Peter Wickham

The controversial Peter Wickham is at it again. He continues to use the studios of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), a media house which is subsidized by the taxpayers of Barbados to propagate the messageย  Barbadians are xenophobic.

BU has identified in previous blogs the great irony concerning Peter Wickham. He uses quantitative techniques and analysis in his line of work as a leading pollster in the region. Yet without hesitation he continues to bellow across the national airwave his opinion that Barbadians are xenophobic.

In the same way Peter Wickham agrees Shridath Ramphal crossed the line when he used his now infamous intimation of ethnic cleansing reference to Barbadosโ€™ new immigration policy, so too Wickham shoulders a similar responsibility.ย  He needs to be more guarded when sharing his opinions given his prominent regional profile as a leading regional pollster. He should be sensitive to the fact his profession relies on the use of quantitative analysis and decision making.

BU gives credit to Margaret Gill who we think is a UWI lecturer in history. She was the last caller to his show today and severely rapped him on the knuckles for the loose talk he has engaged referencing Bajans as xenophobic. Clearly Peter Wickham has demonstrated great insensitivity by loudly sharing his opinion given the prevailing concerns about immigration matters, especially as it related to the growing ethnic population.

We respect Peterโ€™s right to vocalize on issues as he sees fit but to label Barbadians xenophobic is highly subjective and injudicious behaviour at this time. He must be aware that traces of xenophobia can be found in any country, sometimes nationalistic behaviour maybe construed as such.

The recent change in government has seen Wickham rejuvenate his career as a social commentator on the CBC network. He is now easily the leading talk show personality in Barbados. Peter is intelligent to know to whom much is given much is expected.

200 responses to “Peter Wickham Should Apologize To All Barbadians”

1. “Drink a good bajan rum and donโ€™t be so tightarsed.”
    spoken by: Sea Cat
    Sea Cat // August 12, 2009 at 4:56 PM

Well the Plumber might have to say sain(something) bout dah yeh !

2. PB // August 12, 2009 at 3:23 PM

Wunna know Peter Wickham is โ€˜marriedโ€™ to a man and the evidence is there to prove it. He should be sent to Jamaica, then he could talk (if he lives!)about about homophobia instaed of xenophobia.

spoken by PB
    PB // August 12, 2009 at 3:23 PM

JAMAICA has more homosexuals than Barbados. The Police Force in Jamaica it has been reported has a big problem with the many homos in the Force. So if you looking to punish the man, you get tricked cause yuh now put the man in his briar patch.

3. David, “Barbados is still a democracy” to quote our esteemed Prime Minister. LIB has his blog site, you have yours. Express yourself, man. As the PM said, “there are those who should know better! but…”

Ramphal was involved in the destruction of Guyanese democracy. Ricky Singh is a PPP racist. Wickham got fired from UWI politics department for intellectual weakness – his thesis on Caribbean Integration was piss poor.

Does that help you? What we really arguing bout, nuh?

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@The Scout
    “Arrogant people like peter Wickham I ignore. I have made a concerted effort not to listen and call any call-in programme he is hosting. If the caller does not agree with him, he either tries to belittle the individual and talks over the callerโ€™s comtribution or have them cut off.”[I can’t quite remember, but I recall this kind of thing going on elsewhere very recently–on the Internet, I saw it. I’ll try my best to remember soon.

5. So Barbadians are xenophobic? Good to see that the house negro spirit still resides in sunny Barbados. Why would a Bajan national incriminate his own countrymen/women? Are some Bajans xenophobic? Listen your average Bajan, probably, has never heard this word spoken and probably would not be able to spell it.
    Nobody has asked the question: does Peter Wickham know what the word Xenophobic means and when it should it be employed.
    Do not waste your precious time berating this unfortunate wretched soul. Heโ€™s probably been paid by somebody or has converted to the religious order called the Church of Uncle Thomas. Remember him in your prayers. God bless.

6. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Some of you may wish to cast your minds back 18 months or so, to when the local papers gave true recognition to the local blogs. Here’s a refresher, http://livinginbarbados.blogspot.com/2008/01/blogging-local-press-takes-note.html. Has this blog advanced, regressed, or stood still. Has it turned out to be closer to the actual newspapers or RADICALLY different in how they operate and what they do. Is sensationalism necessary to maintain readership?

7. In the book โ€œDarwin and International Relationsโ€ by Bradley A. Thayer expresses the roots of Xenophobia using evolutionary theory and ethnic conflict as barometers to explain a phenomena which is intrinsically apart of emerging nations and societies.

This is also relevant to the parallel post on Rwandan genocide…

Darwin (who I believe is responsible for much of the evil in our world) argues that in Pliocene, Pleistocene, and Holocene conditions in which humans evolved, strangers were unlikely to be related to others living nearby and were likely to be competitors for scarce resources and perhaps a threat to the group.

Competition for territory and scarce resources seemed to be the central plank of phobia in humansโ€ฆ

Xenophobia is presented as a descriptive concept of a socially observable phenomenon.

Historical and contemporary expressions of xenophobia in the Caribbean can be examined and compared with cross-cultural scholarship on negative attitudes toward immigrants.

Study is needed to explore the sociological, social psychological and multicultural research to examine the causes of negative attitudes toward immigrants providing suggestions for how social psychologists can integrate an understanding of xenophobia into their practice, training, research, and public policy advocacy.

To avert internal social strife and social mayhem, proper education, mutual understanding and respect coupled with solid public policy on the part of governments is critical.

Anything else is a recipe for what we saw in Rwanda…

8. X-man,
    Listen your average Bajan, probably, has never heard this word spoken and probably would not be able to spell it.
    ++++++++++++++++++
    So if he cant spell unemployment he can keep his job?

9. Terence M. Blackett // August 12, 2009 at 7:00 PM
    If Competition for territory and scarce resources seemed to be the central plank of phobia in humansโ€ฆ would that not make Xenophobia more likely where this applies? 166 sq miles. Very high population density, look at world atlas http://www.worldatlas.com/aatlas/populations/ctydensityh.htm

10. @ David
    “If LIBโ€™s arguments are weak expose them. Isnโ€™t that the honourable approach?”

Man D, wisdom is a funny thing, and I don’t mean funny as in ha ha…

You see LIB, Peter Wickham, Dr Don and now the wanna-be-Dr Brathwaite, these are all examples of persons driven by the need to be ‘somebody’.

Their methodology is well documented…. Sir Hilary, Frank Alleyne and many others- used it make their name….

The plan:-Become so opinionated, controversial, and ‘up-front’, that Bajans come to think that you have some special talents…..

….by the time we find out that they are everyday idiots, they already have their ‘Sir’; sit on 50 boards; or they running a major national organisation (into the ground).

Where these modern wannabes have miscalculated is that they do not really understand the power of the BLOG….. On BU no one cares who you are… if you’re talking $hite, you will be flushed.
    ..and if you are only talking because you have to say something (like LIB), you will become a laughing stock….even if you occasionally have good points (as anyone with google can do)

So David, exposing LIB is not about exposing his arguments or his bragging about how many languages he speak, how many countries he lived in, or how many jobs he held…. It is about exposing his scheme to come here and scam Bajans with his male bovine excrement…(which used to baffle brains)

I put it to you that if he really wanted to make a contribution, he would first offer his expertise to his countrymen who are in much greater need than us Bajans. ….but then again, maybe his own flesh and blood have little to offer LIB in return….. and therein lies the test.

…….so will you tell ‘e now David?? …as a gentleman you could put it nicely and suggest that he concentrate on his own blog and hint that we will check in on him from time to time (ha ha LOL LMAO).
    …or why not just let me or Bimbro tell him to F’ off….’cause Bonny done give me power of attorney for BU, (LOL)

11. @Terence M. Blackett
    If you are an educationalist; or a member of a government think-tank; or even worse a member of this soi-disant government. I beg you, please step down. Bajans are tired of outside theories that are not applicable to Barbados. What they require are visionary pragmatists who will serve their country men/women with distinction and honour.

12. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bush Tea // August 12, 2009 at 7:33 PM
    “You see LIB, Peter Wickham, Dr Don and now the wanna-be-Dr Brathwaite, these are all examples of persons driven by the need to be โ€™somebodyโ€™”[Maybe having your contentions challenged is new. I have been somebody already–several times over. I remain somebody, in a different arena, and with the leisure to enjoy doing it in my own way. Most recently, try being an Ambassador-equivalent for 3-4 years…Is yours the voice of a wannabee, a has been, a never was?]

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

If I closed my blog could I come and play here? Such strange logic. Because I have my own house I don’t visit other people’s? That could explain why neighbours dont talk.

Why do you need to ask David’s permission to do things (“โ€ฆor why not just let me or Bimbro tell him to Fโ€™ offโ€ฆ.โ€™cause Bonny done give me power of attorney for BU, (LOL)”)?

14. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

What I find truly amazing is that people supposedly from the country ranked highest on the human development index among developing countries aspire to remain low down, despise any sense that others have improved. I’ve thought about this for a few days, because it holds keys for whether this economy/country really has a hope of getting out of the recession.

That’s one reason why I am tending to discount what I read here, because it does not make sense.

15. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Work through the logic. High literacy was core to country’s post independence success. Current sentiment that those who have high educational achievements are to be despised (or similar). Discourage children to go high on education. Educational levels drop. Country produces people less capable of finding work. (This is similar to the vicious cycle of some chronic poor. But Barbados starts from position of relative wealth.) What has gone wrong? Have I missed the point?

Recall the Minister of Education/PS expressing recent concerns about declining literacy levels? Recall also comments in the press (I think) about the decline in language abilities that seems associated with this trend.

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Looking at Bush Tea’s remarks again, “It is about exposing his scheme to come here and scam Bajans with his male bovine excrementโ€ฆ(which used to baffle brains)” How does one scam someone from whom one only buys goods or services? I can postulate some ways, but that would not be as educational. Empty rhetoric always just rings hollow.

17. @LIB

We have had this discussion already.
    Barbadians talk when confronted with challenges, we talk and talk and then we act.
    It is our way, it is our culture and of course there is room for tweaking the process.
    The BU constituency is an interesting group.
    Their philosophies straddle the extremes.

18. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Indeed we have. But, my concerns are that however you cut it, the ‘voices’ are really few.

I have not added up all the handles but I cannot get it to be 1% of population, not even 0.1% if I were to be generous, hence my also saying there is a credibility issue. I cannot discuss how such a small group can straddle extremes.

I would not dispute that anyone is interesting. That’s God’s gift.

My contact with people (and it is not always direct, as one can hear many conversations without being in them) gives me a different picture. So, I have to reconcile that difference.

19. @LIB
    What are you doing? Feeding your ego? What’s your traffic like?

20. @LIB

A couple flaws in your assumption. Not all to BU chose to comment but the numbers continue to grow, as a statistician what inference would you make?

21. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I dont really care about traffic–certain figures are on the site. AH seems to track such things and reported numbers similar for LIB, BU and BFP. But as I said, blogging is not a pageant contest for me, nor is it a money earner. It’s an ideas pad.

22. At the end of the day LIB is but a Jamaican. Treat to him as such. I tekking MUBB advice. When someone is talking a lot and actually saying nothing, then there is no need to respond. But before I finish wid him I am very committed to causing a little confusion in his life. ha ha lol!

23. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“A couple flaws in your assumption. Not all to BU chose to comment but the numbers continue to grow, as a statistician what inference would you make?”[Lindsay or Peter [being a pollster] may take a different view, but I would say that the sample is far too small to make inferences.]

Your ‘interesting audience’ (taking ROK’s recent comment) seem to be very focused on traffic, which is odd for commentators. It’s the view one would expect of a stakeholder, not a consumer.

24. @LIB

Link popularity is one measure there are several depending on the objective the idea is to monitor those indicators which fit the objective of the blog.

On the other matter that’s your opinion and we rest.

25. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    Logic is really very simple. When people comment a lot about things they say are nothing at all, they merely prove their statement to be null. Why validate nothing with something?

So you say “When someone is talking a lot and actually saying nothing, then there is no need to respond” yet feel compelled to reply.

26. Bush Tea // August 12, 2009 at 7:33 PM. I couldnt agree with you more. Peter Wickham was an advocate for the firing of all nurses who didnt want to join the QEH Board and after there was a shortage, an equally aggressive advocate for the nurses from Africa and Phillipines . He was and is so myopic, he couldnt see that those nurses were using Bdos as a stepping stone to go to USA. He has refused to accept that he was wrong instead citing cases about what happened in T&T. The solution was enrolling more nurses into BCC!

He also wanted BLP through Mia to pass legislation allowing gays to marry although the majority of people in Democratic and predominantly Christian Bdos rejected it. I guess he knows more about political suicide than political statistics.

27. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

David, “Link popularity is one measure there are several depending on the objective the idea is to monitor those indicators which fit the objective of the blog.” is hard to follow without punctuation. I think there are 3 sentences. Correct?

28. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

How do people use Barbados as a stepping stone to the USA? The visa requirement is the same from here, and there is no land border to skip. Nigerians would stand a better chance from the UK. If that were true one would expect to see a lot more ‘suspicious’ nationalities transitting the country, given its hub status.

29. Sorry LIB but we have confidence you will figure it out if you try ๐Ÿ™‚

30. Peter Wickham confessed that he did not know why a plumber or carpenter was paid less wages in comparison to a Prime Minister when both of them are equally needed. Peter I only have 4 CXC certificates and I know the two factors which influence pay are:1. Uniqeness of skill 2.Demand for the skill.

Last week he was advocating people should only eat fish and no other meats. He thinks he can now live peoples’ lives!I think if we lived in Peter’s world we would be a bunch of opinionated fruitcakes.

I know all my posts are directed to him but I was waiting patiently on him to falter. I cant attack him on 100.7 because he would cut me so i will blog. I am waiting on Hilary Beckles also.

31. LIB The Filipino nurses used Bdos to have experience in an English-speaking country. None of them intended to stay here. i work at the QEH so I know. Nothing is wrong with them bettering themselves by whatever means but we should not be so myopic to think it was the solution.

32. David the Jamaican LIB is not to be trusted. He seeks to dismiss any interest site traffic and statistics, yet at ever turn he is filling BU with links to his blog. The most popular way to ultimately drive traffic to your site is to have as many links on other sites to it. Once your popularity ratings are high all the big search engines will list your pages in high order on what ever word or subject ect that you associated it with. Companies and individuals will check for and seek to advertise on the most popular sites out there. Typicla behaviour of today’s Jamaicans and guyanese, cukoo birds all. lol! Just so you know.

33. @PB
    Continue please I am listening. lol!

34. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@AH
    You know how much I dislike and distruct exaggeration (“yet at ever turn he is filling BU with links to his blog”) Really. Surely, it would only matter if people thought it worth their while visiting. Which if there is nothing of interest would mean no visits.

I may be back in the US much sooner than even I expected, so if a university slot is what is next, Boston, despite its harsher weather, is of course very tempting.

You seem so knowledgeable about the trafficking business, almost like a marketing manager.

But why would people want to advertise on sites that have nothing of interest? Just for sheer volume? Cuckoo logic is there somewhere.

35. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@PB
    “The Filipino nurses used Bdos to have experience in an English-speaking country.” But that does not give access to the US, which has no language test. They still need visas–which are discretionary–and I do not see how being in Barbados accelerates that process. I wont even begin to figure out why someone would travel from south east Asia to the Caribbean for English language experience, when they have Australia at hand, England closer too. In fact, why bother with the US when they have Australia?

36. David I am telling you LIB is excited about link popularity, and checks is site stats very regularly. The more links the more likely that his site will be vying for number one spot for anything Bajan. In the hands of a Jamaican that is not going to be a good thing. But I am going to deal with his site. ha ha ha lol!

@ESSO:
    Give us the details about Peter and UWI.

37. Peter Wickham Should Apologize To All Barbadians :

To all:
    Please stick to the subject.

38. The point I am driving at is that the impasse cannot and should not be seen in a narrow player vs. management terms. To do so is to arrive at narrow conclusions which apportion blame and create a situation of guilt and innocence which is unhelpful to the mediation process. This is not to say that that there is not enough blame to share around. But it’s this inflexibility that doomed the Federation five decades ago and drowned the Grenadian revolution in blood two decades later.
    DAVE HINDS.

http://www.guyanacaribbeanpolitics.com/commentary/hinds.html

We are going to bury Norman Girvan, Shridath Ramphal, Ricky Singh and other socialist/commies before they see the results of any force freedom of movement for all. Not in your lifetime.

39. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

What I have figured out from you is: “the [BU] numbers continue to grow…”; “Link popularity is one measure…”; and “the most popular way to ultimately drive traffic to your site is to have as many links on other sites to it. Once your popularity ratings are high all the big search engines will list your pages in high order on what ever word or subject ect that you associated it with. Companies and individuals will check for and seek to advertise on the most popular sites out there.” (courtesy of AH).

I can rest with that.

40. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

@X-MAN
    The discussion on blog traffic is relevant: it goes to how widely opinion can be spread; in this case an opinion counter to that Mr. Wickham espoused.

The discussion on nurses is also relevant if one is considering xenophobia (Filipinos and Nigerians are very different from Barbadians in many ways, yet they were sought to work in local hospitals).

41. @LIB
    “But that does not give access to the US, which has no language test. They still need visasโ€“which are discretionaryโ€“and I do not see how being in Barbados accelerates that process.”

I see you still have a lot to learn.

42. @LIB
    “The discussion on blog traffic is relevant: it goes to how widely opinion can be spread…”

You really have a stake in blog traffic, don’t you? We have a saying in Barbados about the higher a monkey climb.

43. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK
    If you are implying circumvention in some way, then Barbados would tend to be lower on the list of points from which to try–the Bahamas, on the other hand…. Though, maybe the nurses were fine swimmers, or like pig, could fly.

44. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@ROK,
    Actually, I dont have an interest in traffic. If I did then surely I would not write so that people would write comments such as “Dull”, “Still dull”.

I had when I first started if only to see how things like Adsense worked. But you can scour the site and see that it has few links. It was AH who brought this to my attention.

Again, like black-white and cryptic not sitting together, dumb and smart dont.

45. X-MAN i agree with you.

Peter Wickham is attempting to pick up and move on with his “pro-integration” stance without having to fully address what is clear to all who reads his Accident by Birth 1 and 2 articles. How can we move forward with freedom of movement with the intractability of the Afro and Indic ethnicities in Guyana and Trinidad at full blown stage?

@David that is one way. The other and most incisive approach is to use an email list. Trust me BU is ahead of the game. More people know of this site and as a result more people read this site than any other bajan blog. I will be encouraging others to drop LIB since it is not a Bajan blog. lol!

46. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David, maybe fitting for a last comment. I would have no objection to your removing links to my blog from yours. You should let me know if you wish yours to be removed from mine.

47. @LIB
    “I would have no objection to your removing links to my blog from yours. You should let me know if you wish yours to be removed from mine.”

Man, you real powerful.

48. What I find truly amazing is that people supposedly from the country ranked highest on the human development index among developing countries aspire to remain low down, despise any sense that others have improved. Iโ€™ve thought about this for a few days, because it holds keys for whether this economy/country really has a hope of getting out of the recession.
    _________

Translation: You damned Bajans need to be punished for your success. We despise your arrogance which is based on the parable of the foolish and wise virgins. Barbados was given few talents but made the best of them and we (LIB and other inquirers) hate you for it.

And we hope you suffer like Jamaica (that great nation of social and economic failure) and Trinidad (ditto) because you don’t deserve your success!

Why don’t you say what you mean LIB?

What you might find is that you are whistling in the wind. Barbados has a quiet and sure way of battling the odds. And it will happen again!

49. @LIB
    “Barbados would tend to be lower on the list of points from which to try…”

Does that nullify Barbados? I know for myself that many West Africans trying to get to Barbados. They used to bombard me everyday and I know they were bombarding more Bajans.

I received a message from one of my friends quite recently asking advice on an African man who wants to come to Barbados.

They know the bureaucratic routes to get here too. An invitation sent on their behalf to the Ministry of Tourism. That is supposed to get them status as a tourist.

Whether they imagine better through Barbados or not, Africans from Ghana, Kenya and Nigeria especially are trying to get to Barbados. Because of that fact, your logic don’t hold water…

So let us suppose that a person from another country is here in Barbados living and working and applies for a visa to take a vacation in the USA, maybe it will be easier for them as opposed to a native Barbadian?

And suppose when they get to the USA they are able to scout for a job and find one, then it is only a matter of returning to Barbados and prepare to return to the USA as a worker.

50. Peter Wickham is a GENIUS !

He will always be remembered in Barbados for his 20/10 vision in 2008 !!

What we as Barbadians should be paying more attention to…..is the statements of Sir Charles Williams !!

After all the contracts from the Gov’t of Barbados……he now talking ’bout LAY OFFS !

Oh HOLY…COW !