Prime Minister of Barbados Hon David Thompson

A feature of the current David Thompson administration after just over one year in office has been the frequency with which the Prime Minister has made himself available to the Barbados media to answer questions. Compared to the number of press conferences which former Prime Minister Owen Arthur held during his 14 year tenure, Thompson must be on course for some kind of record.

Based on the report posted on the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) website Barbadians can look forward to a press conference with a twist. Members of the general public have been invited to participate. We are not sure what is the criteria for participation but we can only hope that it was random and or political and NGOs were fairly invited to participate.

Although we are forced to give kudos to the Prime Minister for winning the prize for being very accessible to the media, and he has delivered himself well, it has been done against a predictable performance from our media practitioners. We are hopeful that tomorrow we will see an improved performance from them. The honeymoon period is over and although the prevailing tough economic times may still generate some goodwill for the Prime Minister the people want to hear concrete proposals on how the government intends to confront the challenges facing our small country. Issues to deal with the economy and employment – maintaining competitiveness in tourism, protection in the offshore services, food security and IMMIGRATION policies among others.

We understand that the occasion will be hosted by Peter Wickham who appears to possess the ability to speak to all issues. A word of advice to Peter – scholars may know it all but they don’t know everything. Now that we are in the mood for giving advice, we suggest to the planners that the rules regulating the press conference tomorrow night be relaxed. Create the opportunity for the fearless journalist to go after the Prime Minister on issues they feel the approach is merited. Wishful thinking?

We can only hope that that whether the journalists turn-up for the party are not our Prime Minister will use the occasion tomorrow to deliver statements on enlightening government policy, as well as to clarify issues which are currently occupying the minds of Barbadians e.g. CLICO, Immigration, Cost of Living, Tourism etc.

If reports are correct CBC Website will web stream the broadcast scheduled to begin at 7.30PM and the public can email quesions.

1. Any questions for the PM? We understand members of the public can email CBC.

2. Prime minister thompson

Why is it taking the immigration department so long to have massive deportations of ALL the illegal persons who are on this island?

Why haven’t you introduced finger printing at the airport?

Are you aware that bajans are totally against any kind of amnesty for persons who were here illegally,whether those waiting for regularisation or not?

What are some of the changes should we expect to see in the proposed new immigration bill,hopefully a susupension of citizenship to persons not being born here and even for 1st generation newcomers to barbados?

3. Well,we certainly need to ask the Prime Minister to go into detail about his reworked immigration policy & why is it considered a “‘managed’ migration policy” ?

How would he implement CSME in detail currently ?

Does the Prime Minister truly believe in giving an amnesty to those who reside illegally as the Chief enforcer of Barbados immigration laws ?

Should Free movement of ALL nationals within CSME be implemented in Barbados ?

Why has the Prime Minsiter not made any effort while in office to ensure that employers do NOT hire illegal immigrants ?

Why doesn’t the Barbados Immigration Department take immigration tips seriously concerning reports given to them about who illegally resides in Barbados ?

Does the P.M. support limited free-movement of skilled nationals within Barbados so the Bajan first employment rule could be more effectively implemented ?

4. What relevant skills does Jeffery Bostic who is said to be taking over at the Immigration Department bring to the office?

What plan if any has been hatched to develop alternative sources of energy?

What is the status of the Sandy Lany/Royal Shop imopasse?

What steps are being taken to arrest a situation at the QEH?

5. Is it possible that we can have immigration taken away from arni walters and given back to maxine mcclean?

Are you aware that we the voters are tired of just words and no action?
    Ever so welcome wait for a call is a joke if the illegal persons in this country continue to stay untouched and new ones come in?

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What about the heartless Merchants in Barbados and their enforcement of Sky High Prices for everything?

Also what about the fact that the PM and his Govt. has done little to ease the suffering of Black Consumers at the hands of the Barbados Private Sector?

What about asking him not to create their own version of “Gems of Barbados” namely not wasting taxpayers buying Allard’s Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary?

These would be some excellent questions to ask him. I don’t know if I will get the opportunity.

7. Anonymous // February 28, 2009 at 9:02 pm

Is it possible that we can have immigration taken away from arni walters and given back to maxine mcclean?

Are you aware that we the voters are tired of just words and no action?
    Ever so welcome wait for a call is a joke if the illegal persons in this country continue to stay untouched and new ones come in?

I second that!

8. And what about CARIPASS, Are you for real!

9. I think Thompson should be asked about Hally Haynes proposals of working with the Credit Unions of Barbados to establish a credit union bank. Let BNB stay where it is. I think The Bank of Barbados has a better ring to it, especially if it is conceptualize with working people in mind via the Credit Unions.

http://www.nationnews.com/story/340187575674067.php

I never trusted or did Business with Banks in Barbados. I took that same mistrust with me to the US, where I do all my banking with a Credit Union.

If CLICO goes under, Sagicor should not benefit; deep in it’s core, it is still the Mutual, and to my mind no different than BET-to-Cable&wireless-to-Lime.

BTW:So RA is Tom Adam’s youngest son? ha ha ha ha Rawdon vs. Thompy what uh ting. lol!

David you knew this?

10. @Adrian H we like the idea of a bank which has a credit union approach. The only issue we have with it is that credit unions would then have to come under the control of the Central Bank.

11. No David the Credit Union does not change status.

What Hally Haynes Proposes:
    [quote]
    It is my humble submission that the credit union movement would welcome the opportunity to sit at the table with Government and other interested Barbadian companies with a view to establishing a locally owned and operated bank that provides financial products and services for credit unions, businesses and Barbadians alike.

I am sure that this new financial entity would be the jewel of the Government and people of Barbados.
    —————————————-

I am sold on this.

12. what I would like to ask the PM is…

1. what is Govt’s position re The Grame Hall Nature Sanctuary.

2/ After meeting with the Cable & Wireless bigwigs from London re the lay offs at BARTEL … what is the outcome?

13. Whe are the 700 workers at Four Seasons returning to work?

14. read..”When are……

15. Anonymouse:

What would all those Bajans abroad feel if they had the same treatment? If you are illegal, no problem… it is your risk… but what about the ones that are “technically illegal” because of the amount of red tape and the plodding pace of the departments involved?

I am sure a lot of Bajans here would dislike their relatives having their green cards revoked. Who would send them the brand name gear now?

Put the shoe on the other foot and walk in it a while. Right now your writing comes across xenophobic.

Thompy: When are you going to revamp the departments of immigration and registration so that ordinary folk do not have to suffer and be denigrated?

Why would you tell a man who has been working in this land for 20 years, has a child born here and a common law wife here…. that he has two weeks to pack up and ship out? Top if off that he was working legally here…paying taxes, etc…

Is that the kind of policy we are pushing?

I thought that we were getting rid of illegals only?

16. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

how come so many of the policies announced by the minister of finance in his july 08 budget have not as yet been implemented

17. Iwatchya

Simple answer,Barbados cannot be the garbage can for the rest of the caribbean,and in particular Guyana.

Bajans and othe caribbean people who are convicted on the simplest of crime eg.g. parking fine etc are being sent back to the caribbean daily.

I don’t hear jagdeo from guyana kicking a big fuss like he and ricky singh do every time a guyanese is deported.

This despite the fact that they came to the great USA since they were 2 years old.

Howz that,my man?

Any one living here illegally whether 1 year or 20 years shuld be subjected to the laws of the land and sent back to their home country.

No amnesty for breakers of the law.

Strong supporters of david thompson are now quietly up in arms about his lethargic approach to getting out thes illegals quickly despite what he promised us on the campaign trail as well as his loose talk about amnesty for some.

18. iWatchya // March 1, 2009 at 2:03 pm

Dont think I aint get your point but waitttttt this dont happen in the great us of a!

19. Deep Sea Diver Avatar
    Deep Sea Diver

Carson C. Cadogan // February 28, 2009 at 9:15 pm “what about the fact that the PM and his Govt. has done little to ease the suffering of Black Consumers at the hands of the Barbados Private Sector?”

I guess Carson is saying the “Private Sector” = “white people” ? ? ?

Where you been living, Sir? On the Moon? Get back to earth before you run out of air.

20. I email talk@cbc.bb ’cause I had tah laff at cbc.bb. Look wah dey do wid Peter face. He look like a deadPete …

AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh

21. Breaking News

AMNESTY WILL BE GIVEN BY THIS ADMINISTRATION.

However I believe Negroman had his information right ,it might be for a certain number of people that immigration has already been worked out.

He was very careful not to use the word amnesty – but same difference.

22. The journalists performed better in this format and Wickham, all credit to him allowed them latitude. The makeup of the audience was a little disappointing but having said that it is good to see the ordinary citizen represented in the studio. A little concern that the Prime Minister was not pressed to be more specific on the strategy and plans to stave off the economic storm. The immigration matter continues to elicit vague responses but it is obvious the government is working on a policy. Lastly we will withhold comment on the CLICO matter until Opposition leader responds to the accusation that the former government did nothing when seized with the knowledge that CLICO was not meeting its statutory limit requirement.

23. David

Like you I am hearing vague answers about immigration,and based on the question that man in the audience asked about the prime minster’s response about illegal children not going to school,I wouldn’t be surprised that like that man mnay others listening picked up on that response.

All I will say is immigration is making me more concerned that everything isn’t as it appears.

24. David said:
    The makeup of the audience was a little disappointing but having said that it is good to see the ordinary citizen represented in the studio.
    =========================
    Wait you aint see they had such esteem members of the public such as Malcom Taitt and Sylvan Greenidge in the Attendance? lol!

25. Adrian

Which one was sylvan greenidge?

What questiondid he ask?

26. The guy that asked about a CL loan to Clico Barbados, and about the fishing agreement where he preface it by saying Thompy made light of it with reference to a bowl of soup.

27. A little concern that the Prime Minister was not pressed to be more specific on the strategy and plans to stave off the economic storm.

You are ,making this point over and over again. What do you suggest? If I were the Pm I would do just what he is doing now – communicating, collecting up to date information from players in all sectors and saving jobs! That is where his biggest challenge will be but I am confident that David Thompson will do it.

I give him 95% for tonite’s activity. He did three things:
    1. Established his command
    2. Wiped out the Opposition
    3. Set the public agenda.

Has Mia taken to flight?

28. Mottley’s defense as recorded in the Nationnews

[quote]
    Mottley told the SUNDAY SUN yesterday that even though the Barbados Labour Party would have been in power at the end of 2007, the Government of the day would not have been privy to such figures.

“Under law, companies do not have to have statutory fund details until four months after the close of the year. That would have been available in April 2008, and we were not in Government then,” the Opposition Leader stated.

==========================

She didn’t have access to 2008 fund info, but she had or her party had info for Clico since the Insurance act of 1997 required it from then up to 2007, and for every year after the first it was in deficit. Mottley has no case.

Now in her defense she can say that she was not the finance minister, which brings Owen Arthur into the picture, why did he not stop her with this no confidence motion knowing the facts? Could this be the beginning of the return of Arthur?

http://www.nationnews.com/editorial/340188179660087.php

29. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Owing See Thru Arthur WILL NOT REST UNTIL HE DISPLACES HER AS LEADER, simple and plain, neither does Arthur want a debate on Constituency Councils but there she goes head strong as ever again.

It will be a tough one to step down with pride from her face will be dirtied and bruised for trying to pull a spoilt brat temper tantrum with the Barbadian voters.

30. Watched Talk with PM Avatar
    Watched Talk with PM

Thompson is a master. His grasp of nitty gritty details on such a wide array of subjects was amazing. Mottley woke up this morning with the words ‘Houston we have a problem’ ringing in her ears.

31. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

But, if the PM’s figures are right (and they should have been easy to check), there is still the matter of CLICO’s statutory fund deficits in 2005 and 2006.

32. I was impressed by the PM’s presentation. I think it was forthright and honest. We are in tough times and he just let the country know what has to be done in order to survive.

33. Back Seat Driver Avatar
    Back Seat Driver

I dint see the entire interview… was anything asked/said about the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary???

34. PM Thompy was quite sanguine last night. I must say he deserves full marks for facing the public and answering questions.

35. @Wuh

Because of your query we will try our best to clarify in our next blog which we will post later today.

36. A terrific performance by PM Thompson.

Transparency and accountability took precedence.

Well MIA……really looked MOCK-LEY NOW !

37. The disappointment we have is that this morning Leader of the Opposition is not being placed under pressure by the media to respond to the statements made by the Prime Minister regarding the statutory limit which has existed from 2005 according to him. We would be surprise if she does not have a plausible explanation, we don’t think that she would have brought a no-confidence motion without good grounds.

38. livinginbarbados // March 2, 2009 at 11:04 am

But, if the PM’s figures are right (and they should have been easy to check), there is still the matter of CLICO’s statutory fund deficits in 2005 and 2006.
    ===========================

Uh??????

39. David, the media doesn’t have to do anything, the people watched, the people already were alarmed at Mia’s willingness to cause economic fallout for no good purpose at all.

40. Adrian, somehow I feel Mia has set Owen up for a fall. The thing is that David Thompson put down spikes in the road and flattened all her tyres too!

41. David, is the person at the head of this article, PH Thompson, the same person we saw on TV last night?

The PM we saw on television last night had a face as round as a dinner plate.

It’s not the only part of his anatomy that’s become rounded either.

42. […] the Prime Minister continues to make himself accessible to the media, Barbados Underground hopes to see “an improved performance” from the mainstream media, while pull! push! […]

43. Back Seat Driver
    The PM said that the owners did not demonstrate that they were short of cash or that the operation was going bankrupt so there was never a consideration by Government of a bail out or buy out. All that the Government was prepared to offer was the taking over of the paying of salaries that’s it. Do you have a problem with that?

44. Adrian Hinds // March 2, 2009 at 12:40 am

Mottley’s defense as recorded in the Nationnews

[quote]
    Mottley told the SUNDAY SUN yesterday that even though the Barbados Labour Party would have been in power at the end of 2007, the Government of the day would not have been privy to such figures.

“Under law, companies do not have to have statutory fund details until four months after the close of the year. That would have been available in April 2008, and we were not in Government then,” the Opposition Leader stated.

==========================

She didn’t have access to 2008 fund info, but she had or her party had info for Clico since the Insurance act of 1997 required it from then up to 2007, and for every year after the first it was in deficit. Mottley has no case.

Now in her defense she can say that she was not the finance minister, which brings Owen Arthur into the picture, why did he not stop her with this no confidence motion knowing the facts? Could this be the beginning of the return of Arthur?

++++++++++++++++++++++

Adrian

O$A, MIA and DT are all tied up in the CLICO mess.

So too are their parties!!

Neither one can take the high ground because there is none to take!!

Best if they all come clean.

45. John I am not looking for any person to take any high road. At the end of the day um don’t matter to me who wins or lose.

46. Adrian Hinds // March 3, 2009 at 6:20 pm

John I am not looking for any person to take any high road. At the end of the day um don’t matter to me who wins or lose.

Me, …… I’d rather see the citizens of Bim hold the high ground, not let it go and come out winners.

Insisting on full disclosure is one way of ensuring this.

The politicians, …. B and D, need to be reined in.

They are our servants.

47. MIA got dem on the run

Thompson’s reaction is nothing more than an attempt to hoodwink. He thinks that a public relations exercise is going to solve his problems. HA HA –it wunt work.

48. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

I wonder what favours were paid for the blp campaign ontributions ????

49. Mia got who on the run? Thompy, Or Owen?

50. Word coming from Roebuck Street is that Owen Arthur is saying there is no need for him to attend the House of Assembly for the No-Confidence debate .

Why you may ask ??

He says he has No Confidence in Mia Mock – Ley !