Submitted by makiala iyoka ashanti

justice

With much pain and desperation to do something about it, I read of the plight of the descendants of slaves who most likely were of the same clan who laboured and slaved without pay to built Maxwell Plantation fortune that has been sold to foreigners namely Chinese, with the results of the slaves descendants being ordered off the land by the court. The article printed in this Friday 5th June Nation News went on to state that a two floored house half half way done would be demolished and all the Bajan lady labour wasted with no mention of compensation or alternative provision.

Also other locals would no longer have backyards and the young carer of the 88 year old land owner cut off from her. WHERE IS THE HUMAN RIGHTS? It is a burning shame that just a few years after Owen Arthur while in England for the Slavery Bicentenary made a bold statement to the British Government to โ€˜Give back something to the slaves childrenโ€™ that right in our faces in Barbados a ex slave plantation has sold land passed down from a generation of slaves to the present generation.

I am appealing to political activists like the people of the People Democratic Congress, The People Empowerment Party and Human Rights Lawyers and Pan Africanist as well as the Barbados Justice Committee to support these victims of recolonization by researching and offering them advice to appeal against the court order to buy time for proper legal research and seek out if they can be further representation. I see the defendant is quite young and may be unaware of other legal defences he may be able to depend on, for example, what about prescribed rights to the land where as one can claim these rights after living on land and not being charged rent for a given time, or what about the Government Tenantry Act whereby the government was to subscribe to the reduced cost of plantation land that slaves descendants lived on for generations. New political parties like the two new ones that contested the last general election,( since it seem that both sides of government have taken turns in selling us out to the Chinese and all ) I am calling on you to offer your support to these victims, who, most of the time have to surrender without the right legal advice not aware of their rights and suffocated by excess legal fees.

This is cause to start a national campaign demanding that the plantation owners who own 95% of Barbados arable land that is drenched with our blood sweat and tears, our forefathers bones and developed by our free labour should be given to us a reparation for slavery.

The generation who inherited Maxwell and other plantations benefiting from the above should have some conscience in matters like this and remember that neither the land or labour honestly belongs to them and should not be greedy and heartless to sell what was handed down to generations from slaves. Obviously the old man is dead and in those days there were not always formal documents exchanged when land was purchased, and this may be what they may be taking advantage of without equity. There may be other avenues in law that can be explored. I appeal to Pan Africanist to look into these and offer assistance to these poor people. I appeal to the government to stop selling us out to foreigners.

This same trick has been worked on some people in Porey Spring St Thomas where they lived on land passed down for generations not paying rent, the government was supposes to assist these people in buying the land at a reduced rate as tenantry land. Because the people do not know the law or their rights one man claiming to be a descendant of the the long time owner Mr Moore came and convinced the people they should pay him rent ( thus possibly losing their PRESCRIBED RIGHTS to own the land as long term tenant not paying rent) I believe they are points in law where this can be overturned if the people were misled by this man. However he offer to sell them the land if the want to buy yet as I have a house on the same land when I asked him to show me his title deed , it was not forth coming for a few years I don’t know if he found it yet. Although government seem to have started the process in assisting the people on DR Moore land to own their lot this man was still able to come and sweet talk them into paying him rent. Our governments and civil servants donโ€™t seem to be acting in the best interest of the descendants of the slaves although the members of parliament too are descendants of the slaves like us. It seems they are quick to put on price on our heads or allow a price to be put on our merely survival.

Meanwhile the plantation owners after pocketing the rewards of slavery,now can reap the final grand reward of selling the land and we the slaves descendants GET NOTHING . And worst of all walk away silent or begging on our knees. FURTHER IT IS A BURNING SHAME WHEN WHAT LITTLE WE TRY TO GET FOR OURSELVES THROUGH FURTHER WORKING OUR BACKSIDES OFF IS DESTROYED WITHOUT REGARD FOR OUR WELFARE AND OUR GOVERNMENT MINISTERS WHO WE LINE UP IN THE HOT SUN TO ELECT SIT silent. This tells me it is time for the people of Barbados to defeat the governments misrepresentation and rally together behind such causes and local leaders motivate the people to stand up as one against such disrespect and disregard. People sitting in the CPAA office as Pan Africanist as well as political activist and social activist I beg you seek out if they can be further representation for these victims of land grabbing oppression. If so appeal against the court decision, drag it to the high court to the CCJ or the Hague, whatever it takes to demand respect for our part of building Barbados with our BLOOD SWEAT BONES AND TEARS. Organize a fund raising program, to cover legal cost to support any further representation that can be made.

Babylon system is surely a vampire sucking the blood of the suffering people. It seems that in Africa and the Caribbean the Chinese are the African people latest milker, sucking dry what the Europeans have left, and not without the help of the traitors of our race who willing to sell us out on demand.

PEOPLE OF BARBADOS UNITE AND RESIST THEM. THE POWER IS WITH THE UNITY OF THE PEOPLE AGAINST OPPRESSION.

1. What Krap!

2. Shut yuh arse Comment kid.

Yuh ididot.

The writer of this article is not writing crap and I support him/her totally.

I will support any move to help this black bajan family.

How de shite chineese could come here and seek to drive our people off the land.

These caribbean government including Thompson got to remain quiet because they running up to China with begging bowls,and we the people ain’t got a say in what agreements they making with these greedy avaracious chineese.

Instead of running to help illegal indian guyanese,lemme see if David Commissong will help his own black bajan brother here in Barbados.

3. ll the talk show hosts and all the intelligent Barbadians have their way this is a slam dunk in favour of the Chinese. Even if this is the case there is what is legal and then there is justice. The morality of the act must be considered. Even if this matter can’t be rectified the government and lawmakers must establish laws which protect citizens from injustice. So Mr. Jones from livinginbarbados we listened to your logical defence of the Chinese position but there is another argument which is based on morality.

We never thought we would write this but where is the moral outrage of the citizenry?

4. The other side of the coin:

In China ” foreigners must apply to the government for permission to buy property. This is granted through the public security bureau. Also, you must have a notarized Chinese name in order to purchase”

I just wonder how an ordinary “Bajan” would fare?

5. Yardbroom // June 6, 2009 at 5:57 pm

The other side of the coin:

In China โ€ foreigners must apply to the government for permission to buy property. This is granted through the public security bureau. Also, you must have a notarized Chinese name in order to purchaseโ€

I just wonder how an ordinary โ€œBajanโ€ would fare?
    ————————————————
    We should have reciprocity.

6. as usual everybody that land pon we shore does got more rights than we.

Amazing…if this was a black person building that property there would be all sorts of rings and hoops to jump thru…where is town and country planning, where is the PEP, and the BLP that are so bothered about bajans unfairing illegal immigrants…everybody silent now cuz them sell we soul to the chinese and everybody else who was will to pay for it…

7. Whatโ€™s really interesting and insightful about this article from the Economist Newspaper about โ€œnastyโ€ officials and corruption in China is the Readerโ€™s Comments.

http://www.economist.com/world/asia/displayStory.cfm?story_id=13788686&source=hptextfeature

8. Living in Barbados Avatar
    Living in Barbados

You did not listen carefully. I did not defend the Chinese position. What I said was that if people in Barbados have a legal or adminstrative situation that they do not like, then they should lobby their political representatives to get those laws changed.

That said, you cannot hope to run a country on emotion. If one feels that something is morally wrong, that may have merit but it does not necessarily stand taller than what the national law allows. Otherwise, you may as well tear up the laws.

9. @livinginbarbados

Did you reread what you just wrote?

What are laws?

How are laws tested?

More importantly if there is what appears to be a flagrant injustice what should the citizenry do?

You should remember that we operate in a climate where MPs generally don’t agitate for consumer rights, they concentrate on fattening their positions.

10. Living in Barbados Avatar
    Living in Barbados

Laws are documents that have statutory power. You may not like them, but they exist. Testing them requires going through a process, and if you do not like the first outcome you may be able to appeal to get it overturned.

What appears to you as a “flagrant injustice” is not the same for all persons.

If you have a problem with the people voted into politics then remove them through the same process. I do not have a vote so cannot do that.

11. Living in Barbados Avatar
    Living in Barbados

If you say you live in a law abiding society you cannot then cherry pick the laws by which you will abide. Otherwise, no one will be safe.

12. My understanding of this situation is that some kind of planned perimeter wall for the development runs through the property that this unfortunate man believed was his.

Now, the thing is is that the construction of the homes (less finishes) appears to be nearly complete– so it is not as if the Chinese just arrived. The difficulty lies in the fact that the Chinese have probably known from Day 1 that this man would have to be confronted at some point. I would also venture to guess that the man had an inkling that he did not hold title to the property. The building(s) on the site were likely set out according to TCPO setbacks utilizing all of the established boundaries.

Now REGARDLESS of the past, encroachment onto another persons property is not a new phenomenon. If a survey shows that he is encroaching that’s it– you have to move off. In my mind this unfortunate event should serve as example to all Bajans– if your spot means something to you make certain that you hold it free and clear. This certainly won’t be the last case of this nature in the coming years.

13. Again your argument is straight line.

What we are seeing in Barbados is a serious concern for how Barbadian rights are being trampled. We see our coastline disappearing, now we see our arable land being bulldozed to create foundations and of course there is the immigration sore. Our university trained politicians have become experts at applying text book concepts like land must fetch its highest economic value etc.

Our system of government has no power to recall or force referendum on issues which the populist feel strongly. Our only outlet is public protest by expressing moral outrage. If there is a law which vindicates the outrage well fine but if there are no laws then let the people protest and start the debate.

It’s a long five years before we can let the politicians experience our wrath.

14. Living in Barbados Avatar
    Living in Barbados

As I understand it, past governments have decided that selling land to non-nationals is preferred to leasing it. In a small country that has voiced concerns about its overcrowding for many years, that does not make sense to me. That is where moral outrage could (or should) have started on the matter of legal title to land. You can tell me if those concerns were aired but ignored.

15. Government can compulsorily aquire the offending strip of land from the chineese as they do all the time from poor black people who barely got any land to speak of.

16. The game has been over for perhaps 15 to 20 years.

The decisions taken by our post independence “leaders” have made our land a commodity up for grabs to the highest bidder.

In this case it happens to be Chinese, but it could just as easily be any nationality ……. well … almost any.

The tired old slavery story just won’t work here.

Our “leaders” have used it for their own devices for years and have made a killing but …….

.. they have attracted bigger fish than themselves and have to take a back seat and know their place.

17. You tell me tuh fuhget
    That my granmudda was born
    Right hay so
    Awright… I say I shall go.

Apologies to The Mighty Gabby who should really remake this classic.
    For poor people there is no justice, just us.

18. Why wunna don’t leave the nice Chinee people alone? Wunna forget that dey gwine build the St.John Polyclinic and the de Empire Theatre? David Thompson say so, so it is so. Maybe when Sandi go to China he will have a word wid Hu Jintao.

19. @ David

Our university trained politicians have become experts at applying text book concepts like land must fetch its highest economic value etc.
    Whooa there buddy!!! Care to explain or expand that statement? Who should set the price of your property? If you think that the free enterprise system is an outmoded concept for Barbados then what model should replace it?

20. The bottom line here is this:
    We have no respect for our fellow brethren; even the Chinese have seen this.
    The disappearing coastline,arable land being turned into concrete jungle and golf courses; being promoted without the thought of how those projects can be sustained. A tiny water scarce Island is being sold to the highest bidder and has no other natural resources…a ….disgrace.

Similarly, in the UK, which led one well known politician to rebuke another for “Selling off the family silver.”

Bajans are apathetic and more inclined to denigrate than to assist each other. The politician is of same stock.
    Did no one politician saw what was going on on the West Coast and other projects? Where are the journalists and the university graduates?
    The poor man/woman with perhaps, only a secondary education watching her educated politician’s silence, is thinking; Who is going to listen to me?

Winston Churchill once said of the Chinese, “Let them sleep,for when they wake we will know.” True words.
    One only has to look at the treatment of their own, in Tibet; in Africa and they don’t give a ‘D’ about what the world says.

21. David>> “…where is the moral outrage of the citizenry?”

We are asking the same question here in Road View/Mullins and the answer we are getting is that Bajans don’t care anymore as long as you are not taking their American TV.

22. Paradox I concur with all you have said. The immigration debate is another telling situation of Bajan apathy in confronting a growing situation until it is right in their faces. The Barbados forum is replete with comments from so called educated Bajans who back then sought to defend indo-guyanese and by extention the immigration process that allowed for them to be here. That they may be singing a different tune now speaks to this Apathy that to my mind is cloaked in an over abundance of pragmatism. We have allowed all kinds of people to tell us what is best for us, and have been disappointed for so doing, yet we continue to give them our ears. It amazes me that we have people at this late stage talking about laws and if you don’t like the law have it change etc.. the condesending intent is very noticiable. But clearly to me, a lawless man or a man who has to his mind seen the law continually work against him will have no uses for it. Multiply this view point by thousands of young Barbadians, as is the growing case, captured in the report to the last parliament by the Sir Roy Alleyne Commission on Law and order, and you will have to conclude that the agrieved will not be move to seek redress with the law, and that theirs is no intent by persons who hide behind “it is the law” to have anything done about it.

Remember who the Law and order report would have been commissioned under and to whom it would have been given as the Minister reponsible. Remember who would have ministerial oversight for immigration and any work permits issued. Remember who bragged about Chinese money (loan)being available to Barbadians. We are our own worst enemy.

…….Like the broken record I repeat

The phenominon that has attack Jamaica, were there is significant disrespect for insitutions , can be a fate that befalls us, if we do not ensure that when a person breaks the law is made to answer in a court of law……. Mia Mottley.

It is hear folks, in it’s thousands and it is getting older and more pronounce.

23. Our chickens are coming home to roost.We allowed COW Williams & all the other White people in Barbados to buy up & remained in control of large chunks of land in Barbados.We allowed our politicians to fool us with all type of fancy talk and little action.

Chinese are merciless in their pursuit of achieving a desire result.Chinese are on an expansionist policy throughout this world.The Chinese we have this part of the world are not here by chance but by design.They are looking for land mass for their expanding society.Black occupied lands, the Chinese have recognised as easy prey.That is why they are in Africa carving up Africa to their liking.Similar action is happening in South & Central America and also in the Caribbean.Chinese have no regard for the citizenry of any country.They main purpose is to conquer & control.

This present government has given legitimacy to Chinese to do as they please in Barbados.Remember David Thompson official visit to China last year and he welcoming the Chinese to Barbados and inviting them to come and invest and with his begging bowl asking for financial assistance.This is the assistance the Chinese are giving us Building restaurants,condominiums & other structures with only Chinese labour.Bribing our politicians & senior civil servants.Forcibly removing Black Barbadians from their lands with out any consideration for the history of the people & the ties that have developed between the people and the lands.

It is sad that the Democratic Labour Party is in to its 2 year in office and it has not yet consider it as a priority to outline a land use policy for Barbados and to bring into lawAlien Land Lease Legislation that will stop our lands from falling into the hands of non-nationals who do not look like the majority of us Black Barbadians.

These reactionary political parties we have in Barbados will only act when the people voice opinions on issues affecting us and they believe that some sort of political benefits might come they way.I see no genuine interest shown by any of major political parties in Barbados for any issue that directly affects the people.These political parties reacts for political expediency.

I do not think that the large scale selling of our lands to rich non-nationals will abate anytime soon.The Democratic Labour Party does not have the courage or desire to stop such from occurring. It needs the financial support from these rich non-nationals.

The only hope for us is to make this country ungovernable by our actions whatever those actions are.

24. @Sargeant

See Paradox’s response. We have a small land space, certainly commonsense dictates that our economic model must recognize this salient fact.

It is interesting how the system has programmed our talk show hosts for example dismissing the cries of the people as jigoistic and xenophobic. The status quo must be protected at any cost.

Who was it on BU who wrote that we are living our lives based on the TV and magazine.

25. There are a few questions I would like to ask.
    1) isn’t there a law that state, if someone is on a property for 7 years without paying rent, they can claim ownership?
    2) What happen to the Free hold Ten Act?
    3.) Was permission given to the local house builder by Town Planning?
    4.) When the land was being surveyed for purchase, were these local people notified?
    5.) What happens now with the many illegal squatting illegals in Rock Hall? How come the court sided with the chinese but are hesitent in removing those illegal illegals from Rock Hall and other places?
    As NM said, the chickens have come home to roost, this is only the beginning. When I warned that one day you will wake up to learn that you don’t own your property any longer, some bloggers scorned me, well I advise ALL of you to rectify your property, make sure you have legal documents. People arew seeing the layed back attitude of bajans and are taking FULL advantage of it. It seems there is little any government can do about this, we have committed ourselves to things we can’t change now. This chinese matter, plus the defiance of the illegals here rspoecially the guyanese, is going to pull Barbados down, We MUST brace for very difficult times but be patriotic and stand firm UNITY IS STRENGTH. If you think that this economic crisis is bad, the crisis we MUST endure to reclaim our little island is going to be more harsh but in the long run our siblings will benefit. I was warning you for some time that we are picnicing at the base of a volcano that is about to erupt, well the eruption has started and only o few of us is getting the message.

26. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Scout

For clarification, do you mean the Tenantry Freehold Purchase Act (which I think was passed in 1980)? My understanding (and I have not read it) is that it revolutionised land ownership in Barbados by allowing (thousands of) Barbadians to purchase land that had been occupied by their ancestors for generations.

27. It’s alarming to see how many people today are still living in the days when the earth was flat.

28. Tenantries Freehold Purchase Act Barbados
    Part 1
    Purchase of Freehold
    4. (1) Notwithstanding any other law or any term or condition of any lease, contract or licence relating to a tenancy, it is a term or condition of every tenancy within a plantation tenantry or other tenantry that the tenant, as of right and at his option may, if he is a qualified tenannt, purchase the freehold of the lot of which he is a tenant at a price to be determined.

(a) in the case of a lot within a plantation tenantry, in accordance with Part 1 of the second Schedule or by agreement between the parties, whichever is the smaller amount; or
    (b) in the case of a lot within any other tenantry, in accordance with Part 2 of the second schedule, by agreement between the parties, or as specified in an improvement scheme within the meaning of the Tenantries Deveolpment Act, whichever is the smaller amount.

(2) Subject to section 36, a qualified tenant of a lot is a tenant
    (a) who, at 1st November, 1980, is residing on the lot and has been so residing

(i) for 5 consecutive years immediately preceding that day 0r
    (ii) for 5 years out of the 7 years immediately preceding that day;….

29. These Chinese and whoever that has the finances could come here and buy what ever land they wish. Our governments have never seen fit to exclude non-barbadians from purchasing land here. St. Lucia does it, Trinidad does it, Antigua does it, Bermuda does it and the list goes on but Barbados’ Governments seem not to care who takes the land from our children and grand children.

It can be stopped only if the persons in authority change and amend the laws in favour of us barbadians.

30. @Negroman…….”The chicken are really coming home to roost.” This is so damn true! And when we tell Black people to rise to hell up and unite in our own interest we are RACIST. The politicians are busy misleading the people while they continue to grease their pockets with blood money. One answer to this BS is to not go to the polls and vote for anyone. Contrary to popular beliefs voting is not a right. Its only some bullshale ideology that whitey tricked Black people into believing and dying for, when they know full well that ‘real illusive power’ does not lie in a ballot. Shelter, food are God-given inalienable rights that NO law (foreign nor domestic) can usurp. The people need to take back their powers from these traitors.

31. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Yardbroom

What I can’t understand is how a Barbadian court knowing of the above and other common law remedies for squatters would rule against the barbadian family at maxwell.

Who will now help this family who by dint of hard work and struggle scrimped and saved to start building their home only for the courts to have them lose it so that the chineese can build a guard wall.

My goodness man!

32. The pictures of the Town Planning unit dealing with this matter are bound to stir the emotions of a nation which is becoming intolerant of the lack of physical development planning of Barbados.

33. The Scout – Possessory Title requires more than a seven year occupancy.

Yardbroom – now post the part of the Act defining a tenantry.

34. @ mash up & Buy Back

Contrary to popular opinion there are still some “very good” lawyers in Barbados.

The problem is choosing “the right one” as many variables must be put in the equation, regardless of if you like it or not, you do “need” them.

35. @ Enuff

I am being paid for this…or I will be at this computer all day,ha, ha ha!

“tenantry” means
    (a) a plantation tenantry; and
    (b) an area of land that is subdivided, before or after 1st November, 1980, into more than 5 lots for letting as sites for chattel buildings to be used as dwelling houses whether the land is vested in the Crown, in a statutory board or in any other person, but does not include the land adjoining the foreshore.

“tenant” means an individual who occupies a lot comprised in a tenantry pursuant to a tenancy whether that tenancy exists by virtue of a lease, contract or licence and either at law or in equity”.

Yardbroom
    Hey! do you realize today is Sunday.ha, ha, End

36. As someone close to the BU mentioned on this matter, it is very tricky and complicated, like the immigration manner.

Culturally/historically old Barbadians have had land handed down through the years and many, many folks who have been living on such lands for many years have never felt driven to ‘clear/buttondown the title’ of the property which has been occupied for years, it is been taken for granted almost. The new purchasers entering the market are obviously forced by modern systems to have lands to be bought prospected/surveyed etc.

The bad news for Barbadians is that more and more of these issues of poor Barbadians being on the face of it being taken advantage of will crop up. As fellow blogger livinginbarbados will quickly point out, one side will be supported in law, the other side will have emotional and moral support but that is all. The social fallout will be left for the society to deal with.

The position BU has taken is that we can’t leave the matter i.e.the party supported by law having won the battle. If we take this position several Barbadians will lose land.

Something has to be done!

37. China has a population of 1 billion + people, and a lot of young men who cannot get Chinese wives.

China’s one child policy and the traditional preference for boy children has created ths problem for China.

So now China is exporting young men, because young men who cannot get any pu**y are dangerous young men and can destabilize any society.

Bajan women can turn the problem around by turning the Chinese men’s heads pu**sy.

You mark my word, if the Chinese men here are sexually satisfied not even the might of the Chinese government will get them back in China (not when they are in some good pu**y) .

Just as the pen is mightier that the sword, I tell you that sex is mightier than either the pen or the sword.

Here endeth the lesson for today, Sunday.

38. Three years ago, I am working my father’s land which he bought in 1934, this is deep, deep, deep rural Barbados and who shows up by a Chinese man asking me if I want to sell.

No I said to the Chinese man.

As my father had said no to the white man in the 1960’s.

Still getting offers though now from a lawyer who is a former DLP cabinet Minister. An old, old, old, man who all he really needs now in a 6 foot plot on Harbin Alleyne Road.

I am sensible enough to realize that he is trying to acquire and bank land to sell to the highest bidder, and there is nobody in the world now or in my lifetime who will be able to bid higher than the Chinese.

No doubt the elderly former DLP cabinet minister wants to leave great wealth to his children, since he is so old that statistically he has less than 10 years to live.

But I am one of those black people who love my own 2 black children and my 8 black siblings and my 12 black nieces and nephews, and my 4 black great neices and nephews.

So no the land ain’t going to anybody unless you related to us by blood.

And hee!!!, hee!!, hee!! none of us have ever given any of the thing to Chinese people or white people. So none ‘o them ain’t related to us by blood.

39. If Chinados Construction Ltd. is a Barbadian company that bought and developed land, what makes them and this case different from any other involving developers?

Who should we blame, when poor people go into court believing that, my grandmother or grandfather lived there for donkey years, is all that is required to resolve a land dispute in their favour?

Should we not be concerned that this belief is all that they can afford?

40. There is land in the area of The Belle St Michael that was purchased by some non-nationals.The sign on that land states
    “TRESPASSERS WILL BE SHOT SURVIVORS WILL ALSO BE SHOT”

I do not know the exact location of the land but a close friend of mine who is a an electrician and doing work for the owners relayed that story to me.

This is what Barbados has come to and this is the new Barbados that our Black children & grand children will inherit.

Hopi,I have given up on the bastards that call themselves politicians.I agreed with you voting is such a useless exercise that offers no hope for anyone.It is an effort in futility because not one of the political parties in Barbados has the desire to bring about any meaningful change for the masses of Black Barbadians.The records are there to see.After nearly 60 years of so-called Black governments in Barbados only marginal & cosmetic changes have occurred for Black Barbadians.Black Barbadians are generally landless with less than 10% of the population and that 10% does not look like the majority of us Black Barbadians is in control of nearly 80% of our land mass.In addition,that same 10% control almost 90% of the economic & financial resources of this island.

Tell me where are the fundamental changes that have taken place in Barbados to enhance & advance the lives of Black Barbadians.We had & have a set of leaders from Grantley Adams to our present day leader David Thompson who were and are incapable of transforming this society so that the majority Black people in Barbados be at the top financially & economically.

Why are nearly 60 years of Black rule we Black people are still at the bottom in Barbados and those asses we had and have as leaders believed they have done something to transformed the lives of Black people in Barbados.They are only fooling themselves.

41. J, that is the position that must be adopted.

We complaining but still keep selling. Hypocrisy at its heights.

42. @BU family

You should not look only at the Tenantries Act but at the Security of Tenure of Smallholdings Act as well.

43. Here are two recent articles on the sale of Lancaster Plantation for development into a Golf Course.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/on-his-royal-throne-copy-for-web

http://www.nationnews.com/story/making-its-own-water-for-new-golf-course-copy-for-web

I am going to try in my following comments to show what aspect of its long term plan Barbados gave up to allow the development of Golf Courses on its western flank to proceed from the early 1990’s.

I am going to suggest ways in which this developer, and others in the area can address what Barbados has given up as a result of the deviation from its long term plan made to accommodate the developments.

44. Hi John

Why don’t you post the above comment here and further develop?

45. David June7@12.36
    You are absolutely right, that’s what I was saying, many poor bajans are going to start getting notices to quit or be bulldozed just now. The Town Planning also has to be blamed, either the person who was now buildind the wall house didn’t get permission or if given the Town Planning can be sued because they would have had to determine that the person owned the land before granting permission. If they were not given permission, the house should not have gotten this far, they are officers assigned to different areas in Barbados and obviously they would have visited the chinese site since that project is more than 80% complete. There are so many loopholes in this matter. These people are being victimised simply because they are poor, black bajans, that’s why we have to wake up and smell the roses, or eat the stench.

46. Where is the attorney at law Trotman who was so quick to jump on the Rock Hall case. Did he do this just because it was near elections and he was a candidate? Show your patriotism, you have more of Barbados backing you now than with the Rock Hall illegals squatting illegally

47. There goes another sugar plantation or agriculture land in a high rainfall area to developers foreign to this country, yet as an average black bajan who just want to take off a portion of my rab land for my children to build, I’m being denied. The passiveness of bajans will not last forever. One day coming soon, the people would wake up, I hope it happens soon before it is too late. When this country falls, all those who cauised it will disappear and leave us bajans to hold the empty bag.

48. @The Scout

You are not going to get much sympathy for that position from a government anxious to end a recession with foreign investment.

http://twitter.com/savemullinsbay/statuses/2068035665

49. Here is an interesting parallel.

We have a large group of working class Barbadians who don’t insure their chattel homes. They do this because they are playing the percentage or what we believe to be the main reason, they can’t afford the insurance premium. Our governments, politicians, NGOs and other civic minded entities should be giving priority to how we can help this working class group who continues to be aliented in an advancing society. We dont want to hear about the law, we want to hear how we can help these people.

That should be the goal!

50. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Yardbroom
    Thanks for information on the Tenantries Freehold Purchase Act.

If I read it correctly, it gives the ‘qualified tenant’ the option to purchase, which to me does not equate to the obligation of the freehold owner to sell. Though, those better versed in this and other laws could correct me.