorities actions are extra judicial?

Sir Shridath’s “intimations of ethnic cleansing” remark given the circumstances was inflamatory and injudicious and unworthy of a regionalist of his standing and his refusal to withdraw it has most certainly disqualified him as “a voice of reason”.

Singh’s irrational defense of that remark speaks volumes. His agenda becomes even clearer when he attempts to trivialize Lincoln Lewis’ poignant open letter to Ramphal calling for intervention in the race based problems in Guyana. When a journalist ceases to be concerned about his credibility, he ceases to be a journalist.

25. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Fus ting. Me did hask a queschyan bout ‘nasty’ an ‘nice’ agenda. Mi no wan see no wrigglin pon dat.

Sekan ting. Me no see no diffranc wid how peeple a rehac bout Holda (nuff a de peeple did scream dat im did a light mor fiya under de Guyanese widim hanalysis right from de start inna de Hadvoket, wid de lang piece. Ramfal a fiya up nuff peeple too. But me sey nuff peeple an hear nuff peepl seh de man a spek de trut. Me neva hear Wickham dis time, but im is always contravershal, so is wha me fi hexpec? Nuff o unnu wan ruffle but cyan tek rufflin.

Look at de Bimbro man. Im talk big bout ya. But wen im fi stan up an help a boddy, , an a shout bout ow im did see ha muggin. But im jus a peep dung pon de muggas an a trimble. “Me no wan no get liks. Don com fi me. Me freyd fi ded.” Is wha dat? A wha kina peeple yu a breed?

26. David, why you giving such prominence to ‘larmers’?
    Should gearbox also apologize for his assessment of Bajans? AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAhhhhhhhh…

27. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Lookya bredrin. Ma ha fi focus pon Bernanke an fihim meeting dis mawnin. Me ha fi kno if de Hew S HA goin ease up pon de credit on gwan stan still annoda munt. So, me a go look out fiyu hansa dem. An trus me, dis ‘nasty’ an ‘nice’ bizniz na don yet between we.

Zeen.

28. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Inkwell

I support your position above totally.

You may find that your disgust at wickham’s repeated claim of bajans being xenophobic is supported by the majority of barbadians.

While wickham may be a private citizen and we all agree that he has a right to express his views;these views coming on the public airwaves from someone who does research and polling throughout the caribbean will immediately be given credence just by virtue of him being who he is.

That is just how humans think and behave.

Therefore to repeatedly make that remark about bajans being xenophobic here and abroad is to give those across the region who hate barbados and desire ill of us – more ammunition to do so.

There are those living and enjoying the fat of this good land,writing in newspapers and writing on blogs who deep down resent the success of this country and the fact that its citizens are not shy about declaring and defending their success and their pride in who they are as bajans.

29. I agree with anon. Peter Wickham is criticizing his fellow Barbadians, he had not gone into another country and seek to do the same. I think there is a lesson for Shridath Ramphal to learn from Peter. There is much that needs to done in, and to be said about Guyana, and it’s leadership, and Shridath in more ways than one can have some impact on turning things around in Guyana. But his views on why the Federation failed, the role that Guyana did not play then and the role that he believes if must play in this attempt at Federating may be what is blinding him to silence on the current affairs of Guayana.
    Peter Wickhamโ€™s right to call Barbadians xenophobic if he so feels is not a problem. It is not a problem for us because we know that we are not, we have proven (LH CBA) that we are not. What is more likely the case with Peter’s rants is he has not substantiated it, and his delivery of the label is emotional and personal at best. It is likely that when Peter refers to his fellow Barbadian as xenophobic that immigration is not foremost in his mind.

I support Peter’s freedom of speech and I would like for Peter, and others to respect and support the rights of other Barbadians to exercise said rights in like manner on the call in programs and blogs, to speak to the issues of immigration, race, etc. Maybe in the socialist mindset Peter is more privilaged than others. I think not.

30. @LIB Sorry but we have not been able to find a translator.

31. I believe in freedom speech and therefore is not too concerned about Peter Wickhamโ€™s rantings .He has been on this topic for a long time because he feels threatened that his livelihood could be affected as he works across the Caribbean as a pollster.
    I support you David that painting Barbadians as xenophobic is a wicked act. Most of the persons on this blog who support every thing negative about Barbados have found nothing wrong with Shridath Ramphal
    Why are we being single out as Xenophobic? Are Jamaicans and Bahamians not xenophobic in not wanting the Haitians there?
    Barbadians have proven that they are the most tolerant of all Caribbean persons.
    I have been to most Caribbean countries and have ample proof of that.

32. I think David is peeved because Peter Wickham can call us names on the public airwaves, but we the taxpayers cannot speak freely about immigration, the influx of indo guyanese, the racial divide in Guyana and a number of other issues without being told to change subject, or to be cut off all together. What is good for Peter Wickham must be allowed for other Barbadians. It is no wonder to me why Shridath and Ricky Singh can dismiss calls for Shridath to apologize by refering us to what is said and written by people like Wickham and the editorial staff of a regional newspaper masquarading as a local one. The fairness of who get to exercise freedom of speech is at issue here.

33. David,
    You got some licks earlier on; I thought no one was coming to your rescue.

I totally agree with you.

Free speech is one thing; but when a public personality (TV anchor) uses the that medium to vocalize his PERSONAL opinio, that is hitting below the belt and in a way, unprofessional.

The matter is extra sensitive; and unless on is interjecting empirical fact, one does not have the right to try to sway the minds via the public electronic medium.

It reminds me of Lionel Craigg when he used to host the call-in program on the radio – ultra biased.

Carry one David; Facts is behind you!

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

While I am sure that many of you can deal with Jamaican patois, I wont over burden you with it unless I feel provoked to do so. If you have not read it I’m sure you’ll enjoy Peter’s commentary in today’s Nation (“Ethnic cleansing nonsense”), which I cannot find online. He seems mericless in his criticism of the Nation for its careless that contributed much to the initial firestorm.

I also recommend the piece “Growing trend”, with Sen. Walters comments about the risks of work permit applications for non-nationals. He mentions but does not develop a wider problem: Barbadians unwillingness to fill jobs available, preferring to ‘specify’ the work they wish to do. In a recessionary environment, with rising job losses, I find such a position very curious for people who supposedly truly want to work.

35. Peter Wickham himself is xenophobic.
    Bajans as a society has to call a spade a spade. These comments are not only in relation to the foreign policy but in relation to other closet topics that Mr.Wickham himself wants the bajan public to widely accept. NO. We are taking a stance

36. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“@LIB Sorry but we have not been able to find a translator.”[You do not need one for the core questions, which if I could be so immodest, were framed in very clear English. You are dodging the questions. If you cannot say what you find nasty how can we deal with your arguments? You may need rescuing, in truth.

37. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

For those calling ‘foul’ about Peter saying his piece and their not having the chance to say theirs, I say you must truly be in the land of the unseeing. This blog has a potential spread instanteously that is world wide. CBC’s radio broadcasts may go as far, if listened to on the Internet. So, at worst you are dead even.

Mr Wickham does not spend his days repeatedly spouting his views. Many commentators do just that. So, that seems like at least an numerical edge.

Mr Wickham may actually deal with some criticism or suppositions about popular support and mount a survey. If his findings support his views, then what will be the reaction? I know. The answer is obvious.

Let’s thank Orwell for “Four legs good. Two legs bad.”

38. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Fair Play
    “Are Jamaicans and Bahamians not xenophobic in not wanting the Haitians there?”[Yes. Bahamians say so all the time, and are trying various ways to stem the inflow, restrict the rights of those who are there already, including the nationality rights of their offspring. Jamaicans were very xenophobic to Haitians when they were first fleeing to the island.]
    “Barbadians have proven that they are the most tolerant of all Caribbean persons”[Proven? How so?]

39. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Anon
    “Bajans as a society has to call a spade a spade”[It seems not. Bajans do not want to be called ‘xenophobes’ even in the face of clear acts or comments that are xenophobic. They seem to treat it as a personal slur, rather than an accurate description, that is widely shared around the world–even natural. One commentator on the Race thread, ROK, wrote the following on Aug. 10 “To love and prefer your own race is as natural as a tiger preferring the company of a tiger and not that of a horse.They have things in common”. It seems that if the spade is a Bajan spade then it is not to be called a spade.

I think you may need to have an internal team meeting to get your positions agreed.]

40. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

People seem to be having problems dealing with some truths. Let’s agree a definition, first (I like Webster’s as source), so xenophobia is ‘fear and hatred of strangers or foreigners or of anything that is strange or foreign’.

Xenophobia is not a crime, either nationally or internationally, as far as I know.

It may not be the nicest of human traits, but it is very common, and some would say quite natural and normal.

But, it has consequences, and it has its degrees. Some may be so xenophobic that they need to live in isolation for fear of contact with strange persons or things. Some may be so xenophobic that they feel the need to destroy the strange persons or things. And so on.

So, my suggestion would be to not fight being labelled xenophobic–you’re in good company. But perhaps argue simply that you are just like the rest of the world or perhaps less or more xenophobic than some or may. I really don’t know on that score where Barbados/Bajans stand.

On casual observation but with a lot of support. Bajans seem to like the English a lot, and to near same degree Canadians.

They seem to have some severe issues with certain groups of Indo-Asians (judging from this blog, but also from other evidence).

They seem to have a dislike for a number of other black nationalities, especially from elsewhere in the Caribbean, and Jamaicans seem high on that list, but also others to a degree I find hard to judge.

I’m not sure really about the feelings when it comes to people of different religions (there are synagogues and mosques here and I have not heard of descecration or attacks on Jews or Muslims, but I have heard very uncomplimentary remarks in public areas).

I hope that is not too much intellectualising on the topic.

41. Since the first quarter of 2008, thousands upon thousands of Barbadian workers have been losing their jobs, many small and medium sized businesses have been closing down, and many other businesses and enterprises downsizing primarily as a result of the present DLP Government and the former BLP Government’s gross and reckless mismanagement of the material productive and financial affairs of this country.

And, many of the victims of the mal-effects of this monumental governmental maladministration and incompetence are indeed seriously crying out for help as the reality of eking out a living and doing business in Barbados becomes more and more horrible on a daily basis in this country.

Well, from since the start of this year we have been getting a deluge of complaints from Barbadians and non-nationals alike – males, females, young, old, workers, business people, etc., registering entire dissatisfaction with the way how this country has been run by both DLP and BLP.

Many have been frantically complaining to our party and its leader, Mr. Mark Adamson, about how they have been laid off since late last year or since earlier in the year, and how no matter how they look around for work, they cant find work at all.

And, many of these persons who have been laid off are really in a panic mode not knowing where or who to turn for relief from these persistent troubles, with almost all of these persons having lost much hope for a better future in this country under both DLP and BLP.

Also, many business people have been telling us how they have had to send home staff and close down their businesses, or how they have had to reduce the work hours of their staff – very much because of higher operating and debt costs, particularly, and very much because of the mal effects of the mismanagement of the so-called economic and financial affairs of this country by both DLP and BLP, generally. One small business person in particular told our leader how he had to send home staff, close down his business, and then along with his spouse take a much needed boat cruise in the region.

Moreover, we are now being told by the average person in Barbados about how living conditions for them have been getting so unbearably difficult that, in the case of a few of these suffering Barbadian peoples, they are really thinking about leaving Barbados to go overseas to look for better; and in the case of many, many non-nationals, they are forthrightly saying to us that they are thinking about going back home where living would be easier for them.

And, too, we have heard a good many of these persons complaining about their rent bills being too much for them to bear in these circumstances, and how they have got to go back home to their parents and live. Talk about tragic circumstances!!

And, we cannot fail to make mention of the fact that many of those persons, who have been bitterly complaining, esp. those who are male and female single parents, with homes to run and mouths to feed and who are out of work or who are on three and four day work weeks, and who have been the ones to firmly criticize the DLP and the BLP – have also been telling us about the fact that they have been dastardly deceived by both DLP and BLP, and that how because things have got so unexpectedly financially and materially worse for them since last year in this country, how they would NOT AT ALL be casting any votes in the next election for the DLP or the BLP.

And, we empathize dearly with those parents and guardians who have children to send back into school in September. Many of these parents and guardians are grumbling about how very expensive school books, school uniforms and shoes, bags and other school materials are in this country. Yet, this wicked DLP government continues to waste so much money – much of which it has been wickedly stealing from the relevant us via TAXATION in the first place – on unnecessary and frivolous matters.

Only yesterday we struggled to convince a youngster about the other substantial alternatives that are available and that are far removed from the dangers of perpetrating criminal violence against anyone in a context whereby opportunities for a better living for the broad masses and middle classes are becoming harder and harder on a daily basis in a Barbados that is in a so-called political economic depression that itself could have been avoided if some other people centered developmentalist parties with the “right” and progressive policies were in office today.

Finally , we say to those who are the most able and most cognitive of victims of DLP and BLP governmental incompetence: to get up off their backsides and do the honorable thing – to at all costs campaign for and secure the democratic removal of these two treacherous malevolent parties from the parliament of this country. For, it is the country’s future that largely depend on them!!

42. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Adriabn Hinds
    “I agree with anon. Peter Wickham is criticizing his fellow Barbadians, he had not gone into another country and seek to do the same.”[Wickham needs not go on some international jaunt. He knows xenophobia exists abroad. He also believes it exists in Barbados. Finding it elsewhere does not negate it here. Like sine flu, if you have it, are you going to feel happy to see that other countries have it or deal with your cases at home?]

43. @LIB

When BU shares and opinion it is one we are always prepared to defend don’t intimate to the contrary. You know our distaste for semantics.

44. Everybody is quick to jump on the “I believe in freedom of speech” bandwagon in the fear that doing otherwise will label them as backward or dictatorial, but in the real world, there are limits. I trust I can speak for the majority of the BU family when I say:

Freedom of speech allows opinion, but it does not encompass, sedition, libel, treason or LIES. Wickham has the right to express an opinion and most would agree if he says that SOME Barbadians are xenophobic, but to make a blanket statement that Barbadians ARE xenophobic is not telling the TRUTH and here he removes himself from the protection of “freedom of speech”. He cannot be free to tell a lie, especially one such as this which has the potential to inflame regional passions against Barbados and which may, at a small stretch, be called traitorous.

Wickham’s agenda is clearly to protect his interests as a regional pollster.

45. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“When BU shares and opinion it is one we are always prepared to defend donโ€™t intimate to the contrary. You know our distaste for semantics”[I’ve said before, discussion without semantics is meaningless. Your preparedness to defend your opinion now stands awaiting your defence or clarification of “nasty”. You must understand something by it and expect us to take something from it. If not, then why spend time over “intimations” and connected words?]

46. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I’ll make you an offer. You can deal with “nasty” and “nice” off the thread by e-mail. I promise that I will not expose your answer. I will just use it to better understand. Others may not like that, but there you have an out.

47. @David:
    No translation needed. no interest assumed.

…..I did not suggest or say that Peter needs to go on an international jaunt. Again what I said is that Shridath should follow Peters lead and speak to things in Guyana.

No problem on my part with Peter calling Bajans xenophobes, Since he likes to call others names, I just want the opportunity in the same media to call him few, to speak my concerns about immigration, to debate race, and specific cases of racism as they occur in Barbados.

48. @LIB

Nasty was used to mean referencing Peter’s position unpatriotic. Many Barbadians who repeat ‘ I pledge allegiance to my country Barbados and to my flag…understands our drift.

49. David, you will be a fool to deal with LIB via email. You have seen what he is capable of with his own friends. Not to be trusted.

50. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Thanks for that clarification. Pity it was so hard to come forth. I take it that ‘nice’ is merely the opposite. You samy ‘many’ not some, or most, or all. Do you want to give an idea of how many?

I will be on Bernanke/FOMC watch from 10am, but will follow along.

I trust you do not feel the need for ‘minders’.