Submitted as a comment by BU family member Wayne from London
Rihanna and Chris Brown frolicking in Barbados in the recent past
Rihanna and Chris Brown frolicking in Barbados waters in the recent past before their reported incident

Rihanna’s catapulted rise to ‘superstardom’ has been kaleidoscopic.ย  Just on the cusp of her secondary school career, she was ‘released’ to enter and to pitch her wagon into the world of the fame,and, almost overnight, she became an internationally-recognized celebrity.

Inclined towards being conservative, I wasย  concerned about her vulnerability, noting the general teenaged tendency to be unfocused and gullible. Admittedly, Rihanna does have talent (no denying that!).ย  She is beautiful, her performances are energetic and fun.

But what has been revealed lately in Rihanna’s personal life/w. Chris is a young lady who still is in crying need of guidance.ย  Her parents seem to be at a ‘lost’ as to how to help her and it appears that they have failed to impart to her the Godly wisdom and example she so desperately needs.

Could you pray for Rihanna?

113 responses to “Rihanna The Star, Rihanna The Vulnerable, Rihanna The Gullible?”

1. Don’t forget the Mike Tyson literally chased Oprah out of his mansion.

2. Where the hell is Ri Ri’s mother in all of this…..and what does she have to say……

3. Anonymous,
    ya got ma crying. You so right ’bout all dese shite-hongs blabbering all over de place. Makes ya wanna pukeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Sapadillo,
    You is mek some real good points hear? I in luv wid you (if ya is a man, dat is). Ya too sweet man.

4. 199
    my only problem wid OJ is dat he seemed to be attracted to white women only. I feel sorry fa he now still. Dah is wah ya get fa playin’ outta ya league.

5. Pure bajan
    Ms.Fenty is right where she should be. Out of the public domain unlike de clown she got fa a father. As soon as he see a camera and a mike, he is set into motion. stupseeeeeeeeeee. All de talk ’bout Chris’ mother advising Rihanna is all a rumour. Everyone is just assuming. blah, blah,blah.

6. Bonny, I quite agree with you about OJ. However, in view of what happened to his wife, I would n’t want a black woman to have anything to do with him, either!!

7. 199
    Cuh dear, OJ was found ‘not guilty’. Um is a good ting dat you din’ part a de jury. Guilty, guilty, guilty, on all 10 counts of murder. Tsk, tsk, tsk. Uh uh.
    By de by, me and Rihanna’s uncle, sexy Lester, exchanged greetings only yesterday but we didn’t mention your ‘baby’. To me, it would’ve been presumptious to bring it up, so we just hug-up, feel-up and squeeze-up and went our separate ways.
    Ya devil.

8. Hi Bonny, funnily enough, I was thinking of you, Rihanna and your family connections, just a few mins. ago, and why? ‘Cause I had every intention of coming hay and boasting how I’ve just been watching half an hour of Rihanna videos on some satellite channel, one after the other, and the girl is sweet, sweet, sweet!! At least her singing and dancing is!!

Anyhow, you beat me to it so love to you, Rihanna, her uncles and everybody else!! Cheers from sunny England!! Spring offically, started yesterday!!

Hooray!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9. Bonny, re: OJ! I in waising my time wid he boa!! De court reach it’s decision and dat’s enough fuh me!!

Mind you, he did lose the civil case, did n’t he!!

America!! I caan onstan dem systems at all!!

10. 199
    You like you ‘fussy’ dat Spring start. Why ya doan come back home and got Spring and Summa all year ’round.
    You doan miss B/dos?

Yes, Rihanna is a real cutey too.

11. Bonny, to tell u the truth, I can’t tek de heat too much nuh mo!! Grew up here and have the cold in muh bones – but will come for another holiday!!

Cheers!!

12. 199

It is amazing dat you grew up in Hingland but still have a good knowlege of de good ol bajan dialect. Dah is why a luv ya sa good. ya tricksta.

Ya want ‘tawin’ out. (teehee)

13. Hi Bonny, I’m a bit surprised that I remember the lingo so well myself. It seems that what you learnt as a baby and in the first few years of your life, really gets imbeded deep in your brain, so I can’t really forget it plus my parents here must have spoken it quite a bit!!

As for “thawing-out”! I can’t disagree with you. Spring and autmn are my favourite seasons of the year – neither too hot nor too cold!! In fact, I seem to cope with the cold weather better than the hot!

I remember walking to and from primary school, as a youngster, in the searing-hot, Bajan sun and not worrying too much about it! Could n’t do that now though. The cold, British winters of my youth got rid of any resistance I had to the sun!! Now, I can take the cold but not the sun. Antime the very hot sun catches me outdoors, I’ve got to run for cover!!

Anyhow, I still love the spring and summer, cause dat’s when d girls ‘doan wear nuh clothes’, or hardly any!!

Laaaaaaaaaddddddddd!!

I can still appreciate a beautiful woman!! ๐Ÿ™‚

14. 199
    ‘doan wear nah clothes’
    Lord Jesus, help me wid dis ‘thorough-fare’. You ‘n easy a’ tall boy.
    Ya wicked.

15. Have a cool Bajan day, Bonny!! An tell dat girl uh yours to mek up she mine an start singing again!! I’m getting impatient for all dis foolishness with Brown to end!!

16. Dave, could YOU have a word with Rihanna and talk some sense into er?!!

Lord!! ๐Ÿ™‚

17. 199
    Rumors out of USA are that Rihanna seems to have taken the advice of many friends, fans and wellwishers including Oprah and Tyra and has parted company with that thug Chris. She have been seen going around with Valderama quite a bit recently. An insider reports that they seem madly in love. The young ladies hormones seems to be raging and she must have a man to cool her down. If this is true about her new realtionship, I wish her well.

18. Rumors out of USA are that Rihanna seems to have taken the advice of many friends, fans and wellwishers including Oprah and Tyra and has parted company with that thug Chris. She have been seen going around with Valderama quite a bit recently. An insider reports that they seem madly in love.
    ————————————————
    And this is the person you people want as a role model for your daughters? What a wonderful example, hop from man to man and fall in love as easily as possible!

I know that seems to be the American way but good gosh if she was beaten as badly as they are saying by one man why would she want another so soon!
    Whatever happen to a cooling off period, take time for yourself to evaluate where you went wrong and what you want from/in a relationship.

Scout I agree with you! They need to relieve her of that ambassador title

19. Scout, let’s all say “thank god” to that wonderful, news!! The boy is a potential, criminal!! I jes wish we could get our hands pun e!! Yuh would see ‘pop-star’ -more like stars in he head!!

The young ladies hormones seems to be raging and she must have a man to cool her down.

Lord!!! Scout! Yuh bad!! I never expected such from a minister of d church but, yuh right!!

Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!!

I doan know who dis Valderama is but he’d better treat our girl properly, or, ‘take to the hills’!! In other words!! ****-off!!

‘M’! U mine u business!! My darling’s hormones are her affair, not yours!!

Lord!!

Thanks for the news, Scout. Jes longing for my girl to open those tonsils and sing, again!! Nothing’s, audibly, so sweet!!

20. Where singing’s concerned, she’s sheer magic!! Sent from heaven to bedevil me!!

21. CNN reports of the dozen artistes on Obama’s music playlist for Air Force One our Rihanna is one of chosen few. Damm does this young girl know how big she is?

The O man’s kids and wife like most Americans most likely dont know where Barbados located. Rihanna is wrongheaded in her dealings with thug Brown but she’s gone where no other Baje has ever gone. You got to clap fuh dat.

22. At least Obama’s made one right decision if he never makes another one during this or any other administration!

Rihanna knows how big she is, sadly, it’s most Barbadians who don’t appear to know!!

Please don’t stop the music Ri, or, anybody else!! Only a few of u will see the connection in that last sentence to one of her songs!!

Lord!!

23. Ri Ri I still love you………you will get through it baby girl

24. I hope Ri Ri aint using this Valderama to get back at Chris ya know……..just take things slow baby girl…….

25. 199 I keeping my hormones in check, yuh hear lol

26. M
    Doan mind 199, I agree wid you. Too fast, too soon, too quick. Cool it girl. It doan look good a’ tall. Only last week she was head over heals in luv wid Chris and in just a matter of hours she’s madly in love wid who? Valderama? Who is he now? Another punk? She seems to be attracted to bare punks anyway.

199, ya gallas-bait. (smooch)

27. Bonny, de girl young!! Wha mo u expeck!!

Lord!!

and, ‘M’, dat’s right!! u continue to control those hormones, girl!!

Lord a mercy!!

28. 199
    Being ‘young’ is no excuse for this promiscuous behaviour. Lord, man. I know she got ta date but christ man, not sa fast. It doan look good and you kno’ um. And if she must ‘date’ be a bit more inconspicuous man. Oh Christ. Were she my daughta, dat is de advice I would give her. Yes, you can date but keep out of the lime-light. The world’s zoom lens are on ya child. Tek um easy.

199, ya instigata. ‘A bright sunny fresh mawnin ta ya good self from here in Bim’.
    Ya sweet thang.

29. I know what u mean Bonny, but, maybe she’s like me when I was her age!! I could n’t go without it either!! Maybe girls’ hormones are the same as boys’!!

Lor!!

Bonny, tuh tell yuh de truth, once my darling holds back she head and opens those beautiful lungs of hers, an tonsils, and sings, I prepared to lef de res tuh she, boa!!

I caan bodda tuh worry my pretty little head wid she any mo!! Jes sing, my sweetheart!! That’s all I’m asking!! Tuh jes sing!!

Laaaaaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!!!

Weather grey, drissly and blustery here in London Bonny, but u have a good one in Bim!! alias, paradise?!!

30. 199
    Like I said befoe, ‘doan kno’ why I love you but I do.

Ya wicked.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bonny
    Tell me. How many mens yu want woman? Eh?

32. Thanks Bonny!! U too, babe!!

33. Dr. Porgie
    Depends on the mood I’m in, Huny-suckle.
    You’re Numero uno, fa sure.Regardless.
    (dah fa lick ya, JC.)

34. Bonny like she doing a Rhiana! lol

35. GP don’t have to worry I am not as ‘flighty’ as Bonny I am a one woman man. (lol)

And I thought Bonny was my friend….

36. M wrote “What a wonderful example, hop from man to man and fall in love as easily as possible! I know that seems to be the American way”

It is not the American way. It is the way of youth.

Go to the Archives one of these days and check the birth certificates, or look around in your own family and see the children born less than 2 years apart from different relationships.

It has always been so. Nothing new about this, nothing particularly American either.

37. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

She isnt vulnerable,she`s got protection;
    look here:
    http://justjared.buzznet.com/2009/03/25/rihanna-new-gun-tatoos-bang-bang/

38. If only she could stop de foolishness and jes sing!! If only!!

39. Does anybody understand what’s occuring in my darling’s mind, where the gun-tatoos are concerned?? ’cause I certainly, don’t!!

40. here am I dis morning can’t get the tune of one of the ‘little blighter’s’ songs out of my head – ‘It’s Over Now’ – and all the little darling can do is foolishness, foolishness, foolishness!!

want to drop on my knees and jes beg de little baby, “Ri, babe, fuhget all d foolishness and SING!! jes SING!! dah is all, jes SING”!!

Steupse!!

41. 199: I feel sorry for you but it seems like you will have to get Bonny or J to sing for you cause your darling focus is elsewhere right now.

42. M, ur right my dear – I feel sorry for myself!! Was listening to some other divinely, beautiful black music earlier but still miss my babe!!

There’s none other quite like her!!

43. 199
    Since you are so obsess with Rihanna, why not knock some sense in the girl’s head? The latest report is that she wants Chris to apologise to her on Oprah show. Chris refused at first but then said he would have to consult his mother. Did he consult his mother when he was beating her? It is also said that he might only do it as a means of getting his career back on track. Note he NEVER said anything about his feelings for the girl but only to use her for his benefit. Please 199, see if you can convince her to stop disgracing barbadian young lady. Bajans are a proud people and MUST be protrayed that way. Miss Youth Ambassador you represent BARBADIAN young people, ladies in particular, PLEASE do that with PRIDE, hold your head you with dignity, all is not lost, this is your chance to shine.

44. Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!! Scout!! U expeck me to understan d young people?!!

Lord a mercy!! Bro, I doan onstan she nuh mo dan u do!! All I want d young lady to do now, is jes sing!! Dat’s all!! I’ve given up trying to comprehend anything else!!

Apologise on the Oprah show!! Well, that’s certainly a novel one – wonder who thought of it!!

Bro, I entertain myself in d meantime wiv listening to some other delicious black music!! I gun jes wait her patiently fuh she to mek up her mind and decide what she wants to do!! Meanwhile, I’m still of the opinion that, there’s no performer/singer I’d rather see/hear, today!! Nobody else does it quite like my girl!! Scout, I’d talk to her if I could but instead I might jes fall down in front of her and worship she!! That’s how much I worship that girl!! I jes want she to hit the music, again!! All this nonsense is getting on my nerves, now!!

Come on, Rihanna!! Just hit the music, babe!!

45. I could really jes sleep now till she start singing again, and, when she does, pleease wake me, immediately!!

I doan want to miss a thing!!

Lord!!

46. Scout, I missed Henrix (next to god according to most people, including me) but thank god I’ve been able to see Rihanna. Same field (one step down from god) – differnt subjects, that’s all!! Hendrix, as you know, is the greatest person even to look at a guitar, never mind play it!! In fact, it started playing automatically, once it saw him coming!! They did n’t call him god, for nothing!!

47. Scout, and to think he was abandoned, by his mother, a drug addict, who soon died, as a baby!! Just makes u think, does n’t it!!

48. We can all relax!! My darling’s going to be absolutely, fine! Does n’t she look fantastic!! If I were young again, I’d say, “Rihanna baby, you’ve got to be mine”!! And, she’d agree!!

Laaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!!

Jes wait till she hits that microphone!! Just wish I could be there!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/usa/article2353468.ece

49. Rihanna is young, in love with love and appears to be “own way”. Can you imagine anyone – her parents and elders – tell big earning, big spending, adored, “almost white”, pretty eyed, half-naked Rihanna what to do. Probably they were unable to do so prior to her abuse by Chris Brown, which means she will absolutely not take any advice now. She is NOT used to doing that. Chris is an American; he has surrounded himself with his people and she has cut herself off from hers. They – not just Chris – will hurt her again. They do not have Rihanna’s best interests at heart , they have Chris’, their relative’s, best interest at heart. As for Judge Judy – I watched her briefly and have ALWAYS thought she was a racist/ biased person. I have seen few judgments made by her which appeared to be based purely on any law and fairness. She appears to make decisions based on how she is feeling that day. She does not listen. You and I could make those same snap judgments. I think she is a crazy, nasty old woman who uses the law as an excuse to practice her biases, so I am not surprised at her statements about Rhianna. They sound just like the ones the teeny-boppers made about Rihanna. In all fairness, Rihanna is behaving JUST like an abused woman. I know she must hurt terribly – where domestic violence is usually generally hidden, hers is all over the world media. The shame and embarrassment that attends the abuse of the poor is no different to that of the wealthy, except hers is compounded by the fact that it is also public.
    No-one can determine what God will and will not do. We all need to pray for the safe release of this girl from the clutches of Chris, his family & his entourage. Rihanna has a lot of growing up to do. This cannot be easy for her. However, I do agree, she is nobody’s ambassador. I never understood how she was made one. So many poor people in Barbados worked SO hard, so many kids did well without knowing how to sing a single note and yet she was able to come and on the strength of one or 2 songs – get highly valued land and a title. How unfair life is. Anyhow – I wish her well and hope she will soon be able to step back and get away from this destruction in her life. Soon enough, if Chris has done this before, he will not be able to hold his temper in check and those same fists will land him in jail where he cannot be protected by the songs he sings.

50. @199. He receive your messages. Laaaawwddd!

Chris Brown receives death threats
    The 19-year-old singer accused of beating his ex-girlfriend earlier this month has been left fearing for his life, after receiving a series of menacing messages following the publication of a photo of a battered woman believed to be Rihanna.

A source told In Touch Weekly magazine: “Chris is scared. Not only has he probably lost his career and his girlfriend, but he’s also fearing for his security and his life.

“The photo was the last straw. The threats started pouring in the moment that appeared.”