Submitted by Yardbroom
Roxanne Gibbs - Executive Editor Nation Newspaper
Roxanne Gibbs – Executive Editor Nation Newspaper
PNCR leader Robert Corbin is denying holding talks with party executive Dr Aubrey Armstrong
Dr Aubrey Armstrong

Recent lurid details of a female illegal Guyanese immigrant being apprehended, was disseminated by a major Barbados news outlet.ย  The allegations if true are worthy of investigation by the relevant authorities.ย  However, the article was so lacking in person details, it was impossible to identify anyone because of the anonymity given.

It is necessary that anonymity is afforded in certain cases, to protect sources from retribution even ridicule, but the level of fairness we are justifiably eager to give illegal immigrants, must also be given to the relevant immigration authorities, the Barbados Government and the citizens of Barbados on whom such allegations can have a negative impact.

If the personnel involved in the allegation cannot be identified, how can appropriate action be taken by the relevant authorities?ย  Unless there is some dissemination of information the alleged unfairness cannot be properly challenged and rectified.

Major news outlets have a responsibility to ensure accuracy of detail when the good name of a country’s citizens is brought into question.

It is a dereliction of responsibility to allow political bias or an editorial position to get in the way of “accurate reporting”.ย  A news organization to be held in high esteem by its readers must ensure it can be believed for accuracy and fairness.

This problem of illegal immigration will end and must be solved, but it would be most unfortunate if in the future people are able to refer to a major organization’s article as substantive proof that certain events did occur in Barbados…on just allegations.

Barbados as a whole will have to live with any accusations, not a “particular political Party”.ย  It is also worthy of note that in our efforts to gain political power and control; that aspiration must never be so overriding that we are prepared to besmirch the good name of our country.

Barbadians now and in the future can hold our heads high, if we know we have acted according to our Laws and with the fairness we have always afforded visitors to our shores.

For any major news outlet to publish stories of a besmirching kind to Barbados, its Immigration Officers, Policemen and its elected Government which cannot be easily corroborated and on which appropriate remedial action – if required – cannot be taken, is nothing less than; I am tempted to say … a disgrace.

1. Doing research on BU blog recently we were surprised to learn from a commenter posted on the 16 April 2009  that Dr. Aubrey Armstrong and Roxanne Gibbs are brother and sister. It is important that as Executive Editor of the daily newspaper with the biggest circulation Roxanne Gibbs needs to be very careful. Careful monitoring of the Nation newspaper in the last 5 years for sure shows a questionable editorial policy. The immigration debate is so critical Barbadians need to start to sit up and question the role the Nation newspaper and other media houses are playing to assist the government of Barbados to distill its amnesty policy. It is clear that the Guyana government owned media houses have removed the gloves while our local media feel satisfied to regurgitate what is being published over there.

The fact Dr. Armstrong is an active political operative in Guyana and seems to be on a shortlist to take control of the PNCR opposition party becomes interesting. It is interesting to note that leader of the PNCR Corbin has joined the bandwagon to toss criticism at the Barbados government for trying to implement a managed immigration policy which must obviously impact Guyanese, the largest group of immigrants in Barbados. Is it reasonable to suggest that Roxanne Gibbs may have some bias regarding how news is published in the Nation on this matter?  The time has come for Barbadians to start asking some probing questions.

Additionally the citing of Annalee Davisโ€™ work which is based on interviews with Guyanese without any corroboration from Barbados authorities lays it bare for all to read the plot. Last week we suggested that a PR effort needs to be initiated by the government of Barbados to bust this plot wide open. We would even suggest that members of the media are invited to accompany immigration officials in the short term to stem the lies being tossed across open waters by leaders in the region who should know better.

Now is the time for all Barbadian entities, churches, academics, opposition party, NGOs etc to work with OUR government to expose the plot.

2. Should there be any deportations during a period of amnesty? If so, what does amnesty mean? I’m sorry, but this thing is sounding more and more every day like a sham to get rid of Guyanese (not British, not European, not even CARICOM) immigrants.

3. Has any official of the Government of Barbados publicly refuted the allegations?

It would be good that news media be always fair, balanced and truthful. However, if at any time any such entity does not adhere to such principles, it is the responsibility on those in authority to defend the country and its public servants.

4. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Themis

For you and others like you who don’t ‘seem’ to understand;the amnesty is for caricom non nationals who have been living here since 1998 – and who have been working during that period – and who don’t have a criminal record etc.

Those persons who don’t fall in that 11 year period are the bulk of guyanese and jamaicans who came in here by the thousands during the last 4 to 5 years.

So there fore if you are not elegible for the amnesty,then it stands to reason that the immigration officers don’t have to wait until 1st December 2009 when the amnesty ends,to start deporting you.

There are thousands of caricom non nationals who are not covered by the amnesty and therefore should not be waiting until 1st of December to go home and they know this.

They are really only playing for time and hoping that these made up stories and exaggerations will sway public opinion and hopefully the government of barbados and so hopefully thompson will reverse his decision.

Plain and simple.

5. Yardbroom, u gone back tuh dis again?!! But YB, dere in nutten we can do about it, so we might as well lef d people alone tuh get on wid it!! We’ve done so wid d homosexuals an d rastafarians, so what’s new!! People are n’t interested in serious subjects, just fluff like music, partying, an ‘whaever happen, happen!! Fuh which they will pay dearly, one day! However, they’re not worried about that! That’s for others to worry about, then!!

6. I am afraid that it is not that plain and simple, mu&bb. There is no authority given to the immigration officer to determine by themselves whether or not one is an illegal immigrant. That is a matter to be resolved by the immigrant going and taking advantage of the amnesty before December 1. After that all illegals are fair game.

7. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Guyanese Conspiracy.

If there was any doubt that there is a conspiracy going on with the guyanese professionals who have settled and living in Barbados โ€“ well todayโ€™s Starbroek newspaper lays it all out for everyone to see.

It is clear as day that unlike professor Eudine Barriteau who came from grenanda to Barbados as a young child and benefited from free secondary education from primary to tertiary levels as well as all the other benefits โ€“ the guyanese people are extremly ungrateful people who are only interested in taking and taking from this society,but when the time comes for them to stand up for us the bajans โ€“ they turn on us and join with their llegal countrymen and women in barbados and their corrupt administration โ€“ to destroy Brbadosโ€™ image in the world.

Prof Barriteau in a radio interview on VOB, stood up for bajans and their kindness and generosity to her when she came here as a poor young girl,the daughter of a hawker,and she condemned the way these non nationals who are enjoying a better life in barbados are now condemning barbados because they are being deported for being illegal in the country.

BU family we are in UNCHARTERED waters and we are in DANGEROUS times.

Bajans every where needs right now to speak with their pocket book and IMMEDIATELY STOP BUYING THE NATION NEWSPAPER,and instead read it on line or not at all.

Friends,have a look in todayโ€™s Starbroek newspaper and see what is going on.

The game being played out is this .The Starbroek prints every day a negative story on immigration in Barbados,and the next day the Nation newspaper headed by the guyanese roxanne gibbs carries the starbroek story in the barbadian paper.

Go on the archives for the Starbroek newspaper and see for the past 8 or more weeks a negative story is carried every day about Barbados.

It is more difficult to fully research the nation because their on line paper is sparse,however what I have noticed is that they will print the negative immigration story on line,but the pro- barbados response is hardly ever published on line.

Now what we have are the so-called guyanese โ€˜heavy gunsโ€™ who have all scampered from guyana and run to Barbados and are living large,now giving interviews to the Starbroek newspapers condemning barbados.

In todayโ€™s starbroek it is shridath ramphal, and compton bourne (CDB), and a reference to Prof clive thomas,and of course bharat jagdeo.

Guess who shridath ramphal quotes as an authoratative source? โ€“ none other that the subervisive annalee davis โ€“ and he quotes her as a researcher.

Now as far as I know she ahs always described herself as an โ€˜artistโ€™.

See who they use for back up?

They are using the words of BAJANS to hit out against barbados,so we see quotes from mia mottley,or owen arthur,or annalee davis that white girl who cares more about indian guyanese workers than her homeland,or david commissong โ€“ the Opportunist, who was born in st vincent.

Roxanne gibbs and her protaganists may see their desired aim of confusion and bitterness against barbados in the short term,but the long term effect for guyanese will be far more lasting.

No matter what gonsalves,stephenson king and the other caricom leaders say;they are watching carefully what happens when you allow a build up of guyanese in your country (like owen did),and will be seeking to prevent the barbadian scenario from happening to them.

However the deepest effect will be the future guyanese โ€“ barbados relationship amongst the ordinary people.

For never again will bajans feel they can trust guyanese and will want to reach out and offer them a helping hand โ€“ because they know a quick kick in the backside at the end of it all will be coming from the guyanese.

Scout,JC,NegromanAdrian and others did warn barbados about this day a long time ago.

The chickens are finally coming home to roost.

8. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Themis

Did you understand what you just wrote?

Or,let me put it another way did you understand what I explained earlier about the amnesty?

You are saying an immigration officer cannot dtermine who is an illegal immigrant;

That is the first lie;

Then you say ‘only when the immigrant goes and take advantage of the amnesty before December 1st,is when he will be discovered to be an illegal immigrant;

Second lie.

ALL CARICOM NON NATIONALS WHO ARE CAME INTO BARBADOS AFTER 1998 AND ARE UNDOCUMENTED – ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THE AMNESTY – THEREFORE THEY DON’T HAVE TO GO INTO IMMIGRATION.

Instead they should be already on a plane heading back to Guyana,Jamaica,St Vincent,St Lucia wherever.

They know when they came in and they have been telling all and sundry,including a reporter from the Starbroek news who came up here from Guyana to investigate – they said they will go underground and will not be going back to guyana because there is nothing there for them.

I really thought you did not understand,but I am now begining to realise that this is another ‘Hog squeal’ political operative masquerading
    Please,I beg of you, do not play politics with our future.

9. You are wrong, mu&bb. The term “amnesty” means a grace period during which there is a hold on deportations so that we can work out who is legitimately here and who is not. What is the use of telling immigrants to go into immigration when any immigration officer can determine whether one is an illegal immigrant or not? And what about the illegal immigrants from elsewhere? Since they are not entitled to the benefit of the amnesty, how come we are not hearing of any of them being rounded up?

10. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Themis

I will try and explain once again.

If on Monday morning prime minister Thompson announces in Parliament that he will be giving an amnesty on the payment of road tax arrears to all barbadians 65 years and over.

If he says those who the amnesty applies to – ie all those 65 years and over – will have until 1st December to come in and get the waiver on outstanding road taxes;

Don’t you think it will be stupid for a 21 year old person to decide he or she is going to wait until 1st December to see if the amnesty will apply to him or her?

Who does the amnesty apply to – those 65 years and over;

Who does the amnesty NOT apply to ? – all those under 65 years.

What should those who the amnesty NOT apply to do?

Go in and pay their road taxes forthwith – or face arrest by the law enforcing agency.

Can you extrapolate from that to the guyanese situation?

I know you can,but you obviously have to play your political games.

Carry on my friend.

11. david thompson needs to get tough. roxanne gibbs, rickey singh, norman faria and the other guyanese refugees must be put in their places. they want to destroy barbados for the guyanese to take over. barbados belongs to barbadians… if these people hate barbados, their status should be revoked and they can return to their wonderful country.

12. MU&BB, so what if in your example you have a man who looks like 75 but is really 50 and you have another man who is 65 but looks like 50, does that give a right to the authorities to arrest either of them while they are driving on the road before December 1?

And cut out the nonsense about political games. It is the sign of a weak mind. I am not even Barbadian!

13. While I am aware that, as part of its job creation strategy, the DLP is paying $0.50 per pound for Barbadians to pick African Snails, I am not in a position to say whether a bounty of $75 is being paid by the Immigration Department to DLP members and supporters who call the Immigration Department to inform on Guyanese living within their communities.

What is ugly – is that Guyanese are being rounded up and deported without even the courtesy to pack their suitcase.

Here is how it works:

1. A DLP member or supporter calls the Immigration Department to say where Guyanese live.

2. The DLP member and supporter then gets $75.00. (not yet confirmed)

3. The Immigration turns up and load the Guyanese on a bus – sometimes chaining them with a rope.

4. Once the Immigration bus/van heads to the airport, DLP members and supporter move into the vacant house and remove the clothing, jewelry, furniture and fitting and anything of value left by the Guyanese.

Deportation of Guyanese is therefore a lucrative business for the DLP.

Their members inform on Guyanese and get rich in the process by stealing the possessions of Guyanese – once they are deported.

14. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Perhaps your last statement explains why you are refusing to understand the amnesty issue.

For your imformation,immigration officers are not going on raids wily-nily.

If you read the report in last week sunday sun of an illegal guyanese carpenter deported – he said quite clearly – the immigration officers are operating with surgical strike.

That is,the illegal immigrant said these officers are not knocking on doors and checking for immigrants,they are going directly to the homes where these illegal immigrants are.

They know exactly who they are looking for.

So to your point about a man looking like 50 but he is really 65 and therefore this does not give the authorities the right to hold him – well, if the police in the process of carrying out their duties found your documents a on road tax are not in order – then it is arrest for you buddy.

The immigration officers know exactly who are the persons benefiting from this amnesty,so don’t fool yourself.

Remember the immigration cabinet sub committee studied this for an entire year before they made recommendations to the prime minister and the cabinet.

Remember too,the prime minister made the declaration of the policy quite back in May,and that policy was to take effect in June.

It stands to reason therefore,when the prime minister announced the policy in parliament in May,those who knew they will not be benefiting from the amnesty had from then until the first of june to pack up their things or make arrangements to get them out.

Obviously these illegals felt the prime minister was giving them time to hide and go underground.

So they were boasting that they are not going back and the immigration will not be able to find them.

When you play those games my friend,you have to live with the consequences.

15. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

EYE95

Thank you political pimp for alerting us to the next set of lies we will be seeing in the Sunday Sun and the Starbroek newspapers.

Just remember when you go to Guyana – with this hatred against bajans you and your party are encouraging – the guyanese will not be asking whether you are a BLP bajan or a DLP bajan.

You sowed in the wind and you will be reaping in the whirlwind.

16. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

We would not be in this mess if the last administration had put measures in place to deal with the immigration issue we now face. I blame it all on them.

Also we Barbadians, as much as our enemies would like the world to believe that we are this and that, are a very receptive and open minded people. I really do not think that many Barbadians are in high opposition to Guyanese living here; if they were we would have seen open protest. The problem is the failure to arrest the influx at the time and the fear that Bajans know comes with people of a certain complexion and hair type who tend to strive towards lucrative success more than themselves.

17. mash up & buy back, wrote:

“That is,the illegal immigrant said these officers are not knocking on doors and checking for immigrants,they are going directly to the homes where these illegal immigrants are.

They know exactly who they are looking for.”

Not quite old boy, they are even stopping Mini-busses and taking people off.

This David Thompson inhumane and discriminatory deportation policy, which borders on human rights violation – is turning out to be a lucrative venture for DLP members and supported, who are benefitting from the deportation of Guyanese.

At least in T&T Guyanese are allowed to sell their things or pack and take with them.

18. Jukecheckedeyskirt // June 27, 2009 at 1:33 pm

We would not be in this mess if the last administration had put measures in place to deal with the immigration issue we now face. I blame it all on them.

What is it exactly that the Guyanese are stopping you DLP members and supporters from getting?

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads, yet unemployment is still 10.4% and highest among men โ€“ something not seen in Barbados for over 25 years.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads, yet there is still grid lock on the roads.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads and the cost of living is still high

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads but Barbadosโ€™ credit rating has been downgraded.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads and someone is still being shot almost every night in this country.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads yet Four Seasons remains close.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads and the DLP is still price gouging on petroleum products, land tax and soon – water rates, โ€œjust to please the IMF.โ€

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, Barbados lost over $700 million in foreign reserves between March 2008 and March 2009.

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation โ€“ cost of living increases and the US economy is coming out of recession, while Barbados is going in.

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, the DLP continues to punish Barbadians by confiscating their wealth through high taxation.

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, people cannot get an NHC house because they do not have a job and therefore cannot qualify for a mortgage.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads but Camps are being administered on โ€œa rolling basisโ€ (spending gone wild) and yet – people are not being paid.

How is that possible?

+++++++++++++++++++

Are Guyanese preventing you DLP members and supporters from getting to the trough?

That DLP members and supporters would now be robbing Guyanese – is ugly.

DLP members and supported are deporting Guyanese only to steal what they worked for, while they were here.

19. (1) Cost Of Living (2) Cost Of Living (3) Cost Of Living………
    It’s more like (1)Guyanese, (2)Guyanese,
    (3) Guyanese.
    Thompson surely lacking vision and this country going back to 1991 status. Petroleum gone back up, water rates going up, light rates going up, unemployment figures up, and all you numb skull DLP bloggers talking bout is Guyanese. Leadership poor.What are we going to gain by deporting lowly Guyanese. All this stupid talk bout NIS and taxes . I sure nuff a wunna bout dey don’t pay fart or trick the system.
    The bottom line is that you GT haters jealous because the people hustling………and making it……..
    I AM BARBADIAN and i fed up with the nonsense.
    By the way i have SOME questions for anyone who has the answers..
    (1)How many undocumented Caricom nationals are in Barbados?
    (2)Who cleared them at the airport?
    (3)Who do they work for?
    (4)Where do they live?
    (5)Who are they renting from?

20. Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads…..

You people are the cause of all of the mess but we will get wanna out, my community looks like Barbados again…how sweet.

Let me say thanks to the good hard working immigration officer, you are doing a fantastic job and should be awarded, keep it up.

Don’t hurt your heads with the nation paper we all know its anti DLP, that is also why Starcom will never get a TV license those two media houses are too closely knit, i know for a fact they will NEVER get a TV station.

21. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Here is an extract from the Times of India newspaper, where basdeo jagdeo wife took 10 guyanese children mainly indo guyanese to a hospital in India for charitable work on the children needing heart surgery.

Guess what? – The indian hospital detained these guyanese children for non payment and you know starbroek news and Jagdeo and the rest ain’t got nothing to say about that.

These are poor,sick indian guyanese children going to their motherland.

Yet they have time to jump into barbados domestic immigration policy business.

What say you,BLP yardfowls?

CHENNAI: Ten children from Guyana, who were not being allowed to leave a hospital in Chennai for non-settlement of bills for their heart surgeries,
    have now been allowed to return home after an NGO, which sponsored them, and the hospital reached an agreement on Saturday.

The Guyana-based NGO, Kids First Fund, run by Varshnie Singh, former first lady of the Carribean Republic, had agreed to settle the bills within six months for surgeries performed at Frontier Lifeline Hospital, sources in the hospital said.

Singh, who made a vain bid to take the children on Friday, confirmed that a settlement has been reached and they would leave either on Saturday or Sunday depending on availability of air tickets.

The children and two adults brought by Singh were about to leave the hospital late on Friday night on completion of treatment, but hospital officials insisted she settles the bills for the surgeries, performed earlier this month, before they leave.

The NGO had been sending children to the hospital for heart surgeries for the last four years and used to settle bills after their return by raising funds, Varshnie had said.

Before reaching Guyana, the children would visit London for a fund raising event, she said.

Prior to the settlement, hospital chief administrative officer Jose Manavalan had said the NGO owed $13,000 on account of surgeries performed during the last visit, but the hospital waived it.

22. BREAKING NEWS…BREAKING NEWS…BREAKING NEWS

Prime Minister will speak on immigration issue at 4:15 listen to VOB

is he going soft…please don’t sir

23. Watch it now !
    Simple way to get your community looking like Barbados againโ€ฆhow sweet it will be!
    (1) Charge and Prosecute all persons who RENT houses or rooms to Illegal Guyanese.
    (2)Charge and Prosecute all persons who EMPLOY illegal GUYANESE.
    (3)Charge and prosecute all persons who knowingly let undocumented persons live in their neighbourhoods.
    THERE! PROBLEM SOLVED!

24. Ef he ever drop the figures at all in this 4:15 statement, i suspect there will be a collective dropping of jaws in shock!

25. Probably he is reading my blog ….Please sir implement my three simple steps……Lets get back our beautiful Barbados……HOW swweeeeeet it will be!

26. Trust me ! Giant African snails and Guyanese outnumber Bajans
    50 000: 1. I ain’t going even mention other Caricom nationals…

27. DEPORT THEM ALL!

28. I support P.M. Thompson in deporting all illegal caricom aliens. Deport guyanese back to their ass backward, underdeveloped country. Let them return and build their country. Barbados is for bajans. Guyana is for guyanese. Bajans, stand strong and support P.M. Thompson in this new, implemented migration policy. Every country have a duty for lookout for their citizens first and foremost.

29. The first person he got to deport is himself(born in uk), and then his wife(born in St.Lucia). I WONDER WHY HE DIDN’T TAKE ANY OF U beautiful black barbadian women to be his wife!!!

30. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

BU Family

For those who missed it the prime minister just gave a sterling presentation on CBC Radio.

It was not carried on VOB.

I think that was very telling.

The prime minister is clearly fed up with the agenda being pushed by the Nation and VOB.

Today the line in the sand has been drawn.

Vivian gittens and Vic Fernandes will live to regret the agenda they were pushing.

The prime minister said he is very resolute.

David the prime minister heard you.

Did you realise the bold,strategic P.R. move he is making?

He is going to beam a paid press conference to every caribbean television stations across the region where he will be stating the barbados position and will be answering questions.

This is the best move because if he left it to the one caribbean media houses across the region to reprt his statement accurately it would be put on page 21.

Stay tuned People.

31. Guyanese ass backward………But yet they are controlling your radio stations, your newspapers …….
    Guyanese ass backwards……….But yet Auntie Olga got to feed and clothe wunna
    Guyanese ass backward…………But yet them taking all your men and women for their wives and husbands.

32. Hear Thompson on VOB – he breaking for himself. Immigration Officers are being left out in the cold.

His take is – I did not sanction it – blame the Immigration Officers.

Prime Minister Thompson is now telling persons to bring fact – how can they if there have already been deported by his government?

33. Wow. just heard it. this man is really maturing into a fine prime minister. i cant be more pleased with his sentiments and the tone. I’ve had my doubts at time since the last election, but it seems my vote for him wasnt wasted at all.

34. I listen to the PM announcement today…

…Well said PM, sorry for the nation paper who try to play the sympathy card…PM say it aint gonna work… GUYANESE WANNA GOT TO GO HOME AND STAY THERE.

I love this man…Good work PM don’t move from your word.

35. @Eye95

You are being mischievous.

He asked anyone who has evidence to put it on the table and if investigated and is found to be true he or she will be dealt with.

36. David // June 27, 2009 at 4:30 pm

@Eye95

You are being mischievous.

He asked anyone who has evidence to put it on the table and if investigated and is found to be true he or she will be dealt with.

Did he not read what the landlords are saying in the local press? Who will pay them lost rents now that Guyanes were rounded up and deported?

David, who will come forward?

The people who agree with Thompson’s inhumane, discriminatory human rights violation policy – are DLP members and supporters: not prof. Girvan; not Sir Ronald Saunders, not Dr. Tennyson Joseph – and certainly not respected journalist like Rickey Singhn nor the same Regional Heads – all of who will cuss Thompson (rightly tomorrow).

He is going to Guyana – perhaps he should use WIV as his food taster.

37. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Fellow bloggers

Are you seeing how far the blp will go to gain political mileage.

Read that last comment by eye95 who is the same as themis and the same as 123,and all the other aliases.

He is hinting at our prime minister being poisoned in guyana at the nest Heads of Government meeting.

At no time during owen arthur’s reign,even when he was causing all manner of evil to befall us,at no time did we hear,wishing in vain,veritas,hartley henry,negroman nor any other person suggest that a foreign government may do our leader harm.

We have fallen to an all time low with this BLP lot and if rawle eastmond or gline clarke and the others don’t speak out,well we will know that they too endorse this position.

38. @Eye95 ,when a good logical argument fails,use threats. Its your kind of thing.

39. We must not be distracted into vitriol and as MU&BB said be “careful”. The facts of the debate are on our side; we just need to bring them rationally to the table.

We must be resolute, determined and just in our expositions. I said some time ago this issue will test us but we are equal to the task.

We put our faith in our Prime Minister David Thompson and his Government, they will not fail us. I made the prediction before the general election that David Thompson will go down in history as one of the greatest Prime Ministers Barbados ever had, and so it will be.

We must set our faces to the wind, be brave, hold fast and our children’s victory will be ours…they have been surprised by our resolution.

40. Tell me something.During a gun Amnesty, does the Cops turn a blind eye to each and everyone carrying a weapon?

41. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

What I like about the prime minister remarks was when he said if the others will not go with us (on this managed migration issue & others) then, we will go it alone.

Look out fireworks down in georgetown next week.

Thompy cruel yuh hear.

42. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David (for good sense and perhaps honesty)
    @MUBB
    “It was not carried on VOB…I think that was very telling.”

VOB is 92.9? The question is rhetorical. Immediately after a series of Michael Jackson songs, the PM’s broadcast began on VOB. That is a fact. Why would you state otherwise? I think that is very telling. I listened on the Internet.

43. The political pressure will be increased on us who would like the immigration laws enforced.The Barbados standard is the ‘rule of law’,period.If other Caricom countries cannot even understand that basic tenet then what is the point in Barbados being apart of CSME.

Imo,If those whom are against or continue to insist on this path against the Barbados crackdown we will have no choice but to opt out of CSME.I issue this challenge that if at the next Caricom meeting Barbados’ sovereignty is not respected as it pertains to the illegal immigration crackdown then the People of Barbados should be given a referendum to opt out of CSME,effective immediately.Those who have pending CSME certificates would then be given on a case by case basis immigrant status if it is in the national interest,those with approved certificates should be given immigrant status.

This enforcing attitude on the Caricom level to be laxed when it comes to laws is just plane sickening.THE ABSOLUTE HYPROCRISY IN THIS ENTIRE THING IS THAT THEY RUN TO BARBADOS SHORES BECAUSE IT IS MUCH SAFER.

From since when is ENFORCING THE CURRENT IMMIGRATION LAWS an amnesty,IT IS A MANDATE OF ANY GOVERNMENT regardless of if an immigration amnesty is given OR not.

If your papers are not in order you are deported,end of story.It has NOTHING to do WITH CSME or CARICOM.It is a SOVEREIGN matter that the Barbados Government can implement & its people have cried out for the longest time on deaf ears with the previous overlord Government.

No more GAMES,DELAYS or Bullsh*t about CSME .JUST ENFORCE THE LAW.

44. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Living in Barbados.

At 4:00 p.m. VOB was announcing motor sports and as you say playing michael jackson songs, while CBC had the prime minister on live.

I again will repeat that is very telling.

I actually thought VOB was not carrying it at all.

Something strange about that to my mind.

45. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB
    Previous correspondence on this blog had indicated the statement would be on @ 4.15, and that’s what happened on VOB. That CBC broadcast it before, begs question about why that time was publicised (the PM’s office and CBC can clarify), and also may say something about the competition between the state run and private broadcasters. There was a similar incident a few days back on another issue.

More important for me, is that you acknowledge the fact and you can also retract the insinuation of your previous remark about what you think the apparent non-broadcast tells you.

Honest discussion is simply that, and those who do not or cannot engage in such should not stand on ceremony.

There are political games that people play and then there are the real aspects.

46. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB/David

I see a post from David on another thread @ 4pm that corrected the expected broadcast time to 4pm ( see:
    David // June 27, 2009 at 4:00 pm
    @mash up
    Yesโ€ฆ4.00PM!)

Again, I refer to competition between CBC and VOB, recalling several key political events/that VOB were not permitted to carry live.

47. Obviously there is a story behind the story regarding the live broadcast on CBC and the delay on VOB. This is a side issue which will be explained in the fullness of time. We should stay focused on the core issues.!

48. guyanese Compton Bourne deserves to be kicked out of Barbados. he is head of a regional organisation and should not be interfering in the domestic affairs of Barbados. the government of barbados should demand his removal as president of the CDB. he is out of place. in stabroek news, he is complaining about the treatment of guyanese illegals but not complaining about barbadians who were unfaired recently at the CDB and sent home. the plan is to full CDB with Guyanese and keep out barbadians. this plan must be resisted.

49. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Food for thought: Unless you are at the heart of decision making you cannot determine what are the core issues for those who make decisions. You have concerns that are very important as a citizen, but they may not be at the core of anything that matters to decision makers. We can deal with that in another arena.

On the matter of immigration, the figures cited by the PM should not be ignored, and have significant implications for what managed migration may mean:
    15 residences raided during June; 47 persons detained (o/w 34 Guyanese), but only 8 deported (o/w 4 Guyanese)
    177 applications for extensions (o/w 41 Guyanese).
    318 applications for short term work permits (o/w 294 by Guyanese), and the PM felt that the majority of these would be approved.

50. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Living in Barbados

You were quick to criticise me and insinuate that I was being dishonest.

Now that you realise that I asked david about the veracity of the news of the impending P.M. press conference and he confirmed that it was going to be 4:00 p.m. – I see you did not offer an apology for your uncharitable remarks.

Press conferences are usually broadcast silmultaneously on all the radio stations.

I still think it is telling that VOB chose to do a delayed broadcast.

Anyway,enough of that.
    Well what can I say,you are making yourself clearer by the day.