Submitted as a comment by BU family member Wayne from London
Rihanna and Chris Brown frolicking in Barbados in the recent past
Rihanna and Chris Brown frolicking in Barbados waters in the recent past before their reported incident

Rihanna’s catapulted rise to ‘superstardom’ has been kaleidoscopic.ย  Just on the cusp of her secondary school career, she was ‘released’ to enter and to pitch her wagon into the world of the fame,and, almost overnight, she became an internationally-recognized celebrity.

Inclined towards being conservative, I wasย  concerned about her vulnerability, noting the general teenaged tendency to be unfocused and gullible. Admittedly, Rihanna does have talent (no denying that!).ย  She is beautiful, her performances are energetic and fun.

But what has been revealed lately in Rihanna’s personal life/w. Chris is a young lady who still is in crying need of guidance.ย  Her parents seem to be at a ‘lost’ as to how to help her and it appears that they have failed to impart to her the Godly wisdom and example she so desperately needs.

Could you pray for Rihanna?

113 responses to “Rihanna The Star, Rihanna The Vulnerable, Rihanna The Gullible?”

1. Rihanna The Millionaire.(don’t forget)
    To tell de trute, I tired with this story now. It has exhaused all its glitz and glamour now as far as I’m concerned. Time to change gears now. Doan burn out de clutch.

“Let sleeping dogs lie”.
    ‘To each his own.”’
    “Fools rush in where angels fear to thread.’
    LOVE is a many splendour thing.

2. Maybe you are tired but the attention of the world just went up a notch. Rihanna whether she or you like it is under public scrutiny. We look forward to the court date when we will hopefully get the truth.

3. David
    This is one of the few times that I TOTALLY agree with Bonny Peppa. I think Rihanna needs to pray for herself, she’s a grown adult, they are many other young children that I would and do mention in my prayers but I’ve left Rihanna to herself and the Lord, that prayer will only beanswered if the person really needs it. God has given her a choice to do what she likes with her life, her Humsn Rights also gives her that choice, therefore who am I to ask God to change anybody’s right to do what they like with their life? My concern is that MY government needs to give me and many others the reason why she is still being upheld as a Youth Ambassador for My country which includes My young children.STRIP HER NOW

4. Wayne, way you now come from?? We done had dis conversation aready!!

5. Scout, my girl back in business boy!! Looka!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/usa/article2322855.ece

By the way, you heard ‘Please Don’t Stop The Music’, yet?!! Are you afraid you’ll get hooked?!! Pop into any music store in Bim and ask them to play it for you Scout, and then you’ll see what all the fuss is about!!

Lor!!

Crank-up the music, Rihanna, babe!! Just can’t wait!!

6. Tony Marshall tek dah picture

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

7. I happened to stumble into your website as I was curious about Ms. Fenty. I am writing from the US. I notice that perceptions of Rihanna are varied in her native land. The comments are insigtful and as an American, I get it straight from the horses mouth. I feel sorry for her. She is going thru what many teenage girls in America go thru. I witnessed girls getting beat in school by savage boys. It is striking that in young Ri’s ascent there was no parental involvement unlike other teen stars that we see in the US. I feel she was doomed from the start as showbiz is a jungle that is best traveled with trusted people. I don’t know how much can she trust Jay Z since they have a business relationship and when her records stop selling he’ll send her back to Barbados broke. It is rumored in the US that she only has $20000 US in the bank because she doesn’t have the pull other singers have to get her videos financed, etc. She has been seen in pawn shops and eating fried chicken with CB. Ri is glamorous and beautiful, but some things about her career make me wonder who has been managing her wealth. In the who’s got money shows that air in the US I never see her. I’ve yet to hear that she owns property, jewels, etc. She’s many endorsements like a model, but we have a 48% on the rich so in order for Ri to make real money she would have to make at least10 mill US yearly. By now I think Ri knows dis and is reportedly getting into acting where de real $ is. I hope she gets well.

8. We have been sparing in our comments on this issue for a number of reasons. Have we considered ROK’s position on the matter?

The incident occurred in public and if the two of them were to be able to mend their relationship in public imagine the good it would do for them and public.

9. Dave, there’s only one way for Rihanna to ‘mend’ this relationship and that’s to dump the clown, post haste!! and to resume her angelic singing!! That’s my recommendation!!

10. Brother Scout,
    How dare you deny me in public like dis? You want a ‘bitch-slap’ or wah? Doan vex me hear?

Scout is not into dis secular music. Sacred is his ting. Leff my man alone.

11. BOAR HOG says.

Leave Rihanna alone-you people dont know squat.

You people are just speculating on things that are not immediately evident about Rihanna BUT you have opinions and I respect that.

12. Boy I should be 60 years younger…

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

13. Rihanna came within inches of her life, her boyfriend is in danger of spending 4-5 years in jail. Young men now feel that if CB can beat Rihanna then they can beat their girl. And the young women now feel that if Rihanna has to take it – then so have they.
    They chose a public lifestyle and they also have to accept their responsibility as role models. Both their careers are sitting on the toilet – surely she is smart enough to see that and move on and salvage her life, dignity and career…. or is she??? And who gave Sean Coombs the right to act as councilor??
    I hope she sees the light before it is too late.

14. going downdrain Avatar

rapidly, from lack of guidance,
    the sound of rihanna’s career!

We have been here discussing this
    subject for weeks.

Opinion: Rihanna, Battered and Bruised Yet Somehow to Blame?
    http://www.digitaljournal.com/article/269266

15. Over a year ago BU wrote several blogs cautioning Rihanna about getting mesmerised by the bright lights. We were trashed as a result.

16. 199
    Scout is not into dis secular music. Sacred is his ting. Leff my man alone.

Sorry, Bonny!!

17. BOAR HOG says.
    Rihanna –I love you
    The comment above came from BOAR HOG

trying to get used to this thing

18. I think that the Rhianna story is being over played. Not to say that celebrities don’t get this type of scrutiny when something negative happens in their life.

Many of us made mistakes in our young life — some of us wish we had someone to tell us the “therefore” and “whereas” but did not. Who is to say that Rhianna did or did not. She is no different, she is human.

It looks to me that more people are concerned about Rhianna, because of her celebrity status, her love-life and the twist it has taken.

I would not hold my breath that Rhianna will be forthcoming with the details of the incident. However, the evidence law enforcement gathered from the vehicle as well as her statement at the time of the incident were revealing. She let the cat out the bag when she spoke with law enforcement about what transpired.

The Rhianna saga with Chris is a criminal case and I would be surprise if it is not dealt with accordingly.

Seeing that it is his first, apparently known, public offense, I have a feeling that he will be placed on probation and ordered to Anger Management classes where he will be monitored.

19. We have heard Trump and Oprah only Obama left to comment.

Whether she likes it or not the world is watching her very closely.

20. Since the story that she was recording a duet with Chris Brown turned out to be untrue, I think we all need to watch and see what is really going on before passing judgement. Rihanna is barely 21 years old and is in a business where she is in the public eye, likely has lots of “handlers” and people to answer to and is deal with an personal issue regarding her love life. Let’s cut her some slack, pray she makes wise decisions, and does not put herself in any further physical danger with a certain Chris Brown.

21. BestOnlineGamblingCasinos Avatar
    BestOnlineGamblingCasinos

totally agree with you Sapidillo.

22. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

She will drop Chris Brown, by time..

23. poorly handled Avatar

Evan Rogers Speaks

Rihanna’s mentor speaks: An exclusive interview
    http://music-mix.ew.com/2009/03/rihanna-news.html

24. Godly wisdom? Parents failed her?

What a judgemental load of crap. Rihanna is a grown woman.

25. Oh and speaking of Godly wisdom, is this the type of Godly wisdom you’re talking about? If so may Zeus help us all.

Today on CNN:

Pope visits Africa, reaffirms ban on condoms

http://www.cnn.com/2009/WORLD/africa/03/17/cameroon.pope/index.html

26. Did Trump and Oprah comment when Mike Tyson was beating the hell out of Robyn Givens? And if/when Obama comments what? Ultimately it is the girl’s life to do whatever she wants! We all make mistakes! Also show me a person male/female that was involved with someone that someone else didnt think they could do better and the person still went along with the relationship.

We put too much emphasis on what these people have to say! America and Americans have plenty garbage to clean and always trying to clean up other people/nations. I am sure if she was American all of this wouldn’t have come out, however you people seem to be blinded by the fact that what these people are doing is actually helping to pull her down, this small island girl came to America, seems to be making it big and has an American boy to boot!

Chupse, much ado about nothing. This thing needs a rest and we (me included) need to stop fanning these fires. As Bonny said, time to change gears now.

27. Bajan in NY

Agree with you 100% unfortunately the Rihanna incident is being discussed globally. You should get use to it. That is the reality.

On another note dis anybody watch Larry King and Judge Judy? Judge Judy believes Rihanna started the fight and the media is being too hard on Chris.

28. According to a TV Station report last night, I think it was ET, it was mentioned that Rhianna and Chris broke up because of a 39 year old female (speaking under correction, I think the name is Tina Brown?) AND that it has nothing to do with the incident. The report also stated that Rhianna gave Chris an ultimatum between her and the other female. Chris would not go along with it. The other female said that there is no relationship between her and Chris. (Iโ€™m not quite sure but apparently the โ€œother female” is involved in his music somehow?)

We just have to wait and see if this is not another rumor mill, as usual.

I watched Judge Judy on the Larry King show. She said that the Rhianna & Chris incident is not Domestic Violence/abuse, it is Violence period.

29. Judy believes Rihanna started the fight and the media is being too hard on Chris.

Does ANYBODY give a t*ss what Judge Judy say or thinks, at least outside of America?? I, certainly, do NOT!! Watched her show once or twice and thought that SHE was just as idiotic as some of the litigants!! Doan mek me laugh!!

30. The other woman is called Tina brown who is chris brown’s manager and has been involved in a sexual relationship with him since he was 16 years old.

The text he received that day was from brown.

This info was given by a rep of one of the entertainment chanel who was on larry king show.

31. I agree with Tyra Banks on the Oprah Show, Rihanna is an entertainer NOT a role model. It is then obvious that in their hype, the Barbados government made her the Youth Ambassador. I’m sure there are many young people in Barbados that is more of a role model than Rihanna and should be made Youth Ambassador. The government should used this situation to take the pressure off her shoulders, wish her well in her career but remove her from her role of Ambassador. It would benefit both herself and the government.

32. poorly handled Avatar

Rihannaโ€™s Saga Reaches Fake End

In a red herring of an endings to the redundantly epic RiBro saga that we all wish would just die off already, much like the residual “ellas” of “Umbrella,”

Rihanna herself has whispered to a British tabloid, “I’m too ashamed to go public [with Chris Brown] yet.”

But mind you, this is not because of Brown’s masterwork Rihanna With Contusions, Chewed Ear and Split Bloody Lip has left the pop star spiteful.

It’s because she wants everyone to get over it, much like she so got over it the minute the ER doctors took off the bandages and stopped the morphine drip.

Says a source that may have been Rihanna in disguise, โ€œRihanna is worried about the response sheโ€™ll receive when people see her out and about holding hands with Chris. She still loves Chris very much and … she desperately wants the whole situation to go away.โ€ Sigh. So do we.

Although, we do wonder what this means for Rihannaโ€™s charge as Barbadosโ€™ Youth and Cultural Ambassador. As that mints her place as role model and begs the question: How do you hock up a happy ending to this mess?

They could do what Michael Jackson did when the media opened fire: Skip town, relocate to Dubai, and re-emerge in about 15 years to stage a comeback show somewhere in Europe, where no one ever really cared too much about the brutal dark comedy of their relationship anyways.

http://www.blackbookmag.com/article/rihannas-saga-reaches-fake-end/6796

33. BOAR HOG says

Rihanna I love you
    You are a good girl
    I love you very much
    Keep sweet Ri Ri

34. 199,
    “sorry Bonny’. Apology accepted. Doan do um agen.
    On another point of order, I LOVE Judge Judy. She is keep it real real.

Sapadillo,
    Ya good.

Mr. Obama would only intervene if it were moi, his ‘second’ Lady. Sorry. Told me so himself.

Bajan in NYC.
    All those in favour say ‘aye’. The ‘ayes’ have it. Ya good.

Bro. Scout,
    All you harping pun is ‘tek way de status’. I does laff everytime I read um. I tink dat dese Guvments like to han’ out dese titles too fast. Like ‘new-niggas’ and poor Bonny hay fa years, healing de sick and tryin ta raise de dead and not one title fa me. Dah can’ be fair. Or even you Scout. Not a title fa we wid all de fringe benefits. God doan like ugly.
    Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

35. I agree with Tyra Banks on the Oprah Show, Rihanna is an entertainer NOT a role model.

As if those two barbie-doll-looking, BLACK women, freaks, are role models, except in their own self-hating-image, make yourself look more like a white woman than white women minds!!

36. Next, they’ll be saying that Michael Jackson’s a role model!!

Whaloss!!

37. 199
    Let’s face it, Rihanna is NO role model for young people, Barbadian young people especially, to whom she is their Youth Ambassador. The lady has her own life to live and right now it is contrary to what is expected of a National Youth Ambassador. The world is looking on, young people both local and overseas are looking on with disguise, it is better for the Barbados government to relieve her gently/ diplomatically, of that role now than to be dragged into the mire with her, if this is when she is heading. Don’t get me wrong, Rihanna WAS a big fan of mine, not for her music but for the positive exposure she was giving this country, but like a cow that gave a lot of milk and then kick it away, she has done that to Barbados. The question now is, should we wait to see if this “cow” gives a lot of milk again and do the same thing? Has Rihanna re-united yet with her parents or is Chris’ mother still calling the shots?

38. Tyra Bank’s comment about Rhianna being an entertainer and not a role model is on point.

Role models should be found within the home and that is where children should look and not on the outside.

It’s time people stop expecting others because of their titles, professions, and those in high places (echelons) to be role models for the youths.

39. Scout, as I’ve indicated before, I’m entirely in agreement with you about Rihanna being releived of the title. However, the thought of the likes of Tyra Banks, Oprah Winfrey and Michael Jackson being role models smacks to me of ‘the pot calling the kettle black’ not to fill me with hoots of derision!!

Itโ€™s time people stop expecting others because of their titles, professions, and those in high places (echelons) to be role models for the youths.

That’s right, Sapidillo, it’s obviously expecting too much for people who millions admire to do the right thing and set a good example, at least in your opinion, however, neither Scout nor I, nor, I assume the majority of people, agree with you. We DO EXPECT people at the top to set a good example!!

40. Sapidillo
    I’m sure as a young person, there was some fellow young person to whom you admired. This happened to most young people, this doesn’t mean that you don’t get mentoring from within.

41. Rihannaโ€™s mentor fears Oprah isn’t helping!
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/29760032/

who cares about
    rihanna’s need to protect
    a clown like chris brown?
    This domestic
    violence Topic is bigger than Rihanna
    & often involve children as young as 14 & 15 yrs. old!
    She has sent them a horrible message
    & it needs to be addressed, often & loudly with a resounding NO!
    from Oprah or anyone else
    at Home & in the Media,who’s brave
    enough to broach the subject !

Americans are worried
    about their Daughters
    ending up on cadaver slabs
    as murdered specimens
    at the hands of some
    violent out of control immature
    egotistical boy !

42. ‘get it right’, if, as you suggest, Americans are so worried, you’d think they’d do something to reduce, even eliminate, the ready access to weapons of all kinds over there, would n’t you! Is it any wonder that Americans make me laugh!! and, NOT, in admiration, of them either!!

43. Sapadillo: you are so correct! Role models should come from inside the home/village. Young people should and will admire other young people and there are qualities that they can take from them but holding them as role models, I don’t agree.

44. Lor! My girl hot under the sheets too, AND over them as far as the rumours are concerned!!

Lor!! Mek me wish I wus 16 again, bo!! ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/usa/article2330328.ece

45. Still hope, if true, the girlfriend-beater would n’t be so debacuched to make them available to the public! Mind you, Paris Hilton survived a similar disgrace so perhaps Rihanna could too!! Would still be a huge shame!! I hope the yankees are n’t jealous of our girl’s success and want to ruin her!! afterall, she int a yankee, is she?!!

46. One seldom thought of aspect!!: Whilst being absolutely amazing, Ri has n’t achieved all this success by herself and if I could, I’d also, give an award to the people who wrote her wonderful songs and have organised everything else, for her!! She has been so fortunate!! Well done Ri and co!! a true, modern-day miracle!! – so far!! Long may it last!!

47. “Well done, Justin Timberlake”! Your contribution in the ‘Rehab’ video is massive!! It’s no wonder that you’re a star!!

48. What advice can Oprah give any one on life???
    This old hag is concerned with one thing in this world and it is money!!
    Why doesn’t she marry already?
    Where are her kids?
    Where is the wholesome family?
    She is a selfish old hag, consumed with the need to make more and more money. She should be the last to give advice to anyone about how to live because without money…..Oprah is just plain ….O !!
    Robin Givens……advice from this gold digger ?!?
    Knowing Tyson’s troubled past, she still went along with this deranged person because all she saw was the $$$….little did she know there was a price to pay, as nothing in life comes free especially $$$.

Cant even begin to talk about the Goldman clown…when her sister and the family were being supported by OJ, it was all good, when she had OJ like a moose with so many horns on his head, it was fine. He wasnt a monster then….but such is life!!
    Dont get me wrong, domestic violence is wrong and should never be allowed but when I see the idiots crawling out of the wood work to give advice to RiRi, it just boggles the mind………there…..now I have vented!!

49. thereโ€ฆ..now I have vented!!

Anon, an what a venting it was!! Agree with you about the first two but don’t know sufficient about Goldman to comment on that incident!! Mind you, OJ doan seem too nice a piece of work to me!!

50. The Scout // March 19, 2009 at 2:12 pm
    Sapidillo
    Iโ€™m sure as a young person, there was some fellow young person to whom you admired. This happened to most young people, this doesnโ€™t mean that you donโ€™t get mentoring from within.
    ——————————————————————————————–
    A role model is someone who a person can look up to for inspiration and guidance. In some instances, there may be different aspects of the individual’s career/life choices that other/young people may want to emulate. Considering someone as a role model, (which many people do) is not just admiring someone because of his/her public role in society, title, profession and/or leadership position.

I admired many people in my growing up but I never once thought of wanting to be like them โ€“ not even a Sunday school teacher.