Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

There is considerable merit in the observation by Prime Minister David Thompson that many of the visitors Barbados is depending upon to visit its shores are themselves victims of the current global economic downturn. Politicians often times speak in the abstract about real situations that affect national outcomes. I do not wish to be partisan, but I smile when persons speak of a decline in tourism activity without referencing the convulsions taking place in some of our primary source markets.

For example, while the Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Mia Mottley, during her reply to the budget, was apportioning blame to the new DLP administration for a fall in tourism numbers, streaming across the bottom of the television screen, which at the time was tuned to CNN, were news alerts of three corporate giants in the United States laying off in excess of 17 000 workers, all in a single day. Last week I counted 83 000 similar victims, and that is only from the clips that I viewed while sitting before my television.

Curiously, I Googled ‘job losses in the United States’ and it was heart rending to discover that last month, April, 2009 to be exact, a whopping 611 000 persons lost their jobs in the United States. This has nothing to do with the more than 270 000 that were placed on the breadline by companies in the United Kingdom. Last Thursday alone, 15, 000 were sent home from British Telecom. In the United States, since the recession began in December, 2007, a mere 17 months ago, 5.7 million jobs have been lost.

This would all be lamentable but academic to us here in Barbados if a significant number of those persons were not among the thousands who had their minds set on summer and winter holidays in the Caribbean, for dates as early as this year. Some, I am sure, had ticked off Barbados as a possible destination. What I find unbelievable, is that persons in public life, who would wish to be taken seriously as political thinkers, would speak in this period to declining fortunes in tourism, without referencing in any way the realities of the goings on in the marketplace.

Close to six million people in the United States and a proportionate number in the United Kingdom losing their jobs must impact negatively on scheduled travel to the Caribbean. Let’s put ourselves in their shoes. If you were working at a big corporation and you were doubtful of its viability in the current economic circumstances, would you commit at this time to a holiday? I am not saying all potential visitors to Barbados or the Caribbean are in this category. What I am suggesting is that serious analysis should make provision for there being a not so insignificant number.

By the same token, as the Prime Minister said, much of the food and other items we produce here in Barbados can be and is produced for a fraction of existing raw material costs elsewhere in the wider region. Take for example the average Polo Shirt which cost approximately $40 here in Barbados. The same shirt of identical quality is produced in factories in Latin America for less than US$3.

Now when certain political spokespersons were in government they knew this to be the case. Some of them even visited such factories and outlets in Brazil, Panama, Chile, Honduras and El Salvador. Yet, all of a sudden, they are on the other side of the Parliament and they cannot understand the reality of the dilemma confronting local economic planners, where, for example, it is possible to source a dozen eggs from overseas for the cost of two single eggs here in Barbados.

What do we do with our local industries? What do we say to workers in industry who require and indeed who deserve to be paid annual increments like anyone else? And what about workers in agriculture? Shouldn’t they receive a realistic wage, given the cost of living? These are pertinent issues that have got to be addressed head on by decision makers.

How, for example, can anyone oppose an increase in water rates, when the need for a huge injection of capital is well established? Four years ago a former minister made an attempt to increase water rates and was slapped down unceremoniously. Had the increase been granted then, a steep hike would not be required now. Yes! There are inefficiencies in the Barbados Water Authority. But does not preclude the need for a major capital works programme and an improvement in the quality and distribution of our water? Shouldn’t we move to check the rate of leakage?

It is one thing to be in opposition and to assume the posture of ‘oppose and oppose and oppose’ but the Prime Minister is correct when he says there comes a time when we must each stand and be counted. I like the concept of Team Barbados. I firmly believe that elections are a minimum three years away and that until then we should put partisan politics aside and put our hands to the plough as Barbadians in pursuit of the national good.

How, for example, can there be any divide in this country over the impact of unregulated and uncontrolled, indeed, undetermined, migration? There are times when a Leader of the Opposition must, if he or she cannot publicly support a measure, just allow certain issues to run their course. It is not always that you need to comment!

Politics is about logic. It is about reason. If neither is evident in one’s submission, it loses credibility and appeal. We are in an era where what matters to most is that which is best for the country. In this regard, blind, partisan politics has no place and should be avoided.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

1. Regulars to BU are aware of our policy of giving a voice to ALL. It might explain why we post the Henry articles. Before some call us apologists we want to reiterate our call for the BLP to submit articles they endorse as well. The truth is Dark Knight, Hog Squeal, Royalrumble are not doing a good job dividing the BLP political word :-).

It is obvious despite the vilification that Henry understands that by putting his articles out there he gets to achieve multiple goals which he no doubt will use to build his strategy for the DLP going forward. It is time the BLP understand the power of non traditional media.

We listened with interest to Dale Marshall scoffing at the power of Facebook and other social networking media to disseminate the word about Barbados. Mr. Marshall you need to get into the Time Tunnel and propel yourself to the present…HEELLO!

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I particularly enjoy your point that BLP authors may not be, to quote you

“dividing the BLP political word” LOL

In other words there is no great separation in thier exegesis. MURDER!

You tink BU easy? Some serious teaching does go long in hey?

“What licks in BU what” to use a phrase from my mentor BT.

Quae cum ita sint, this article by HH is one of the best that I have read.

Perhaps he too has learned from comments made on BU, and will reduce the content of BS in his submissions- such as in this case.

3. Knew that would tickle your fancy GP 🙂

Wait what HH do you?

Notice that every week you are usually the first out of the block.

4. @David

Can you provide the exact context to Dale Marshall’s comments? A then Senator Marshall back in the late 90’s would have given several speeches about eCommerce and it’s importance.

5. Adrian here is the blurb which appeared in the newspaper:

Country relying on blogs, networks, says Marshall

Published on: 5/21/2009.

AFTER SPENDING ABOUR $150 million in tourism, the sector still has to rely on the Internet’s more popular social networks for promotion.

Deputy Opposition Leader Dale Marshall made the statement yesterday evening during debate on the 2009 Financial Statement And Budgetary Proposals.

“What we are told is that effort was not good enough and now we have to rely on Facebook, the blogs and YouTube because the $150 million that was allocated to tourism cannot do the job and therefore we have to say to Barbadians that we would now market our country with the blog,” he said.

Marshall said it was truly “the season of despair” when the major marketing tool of the Barbados Tourism Authority has committed to “refund every tourist who comes to Barbados all of their money if the rain falls.”

“No wonder we have to go on the blogs. No wonder we have to go on Facebook and try to tell our brothers and sisters and our friends and penpals to please come and visit our nation,” he added. (TM)

6. David re your post @4:39 I think the correct word is disseminate (i.e to spread widely) and not decimate which means to destroy.

7. Thanks Anonymous appreciate it.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I dont knowHH. Never met him. I am a humble man I dont move in the lofty heights of Government or would be government personel.

But I love proper prose, that makes sense!

9. Bajan eggs cost central money. South American eggs cos’ real real money… real us money..!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhh

10. Hartley:

You are falling between two stools.

Are we in favour of globalisation or protecting our nascent industries?

You in your juvenile post sit on the fence.

Do we wholeheartedly accept globalisation and scrap agricultureto buy cheaper on the world market, or do we develop self sufficency here?

Tough decisions by your government need to be made now, and proclaimed as policy.

None of this namby pamby drifting in a world of harm over which we have no control.

We pay you handsomely to adopt the best strategies for our way forward, not offer excuses for your own impotence due to forces beyond your control.

If you can’t formulate a beneficial way forward…RESIGN and admit incompetence.

The test of any man is his response to crisis, and your bleatings fall far below the standards required.

11. The best strategy? Man tell dem Ministers stop flying ’bout de place… Firs’ Class at dat..
    AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

12. Straight Talk
    I agree with your comment “The test of any man is his response to crisis, and your bleatings fall far below the standards required.” However I believe that the option of resignation should be extended to the Prime Minister who not only campaigned for the job but hired HH.

13. ‘What I am suggesting is that serious analysis should make provision for there being a not so insignificant number.’

‘Yes! There are inefficiencies in the Barbados Water Authority. But does not preclude the need for a major capital works programme and an improvement in the quality and distribution of our water?’

‘By the same token, as the Prime Minister said, much of the food and other items we produce here in Barbados can be and is produced for a fraction of existing raw material costs elsewhere in the wider region. Take for example the average Polo Shirt which cost approximately $40 here in Barbados. The same shirt of identical quality is produced in factories in Latin America for less than US$3.’

‘where, for example, it is possible to source a dozen eggs from overseas for the cost of two single eggs here in Barbados.’

I look all thru this piece for substance but could only find fluff. So I’ll only do a ‘J’ on this piece since there’s no substance to it and no solutions. You proudly boast of your mathematical deficit {clearly evident with the ‘cost of 2 single eggs’} but neglected to impart to us that your ability to constructively and persuasively use your ‘mother’ tongue has also been arrested. This article is in shambles. Can’t seem to link one thing to the other. Your basics are piss poor! And you call yourself a strategist!

14. BTW, before I’m accused of taking quotes out of context, pls be aware that no substance = no context. Just enuff fluff to fill that Tummi.

15. There is considerable merit in the observation by Prime Minister David Thompson that many of the visitors Barbados is depending upon to visit its shores are themselves victims of the current global economic downturn.

Just one question,

Why then are those countries -against whom – Barbados benchmarks itself – experience growth, even at a time when we recorded 6-8% decline?

Then why West Jet and Jet Blue; US$300 cash back on packages?

It is a sign of the times when we now resort to Face BooK, Hi5, the blogs and so on to get the word out.

We cannot even build the luxary brand name hotel ( one every two years) as promised in last year’s budget.

But, the numbers are down so blame Obama and the Global Crisis!

Blame them also for the problems at the QEH and the bad-behaviour of PSV drivers.

16. A then Senator Marshall back in the late 90’s would have given several speeches about eCommerce and it’s importance.

Valid point! Well said.

Why then are those countries -against whom – Barbados benchmarks itself – experience growth, even at a time when we recorded 6-8% decline?

Tell me, yardfowl, which countries do you benchmark us against?

17. “Barbados do not need any more advice gratuitously given by those who will not themselves lend a hand.

There is an abundance of armchair gurus who have the answer to every problem, but when asked to put their shoulders to the wheel and hand to the plough, they retreat.

At least the International institutions, when we agree with them, will provide resources.

In that regard, we have a mutually satisfactory relationship with the International Monetary Fund.

They understand us and we understand them.

They know clearly what we are prepared to do and when, and we know what they wan us to do and when.

On the basis of that understanding we hope to conclude an Enhanced Surveillance programme with them shortly.” – Minister of Finance David Thompson, Budget Speech, March 28, 1994.

Imagine, the DLP said it was “READY.”

yet, it was forced to reshuffle its Cabinet in less than a year and yet – still does not know what it is doing and therefore has to call old men out of retirement to help David Thompson.

Prime Minister Thompson failed to take evasive action despite early warning indicators but now want to co-join and blame others for his intellectual weakness and political incompetence.

The question which the electorate has to answer is:

“Is the DLP Ready; knows what it is doing and has what it takes, or – does it not?

David Thompson gives the answer. I need help!

Well electorate! The alarm is sounded. Help him before he and the DLP create even more MESS.

18. David // May 21, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Regulars to BU are aware of our policy of giving a voice to ALL. It might explain why we post the Henry articles. Before some call us apologists we want to reiterate our call for the BLP to submit articles they endorse as well.

by CLYDE MASCOLL

THIS WEEK’S BUDGET confirmed my greatest fear with respect to the management of the Barbados economy in times of crisis, when that responsibility lies in the hands of someone with the competence of the current Minister of Finance.

The few policy initiatives bore no relation to the skimpy analysis of the economy, which focused disproportionately on the views of Moody’s with respect to the country’s debt profile – an obvious attempt to apportion blame rather than seek solutions.

In the current circumstances, the policy options ought to focus on the “mischief” which is to be corrected. Since early last year, the Minister of Finance should have known about the pending economic difficulties, and no reasonable individual could have ascribed to him blame for the “clouds on the horizon”. However, it is perfectly legitimate to assess his actions, or failure to act, in the face of ever-growing evidence from domestic, regional or international sources.

When it was suggested that the minister should stimulate the economy, he imposed additional taxation that further slowed the rate of economic growth; that was his deliberate choice. At the time, the fiscal deficit was projected to be a reasonable $174 million for the year 2008/09.

The most revealing worry in the Budget was that despite not pursuing a stimulus package to assist the private sector and households, the fiscal deficit is now in excess of $400 million for the year 2008/09. This is where the Minister of Finance has to take blame for contributing to the recession and, furthermore, reducing his policy options when it most mattered.

In the prevailing economic environment, he had the following options: (1) raise taxation, but this was already done in July 2008; (2) adjust expenditure, but the horse was already out of the stable, and (3) borrow more money, especially from foreign sources, but this would increase the country’s national debt.

Option 1. Having unnecessarily imposed taxes on all and sundry in July last year, it was not possible to do so in the Budget. What is not understood by the minister is that the incidence of taxation – that is, who bears the tax – is even more critical for the performance of the economy than the level of taxes raised. This fundamental principle of taxation helps to explain why Government revenue hardly grew for the fiscal year despite the heavy imposition of taxation.

Option 2. Something has gone terribly wrong with Government spending, if in the absence of a capital works programme, Government expenditure has increased to such an extent that the actual deficit is at least $240 million more than was anticipated. This worryingly means that this additional expenditure is recurring expenditure that is wages and salaries, goods and services, transfers and subsidies and interest payments.

Unfortunately, this information was hidden in the rhetoric of running a big primary surplus on the Government’s current account by 2011. The long and short of it is that Barbados is in deep trouble!

Option 3. Borrowing money does not reduce the deficit; it helps to finance the deficit. It would serve some ambitious members on the Government side to understand these basic issues if they want to upstage the Prime Minister, which is not difficult to do on serious issues, and not build reputations as “pit bulls” when they should possess the intellect, not necessarily character, to do better.

The difficulty for the current administration is that it has to differentiate opposition politics from government politics. The size of the debt is the concern of the Opposition; the ability to manage the debt is the concern of the Government. It therefore does not require the Minister of Finance to recite lock, stock and barrel the analysis of Moody’s to justify using borrowing as an option.

There was a definite mismatch between the analysis in the Budget and the policy options exercised by the minister, but this is not surprising for an individual who does not see politics as an intellectual pursuit. Unfortunately, this is not the right thinking for a journey that requires the collective will of our people.

* Clyde Mascoll is a professional economist and former Government minister in the last Barbados Labour Party administration.

19. _________________

Tell me, yardfowl, which countries do you benchmark us against?

CTO Statistics: (2008)

Antigua up 1.9%
    Caman Islands 3.9%
    Cuba 10.7
    Jamaica 4.4%
    St. Lucia 2.9%
    St. Martaain 3.9%

Barbados, down 1.8% – even despite a best of barbados programme which gives a man US$300.00 off his package to come here.

In January this year, Barbados was 6% off while Jamaica experienced 3.4% increase.

Tourists are travelling, but not to Barbados, why.

People are investing but not in Barbados, why.

The question is, how much is the DLP paying its new CEO at the BTA. How much is Mr. Rice – Marilyn Rice Bowen’ brother being paid?

Freedom of informa – who?

20. Hartley Henry says “I do not wish to be partisan, but I smile when persons speak of a decline in tourism activity without referencing the convulsions taking place in some of our primary source markets”.

While Hartley Henry aka Wishing in Vain would want to throw up the unemployment Statistics of the USA and thoer countries to give the impression that they are the reasons for Barbados’ decline in tourism arrival I would prefer to use tourism statistics to define this issue.

In spite of high unemployment level in the USA and other countries from where we attract tourists, arrivals to the Caribbean region remained constant. In 2007 the number of tourist that came to the region stood at 22.6 million. In 2008 the amount grew to 23 million and although a review of this figure is likely it is expected to level off at the rate at 2007. These statistics are borne out by the increases in tourist arrivals in the region’s markets where we compete.

Antigua and Barbuda recorded an increase of 1.5%, Aruba 10.5%Cayman Islands 3.9 %, Jamaica 4.0% and in St. Lucia 3.0%. In Barbados we recorded a DECLINED of 2.0%. Clearly we are doing something wrong in our marketing strategy or we have a Minister who simply does not know what he is doing. I am inclined to believe the latter.

It is therefore not difficult to understand why the Prime Minister has issued a SOS, a distress call for help in rescuing Barbados. After a cabinet reshuffle and four groups of economic advisors this Government is still incapable of managing this economy.

Hartley’s post above is indicative of a child being sent to do a man’s job. If this is the best that a political advisor can do then heaven help us all.

21. My Response to the Editorial in today’s Advocate

The Barbados Advocate said:

“Faced as we are with all manner of challenges – from the burden of a global economic crisis, to the threat of the spread of the H1N1 virus – it is of paramount importance that all Barbadians come together and put aside partisan differences for the sake of the greater national good. “

My response:

Like old hag, Barbadians came together for the staging of world cup cricket, the gold world cup, the BLP’s wellness programme, the BLP’s HIV/AIDS campaign,

The Barbados Advocate:

More to the point, it is time that the Opposition uses its powers to more adequately address national issues and contribute to the development of this country, and focus less on itself.

My Response:

The BLP offered to help with a Sugar Cane Industry; the Offshore Oil Exploration Programme, Fishing and Mari-time Boundary Talks with T&T and the management of the economy.

The DLP said that the BLP had its turn and cannot tell it what to do. While PM Thompson is begging for help, his deputy was saying that the DLP will not take any chances with BLP policies.

The Barbados Advocate:

During his Budget speech in Parliament this past Monday, Prime Minister David Thompson spoke of unity, of rallying around a common cause, and of bringing together the “best minds and brains” to overcome the obstacles in our path. Standing firmly behind these earlier statements, he later welcomed the Opposition’s promise to “advance constructive policies and ideas for the forward movement of our country”.

The Prime Minister must have been disappointed.

My Response:

Bring the best brain together in the national interest is Arthur’s policy as regards the politics of inclusion. Read page 3 of the BLP’s 1999 Manifesto.

Anyone listening to the Leader of the Opposition’s reply to the Budget would have found it difficult to point out any advancement of “constructive policies” or “ideas for the forward movement” of Barbados.

My Response

Listen old lady of Fontabelle:

What about the call for the establishment of a Standing Committee of Parliament on Finance and Economic Affairs so that information, consultation and advice may be rendered to this country’s Executive.

Barbados Advocate:

No one can deny that we are in the midst of a global economic crisis.

My Response

Surely then it requires more than an increase in gun licenses and a reduction in the drivers license fee for senior citizens!

Barbados Advocate:

Ms. Mottley would have done well to heed Mr. Thompson’s words when he called on leaders within the society to inspire the population, noting that “Barbados’ successful navigation of the economic challenges we confront, depends squarely on our capacity to rally the country behind widely accepted and embraced objectives”.

My Response:

The DLP said it was ready. It also said it will slaughter the fatted calf for dems.

Barbados Advocate

However, it is not too late. The Prime Minister has proposed plans for a monthly meeting with former Ministers of Finance from both political parties, to discuss crucial economic issues. It is hoped that the invitation is accepted.

My response

So much for Obama’s want-to-be! The talk perhaps but the brains would be impossible.

If you are going to copy Obama, at least try to be as intelligent as he is! Barbados is in peril and the DLP has placed in on the Pathway to Poverty.

22. Call a spade a spade most politicians buse and cuss one another. Barrow mutilated Owen when he first entered Barbados politics .He rinsed out Owen in cuss. Owen like any other politician he shared some cussing too, after all he is human. P.M Thompson is not a Sunday school teacher his tongue is not easy. So what is the big deal.

But ya mean wunnah got de government and still cussing he stink, stink. Wunnah cant do anything better than cuss. Do de wuk and fuget de cussing. Where are the models that should be patterned?

Like or lump it , fact is fact , former prime minister Owen Seymour Arthur did Barbados GOOD. Nothing wrong wid the government trying to reach a high standard. There is no reason to try to “liquidate and depressurise” all opponents.
    Owen will always put Barbados first.

Now over to you. Continue the race in the interest of Barbados.

23. Team Barbados or fatted Calf?

Talk about a “Team Barbados Approach” is being used by Prime Minister David Thompson as an excuse to hide his “intellectual weakness” and “political incompetence,” and that of his DLP administration, which now sends out a cry for help.

Like Hartley henry, I too agree that if logic and reason is ever applied, Barbadians would realise that there is conflict between the DLP’s distraction talk about: “A Team Barbados Approach” and its: ‘Fatted Calf’ Doctrine.”

Do you remember these words: “Hold Strain?” You should, because that was the plea from Prime Minister David Thompson on August 29, 2008 to the impatient faithful of his then seven-month-old Democratic Labour Party Government.

The dems were anxious about the length of time it was taking them to get their fill at the trough.

Eschewing traditional policy pronouncements at party conventions – which he said would come from a more politically neutral setting over the next few weeks and months – Thompson, in his near hour-long presentation, recalled his controversial “fatted calf” comments at the DLP’s 45th conference in 2000.

“The fatted calf under David Thompson’s watch will be slaughtered and shared among those of you who have stood this course,” he had said then.

“The fatted calf will be slaughtered and shared among those of you who have fought the battles and who will have won for us a glorious victory at the polls.”

On the final day of the 53rd annual conference – the first since the DLP’s victory Thompson said both he and they knew what he meant in 2000.

“I meant it then and I mean it today when I say to you, the architects of this victory, fear not!” he told the dems who were by then – trampling each other to get to the trough.

Intelligent Barbadians know that there is conflict between “slaughtering the fatted calf for the dems and a Team Barbados Approach.

Or, should there be a “Team Barbados Approach,” so that more would become available for the dems to gouge themselves on?

The DLP can only survive in a country where the people do not think!!! Which is it?

The fatted calf or a Team Barbados Approach?

This is what the Barbados Advocate, David and Adrian Hinds – should analyze.

But, as I said, the DLP can only survive in a society where people do not think!

24. What does Barbados have to make it economy grow in a recession? We had aformer Prime Minister who was an economist he could not control our debt an borrow wildly and spend like it will be no tomorrow.Now Barbadians got caught up in so much credit their are in a panic, reflect fellow Barbadians the last administration leave you in great debt over 1.6billion dollars in personal debt.

25. Barbados is reaIIy expensive for UK tourists, same appIies to Canadians. US tourists can find other tropicaI destinations Iike Hawaii in the doIIar zone. EU tourists fIock to the UK to harvest cheap treats as the £ is so Iow against the euro. A year ago the £ gave a good famiIy hoIiday to UK famiIies staying at an aII incIusive in Barbados. Not this year! AII UK beach destinations are booked up, everyone is cutting corners and avoiding the now much more expensive fIights away. The fIight price has nearIy doubIed. Europeans and Russians are going to Turkey, very inexpensive, fantastic beaches briIIiant cuIture and history, weIcoming and poIite peopIe and poIite STAFF who don’t act as if every tourist is a mere insect. Turkey has a history of issues with Christiandom, crusaders etc. but they are very reIaxed with foreigners, find them intriguing and interesting even in the tiniest poorest of viIIages, you wiII be treated Iike an honoured guest. The big tourist hubs can experience terrorism as a resuIt of internaI poIitics but if you stay away from them, there’s no probIem. EU hoIiday destinations Iike Spain and France are aIso experiencing a downturn whiIst PortugaI, though in the EU is stiII quite a poor country and cheap for EU tourists so their bookings are up, too. Dubai, which poured gaIIons of biIIions into its tourist programme has had to haIt haIf of its ridicuIous mega hoteI buiIding programmes and the eyes of the worId are now Iooking askance at the sIave Iabour used to buiId the ghastIy fIashy edifices. The greedy fat cats are taking a powder and not fIitting around the worId for deIuxe hoIidays this year, anyway and its time for refIection for aII tourist destinations to take stock and review their vaIues to their own peopIe.

26. @victor

Very insightful comment. We find it interesting how people overseas are adjusting attitudes based on the economic necessity but here in Barbados we continue to scoff at the idea of Staycation i.e.vacationing at home. Are we so stupid that we think we can continue to behave as nothing as happen?

27. Clyde Mascoll is a professional economist

What is a professional economist? Is it a human being or a machine?

28. Thanks David for the full article of Dale Marshall’s comments. I take a different view of what he said, than you do. He is not dismissing internet marketing via the social networking sites etc. he is lamenting the need to do so after spending so much money the traditional way. However it is a non argument, of the kind delivered by someone press for something to say, anything,

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

There is plenty here for everyone to take a bite. So let me have my nibble.

Raising BWA rates cannot be seen as THE solution to the financing needs of a new capital programme until one first looks at (a) the issue of costs imposed by the heavy wastage of water being pumped (I have heard figures as high as 60%) and (b) the matter of arrears, their current level, their rate of build up and their rates of recovery. Higher rates may be water down the drain: we can assume that those who do not pay now will not pay the higher rates; those who do pay now may pay the higher rates, but may also decide to start being nonpayers. So, overall, where will BWA be?

30. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I really cannot figure out what conclusions are being made about the huge increases in US and European unemployment, the lower costs of producing in certain countries relative to Barbados etc. (no Polo shirts are produced here, but they are imported, so I was lost on the comparison with their being made more cheaply in Latin America).

On how Barbados seems to be doing worse from tourism that other neighbours, I think there’s a heavy downward impact because of heavy concentration on the UK market, where the recession started sooner and looks to be going deeper than most other industrial countries. Recent reports (see for instance Bahamas, St. Kitts, Jamaica regarding closures of Atlantis, Four Seasons, Sandals, etc.) suggest that other islands will soon show worse results.

On the use of social networking sites to boost tourism, there is a real question to answer about how the money allocated to tourism is working. My recollection is that we are still waiting for a ‘master plan’ to be agreed for the sector so these changes that keep dribbling through have no context from which we can try to judge their sense or purpose.

31. @livinginbarbados

Understand your point about the need for structure around how decisions are made about our #1 industry. We should have been much further along the way as far as our resource allocation strategy is concerned. Having said this there is a need to have a competitive response NOW and therefore we don’t fault making those short term decisions which based on best practices in other markets have been positive. It is a defensive position being offered by a country that list tourism as the #1 sector and this is unfortunate.

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I think you hit the nail on the head: “It is a defensive position being offered by a country that list[s] tourism as the #1 sector and this is unfortunate.” Therefore, I remain concerned about what strategy there is really. You cannot deal piecemeal with this situation because people cannot figure out how they should hitch themselves to the effort you want to mount with an ‘a bit of this and a bit of that’ approach.

33. Late to reply Avatar

I do not support a rate increase for BWA i recently reported a burst pipe and it took four and a half weeks to be repaired after i made a personnal visit and treatened to see the minister. I think BWA should take an audit of its operation and cut out some of the wastage in over time and leaking pipes.It is important to note that a private contractor was given the job to lay new mains and did a very poor job of it but was paid in full and these mains cant be used, i hope this administration give competent contractors the up coming work and not work for kick back.

34. Anonymos, “decimate” means to kiII one person or thing in ten. exampIes from ancient Rome etc.

35. David, some years ago I was sunning myseIf on Bathsheba beach, my first visit to Barbados. Just reading and sunning. SuddenIy a group of Baptisers arrived . I scrunched up, put aII my cIothes on and sat quiet. I was interested to see and nobody noticed me . FamiIies went into the water and got baptised. I must say it was a very moving experience. BUT suddenIy smaII boys began to chuck gIass bottIes onto the beach, where they shattered into tiny and dangerous shards. I wrapped myseIf in a respectabIe toweI and spoke to the Ieader of this Christian group. I said, Iook, there are chiIdren who Iive here, who, after schooI come and pIay here, so why do you Iet these visiting chiIdren trash the pIace and Ieave broken gIass around? He Iooked at me Iike a man bewiIdered. Readers, I’m going so I can come back.

36. Thompson cannot get the job done and now calling on Owen Arthur for help. This is the same Owen Arthur who Thompson said his shelf-life and sell-by-date had expired.

The DLP now talks about A Team Barbados Approach and using the best brains in the national interest but that is precisely what Mr. Arthur’s Politics of Inclusion was all about as outlined on page 3 of the BLP’s 1999 Manifesto.

37. CARICOM must develop a common economic strategy to help the region better weather the continued onslaught of the world financial crisis.

This was the consensus reached by Caricom leaders following a special meeting at the Prime Minister’s Diplomatic Centre in St Ann’s yesterday.”

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,100785.html

(Trinidad and Tobago Newsday)

Where the heel is david thompson?

Wasn’t he responsible for driving the CSME?

Talk about a never-ending-series of no-confidence motions in one man!

Notice that Manning has now assume leadership of the CSME and that the Guyana President will lead talks with Obama.

david thompson should really stop attending these regional meetings. he is merely wasting our tax dollars.

38. The office of the Prime Minister has been thrown into disrepute when the full fledge “slut” that now holds the office calls up the former Prime Minister to discuss a matter of a personal nature. It was a matter of the kind that a slut would find hot and juicy.

I tell you that the only thing missing from Thompson is his T- string panties, pantyhose and a tight fitting dress. Look out Bush Hill here he comes.

With 5,300 workers sent home since January 2008 and that does not include the nearly 200 who were recently sent home from the Dover Convention Centre in St. Lawrence Gap, the rapid rising cost – of – living, the closures of small business due to the heavy taxation imposed in the 2008 Budget, suffering among poor Barbadians as a direct result of the $7 million cut in the Welfare vote, the lost in investor confidence in Barbados that will now see Barbados losing vital foreign exchange, the rapid depletion of our foreign reserves that will put us in a position similar to that of the early 1990s and the decreasing number in our tourist arrivals even when all our neighbours are recording increases one would have expected that the piece of rag we have for a prime minister would have found something more important to discuss with a man who is easily the most brilliant economist in the region. For sure Mr. Arthur has the most fertile brain.

Oh no, none of the issues affecting the Barbados economy was raised in that telephone call. Rather Thompson sought to bribe the Former Prime Minister by informing him that he has a tape of an interview with his former wife and their divorce and that he would make it public if he spoke in the Budget Debate. Well, well, well talk about a “SLUT” Thompson is the embodiment of one.

You really feel that those people sent home since Thompson took office care about a fight between Arthur and his former wife? Or the hotel workers, who at the end of this season will be going home, care about salacious information?

This country is in trouble. Nothing has changed from when Thompson was in opposition. Politics for Thompson was about bloodletting and nastiness. Those were the days when the office was used as a bedroom to have sex with veritas, the supposedly girlfriend of his friend Chris Sinckler. To this day the relationship between Thompson and Chris is still under strain because they have not been able to determine who is real father of her child.

Look, I don’t find pleasure talking about these things but when you have a leader of a country who fails to inspire you and who cannot intellectually challenge you and cause you look upwards or forward to the prospects of life, then the only thing that will happen is that people will for ever be looking across at each other in suspicion. This will induce the crab in the barrel syndrome and that is where Barbados is today.

39. Royalrumble,
    Boy, once before I woulda ‘buse you poisonous for referring to my belov-ed Prime minister as a ‘slut’ but I still in mourning, so you have escaped the wrath of my tongue. How dare you? He is no more slut than the one that begot you. Good.

40. Here is what the Barbados Advocate is reporting in its editorial today:

“Teamwork needed at the top

5/26/2009

WE return yet again to the topic of “Team Barbados” introduced by Prime Minister David Thompson during his 2009 Financial Statements and Budgetary Proposals.

For while this may seem like a concept that would be supported by anyone with this country’s best interests at heart, those of us who would have followed last week’s debate in the House of Parliament may have been left wondering if it is really being embraced at all levels of the society.

The Prime Minister humbled himself by saying that he does not have all of the answers, and therefore “Team Barbados” is more important now than ever.

Without this, the future of the country could be in jeopardy.

Without this, what is left to be governed may not be desired by either party.”

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=editorial&NewsID=3853

“A Team Barbados Approach” is nothing Owen Arthur’s: Politics of Inclusion, which Obama is now copying and Thompson is now trying to steal, having promised to slaughter the fatted calf for dems only.

Since everyone knows that the DLP does not have any answers (as made clear by the Advocate) but accept that the BLP does – then call elections.

Elections and the superior economic skills of the BLP – is the solution to Barbados’ problems and the economic mess Thompson and the DLP have created and continues to create.

I thank the Barbados Advocate for pointing out that we must rescue Barbados so that the BLP can put it back on track.

41. Well Bonny Peppa I am no SUNDAY SCOOL TEACHER so come with it. I’ll give you enough time to mourn your lost then you know where to find me. I got blood in my eyes so come.

I am tired and sick of thompson’s sluttish behaviour while people in this country suffering. If no body in the DLP will defend the poor then I will.

42. Team Barbados Concept

We are happy that the Democratic Labour Party has finally come around to the concept of a: “Country Team Approach” to Governance.

After all, it is the Democratic Labour Party that has been functioned as a divisive element in Barbados since it came to office on January 15, 2009.

The record would show that it was the Democratic Labour Party which hand-picked people to serve on Constituency Councils.

It was the Democratic Labour Party which hand-picked people for NIS Pension Increases.

It is the Democratic Labour Party which is hand-picked who it will persecute and fire from the Public Service of Barbados.

It is the Democratic Labour Party who handpicked who should benefit from it so-called Free NHC Unit give-away.

It is the Democratic Labour Party that hand-picks who should benefit from taxpayers money as regards write off and access to the fatted calf.

Having promised “integrity,” what the Democratic Labour Party is not telling you, is that it has now stumbled on the fact that this Country Team Barbados Unity approach – gained prominence in Barbados during the Bid Book Rounds to host various packages relating to World Cup Cricket.

The very world Cup which an unpatriotic Democratic Labour Party wanted to fail and therefore did nothing to support.

In fact, the record will show that the Democratic Labour Party is the only entity and group of persons in Barbados – who were not on-board with the preparation, marketing and promotion or the hosting and execution of the World Cup.

The so-called “squeaky clean” Democratic Labour Party, which said that it will not cheat, steal or lie – is not telling Barbadians that the Team Barbados Concept and marketing a Barbados legacy and a Barbados brand – is captured in the same National Strategic Plan which the DLP refused to debate.

It is therefore laughable that the Democratic Labour Party would want to tell anyone about Unity and in the national interest when it had two Members who were not even speaking to each other.

It was disunity which caused the collapsed of the DLP and led to a successful no-confidence motion that led to its removal from office.

Having said that it was “ready” and that the Democratic Labour Party “hit the ground running,” it is shameful that the Democratic Labour Party now seeks to lecture Barbadians on what is really – superior Owen Arthur policy: The Politics of Inclusion.

43. […] Originally posted here: Logic And Reason Required « Barbados Underground […]

44. Royalrumble,
    I am ashamed of you. Oh dearrrrr!!!!!!!!