Submitted by Yardbroom
Roxanne Gibbs - Executive Editor Nation Newspaper
Roxanne Gibbs – Executive Editor Nation Newspaper
PNCR leader Robert Corbin is denying holding talks with party executive Dr Aubrey Armstrong
Dr Aubrey Armstrong

Recent lurid details of a female illegal Guyanese immigrant being apprehended, was disseminated by a major Barbados news outlet.ย  The allegations if true are worthy of investigation by the relevant authorities.ย  However, the article was so lacking in person details, it was impossible to identify anyone because of the anonymity given.

It is necessary that anonymity is afforded in certain cases, to protect sources from retribution even ridicule, but the level of fairness we are justifiably eager to give illegal immigrants, must also be given to the relevant immigration authorities, the Barbados Government and the citizens of Barbados on whom such allegations can have a negative impact.

If the personnel involved in the allegation cannot be identified, how can appropriate action be taken by the relevant authorities?ย  Unless there is some dissemination of information the alleged unfairness cannot be properly challenged and rectified.

Major news outlets have a responsibility to ensure accuracy of detail when the good name of a country’s citizens is brought into question.

It is a dereliction of responsibility to allow political bias or an editorial position to get in the way of “accurate reporting”.ย  A news organization to be held in high esteem by its readers must ensure it can be believed for accuracy and fairness.

This problem of illegal immigration will end and must be solved, but it would be most unfortunate if in the future people are able to refer to a major organization’s article as substantive proof that certain events did occur in Barbados…on just allegations.

Barbados as a whole will have to live with any accusations, not a “particular political Party”.ย  It is also worthy of note that in our efforts to gain political power and control; that aspiration must never be so overriding that we are prepared to besmirch the good name of our country.

Barbadians now and in the future can hold our heads high, if we know we have acted according to our Laws and with the fairness we have always afforded visitors to our shores.

For any major news outlet to publish stories of a besmirching kind to Barbados, its Immigration Officers, Policemen and its elected Government which cannot be easily corroborated and on which appropriate remedial action – if required – cannot be taken, is nothing less than; I am tempted to say … a disgrace.

1. I can’t wait until all of these Caricom non-nationals are deported……Then we can deal with some real issues!
    I thought there were no raids? Who will come forward and report anything.They are illegal and already deported?

2. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB

Your post was made after VOB broadcast, which you acknowledge, started at 4.15. Yet you posted the following:

“mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 4:21 pm

BU Family

For those who missed it the prime minister just gave a sterling presentation on CBC Radio.

It was not carried on VOB.”

That’s a statement you could easily have corrected, even to say, it began with a delay. But you did not. I am not imputing a motive. I am merely saying that you knew it was broadcast, but said it was not.

We can argue about whether the time stamp of the comments are right. But I merely cite what I see/read.

But enough of that. Let CBC and VOB figure out between themselves the issue of broadcasting, and a delay of 15 minutes is not so material, especially if it carried in full.

3. @LIB

Are you saying that discussing VOB’s delayed broadcast is core to the immigration debate? We restate the point! It is not.

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I’m saying that unless you know (intimately) what is driving the decisions you cannot determine what is a core issue. Your commentators have spent much time on news management issues, so if government-controlled entities play into news management practices on sensitive issues, then that can be core, because it affects perceptions of the how the debate is being conducted–as shown by MUBB’s intimation.

Again, we speculate about why it was delayed on VOB, but if it were due to restrictions placed by CBC, then that is not trivial.

I dont need to flog this horse.

5. The Prime Minister presented some facts that showed that no plane loads of Guyanese are being deported.
    Mr. Prime Minister Barbadians have your back on this immigration policy.
    The patriotic Barbadians on this site should stop responding to the BLP supporters and other Caricom nationals who mean us no good. If this topic continues to the next election Mia will be opposition leader again. Therefore let them continue.
    Living in Barbados is always looking for any loopholes to prove his point against the Barbados government. Now that information is provided he is about to dissect it. If Guyanese are the most illegal immigrants in Barbados then they will be the most to be deported.
    The Barbados Police Force invades Barbadians homes between 3.00 and 6.00 am when they are looking for persons who broke the law. That makes sense because most persons must sleep at some time.
    In the USA the immigration surrounds factories and takes the illegal immigrants away. You do not get any chance to get no furniture.
    If you are illegal you should buy your furniture and send it home, not look to settle. Donโ€™t tell me about any bajans in New York. My fiend got deported from the US and his family there had to send his clothes.

6. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

BU

I just can’t believe what I was reading over at BFP.

I decided to check to see how they were dealing with the immigration debate,and could not believe my eyes!

Barbados Free Press is actually saying that there is a deliberate policy by the immigration officers to deport guyanese and leave their appliances so it could be stolen.

They are also carrying as fact a deported guyanese woman say so that the barbadian immigration department is offering $100. bds for every guyanese turned in.

You know I can understand norman faria,and even Jagdeo,but you know people like mia mottley and annalee davis,george brathwaite and other bajans and those #@***
    creeps at BFP really shocking me to the core.

I now know who Thompson was referring to when he spoke about the anti-bajan filth on the blogs and newspaper columns.

Now that I see what is on BFP,it is clear the prime minister too is also aware.

You know we have some true patriotic white bajans like richard hoad,bizzy williams,foster,the late mr taylor,karl watson and many others.

But boy did we scrape the barrel with the likes of annalee davis and that crowd at BFP.

Phew!

7. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Anonymous (@10.16pm)
    “Living in Barbados is always looking for any loopholes to prove his point against the Barbados government. Now that information is provided he is about to dissect it.”
    I’ve spent my working life analysis things to see what they tell me and others and make sense of statements. It does not hurt my brain. I means that I try to understand, and sometime the fact fit a prior assumption and sometime they dont.

The data the PM does not show very much because he highlighted Guyanese in each category and left unspecified other nationalities. If people’s concerns are only about Guyanese immigrants (illegal or otherwise), then they may be satisfied that some are in the categories. So, as far as the job market goes, the PM told us that over 90% of short-term work permit requests were from Guyanese and most of them will be allowed to stay and work, ie they ain’t going nowhere. Guyanese only made up under 25% of those seeking extensions. Presumably, they are not going anywhere either, and the remaining 75% we may assume will be treated likewise.

So, the PM’s answers suggest that the process of regularisation is leaving immigrants where they are–in Barbados. Is that a surprise?

8. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

More generally, because there is a tendency to see those who do not agree as enemies, there is a tendency to miss some clear big points. The amnesty started a process that said to illegals who arrived after 1998 to get themselves regularised. If I understand what is going on, it means little movement of people in that category out of Barbados. I hinted at that probability some time ago, and asked where would that leave Barbadians who know found that illegals were now legal and able to continue as before, but now with government sanction. No one answered that question. Now you have the reality to deal with.

It’s not about being pro- or anti-government but trying to understand what is really happening. As I have also said, there are many Barbadian vested interests that need to immigrant presence for their survival. Now, do you think those vested interests are going to just disappear?

9. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

The preceding should have read “…illegals who arrived BEFORE 1998…”

10. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Lord help us,

Living in Barbados and his convuluted logic.

11. @LIB

Your assumption is based on the numbers from the PM which represent those captured in the raid?

What about those who voluntary left the island? It is too soon to start jumping to conclusions about anything. The fact that the PM remains resolute in this matter says a lot.

Patriots must continue to rally around OUR government. Barbados has always been fortunate to have good leaders who knew which buttons to press when.

12. David, have you considered that the PM might remain resolute because he cannot back down now? Did you and mu&bb notice too his stark disagreement with some on this thread who assert that the Guyanese do not have any constitutional rights?

13. @Themis

We have commenters with wide ranging views on this issue so non sequiturs not accepted ๐Ÿ™‚

When we talk about rights or lack of we need to contextualize it maybe?

14. Anon; Everybody got a job to do even LIB. You can always ignore him. His impact depends on your response, therefore you have the upperhand.

@MUBB nuh body much reads what is presented over at BFP.

We are winning the arguments, because we chose not to be shaken.

15. I see guyanese immigrants every single day. when I am the bus, they are there. when I am my way to or from work, I am usually accosted by them who are blunt with their wish – they want a wife and willing to pay. I did not hear the figure of the PM but I can bet they are thousands because the immigration department in the past did not seem to properly manage the influx so that it has gotten out of hand.

the ministry of Economic affairs or some ministry should sensitize bajans to the effects of illegal immigration. maybe that will help alleviate the situation, if only a little. i am in sympathy to guyanese but being illegal in b’dos is not the same as being illegal in a first world country. we are only so big. it’s like 2 people working to support 20 and that 20 continues to increase. at some point in time someone will suffer. the PM must do all that he can now and we should give him whatever support he seeks. We must think of our grand children and our great grand children. we must leave them a heritage. but barbados cannot solve Guyana’s problems and i think it is vulgar for the guyanese consulate in barbados to assume a hostile position of the police and immigration dept, assuming without evidence that the illegals are being victimised. yes they have rights but so does the govt of barbados in looking out for the future of barbados.

16. I was not at home to hear the P.M speak. In fact, I didn’t even know he was going to speak but from the blogs, I’ve gotten the gist of his statement. First let me say, it seems Mia &Co intend to cause serious problems in this country. I stated this before but I am now more determined to see that this failure of everything moral, never becomes P.M of Barbados. When persons to get to that level is below gutter politics. Did Mia go to the doctor and she has cancer and is going to die within 12 mths? Wow, that’s why she wants to be P.M before she dies. Secondly, I’ve been saying this all along; their is no LIAT (ZR) at the airport with a sign GUYANESE DEPORTEES, therefore all this talk about bus loads being deported is dangerous lies. Thirdly and MOST IMPORTANTLY, there is a hint about trying to poison the P.M in Guyana, WELL WELL WELL, all I would say at this time is DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT. In closing, Mr PRIME MINISTER, I’m VERY proud of you and as a patriotic bajan I support you 1000%, you know we have not seen eye to eye on all occasions but you know I speak with a clear conscience. Your task is not easy but with the support you have I KNOW you will succeed. When this matter is cleared up, please look at those who caused the disturbance and where-ever possible declare them “personna non grata” for meddling in our sovereign affairs.

17. I don’t mind the licks I get for David Thompson. I listened to the man and he is class. Balanced, articulate, fair-minded and intelligent.

Qualities that Barbadians are known for. He was also patritotic.

Let there be no doubt about it, David Thompson is the man for these times in Barbados.

18. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

Eye 95

I call it like I see it. And when the David Thompson administration do something of the contrary, like the eyebrows that are raised with respect to the CLICO affair, I too will pelt venomous blame in his direction. I am not loyal to any party because none of the parties are not loyal to me (I am not in the circle of friends or infelicities). The last administration created this mess and the Thompson administration inherited it. So let they be a cleansing of those things that have subjected Barbados to sorrowful woes. And the crap about employment high is a given under the current economic crisis. What would the last administration have done to stem the flow of unemployment? I really do not want to know.

I did not worry to read any more of you bi- partisan crap. Have a nice day, and call it for what it really is.

19. @David
    Yes, I drew on the figures cited by the PM. I did not “jump to a conclusion” but extrapolated from those figures. On voluntary departures, I waited to hear what those had been, but no information was given. As I noted last week with regard to Sen. McLean, it is always notworthy when government officials do not give information that they say they have readily to hand. In so doing, the PM left little real clarity about the process. So I worked with the little dough I had.

What you may want to think about is a position 6 months from now when the PM can say that the illegal immigrant problem has been greatly reduced. Amongst the things that may mean is that most of the illegals offered amnesty (pre 1998 arrivals) have been regularised. Then you will have to ask how many illegal immigrants remain.

20. some of the ungrateful guyanese cursing barbados and bajans in the worst way are praying for the destruction of barbados by a hurricane, tidal wave or some other natural disaster. Bajans must go to stabroek news and see their venom just because our government is doing what is right for barbados.

sometimes the bad things you wish for others, happens to you. guyana floods very quickly. this happened a lot in recent years. guyana is below sea level. the sea wall is to protect the coast. the obeah which many guyanese believe in has not saved them when it flooded and it cannot save them them the next time.

21. @LIB

Let us get the managed immigration process in place then as a country we will be able to regulate our borders. The AG to be sure will be happy. We will deal with the other issues if and when they occur.

22. PM Thompson will have to intensify his efforts to get the truth out to the world. It is not only the local media who is focusing on the immigration issue.

From the editorial of the Jamaica Observer on 23 June, 2009 (online):

“It seems to us that instead of insulting his Caricom colleagues because they expressed concern about the inhospitable treatment their countrymen received in Barbados, Prime Minister Thompson should have instructed his police and immigration officers to treat the people they have apprehended with a level of decency and respect for the fact that they are human beings and not beasts.

The Gestapo-like rounding up and deportation of Caricom nationals is, we believe, more damaging to the objectives of Caricom rather than, according to Prime Minister Thompson, “a scenario where everybody is seeking to say something”.

Prime Minister Thompson therefore needs to tell us whether Barbados is committed to Caricom and the agreements forged between member states.”

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/editorial/html/20090622T180000-0500_153980_OBS_INSTEAD_OF_INSULTING_CARICOM__PRIME_MINISTER_THOMPSON_.asp

23. Living in Barbados: You are a Bildungsphilister. Check Neitzsche for the definition – but I will give you a hint: a philistine with cosmetic, nongenuine culture. A dogma-prone blog reader with cosmetic intelligence and shallow depth. You can’t see the conflict between your ideas and the texture of the world.

24. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

Dear Prime Minister Thompson

As I have told you before in other postings on this blog, you have the capacity and ability to be the best Prime Minister ever. Unfortunately, what you do now will determine the type of labelling you receive at the end of your days.

Like the former Prime Minister, who in his early days as a politician brought much intellect and promise to develop our island (and indeed his contribution was remarkable though often questionable) let not your reputation and credibility be tarnished with allegations of corruption, or depictions of arrogant-boastful displays (that followed the former PM).

What people tend to remember is not all the good that a person does but the few wrongs their commit. Let your wrongs be righted by acknowledgement and not blatant show of cover up.

There is a call by the people for you to stand firm to your promises and indeed you have an obligation to do so. Do not let it be said, as it is now, that you are not a man of integrity, transparency or accountability. Embark on doing what you said you would do and do it with the type of finest befitting a man (first) of your stature and (secondly) as elected leader.

These are still early days in your administration and the consequences of the global financial crisis weighs heavily on your ability to pull Barbados through. This, without doubt, will test the mantle of your manhood and ability as a leader to see Barbados through.

Inspite all the criticism you face, your decisions must be fundamental and carefully thought out before execution, less you be redicule further. Put the people first and recognized that some decisions already made needs review on their effect on Barbadians. One such decision is the increase in water rates. You need to determine if this increase will either help bolster the current woes faced by the BWA, which obviously is a problem of proper governance and management at that facility, or subject Barbadians to another burdensome price hike amidst the high cost of living they are struggling to deal with.

Further to this, I want you to know that the the situation at the BWA can also be proclamated at many other government run institutions on this island. There need to be another but thorough reevaluation exercise on government run ministries and departments in this country. The existence of mediocrity, procrastination and inadequate function (not failing to mention unsuitability for some jobs) needs address. To many ministries and their departments are found wanting and lacking.

I implore you Mr. Prime Minister to pay special attention to what is fundamental and foundational to Barbados’s rapid developmental status and to affix protective measures to arrest any possible demise. I know you are trying but you need to try alot harder. I hope that you are surrounded by intelligent, highly motivated people with capability and aptness who put purpose above politics. I hope that what ever endeavours or decisions you may embark for the betterment of the people and this islandd, ensure that you do so with the people’s approval and with the people in your heart. It makes no sense doing something without the peoples approval when your office is influenced by the people. I wish you God speed and blessings in these difficult and dubious times.

Best Wishes

Jukecheckedeyskirt

25. “Certainly, by next Thursday evening, Barbadians will know the exact rate of increase of water. But of whom much is given, much will also be expected. I am going to the public of Barbados in hard economic times and asking for an increase in water rates. I do so with the understanding that you – the staff at the BWA – will by your attitude and aptitude, justify that increase” – an excerpt from a recent speech by the Prime Minister of Barbados to the Board of Management, Management and Staff of the Barbados Water Authority, and which – in its totality – has been reproduced on this BU blog compliments of Veritas – a commenter on the BU blog, and the BU blog itself.

In his 2009 Financial and Budgetary Proposals in May, the Prime Minister told the Housae of Assembly and the public of Barbados that there will definitely be increases in the rates of water supplied by the Barbados Water Authority (BWA). In his presentation, then, Mr. Thompson had apparently set July 1, 2009 as the date for the implementation of these new rates. Whether this becomes a reality or NOT it is NOT clear. But what has certainly been made abundantly clear from the above excerpt is that the promised Thursday ( June 24, 2009 ) announcement of these new rates has indeed passed.

Such matters aside, we in PDC want to state publicly for the first time since the Prime Minister’s announcement of these impending increases in water rates in his Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals, that we are bitterly and diametrically opposed to any increases in water rates at this stage.

We are damnedly opposed to such increases – whether for domestic, commercial or other users – very much because, like the CBC, NHC, the Transport Board and some other state owned enterprises that are grossly being mismanaged, there are profound political, managerial, admistrative, technical and other problems that are so rife and pervasive throughout the BWA’s structure and operations, that they are in need of being addressed and solved first before any increases should have been sought and implemented.

It is these massive problems that are adversely impacting on the overall efficiency and effectiveness of the country’s sole provider of potable water. It is problems like oversized government, blatant partisan political interference into the recruitment process at the BWA; the total absence of a partnership structure; the almost total absence of a pipe maintenance program among other internal and supply side problems that are affecting the BWA’s operational and cost effeciency, and that are ultimately being borne by the general public in Barbados.

And – truth is – that no amount of increases in water rates will be enough to reduce the rising debt and arrears problems at this monopoly in the long term. For, this approach of increasing water rates will NOT increase the demand for water by customers of the BWA. On the positive side, what it will do is to, et al, surely help cause greater conservation practices, greater possibilities of disconnections, and a greater sense of prioritization of utility bill payments by customers at least in the short term, which would be strategies that are opposed to what was recently reported in the Nation Newspaper and attributed to the Parliamentary Representative for St. George North, Mr. Glyne Clarke, that such increases will lead to many using pit toilets again. What rubbish!!

On the negative side – which will outweigh the positive side in terms of the financial situation at the BWA, surely the debt and arrears problems at the BWA – and which are somewhat similar in severity to those at the CBC, NHC, and Transport Board – will continue to increase in the medium to long term NOT ONLY because the BWA is calling for more money per litre used to be paid for its services, BUT ALSO because the cost of living and doing business in Barbados will remain staggeringly high in the medium to long term, once the DLP and BLP senselessly occupy the benches of parliament. So for Mr. Thompson to add greater cost to the people of Barbados via increased water rates will mainly serve over time to help reduce “demand for and supply of many other goods and services in Barbados.

As a matter of fact it is the high cost of living and doing business in Barbados and the general recessionary conditions in Barbados that are seriously helping to cause thousands upon thousands of Barbadians to have less and less incomes to devote to the payment of bills on the whole. Thus the increasing debt and arrears of so many persons and businesses in Barbados.

So, rather than seeking to seriously reduce the cost of living, drastically reduce the cost of doing business in Barbados, properly reduce the size of government, and to pull Barbados out of the stagnation and decline in which it finds itself in, the Prime Minister resorts to increasing water rates at this stage without seriously tackling those and more fundamental problems in the country.

And to read in the editorial of the Saturday Sun, June 20, 2009, that “the Prime Minister is biting the bullet which successive governments have sidestepped” is pure codswallop and political pandering to nonsense. It is clear that what has to be done in this country is for the DLP and BLP to be democratically removed from the parliament of this country so that other serious people-centered developmentalist parties can take their places in this said parliament, wholly committed to the process of taking the necessary appropriate actions and implementing the necessary propitious programs that are needed to help make Barbados a brighter and better place in the future.

26. What rot Veritas. The man (LIB) disagrees with your and others’ views and the best you can do is attempt to accuse him of sharing your condition?

27. sylvan // June 28, 2009 at 8:14 am

some of the ungrateful guyanese cursing barbados and bajans in the worst way are praying for the destruction of barbados by a hurricane, tidal wave or some other natural disaster. Bajans must go to stabroek news and see their venom just because our government is doing what is right for barbados.

sometimes the bad things you wish for others, happens to you. guyana floods very quickly. this happened a lot in recent years. guyana is below sea level. the sea wall is to protect the coast. the obeah which many guyanese believe in has not saved them when it flooded and it cannot save them them the next time.
    ##########################

sylvan there are assholes in every nation, and the Guyanese who write stupid comments in stabroeknews qualify for that description. Most of them assume names that suggest that they are black, but they are not. It is pattern that has become popular in Guyana, and used to mislead readers that there are large segments of the African Guyanese population who support the PPP. And yes, there are black Guyanese who perceive the issue as a cause they should rally around, rather than going after the real culprit. That culprit is the PPP Government that has turned Guyana into an unlivable nation.

Incidentally, that strip of land which floods in Guyana account for the merest fraction of our territory. A smart regime would have long ago started resetling the bulk of people who live there to higher ground where the soil is more arable, and which is just a stone’s throw away relatively in terms of distance.

Barbados, as a sovereign nation, has the right to determine who it allows to enter that nation. That is an irrebutable conclusion. Barbados also has the right to take whatever precautions the Government deems as practical, to avoid becoming a strife torn nation because of racial superiority/inferiority cultural belief systems and practises. The one unbroken strain that runs thru Guyana, Fiji and Trinidad is the commonality of porejudice based on cultural perceptions that blacks are inferior. The fact that some Guyanese are leaving a country governed by those who they believe are superior, to seek their fortunes in one where the vast majority happen to belong to the group they perceive as inferior, should alert to the insipid and ludicrous doctrine being handed down from generation to generation. Just ask Keane Gibson.

28. Patriotic Bajan Avatar
    Patriotic Bajan

Anonymous you said โ€œPrime Minister Thompson therefore needs to tell us whether Barbados is committed to Caricom and the agreements forged between member states.โ€
    You are not being honest again. Last week the Prime Minister said that Barbados was rated number one in terms of upholding its Caricom commitments. None of the other countries denied that.
    We have signed the CCJ as our final appellate court. This is a court agreed upon by the leaders of Caricom. Where is Jamaica? Where were the other countries when there were the ship riderโ€™s problems?
    Barbados went on its own on many occasions and was proven right. We are doing it again. Antigua is following in trying to manage so many illegal immigrants

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas
    “You are a Bildungsphilister. Check Neitzsche for the definition โ€“ but I will give you a hint: a philistine with cosmetic, nongenuine culture. A dogma-prone blog reader with cosmetic intelligence and shallow depth. You canโ€™t see the conflict between your ideas and the texture of the world.”
    My German is a bit rusty, but that comes with age and lack of use.

So many oxymorons in one short submission. Weren’t the Philistines anti-intellectuals? I have no idea what gibberish like ‘cosmetic non-genuine culture means’. ‘Shallow depth’? You only need ‘shallow’. In times of recession, the less redundancy the better.

Dogma-prone? You mean I hold onto my opinion? Good lord, save us all! Am I the only one I read here with that afflication? Verily, I say, Cum veritas taceo sujectio declamo (When truth is silent, falsehood speaks loudly).

30. In lines 6-7, paragraph 6, it should have read greater possibilities of warranted disconnections, and NOT greater possibilities of disconnections.

31. Oh dear, Patriotic Bajan

read the post again carefully! I was not the author of the words quoted. It was the editorial of the J’ca Observer. Please note that I said PM Thompson needs to intensify his efforts to get the truth out to the world. I suggest that you follow the link to see what else is being written about B’dos.

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“Let us get the managed immigration process in place then as a country we will be able to regulate our borders. The AG to be sure will be happy. We will deal with the other issues if and when they occur.”

Is that your way of saying that this thread is ended :-)? Looking forward to a quiet Sunday, in that case.

PS: I read in today’s Nation (p22A)
    that the CBC/VOB spat spilled over last week on the airwaves, with regard to Crop Over/Sweet Soca and the alliance with NCF.

33. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB
    “Living in Barbados and his convuluted (sic) logic.”

I think the logic is fine–but I am biased. The conclusions you may not like.

Is it not convoluted to think that other Caricom nationals and countries are plotting and conspiring to bring down Barbados? Am I wrong to think of Barbados to be like the goose that has the golden eggs? If so, if this success story is brought down, what will it give as gain to the ‘plotters’ and ‘conspirators’? Is there some kind of Anancy/Brer Rabbit logic at work here?

34. @David
    โ€œLet us get the managed immigration process in place then as a country we will be able to regulate our borders. The AG to be sure will be happy. We will deal with the other issues if and when they occur.โ€

Is that your way of saying that this thread is ended :-)? Looking forward to a quiet Sunday, in that case.

PS: I read in todayโ€™s Nation (p22A)
    that the CBC/VOB spat spilled over last week on the airwaves, with regard to Crop Over/Sweet Soca and the alliance with NCF.

Not at all. BU is all for free speech and the first amendment you know that…?

We have to wait to see how some of this plays out.

35. Patriotic Bajan Avatar
    Patriotic Bajan

@PDC
    I am taking the liberty to say that you owned a cell phone. I am putting it to you that you pay more money for your cell phone use than your water bill.
    My cell phone bill is $65.00 post paid. My water bill averages around $50-$60.I will therefore not quarrel with an increase in water rates.
    Water is an essential service and the cell phone is not. Cell phone use in Barbados must be the highest in the world per population. There are so many young persons who owned blackberries now. The price for one of them is over $600.00
    All of our governments put a safety net in place for those who cannot pay water rates. Those who can pay will pay
    Where were you when the interveners were fighting to stop the increase in telephone bills and now the electric bills?
    You said that you will abolish taxes if you form the government. I suspect that Barbados would back into the dark ages. Water is heavily subsidized by those same taxes.

36. Anonymous
    What the Observer didn’t mention is the comments by their P.M about CARICOM/CSME. Remember who ducked out of the Federation first? Which party was in power then ? Golding don’t care too hoots about CARICOM or CSME. It is only when it benefits them.

37. Jamaica has the highest murder rate in the caribbean and we don’t tell them how to deal with that, but they want to tell us law abiding people how to deal with our problems and insult us and our leaders.

Im sure if Jamiaca had our problem they would kill them at least we give amnesty and a “free” ride home on airplane.

Jamaica your country is a lawless island and we also have your people living here just to get away from all the crime and lawlessness.

Guyana please fix your water, roads, politics, racist government…what i mean to say is FIX everything in that place, don’t encorage your people to run all over the place making it miserable and confuse.

This is what happens when you let to much of them in and gather in numbers.

Morman Farai i don’t know what plans you had to build the numbers of guyanese to start some kind of movement, political group or whatever but its not gonna happen…SORRY.

And all this talk about treatment oh please, my goverment is spending my money to put your a** on a nice plane and you complaining, if it was up to me you would peole would be on a banana boat at best.

You come here for 3 days and buy a fridge and stove well knwing you breaking the law and now what rights.

Criminals don’t have rights. GO HOME AND STAY THERE.

38. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB
    “You know we have some true patriotic white bajans like richard hoad,bizzy williams,foster,the late mr taylor,karl watson and many others.?

Isn’t Bizzy the one who recently made a proposal that would have excluded people like David Thompson from being active in Barbadian politics (because he was born in England)? Ok, Bizzy retracted it after a hail of criticism.

I suggest that you read the latest ‘The Lowdown’ carefully and really say if the Hoad view of the Barbados that he wants to keep in place is the same as yours.

39. T&T is playing it smart, they linking up with the OECS. It seems they want no part with Barbados because we are the onlt threat to their domination, so they linking with the “small islands.” Remember the famous saying “one from 10 leaves nought.” Boy oh boy these little islands in the caribbean are wasting money with all these Heads of Government talks that will achieve absolutely nothing but talk. At the end of these talks coming up, there will be a lot of hot air from Jagdeo and the guyanese will still be in the same situation and Barbados will still be on their same course getting them out as MUST happen. Jagdeo and Thompson would privately toast on that.

40. @Proud Bajan, when you say that criminals have no rights, does that refer to Bajan criminals too or only Guyanese illegal immigrants?

41. on second thoughts, when the amnesty is out and these illegal/undocumented guyanese are still in the island. I suggest that the P.M with the police and immigration do a all out search/hunt for these people. If we find bajans harbouring/housing them fine or confine the bajans. Put the guyanese in the same big warehouse in Six Roads that housed the prisoners until there is enough of them to ship out. I mean ship out on a boat along with the property in the airport warehouse, let them fight and kill each other in Guyana for the property. No-one can then claim inhumane behaviour since they would have been given ample time to get themselves documented and refused, therefore blatantly ignoring the laws of the country.

42. Any criminal

This is my opinion and don’t try to turn this into something bigger than what is really is.

43. @ The Scout // June 28, 2009 at 10:32 am

Totally agree.

44. I erad all the comments so far and wish to bring a few things to your attention so that you will understand teh stigam and discremination towards guyanese not only who are living in barbados but many who enters the country to conduct business for a few day.

on April 27, 2009, I a Guyanese Journalist entered barbados for a confernce with all my relevant documentataion, including the letter from teh hotel where i will be staying which contained by room number ect, a letter from the Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU) among other documents to support my visit to barbados.

thsi si wahst happened :

a. i went up to the immigration officer and said “good morning sir,
    he replied ” good morning, may i see your passport.
    i handed him my passport and all th other documents to support my visit.
    IO. ” is this your first time here?
    me : yes sir”
    IO” whay are your here”
    me: as you can see sir i am here for a confernce”
    IO who is here to receive you?
    me : sir , i will be taking a taxi to teh hotel (Blue Horizon) where the CBU people will receiv me”

IO ” yeah but should hav had someone to recive you”

Me ok sir i was not aware of that, but i will be geratful if you can call teh hotl and confirm my room.
    IO ” that is not my job you should have put systems in place.

IO ” i am tired of this thing you guyaese come here for short stay and is trouble to find you all ”

me “Mute”

IO ” ist on teh bench in there i will deal with you later (Harsh tone)

i procede on teh bench and spnt about an hour and half and then he came in make a few calls and after a barage of threats an talk around tell me in not th bst of tones ” you could go, but don’t let we have to come and search for you”

i want thsoe commentators who claimed that teh issue is bing blown out of proportion justify for me teh judgement that immigartion officer had passed on me .

i gives a claer picture that the actionsof barbadian immigration against guyanese are premeditated.

i will not heistate to say if a guyanse ommit a crime there he or she should not be dealth with accordingly but at teh same time with respect of human rights, but premediated actions are not acceptable.

maybe guyana might have to put in a barbados bench at its international airport so that when barbadians come here we placed them there, but weare bigger than that and there is no need to fight firewith fire .

there are many barbadians in thsi country and never has this or any other government went on a witch hunt for them .
    the david thompson administrtaion needs to get its act together and do teh right thing

bear in mind barbados is teh lead for teh caricom single market and conomy of which free movement of skills in intregal , so prime minsietr thompson’s actions are highly hipocritical .

i leave with you comments by a barbadian scholar who understands integartion and diplomacy

Professor Norman Girvan Wrote on his website.

COALITION FOR A HUMANE AMNESTY

PRESS RELEASE

THE โ€œREALโ€ IMMIGRATION PROBLEM IN BARBADOS!

There are thousands of Barbadians, who, having travelled to the U.S.A, overstayed their time, and are now in the process of working on getting their โ€œgreen cardsโ€. With 6 or 7 years of residence in the U.S.A under their belts, these Bajans have evolved into โ€˜Bajan-Yankeesโ€™, and we would be appalled if the U.S government suddenly started deporting them.

Yet, that is precisely what our Government is doing to โ€˜Guyanese-Bajansโ€™ and โ€˜Vincey-Bajansโ€™ in our midst! Our Immigration officers are raiding the homes and work-places of Guyanese and Vincentians who have been living in Barbados for 7 and 8 years, arresting them and putting them on the first flight out of Barbados. And several of these persons are the parents of children born in Barbados, and the owners of bank accounts and other forms of property in Barbados!

Most ordinary Barbadians are not aware that this is happening. Indeed, the Barbadian people have been so misled, that they believe that our Government has given all undocumented or โ€˜illegalโ€™ Caribbean residents a six month period of time within which to go into the Immigration Department and regularize their immigration status. This is simply not true!

Admittedly, the Barbados government has advised undocumentedโ€™ Caribbean migrants that they are required to go into the Immigration Department between 1st June and 1st December 2009, but, they have warned that the only people who have a chance of being accepted are those who came to Barbados before the 1st of January 1998 – almost 12 years ago. All of the others will therefore be subjected to the very real likelihood of deportation! And the Immigration Department has not waited until the 1st of December 2009 to start deporting people! Indeed, they have already commenced a heartless campaign of arrest and deportation.

THE OLD FIVE YEAR AMNESTY

This inhumane approach to our Caribbean brothers and sisters may be contrasted with the progressive and constructive policy that was pursued by the previous Administration.

The previous government had a policy under which undocumented or โ€˜illegalโ€™ CARICOM migrants who had resided in Barbados for 5 or more years, were permitted to come forward and apply for Immigrant Status. And once they were able to demonstrate to the Immigration authorities that they were gainfully employed, had no criminal record, and were likely to make a constructive contribution to our society, they were accepted.

Furthermore, if they failed to convince the Immigration Department and were rejected, they were given a right of appeal to an โ€œImmigration Review Committeeโ€ chaired by a Minister of Government. If they failed to convince this Committee, they would then be ordered to leave Barbados.

This was a good policy, because it came to the rescue of persons who had become โ€˜Barbadianisedโ€™, and had become part of Barbadian society. Deporting such persons simply did not help anybody, and a wise Barbados government acknowledged this.

Barbados has never had a problem with this โ€œfive year amnestyโ€ policy! Indeed, it was a good and humane policy and should be reinstated!

THE NEW SITUATION

The โ€˜realโ€™ problem with the immigration situation in Barbados is that the traditional and long-standing exchange of migrants between Barbados and Guyana evolved into a โ€˜migrant labour phenomenonโ€™ over the past decade, but the government of Barbados failed to acknowledge this new development, and therefore also failed to establish a formal โ€˜migrant labour programmeโ€™ with appropriate controls and administrative structures.

The reality is that the Barbadian economy and society has evolved in such a manner that the present generation of native Barbadians is no longer attracted to the physically taxing and repetitive labour of the agricultural, manual and low level service jobs that their parents and grand-parents were prepared to do!

Over the past decade or so therefore, the Barbadian economy has come to rely on imported Guyanese workers to perform essential but unwanted jobs in agriculture, construction, care of the elderly, and a range of low level services. This has helped Barbados to maintain strength and efficiency in these vital areas of its economy, and this, in turn, contributed to the maintenance of an overall strong economy in which the unemployment rate dropped to the historically low level of 6 per cent. In other words, the presence of Guyanese migrant workers in Barbados has not caused the unemployment of native Barbadians!

The belief that the quantity of employment available in Barbados is of a fixed nature and that migrant workers from Guyana simply take the jobs of existing Barbadian workers, is absolutely wrong! The fact is that the Barbadian economy has expanded along with the growth in the labour force! Indeed, our economy would be smaller, with lower per capita income, without our imported Guyanese, Vincentian and St Lucian labour!

However, rather than allowing needed migrant workers from Guyana to come to Barbados in an ad hoc manner, we need to put a formal โ€˜migrant labour programmeโ€™ in place, and run it properly! This is what our new government should be doing – not running down and deporting 5, 6, 7 and 8 year residents of Barbados!

THE SOLUTION

Our government is inflicting unnecessary damage on both the image and the economy of Barbados, with their inhumane and myopic immigration policy. Our organisation – the โ€œCoalition For A Humane Amnestyโ€œ- therefore asks all Barbadians to join with us in insisting upon a reinstatement of the โ€˜five year amnestyโ€™ policy, and the establishment of a formal, structured โ€˜migrant labour programmeโ€™ for guest workers from the CARICOM sub-region.

visit this site http://www.normangirvan.info/the-real-immigration-problem-in-barbados-cfha/

45. there are a few typo please forgive me

46. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I completely agree with richard hoad’s last column.

So that you know richard hoad’s daughter is married to a black barbadian young man,and richard could not be more emamoured with his black grandchild.

Richard Hoad is a true patriotic barbadian.

Living in Barbados you are like most of the other jamaicans and other caribbean non nationals.You think barbadians ‘too big bout here’ and tink dey too nuff, so you always trying to take them down a peg or too.

Thank God we are a confident,hard working people.

We through the hard work of our foreparents and every generation since has built this country to what it is such that it is admired in every international city in the developed countries and the envy of many who would like to be like us.

This is why Sam,pooch and de Duppy want to come here and live,and then when we react to their objectionable behaviour by some of them – we are the worst thing ever.

I encourage the immigration officers to go out there and enforce the laws in a straight but strict manner and get rid of ALL the illegals.

47. The Thompson administration is still being very accommodating to Guyanese immigrants. I notice that he mentioned that a number of Guyanese have applied for extensions of their work permits and he believes that these will be approved.

48. Interesting to read this notice sandwiched in the back part of the Sunday Sun newspaper today. In the prevailing environment which is hyped with emotionalism and inaccuracies we would have thought the print media in Barbados would have given preeminence to this government notice. Especially so given the accusations swirling that the Barbados government has sanctioned Gestapo tactics when rounding up suspect illegal immigrants.

It is time that the media of Barbados understand that it is Barbados and Barbadians responsible for their revenues.

49. SOMETHING HAPPEN TO MICHAEL JACKSON ? WHAT ?

50. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB
    “Living in Barbados you are like most of the other jamaicans and other caribbean non nationals.You think barbadians โ€˜too big bout hereโ€™ and tink dey too nuff, so you always trying to take them down a peg or too.”

As David would say, don’t jump to conclusions, especially about people you do not know.

You build a straw man. I see no sense in thinking that that an island of some 280,000 can ever be “too big bout here”. I think Barbados and Barbadians can be proud of what they have done and what they are. That does not mean that they need be loved or will be loved. That’s up to others to decide for themselves. What I do detect from your remarks and from others’ is that some Barbadians do not feel that anyone else has lifted a lick to get them and the country to where it is. I think and know that is utter hogwash. No island is an island and you can blind yourself with the notion of total self reliance as long as you like, but it’s still a huge falsehood. Barbados has benefited from UK financial support and special relations, and from EU subsidies and grants, and from Canadian development assistance, and from UN financial and technical support, etc.. It has also benefited from loans and inflows from other countries, and still does so. It is not Bajans who do all the financing of development in this island. It is foreign visitors from outside the Caribbean mainly who bring in FX to this island, not just inflows from native born Barbadians or those of Barbadian heritage who were born abroad. The philanthropes that are being sought to help finance medical development are mainly non-Barbadians. Keep thumbing your nose at foreigners.

You are entitled to like or dislike any foreigner you like, but stop fooling yourself that only Bajans have built this country.

What Richard Hoad’s daughter does is her business, and it’s his business how he treats her for marrying a black Barbadian. But if his response were not extraordinary then why bother mentioning it?

You have not addressed Bizzy’s plan to disenfranchise the likes of David Thomspon. Feel free to expound on that.

The Lowdown Hoad view that the status quo (post independence) of white Barbadians owning most businesses, mainly Indian merchants making lots of money, black Barbadians providing the work force and now holding political reins is not one that I like. Foreigners have some play in this national equation, with certain Caricom nations (mainly Trinidad) now taking more control of economic entities, and some pressure on the work force coming from other Caricom nations (Guyana, St. Vincent, Jamaica, etc.) But the basic structure does not look much changed and the Lowdown view is that “we like it so”.