rihanna-exposed

Oh Rihanna our once beautiful and unspoilt. How are you? Are you feeling fine? Is this what you want? If we were to jot your current circumstance as an equation would it reflect at the output, I am Happy? See the write-up on Rihanna’a most recent wardrobe malfunction. How are Barbadians feeling about Rihanna the youth Ambassador?

112 responses to “Rihanna, What Are You Doing!?!”

1. Gearbox, thanks for the offer and, if I was young again, I might well be interested but, now, all I want is her voice!! which I have on CD and video, already!! Thanks for the thought, anyway!! ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Meanwhile, the stomach-churning, Jacksons’-horror-show, continues!! Pass the sick-bucket please, somebody!!

3. 199
    You don’t like M.J’s music?

4. The memorial service for MJ was touching and defined his human side for the world.

5. Irrespective of what people think of Michael Jackson’s private life, to me, he will be the best song writer/performer of my era and among the best ever. The problem is, he was never allowed to have a child’s life.

6. Scout, I like his music but the stomach-churning behaviour of the entire family’s enough to send me to the loo!! i.e. white skin, false/straightened hair, ‘not his’ children, missing corpse, similar antics by siblings, etc! – not to mention child abuse accusations! What’s there about him to like, apart from his singing!! I can’t think about them too much before needing the Epsom Salts!! I thought Janet looked nice!! I could date her!!

7. Be under no illusion, I thought he sang like an angel, and, my man, who produced the ‘Thriller ‘ album (can’t think of his name at the moment), confirms he was a music-genius and, that’s enough approbation for me!! My contention is that probably sufficient people did n’t say ‘No’ to him, as a child, and thus he never grew-up and, his father, instead of ‘treating him badly’, probably did n’t cut his ass enough which ultimately, led to all the insanity and early demise!

8. As fuh vitalgia!! Doan mek me laugh!! I think that’s no more than further evidence of the black man’s, and woman’s, self-loathing and hatred of themselves, and nothing else!! Cheese on bread man, if anyody eva change d colour uh my skin, or hair, I gun haunt e fuh de res uh he days, when I guh ova d udda side!!

9. I know it in fashionable, nuh mo, dese days, but, I PROUD AS EVA TUH BE BLACK!! ๐Ÿ™‚

10. an Bajan!!

Lord!!

11. 199
    I grew up with M.J’s music from a teenager. I remember going by the then K.R.Hunte record shop to buy the “words” to songs like ABC, Got to be there and many others. As a grown man, I kept following his music and watched as he evolved into singer/songwriter on the same category as my musical idle Stevie Wonder. I remember the Stevie Wonder concert at Kensington Oval, I think it was sometime in the late 60’s to early 70’s. To me these two men, almost said black men, played a big part in my life with their positive lyrics.

12. Scout, Stevie Wonder (as much as I’m a fan of his earlier work and still retain at least one of his albums in my collection) butchered the song he ‘sang’ as he’s now done for years and, what did his head/hair look like?!! Reminded me of somebody who’s been scalped!! I often have to wonder, Jackson family included, if black Americans don’t go around with their eyes closed (and no unkind pun intended on Stevie here, either)!! His great days are finished, the great days of American, black music are finished – so, thank almight god for Rihanna!! Let’s thank god too, we were alive for the renaissance in the 60s and 70s because since Prince, in the 80s, except for Rihanna today, it seems to me that the great days of black, western music are now finished!! With the exception of Rihanna, the beautiful black music now emanates from Africa!!

13. rhianna is behaving like this for recognition, how is she an ambassador of barbados, is she an example to follow, she didnt make any songs recently. I dont think she should be a role model simply because she is pretty. All she does is walk around in nice clothes and acts like an airhead. Nominate a true ambassador, one who is proud of their education and put that education to good uses, not like rhianna who is caught up in the America celebrity confusion and selling herself by advertising her body.

14. she also made a sex tape, it was all over mediaoutake, also she did a music video for kanye west new song, but all she’s doing in the video is dancing among other things. I thought she had people in her videos when she sings, not the other way around. Kanye didnt even allow her to even sang a chorus in the song, heard she out with a new song now, it sucks though. Rhianna is just another celebrity whore, who’s using her body to stay in the limelight. Since the michael jackson issue, all the celebrities are vying for recognition, including rhianna, no wonder why chris snapped and slapped her, she’s too childish for her age, and she loves to be seen.

15. barbados expect rhianna to be a role model, she’s just a has been up and coming, look at the sex tape and then decide if you want her to be a role model for anyone. The most recent song she put out sucks big time, no one wants to hear it, she’s a big celebrity in barbados because bajans would worship any young pretty girl. Rhianna’s career is in the toilet right now

16. Nanci
    I heard about this sex tape, is this true or just a rumor?

17. Please give Rihannah a break, no one understands or cares what pain and suffering is until it affects them or their family. You must also understand that in the world of entertainment an entertainer ceases to be an individual and thus becomes a “commodity” . That is what the entertaiment market and producers demand.Don’t forget that the glossy star magazines thrive on gossip and that good reputation may not be their focus. Its very likely that young minds fall prey to the images and opportunities that are presented by the opportunistic business oriented producers and greedy Record Dealers.

Just hope and pray for Rihannah.

18. IMO, this is what separates Celine Dion from the pack. You would never see her overexposed like that in public. Celine depends on her incredible voice and doesn’t need to do cheap stuff like that to sell millions of CD’s.

Clean up your act, Rihanna. Any woman can expose herself in public. Where’s the class in that?

Nevertheless, you’re yet young and there’s plenty of time to mature. In spite of this “wardrobe malfunction”, we still believe in you. So please keep Barbados’ flag flying high.

19. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, it’s such a pity u don’t receive BBC tv because they’re about to broadcast a concert by one of the greatest entertainers/groups in the world, which I attended 33 years ago!! How about that for a record!! And, with some good fortune, u might even be able to spot my very, handsome and then youthful, face in the crowd!! What a treat that would be!!

20. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Blogger ‘Nanci’ said ”no wonder why chris snapped and slapped her, sheโ€™s too childish for her age, and she loves to be seen”

That is out of hand, ridiculous and uncalled for.

So, do you think that violence solves everything?

We understand exactly where ya coming from!

21. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

As Atticus Finch said, do not judge a man until you walk in his shoes.

That is true in MJ’s case, in this case, do not judge the woman.

BUT, I have no problem asking the young lady to go her way, with best wishes, as the industry that she is in is tremendously stressful and could conflict with he ‘official’ status.

22. @abajan:

Celine has a very large and supportive family, who are religiously Catholic. She always talks positively about her parents and older siblings who encouraged her when she was young. She takes care of a handicapped niece as well.

But then, Celine does have a voice and can carry high notes.

@Nanci:

I understand that Rihanna is seen rolling around on a bed in that Kanye West video. People in the business were awestruck that she would allow herself to be used like that. No singing role whatever and he is supposed to be her friend.

23. Pat and others, who’s Celine Dione?!! That’s the difference a bit of nudity makes!! Remember the last time C had a hit?!! Neither can I!! Nuff said!!

24. = money in the bank and thus, who can blame her!! I wish people were still prepared to pay ME to pose nude!! I’d give it serious consideration! for the right price, of course!! i.e. not less than $100BDS!! I in proud!!

25. @199

Our Celine is a Diva. She has been there and done that! She does not need anymore hits to build up her fortunes, nor fame! She has ooodles in the bank. Last estimate was $300,000,000. She is now a top flight entertainer who commands millions for a one night appearance in Las Vegas.

That is who Celine is. She does not need to parade naked in public.

26. Accepted, Pat!! But, do u know what!! I don’t know a single song by Celine, I can hardly recall the last time I heard mention of her name, she’s much older than Ri, just about everybody in the world knows Ri, compared with Celine, plus Ri’s young and still trying to secure her name among the greats. Have some more patience with her!!

27. BTW, Pat, our girl is, or, can be, a diva when she’s ready!! I’ve seen her musical performances, to warrant the accolade, believe me!! Nobody can cut-it like Ri, when she’s ready!! She’s up there with Madonna, I assure u!! It’s only a matter of her getting the right songs to sing!!

28. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

THIS IS WHAT RIHANNA IS DOING FOR BARBADOS-YOU HATERS !
    source: ‘Wikipedia’

Rihanna was born in Saint Michael, Barbados, to Ronald and Monica Fenty. She has two younger brothers, Rorrey and Rajad Fenty. Her mother, a native of Guyana, is Afro-Guyanese and her father is Barbadian and Irish. She began singing at around the age of seven. Her parents then divorced when she was fourteen years old.

Rihanna attended Charles F. Broome Memorial School, a primary school in Barbados, and then the Combermere School, where she formed a musical trio with two of her classmates at the age of fifteen. In 2004 she won the Miss Combermere Beauty Pageant. She was an army cadet in a sub-military programme that trained with the military of Barbados and Shontelle was her drill sergeant.

At the age of fifteen she formed a girl group with two of her classmates. In 2003 friends introduced Rihanna and her two bandmates to record producer Evan Rogers, who was vacationing in Barbados with his wife. The group auditioned for Rogers, who said that “the minute Rihanna walked into the room, it was like the other two girls didn’t exist.” While auditioning for Rogers, Rihanna sang Destiny’s Child’s cover of “Emotion”. Over the next year, Rihanna and her mom shuttled back and forth to Rogers home in Stamford, Connecticut. Then, shortly after turning 16, she relocated to the U.S. and moved in with Rogers and his wife. Carl Sturken helped Rihanna record a four-song demo, which included the ballad โ€œLast Time,โ€ a cover of Whitney Houstonโ€™s hit โ€œFor The Love Of You and what would become her first hit, “Pon de Replay” to send to various recording companies. It took a year to record the demos, because she was going to school, and would only record during summer and Christmas school breaks. Rihanna’s demo made its way to Def Jam, which invited her to audition for the label’s then-president, Jay-Z, who quickly signed her.

2005โ€“2006: Music of the Sun and A Girl like Me
    After signing with Def Jam, she spent the next three months recording and completing her debut album. The album featured production from Evan Rogers, Carl Sturken, Stargate and Poke & Tone. She first collaborated with rapper Memphis Bleek on his fourth studio album 534 before her debut. The album’s official lead single, “Pon de Replay”, released on August 22, 2005, peaked at number two on the Billboard Hot 100. It also became a global hit where it peaked within the top 10 across 15 countries. Her debut album, Music of the Sun, was released on August 30, 2005 in the United States. The album reached number 10 on the Billboard 200, selling 69,000 copies in its first week. As of 2009, the album has sold over two millions copies worldwide and is certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America, denoting shipments to US retailers of over 500,000 units.[20]

“Pon de Replay” (2005)

“Pon de Replay” is Rihanna’s debut single. The song peaked at number 2 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100

——————————————————————————–
    Her music was marketed within the reggae genre because of her Caribbean descent. The album received mixed reviews by music critics. Rolling Stone magazine rated it 2.5 out of 5 stars and described as lacking the replay value, ingenuity and rhythm of the single with “generic vocal hiccups and frills” of US R&B inflecting upon her “Caribbean charm”. Sal Cinquemani of Slant Magazine described the album as a “glut of teen R&B chanteuses ” and described her lead single “Pon de Replay” as “a dancehall-pop mixture that owes plenty of its sweat and shimmy to Beyoncรฉ’s “Baby Boy”.”[16] A reviewer for Entertainment Weekly commented that the “dancehall/R&B debut is filled with chintzy production and maudlin arrangements that block out the Music of the Sun. The albums second single, “If It’s Lovin’ that You Want” was less successful than “Pon de Replay”, having managed a peak position of number 36 in the United States, and number 11 on the UK Singles Chart. In Australia, Ireland and New Zealand the single proved to be well-received reaching the top 10 in those countries. However, the third single, “Let Me” was only released in Japan, peaking at number eight.

A month after the release of her debut album, she began working on her second studio album. The album contained production from record producers Evan Rogers and Carl Sturken who produced most of her debut album, Stargate, J. R. Rotem and label-mate singer-songwriter “Ne-Yo”. The lead single, “SOS”, peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot 100, becoming her first number-one in the United States. Rihanna then served as an opening act for Gwen Stefani to promote the album. A Girl Like Me was released on April 19, 2006,[26] less than eight months later of her debut. The album reached number five on the Billboard 200 selling 115,000 copies in its first week and has been certified platinum by the RIAA, having shipped over one million units. Internationally, the album peaked at number 1 on the Top Canadian Albums, 5 on the UK Albums Chart and number 5 on the Irish Album Chart. The critical response to the album was mixed; Rolling Stone magazine commented “Like her filler-packed debut album, this similar but superior follow-up doesn’t deliver anything else as ingenious as its lead single. Critics also described the album as a record that almost identically alternates between the sunny dancehall/dub-pop, hip-hop-infused club bangers and gushy, adult-oriented ballads. The second single, “Unfaithful,” became a major worldwide hit, reaching the top ten in dozen countries around the world, including the United States where it reached number six on the Billboard Hot 100, as well as topping the charts in Canada, France and Switzerland. The albums third single, “We Ride” failed to reprise the success of the lead single but the fourth single “Break It Off” featuring Sean Paul, made the song jump from number fifty-two to number ten and then eventually peak at number nine. After the release of the album, she embarked on the Rock Tha Block Tour and then toured with Pussycat Dolls from November 2006 to February 2007 in the United Kingdom.

When Rihanna received an endorsement deal from Clinique, she recorded a song written by Ne-Yo entitled “Just Be Happy” as part of the deal to promote their Happy fragrance. Rihanna also recorded a song called “Winning Women” with Pussycat Doll Nicole Scherzinger for P&G’s female deodorant Secret.

Rihanna performing during the Glow in the Dark Tour.Rihanna went into the studio in early 2007 with Ne-Yo, Stargate, and Timbaland among others to record her third album, Good Girl Gone Bad. She spent the week of the Grammys writing songs for the the album with Ne-Yo. The concept of the album was to head in a new direction with the help of newcomers Timbaland, will.i.am and Sean Garrett

29. EDDIE - Celine Dion/Rihanna Avatar
    EDDIE – Celine Dion/Rihanna

The type and style of music these two artistes sing are miles apart; no similarity at all!
    Their target audience are miles apart; hence, marketing techniques will differ.

To compare how their images might border on the irrelevant.

30. EDDIE - Celine Dion/Rihanna Avatar
    EDDIE – Celine Dion/Rihanna

Correction: “To compare their images might be bordering on irrelevance”

31. ‘Adviser’, I don’t think they’re haters, simply misguided and lacking in knowledge about the industry. Eddie, ur so right and I hope that Pat, reads your comment! In any event, of the two, give me Rihanna, any day!! For example, I would n’t dream of attending a Celine Dion concert but I’ve already attended one of Rihanna’s and would again, if I could take the noise of sitting at the front so I could see her properly, which I probably could n’t so I’ll have to forget about that one!! Just hope she can retreive her former glory prior to the intervention of that ***ck!! -Chris Brown!

32. Personally, If I were her, I’d do the very same thing!

Making my own money so I don’t have to depend on ANYONE, enjoying the life that working hard & making money gives me, and generally doing what I do!

Tell me, can any of you say the same?

As it is, I’m on my way to doing that very thing…working hard, making money & enjoying my free time out! This is what humans DO! How they choose to do that is up to them. But ALL humans do it!

If she wants to “let free,” who are we to stop her? I’m sure some of us in this very forum have don WAYYYYY worse!

Judge not, lest YOU be judged!

Let God do HIS work, don’t presume to do it for him, just because of your greed, envy & ego!

33. 199,
    Thanks for your comments.

I agree with you when you talk about “understanding the industry”.

Many of the comments above are emotionally charged because Barbadians expect Rihanna to uphold a certain level of “moral decorum in dress”.
    I
    Like you, I believe most Barbadians love Riahanna and wish the best for her; we also would want her to conduct herself in a way that would make Barbadians proud.

However, we definitely need to understand how the industry works; Sunday school garb is not exactly standard wear for R & B singers.

Another thing we need to remember that is important is that – stars are not in control of their own lives, but are supervised by management who dictate how they should look, what they should eat, how long they should sleep….and the list goes on.

In short, up and rising stars are controlled by others.
    Therefore, when we seek to “straighten out “Rihanna, we need to be aware of all the parameters involved.

34. 199 wrote // July 6, 2009 at 1:38 pm..”Does anybody know a piece of the ground which Rihanna has walked on which u could post to me so I coud keep?!!”

I have a matchbox full?

How much you willing’ to pay fa it?

35. Hi J, why do u!! R u crazy ’bout Rihanna, as well!! Babe, thanks fuh the offer but I’d need more than a matchbox-full. I’d want at least a footprint full and, where’d u get it from anyway and how much would u want to charge me!!

36. Eddie
    You’re right about Rihanna and all the other R&B singers. My problem is not with the wear but the fact that she is a Government diplomat, an Ambassador. I believe she would feel relieved if the P.M would quietly remove the title from her. She can represent Barbados as a top R&B star but not Ambassador for Youth and Culture.

37. That may not be a bad idea, Scout but how are you going to persuade the authorities to agree with you!! So, far Thompy does n’t appear to support your point of view!!

38. Rihanna dresses like a girl of the tropics, free and tropical. Should she dress like an english person 0f the 1890s and would this satisfy wunna ? stupse !!

I remember when she was on the beach at accra, she put on her pants over her bathing suit and crossed the road to go to Cheffete, somebody took a picture and published it in the newspaper. That created foolish talk. How she is dressed in the photo here on this blog is not dissimilar from how she was dressed for the home welcoming party after the grammy win nor when she attended her relative’s wedding.

Wunna people really hate this girl because of her success because wunna dont like or believe in wunna selves so wunna cant accept the fact that one o wunna has achieved so much-it cant be true -something gotta be wrong so wunna keep searching for that wrong thing and failing to find it wunna create something, pick at every little thing and satisfy wunna own morbid fascination with folly.

Find ‘sain’ to do wid wunna time nuh ! next thing wunna gwine be on pun Livvi Franc. Get off the young people backs- wunna old fogeys; jealous , hateful and colonial shottalingos.Go and engage in some physical exercises because exercise helps to get rid of that negative feeling that builds up as a result of lactic acid in your body tissues. Stop eating all the crap that you do; foods with salt and sugar that raise your blood pressure and cause you to be fretful and quarrelsome.

Go and pray or go an meditate . These things; prayer, meditation and exercise along with eating the right foods help you to see life in a different light. You become more loving an understanding and less hateful and revengeful and less given to making unsubstantiated nasty comments about other human beings.

39. Ace
    I hope you were not referring to me in this posting. How can I hate Rihanna? She went to school at Charles F Broome and Cawmere and with that background, i can’t hate her. Also, I have heard her prior to her little mishap “bigup” Barbados in interviews overseas that made me more proud to be bajan, I’ve said this over and over again. However, I was somewhat annoyed at her for the reported attitude she had adopted to this little punk. I thought she should have lift head head up high and ignore the little boy, this she did in the end. Relieving her of the title would give some peace of mind. I agree, they are many bajans who hate the girl through envy, that’s why she should be relieved

40. She is only wearing a standard jacket that is typical for a formal business meeting

41. Scout,

I agree with you on the Ambassadorial issue.
    The problem is……how can it be recinded?

42. Eddie
    A private meeting with Rihanna and/or her handlers can resolve this matter easily. No Big Thing. What will be needed is the guarantee of continued support from this Barbados Government. Maybe give her a contract to promote the country Barbados. You might say that that is the same thing. It is not, she is doing it on her own, not as a representative of Youth as she is now labeled.

43. KiKi
    Don’t be so bias. Who business person in Barbados goes to work looking like that? You people are blinded by bias. Oh Lord

44. Kiki, she can have a meeting with me, dressed like that, anytime!!

Lord!!

After half an hour, I’d have to ask her what the meeting was about!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!

45. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar

These are sme of the things she is doing for little BARBADOS
    What if she disowns Barbados
    What would the critics say then
    You cant win
    You damn if you do
    You damn if you dont

Heat magazine’s Top 10 Most Envied Bodies 2009:
    1. Megan Fox
    2. Cheryl Cole
    3. Kelly Brook
    4. Beyonce Knowles
    5. Angelina Jolie
    6. Jennifer Aniston
    7. Jessica Alba
    8. Jennifer Lopez
    9. Katie Price
    10. Rihanna (c) BANG

46. 199,
    Boy, how I wish I could wear sumting like dat. Dis outfit hottttttttttttt. Luv um.
    All de talk bout ‘she too young fa me, I just want ta hear she sing’. I know dat you froffin at de mout all like now.(teehee) Ya demon. Ga long.

47. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar

THEY ARE THE WOMEN in America with the It Factor, meaning dynamic, alluring, charismatic and remarkable – and Rihanna has made the list.

The Barbadian Grammy Award-winning songbird and fashion plate, who made headlines around the world earlier this year when her boyfriend, Chris Brown, beat her up and left her face swollen, seems to have put that tragic chapter in her life behind her.

According to Ebony, the monthly publication that’s devoted to the lives and fortunes of Blacks, Rihanna is a prominent member of the 2009 class of women “who have touched our minds, hearts and souls in an undeniable way,” according to Linda Johnson Rice, Ebony’s chairman and chief executive officer.

By earning a place among the 25 women on the list, Rihanna has something in common with Halle Berry, the Academy Award-winning actress; Serena Williams, Wimbledon and United States lawn tennis Open Champion; Condoleezza Rice, until recently the United States Secretary of State; Tina Turner, the legendary pop singer; Aretha Franklin, the queen of soul; Michelle Obama, America’s First Lady and wife of President Barack Obama; Jennifer Hudson and Whoopie Goldberg, two Academy movie award-winners; Oprah Winfrey, the queen of talk show hosts, whose programme airs in more than 140 countries; Tyra Bank, the fashion model and talk show guru; Angela Davis, the 1960s defiant Black Power intellectual and revolutionary; Diahann Carroll, the actress who in the 1960s became the first black woman to have her own national television series, Julia, and the first black woman to win a Tony Award for the Broadway play No Strings in 1962; and Beyoncรฉ, the singer “who has her “finger on the pulse of all things hip hop and happening”.

Ebony, which avoided any direct reference to the episode of domestic violence in Los Angeles but found a way to allude to it indirectly, pointed out that the Barbadian “catapulted to superstardom seemingly overnight,” and cracked the code on the It Factor.

“Standing five feet, eight inches tall, with a ballerina posture, hypnotic feline eyes and that Barbadian bad girl appeal, the girl is HOT,” the magazine described her.

“But it’s her original style that sets her apart. For the first time since Aaliyah, pop has a favourite “it” girl. Ri-Ri’s catch-fire trend has ‘tweens’ and 20-somethings breaking all kinds of fashion rules, especially when she rocks that unmistakable ‘do’ with liquid black leggings and neon nails.

“At 21, Rihanna has achieved the kind of crossover success few entertainers ever attain. Lucrative endorsements with CoverGirl, Nike, Gucci and Clinique confirm that Rihanna has it going on. Our only question for this girl challenged by bad circumstances is, will she be able to hold onto it? If her signature style is any indication of her staying-power, we have no doubts that she will emerge bolder, brighter and back on top,” Ebony stated.

But she wasn’t the only women with Caribbean roots featured on the list. Grace Jones, the singer and actress of the 1980s, from Jamaica; and the “posh and pristine” Naomi Campbell, whose mother is from Jamaica, made the cut.

“Some are born with “it”. Some are blessed with “it”. Some strip their “it” down. Some wear their “it” on their sleeves. Some want a ring put on “it”. Some wonder, what’s love got to do with “it”. They’re enigmatic, charismatic. And, ahem, sometimes dramatic,” Ebony described them. “Heads tend to turn when they walk into a room. Absence is felt when they are gone.”

Among the others were Erykah Badu, born Erica Abi Wright; Jill Scott, the soul soother; Pam Greer, the 1970s film star; Patti Labelle at 65, the powerhouse singer, who “still got it”; Alicia Keyes, “one of the most versatile singer-musicians-songwriters of her generation”; and Mo’Nique, a full-figured Hollywood standout.

Subject:

48. Bonny!! Dat wus las week!! I kalm down now!!

Laaaaaaaadddddddddddd!!!!

49. The more you think about it all the events which have tagged Rihanna may have been planned. Check her new haircut which is attracting headlines!

50. David,
    Nice haircut. Same as mine. Only no hair on top of mine at all. Mine still niceeee doe. So is hers.

Anything goes…………..in America. Don’t lose any sleep over these minor tings. They too will pass.