Prime Minister David Thompson

Tonight Prime Minister David Thompson faced the nation one year after assuming office. Barbadians may well feel satisfied that compared to previous governments the Prime Minister has been accessible to the Barbados media. As a footnote, most glaring was the absence of CBC Head of News Richard Cox. The nights event was moderated by CBC’s Michelle Arthur

Here are our thoughts about some of the issues raised during the press conference.

Economy

We were not able to discern that there is a clear-cut strategy mapped to manage the Barbados economy through the anticipated economic crisis. The Prime Minister although he referred to some projects in construction, housing and a few other initiatives to be started shortly, we are not happy with the wait and see approach. We don’t have to be an economist to know that there is a lag period which would impact the rollout of economic policies. Our gut suggests that the Prime Minister is holding a few cards close to his chest.

Corruption

The Hardwood matter and the progress of government investigations into corruption was discussed. Without regurgitating the details our conclusion is that the government is moving on. Any expectation by Barbadians which were fuelled in the last election that former government ministers et al would have found themselves before the law courts or prison may have become a distant desire. Prime Minister Thompson’s position has now changed to: he is not the police and is not in a position to prosecute matters. While this is true Prime Minister the tenor of your responses on the questions of corruption seems to have changed in the opinion of the humble BU household. After listening to the Prime Minister expound on this matter a sense of déjà vu overwhelmed us – business as usual it seems to be.

Immigration

The Prime Minister admitted that a major shake-up is on the way for the immigration Department. He declined to go into detail on the grounds of national security but he did confirm that an amnesty will be coming, especially for immigrants effected by the negligence of government i.e. misplaced files containing applications etc. He confirmed that the change in immigration policy will affect Guyanese most because they represent the biggest immigrant group in Barbados. Again we sense some shenanigans will likely occur on this matter. Our advice to the government if we were able to give it, this is not a matter for politics, the quality of life which Barbadians have come to enjoy is under threat. We concede that it is a messy matter and your sub-committee needs time to properly draft a rigorous and effective policy, we sense the patience of Barbadians maybe running thin on this one. The administrative issue which the Prime Minister referred to which is slowing work permit processing needs to be communicated to James Paul MP and Minister Benn who have alluded in the media to work permit challenges which is affecting efficiency in the agricultural sector.

Other

The issue of confusion on the byways of Barbados was addressed. The PSV issue appears to be active consideration. The sluggish progress on CSME rollout and a few other mundane matters.

Conclusion

Overall the Prime Minister appeared  very comfortable in his role and very easily fielded the simple questions lobbed the local press. It seems that he utilized an aggressive posture when he had to interact with veteran journalist David Ellis of VOB. Perhaps he recognized that Ellis provided the biggest threat of those present and it was his deliberate strategy to place Ellis on the defensive.

We applaud the Prime Minister for making himself available to the PEOPLE, our hope now is for the local media personnel to leverage Thompson’s willingness to make himself available by exercising different strategies to source more meaningful information from the Prime Minister. In this regard we suggest the format of the press conference be changed.

Let journalists jostle for the eye of the Prime Minister to ask questions, the current format makes the exercise too passive and easy for the politically savvy Thompson to negotiate.

1. Dear David, as this one’s coming to an end, please excuse this slight, diversion!!

Some months ago, I posted a subject for discussion on a Bim website, titled ‘Barbados must look after its children’, or words to that effect, the response to which was if I was speaking hindustanti!! I.e. not a single, reply!!

Anyhow, I’ve this morning, read in my valued British version of this week’s Nation of a case of child, sexual abuse involving two different, stepdads and below about another abusive situation involving a child!

I await the reaction, this time, to see if ‘the penny has dropped’, yet with Barbadians!!

http://www.nationnews.com/life/319660721027406.php

2. Canada is deporting 800 hundred Guyaenese back to Guyana.Read today’s edition of Kaieteur News.

In Barbados our clown Prime Minister is offering them amnesty and giving them Barbadian citizenship

I wonder what Ricky Singh,Norma Faria,Peter Wickham,Frank Dasilva & all the other pro immigrant supporters & symphatisers have to say about that deportation of so many Guyanese from Canada

3. 199 / Mr British Correct
    Next thing you are going to say is that we should speak the Queen’s english. Well I got news for you, you British don’t speak it either. Maybew you’re one of those Bajans who have gone to British and has become more British than the British. To you God save the Queen for your sake and while he’s at it save the adulterous next King Charles too and his racist sons. All of those are the ones you worship, that is your adopted culture, poor fella. Mr British Correct. Tell the Queen hello for me when you go to Buckingham Palace tomorrow in the freezing cold to watch the changing of the guards. Maybe you would see when she peep through a window, so carry a placard.

4. Negro Man
    Long time since I hear you. Your news is interesting, I doubted you when you told me about the amnesty but it now came from the “horse’s mouth.” I am Soooooooo sick about the whole thing that I’ve given up. This is Barbados and I will live here as long as I like and NO-ONE and I mean NO-ONE will take away what is mine. As I have said over and over again, these infidels can’t stop me enjoying my country. One day bajans will regret their mistake, I hope it will happen before it is too late.

5. The Scout
    My brother my information is always creditable and on the spot on.David Thompson proposed & agreed with an amnesty for Caribbean non-nationals

There will be no shake up at the immigration department.That idiot Thompson is incapable of cleaning up the immigration department.His hand are tied by the rich Indian financiers of his party.

Prime Minister David Thompson is a traitor.I will repeat he has sold out Black Barbadians to rat catcher,mango seller Indians & Pakistani for meat & other food stuff he receives on Saturdays..

6. Negroman,
    Shut up with your ignorance!!!!!

7. Negroman,
    Are you Mac Fingall?. I read some garbage from Fingall in Nation where he claims ownership for predicting Indians would take over Barbados. Fingall ought to claim ownership for being a jackass.

8. Scout, I doan k wha english you speak cause I does speak Bajan all d time!!

Laadddddddddddddddd!!!!

Scout, ME?!! Guh tuh Buckingham Palace to watch pretty, soldiers marching roun!! Lor!! Scout, perhaps, years ago when I din have nuthing betta to do but, dat was a long time ago!!

Laaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!!

Negroman, that was a very interesting latest, post above which I actually, bothered to read. You might be more generous and thank me for the helpful, advice which I gave to you about paragraphs. It does n’t take much to say, “thank you, very much ‘199’”!!

I ,too, am concerned about what’s happening in Bim vis. the Guyanese! Bajans must find a way of making their representatives more immediately, accountable to them than every five years!! A protest-march might not be a bad, idea!!

9. Long live David Thompson, us non -bajans enjoying your hospitality thought we had it good under Owen Arthur, but my oh my this chappie Thompie is something else. He is even better than Owen the way he looks after our interests. Long live this boy Thompie, Keep up the good work boy.

10. 119
    I am a man enough to say thanks for reminding me about the importance of paragraphs.However,remember this is the blogs and not an English examination where we express our opinions.

Prime Minister David Thompson has not lived up to our expectations and he will be a 1 term Prime Minister.We will get rid of the bribe taker & traitor

11. Beer Rat.O. Mama Avatar
    Beer Rat.O. Mama

The Prime minister came over as not having a grasp on the situation, of not fully able to articulate on the political and economic matters confronting us.

He was not convincing to me and a bit of a bore too,

The episode was not attention grabbing , it was not asthetically pleasing and it was enough to make one steupse.

The way he responded to David Ellis was at best childish and he reminded me of his days as a schoolboy. He came across more as a bluffer than anything else. David Thompson is Prime because people feel that he looks like a Prime Minister———thats all

12. Negroman, don’t be ungrateful. Blog or not, your post still has to be presented in a way for people to be interested in reading it!

13. Johnnie Too Bad,

Just omit ‘Too Bad’ from your name. Johnnie is good enough. Fit ya to a T.
    Ga long home, ya mudda want to pee.

14. I believe Thompson means well. But he cannot do everything we would like him to do. He is serving the country as a whole.
    Wait and see..people who are now singing Obama’s praises will soon be crying “cucify him..crucify him.

15. Negroman, I don’t think you ever did answer my question of why you choose to be known by a name which black people, these days, regard as an insult!! If the question’s too, difficult for you to answer then please say so!!

Do you also, go by the name of *igger?!! You don’t seem to mind what you’re called and do you recommend this for the rest of us??

16. Government must not bow to pressure from commentators like David Ellis concerning immigration.

The reality is that from casual observations too many Indian babies from illegal immigrants are been born in Barbados.

I am not a racist but most of the Caribbean Indians display racist attitudes. I have studied with them and work with them in a Caribbean island and have experience this racism.

Mac Fingall was right in his predictions even though presented in a comical calypso.If the BLP supporters want Barbados economy to fail so that they can return to power to continue this open door policy they are in for big surprise.

17. 199
    This is my final reply to you.You are on permanent ignore from me.I think you are an ass.

There are the negroid race,the caucasoid race & Mongoloid race.

What is wrong being refer to as a negro?

18. What is wrong being refer to as a negro?

Negroman, if you can’t think of the answer then ask the remaining 99.99% of black people, why they object to it’s use!! What’s different about you!!

19. I dont have a problem being referred to as a negro! I black is ass and love it!

20. JC, I black as ass and love it too, I simply don’t like being described as a negro, as do most black people, these days!

21. Negro Man
    Welcome to your entry into the “BAN 199 CLUB.” There are too many serious issues to discuss to waste time with an uninformed, ignorant person.

22. Scout, I’m happy for you to join the club, in company with 99% of the black population who, also, these days, find the term objectionable, who, no doubt, would ALSO see you as stupid – and you think that, I’m, ignorant!!

LOL!!

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TOP TEN FAILURES OF THE DLP GOV’T. IN IT’S FIRST YEAR.

(1) Failure to have DLP parliamentarians declare personal assets. This is going to come back to bite them in the fanny.

(2) Failure to implement Integretigy legislation.

(3) Failure to reduce the sky high cost of living in Barbados by any means necessary. All we got were excuses. This is a huge failing of the DLP Gov’t. If anything the cost of living has increased under their watch. This can not be good for them and they will find this out at the next general election.

(4) Failure to arrest and charge ANYONE with corruption of any type. They all know about the massive BLP corruption as we all do but they have choosen to do ABOSOLUTELY NOTHING about it. Everyone is deeply disappointed about this. This will have general election implications for the DLP.

(5) Failure to foresee the devastating effects incresing taxation on alchol would have on the hospitality industry our main foregn exchange earner. The guests are fuming at the high cost of alcohol in Barbados. Trust me they will take their business elsewhere.

(6) Failure to appoint a new Govennor General and Chief Justice.

(7) Writing off $19m. in taxes for the rich horse racing fraternity. This is encourging people to break the law. I certainly hope that if “forget” to pay my taxes that I will get a break from the DLP Gov’t.

(8) Failure to repair the roads in Water Hall Land, Eagle Hall. Money was there to repair the roads but the DLP has refused to repair them, they are in a disgraceful state right now

(9) Failure to start up the Police Complaints Authority in spite of a lot of talk.

(10) Allowing a disconnect to develop between DLP parlimentarians and their supporters. For example, there is a gentleman that I know who worked tirelessly on the behalf of Donville Innis in the runup to the last election, before the election he could get Donville Innis anytime, morning, noon, or night, but now that he is a Minister the only time that he sees him or hears him is when Donville appears on the CBC Tv. These DlP politicians now that they are moving with the rich and famous they have forgoten all about their supporters. It is personnaly embarassing to me the large number of DLP supporters who are telling me, ” these people are something else, you can’t see them or hear them except on tv”.

24. Suckoo gon have some stress too; all the faithfuls that supported her like lil ric

Caaaat wait caant wait can wait until voting day voting day voting day!

25. why man?
    she so purty! lol

26. Police Stationrathole Avatar
    Police Stationrathole

Dear Carson, not only waterhall land,but the bus stand for small buses is a mess, in cheap side ,some time ago I ask someone why the stand by the river was so unkept ,why It was so miserable? I was told , because the people are miserable. Well because we cannot afford a car,and have to take a mini bus, we are miserable? we do not deserve tidy surroundings?.Please tidy up the place , build some nice gazabos for the venders , sheds with benches for the elderly cover from the sun and rain, so they are note force to build unseightly sheds. Have the drivers and conductors wear uniform,and good grooming. Raise the standers. I recall when bus drivers were crisp and clean, they took pride in themselves Jeffrey , God rest his soul, his moustach was like Sir Walter Ralley.excuse my spelling(smile).I love Barbados ,( yes please) I met a lady in Ocala she said she visited Barbados and she has been please everysince. yesplease. Corruption is somethingelse, stop suppressing the weak stop the thiefing, no matter how much you steal u cant take it with you.