Peter Wickham

Political Scientist and the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) Talk Show Host Peter Wickham continues to display emotional outbursts directed at UWI lecturer Dr. Kean Gibson. We find it strange that Peter Wickham a political scientist who earns his daily bread by performing scientific analysis would depart from his training when dealing with the matter of racism in Guyana and the real possibility that these learned behaviours can be imported into Barbados given the significant number of Guyanese on the island, legal and illegal.

Dr.Gibson’s response to Wickham in yesterday’s Nation newspaper shows that she is very capable of defending her work and reputation. We have to disagree with Dr. Gibson when she opines that there are not enough Indo-Guyanese in Barbados to destabilize Barbados. The exact number of Guyanese resident in Barbados has been a mystery which has straddled two administrations. The closest we have gotten to a figure from an official source was when former Minister Maxine McClean who had responsibility for immigration matters exclaimed that the government’s best estimate is placed at twenty five thousand. The uncertainty in the number exposes our flawed immigration framework which has been a legacy of the former government.

Although the current government has promised a shake-up at the Immigration Department, and we accept that there have been changes, the disclosure of the outcome of a sub-cabinet review on immigration policy promised by Prime Minister David Thompson  appears to be long overdue. Wickham is happy to cloud the concerns of many Barbadians by labelling us xenophobic. The issue for BU centres on how learned behaviour moulded in a racially conflicted Guyana could impact on the social landscape of Barbados in years to come given the inflows of large numbers of Guyanese into Barbados.

The recent attack by political analyst Peter Wickham on Dr.Kean Gibson exposes his agenda for all of Barbados to see. The irony for BU remains that the conversation about how learned behaviour moulded in Guyana can impact a stable society which has a majority black host population needs to be escalated to a national level. BU believes that the academic work published by Dr. Gibson titled  The Cycle of Racial Oppression in Guyanaexposes the chasm of racism which the Guyana government, regional media and and general commentators continue to bury their heads in the sand.

It has been voluminously documented the turbulent political history of Guyana. The Jagan era which was pro-Indian and the Burnham era which countered by being pro-Black.  The legacy of the two eras haunt Guyana to this day. The result is an incumbent government led by Jagdeo which seems to have surrendered to its legacy by exporting its people to the world with the expectation that foreign remittances will provide a source of foreign exchange.

Even if Dr. Gibson was thought to have taken a position deemed marginal, biased, ignorant or specious on the subject of racism in Guyana, how can we ignore the independent findings contained in a recent United Nations commissioned report on Minority issues in Guyana? The Guyana government of course challenged the report which was prepared by the UN minority expert Gay McDougall. The report in a nutshell fingers the racial divide in Guyana presided over by President Jagdeo. Bare in mind that Blacks and Indians are the two dominant groups in Guyana and technically can’t be described as minority groups. It makes the McDougall report all the more interesting.

Mr. Wickham you are a political scientist by training, yet you use the radio and TV airwaves to pontificate on a multiplicity of issues. To whom much is given much is expected. In your desire to challenge the researched position of Dr. Gibson, a credited academic, your response should equally be researched. The generous airtime you allocate to Guyana Consul Norman Faria and the silent Ricky Sigh on the racial turbulence unfolding in Guyana continues to puncture your credibility on the matter. What we agree on is the need for there to be a national conversation on this issue. Another example of Fourth Estate failing the PEOPLE.

What is your agenda Mr. Wickham?

229 responses to “What Is Your Agenda Mr. Peter Wickham?”

1. Singapore depends on Malaysia for half its water. Singapore (classified as having a tropical rain forest climate) gets the other half of its water needs from rain water catchment. Now where would this desert island (Barbados) , hundreds of miles from South America get enough water to support even more people and economic activity?

2. BAFBFP, the musIim fundamentaIists cIaimed responsibiIity for both bombings/attempted bombings.

3. “Indian and Black people should work together..” and this has happened where or when?

4. Victor

I have never seen a Bin Laden video… have you?

5. Anon

It will happen here but first we must rid this place of simpletons. The now question is “and this has happened where or when?”

6. If there is one thing that Barbadian Governments know how to waste (other than foreign exchange) IT IS WTAER… Millions and millions of gallons every year with no policy in sight to trap rain water during the wet season…!

7. BAFBFP – Submitted on 2009/04/13 at 7:10am

April 13, 2009 Columnists, Freddie Kissoon wrote:-
    “That influx seems to have irritated PM Thompson. Thompson’s response is that “we are too small.”
    “Barbados is bursting at the seam.”

The truth is about 70% of the population of Barbados lives between Christ Church and St. Michael. Any talk about bursting at the seam is nonsense and engineered to cause panic.

April 13, 2009 Columnists, Freddie Kissoon wrote:-
    ” Arthur, who did nothing to make him lose, did lose”

Arthur lost because he and his gang were spending as if money was going out of style. They were also living high off the hog. If more Guyanese could have voted they probably would have voted against the BLP for the same reason. Three terms is enough… tah much!

Singapore has a population of well over four million and are only slightly bigger than Barbados. They are one of the most developed countries in the world and they have no natural resources other than people. Hmmm.

Black people..!

You should read up on the Singapore model. One thing you will find if you do is the physical planning which is present be it in the planning of the transportation system, housing, industrial estates, healthcare etc. This is why they can cater to large numbers to support the GDP output they currently enjoy. Last time we checked Barbados had a little way to go. Not knocking our development to date mind you!

8. @ David

Maxine McLean’s very public sentiment one year before she became a big up Minister and Senator is that the way forward is recognising that managed migration is necessary and unavoidable and that more resources should be targeted at capacity planning and building.

My take is that rather than stop people from coming you should recognise that they will come and do what is necessary to accommodate them now and in the future. A population of a quarter million is a joke in the global scheme of things. To think that we spend 200 mil on a stadium that will only be used once a year.

9. BAFPFP My point being that those who strap bombs to themseIves, bIow up girIs schooIs and jaiI women for being raped are scarier than economic immigrants. But you must admit, uncontroIIed waves of immigrants of another cuIture who stick together, dont bother to Iearn the Ianguage and in a mainIy Christian society cIaim that Christmas decorations are offensive to them, for instance, can be just as destructive to the society they settIe in, especiaIIy when they demand sharia Iaw in their new country!

10. Victor

And my point is that this so-called war on Terror is all about deception. You the innocent public and consumers of Western media hype cannot claim to really know or what is doing these things that are portrayed.

And planning for immigrants must of necessity include a clause in the acceptance of these new Barbadians that the law of the land is paramount and not substituted. You will be asked to pledge allegiance as is the custom in bigger countries (though I think this a cosmetic waste of time).

Now here is “my” bias. I like looking and women so I have a problem with all this cover up thing.

11. Freddie kissoon’s article gives a lot of food for thought and has me thinking.

Here we are in Bim struggling to earn foreign exchange and yet we have a parasite next door in basdeo jagdeo as fast as we earn a U.S. $ his thiefs and prostitutes and low life dregs just waiting to grab it up and export it to guyana.

According to freddie kisson this guyanese problem is especially severe in Antigua,Trinidad and barbados.

Now tell me again what contribution they are making; forging I.D. cards and passports,overcrowding the schools and polyclinics,undecutting bajan workers for their jobs,breaking up bajan families ,squatting and posoining our water system and on and on.

No one wants these guyanese pests,now why would that be?

12. There’s this idea prevaiIing that there’s mysterious foes working against us but that’s not the case. PeopIe on the ground can see what’s happening for them own seIves. So stop the rot, get into poIitics, Iay down the ruIes and get counted. Every Barbadian needs to Iook at the big picture, get invoIve and put their foot down before there is a major riot.

13. BAFBFP
    April 13th @ 7/10a.m
    You stated that 70% of the population in Barbados live between Ch.Ch and St.Michael. Are you implying that there is lots of open spaces in Barbados, uninhabited? Please come a show Min Lashley because he is searching all over this country looking for any vacant land that he can construct houses on. For your information and since you obviously don’t live here, there is little vacant land in Barbados and the Government is now considering building highrise houses to satisfy the need for housing . Please don’t talk about things you know nothing about.

14. Only today, I was in the company of some ordinary/ average bajans and they are very worried about the immediate future of Barbados. Two of them small business men, and the are lamenting that their businesses are showing signs of big slowdown. Also, some of the big establishments they work for are reluctant in paying on time as they did before. This is putting their business in a cashflow problem. Things are getting rough in Barbados and people are feting as though there is no tomorrow. When reality hit bajans, they are going to retaliateand this is what scares me.

15. Victor,I don’t think BAFBFP will ever get the point.This conversation will get nowhere since everyone has their own ardent position on the matter no matter the idea to support your argument,but I completely agree with you.We cannot continue to support a massive population that could disrupt our world standing & the very idea that some would even like to create laws to welcome those who choose to disrupt our peaceful island is deplorable & in some cases I dare say anti-Bajan.

16. The additional point MUST be made that the the social services of Barbados i.e.roads, healthcare, housing, security, education etc are at capacity. This has been admited by people from all sides of the issue. To those who preach about Barbados building out its carry capacity to support inflow, how realistic is that approach?

17. If there is an apparent shortage of land it is because of two basic things.

1 White people like COW who have bought up so much and are leaving it to “ripen”
    and

2. The Government who will have you believe that there is a shortage whether than just do the sensible thing and build high rise accommodation rather than be the cowards that politicians are in finding straw man excuses to avoid political fall out. A right to own a piece of the rock my ass.

Scout, know that responding to Christians no matter the topic is not something that I do with any amount of pride.

Jay,
    Obviously there then is no point to be had..!

Victor
    Get the Governance thing and infrastructural thing right or at least recognise that this is where the problem is with a view to correcting them before you start to rant and rave like Negroman or is it N*ggerman.

18. Jay, thanks for your support but I think we are aII on the same side here BAFBP and us are basicaIIy in agreement. Never mind the war on terror etc. just Iets Iook at our own personaI histories as an isIand and work out a way to protect ourseIves from being dominated by white tourism as the singIe way forward to earn money and figure out a pIan to monitor and controI cheap Iabour and stop seIIing Iand.

19. I don’t appreciate you calling our Guyanese people low life dregs, lots of great and wonderful Guyanese have contributed to the progress, stability and well being of Barbados, and I could name many of these wonderful people, but will refrain.

Please don’t blame President Jagdeo for your problems, President Jagdeo inherited big problems. People have been leaving Guyana in droves since the 50’s. People can leave Guyana, we don’t stop people from leaving, and we cannot control the behaviour of Guyanese in other countries, hoepfully your policemen are capable of this task.

Let me tell you something, I am a big President Jagdeo fan, and I am not an Indian, President Jagdeo in his few years is tranforming Guyana for the betterment of all Guyanese, I would not go into details, he has his critics, but when all is said and done he alone has brought this country to where it should have been years ago, now his detractors say all sorts of things, but let us see if they could have brought us debt relief. When President Jagdeo came to power we had a 2 billion US dollar debt, President Jagdeo inherited that from President Burnham. President Burnham ran up a debt that was the highest per capita in the world, but it was President Jagdeo that has brought it down considerably.

You can say what you like, but a country servicing a 2 million US dollar debt does not have much money left for development, we have had to de-value our dollar thus to service our debt, so you see not much left for nicities, that is why the Guyanese left for opportunities abroad. This is not President Jagdeo’s fault. And in closing let me tell you Preisdent Jagdeo is not a racist or a bad person, he is a good man, now there might be discrimination in the civil service, but don’t blame President Jagdeo, but if there is discrinmation it should be brought to President Jagdeo or Dr. Luncheon’s attention.

Another thing, bear in mind, Miss Gay McDougal does not know Guyanese society, Guyanese are very sensitive, and the least action will be taken as racism.

20. BAFBFP writes that Blacks and Indians will work together “..here but first we must rid this place of simpletons”. I shall miss him although I am not sure that will bring this great togetherness that he implicitly acknowledges has NOT happened anywhere in the world yet.

Anyway PM Thompson has gone on record that B’dos cannot take much more people. BAFBFP needs to make his case with Thompson before leaving.

21. Anonymous
    Yep I be simple but you spotted it quick enough. Maybe you be one too. Get over ya’self, bigot. And maybe PM thompson is speakint through the side of his mouth as most politicians do, from time to time.

22. BAFBFP

even Hopi try to get it thru that thick skull of yours that this love up and feel all right ain’t happening between Blacks and Indians. Them Indians know about buffaloes though. The Whites doing the dog bout here and you sending for the Indian cavalry! Next thing you are going to tell me about Jesus.

23. BAFBFP wrote at 8:31 p.m. on April 12th “A population as small as our local White population should have been bred out of existence by now but the fact that it hasn’t suggests a huge amount of snobbery on the part of Whites.”

Not to take up for the white Bajans nor anything so. But unless you are suggesting rape, the only way for a population to be “bred out of existence” is through consensual sexual intercourse. Has it occurred to you that perhaps black Bajans are not interested in having sexual intercourse with white Bajans?

24. victor wrote on april 13th at 2;57 a.m. “If you want to worry, worry about sharia Iaw many musIim cIerics wouId dearIy Iove to impose aII over the worId.”

I wouldn’t worry too much about that. The British tried for more that 300 years to impose Christianity on Barbados and Barbados is still not a Christian society. People go to church on Sundays (or Saturdays) and pay no attention at all to Christian teaching during the rest of the week.

25. BAFBFP wrote on April 13th at 11:16 a.m. “but first we must rid this place of simpletons. ”

How do you propose to rid a place of simpletons?

And after you have “got rid of the simpletons” who is next in line to be got rid of?

And who makes the decision as to who is, or is not, a simpleton?

And what happens when the deciders are wrong?

Just a few questions from this simpleton.

Tek ya time to answer.

26. Alright, alright. If you don’t agree with me you’re simple, simple as hell. And maybe we should be getting rid of people whose name begins with J.

“In these tiny theatres of conflict and confusion
    Better known as the isles of the West Indies
    We already know who brought us here
    And who created this confusion
    So I’m begging, begging my people please!”
    David Rudder

No one could have said it better.

Truth is I am as guilty of bigotry as the rest of you, but my disgust is targeted at Whites, Bajan Whites in particular, for every conceivable reason. I live here and I do not like what I see with regards to them. How could you people be so tolerant of these people and yet be so hostile towards another disadvantaged class who are seeking a fresh start?

I get the point that Indians and Afros/Indonesians have seldom shown an ability to work together. Indians in the main believe that Afros are lazy and Afros in the main believe that Indos are clannish and conniving.

You know what, dey got a whole lot ah lazy ass Black people out dey so the Indians got a bit of a point.

And dey gotta whole bunch of Indians who believe that the fairer the skin the better and who I wouldn’t trust with a tray of ice so the Blacks gotta bit of a point too.

But dey got lazy ass Indians too and tiefing untrustworthy Black people too.

So here is the thing

Understand that this land was here long before any of us so called Bajans were forced to live here. And a quarter million people as a market to develop serious industrial effort is a farcical figure. The people that thrive in miniscule markets (the medics, merchants, lawyers, bankers, insurance, construction and a few other advertising related entities) would very much like things to remain the way there are. If it ain’t broke.

My belief is that the size of the population determines the level of complexity in industrial development that that population could achieve. As long as there is water between the countries of the Caribbean there will be no true single market and economy, and we will continue to serve tourists and sell land to earn real money (not BDS or EC or TnT) for a long time to come. So I want Barbados to have a big ass population so that real industrial development can take place. If the mistrust between the races is recognised, proper public education on the subject would start the ball rolling to help bridge any gaps before they get to wide. But the issue of redesigning our form of governance is paramount in ensuring that no one group disadvantages the other from a governmental stand point. Then there is capacity building which includes efforts at conservation of those resources which we now so readily waste. All of this takes planning and effort. But no, it is so much easier to spew contempt at newcomers with out trying to understand the issues and working at ways to solve the known potential problems.

Human beings solve or try to solve problems, nincompoops, sorry simpletons merely hate.

27. BAFBFP

nah yah got it wrong! Simpletons think that they alone got the truth and if only the rest of us would see it their way then all will be well! At least you pass your simpleton test by merely hating whites!

Yuh quoting Rudder? Wuhlossie yuh real bouge doh! Where dis super West Indian living ?…up in Canada, rallying round the West Indies!

28. Guyanese are not the only people that seek opportunties overseas. Look at Suriname, there are 400,000 Surinamers in Holland, look at Jamaica, nice Jamaica with only black people living there and close to a 800,000 of them in the US and Canada, nice black Jamaica exporting people. Look at the Domincan Republic all black people there and yet they are close to a 1million of them in the US and Canada. In fact 44,000 of your people live in the USA, ah wonder WHY.

29. Haiti ain’t got a “big ass population”? Dey big in boat and raft building so I suppose that is “real industrial development”!

30. Haiti has two insurmountabke problems.

The United States of America and a so-called democratic process that facilitates the instalmant of lackey Governments. (Rediculous reparations to France are no longer part of the mix).

31. I am being moderated!!! Says something. Bring it on.

32. BAFBFP wrote at 8:31 p.m. on April 12th “A population as small as our local White population should have been bred out of existence by now”

In the absence of consensual sexual intercourse are you suggesting that white Bajan men rape black Bajan women? or are you suggesting that black Bajan men rape white Bajan women?

Maybe you are too young to know or remember, but women do not always take rape lying down.

I don’t know if you recall the woman who was raped by her stepfather and then by her first husband. When her second husband tried that sh*te she let him have a rammer in the head. When she was finished with that b*st*rd the undertaker put “pancake-head” in his coffin and sent him to Westbury.

Don’t start thinking that you are no Janjaweed.

If you try to encourage Bajan men in that sh*te not a single Bajan man will be able to sleep quietly in his bed.

Bajan women black and white tired of male arrogance and foolishness. We baiting for you.

33. In case you don’t know what a rammer is I’d be happy to do a show and tell with you. My father (God Bless him) worked in construction and left me one.

34. Actually J

I was thinking that the White Bajan women should rape the Black Bajan men. Don’t get me wrong..

35. Ya lie.

Ya wasn’t thinking at all.

Next time think the thing through before you write foolishness.

36. J You picky human being. Rape is serious business but the wiiiiiiiiider issue is that had their not been racial prejudice in Bim instigated by Whites, the natural order of busines, the law of percentages, the nornal course of affairs between the sexes would have made mixed breeds of the group of them after three hundred years, much of it as an “inbred” population.

And yeah, I would like to see your rammer. I will be more than glad to introduce you *my* rammer.

(This Chris Halsal thing rubbin’ off)

37. there

38. This is why blogs turn some people off.

Everytime you have a blog started to discuss serious issues,people run from one blog to the next and completely dominate the blog with garbage.

While freedom of expression allows some latitude,you really have to wonder about person’s state of mind who think that they must post 5 and 6 posts in one go ,just in case you did not get their point the first time.

Invariably all this does is drive off those persons who find this behaviour bothersome.

Ah well.

39. Negroman // April 12, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Peter Wickham you have said nothing as usual.I think you are shallow.Critique the UN report with your usual expertise.
    ————————————————–

Peter Wickham is a lot of things. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wACPASjT_C0 to a lot of people. One thing that is certain is that he is engaged in social engineering, but he is only a poll-taker;….why people continue to answer qestions from his cadres field people is beyond me. He has not had much success with his attempted social reconstruction, and this is probably why he resorts to “cussing” , “attempting to belittle others, and gets “emotional” when people don’t buy into what he is selling. He continues to hide behind the flimsy excuse he gives for the inconsistencies of the two article I have previously mention.
    We are not interested in what CAUSED the racial divide in Guyana and neither does Caricom leaders. WE ARE CONCERNED ABOUT THE RESULTS OF THE RACIAL DIVIDE IN GUYANA, AND THE GUYANESE WHO ARE PRACTICING IT. You cannot point out that you are Guyanese without reference to the daily practices of the Guyanese citizenry .The racism, and ethinic divisions in it’s many forms are a fact of life in todays Guyana.
    I will ask again, is it now to be accepted that a people will put away their practices, their norms, their steriotypes etc, simply on migrating to another country/society?????

40. Adrian

Thank you for lighting a candle in the midst of the darkness of minds like peter wickham.

I agree with your above sentiment.

41. Peter Wickham said:
    —————————
    I think that by now the BU family should realize that I am driven by a personal philosophy that rejects discrimination in every single manifestation

Peter Wickham went on to say the following:
    ——————————–

Hence you will find a similar perspective emerging from my “pen”, regardless of whether the issue is that of discrimination against INDO GUYANESE, ACADEMIC UNDERCHIEVERS, HOMOSEXUAL, or the ECONOMICALLY DISADVANTAGE.

Peter Wickham further stated:
    —————————–
    I have always been inspired by a well-known poem by Martin Niemöller entitled “First They Came…” Niemöller was a German Pastor and Intellectual who criticized German intellectuals for their silence during Hitler’s reign. He said:
    “When the Nazis came for the communists, I remained silent; I was not a communist. Then they locked up the social democrats, I remained silent; I was not a social democrat. Then they came for the trade unionists, I did not speak out; I was not a trade unionist. Then they came for the Jews, I did not speak out; I was not a Jew. WHEN THEY CAME FOR ME, there was no one left to speak out for ME”…

===========================

Adrian Hinds said:
    I gathered that he views Barbados immigration laws as discriminatory towards Indo Guyanese. Indeed, I have heard him to say that he rejects all borders and barriers to free movement wherever they may exist. This has ended the conversation for me with Peter on the subject. Nevertheless, I want to go a little further because I do not think Peter is genuine in his anti Discrimination campaign, for as he says it he is driven by a PERSONAL philosophy. The right or wrong of it apparently is subordinated to his PERSONAL philosophy. Therefore, what is this Personal philosophy? He gave four categories of persons to illustrate the depth and scope of his anti discrimination position. I will assume that his Personal philosophy has a Barbadian context to it in this regard. Indeed, it must be so, because he clearly thinks Barbadians to be Homophobes and xenophobes, and these labels speaks to behavior directed at two of the categories of persons he feels compel to defend. Thinking of the four categories of persons he mentioned, his personal philosophy, the society in which he seeks to defends these groups, the society of xenophobes and homophobes from which these groups need to shielded and being inspired by Martin Niemöller poem “First They came. “WHEN THEY COME FOR HIM, which one might he be. Peter?

42. Anonymous
    You people don’t seem to understand Wickham, is just trying to safeguard his job as a regionist. He wants it to appear that he is supporting their cause if he gets work out of Guyana. If you board a flight at Cheddi Jagan Airport as a black man your clour don’t change when you arrive at GAIA. Also when you board that same flight with a dislike for blacks, you can’t arrive here and tell me we blacks are the best people in the world. The hatred is already engrained in you from a baby and it can’t change on a one hour flight into Barbados. I experience blatant discrimination almost every day from these indo-guyanese.

43. The illegal immigration problem I believe is being effectively dealt with in a systematic way by this government.I visited Oistins over the Easter weekend and was generally pleased with
    the make up of the crowd.I saw very few Indo-Guyanese and the crowd was nearly 100 % Black and that pleased me a lot.I am beginning to see less and less Indo-Guyanese and I know a clamp down is in effect and we are beginning to see the results.I know we still have a sizeable amount of Indo-Guyanese in Barbados but I believe that small group could be control until we get them out of Barbados..Praise should be given when it is due and some praise must be given to this government in its effort to control the illegal immigration problem with special emphasis on the Indo-Guyanese.
    Peter Wickham
    Your argument has been ripped to shreds by many of the bloggers on this site.Your argument was weak and you knew it that is why you cannot come back and defend it.I am happy to hear that you finally concede that Indo-Guyanese are racist and that racism could be and will be exported to countries those Indo-Guyanese decide to live.

In Guyana the Minister responsible for Home Affairs Clement Rohee cannot get an American Visa and neither the Commissioner of Police Henry Greene.Those 2 individuals were denied Visas because of those 2 person involvement in human rights abuses against Black-Guyanese.That says a lot about the type of society Guyana is today.Do we want that type of society in Barbados?

If we do not want Barbados to be destroy we must limit the number of Indo-Guyanese wanting to live in Barbados

44. Yes,the Barbados Immigration Department is definitely being given the necessary tools to effectively identify who is in the country illegally.This is mainly through the Government’s E-government initiative to modernize the Department’s system as well as the training given to the Department by the US embassy concerning immigration tactics.

45. Jay, It may be true that the Immigration Department is getting stricter with this matter, but it is directed to all people from Guyana and elsewhere. A few nights ago they turned away 12 persons from GT, the racial mix was about 50/50 Indian and African Guyanese…. and it seems that this is an ongoing process.

Negroman, do not be fooled by the absence of Indians at Oistins. That is a “blackman” event, which even the Indians who have lived here for decades, and born here will not attend – however they will sell their goods there.

Indians keep a low profile, so do not be fooled. They save their money while we spend ours on partying and in their shops. They hardly ever go to events that are not culturally Indian. This is so in Barbados as well as Guyana,

Remember that the focus of the Indian is economic and that politics is only uses to speedup the economic control. If it cannot be done through the ballot box, then it is done through bribes and “special gifts”. The same can be said of most of the local Whites and half-whites who control commerce in Barbados along with the Indians.

As for Peter Wickham. He is actually a very intelligent and learned man. However – As Scout says. he has to protect his image as a “Regionalist”. He is a pollster and Guyana has elections in two years.

46. Look,let’s just speak some home truths here.

Peter wickham is not really too interested in defending disabled,women,indians or any other minorities.

Peter is mainly interested in defending homosexuality.
    However the homosexual activists understand that there is no majority support for treating homosexuality on equal footing as heterosexuality.

The prop 8 legislation which banned same sex marriage was passed by the people of california – yes California – that mecca of the homosexual lifestyle ie San Fransisco etc.

So the gays have tried to tag their issue along with the issue of discrimination by blacks in america.

Wickham is doing the same thing now he is seeking to hide under the cover of discrimination against all to hide the fact that he wants the homosexual’s lifestyle to be seen as ‘normal’ – which it is not.

All citizens who do not agree with the homosexual lifestyle need to start speaking up publicly now because the homosexual agenda is getting bolder and bolder because of mia mottley’s push while she was in office.

Notice in this week end newspaper a big ad about gay christians in barbados.

Bajans speak up,yuh hear or forever hold your peace!

47. What does Guyanese behavioural patterns in another country have to do with homosexuality? Why not focus at the topic at hand.

Adrian, to answer your question about behaviour change in the new homeland. Closeness to Guyana is very important to the overseas Guyanese, first and foremost, and many overseas wish thier children to maintian ties with the Guyanese culture through food, music, and customs, you hear them saying is the Guyanese custom/tradition to give a piece of gold jewelery when a baby is born and so on, just an example, so if Guyanese harbour ill feelings towards certain races in Guyana, then that will be taken with them where ever they go.

Remember now Barbados is geograpically close to Guyana, and this makes it easy for the constant flow of people to Barbados from Guyana, and this aspect maintians the ties and re-enforces the Guyanese cultural norms in Barbados. Look at the Guyanese community in the US in Queens, Richmond Hill, Holllis, very close ties amongst that community with Guyana, that a major US airline operates a route between New York and Georgetown to facilitate travel for the Guyanese between the two cities. It will take generations to change attitudes. I hope I have answered the question.

48. Sister baby

We ignoring you,yuh can’t see?

49. Yes Ah seeing, but knowing me and my indominable Guyanese spirit I still writing and having fun. I guess it is safe for me to say I am suffering discrimination on the Bajan blogs, ah hope Dr. Kean seeing this.

50. What good is the blog without a Guyanese ranting and raving, you need me up in here, and David know that.