stpetersbay

With the UK now officially in recession, with the economy shrinking at its fastest rate for nearly 30 years we’re sorry to hear you’ve lost most of your fortune. Through no fault of your own. Well, perhaps through some fault of your own. Like profligate spending instead of saving for a sunny day in Barbados. But no use crying over spilt…etc.

Gone are the university fees, the 2010 BMW, the promise from your bank manager – who no longer works there – to finance a luxury apartment on a tropical private beach (see above) and if that wasn’t bad enough you don’t know if, and when, you’ll be able to retire before 68 with enough funds to live off even by scraping through on sardines and the other bare necessities.

Well, we can’t help you. Sorry about that. But this might cheer you up. It’s common practice in advertisements for luxury gated beachfront property in Barbados to make potential buyers think they are getting a private beach. It’s never actually spelled-out. Fudge words are used to make you think the beach is private.

Here’s a classic example from St. Peter’s Bay which in their own words…

Read full article at Koolbarbados.com

1. That is such a misleading article with sooo much untruths it isn’t funny. Let’s analyse it.
    1.) That property is NOT in St.Peter
    but in St James bordering
    St.Michael.
    2.) Even though the beaches around
    Barbados are public, anyone using
    the beaches, especially near homes
    or hotels, are mandated to be of
    good behaviour.
    3.) This writer is trying to make bajans
    appear to be primitive ( roasting
    breadfruit on the beach in front
    the hotel?) what about the tribal
    dance and grass skirts?
    4.) whoever is Kool Barbados, let me
    say, it isn’t cool to write an article
    that is tainted with some much lies.
    5.) You seem to be English and still
    have that colonialist attitude. May
    I suggest you get real and if you
    want to market Barbados, do it for
    it’s true value and not the apparent
    racist overtones I hear coming
    through.
    6.) whoever you are, you owe Barbados
    and Barbadians/Bajans an
    immediate apology.

2. I am not giving them any hits so I will not be looking up that article.

I hate this piggybacking of these inferior blog sites.

3. NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN Avatar
    NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN

I remember not too long ago when roasting breadfruit at night on a beach was a fun thing to do. When no-one was mandated to be “of good behaviour.”

Who the hell in Barbados now decides what “good behaviour” is?

Oh yes, the people who rape – and continue to rape – our beaches to prevent kids playing football on them as happens regularly at Port St. Charles.

Instead of asking for an apology for this blog you should ask the people to change the name of this monstrous project St. Peter’s Bay if it is, in fact, in St. James.

Happy roasting breadfruit everyone!

4. Looks to me that work on St. Peter’s Bay has slowed down. Anyone know why?

5. Everything has slowed down…

Scout, my Bro’, another spot-on post…

Leh we roast some breadfruit pon de beach at Port St. Charles, enter from the Heywoods beach parking, an’ den move up de coast to Sandy Lane and ’round de corner to the Sands. Should roast a pig on de beach in front of The Sands. Mek it a big fete!

6. Yes, work at St. Peter’s Bay “Villas” has slowed dramatically recently. A Canadian visitor who toured the site last week told me she only counted five (5) workers on the job, and she was asking if the project would ever be completed. Why it’s in that state? I am guessing the GER (global economic recession). Too bad no one is paying any attention to the real damage this project has already done – the destruction of the beach at Road View, St. Peter where the groins they placed on the beach have completely obliterated the beach in front of the neighbouring Kings Beach Hotel (defunct).

7. @ The Scout

KNRX is absolutely right. I went there this afternoon to look for myself. Zero building activity.

And a big pile of ugly empty unfinished concrete from Sandridge’s to past Kings Beach Hotel.

And you talk about mandating good behaviour for us locals on our own beaches.

What about the reckless rapists who destroy our beaches and shoreline then pack up and leave the mess when they run out of money?

This is a national scandal and affects us all. Somoene must have approved this – the same someone who should now tell us what’s going to happen to this ruin. Or will it stay like this like some of the unfinished ruins on the South Coast?

8. Not surprisingly the marauding Realtors now having carved up the West Coast, complements of the government of Barbados, they have set sights on the EC islands.

9. KoolBarbados wrote “lovers necking in that still and always azure-blue sea”

Necking what. Making love/full intercourse is more like it.

If a Bajan tells you that they have never had intercourse in the sea they are lying to you.

After all why waste time necking in that azure-blue sea?

J is glad to report that the days of my youth were wonderful.

I wish the young people the very BEST.

10. Sorry Scout:

When I was young I was unable to be of “mandated good behaviour”

11. Roasted breadfruit on the beach too!!!And played beach cricket!!!

The tourist should all be “mandated” to try some of these FUN beach/sea activities.

12. Tell me which beach in front of a hotel right now that bajans go to and roast breadfruit? While the beach is ours, there is still some form of behaviour that is expected. Right now bajans can’t even go on Enterprise Beach/ Miami Beach and play a boom box to loud before the bajan neighbour/s don’t call the police and they send some-one to stop the music. You can’t even play music in your own house to loud to annoy your neighbour or you will be asked to lower or turn it off.You can’t burn stuff next to your neighbour and the smoke annoy them or they call the police. So tell me what you people are getting at.

13. One conclusion we have reached since we have been highlighting the West Coast rape situation is that ordinary Barbadians seem not to care enough about how our authorities manage our coastline and by extension our environment.

Maybe it is the reason why the respective governments continue to carve up our coastline in the adhoc manner that it does.

14. Half-finished St. Peter’s Bay currently looks like the Israelis shelled it. How long will it stay like this? And in this state no investor in his right mind would give the developers 50 cents for a private beachfront apartment there. That is if they have any cents left. (Both investors and developers.)

15. koolbarbados.com Avatar

How right you are. And the global credit crunch only makes it worse.

Drive along Highway 1 from Sunset Crest Shopping Mall towards Holetown and see only 8ft high wooden hoardings to keep prying eyes away from half-built or not yet demolished buildings where the rapists thought they could build and make a killing and now they can’t give houses and apartments away.

And Barbados is stuck with high wooden hoardings for years.

The only good news one of them isn’t cleaned every day anymore.

16. @anonymous

We do not recommend a blog to the BU family lightly.

17. koolbarbados.com Avatar

@ David – Thanks!

18. #Mullins Bay Blog: The Turtles Are Praying Again – http://shar.es/1ymP – #Barbados. Please Retweet.

19. Beach Disaster In Mullins Makes Frontpage News For The Second Time In 2 Weeks – http://shar.es/0Ci6 – #Barbados #environment

20. Mullins Bay Blog: Google Earth Map Of Devastated Mullins Bay Area – http://shar.es/XqXr – #Barbados #environment – Pls RT

21. #Mullins Bay Blog: Educate Yourself On The Mullins Bay Area Issues – http://shar.es/XdGI – #Barbados #Caribbean #environment Pls RT

22. Join the Save Mullins Bay effort by Re-Tweeting &/or sharing ths latest Nationnews.com story – http://bit.ly/YzVrv – #Barbados #environment

23. Couldn't Care Less Avatar
    Couldn’t Care Less

Ordinary Bajans lost Mullins beach when the bar was built years ago.
    They wanted the west coast for themselves so let them keep it now.

24. @ Couldn’t Care Less

…are you saying that we always get exactly what we deserve?
    …and the hurricane season only now about to start….

25. BT, what you say cannot be faulted however we must still continue to fight to right the wrongs.

26. More “ordinary Bajans” use Mullins Beach (sandy area from West Point to Four Winds) for recreational purposes now than at any time prior to the beach bar. There are ordinary Bajans who have not sold out to the developers and moved to the heights and terraces still living between the beach bar and the old Kings Beach Hotel you are abandoning with this gloating and mocking attitude. What if these people were laughing at you when the cave opened up in Brittons Hill? And, please don’t pray for hurricanes – they don’t just visit the beach, you know.

27. What #Barbados Lost – from the archive @ Mullins Bay Blog: “Beautiful Beaches A Thing Of The Past” – http://shar.es/HgRV – Pls RT

28. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Most of these condo projects are now in serious trouble, some may never get finished, or maybe in twenty years or so.

At least they will make strong windbreakers/ tidebreakers if we get a hurricane/ sea surge.

29. International coastal engineer again underscores need for comprehensive area solution for #Mullins Bay – http://shar.es/Hv3f – #Barbados

30. RT @HarleySpence: – http://tr.im/nf6r – Story & video may be instructive for #Mullins Bay & #Barbados

2 minutes ago from TweetDeck

31. Keep fighting Mullins Bay posse

32. Did interview w/ The Buccoo Reef Channel (Dr. Owen Day) on Mullins Bay issues today. Look for forthcoming video – http://bit.ly/rsGeI – #Barbados #environment

33. People becoming irritated over situation @ Road View/Mullins – http://shar.es/bZ18 – #Barbados #environment

1 minute ago from ShareThis.com

34. #Mullins Bay Blog: Rare Demonstration Of Public Spiritednes And Caring In Road View/Mullins Bay – http://shar.es/blO2 – #Barbados Pls RT

25 minutes ago from ShareThis.com

35. #Mullins Bay Blog: How Bajans Are Making Climate Change Worse For Themselves – http://shar.es/onaw – #Barbados #environment

savemullinsbay
    Save Mullins Bay

36. UK marine biologist chimes in on Road View/Mullins Bay environmental emergency – Nation News – http://shar.es/obDz – #Barbados #environment

14 minutes ago from ShareThis.com
    savemullinsbay
    Save Mullins Bay

This now means that two eminently qualified international experts have concurred that the groynes are impacting the beaches to the south – robbing them of sand and spinning off destructive longshore currents. Meanwhile, our local experts continue to push paper and otherwise occupy themselves hoping the emergency will go away. Well, it is not going away – it is only going to get bigger.

37. Mullins Bay Blog: Coastal & Tourism In Road View/Mullins Sundown Walk – http://shar.es/qol0 – #Barbados #environment. Please Retweet.

savemullinsbay
    Save Mullins Bay

38. Mullins Bay Blog: “Dark Hole Plight In Spotlight” – http://shar.es/P7TT – #Barbados

about 2 hours ago from ShareThis.com
    savemullinsbay
    Save Mullins Bay

39. St Peter’s Bay (remember the groynes) & Church get blistered in comments over Road View scandal – http://shar.es/PMpU – #Barbados

Save Mullins Bay

40. This Is Monaco: Is This What We Want For Barbados?: http://bit.ly/5JsQU

41. We should not blame Bjerkhamn for having a dream that Barbados become Monaco.

We should blame ourselves that we allow our politicians to surrender and prostitute our environment and by extension our country to greed.

42. Alas, we continue to be a nation of mendicants, which is why Government continues to be silent on the issues of the groynes at St. Peter’s Bay, the pushing of the poor people out of Dark Hole, and why Port Ferdinand was just allowed to destroy the last mangrove on the west coast. Lord, save us!

43. No change in policy under the new government concerning West Coast development then?

44. Same developers – same pockets – different pocket-protectors.

—> “Cove Bay To River Bay -via- Mullins Bay” – http://shar.es/azw0G

45. Visiting Canadian Journalist Witnesses, Investigates And Reports On Beach Erosion In Road View/Mullins – http://shar.es/m1rR3 – #Barbados 2 minutes ago from ShareThis.com

46. Big Surprise: NationNews.com Reporting CZMU In Hot Seat – http://shar.es/ma47Z – #Barbados #environment

47. http://twitpic.com/144ywe – Where’s the beach? – http://shar.es/ma47Z – #Barbados #environment