herbalremediesWith the rise of the modern society in the last 30 years or so; we have seen the emergence of traditional medicine and designer drugs. Some say we are the more healthy because of it, others say our dependence on traditional medicines has given root to a multiplicity of chronic maladies. This is not an attempt to dispute the wonders of modern medicine. The pharmaceutical companies and the medical fraternity, responsible or not are guaranteed financial security for at least the next generation given the current state of affairs.

Of relevance is the ageless practice of the Chinese to use complementary medicines as a legitimate first option to treat ailments. A check of the life expectancy of a Chinese (74 years) places them at no disadvantage when compared to a Barbadian (73 years). Some may argue that the size of the Chinese population and the vast areas of under-development in China makes the Chinese life expectancy number unrealistic.

How many of us remember scouring the gullies with an elder to pick bush to top-up the medicine shelf. There was the popular Bush Tea made from various bushes/vines reputed to conquer colds to the prevalent ‘bad feels’. The basil had a dual purpose i.e. to keep the mosquitoes away. What about the ‘bannin’ of the head with sea-grape leaves soaked in coconut leaves to bring down the cold?  Ginger tea was and still is a popular beverage to ‘break air’ lodged in the body.

We are not sure to what extent the bush remedies have been documented by our regional academic institutions,  if we were to guess we would say, not much if at all. We comeback to the point BU family member ROK has been making ad nauseam, the paucity of relevant research. What is undeniable is the lack of transfer of knowledge about Caribbean bush remedies given the disintegration of village life and the willingness to cart our aged to ‘homes’.

The BU family is fortunate to have a few grey heads in company who have requested that we start a blog to capture and discuss bush remedies. To take Hopi’s advice, any remedy posted and used is solely at the risk of the BU family member.

1. Submitted by anon

Rok/Juris

Someone just sent me this in an email.

I would like to share this interesting discovery from a classmate’s son who has just recovered from dengue fever. Apparently, his son was in the critical stage at the ICU when his blood platelet count drops to 15 after 15 liters of blood transfusion.

His father was so worried that he seeks another friend’s recommendation and his son was saved. He confessed to me that he gave his son raw juice of the papaya leaves. From a platelet count of 45 after 20 liters of blood transfusion, and after drinking the raw papaya leaf juice, his platelet count jumps instantly to 135. Even the doctors and nurses were surprised. After the second day he was discharged. So he asked me to pass this good news around.

Accordingly it is raw papaya leaves, 2pcs just cleaned and pound and squeeze with filter cloth. You will only get one tablespoon per leaf. So two tablespoon per serving once a day. Do not boil or cook or rinse with hot water, it will loose its strength. Only the leafy part and no stem or sap. It is very bitter and you have to swallow it like “Won Low Kat”. But it works.

*Papaya Juice – Cure for Dengue*

You may have heard this elsewhere but if not I am glad to inform you that papaya juice is a natural cure for dengue fever. As dengue fever is rampant now, I think it’s good to share this with all.

A friend of mine had dengue last year. It was a very serious situation for her as her platelet count had dropped to 28,000 after 3 days in hospital and water has started to fill up her lung. She had difficulty in breathing. She was only 32-year old. Doctor says there’s no cure for dengue. We just have to wait for her body immune system to build up resistance against dengue and fight its own battle. She already had 2 blood transfusion and all of us were praying very hard as her platelet continued to drop since the first day she was admitted.

Fortunately her mother-in-law heard that papaya juice would help to reduce the fever and got some papaya leaves, pounded them and squeeze the juice out for her.. The next day, her platelet count started to increase, her fever subsided. We continued to feed her with papaya juice and she recovered after 3 days!!!

Amazing but it’s true. It’s believed one’s body would be overheated when one is down with dengue and that also caused the patient to have fever, papaya juice has cooling effect. Thus, it helps to reduce the level of heat in one’s body, thus the fever will go away. I found that it’s also good when one is having sore throat or suffering from heat.

Please spread the news about this as lately there are many dengue cases. It’s great if such natural cure could help to ease the sufferings of dengue patients.

Furthermore it’s so easily available.
    Blend them and squeeze the juice! It’s simple and miraculously effective!!

2. May I suggest, David, that any submissions should be under the name of the ailment, with an attribution to the poster at the end of the post.

This would enable people searching for help to have easier access to the base: esp. if it could be included in your search parameters.

3. Wish I knew about this papaya about five years ago when dengue almost took my life. Talk ’bout pain. Lord a mercy. I have never experienced anything like it before. I could not even talk or eat. I was so weak. Is papaya the same as paw-paw or related?
    Garlic is good for ‘gas’ too, I hear.

4. Yes Bonny Peppa papaya= paw paw.

I am sure that some of you use the green papaya in your meat stews to act as a tenderizer. Edmund, the Biochemist actually used it for the active chemical pappain in the determination of the sequence of amino acids.

Cranberry juice is certainly a good remedy for those ladies who have chronic urinary tract infections. I have used tumeric as a pain killer in a patient who had difficulty taking NSAIDS (pain killers).

Note that care must be taken in using natural products. Some are poisonous, and some can cause great harm. St John’s wort is one that is potentially very dangerous, as it behaves exactly like the MOAI antidepressant drugs.

5. Posted on Barbados Free Press story about Black Woman Who Reads is Iain Deane…

“Jason
    January 27, 2009 at 2:54 am
    Wuhloss! Barbados Underground new story talkin about herbal medicines an such! This lying lawyer and BWWR story is posted on Keltruth for four days exposing BWWR as Iain Deane and they still talkin about “herbal medicine”

ha ha ha ha!!!!”

6. Say something David

7. BU, I’m absolutely, livid this morning!!

I think you should do something on this diabetic who could n’t get an ambulance until the newspaper, reporters turned-up!! Absolutely, scandalous!! Is this the best that Bim is capable of!!

Does n’t matter that your rivals are already covering the story!!

8. The problem is that if Barbadians don’t create-blue-murder about this, this level of ‘service’ will eventually, become accepted as the norm which none of us desire!! It could be YOUR turn next!! Perhaps, even today!!

9. funny thing, all day, every day the ambulances are heard all over the island responding to emergencies. I have not heard many if any complaints about poor service. The few incedences I have had with them, has been VERY professional. There must be a situation were they can’t respond immediately, though we don’t like it, we got to realise that this is possible. After all there are not a thousand ambulances and crew there just waiting for a call to respond, they might have been out on other calls already. What should they have done, stop that case and come to the other? What were we doing before the ambulance service started. As a young man, I have had to rush many a sick person from my village to the doctor or sometimes to hospital. i believe we have become too selfish to put someone in our vehicle now, in case the inside gets dirty

10. @ Scout

Sometimes it is noy as easy as putting a stranger in your vehicle and rushing them to QEH.
    Some time ago my friends and I did this to help a stranger and thought we were doing good but then the Police and his family let us have it .
    You can do more harm moving a person than just trying to make them comfortable, especially if you are not trained in basic first aid.

Secondly, there are still a lot of broken down ambulances.

The private ones will come fast but you have to pay.

11. Technician
    I agree, on has got to be very careful on who you put in your vehicle and the medical problem. Plus, I also agree that there are some broken ambulances, some just awaiting parts. However, there are many cases where a relative or friend can put someone in there vehicle and take them to the QEH but would wait for an hour for an ambulance, then complain.Plus sometimes while the ambulance is responding to a minor case, there is a very serious case that has to wait until one is available. I also know of more than one case of persons calling an ambulance just to get into B’town. As soon as the ambulance reach QEH the “patient” gets out and walk through the yard and into B’town. Some of us are our biggest victims/ enemies.

12. Scout you are clearly a stong DLP supporter.

Do you recall that last year that GP outlined how the publich health services in Barbados need to be run on a regional basis, with ambulances working within zones, moving from nearest polyclinic to site of pick up and back to nearest polyclinic?

Do you recall that last year that GP suggested that there should be at leasdt three such ambulances per zone. Some of these could be bought by donations from businesses in the respective zones.

Do you have to be a card holding member of the DLP or a DLP politician to make viable suggestions in Barbados that are acceptable to a DLP Government?

13. @Sarahpalin

Are you suggesting that Rok & Juris get involved in research on this important issue relating to men’s health?

14. anon
    Yes, there should be ambulances at strategic locations throughout the island. This nothing to do with the availability of an ambulance at all times. There would be times when someone just has to wait, that is unfortunate and that does not make me a supporter of any political party to say that. Funny thing, I have been accused of being a member of both parties, what is true though is that while I have a bias towards a particular party, I’m very open in my suggestions as I speak with a clear consience.

15. sarahpalin
    Between the twenties and thirties is when your hormones are very active and the best time for reproduction. What are the researchers saying,that you should wait until after fifty to had a lot of sex? When a man gets his FIRST child at fifty, when that child is a teenager, that man cannot really play games that actively with him/her and that is the FIRST child, what happens if he gets a second or third over a five year period. Many men who have lived to ninety and over have had fifteen or over children and started very young.

16. Scout
    You may not know this, but a lot of so called research is bull shit. At mosst Universities teachers have to do “research” and publish papers to keep thier jobs………and so……….they do……and the results are often BARE BULL.

17. Hi guys, well, you all seem pretty, content with the situ. as it is now!! I think that’s what, with my British experience, delineates me from you. I, am far less, easily, pleased!!

Hope you don’t have a heart-attack today!! Oh, I just remembered!! If u did and the ambulance took 2 hours to arrive you’d still think that was ok!!

Lord!! In dis world, or the next?!!

Listen, if Bim can afford flyovers, they should be able to afford a decent ambulance service, first!! It’s a matter of getting your priorities, right!!

18. I just love to hear Americans and Brits bashing our health care system……wow !!

19. I am as Bajan as you, and I have actaually worked in our health care system! I have every right to bash it as you have for being an obvious DLP apologist.

You guys were elected on the idea of CHANGE. What change what?

20. Tech, obviously, I can’t speak for the Americans but, I bash it because I care about it, which seems to be more than you do, symptoms of the Barbadian-syndrome pal + genepool!!

21. anon
    You gettin on like it is a blasphemous sin to be a “DLP” supporter. Wah wrong wid you? Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

22. Bonny peepa
    Is that all you could find to comment on? Wha bout wha GP had to say bout deploying the ambulances and improving the health care system? You aint nuttin to say bout dat!

23. No system is perfect, I maintain whether B or D there would NEVER be a perfect ambulance system in Barbados. There MUST be times when an ambulance will not be immediately available. Plus some people are too dependent on the ambulance service, even for simple headaches and as I previously mentioned just to get a ride to B’town.

24. another view,
    You did drinkin? You can’ tell me wah ta comment ’bout. Doan be a idiot sa early in de new year.
    All dese GTbanna ’bout hay got my head hot and you comin’ ta perplex me now too. Look, doan vex ma spirit do.

25. To sarahpalin:

But 20 times a month in the 20’s is NOT a high level of activity.

I think that 20 time a month for a 20 something is a LOW level of activity

Or am I weird.

26. Paw-paw and papaya are exactly the same. six ‘o one and half dozen of the other

27. Guys, let’s get it on. This thread is too important for chit chat. Hope I not stepping on anybody’s toes. Please remove your toes.

First let me say that it is one thing to have remedies for problems. My philosophy though, is to go the preventative route.

The first thing is learning to maintain the body in good operational order. If you do, when any sickness pass your way, you will be better armed to throw it off. This is the real benefit of maintaining the body. More than likely, you will not get the diseases if your body is well fortified.

No, I am not a medical student or authority on anything, but what I relate is based on my personal experience with diet. These are two good tips.

1. No matter your condition, whether obese or any other ailment, you will be well served with a variety of vegetables on your plate. Make sure that most of them are raw. Invert the amount of rice or pie and eat more bush. Also, try to make sure that at least one raw vegetable is part of your other meals. Eat sandwiches with lettuce, onion, garlic or tomato, etc. and it is best not to mix meats and starch; meats and veg or starch and veg is good. One thing about this, when you pass air it will never smell and you don’t have to ease it out, LOL!

2. Keep your alimentary canal flowing. Do this by drinking water every morning when you get up and before you eat breakfast and before you eat snacks, etc. If you can fill your stomach with water, that is good; you will pass it off and you will probably eat less breakfast too. This also increases the efficiency of the body to get nutrition to its different parts as well as eliminate excess that it can’t handle.

Finally, learn to listen to your body, it tells you things. If, for example, you eat a belly-full and still feel hungry, it means you have not ingested something the body wants. Eat fruit or grain as snacks (variety of natural foods).

On the other hand, you may eat something as simple as lettuce and feel invigorated, especially those whose body may be lacking whatever is in the lettuce.

28. Anybody can confirm or refute that Golden Seal is the same as Tumeric?

29. @ROK: “Hope I not stepping on anybody’s toes. Please remove your toes.

Thanks ROK. I needed that.

Lead. Follow. Or get out of the way…

30. @ROK…….Golden Seal and Tumeric are not the same even though the former is aka indian spice.

31. Scout, you seem surprisingly, complacent about the standard of service of the Ambulance Service in Bim! I hope they’ll not be so lackadaisical, if you have a heart attack, me bro!!

32. Dear BFP Friend:

They ain’t got no boats going to Australia?

33. ROK:

You can find fresh tumeric in nearly every market and supermarket in Barbados, and you can buy a piece, plant it and grow your own tumeric. It is very easy easy. Tumeric is also the thing that gives Barbados hot/pepper sauce its bright yellow color.

34. My mother taught me to use warmed cassava leaves to break a fever.

In the 1968? ‘flu epidemic my little sister had a raging fever and was delirious and as we say “talking idle” . It was late at night and we lived in the country, we had no telephone either.
    My mother used the cassava leaf treatment and in the morning the child was as good as new. No delirum, no fever, no “talking idle”. Forty years later she is still as good as new.

DO NOT eat cassava leaves, they are poisonous.

But warm some leaves lightly on the stoveor in a mocro-wave and place on the head of the person with the fever, tie the head lightly with a scarf. You can also put some of the warmed leaves in the pillow case and under the sheets. Ensure of course that there is no fire on the leaves.

35. J
    There is two different type of cassava; there is poison cassava that you can’t eat and obviously the non-poisonous one.

36. Scout, did n’t mean to embarass you my bro, it’s just that I don’t see complacency as being in the interests of anybody, in Bim!!

37. Ripe Breadfruit leaf is also reported to be excellent at keeping hypertension under control.

Wonder World is very good for colds and coughs. The leaves can be crushed or steeped.

It is quite easy to grow, it grows from a leaf.

38. Scout I know my cassava. Both kinds can be eaten. However the leaves of both kinds are poisonous.

In order to eat “poison” cassava the juice must be washed and squeezed out, the cassava dried, and then it can be eaten.

The sweet, non-poisonous cassava can be grated, prepared with sugar and spices and made into pone without first drying the cassava or removing the juice.

J former cassava farmer (among other callings))

39. Read this. It will amaze you. COCONUT WATER
    Here is some information about Coconut Water: ‘It’s a natural isotonic beverage,
    with the same level of electrolytic balance as we have in our blood.
    It’s the fluid of life, so to speak.’ During the Pacific War of
    1941-45, both sides in the conflict regularly used coconut water –
    siphoned directly from the nut – to give emergency plasma
    transfusions to wounded soldiers.. Most coconut water is still
    consumed fresh in tropical coastal areas – once exposed to air, the
    liquid rapidly loses most of its organoleptic and nutritional
    characteristics, and begins to ferment.

(i) Coconut Water is MoreNutritious than whole milk – Less fat and NO cholesterol!
    (ii) Coconut Water is More Healthy than Orange Juice – Much lower calories
    (iii) Coconut Water is Better than processed baby milk- It contains lauric
    acid, which is present in human mother’s milk
    (iv) Coconut water is naturally sterile — Water permeates though the filtering husk!
    (v) Coconut water is a universal donor– Its identical to human blood plasma Coconut Water is a Natural Isotonic Beverage – The same level we have in our blood.
    (vi) Coconut water has saved lives in 3rd world countries thru Coconut IV.
    (vii) Coconut water is the very stuff of Nature, biologically Pure, full of Natural Sugars, Salts, and
    Vitamins to ward off fatigue… and is the next wave of energy drinks BUT natural!’, according to Mortin Satin, Chief of the United Nation’s Food & Agriculture Organization.
    (viii) Coconut water contains more potassium (at about 294 mg) than most sports drinks (117 mg) and
    most energy drinks..
    (ix) Coconut water has less sodium (25mg) where sports drinks have around 41mg and energy drinks have about 200mg!
    (x) Coconut water has 5mg of Natural Sugars where sports and energy drinks range from 10-25mg of Altered Sugars.
    (xi) Coconut water is very high in Chloride at 118mg; compared to sports drinks at about 39mg.
    Data is based on a 100ml drink

40. GP:

Thanks for that reinforcement of the qualities of our coconut water.

(or is this spam, and you really run a stall on the highway) LOL.

41. What does the exposure of the water in the plastic containers to hours of sunlight do for the properties of the refreshing drink?

42. Once any fruit or vegatable is harvested exposure to sunlight is bad.

Best thing, watch the vendor cut the nut and drink it right away.

Just this weekend my little Johnnie was comenting thatthe bananas looked and tasted so fresh. I pointed out that the bananas grew only feet away from the kitchen table, and were harvested when yellow on the bunch.

43. GP

I was advised that the best way to reap the benefits of coconut water is to drink it by itself and allow it to digest (for maybe half hour) before eating or drinking anything else.

This sounds like it makes it good for when you can’t get to food or can’t eat food for whatever reason. It is also good for bringing up air from the stomach. From experience, a good bellyful of coconut water is quick and sufficient breakfast.