press-releaseEmployees and contractors will be permanently terminated at Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary on March 9 in accordance with the employee severance laws of Barbados. This action follows the closure of the Sanctuary on December 15, 2008 when approximately 85 employees and contractors were notified of the layoff.

Under the law, Sanctuary employees must receive their final severance notice within 13 weeks of the December 15 layoff.

“It will be a sad day indeed,” said Stuart Heaslet, representative for owner Peter Allard. “We hope there will be a last minute reprieve not just for the employees but also for the contractors, subcontractors, taxi drivers and tour operators who have relied on the Sanctuary for revenue.”

Heaslet added that hard-working employees and contractors who put their hearts and souls into the Sanctuary made it a first class environmental education centre.

“Everything you see at the Sanctuary has been built and run by Barbadians. For example, we’ve got a bronze plaque at the Sanctuary with 525 names of local people who literally put their brains and muscle to work here at the Graeme Hall Swamp to build and preserve this environmental centre. It was brutal work, under extremely difficult conditions, but what I saw happen was a perfect blend of Bajan art, design and technical skill come together to create one of the most beautiful parks I have ever seen.”

“The Sanctuary is a true Barbadian creation, through and through, and I would work with that team anywhere in the world to build an international-class park,” said Heaslet who oversaw creation and operation of the Sanctuary before turning it over to Harry Roberts, General Manager.

Sanctuary officials confirmed that there was still no word from Government on their intentions regarding the future of the Sanctuary.

At the direction of Allard, all wedding dates that had been scheduled after December 15 are or have been honored. The Sanctuary had been one of the more affordable venues in Barbados for weddings and special events.

Saying that the future of the Sanctuary and Graeme Hall National Park is in the hands of the Government of Barbados, Allard believes that the Friends of Graeme Hall and the citizens of Barbados must decide what their priorities are. “We have great affection and regard for the people of Barbados. This has been an incredibly painful and saddening decision, but ultimately it is not for us to initiate or set national goals and long term environmental legacies for the nation.”

More information can be found at www.graemehall.com

1. I must admit that i have not really followed this story. Could someone in a paragraph or less explain why the santuary is being close and why fingers are being pointed at the Government???? who owns this place anyway????

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

These are hard times and getting harder, there will be lay offs. This is unavoidable.

Buying an unprofitable enterprise such as Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary with taxpayers dollars will be the height of foolishness.

There are a lot of well to do people who read this blog maybe they can offer the lay off workers a job.

3. Peter Allard owns the santuary. Peter Allard is closing it. Peter Allard realizes too late that it could not make money.

Peter Allard wants to give it to Barbados, or so BFP says. However, in order for Bajans to get it, the government must first buy 250 acres of private land and make a park. That is the gospel according to Peter Allard, and BFP, or so it seems to me.

I am not down there and have not followed it closely, but that I think is the gist of it.

4. Pat thanks for the concise summary,…but are you sure this is the approach of Peter Allard?

More questions:
    Who owns the 250 acres of private land?
    Why must there be a park as a condition of sale for a money losing enterprise?

Is there a park righ now?

Is Peter Allard closing it because it is losing money? Or is he closing it to force government hand?

Wants it’s closed what happens? Does it remain the property of Peter Allard?

If so how strong could his argument be?

5. Pat thanks for the concise summary,…but are you sure this is the approach of Peter Allard?

More questions:
    Who owns the 250 acres of private land?
    Why must there be a park as a condition of sale for a money losing enterprise?

Is there a park righ now?

Is Peter Allard closing it because it is losing money? Or is he closing it to force government hand?
    once it’s closed what happens? Does it remain the property of Peter Allard?

If so how strong could his argument be?

6. There is a small group of monied people in Barbados and elsewhere who try and convince people that forming the 240-acre or so Graeme Hall National Park requires that the government of Barbados purchase its own land.

This is not true. The people and government of Barbados already own majority of the land that the proposed Graeme Hall National Park would occupy.

You can see this on a map at:

http://www.graemehall.com/press/papers/Land-Conflict-Map-Graeme-Hall.pdf

The value of parks, libraries and schools cannot be underestimated. Healthy societies incorporate all three, not just one or two.

The 35-acre Sanctuary is one of the most beautiful places in Barbados, and has been a haven for individuals and families seeking solace and education. While title may currently belong to Mr. Allard, most are beginning to realize that it should be combined with the lands around it, as originally promised in the 1988 National Physical Development Plan (PDP).

The 1988 PDP recommended that the Graeme Hall lands within the proposed National Park be left open for recreation and conservation, as a buffer between the growing urban areas of Greater Bridgetown and Oistins. Only recently has the government reclassified most of the Graeme Hall lands to residential and urban corridor, and the impact of this will certainly be detrimental to the most important mangrove and sedge ecosystem that Barbados has today.

The 35-acre Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary was well on its way to becoming operationally self-sufficient. But one man cannot maintain an environmental legacy for a nation in perpetuity. This is not about running a family business – it is about ensuring multi-generational survival of the last green area between the Airport and Bridgetown. The Allard family is well-known for its environmental and other philanthropy over the years, providing support for major environmental and habitat preservation projects in the Caribbean, United States, Canada and elsewhere. In every single case, government-led environmental policy and pro-active leadership ensured that these parklands would live beyond a single generation.

Graeme Hall is a park for all, and all the lands should belong to the people of Barbados.

For more information and maps that show how land that was promised to be parkland on the South Coast is being converted to development, go to:

http://www.graemehall.com/press/papers/GHNS-Land-Use-Conflicts-QandA.pdf

More information can be found at:

http://www.graemehall.com/reference.htm

http://www.graemehallnationalpark.org

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The only people who would benefit by the purchase of the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary by Govt. of Barbados would be Allard, his family and his lawyers. There is nothing in it for the vast majority of taxpayers whose money some you are asking the Govt. to waste.

8. @GHNS

Strange that you say the land is owned by the government of Barbados. Get over to BFP quickly and tell them that CLICO does not own it.

How come Allard cannot tell the Canadian government what to do with its lands, but he thinks he can dictate to Barbados and Bajans what to do with theirs?

If Allard wants to give Bajans a park, I suggest he buy the necessary lands himself and donate the park. Nuff said.

9. So if i understand GHNS, purchasing the surrounding land (250 acres) is not at issue.

What is the god dammed issue then?

Does Peter Allard want to be paid for the santuary?

Does he want to donate it?

Is the Government not interested in purchasing it or recieving it from Allard?

Why is it being closed again?

Is it that Peter Allard will only donate or sell if the government agrees to his wishs that the surrounding lands become a national park?

10. Adrian Hinds, you got it in that last question. That’s exactly what it is all about, and the Government is getting the blame.

11. “Is it that Peter Allard will only donate or sell if the government agrees to his wishs that the surrounding lands become a national park?”

Aye, aye, aye! Dere is de rub. We be dictated to by another rich foreigner…

Strings, strings, strings! Some philanthropist.

12. Adrian, Pat:

It isn’t as simple as you think. We repeat: Government changed the deal. They zoned the Graeme Hall upland lands from open/recreational to urban use, contrary to their original promise embodied in the 1988 PDP. They did this after Allard acquired the Sanctuary lands. Had he known that government would change this fundamental promise in the 1988 PDP, he would not have done what he did at Graeme Hall. Why? Because the mangrove and sedge wetland requires a major environmental buffer, and Allard knew that the Sanctuary could jumpstart the parkland that the 1988 PDP recommended.

Let me repeat: The surrounding lands were ALREADY promised as parklands. Allard DID NOT change the situation – government did.

If the uplands north and east of the RAMSAR site are developed, it won’t matter what any of us think, the wetland and mangrove will suffer terribly, and the people of Barbados will lose the Graeme Hall parkland they were promised.

Allard closed the doors when he saw the writing on the 2003 PDP wall saying that the uplands would be developed. Why should he keep subsidizing an operation whose livelihood is endangered by a broken promise?

If the uplands are developed it will mean significant contamination and ecosystem disruption of the most biodiverse area on the island, and permanent loss of the last recreational parkland between the Airport and Bridgetown.

Allard didn’t make these land use changes that threaten the wetland. Government did, and so now Allard is saying that unless government actually talks to him in good faith about a progressive solution, he sees no reason to continue funding an ecological sanctuary that is destined to die under the altered government land use policy.

Allard isn’t dictating a thing. It’s not up to him.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“We repeat: Government changed the deal.”

People, including governments change their minds every day. So what is the big deal?

14. @GHNS

So, no other g0vernment has changed their minds about anything?

Allard should know that many Canadian governments changed their minds (not honoured) about written treaties with the Indigenous peoples. Why cant another government on a mere promise?

If the zoning has changed, all Allard has to do is buy the land and he will have his buffer, his park and his blessed santuary.

15. Let’s forget about Allard for a moment:

The promise of a 240-acre or so park at the existing Graeme Hall green space was a promise to the people of Barbados.

Barbadian and UN land use planners outlined it and recommended it in the 1988 PDP. Parliament ratified it.

Since then, the parklands have virtually disappeared from the new 2003 PDP. Ask anyone if they knew what happened – they don’t.

If people say that it is okay for politicians to go back on a promise to the people who elected them, and if people say that the lessons of history don’t matter, then heaven help them.

And if people say it’s okay for fundamental quality of life decisions to be made without full public transparency and robust public disclosure, then heaven help them.

The maps and information in the following links are clear:

http://www.graemehall.com/press/papers/GHNS-Land-Use-Conflicts-QandA.pdf

General reference:

http://www.graemehall.com/reference.htm

16. GHNS: You cannot dictate to the GoB, and i find your actions and that of Peter Allard to be reprehensible.

17. Rightly or wrongly so the PM sent a strong message on the issue of GHNS last night.

18. Right or wrong about what? The offer to help or the facts on GHNS? Or letting a foreigner know his place?

19. We don’t have the facts or should we say that we are not a fly on the wall, it is why we couched our comment.

20. One wonders if some of the commentators above have actually ever set foot in the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary. If they had, they would know that it is place that Barbados will never again be able to replicate and that for their children and grandchildren it will be a tragic loss. I do not know what the owners have asked for or require of, the Barbados Government, but if they value this country they will make sure that the Sanctuary continues for the education and enjoyment of future generations.

21. Rosie,

replicate the swamp? That is a natural phenomenon.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Actually the developed area was man made. As one David Brooks writes in BFP much of the original area surrounding the developed area was filled during the late 60’s and 70’s towards Rendezvous Main Rd and towards Amity Lodge. Much of that area was filled up, and is unrecognizable to any who lived in the area, and took “short cuts” from what is now called Rendezvous Gardens to the St Lawrence area via the “banking road” that led from Highway 7 inland up to the first ridge, which has long since been abandoned and rendered impassible.

23. I have to say Georgie Porgie is right in his description. I grew up in the area and spend a lot of time within the area we affectionately called “the swamp” climbing cocoanut trees, fishing, crabbing etc. the swamp also served as a well known “short cut” to those traveling to Worthings beach. The natural swamp was located between Rendezvous Main Rd in the west and the coastline (what is now known as H’way 7 today) to the south. The northern boundary area of the swamp is the first landward natural geologic ridge. Between the first and second ridge was/is a flat historical agriculture area (now owned by the Barbados government). To the north, the modern ABC Highway runs east-west along the base of the third ridge. As kids, we know this area to be Graeme Hall Plantation where sugar cane was grown. In the latter part of the 70’s it was simply open space where we played two-day cricket in an area just east of the Rendezvous Main Rd. as stated by Georgie Porgie much of the original area in the western section of the natural swamp was filled in and developed residential (Amity Lodge, Rendezvous Gardens).
    I am surprised by the comments of Adrian Hinds above. It shows some one willing to make stupid comments without having no idea what the issues are. The main issue here is ‘what is the future of the area in dispute?’ The new government has changed the zoning (Jan. 08) of all that area south of the ABC H’way between the second and third ridges opening it up for impervious development. This is in conflict with the 1988 National Plan for the Physical Environment and reduces the amount of open space set aside for the development of the broader nature sanctuary.
    What has become further apparent is that on such a small island Bajans have yet to understand the value of natural environments including open spaces.

24. When can we get back in, I loved to fish the swamp.

25. Hopefully, SOON! What I find interesting is that Mr. Peter Allard & GHNS in their wisdom felt it necessary to designate a portion of the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary as a RAMSAR site in a country that the government refused to be a contracting party to the international treaty. Go figure!

As far as the CLICO Portion of the “free land” goes, didn’t Ernst & Young take over a part of it?

26. This the first that I have heard of this RAMSAR treaty thing. Barbados signs on to everything. Why not this?

27. The issue isn’t the continuation of the Sanctuary. It is whether Allard will let government take it over without imposing his almighty conditions.

I am sick of these foreigners taking over.

28. The Sanctuary didn’t designate itself as a RAMSAR site. Only government can facilitate such status.

Barbados became a party to the Convention on Wetlands, and designated the Graeme Hall wetlands to RAMSAR status, except for the western portion owned by Southdown (Clico).

The Sanctuary occupies 35 acres of the current 81 acre RAMSAR site.

29. The Prime Minister appeared to be very clear in the message on this matter on Sunday. While he seemed receptive to cooperating in some fashion with Allard/GHNS he was also very firm in the point that the government will not be held over a barrel on the matter. In our view it is up to Allard to slacken his position to demonstrate good faith because it looks like PM Thompson will not be moved on this matter.

30. Ef you sick a de ferners tekking over why you dont tell u friend David to pelt out de blasted illegal Guyanese instead of a man that promise to GIVE Bajans a national park? Tell me dat. Look, try and get de man to forget bout Mia, she soon going brek up sheself, and try and straighten out de Graeme Hall issue so that I could mek myself happy when de day come, squaking and raking up crustaceans outa de lake and chatting up de egrets. Go and do dat fuh muh please.

31. The Prime Minister is a good man, but he may need better information than he has been given.

There are extremely talented staff people working for Mr. Thompson who have actually met and worked with Sanctuary personnel. They will confirm the Sanctuary’s cooperative stance over the years.

Ultimately the Sanctuary should belong to the people of Barbados, and its ecosystem and legal status within the Graeme Hall green space deserves to be protected in perpetuity. Perhaps Mr. Thompson should ask his staff why no one from government has called anyone at the Sanctuary to tangibly discuss what appears to be a major common interest.

32. @GHNS

Find it hard to accept that the Prime Minister would address the issue of the sanctuary on national TV and would not have been fully apprised of the situation.

33. David,

On point and regardless of what either of us might regard the behind-the-scenes mechanics, the issue stands: The Sanctuary should belong to the people of Barbados, and should be appropriately protected. That’s it.

Perhaps some would be surprised how this could be an actual opportunity instead of a perceived liability.

In a generation people won’t care about how it all came about.

34. Perhaps Mr. Thompson should ask his staff why no one from government has called anyone at the Sanctuary to tangibly discuss what appears to be a major common interest.

Untrue…

I called PM Thompson tonight and he said that he has spoken personally with Mr. Harry Roberts who met with him at Ilaro Court as well as Dr. Trevor Carmichael who represents the owner and that he asked for discussions/negotiations to begin even though Peter Allard wrote him an exceptionally rude letter accusing him of things he knew nothing about.

A man from Canada wrote via Dr. Carmichael and said that GHNS was not prepared to talk unless – first of all – the government was willing to commit to the area of land around the swamp being “quarantined.”

Mr. Thompson said that in acknowledgement of the public value of the investment he waived the Transfer Tax on the original purchase a few weeks ago.

This apparently was a long standing request the previous government denied.

How can you start to talk with the Prime Minister of a sovereign nation and set down conditions? They could not do it with Steven Harper in Canada and they will not do it in Barbados, the PM said. I agree with him.

Get serious guys. And stop with the silly propaganda over on BFP and here.

35. @GHNS

Don’t take this question in the wrong but if we understand correctly Mr. Allard is a billionaire or ar worst a multi-millionaire.
    Why put 85 people out of work?

36. David, my comments are no longer carried on Barbados “Free” Press because of the truth I have revealed about Allard and GHNS and its relations with successive governments. I have kept copies of all of my posts that were “moderated” by BFP.

Some committment to democracy and transparency, huh!

They carry on about integrity every day at BFP but their main financier, Allard, allegedly tried to bribe a former Prime Minister!

BFP was set up specifically to try to destablilise the former government. And after that, the present one, as long as GHNS did not get what it wanted.

This is a dangerous development.

And some unthinking people see it as merely philanthropy. But there are philanthropists who simply do what they have to do without throwing tantrums and being childish.

I passed GHNS last night. There is a huge neon sign saying Closed Until Further Notice. Another Allard ploy.

Will David Thompson let this man destroy Barbados’ reputation on BFP?

37. Well it look like at last we getting the truth about Graeme Hall. But I think it needs to reach a wider public because most Bajans are upset over the closure of GH and the Government is getting the blame. If Allard wrote the PM a rude letter it should be made public. Now we know the connection between Allard and BFP, no wonder they are so rude and insensitive (unlike David on BU), and I have known for some time that at least one of the BFP people is definitely not Bajan, and I also have my doubts that it is more than one person. Blogs play an important part – although they don’t reach the wider public – and I am very much with BFP on their call for ITAL (which I have strong doubts will come to pass), but they are always negative about Barbados in general and the Government, and it is obvious that they hate David Thompson. I hope the GH problem will be solved and that the Nature Sanctuary will re-open so that Bajans and visitors to the island can enjoy the beauty there. Thank you, Wuh, for the enlightenment.

38. I don’t even give BFP the benefit of my traffic by visiting their site anymore.

At first I thought they were genuine and wanted to do some good,now it is clear that as they got more popular they started to become really arrogant and obnoxious and said a lot of unfair things about david thompson.

I also resented this act they tried to portray that they are so colour blind because one of them is a white american married to a black bajan girl who got an illiterate aunt called ‘Auntie Moses’.

Then the constant bashing of BU really got to me as well.

Rubbish.

39. At stake is the future of Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary for the people of Barbados. What is truly distressing is that there are people who, because of their dislike for Mr. Allard, would prefer that no discussions happen at all and that any attempt to facilitate transfer of the Sanctuary to the people of Barbados is somehow wrong-headed.

As mentioned to BU’s David, future generations won’t care about anything that happens these days – they’ll want to go to the Park. Would anyone deny them?

There are some major distortions of the truth that need to be corrected:

The Prime Minister has indeed talked with Mr. Roberts, from all accounts it was a positive meeting that promised further contact and exploration of the possibilities. Responsibility for discussions and resolution of the Sanctuary issue were assigned to the Minister of Environment, and a meeting was held between a Sanctuary official and the Minister in early January 2009. This meeting also seemed optimistic and progressive and the Minister promised action within a week. The Sanctuary has heard nothing in nearly two months.

In regard to “GHNS was not prepared to talk unless…the government was willing to commit to the area of land around the swamp being “quarantined” is simply not true. It’s no secret the Sanctuary is in favor of the original intent of Graeme Hall lands including the Sanctuary being part of a major park on the South Coast, but this in no way stands in the way of discussions or government’s ultimate decision about what is best for the people of Barbados. The Sanctuary has always been available to talk anytime, anywhere.

It is indeed true that Mr. Thompson facilitated the transfer tax waiver for the Sanctuary which had been denied the Sanctuary since the 1990’s. This denial of benefit by the previous administration had no basis, as the Sanctuary has been and is recognized as a qualified participant under the Special Development Areas Act in other respects. After three letters of appeal by Sanctuary lawyers, the Sanctuary finally got what it was supposed to get all along.

The fact of the matter is that Mr. Allard has transformed one of the most beautiful natural heritage sites in Barbados, and it deserves to be preserved in perpetuity for the people of Barbados.

But to expect that one man should be the sole supporter of a national treasure in perpetuity is simply unrealistic and naive.

Regardless of personalities or politics, the environmental integrity of Graeme Hall matters to the health and welfare of the South Coast, and the the issue needs to be resolved for future generations.

The way to get there is to start with dialogue.

40. @GHNS
    The government has been in office for just over 1 year and their act though rightfully as thought by you to ” facilitated the transfer tax waiver for the Sanctuary which had been denied the Sanctuary since the 1990’s. This denial of benefit by the previous administration had no basis, as the Sanctuary has been and is recognized as a qualified participant under the Special Development Areas Act in other respects. After three letters of appeal by Sanctuary lawyers, the Sanctuary finally got what it was supposed to get all along.” should be seen as a measure of good faith by the government. You stated that two months have passed, the last minister you met with was probably Denis Lowe who would have been replaced by Sinckler? Why not work with the government a little longer especially if you can appreciate the economic priorities which maybe at play?

41. David,

I understand where you’re coming from, and appreciate your questions and perspective.

To clarify, the last meeting was in fact with Dr. Lowe in his capacity as Minister of Environment, Water Resources and Drainage.

The fastest way to stimulate the economy over the long term is to begin with a cohesive master plan that encompasses fully integrated social economic, education, environmental and cultural master plans.

In this regard, the Sanctuary could be an asset to help leverage economic recovery and long term quality of life on the South Coast. This comment is not meant to be coy, it’s just a reality for good planning.

It’s yet another reason for dialogue.

42. According to GHNS
    “This meeting also seemed optimistic and progressive and the Minister promised action within a week. The Sanctuary has heard nothing in nearly two months.”

David, if this is true one has to ask why the Minister of Environment has not sent any communication to The Sanctuary as promised. In January 2009, when GHNS says the meeting took place, the Minister was Dr. Dennis Lowe and still is.

Is someone asleep at the wheel? Does anyone care about the livelihood of the GHNS employees?

“Why not work with the government a little longer especially if you can appreciate the economic priorities which maybe at play?”

From the post by GHNS it seems that is exactly what they have done, and they are alleging that after 2 months there has been zero response from the Minister.

43. @Wuh?
    “They carry on about integrity every day at BFP but their main financier, Allard, allegedly tried to bribe a former Prime Minister! ”

Please tell us more about this bribery allegation.

44. Ask Owen Arthur. He said that he refused to deal with Allard because Allard tried to bribe him. The person who needs to know this is David Thompson.

45. In regard to “GHNS was not prepared to talk unless…the government was willing to commit to the area of land around the swamp being “quarantined” is simply not true. It’s no secret the Sanctuary is in favor of the original intent of Graeme Hall lands including the Sanctuary being part of a major park on the South Coast, but this in no way stands in the way of discussions or government’s ultimate decision about what is best for the people of Barbados. The Sanctuary has always been available to talk anytime, anywhere.
    ______

GHNS,

You statement above is incredibly untrue. Apparently there is a letter from one of your principals representing Mr. Allard indicating that if the government does not accept the designation, there is NO POINT TALKING! I will seek to get a copy for BU bloggers.

Secondly, where was GHNS or a wider area including the GHNS designated a Special Development Area? Where in the Schedule to the legislation is GH covered? I don’t see it.

GH was entitled to nothing. The new government has shown good faith. But my own view is that BFP’s constant dangerous slandering of our country and its leader – all financed by super-rich Allard (who hasn’t declared his assets or lifestyle!) – is obviously a factor.

In fact, I want to let your contributors know I have made it an issue in my converstation with Mr. Thompson who seemed to know nothing about BFP or their constant slander of him except he did say that his mother mentioned something to him a few weeks ago.

I presume that is why he can be so cool, confident and unflappable. But I can’t. I am a Bajan and I will resist any attempt by anyone to “hold the Government over a barrel” as GHNS is trying to do.

Dr. Lowe, take your time and think it over. If Allard wants to starve all the fish and birds, that will show what a real philanthropist he is!

46. Actually it is the people of Barbados who need to know. If someone tried to bribe former PM Owen Arthur he should reveal all in the interest of transparency, integrity and accountability!

Attempted bribery of a no less a person than a Prime Minister is a serious matter. It’s a shocking revelation and allegation and we have a right to know.

Wuh?, Since you have a direct line to Mr. Arthur can you bring the details and evidence?

47. Philantropist Myass Avatar
    Philantropist Myass

If Allard does not want to keep the sanctuary open then simply close it.

This attempt to force the government of barbados to meet Allard’s demands by threatening to send home 85 workers, should not be tolerated.

GHNS while being a worthwhile project is still a failed business venture .

Government’s involment in GHNS should be on its terms and not Allard’s.

48. I can see it now, a lovely urban development with a mix of housing, shopping and entertainment facilities, a marina and a hotel or two. A primary and a secondary school along with public recreational facilities (parks, running and exercise tracks and bicycle tracks) can also be provided. Ahh… a really good use for Graeme Hall.

49. Sing-a-song, you forgot to inlcude a waterpark. Wouldn’t that be the icing on the cake!

50. Ah yes, a water park, now that’s a nice touch.