Submitted by Rickford Burke, Former Special Assistant to the Leader of the PNCR

The Tuesday, July 28, 2009 edition of both the Stabroek and Kaieteur Newspapers reported Guyana’s Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee, to say that the fire which destroyed the Ministry of Health’s main building was well orchestrated by a ring of “intellectual authors, planners and actors”, all working within an established network.”

Mr. Rohee is more known for manifesting symptoms of “foot-in-mouth disease, than the display of intellectual prowess. His career highpoint came when he was Minister of Foreign Affairs. He was directed to cast a vote at the United Nations for the Commonwealth of Dominica- the sister Caricom country. But instead of voting for Dominica, Mr. Rohee ended up voting against his sister Caricom state and instead casted Guyana’s vote for the Spanish-speaking Dominican Republic – He had not known the difference between the Commonwealth of Dominica and the Dominican Republic.  The good news is that he is no longer the Minister of Foreign Affairs. The bad news is that he is now the Minister of Home Affairs and National Security

His challenges notwithstanding, even Mr. Rohee should know that the Guyanese nation is not oblivious to the blatant fact that the Ministries of Finance and Housing were mysteriously destroyed by fire simultaneously as calls were made for probes into alleged fraudulent activities at those agencies, and amidst serious scrutiny of questionable activities by their relevant political heads.

Guyana’s Minister of Health, Dr. Lesley Ramsammy, is currently embroiled is allegations that he has been in communication with confessed criminal Roger Khan, whose “phantom death squad” gang has killed hundreds of individuals in Guyana.  His name has come up in several US Law enforcement secretly tape-recorded telephone conversations, and it has been alleged in New York Federal Courts that Khan emissaries have met with Dr. Ramsammy in his Ministry of Health office.

Can Mr. Rohee say if documentation that could be corroborative evidence was destroyed in the fire? We do not yet know. What we do know however, is that Dr. Ramsammy has admitted being the last person to leave the Ministry before it was set ablaze.

My question to Clement Rohee is therefore who were the real “intellectual authors, planners and actors” of the fire at the Ministry of Health? And who were the “intellectual authors, planners and actors” of the fires which destroyed the Ministries of Finance and Housing? Were they one and the same, working within a singular, established network? Are there multiple networks? How and in what context did he conceptualize the terms  “intellectual authors” and “network,” and is there a psychological nexus with the latter concepts.

While we are on the topic of “intellectual authors, planners, actors and networks,” let me as the Minister of Home Affairs, who were the “intellectual authors, planners and actors” of the assassination of Ronald Waddell?  Who were the “intellectual authors, planners and actors” of the over extra-judicial killing of over 400 young Afro Guyanese by the “phantom death squad? Which was their network?

Mr. Rohee, who are the “intellectual authors, planners and actors” of the torture of Mark Benschop; GDF by soldiers Michael Dunn, Alvin Wilson and Sharth Robertson; David Leander aka `Biscuit,’ Patrick Sumner and Victor Jones; as well as Terrence McKenzie and Toney small? And who were the intellectual, planners and actors of the alleged murder of David Leander and  Edward Niles, both of whom were murdered while in the custody of the Guyana government?

Also, Mr. Rohee, who were the “intellectual authors, planners and actors” of the mass murders of 1964 and the burning of the various sugarcane fields across Guyana?

Unless Mr. Rohee can provide an exegesis of his “intellectual authors, planners, actors and network” theories, as well as name the “intellectual authors, planners and actors” of all of the criminal activities enumerated above, then the Guyanese people will reject his diatribe as circumlocution or creative erotica – designed to stimulate his fantasies.

1. COMMENT SUBMITTED BY OUR GUYANESE FAMILY MEMBER

A sinister plot is unfolding as the Jagdeo regime targets African Guyanese leaders for police harassment and frivolous accusations  . Former Chief Magistrate Juliet Holder Allen was also a member of the five man protest held in front of the Guyana Police Force HQ when Lincoln Lewis , Norris Witter and Mark Benshcop were arrested and thrown into The Brickdam Lock-ups. Archie Poole is a well known political activists and member of the African  cultural and Development Association and the Justice for  Jermaine group.

2. COMMENT SUBMITTED BY GUYANESE FAMILY MEMBER

Please see below the unfolding of truth in the US court trial of Guyanese drug Lord Roger Khan  ,Ministers of the Jagdeo government implicated. Roger Khan first became public when himself and corrupt members of the GPF were held on the East Coast Demerara with a spy equipment capable of triangulating telephone calls . During the crime spree and following the escape of prisoners many young black men were brutally murdered, went missing and kidnapped and tortured. Many prominent Indian businessmen and their families were murdered and kidnapped. Many policemen and Officers were also murdered. The source of wealth  of many of these were questionable and so were their associations. With the drug trade rampant in Guyana and with no effective policing or financial monitoring systems many of these business men were believed to be fronting or laundering profits from the narco trade that Khan and others were controlling as he eliminated rivals for greater control. Government  is believed to have benefited from individual wealth as well as monies to support certain programs. They also benefited from the promotion of racial tension and sought to politicise the crime instead of attack it from its roots.

Many believe that Khan hired many levels of mercenaries, informants   and others whom he used then ordered their execution to keep them silent..

3. A US state witness/informant in Court case implicating Guyana government Minister of alleged state sanctioned killings in association with drug kingpin…this one straight out of the movies.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/news/local/07/29/roger-khan-ordered-waddell-killing/

4. If what is coming out of guyana is really true I think Guyana should be suspened from Caricom and get its house in order.Until then Guyana should be declared a fail state literally.

5. zion 1071
    I have been calling for that for almost two weeks. We have not seenanything yet, the worse is yet to come. To make matters even worse, Jagdeo is now the Chairman of Caricom, so this is going to be a poor reflection, not only on guyana but the entire Caricom region. Through all of this Caricom leaders are silent on the matter. In fact they meet over the coming weekend and I guarantee you that NONE of them will be bold enough to raise the subject.

6. I agree scout.

7. No group has any obligation to recognize the authority of a political Government that conspired with criminal killers to lynch its young men. That is genocide.

The US Government did not simply take Vaugn’s story and put him on the stand. They would have run him through a lie detector to verify his claims.

Bharrat Jagdeo is a pathological liar. There is nothing that comes out of this man’s mouth, and I use that gender description broadly, that should be believed by anyone of sound mind and discretion. He is denying this when a couple of days ago a blackman was kidnapped and tortured and the State has done nothing to ferret out his assailants.

Time for the Government to resign

July 30, 2009 | By KNews |

Filed Under Features / Columnists, Freddie Kissoon

There is no government in the traditional democratic waters of the Western hemisphere that should be allowed to continue to govern a nation based on what is taking place in a Manhattan courtroom right now. My mind was made up a long time ago. I can cite several of my colleagues whose minds have been made up a long time ago – we knew Roger Khan was invented as a princely figure in Guyana by very powerful ruling elites. We know about this connection long before the drama now being played out in New York.

I remind readers of my response to a question by Mrs. Stella Ramsaroop when she was a columnist for KN. She castigated me for avoiding the Roger Khan saga. She asked what I thought of Mr. Khan’s activities. Among the answer I offered was that if he was not removed from his protected power-base, he would have sought to silence people like me, similar commentators and the private media. This is a perspective I hold to this day. As the PPP Government sank deeper into the ocean of scandals and incompetence, and as the private media brought the exposures to the public’s awareness, Khan would have acted.

The advantage Khan served the Government of Guyana is that forensic science would have cleared the state security forces of implications in the murders of critics because Khan’s army with their untraceable weapons would have offered cover for the rogue elements in the police and army.
    Why get the state security to kill people and become implicated because of scientific evidence when a private army can do that? No one then can blame the Government. When Khan was arrested, a huge fulcrum of governmental power disappeared. To kill people that they don’t like, the political elites would have had to invent another drug lord or hire a mercenary band. But it is doubtful that they would have risked direct involvement of state security

It looks quite likely that this Government will fall if Roger Khan cites its key personnel as being instrumental in the working of his empire in Guyana. But the question that needs to be asked is if what we have seen so far in the trial of Simels is sufficient to demand the resignation of the Guyana Government? My answer is yes. In the coming days, the eyes of every citizen of this humiliated, destitute and tragic country must be on the eyes of the opposition parties, every one of them, in and out of Parliament and the major stakeholders. They must refuse to have any relationship with the party in power, the Government itself and the Parliament.

No Government should survive what a confessed killer told a New York courtroom this week. This man said that he was part of a group that participated in the killing of a defiant anti-government activist, Ronald Waddell. The Guyanese people should be reminded that at the time of his death, Mr. Waddell was not charged with any offence, not even petty larceny. If Mr. Khan knew that Waddell was part of violent Buxton activities why wasn’t he arrested? The confessed conspirator told the jury that he did not pull the trigger but he admitted to being an accessory to murder because he was part of the cabal that carried out the assassination.

He went further to outline a Shakespearian conspiracy of terror and darkness. He points a finger to a high-ranking Cabinet Minister. This columnist will repeat what he has written before on the Ramsammy debacle. I am not concerned with Dr. Ramsammy’s alleged inclusion in Khan’s terrorist activities. It is the wider picture that should be looked at. If there is proof that Ramsammy was the director, then on whose behalf was he acting?

I repeat what I wrote at the time when Khan agreed to cooperate with the district attorneys in the US – logical deduction would find that the most senior members of the Guyana Government had to know what Dr. Ramsammy was orchestrating, assuming that we believe that Ramsammy was a player in Khan’s deadly theatrics. Why would witnesses in the trial of a drug lord point an accusing finger to the Minister of Health and not the relevant power brokers? I put this question to Dr. Ramammy and he is yet to answer. We should not wait to read the confession statement of Roger Khan in September. As matters now stand, we are seeing the dirtiest manifestations of horror politics never before seen in the English-speaking Caribbean.

The Guyanese people should now decisively call upon CARICOM and the ABC countries for the resignation of the Government of Guyana. Nothing less would be acceptable.
    Sports

8. There is an interesting commentary today in the guyananewsobserver.org and kaieteurnewsonline.com written by Freddie Kissoon, entitled “Time for the Government to Resign”. Everyone should read the article.

9. Wait is this the same Jagdeo that is to lead the Caricao delegation that is to have discussions with the U.S President?
    Oh My God, That is pathetic, a total shame.
    how will the U.S look at all of us?

10. Overseas connections emerge in Health Ministry firebombing

— President slams diversion campaign
    ‘Those who started the fire have confessed…we know who made the devices; we know when they went to the building (the Health Ministry); two of them are claiming they were lookouts, but they went into the building, went through the door, started the fire in the building; we know about the people who recruited these others, how the recruitment took place…” – President Jagdeo

OVERSEAS connections have emerged in the widening probe into the firebombing of the Health Ministry’s base in Georgetown and investigators are following leads to people connected to a house in the city, President Bharrat Jagdeo said yesterday.

‘SLAMMING DIVERSION CAMPAIGN’: His Excellency President Bharrat Jagdeo during yesterday’s news conference.

He also came out strongly against what he said was a “very clever” and studied strategy supported by some sections of the media to divert attention away from the arson probe.

At a press conference in the Office of the President complex in Georgetown, Mr. Jagdeo said some of those charged in the case have identified a house in Meadowbrook, Georgetown that was the base for the July 17 pre-dawn firebomb attack on the Health Ministry headquarters on Brickdam.

He provided some details on the plot uncovered so far but declined to give names from a list of suspects he had at the briefing, saying, “…that’s not the end of it, because it goes up and it goes overseas – the connections; they are going to emerge as the investigations continue.”

He said some of those being investigated may be in the formal political system and others “may be associated with politics.”

The President said those who started the fire have confessed and through caution statements have painted the picture of the plot leading investigators to the persons who sold them gasoline, bottles and other material for the Molotov cocktails (channa bombs) used in the attack.

Investigators have also found the house in Meadowbrook where the bombs were made the night before the arson, he reported.

“We know who made the devices; we know when they went to the building (the Health Ministry); two of them are claiming they were lookouts, but they went into the building, went through the door, started the fire in the building; we know about the people who recruited these others, how the recruitment took place…”

Mr. Jagdeo said catching those responsible for the fire and condemning the arson as a reprehensible act have been shifted into the background and there’s a new, clever campaign emerging that is supported by some members of the media.

This, he charged, is designed to focus attention away from “this reprehensible act” and the loss it represents for the country to “so-called human rights issues”.

He referred to the editorial in yesterday’s Kaieteur News which he said found everything wrong about the $25M reward offered for information that could help the investigation, the operations of the security forces “but nothing about the people who committed this dastardly act.”

“This is disgusting but a very clever strategy”, he declared, adding that the aim is to blow up other issues to such an extent that the act and the people behind it are masked.

The President said a suspect in the case has been linked to a former Chief Magistrate who claims she is being discriminated against.

“But I see that as a preemptive strike because one of the so-called recruiters claims he’s her friend; she’s saying he’s family; he drove the vehicle to the Meadowbrook area where they were making the bombs that night”, he said.

Mr. Jagdeo added that the former Chief Magistrate was among others present when three men were arrested for protesting outside Police headquarters not long before the fire.

“…when you consider that… the former Chief Magistrate was one of those who was there also, then a picture of what took place starts emerging; but some sections of the media are not interested in that”, he said.

He charged that those behind the diversion campaign are trying to “make it look like the whole government is beating people on the streets and violating their human rights and all of that stuff” while ignoring the good part of the investigation.

“This is the kind of warped logic that we have in this country and it’s all a smokescreen painted deliberately so that people don’t see the real issue and the perpetrators and what’s happening”, he argued.

“It’s a campaign”, he stressed.

11. Gov’t will never sanction the murder of anyone -says President Jagdeo

“…this government never had any engagement with Roger Khan. We saw both groups as criminal enterprises – the group out of Buxton, as well as the Roger Khan outfit”
    By Priya Nauth

PRESIDENT Bharrat Jagdeo has insisted that his government will never sanction the killing of anyone or encourage or work with anyone to do this.

Speaking at a press conference yesterday at the Office of the President, Shiv Chanderpaul Drive, Georgetown, the President was responding to articles published in two of the daily newspapers yesterday which stated that controversial Guyanese drug-baron Roger Khan ordered the execution of journalist and political activist Ronald Waddell.

According to one of the reports (published in the Stabroek News), “An informant for the United States government confessed drug kingpin Roger Khan ordered the execution of political activist Ronald Waddell” who was killed in January 2006.

The newspaper also reported that Minister of Health Dr. Leslie Ramsammy was again mentioned as having contact with Khan.

Minister Ramsammy had earlier publicly labeled as ‘wild allegations’ information being peddled that he has possible criminal links to the controversial drug baron who is currently on trial for drug related offences in the US.

Speaking at the press conference, President Jagdeo repeated that from the very beginning, he told the Commissioner of Police Henry Greene that he has an obligation to investigate any breach of the laws.

“I said to him, write the US government because the police have said to me we cannot investigate based on newspaper reports,” Mr. Jagdeo stated.

He said he told the Commissioner that he should seek the help of the U.S. government and Greene subsequently wrote the U.S. government.

“He said to me after a while that he has received a letter from the Ambassador saying that they would have to await the conclusion of the case before they extend that help,” he stated.

“So we still expect that at some point in time the law enforcement agencies will be privy to all of the evidence that is being led in the U.S. courts,” he noted.

Alluding to allegations against Minister Ramsammy, the President said, “I spoke with Minister Ramsammy, I asked him, ‘were you connected in all of these issues that have been raised?’ Were you any part of this? He said to me he was not.”

He said he expected the minister to issue a specific statement dealing with all of the allegations made in the report yesterday.

“I expect him to do that. I said to him, you have to address this issue,” the President stated.

“But let me make it clear that this government will never sanction the killing of people or encourage it or work with anyone to do this,” the Guyanese Head of State declared.

He reminded, “In fact, when Roger Khan issued a full page Ad saying he was helping the government to fight criminals. I publicly said at that time, you tell us which government you were helping because it could not have been this government.”

“He had to say that. You know about that story; it was there in the public and there is nothing to hide,” President Jagdeo maintained.

“So I welcome him saying at any time what he knows, because this government never had any engagement with Roger Khan. We saw both groups as criminal enterprises – the group out of Buxton, as well as the Roger Khan outfit,” he noted.

The Head of State reiterated, “We are opposed to criminal enterprises. Our job is to bring down criminal enterprises.”

Noting the many hostile media houses operating in Guyana, President Jagdeo said, “They said that the government had something to do with it because he was criticizing the government and giving the government a hard time.”

“So all those people who were saying before that the government went after Waddell because Waddell was criticizing the government, he was this talk show host; from now on, if you believe all that this informant is saying, you have to also believe that he was member of the Buxton gang and that he was basically in criminal enterprise; that Waddell was a criminal involved in a criminal enterprise,” he noted.
    “So I am very interested in this…,” the President stated.

12. I will like to suggest that all those bloggers especially the guyanese ones who re-post whole pieces of article from guyanese newspapers do 2 things:

First read the posts pertaining to guyana to make sure that the article has not already been printed;

2. Please give some information before you cut and paste,whether it is to give some background,an explanation or to counter what the article is alleging.

If not,the readers whose attention you are trying to get and keep might get confused or fustrated.

I am also wondering why the overseas guyanese living in barbados and the other caribbean islands are not going to the media and speaking up or protesting in front of the US embassy in these islands.

I admire mark benchop,and wittur and juliette holder the former chief magistrate for their courage in their silent daily protest which risk their lives, but guyanese in the diapora are all talk and just willing to cuss out barbados about their domestic immigration policy,but other than blog on starbroek they seem to want every one else to start the ball rolling for them,like caricom etc.

Get out in your numbers and protest,talk about the discrimination,about the murders of your children,about your lack of access to clean water,the corrupt justice system etc.

Just don’t come on BU and dump information, or blog on starbroek but GET UP AND FIGHT.

13. BREAKING NEWS

Juliette Holder the former chief magistrate who jagdeo chased out of her job, has been arrested today.

President Jagdeo personally implicated that poor woman in a press conference even before the woman was arrested or even charged.

GUYANESE REPRESENT YOURSELF AND TELL THE WORLD YOUR STORY.

14. Isn’t the comments by Jagdeo referencing this criminal matter considered sub judice?

15. I was surprised that Jagdeo would identify a suspect before the Police arrested the individual as I wondered who was leading the investigation the PM or the Police? I also wonder how the Police developed their evidence does it have anything to do with the prisoner who turned up with obvious signs of abuse and died shortly afterwards?

Guyana today seems like a failed state, it has been rent asunder by racial hostility and racial division and led by a Gov’t that does not even have hope to offer its people. Instead the Gov’t encourages its citizens to leave for any destination in the hopes that some may be able to find jobs which they can’t find there. A friend who visited recently told me that people just seem to sit around aimlessly waiting on assorted relative to send monthly remittances to supplement their existence.

Did Jagdeo really expect us to believe that the USA would share information of a criminal nature with the Guyanese Gov’t or Police. I recall that his Gov’t has a Minister who was denied a US visa and the Police Chief was also denied a US visa, why would the USA share information that may well end up in the hands of the criminals? It is beyond comical that Jagdeo asked his Minister who was implicated by a witness in a criminal matter if he had anything to do with it. What did he expect the Minister to say?

Errol Barrow said that some Caribbean Gov’ts were led by “Political Bandits” were he alive today his sentiment would be the same.

16. Sargeant

What annoys me about all of this is the weak,weak,weak,INSIPID men we have masqerading as Leaders of caribbean nations.

You know all of them are aware of what is going on in Guyana and they will not make a public statement but will close ranks behind that nasty corrupt homosexual named jagdeo.

Shame on these weak caribbean politicians.

17. The 2 Caribbean nations that I think is pretty close to Guyana are Barbados and Trindad and Tobago and as such Prime Minister Thompson and Prime Minister Patrick Manning should speak out and place tough santions on Guyana, for example, Caribbean Airlines should with draw service to Guyana, Republic Bank should freeze assets, TRINTOPEC should not deliver oil to Guyana, LIAT should suspend all air service to Guyana, and no financial transactions such be made between Barbados and Guyana.

The PPP is drowning in its own filth, they are racist,sand killers. The PPP killed Mr. Ronald Waddell, the burned down the Ministry of Health, and they terrorise the East Indian population in the rural areas into voting fro the dirty and killing PPP, through beatings and killings, these are the people ruling Guyana today. Please bombard the Office of Prime Minister Thompson of Barbados, Office of the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago Patrick Manning with E-Mails regarding the Guyana crisis, but if you don’t feel inclined to do so please cry for Guyana, with all of us crying we can have a cleansing of this dirty oddity jagdeo that terrorising our country on a daily basis.

18. Anonymous, I agree with you. How can concern caribbean individuals, concerned about what is happening in guyana contact prime minister Thompson and Manning? Do they have email addresses?

19. What is happening in Guyana is more than internal racial politics of the sort.Their democracy is at risk, if ever there was one.Here are a few of the list of Shames:

An embarrasing UN report on the state of racism and the plight of the indigenous people.

Government in cahoots with criminal and druggist.

Phanton death squad/paramillitary goons working alonside legitimate law enforcement to execute opponents.Alleged they execute 400 afro-Guyanese

Sensitive technology relating to telephone eavesdropping ended up in the hands of a government protected drug-baron

Execution of a jounalist and talk show host.Execution of a Ministers of Government

Sudden death (poison,,toxicology inconclusive) of two alleged criminals in the care of the State.

Minister of Health is compromised by death squad member turned US informer .Lawyer of convited Khan is also facing charges of conspiracy to silenced witness.

Commisioner of Police and Minister of Home Affairs non-immigrant visa was revoke.Travel ban was also issue by England and Canada to that country.

Ministries (health and Finance) building was conflagarated.

Former chief Magistrate impilcated in Health Ministry fire.

the list goes on and on.I tell you not even Hollywood couldnot scrpit the above which give credibility to the saying that real life is stranger than fiction. On a serious note I think all leaders of the caribbean both government, non-government, Journalist, academics , professional organisation etc should all come to together and condemn the bevaviour of the Guyana Government once and for all and to think that Mr Jadeo is the is the present head of Caricom is a mockery to the people of the Caribbean.Guyana fickle democracy has gone way beyond internal political squabbling and therefore needs serious external intervention.

20. zion1971 & the scout
    PPP crime family built the present caricom hq in turkeyen so good luck having Guyana expelled from Caricom as all the sambos of Caricom are just grinnin and bearin it
    by the way Jagdeo the criminal is the guest of honour at the Jamaican Emancipation festival [imagine that] he dare not set foot at the Guyana one even though he tried bribing them with a few token millions
    http://propagandapress.org/2009/07/30/bharrat-jagdeo-is-special-guest-at-jamaicas-emancipation-festival/

21. SHAME ON BRUCE GOLDING! This is a slap in the face of the Jamaican people to have this “BATTY BWOY JAGDEO” sitting up high and mighty when HE AND HIS COHORTS ARE HAVING BLACK PEOPLE MURDERED IN HIS OWN COUNTRY.

22. SHAME ON THE GUYANESE PEOPLE FOR ALLOWING JAGDEO TO RULE THEM. I DON’T CARE IF PEOPLE ARE ANTIMEN, BUT I DON’T WANT AN ANTIMAN PRESIDENT. IT IS NOT RIGHT. IF YOU ARE AN ANTIMAN DON’T RUN FOR PRESIDENT OF PRIME MINSTER. STAY HOME AND RELAX. JAGDEO IS A NASTY LEADER THAT IS ANGRY AND HE TAKING HIS ANGER OUT ON BLACK PEOPLE. HE IS LIKE HITLER, JAGDEO IS PRACTISING RACIAL CLEANSING OF BLACK PEOPLE IN GUYANA.