Link submitted by Living in Barbados Blog

The recently constructed Boardwalk on the South coast which stretches from Accra Beach for about half mile towards Bridgetown has been well received by locals and tourists alike. This week it was reported in the news that the Segway Scooters donated to the Royal Barbados Police Force have been withdrawn from patrolling the Boardwalk. If we can read between the lines from the press report, a policeman was injured while negotiating the Boardwalk but may not have been covered adequately by insurance.

The biggest negative feedback to date about the Boardwalk has been the lack of lighting which makes strolling the Boardwalk in the late evening somewhat of a risk. We thought it was the biggest negative feedback until we viewed the video above. The Internet can be our friend but it can be our enemy.

The relevant government agency needs to get in gear and remember that if we don’t care for our own, we are a tourist country for Godsakes!

593 responses to “Down By The Boardwalk”

1. LIB

Thanks for the reading list, will see what I can do. To switch topics the next book I intend to read is “The End of Racism” by Dinesh D’Souza. I bought it a few years ago based on a review by someone who was at odds with his right wing stance but so far it remains unread. Right away I have a problem with the statement on the flyleaf which reads as follows “racism is a distinctively Western phenomenon” and I also noticed a passage which refers to “alleged racism by cab drivers in Washington” but it will be interesting to read it from his perspective.

I also thought that it was appropriate given the recent troubles of H L Gates. The contributors to one blog site I follow were particularly harsh on him because of his response to the dropping of the charges, they want him to adopt a more militant stance against the Police and the Harvard Establishment. They are now portraying him as belonging to the group of elite blacks who “summer” on Martha’s Vineyard.

It’s hard to tell what Black People want.

2. LIB, please don’t associate u and me! I am a proud, respectable BARBADIAN the antithesis of you! And why should I not be surprised that u keep company with criminals! It further proves my assessment! I’ve already described the situ here for all West Indians, as a consequence of the degenercy of your people! I don’t plan to do so again! Barbadians can either believe it or nay!! LIB, the only other thing I’ve to say to u is that you’re lucky as rass that I’m not the PM of Bim because if I was, the chances of your being there would be infinitesimal!! I’m not engaging in any dialogue with u, except to request u to get out of Bim and your people to get a brain which is n’t marinated in sin!!

3. Gearbox, it could n’t have been u!! I don’t believe that ur a JA!!

LIB, I happened to notice u enquired about ‘nature v. nurture’! The answer is that ur people are evil-incarnate!! I hope that answers u!! except ONLY some of the women who r absolute, darlings!!

4. I can well understand why some of we Bajan men fancy some of the JA ladies but, having progeni with them is still a huge mistake for which Bim will pay eventually and, I suspect, has started to, already!!

5. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    I have not seen the D’Souza book, but the contention that racism is a western phenomenon is clearly nonsense. He need only look at the policies of Malaysia, though perhaps the argument is that it is ‘learnt behaviour’. Clearly where any two different racial (or other) groups are put together there is the potential for dislike and systematic opposition based on that racial difference. As I mentioned before, we had the Caribs and Arawaks in the Caribbean. I guess the Caribs could argue it was not racism but it was a dietary condition that meant they killed and ate the Arawaks!

6. Oh yo yo someting happening…

Dis ain’ RPB dis is me Gear Box up hey at Sam Lords Castle…! Somet’ing happenin…

AAAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhhh

7. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David/Bimbro
    I guess the implication is that Lindsay Holder must be utterly and certifiably insane if length of submission is a guide to a writer’s sanity. David, will you inform Lindsay?

Anyway, Bimbro now moves into the realm of Sarah Palin as I have ‘palled around’ with criminals, though when I knew them in short pants they were all pretty decent. Clearly, the brief association I had with them at primary school was enough to turn some (and I wonder why not all) of them into criminals.

So, now that Bimbro has identified the root of all evil, by simple extraction, the solution is clear. Now, things get tricky. I would suggest that the earlier references by Bimbro be re-read and then they be thought about in the context of a set of remarks made recently by a Guyenese former diplomat. I am thinking about what is INTIMATED (not practised, I hasted to add).

8. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Can anyone explain how BIMBRO/199 can say all of the following?
    1. “I see ur [Jamaican] people as the disease which is causing us to be destroyed…”,
    2. “I see all the ills which befall the W.I. community in the UK, if not the entire, western world, as being a consequence of the presence of your [Jamaican] people. If you were all confined to the perimeters of your own country then none of this would happen, or to a much lesser extent!”,
    3. “I can well understand why some of we Bajan men fancy some of the JA ladies”, or
    4. “some of the [Jamaican] women who r absolute, darlings!!”

9. Haha, I jus now come from reading de “comments policy” section of BU. LIB you should pass tru dey fuh sum enlightenment on Bimbro. Back in 2006/07 de man swear he would never darken BU’s door again because David would not ban certain people who dare to disagree with him. He sneak back in using “199” for a long time (like he was foolin anybody). Next he will be beggin David to ban you too. Hahahahaha

10. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Maybe this can help sustain Bimbro,

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Let’s try again, http://twitpic.com/bh0ac

12. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Mongoose
    I have also read the comments policy, thanks. I liked one commentator writing that Bimbro had a “rear attribute” I wonder if that was a typo, or a sense of waggishness (itself a kind of rear attribute).

13. My future silence with regard to you, Sir, should be sufficient indication of my attitude towards you and yours!! Unspeakable!!

14. DAVID

SOMET’ING HAPPENING AT SAM LORDS…

AAAAAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhh

15. LIB

BIMBRO saying dat dey sweet…! Yaba… Bladcalt..!

16. Bimbro // July 24, 2009 at 12:04 pm

David, I’m not certain but am going to assume ur referring to LIB! Frankly, I don’t normally read his posts. Their length alone, is sufficient to deter me and suggest the rantings of a madman. I’m thus unable to say whether his points r good or bad. However, I’m not inclined to read the postings of a ‘madman’!!
    ————————————————-
    WTF!!

Pot calling kettle black!!

17. Random Name Generator Avatar
    Random Name Generator

@Lib

Don’t other with Bimbro/199. Its fairly obvious that the person is either a caricature to incite posts or just a rather sad individual who get pleasure winding people up.

It is just possible that his is as bigoted and ignorant as he appears, but I think it unlikely.

18. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

‘Gear Box // July 24, 2009 at 5:26 pm ‘

Wha happenin’? Sam coming out de ground, out de pirate grave?

He goin’ move bout ina steel donkey or even a hearse tonite at midnite?

Oh lor’! He may even got de ‘heart-man’ from among he crew, to run we!

Wunna shoulda never mess wid he home.

Sam coming fo’ wunna!

19. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

How about this for irony.

When Sam Lord was a-pirating, his home was the place to lure those with riches, where it would all be lost.

Now, he is dead and the place still luring those with riches….where it will all be lost.

LOL.

20. Technician, one day you’ll find a subject to comment on which is more interesting than I am. I wish you luck with that search!

21. Not to turn this into a ‘Jamacan vs Bajan’ discustion but me and my barber had a very similar argument, witch we can to the summary that might be a help in this discustion

Barbados was the first stop for the slave ships so we got the first/best pick.

Due to how the landmass is, the better/richer slave owner chose Barbados(barbados is flat and small, easy to controll population)

@LIB how does Barbados stack up to former French colonies?

There will be racest as long as they are races. so i dont really tack the topic to heart. as long as there is no phiscal restraints, I ok with it.

One more point i want to make to all black people liveing in the caribean; whitey is who bring we hay. You could blame him or thank him.

22. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Technician said ‘rather sad individual who get pleasure winding people up’

Gawsh man. But y’know dat is one ting de Engulish luv tuh do, so maybe ‘E learn sumting from dem, ya’knaw.

Deng again, ef so, ‘E being very restraintive, as I see a coupla personages pun hey dat are ripe fo winding-up. It would be, as fren’ ‘Opi like tuh say ‘cat-.iss- an – peppa’, if dat did start.

23. DAVID

SOMET’ING HAPPENING AT SAM LORDS…

AAAAAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhh

24. @BAFBFP
    Send us an email. We hear many things many of which we cannot corroborate.

25. Whaever happen, I know that my heart is safe in the hands of the lord!!

Singing pun he!!:

Come homeeeeeeeeee,
    Come hommmmeeeeeeeeee,
    Those who are weary come hommmmmeeeeeeeeee
    ——– weeping,
    Those who are weary come home!

26. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Cuh dear, see, I did know dat Bimbro got a soft, warm side.

But wait, tis 11:35pm an yuh still posting up dey?

Yuh aint gotta be up early pun Sat’day tuh drive into the country an have some good Steak an Kidney pie an a pint at a nice country pub?

27. Hi Sir Dick, ur a joker!! It’s Sat. morning hay aready!! Somebody wake me an I had to tell she it’s too early fuh dah!!

Lord!!

28. Nice tune Dave and thanks for the welcome!! I’m standing to attention!!

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Ready Dun
    “Barbados was the first stop for the slave ships so we got the first/best pick.”[True, but…First pick means ‘fit for a job’, and that job might not be field work, and could include procreation. So, the picking was not straight forward. Also, there was a market in slaves, which I think crossed the islands.]

“Due to how the landmass is, the better/richer slave owner chose Barbados(barbados is flat and small, easy to controll population)” [Heard this as regards the ‘control’ point. Some agricultural economists need to help us because cost of sugar production is/was high in Bim, so that weighed against chosing it.]

“@LIB how does Barbados stack up to former French colonies?” [Not sure in what sense. I’ve indicated that French Caribbean colonies have/had different administrative arrangements with France, eg, Martinique is a politcally functional part of France, just located in the Caribbean. (Not all European French people accept this gladly, but it’s a fact.) French approaches to cultural transfer are very nationalistic but also well organized. For instance, preservation of language is a state function (Academie Francaise determines acceptable wordsyou may not know of the constant fight to keep foreign words out of French, like ’email’, where official French is ‘courriel’ [electronic letter]). Acceptable French Christian names are determined by the state: if it’s not on the list you cannot use it (no French ‘Shewanda’s or ‘Deninqua’s]. French adminstration is very centralised. For example, the educational curriculum is truly national (remembering that the nation is beyond the land borders of European France), and the story goes that it is followed like clockwork (same lessons anywhere, anytime). The French try to spread/safeguard their linguistic culture by encouraging it whereever they have an interest. La Francophone (see http://www.francophonie.org/) is an international organization of of agencies and governments with French as the mother or customary language, and the finance the spread of ‘Frenchness’. For example, they will pay for study in French in places outside France, such as Quebec. Separately, study in French in Quebec and it’s free, but in English is fee-paying. Or France will encourage training in France. Not sure if that touches the points you meant. If not, indicate more precisely, please.]

30. But, Sir Dick, yuh got tuh admit he mad man!! Anybudy wid any sense can see dah man!! D amount uh foolishniss he put down hay since dis subjek begin would mek a foul-cock turn e head!!

Steupse!!

31. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@BIMBRO
    Because I want you think hard about what you write and think. I will make a suggestion. Find a book by the Jamaican author Anthony Winkler and read it–any. They are all mainly very good. Then think hard again about Jamaicans and ask yourself if Winkler is who you have in mind. You can do this exercise two ways. You can check out the man on the Internet and I will help there, http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/25/sports/soccer/25soccer.html?_r=1&hp. Or you can do it ‘sight’ unseen. Take a good hard look at any pictures you can find on Winkler and read the book again. Then ask yourself the same queston. You can share your conclusions if you wish, or keep them to yourself.

Finally, ask yourself why did Winkler find living in America so difficult and have to return to Jamaica.

If you cannot find any of his books in London, let David know and I will arrange for some to be sent to you.

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@BIMBRO
    Wrong link (about Burnley FC, but a good read anyway).

The correct link is http://www.jamaicans.com/jamaicansoverseas/atlant/atlantajamaicanAnthonyWinkler.shtml.

33. According tto the Advocate News Paper the Barbados Labour Party, the Government on behalf of the people of barbados is planning to buy this property

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@BIMBRO
    The correct link is http://www.jamaicans.com/jamaicansoverseas/atlant/atlantajamaicanAnthonyWinkler.shtml

The other is a nice story about Burnley FC, also a good read about success from adversity.

35. I am not sure if we need to go back to the days of slavery to try to explain how or even why Bajan males are different to Jamaican males.

Here is a clip from Kensington Oval from 1981 which shows mostly Bajan Males enjoying a cricket match.

I am saying that the clip shows just how much Bajan males have changed in a generation.

Much of what we see today is the product of a generation of change, …. not generations.

36. …. maybe it is something in the water!!

37. John, or maybe the result of an idiotic immigration policy which has allowed the wrong people into the country to influence our men adversely and perversely! I’m not naming any particular nationality!! 🙂

38. Although, SOME ONLY, (the more refine ones) of their women are most welcome, provided they don’t bear offspring!! 🙂

39. […] Down By The Boardwalk « Barbados Underground […]

40. But why was the b’walk built? To walk on, or to reclaim land from the sea? Check and see that a lot of properties that used to have the sea licking against their back doors, now have plenty more land!

41. Mullins Bay Blog: Recent Drownings In St. Lucy Highlight Need For Warning Signs At St. Peter’s Bay – http://shar.es/UwHD – #Barbados Save Mullins Bay

42. Waxy Worrell Jr. Avatar
    Waxy Worrell Jr.

BU Fambly Member Negroman:

“Jack Bowman you & your white thrash family & friends exit this world & leave this world for beautiful Black People to live in.”