Submitted by Yardbroom
Roxanne Gibbs - Executive Editor Nation Newspaper
Roxanne Gibbs – Executive Editor Nation Newspaper
PNCR leader Robert Corbin is denying holding talks with party executive Dr Aubrey Armstrong
Dr Aubrey Armstrong

Recent lurid details of a female illegal Guyanese immigrant being apprehended, was disseminated by a major Barbados news outlet.ย  The allegations if true are worthy of investigation by the relevant authorities.ย  However, the article was so lacking in person details, it was impossible to identify anyone because of the anonymity given.

It is necessary that anonymity is afforded in certain cases, to protect sources from retribution even ridicule, but the level of fairness we are justifiably eager to give illegal immigrants, must also be given to the relevant immigration authorities, the Barbados Government and the citizens of Barbados on whom such allegations can have a negative impact.

If the personnel involved in the allegation cannot be identified, how can appropriate action be taken by the relevant authorities?ย  Unless there is some dissemination of information the alleged unfairness cannot be properly challenged and rectified.

Major news outlets have a responsibility to ensure accuracy of detail when the good name of a country’s citizens is brought into question.

It is a dereliction of responsibility to allow political bias or an editorial position to get in the way of “accurate reporting”.ย  A news organization to be held in high esteem by its readers must ensure it can be believed for accuracy and fairness.

This problem of illegal immigration will end and must be solved, but it would be most unfortunate if in the future people are able to refer to a major organization’s article as substantive proof that certain events did occur in Barbados…on just allegations.

Barbados as a whole will have to live with any accusations, not a “particular political Party”.ย  It is also worthy of note that in our efforts to gain political power and control; that aspiration must never be so overriding that we are prepared to besmirch the good name of our country.

Barbadians now and in the future can hold our heads high, if we know we have acted according to our Laws and with the fairness we have always afforded visitors to our shores.

For any major news outlet to publish stories of a besmirching kind to Barbados, its Immigration Officers, Policemen and its elected Government which cannot be easily corroborated and on which appropriate remedial action – if required – cannot be taken, is nothing less than; I am tempted to say … a disgrace.

1. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

OBSERVER

Let us dispense with this propoganda that guyanese and norman girvan and others with their agenda are pushing about Barbados.

Let me state a few facts:

1)Guyanese have not built up Barbados.

Guyanese have contributed the least to our sugar industry compared to other carcom workers.In other words they are ‘now come’.

From the 7o’s,80’s, and up to the 90’s barbadian along with our caribbean brothers and sisters from from st lucia,at vincent and dominica came here for over 30 years and worked on our sugar plantations assisting in the sugar and food crop industry.

2)Despite what norman girvan and others say – guyanese are not coming here and doing work in construction,care of the elderly and agriculture that bajans won’t do.

Guyanese are coming here from a place where they earned $5.00 u.s dollars a day and in barbados as an unskilled person can earn up to $40.00 u.s per day.

They therefore are quite willing to undercut the barbadian worker and are known to go behind the back of a barbadian worker and say I will do this job for half the price.

For years many bajan workers were crying out about this practice in construction,while in the home help area every day unskilled bajans are daily asking persons for work in looking after elderly relatives,cleaning etc.

Every year government pay to train unemployed bajan women in Care of the Elderly and even some dishonest illegal guyanese have managed to enroll using their fraudulent I.D.s and sexual favours.

Agriculture is one area where they are making a contribution,but they have done this to the disadvantage of the vincys and lucians whose banna trade has now been destroyed and are willing to work but however will not stoop as low as the guyanese.

Now the planataion owners have a group of people – the guyanese – who will do anything for money and draw the line at nothing;unlike the vincys and lucians.

So they work monday to easter sunday,,Good friday,boxing day – 12 hours a day with overtime so that they can take the hard earned foreign exchange our barbadian companies earn and send it back to guyana.

They pretend to be skilled in every trade when in truth they know nothing about the trade, and have introduced the system of bribing public officers which is the norm back in guyana.

Using fraudulent documents,engaging in prostitution,trafficking of their young women,squatting and defecating in open areas in zone 1 water areas which again is common in even their city georgetown which up to last month in kaeiteur and starbroek newspapers, mayor green was crying out about open sewage on the streets of georgetown.

I can go on and on,but guyanese bring more harm than good,more cons than pros and their contribution to guyana has been grossly exaggerated for obvious reasons.

I guarantee you than when the guyanese leave, Barbados will continue working and will probably work more smoothily when they leave.

Like Australia we have to decide the type of workers by skills and temperment we want in here.

2. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I agree totally with Bizzy.

As you will see from my above post,I pay great tribute to the contributions of my caribbean brothers and sisters.

You have deliberately misread richard hoad’s position.

I agree with his overall position too.

3. @ mash up &buy back .
    Nevertheless, we should not overlook the vital contribution that the Guyanese have made to our sugar industry in their role as Pan Boilers, way before the 70″s.

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

How is the essence of the Government of Guyana’s request to its nationals for information of their mistreatment different from what PM Thompson said yesterday (citing from The Nation)?

“”I wish to state here and now that the Government of Barbados has never, does not and will never sanction, condone or even turn a blind eye to the issue of degradation or denial of human rights to anyone visiting or resident on these shores. . . just as we will not permit illegal and unchecked migration to continue, so too will we not permit the abuse or violation of rights and privileges of persons resident on our shores, under whatever circumstances,” the Prime Minister stressed.

He invited all aggrieved persons to supply evidence of any negative treatment, but said that most of the bizarre stories were “untrue and without foundation”.

“Tell us who, what and where!”?

5. norman girvan writing a lot of crap. it looks that he wants for barbados what happenin jamaica. he should write about his advice to manley and explain if it helped destroy the jamaica economy. a lot of jamaicans have said so. ignore him because nobody takes him seriously. is it true he was hired by the last blp government?

6. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bradley 432

How many pan boilers came to barbados?

25 – 40 – 100?
    When you read the guyanese on starbroek news you would think that barbadians in the 1920’s and 30’s were starving and went begging for bread down in Guyana.

A couple hundreds bajans went down at the request of the government of British Guiana in the late 1880’s and 1920’s to asist Guyana with their sugar and bauxite industries – but now we have over 50,000 guyanese,mostly of an unskilled nature descended on barbados over the last 10 years.

And guyanese trying to compare the two and make demands on barbados by trying to play up this brief history.

2 days ago the Kaeiteur newspaper had a letter to the editor which quoted the work by the late Walter Rodney who did a paper on the Barbadian connection,where he showed how badly the barbadian workers who came in the 1880’s and 1920’s were treated as compared to the indians indentured labourers who came from India.

If we allow this deliberate misleading propoganda and exaggeration about the guyanese contribution to barbados and their assistance to barbados to go unchallenged over time – this will eventually be taken to be facts.

7. @LIB

Do you think the onus should be on those making the accusations of abuse to produce evidence?

8. @David
    Let freedom of speech and expression of opinion reign!

9. @David

Itโ€™s a pity that the notice didnโ€™t also instruct Guyanese citizens that when they are in Barbados they should also respect the law of the land. Perhaps the Guyanese Govโ€™t would like the respect for law in Barbados to descend to the same level as it has in Guyana. A Govโ€™t where one of the most senior cabinet members was denied a US visa because of suspected illegal activity. A Govโ€™t that sought to cripple one of its then harshest critics by denying it revenue by prohibiting Govโ€™t ads; looks like Stabroek got the message and is now toeing the line.

I also notice that in these posts that the International economist and Global traveler who is arguing about interpretation of Statutes and nuance about Lowdownโ€™s most recent article has not seen fit to comment on Ramphalโ€™s assertion about โ€œethnic cleansingโ€.

Despite all the rhetoric on this debate, that has been the most devastating critique about Barbados coming from a former senior mandarin.

If the Nation was a newspaper we would see articles about that remark instead of salacious reporting on illegal immigrant being dragged off toilets.

10. Please let good sense prevail

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Proud Bajan
    “Jamaica has the highest murder rate in the caribbean and we donโ€™t tell them how to deal with that, but they want to tell us law abiding people how to deal with our problems and insult us and our leaders.” [Barbados and Barbadians could offer advice if they wished. The murder problem and the immigration issues are not birds of a feather. If the Jamaican murder problem had some important element that caused by other Caricom non-nationals and Jamaica sought to deal with them through deportation then I would be surprised if the relevent Caricom governments would remain silent. This has been the pattern with regard to US efforts to expel Caricom nationals associated with crime or other misdeeds, which they seek to deport.]

“Im sure if Jamaica had our problem they would kill them at least we give amnesty and a โ€œfreeโ€ ride home on airplane.” [Too silly to really warrant a reply. But, follow the case of Jerry Small, a Bajan national on fraud charges in Jamaica, see http://www.caribdaily.com/article/171862/bajan-remanded-on-fraud-charge/.%5D

“Jamaica your country is a lawless island and we also have your people living here just to get away from all the crime and lawlessness.” [Not true. Jamaica has a ridiculously high murder rate, and the crimes are concentrated into two major urban areas. It has its origin in a struggle for political control and has been further fuelled by the use of Jamaica as one of several Caribbean staging points for the drug trade between the USA and south America–the World Bank report on crime in the region is good reading. For what it’s worth–and we all like to use anecdotes–my father, who is 80 and lives most of his life in Jamaica, sandwiching 30 years in England, has never been robbed or attacked. No one in my family, has ever been robbed or attacked since I was born in the mid 1950s. I have a young cousin whose friend was recently murdered. The Jamaicans I know who live here came from many places, including Jamaica, but not to escape crime and lawlessness. Most of them, whether or not they have homes there, return to Jamaica frequently, and send their children there for holidays. That is not the behaviour of people who fled crime and lawlessness. My wife, a non-Jamaican Caricom national worked there over several years and still goes there often on business, and has never had an indicent to report–and she is a great target.]

Incovenient truths?

12. @ livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 12:44 pm

I see you are tyring to prove many of us hard working loving bajans wrong but it won’t work.

You can take your diluge spin somewhere else and let someone who has no brain read it.

You are fooling no one.

13. What were the original nationalities of the persons that started Banks Breweries and Life of Barbados (now merged with Sagicor)?

Who was the first High Commissioner of Barbados to the UK. He was appointed by the Great E.W.Barrow.

14. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    Sir Sridath is a big enough fellow to come to his own defence if he feels the need, and given that he has a home here should be easily contacted for a follow up comment. The remarks that I have read are the following: โ€œโ€˜The knock on the door at nightโ€™ is not within our regional culture; still less are intimations of โ€˜ethnic cleansingโ€™โ€. He’s right: those things are not part of the Caribbean culture. Do you disagree?

15. @Sargeant
    Sir Sridath is a big enough fellow to come to his own defence if he feels the need, and given that he has a home here should be easily contacted for a follow up comment. The remarks that I have read are the following: โ€œโ€˜The knock on the door at nightโ€™ is not within our regional culture; still less are intimations of โ€˜ethnic cleansingโ€™โ€. Heโ€™s right: those things are not part of the Caribbean culture. Do you disagree?

@LIB

You know that this is a false statement. Immigration, Bailiffs, Police routinely raid the homes of potential suspects at the early morning period for the obvious reasons. Nothing new there at all.

Your other comment submitted on 2009/06/28 at 12:44pm:

Despite the numbers given by Prime Minister Thompson yesterday from which you have extrapolated to use your words you still think the responses in the Jamaican editorials and elsewhere in the region are appropriate?

16. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“Do you think the onus should be on those making the accusations of abuse to produce evidence?”

Undoubtedly, and that is what both PM Thompson and the Government of Guyana has urged. If there are those who among the accused who wish to step forward, then that would be grand, though I think unlikely.

The PM said that he found the reports “sickening”. As you have said elsewhere, let’s see where that process leads. If the accusations are not/cannot be substantiated, then they should stop. But, if they can be proved the PM also said “the Government of Barbados…[will] not permit the abuse or violation of rights and privileges of persons resident on our shores, under whatever circumstances” The PM was very careful when he said “MOST [my emphasis] of the bizarre stories are untrue and without foundation.” So, he clearly does not discount that some of them may be true.

17. As this issue goes, I am coming to the conclusion that the announcement of an amnesty, etc was a mistake. The government should have just let (encourage) the immigration dept. and the police do their job i.e find the illegal migrants and deport them. Maybe there should be moratorium on renewing/extending or granting new work permits.

18. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I would agree with you on routine police etc. raids in the context seeking out criminals. PM Thompson’s comments suggest that what has gone on since June 1 is in line with routine practice. I have no issue with or information on that. That still leaves Sir Sridath’s other point.

Have I become a spokesman for the Jamaican media? I hope not.

19. Now that Linsay Holder has exposed David Commisiong in his letter to the editor which appeared in the BarbadosAdvocate, what now?

David Comissiong, was that you?

6/26/2009

IN AN article appearing in another daily on Tuesday, 23rd June 2009 and titled โ€˜Misleading Policyโ€™, David Comissiong continued his tirade against the proposed managed migration policy of the current Government of Barbados. He made two particularly interesting statements in the article, and they are as follows:
    โ€œThis inhumane approach to our Caribbean brothers and sisters may be contrasted with the progressive and constructive policy that was pursued by the previous administrationโ€.
    โ€œHowever, rather than allowing needed migrant workers from Guyana to come to Barbados in an ad hoc manner, we need to put a formal โ€˜migrant labour programmeโ€™ in place and run it properly!โ€
    In response to Mr. Comissiongโ€™s article, I invite readers to guess who made the following comments in 2005.
    โ€œWith the Owen Arthur styled Caribbean Single Market and Economy, Barbadians are witnessing the opposite of the vision of the โ€˜founding fathersโ€™ of Caribbean Integration. Rather than over populated Barbados providing the vastly under populated Guyana with skilled and productive workers, the Guyanese labour force is being siphoned off to Barbados in a scheme designed to lower the wages of Barbadian workers and produce more profits for the Barbadian capital classโ€.
    No doubt, you guessed correctly. That person was none other than David Comissiong.

Lindsay Holder

20. This is another example of the same point LIB made on another thread; politicians have been known to “change their mind”. Lindsay should have said where Commissiong wrote or said the first statement though.

21. Don’t fellow bloggers realize that what could perhaps be described as the greatest scorn to have so far been dished out to a lead blog on this BU blogsite, could actually be developing on this BU blog at this time??

And what a most disconcerting sight it is for many bloggers to realize that so many commenters are avoiding posting comments under Mr. Hartley Henry’s latest contribution to this blogsite, as if it were being seen that they were attempting to avoid the leper.

That they have decided NOT to furnish comments under Mr. Henry contribution on essentially the SWINE FLU and its effects on the country, is also akin to a situation whereby nobody in Barbados wants to contract the same virus of which he writes about. Never before has the PDC seen such a lead blog so repudiated and shunned by other commenters in all of our time spent posting and reading comments on this blogsite. Up to the time of our starting to write this post, there was just one measly comment under that thread for the two days or so that that thread has been around.

Surely, this kind of rejection must contain serious lessons to be learned by this political nuisance. It has been clear for a while that many persons on this blog are sick, tired and fed up with much of the nonsense and frivolity that he writes and continues to send off to the relevant media – the Barbados Advocate and the BU blog – in this country.

Certainly, we in PDC have been observing on here and elsewhere some very pungent and unsavory talk about the lack of measure and content of his articles. But, gone are the days when his party – the DLP – used to be in the opposition, and he used to write with much passion, coherence and logic about so many issues and problems in the country!! But look how terribly he fallen from his proverbial tommy horse.

Such a rejection of Mr. Henry’s latest dose of inappropriate writing method, could also have much to do with the fact that many persons in Barbados are becoming more and more intolerant of the type of personality he begets, as observed through this style of writing. The way he writes, esp. when he drools about some of his overseas shopping trips; about some type of fruits (mangoes?) he purchased somewhere in Barbados sometime ago; and about his making crass excuses for the massive failures so far of this government to avoid the worse impacts on Barbadians as a result of recessionary conditions, would no doubt very much indicate how arrogant, cocky and how half ignorant a fellow he might be or is. Well, of course, NOT many people in Barbados that we know admire arrogance, cockiness and down right ignorance as coming from others!!

Truth be told though there are so many important issues and problems that are happening in this country that this former reporter cum public relations expert so-called regional political strategist ought to be writing about critically. But, no, it suits him to think that he can write such friviologies, and with that situation scores of Thompson supporters who are now suffering financially and otherwise would still support him, philosophically. Well, huh!!

The one but last lesson – for now – to be learned by this individual is that because so many, many Barbadians are becoming increasingly tired already of this DLP Government and its failures and have rightly been associating him with this government and its failures – does mean he is bound to take some of the heat for these failures. That such an individual – who is so lacking in real political science skills – could have been put to the test in his capacity as some political advisor to this failing government – and can therefore be found to be struggling shows the type of dressed up and puffed up bare-necked political yardfowl he is. What a pity too that DLP supporters on this blog have NOT even come to his rescue but are finding it more important and interesting to comment on other subjects on here!!

Finally, to those who have refused to otherwise comment under Mr. Henry’s thread we say to them to continue to load it to hell on.

22. What is making the PDC so mad about Hartley Henry?

23. For those who do NOT know the real maze, or mess, that Mr. Commissiong has put himself in over this immigration issue, simply get access to a copy of last Friday’s Weekend Nation Newspaper and one would see the kind of confusion that exists within the PEP camp over this immigration issue.

And take note that some times the Nation Newspaper can – by doing very deliberate and mischievous things – depending on how one looks at it or NOT – be found guilty of helping to foment greater and unnecessary division and controversy within and among certain groups of people in Barbados surrounding these kinds of issues.

Anyhow, we have tried NOT to enter this discussion under this thread for reasons that we have already long stated our position with regard to the immigration affairs of Barbados. Thus, it is for this primary reason that we need NOT have any restatement of it at this stage, and therefore no resulting debate with anybody concerning it or concerning the almost unnecessary stoking of a national debate over the immigration affairs of the country. As well, too, we will never allow this joke DLP Government to indirectly set our immigration policy agenda.

Furthermore, we have tried harder NOT to publicly criticize or expose our friends over at the PEP in regard of some of the open weaknesses that are found within their policy and political strategy affairs, given that it is far better to allow the PEP to grow and develop in this country without many esp unwarranted public criticisms of it than to try to do as much as possible to disable it on its present trajectory.

For, once it is clear and certain that Mr. Commissiong is about helping to make the PEP a viably strong people centered political fighting force in the long run – the truth must be that hordes of people in Barbados must be eventually seen to be in need of the PEP more than ever in the country, mainly because the vast majority of the masses and middle classes must be inspired and guided along the way by at least three new people centered national political organizational entities, into helping to root these two traditional backward parties – the DLP and BLP – out of the parliament of this country.

Having said that, though, the PDC must say that we have been so emboldened by the highlighting of the above contradictions in the various positions that the PEP leader has over time held on some CSME/Immigration matters, that we must tell many bloggers that having accessed a copy of the particular issue of the Weekend Nation Newspaper, to realize that on page 12 of this said Weekend Nation Newspaper there is the PEP column that continues to rail against aspects of this present government’s recent immigration policy, but that on page 13 there is – for reasons best known to the Nation Newspaper – placed a letter to the Editor over the name Neville Roach – who was Mr. Commissiong’s campaign assistant during the last election – that endorses this government’s immigration policy.

So, there you have it evidence of the maze, or mess, Mr. Commissiong and the PEP is in with regard to this said immigration issue. Also, this is clear evidence of some weakness in the consensus building processes and policy formulation and political planning strategies of the PEP, which we hope they will be able to correct as quickly as practicable.

24. Albert Brandford Avatar
    Albert Brandford

Re the Observer who claims to be a journalist: be more careful with your attributions. The press release you said was written by Professor Girvan is actually a PEP column authorised by Gen. Sect. David Comissiong, and merely posted on the Girvan website.

25. @Livinginbarbados

Sir Sridath is a big enough fellow to come to his own defence
    On this and other blogs we are always parsing the words of politicians and would be politicians to get to the hidden meaning.
    The โ€œhonourableโ€ Knight could have made his point if he had used the word โ€œdiscriminationโ€ instead of โ€œethnic cleansingโ€. A particularly harsh comment on the strength of a few deportations of illegal immigrants from Guyana. I thought that the phrase would have stuck a chord with you; however it appears I was mistaken.

I hope that I can speak for other Bajans in saying that we now have an understanding of Ramphalโ€™s agenda.

26. Taxpayers erected a building named after Raphal on University Hill. He paid us back with”ethnic cleasing”

27. Patriotic Bajan Avatar
    Patriotic Bajan

I am an avid follower of Bacchanal Calypso tent. Never missed an opening night
    For the first time Norman Faria turns up to the tent. He was recognized as te only white man in the crowd. He must have been surprised, in that the Bajan women gave the Guyanese lady who sang the Guyanese song a respectful round of applause.
    He came looking for more hostile environment, but Barbadians are the most loving of all Caribbean people. They are always willing to please people.
    He can now go and write something positive about Barbados.

28. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sergeant
    “On this and other blogs we are always parsing the words of politicians and would be politicians to get to the hidden meaning.”

You’re right. But, given the range of meanings the particular term can have (and it is not one I would have chosen to utter without being absolutely clear), and one of them means ‘explusion’, another is ‘discrimination’, and we know there is ‘killing’, it is important to know which he had in mind. We can parse and be wrong. I am not going to guess at which meaning Sir S meant.

29. Was there ever a doubt that Barbados’ social services were being stressed.I’m getting the impression that we’ll have to stop universal healthcare coverage & education if these problems are not fixed in a timely manner where everyone will have to pay the appropriate fees.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/donville-copy-for-web

“ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS in Barbados have started to affect the country’s social services adversely and Government cannot ignore that situation.

Minister of Health Donville Inniss disclosed that public health facilities were under mounting pressure as a result of having to deal with the high number of undocumented immigrants.

However, he told the DAILY NATION that Government would not change its policy of not seeking to know people’s immigrant status before providing them with health care.

“But the reality is that it is a necessary expectation that any large increase with respect to inward migration would place pressure on our hospital, our polyclinics and all our health care facilities,” he said.

Inniss said Barbados’ small size and limited resources militated against having open borders to everybody.

He added the granting of an amnesty was something Government was not under an obligation to do, and people had to comply with the law.

“I find it very strange that the individuals who are calling for us to allow people who are illegal to remain in Barbados are the same ones who would criticise ZR drivers for reckless behaviour and breaking the law; criticise young people for their behaviour and breaking the law.

“Every country has laws that must be respected, and the reaction of these people is that they are condoning illegal activity,” he said.

Inniss dismissed complaints that authorities were “rounding up” illegal immigrants.

“If you are living in a country illegally and it is the determination of the immigration office that you are to be deported, what are we to do? Give you a phone call and tell you that we are coming for you next Thursday at 2 a.m.? You do not make an appointment with an individual to deport them,” Inniss explained.

He said he did not hear anyone complain when Barbadians were deported from the United States, Britain or Canada after being there illegally or committing other crimes. He added that in many of those cases Barbadians were given their belongings in a plastic bag and sent on their way.

“Our approach has been far more humane. There is not an ounce of inhumanity in what we are doing, and Barbadians who share these views need to get up and speak up about it. It is a vocal minority criticising this policy and it is their right to criticise,” he stated.

He also had advice for regional leaders criticising Barbados’ immigration policy.

“What other Caribbean leaders should do is mind their own business in respect of this matter. They should do like Barbados and fix their economies and get them to the point where their citizens do not feel the need to run away,” he said. “

30. I honestly believe that the governmentโ€™s policy is being dictated by economic realities. The governmentโ€™s policy is sensible. The government recognizes that the economic ship of state is leaky and taking on water fast- declining output, increasing unemployment, declining reserves, increasing deficits and as a result a downgrade in our credit rating. The bad economic situation is staring us in the face.

It is unfortunate that some Barbadians have taken the opportunity to show their dislike for Guyanese, while some Guyanese have taken the opportunity to show their lack of appreciation for the government’s attempt to save Barbados from economic collapse.

31. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I want to direct readers attention to an article in today’s Starbroek newspaper where a guyanese woman – a savita boodram (i think is her name) went to Canada on a visitors permit – did not leave the country – went and got married to a mad man -a canadian suffering from schizophrenia.

Obviously this man was asn easy prey.
    And like most of these illegal guyanese here in Barbados,especially the indian ones,she went and got 2 children quickly – one is 8 months old (still a baby) and she is pregnant again.

Guess what people,despite her marriage to a canadian,despite her being pregnant and having a young 8 months old baby,the canadian authorities decided that she was an illegal and was put on a plane for deportation.

Luckily her doctor gave a medical report that she should not travel because of a difficuly pregnancy and she was given a reprieve.

Where is basdeo jagdeo,where is shridath ramphal,where is compton bourne,where is ralph gonsalves,norman girvan – and all those who are bashing barbados for inhumane treatment of illegals?

I suppose that is the white people country so they can do as they like.

What this case shows is that being married to a citizen of a country,and even getting children – does not guarantee you the right to stay in that country.

I hope Ms Farmer and the immigration department are reading this.

32. Well said Minister Donville Inniss

My taxes should never be use to pay for the services that are are for Barbadians and being use freely by illegal non-nationals especially Indo-Guyanese.Minister Innisss you are right on track in mandating that all non-nationals seeking our health services must be legal residents of Barbados.No illegal must access to our health & other social services for free.They have no rights in Barbados.

It is amazing that Indo-Guyanese have a distinct hatred for Black people but yet will do anything possible to reside and look for status in a Black dominated and Black run country like Barbados.

Indo-Guyanese do not want a Black man or a Black government to rule them in Guyana but are prepare to come to Barbados to be govern by a Black man.

I do not support or condone crime but reading what happened to that Guyanese businessman made me think.I would not say how I feel about that situation but —-

33. You obviously have a difficulty reading or understanding, Negroman. The Minister said “…the Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health care” What did you think that means?

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I have read The Nation article several times to try to understand what the minister actually means. As it does not appear to cite Minister Inniss verbatim, perhaps we have a bit of gobbledygook. But the report states: “Minister of Health Donville Inniss disclosed that public health facilities were under mounting pressure as a result of having to deal with the high number of undocumented immigrants.” and then “The Minister said โ€œโ€ฆthe Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health careโ€. I cannot reconcile those two points. So, someone help me. How do you CONTINUE to not check status but yet appear to know the status of those making use of the service?

35. LIB, perhaps by lholder’s “casual observation” (LOL).

36. Could it be that the Minister is stating that the public health system will NOT refuse treatment to anyone legal or illegal. Simple logic also says that in the process of delivering that healthcare routine information sought during or after the diagnosis or treatment exercise info on the status of the patient would have been revealed.

37. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David/Themis
    Could be both, perhaps, but my visits to doctors here (not QEH or polyclinic) have never sought any info on my residency status. More grist for the confusion mill.

38. Every patient?

39. Barbadians may not have paid attention when people like Pol Pot, Benito Mussolini, Adolph Hitler, Idi Amin, Slobodan Milosevic, Charles Taylor Osama Bin Laden, Chemical Ali were terrorizing and slaughtering innocent people. But since January 15, 2008 (with the help of Clicoโ€™s millions) Barbadians would have been monitoring the rise of a Dictator.

They would have seen David Thompson of Barbados and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and Ali Khamenei of Iran, in action.

For while in his hard-line policy, David Thompson has ban the Opposition from CBC – in Iran, the same is being done to the Opposition.

It is why many would willingly agree that David Thompson most resembles Pol Pot and Hitler. Still there will be little doubt that these men carry: โ€œThe Mark of the Beast.โ€

Pol Pot began by declaring, “This is Year Zero,” (Thompson said, Barbados is for Barbadians) and that society was about to be “purified.” Capitalism, Western culture, city life, religion, and all foreign influences were to be extinguished in favor of an extreme form of peasant Communism. (Thompson is riding Barbados of Guyanese who are being stalked and targeted)

All foreigners were thus expelled, embassies closed, and any foreign economic or medical assistance was refused.

The use of foreign languages was banned.

Newspapers and television stations were shut down, radios and bicycles confiscated, and mail and telephone usage curtailed.

Money was forbidden. All businesses were shuttered, religion banned, education halted, health care eliminated, and parental authority revoked. Thus Cambodia was sealed off from the outside world.

In Barbados, by deporting Caribbean people, while leaving brand-name persons from China and Europe intact โ€“ like Hitler and Pol Pot, David Thompson is handpicking people for cruel and inhumane treatment.

However, David Thompson is stopping short of what Idi Amin did – in that to date, there is no massacre, tortured, person being beaten to death buried alive.

Still, the reality is, David Thomson is doing precisely what Hitler, Charles Taylor, Pol Pot and Idi Amin did before. He is singling out people (Indo-Guyanese) for his cruel and inhumane treatment.

Left to DLP members and supporters, Guyanese would be massacred, hunted in the night and buried alive.

Once DLP members and supports call the Immigration Department for Guyanese living with their communities, as soon as the Immigration bus starches off for the Airport – the possessions of Guyanese are immediately pounced-upon and confiscated by Dems, for whom the deportation of Guyanese has become a lucrative business.

That an Iron-Fist David Thompson is now doing damage control – is only because of people like Prof. Girvan, Dr. Joseph, Rickey Singh, Sir Ronald Saunders and the Opposition BLP – who have said a loud no to cruel and inhumane treatment, which borders on human rights violations.

Notice in all this – people like Pastor Lucille Baird, Pastor Holford, Pastor Durante and other DLP Pastors โ€“ are silent.

It is pressure from the most intelligent within our local and regional society – who have the shared values to stand up and say no – that in his Media Statement on Saturday, June 27, 2009 – Mr. Hardliner a.k.a. Prime Minister David Thompson was forced to say that 177 people had their stay extended and that some 71 Guyanese were in that number.

It is clear that like Pol Pot and Hiller did with the Jews โ€“ the DLP is targeting Indo-Guyanese.

But while the decent people in our society is saying โ€œyesโ€ to a Guest Worker programme; respect for the laws of Barbados and managed Migration โ€“ they are saying a loud โ€œnoโ€ to Thompsonโ€™s cruel and inhumane treatment of Guyanese, in particular.

Mr. Iron-Fist was forced to say on Saturday that there are 380 applications for renewal of short-term permits and 294 of that number are on behalf of Guyanese.

But, even before Thompson spoke, several Guyanese had already complained that their permits were not being renewed even though they kept checking with the immigration department.

Notice that โ€œThompson the Terribleโ€ – made absolutely no reference to the number of Guyanese his administration deported, as part of its clampdown – who had merely gone in to the Immigration Department for a renewal, but were ambushed.

Hear Mr. Iron Fist speak on Saturday: โ€œI have no reason to believe that the majority of these applications will not be approved.โ€

He added that in his opinion, the level of activity by immigration and police during this period โ€œdoes not in any way represent any hardening of attitude or abrasive action towards Guyanese nationals.โ€

Do you understand that people are being ambushed in the dead of the night as they sleep you know!

So what nonsense when Guyanese and OECS nationals are being rounded-up and deported for three reasons.
    Firstly, they are not philanthropists; Secondly, they are part of a ploy in which the DLP wants to create a distraction tactic – so Barbadians would not focus on the economy, but would incorrectly blame Guyanese ( and not the DLP) for the hardship they (Barbadians) now endure; Thirdly, rounding up Guyanese and OECS nationals and deporting them is the DLPโ€™s idea of a job creation strategy – hence the DLPโ€™s public statement that Barbados is for Barbadians first and Thompsonโ€™s threat to the local private sector, not to employ people from CARICOM.

Who says history does not repeat itself: โ€œPol Pot, Benito Mussolini, Adolph Hitler, Idi Amin, Slobodan Milosevic, Charles Taylor Osama Bin Laden, Chemical Ali, David Thompson of Barbados and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and Ali Khamenei of Iran.โ€

40. It is a fact that many citizens of other Caribbean nations are jealous of Barbadians and have been for many years and will be for many years to come. They try to control themselves to an extent while visiting and staying in Barbados. Notice, I say many but not all are jealous. They talk about rough treatment in Barbados but what about how they treat one another in their own countries. These so-called Indo and Afro Guyanese(whatever that means) need to create a climate in their own country where there is justice and fair treatment for all. Wherever they go, some of them take their bad attitudes with them so emigrating to other lands does not improve the situation in their homeland.

41. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

The Minister said โ€œโ€ฆthe Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health careโ€ What did you think that means?

Livinginbarbados
    I take it that your status is also in order?

The Ministers statement is not mind boggling or difficult to understand surely????

42. livinginbarbados // June 29, 2009 at 9:45 am

I have read The Nation article several times to try to understand what the minister actually means. As it does not appear to cite Minister Inniss verbatim, perhaps we have a bit of gobbledygook. But the report states: โ€œMinister of Health Donville Inniss disclosed that public health facilities were under mounting pressure as a result of having to deal with the high number of undocumented immigrants.โ€ and then โ€œThe Minister said โ€œโ€ฆthe Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health careโ€. I cannot reconcile those two points. So, someone help me. How do you CONTINUE to not check status but yet appear to know the status of those making use of the service?
    ————————————————-
    I will not pretend to know what the Minister said, what he intended to say, or what the reporter heard or thought he heard and thereafter interpret.

The two statements seem fair and not at odds to me.

“โ€œThe Minister said โ€œโ€ฆthe Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health careโ€.

I interpret the above to mean that, they do check but NOT for the purpose of determing who gets treated and who get turned away. So there can be statistics from which the Minister’s comments are based.

….Don’t you have to produce your ID card at the QEH? Do illegals have Bajan ID cards? Why do they make us Bajan produce an ID? Cost to patient ratio, maybe? uh mean the QEH can and have told us in the past how many person where patients in a given year, how many where male, female, etc.

The truth is DJ you don’t need nuh help on this one.

43. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@WIV
    My status is a matter really between me and the government, but thanks for asking.

I have not seen a statement from the Minister; I read a report from a journalist. If what the minister said were broadcast, then I would gladly listen to that and know whether what the reported conveyed was the same.

David has indicated that status may incidently become known but not be sought specifically, and that makes sense.

44. Does anyone remember when Shridath Ramphal retired? I need the date and time. I am sure I have a CBC video clip of Shridath speaking to a journalist around that time. The reason I would have save the clip was a rather odd comment he made in response to the journalist question about returning to Guyana to live. Anyone remember? I can’t find it on my current external harddrive and it may be on one of many I have stored away.

45. I think GT girl was more pitied than anything else in the Tent Sunday Night at the Party stand.

I SAY SO !

46. So, Anonymous, why would he need to say that Government would not change its policy if “illegals” are putting a strain on local services?

47. @WishingInVain

I was wondering the same thing.Pending applications for Skilled certificates do not confer a legal right to stay in Barbados.

The statement also appears quite clear that the Barbados Government seeks to know a person’s status before providing healthcare but does NOT turn away illegal immigrants or appear to report them to the Immigration dept..Therefore,the social service of Healthcare is under threat.

As I’ve said before legally speaking,Only Citizens of Barbados or Legal permanent residents should be accorded the benefit of free healthcare.

48. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Anonymous/10.48am
    “uh mean the QEH can and have told us in the past how many person where patients in a given year, how many where male, female, etc.”

Thanks for the clarification. I would hope a hospital of all places could tell us how many patients it served and if they were male or female (not sure what etc. is). I would even accept ‘casual observation’ on that.

49. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I will advise all right thinking barbadians employed as health care workers;nurses,doctors,accounts personnel etc who are in possession of information of illegal persons accessing the health care system,they should inform the enforcement division of the Immigration Department.

Be patriotic and support your prime minister and your country.

50. Themis,
    Why wouldn’t you leave me alone. Just kidding. Discussing and debating various issues on the blog is fun, but it requires a lot of time that I, unfortunately, can’t spare.

With regard to access to free health services by immigrants, the United Nations International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights speaks to that issue. Barbados ratified this Covenant in 1973. It was the first CARICOM country to do so. If you require a list of the countries that have ratified the Covenant, let me know.

Article 2 of the Covenant states that:
    1. Each State Party to the present Covenant undertakes to take steps, individually and through international assistance and co-operation, especially economic and technical, to the maximum of its available resources, with a view to achieving progressively the full realization of the rights recognized in the present Covenant by all appropriate means, including particularly the adoption of legislative measures;
    2. The States Parties to the present Covenant undertake to guarantee that the rights enunciated in the present Covenant will be exercised without discrimination of any kind as to race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status; and
    3. Developing countries, with due regard to human rights and their national economy, may determine to what extent they would guarantee the economic rights recognized in the present Covenant to non-nationals.

The specific economic rights referred to in Clause 3 of Article 2 are:
    โ€ข The right to work, which includes the right of everyone to the opportunity to gain his living by work which he freely chooses or accepts;
    โ€ข The right of everyone to social security, including social insurance;
    โ€ข The right of everyone, โ€˜ particularly in those circumstances where welfare services or social safety nets applyโ€™ (our insertion), to an adequate standard of living for himself and his family, including adequate food, clothing and housing, and to the continuous improvement of living conditions;
    โ€ข The right of everyone to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of physical and mental health; and
    โ€ข The right of everyone to education.

The above Covenant was opened for signature, ratification, and accession by the United Nations General Assembly
    on 16th December 1966 and was entered into force on 3rd January 1976.

Note that the Migrant Workers’ Convention, which came later, sought to address the rights of migrants within the framework laid down by the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights, by the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, and by other applicable international treaties.