Vic Fernandes - CEO Starcom Network
Vic Fernandes – CEO Starcom Network

The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC)  decision to change the radio programming by expanding the talk segment appears to have gone down well. The introduction of the controversial neoliberal Peter Wickham as a moderator will boost ratings for that reason alone!

We also observe that the CBC was able to entice Marsha Hinds-Layne from Voice of Barbados (VOB) as well. We have become accustomed to the movement of personnel between CBC and VOB over the years and the competition in talk radio should hopefully make for better radio. We have to admit that we are not surprised at the move by Marsha. She appeared to be frustrated in recent months working under the heavy hand of VOB Talk Show Czar Michael Browne. We shouldn’t blame Browne, he is obviously acting under instructions from CEO Vic Fernandes. It is about saving the station money, to hell with standing up to frivolous suits to protect the honour of the Fourth Estate.

Lars G.O. Söderström Lars G.O. Söderström - CEO CBC
Lars G.O. Söderström Lars G.O. Söderström – CEO CBC

Peter Wickham’s departure has come as more of a surprise. After being treated like a step child by the Nation newspaper in the period leading up to the last general election, VOB was steadfast in their support for Wickham. He has admitted this publicly. We can only surmise that Wickham believes working for one year at VOB in the post election period should be enough to reward that loyalty!

A bit of advice to Lars who has been going about his work quietly at the CBC. You don’t need Wickham on the air for three days, he will become boring after awhile. Why not team-up the hugely popular Tony “Admiral’ Nelson and Larry Mayers to cover the topics of Entertainment/Culture/Sports on Wednesdays?  That”s the finish you need!

On the subject of talk shows.

For several years now listeners to VOB have had to tolerate the annoying malfunctioning telephone system which continues to produce poor audio. Many listeners to VOB who call to report the problem are sometimes made to feel that it is their telephone, or their audio pitch, or some reason other than VOB’s malfunctioning telephone system. We have delayed blogging about this problem because there was nothing concrete we could use to point blame. After listening to Peter Wickham last week on CBC, he hinted that he was now working with superior equipment. The cat is now out of the bag. VOB needs to remember who have made them popular, the PEOPLE and show more respect by fixing the problem of its malfunctioning equipment.

The irony is that VOB has increased its afternoon talk show segment to 3 hours but the poor audio quality remains. Could this be about generating more advertising opportunity in what is projected to be a bleak 2009? If it is then it says a lot about how executive management views its obligation to providing good service to the PEOPLE.

Now that Peter Wickham is at CBC it will be interesting to wait for a CADRES study to determine which station  gets to be King of talk show radio in the afternoon.

Thanks to BU family member who prodded us to highlight this matter after several unanswered communications were sent to the station.

162 responses to “CBC And VOB Battle For Top Talk Show Slot In The Afternoon”

1. ha ha ha Peter Wickham will be a lightning rod, which is good for CBC and ratings, but i think you are correct, that after a while people will just move on and leave Peter to his opinions. He will not change anyone.
    Over the years Barbadians have demonstrated a willingness to talk, and to be heard. The Talk show format is to my mind a gold mine waiting for someone to access it. While i do understand the fear of libel threats, etc, that can be manage within an expanded talk program. On the topic of Moderator and consistent appeal, I think Dennis Johnson beats them all. He covers many topics at a detail level not match by any other.

2. The VOB talk show has become boring, same, callers (mostly), same topics and mainly a lot of partisan politics. Then there are moderators like Tony Marshall who likes talking down to his callers. The format at CBC was somewhat different, more informative with Sydney Simmons. However, now that Peter Wickham is there, it has degenerated to the VOB type of call-in programme and CBC has lost at least one listener that I know of and that person is me.

3. The call in programmes can work if the moderators would be more informative instead of condescending. I think that periodically they should have expert guests on the shows to educate the listeners because i find that many of them especially the regulars say things based on ignorant opinion instead of concrete evidence and that does a disservice .

Peter has a way with words so that although I often dont agree with him I like to listen to him.

I detest listening to Tony Marshall who can be a pomp**s a**hole at times. Dennis Johnson is very good.

Peter is definitely a polarising figure and in my opinion thats good Radio.

4. A good talk show host is able to “facilitate” contributors’ opinions to the programme; however much he/she disagrees with those opinions – within the Law of course – thus there is synergy and expectancy to what is being discussed. This makes the programme fresh and varied.

A talk show host who has strong opinions and openly expresses them, is often viewed as trying to corral the audience into his/her way of thinking, there is a freshness about disagreement when it is without rancour and thus acknowledged.

5. I find that you put someone of barely average intelligence to host a talk show and they become a guru on every topic under the sun, law, government, religion, medicine…this is true of every one of them.

6. @Juris

Agree with you wholeheartedly. But they don’t have to be Guru’s. They can share an opinion about their area of expertize but mostly they need to facilitate.

But who are the ones to blame? The PEOPLE are so lazy in thought that they call most of the time with the expectation that they need to have the opinion of the Guru to validate what they have to say.

7. The thing is though, David, if you disagree with them, the next thing you know is that the host is apologising for “losing that caller”. So what we have now is a sort of “mutual admiration society”, where you simply accede to the moderator’s views. This is especially true of Marshall and Johnson.

8. Mutual Admiration Society Avatar
    Mutual Admiration Society

The talk shows are a mutual admiration society, much like Barbados Underground has become since the DLP won the election. David, can we please have one article a month that is critical of the DLP government in a specific way? you’ve really lost your foundation. A year is coming up and we really have a change of party forming the government but no real change in how things are done. Different thiefs, that is all.

9. It is about time that Starcom gets a run for its money.

They were already heading downhill before the arrival of michael brown the freelance man/producer.However when he stepped in with his dictatorial policies on censorship and on the whim deciding what HE wants a caller to say,then discussion became stagnated.

Recently callers have been expressing to the moderators their frustration and anger at michael brown who unfairly cut them off – just because he can.

One man last week was shouting at the top of his voice asking what did he do to michael brown to be treated that way,another one said on friday that he was about to quote a certain section of the law to counter some point made and he was cut off.

VOB I believe has lost a lot of ground because they felt that the radio audience and the radio callers were not important,but it was just about the advertising dollars and the moderators and producer.

They are almost passe`.

Too many complaints against that station whether it is about ms veoma ali the lesbian woman beater,the horrible announcers on Hott f.m. or the attitude of moderators and producer on the call in show.

However peter wickham is also going to turn off a lot of people if he goes to CBC with the same bad habits he displayed at VOB,that is,trying to push his homosexual and open border/immigration agendas to the public.

Somehow though I think the radio audience is going to be the better for this new push by CBC.

More choice and a stepping up of the game by VOB.Already I can sense a bit of concern nearing panic by the station,because it is well known advertisers go where the audience is,and the larger the audience the greater the income from advertisers.

By the way who is john lovell the new moderator on CBC?

10. Nothing wrong with a mod showing some personality. The best ones have always demonstrated such. For example you remove Dennis Johnson’s passion and he becomes ordinary. Contrast this with the blank style of Babb.

We suspect if there was a survey of the mods at this moment DJ would be 1 or 2.

11. DJ is passionate yes, but he is too prickly at the slightest thing such as asking him to speak up on what is a notoriously low volume VOB. He seems the cleverest though, together with Ellis. Marshall is too pro-establishment, Babb is warmed over cold soup gone cold again; Wickham is too predictable and the evening crew is at best mediocre.

12. Mabye if VOB were to fix their very poor technical quality the callers and moderators will be able to have a civil conversation as opposed to having to shout at each other.

I am truly amazed that this poor standard of technical quality have been allowed to continue for so long with not a peep from the callers/consumers.

I refuse to believe that LIME and VOB cannot fix the problem of volume during the call in programs. I am beginning to believe that a rocket scientist is needed at either LIME or VOB to fix this problem.

It causes the program to be disjointed and sometimes border on bad manners.

Why has not VOB pressured LIME into fixing the telephone connection if that is the problem. If it is otherwise, why have the engineers at VOB not fixed it.

No moderator or producer turns off the listeners as much as the constant line ” Can you speak up please” or ‘You are very low” ….and sometimes this is being said at the same time by both the caller and moderator.

13. @Annette

Remarkably there is the technology out there which would allow VOB to work around LIME,s PSTN network. That is out of the question because of the high advertising revenue which C&W provides.

14. I know David, but why must we the consumers/listeners be subjected to this poor service?
    Certainly your comment is not offering an excuse for this unsatifactory state of affairs. Or is it?

15. @Annette

Our comment was to explain the basis for the silly decision which has allowed the poor quality to continue for so long. The silliness of the decision maybe so realised if CBC can get their talk show segment right. VOB maybe suffocating the goose that lays the golden egg.

16. @Juris

• I find that you put someone of barely average intelligence to host a talk show and they become a guru on every topic under the sun, law, government, religion, medicine…this is true of every one of them.
    Are they any different from some posters to the blogs?

17. All these talk-shows are basically de same. Sooner rather than later they will all become monotonous and will eventually die a ‘natural death’.

I like all de moderators except Dennis Johnson. His constant laughter is sickening to my ears.

As for the ‘regular’ callers, I have no problem with them really. It is the message as opposed to the messenger.

And to quote my man/woman Ace, ‘crap, crap and more crap’.

18. Juris // January 11, 2009 at 11:06 am

I find that you put someone of barely average intelligence to host a talk show and they become a guru on every topic under the sun, law, government, religion, medicine…this is true of every one of them.
    ==========================
    I don’t agree with you. I have never gotten the impression from any of the moderators that there are an expert on anything. What i have gathered from your comment and from similar opinions by others about the moderators is that this is solely of your making, but don’t mind me, give the blog family a couple intances when a moderator said something that could not be otherwise construed as the utterance of someone taking on the position of a guru.

I think it is likely as David said that you set that standard and without the moderator’s permission, attempt to stick them with guru lable knowing full well that they cannot measure.

….Alright then, the talk show is not your cup of tea and “some” blog poster rub a NCO de wrong way, to you i say turn off, and to them tune out. 😀 ha ha ha ha ha I believe strongly that the talk show participants and this blog poster aint gine nuh way. ha ha ha ha ha

19. @MAS

This week we have been promised a report to the nation by the government. We will get to listen to the respective ministers talk to the PEOPLE. We will be listening with keen ears.

We have addressed your accusation before on BU and BFP, we declared our position one year ago.

BTW don’t you think the issues we have been addressing are important to the PEOPLE?

20. @AH

Some time ago before the election of you know who you said you were taking a break because the liberals in Bean Town were coming to get you. I thought that meant you were retreating to Alaska to attach your star to a certain politician’s coat tails, but I see you are back

Was my post too close for comfort? I didn’t have you in mind so don’t duck for cover, and as you have more than you can handle with the lady blogger who has threatened to haul you before the courts I promise I will donate to your defense fund (lol).

21. Anyone know what was the last year CBC provided audited financial statements? How much of our taxpayer monies are going down that botomless hole?

22. Sargeant // January 11, 2009 at 7:35 pm

@AH

Some time ago before the election of you know who you said you were taking a break because the liberals in Bean Town were coming to get you. I thought that meant you were retreating to Alaska to attach your star to a certain politician’s coat tails, but I see you are back

Was my post too close for comfort? I didn’t have you in mind so don’t duck for cover, and as you have more than you can handle with the lady blogger who has threatened to haul you before the courts I promise I will donate to your defense fund (lol).
    ==========================

Sarge you are not a threat to me online, and i doubt very much that my view would change on seeing in real life.

If you are referring to Kim Young/J as a LADY BLOGGER, I only recognize the blogger 🙂 If this is whom you refer too. My opinion of this blogger is the same one i have you. You are to my mind both emotional windbags.

….Kind of silly for you to think your weak arguments would somehow get stronger when i am not around.

The Comment i made then had to do with discussing American politics, in here. There is no utility in engaging lightweights on American history and politics likeself in here, and so i have stopped. 🙂

23. @AH

The Comment i made then had to do with discussing American politics, in here
    You seem to believe that residence in the USA provides you with some sort of superiority when discussing American politics in this forum. Well talk about windbag it takes one to know one, with your reproducing multiple posts critical of Obama from The Wall Street journal etc. and announcing you were going to vote for McCain. Speaking about weak arguments after the election was over when there was egg all over your face you posted something to the effect that a birth certificate existed which proved Obama was not born in the USA.

Here once again is my query attached to the statement from Juris:

• @Juris
    • I find that you put someone of barely average intelligence to host a talk show and they become a guru on every topic under the sun, law, government, religion, medicine…this is true of every one of them.
    Are they any different from some posters to the blogs?

“Who the cap fit let them wear it”

24. Adrian Hinds wrote “Kim Young/J as a LADY BLOGGER”

I am J.

I am NOT Kim Young.

I do not even know who Kim Young is.

25. Sargeant // January 12, 2009 at 9:32 pm

what can i say. You are incorrect. I don’t seem to think anything along those lines, and your opinion agreeing with another opinion about average intelligence, of talk radio moderators and blogger are but two opinions, which i don’t share and dismiss out of hand. lol! If you are an intelligent blogger just make sure that you at all times win the argument against the bloggers of lesser or no intelligence. To do otherwise may reflect poorly on you and your assume mental prowess. I voted for McCain, and Barack is now my President, and will have my fullest support, as i will do whatever i can to ensure his/my success.

@J

If you are not Kim Young, then Kim Young is not you. She is already a “nobody” so not being you is of little concern to me. ha ha ha ha lol!

I really have to learn to ignore Idiots like myself. It does not help me to grow and improve beyond my predicament. lol!

26. Dear Friend!
    Welcome to my “Blog”, with electronic adress URL: http://nikotev.wordpress.com/
    In the new variant of the blog there are very much new informers, themes, banners and analisys by the variouse problems of the military history and policy. They will be very interesting for you! In the world system of the cybersytes, the blog received a high mark “600,5”.
    Your friend Nikolay Kotev

27. AH why you dont behave yourselve I see that you are at your best as usual.

28. But JC, I am just accepting that I am not intelligent, That no matter who is, and who is not Kim J Young, she is still to my mind a “nobody” cause i don’t “no de body!”, That during election season i gine back a fella and no matter who wins de winner will become my leader, and that i believe in self improvement, and will commit to ignoring people whom i deem to be an idiot like me. Now tell me how is that misbehaving? Even if yuh change um to “Must be having a drink or two” yuh would still be wrong. ha ha ha have good day!

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What is the latest on Veoma Ali and Karen Clarke?

30. What is the latest on Veoma Ali and Karen Clarke?
    ………………………………………………………
    Carson, you should be asking what’s the latest regarding CBC’s unprofessional reporting about the Nigerian nurses. CBC is so shame that it didn’t had the gumption to report the strike with the other Nigerian nurses, the statement by the NUPW or the disassociation of the action by the Minister of Health. Do tell me who approved the airing of that story? Why was the language of the nurses were sent back to Nigeria in ‘body bags’. That was the biggest form of insults to alleged sufferers of HIV which is internationally protected by laws regarding the exposing of individuals by the media.

31. @ ALL

Here’s the International standards for journalist regarding people with AIDS.

“What about confidentiality?
    Journalists should not disclose the identity of a person with
    HIV unless they have explicit permission to do so. Stigma
    and discrimination continues to be a major problem for
    people with HIV. In many countries HIV-positive people are
    shunned and stigmatised by their families, their community,
    their employer and even their local health service. If a
    person agrees to be identified, it is important the journalist
    ensures they are aware of the potential consequences”.

Did CBC management subscribed to the that failed standard.

32. TMW I understand your point but they claimed that Iakobi was a buller and nobody aint say a THING! And these allegations were proved WRONG!

AND HE IS A BAJAN! Why dont we speak out on these things as well!

I like a backing Todd cause we really need to start keeping things real bout here cause everybody kicking up pist bout these Nigerians. NOT A BOY AINT SAYING A TING ON THE BEHALF OF THAT RASTA BOY! Wow!

33. JC. It is difference regarding calling someone an homo or someone calling an individual using language that would point out a person(s) that might have AIDS.

However, I totally agree with you regarding the shift of focus regarding Iakobi ‘s death. This might just be an affront to divert justice. Regardless, The Lord ain’t sleepin’ and Justice will prevail. You think that the man would have waited for the presence of the Law for him to jump? Give me a break.

34. Rightly or wrongly BU sat on the story about the Nigerian nurses. Wonder how me feels about this issue.

35. me…is very upset a both stories especially the one about the nurses.

The issue with the nigerians nurses sets a dangerous precedent. Are we now going to be disclosing peoples private business when we feel like it ? And exactly how does our society benefit from this disclosure? I think that expatriat nurses will not be looking favorably on Barbados in the future..is that a good thing?

The Homo angle with the late rastafri yute….
    1. Being homo does not make you suicidal
    2. Was it necessary for the coroner to investigate every gossip angle in Public.
    3. I would be upset also if I were the two men who were questioned since it appears they had a relationship an now their business is on the street…
    4.Maybe if we all were not so concerned about homosexuality then this all would be a non issue.

36. Na Tell me why, as the people would say same difference. I’ll tell you why …….. Just now you will hear that Iakobi thought he had contracted AIDS or some stupid theory!

I know the Lord aint sleeping but Lord he standing real long to deal with these Frauds.

I don’t feel for the nigerian nurses; I feel for Iakobi’s parents, family and friends.

37. Let us be hypothetical!

What are the implications of primary healthcare personnel(nurses/doctors with AID/HIV delivering service?

38. Fair enough me; but for years we know for a FACT that if you are a homosexual you are stigmatised as well!

39. What tell me why who has been running between BFP and BU pushing this story does not want you to consider is :Under whose administration did these nigerian nurses come in?

Of course it’s under owen arthur and therefore we have to ask were these nurses required to do any tests for Hiv/Aids,Malaria,Cholera whatever?

A lot of them have to keep repeating the standard nursing exam and yet they are here – were they tested before coming to Barbados to make sure they were really meeting the required professional standard?

I don’t want no nurse with Aids looking after me when there are chances that there could be an accident with a needle and blood could be contaminated.

Also who has the pay to treat these nurses during the time they were here and sick with Aids and could not work and who has to pay to ship their body back to africa?

Of course it is this little struggling country Barbados and the new Thompson administration which finds itself cleaning up all the filth that arthur left behind,yet still all the yardfowls trying to come on this site and tell us how great arthur was as a leader.

Even BU in their last article talking ta-ta about how Arthur performed well as economic leader.

You mean with all the debt he left us in and alll the corruption and tiefing he and others engaged in as well as the bad policy of selling off our limited spots of land – and he is an economic master?

Crap,crap and more crap!

40. Was CBC wrong to have gone public and is Minister Donville wrong?

41. I heard about this for a while but was shocked to hear it on the CBC news. This goes to reinforce my point earlier of unprofessional journalism. The media have to show some maturity in their release of sensitive information. Not only the african nurses are worried but bajan patients who were attended to by any african nurse, for that matter any foreign nurse. I wonder if these nurses where from a first world country if this “news” would have been aired.

42. I believe that if you check wth the National HIV/AIDS Commission, you will find that there were several seminars for journalists which aid out a protocol for reporting.

I will assume that Richard Cox never attended one. Furthermore, if there is a protocol, Mr. Cox should now come under scrutiny for breaching it.

As a senior officer of a Government owned station, his responsibility is even greater than that of a privately owned media house. It is a serious breach and he would not have like the repercussions to his family, if it was done to him.

We like this juicy gossip but what they should report, they does hide up and then take it out on the defenceless. I am sure that the NHAC must be spinning on its pivots.

Of course, he may actually get an award for saying that the BLP bring nurses to Barbados with HIV/AIDS and that this is another side of BLP mis-management and ineptness. Bravo! Cheap politics.

43. that should be “Laid out a protocol”.

44. Do you get aids from touching…. how would you get HIV from a nurse ?
    Are all Bajan nurses tested fro everything?

Is that knowledge made public? How about the doctors?
    How about the shopkeepers and all the people handling your food?

Nurses and doctors are required to use techniques that prevent the transfer of infection from them to you and vice versa hence the use of gloves, masks, sterilized instruments etc etc…

Be careful what you wish for…

keep driving people away and all u will have left will be who and what exactly???

45. me

You are so correct. I don’t think that Mr. Cox used his education and his ability to reason at all. More and more, the only reason I see is political embarassment and if this outweighs all other considerations, then we understand how callous party politics really is.

I am embarassed for you Mr. Cox. Not only have you brought CBC into disrepute, but being a scholar of that illustrious school in St. John, you have given the public cause to paint all St. John scholars with the same ig’rant brush. What? Sir Henry Fraser?

But let me tell you something, the same politician that put you up to it, will wash his hands and leave you in the cess pool when the time comes. If you had stood your ground, the protocol would have saved you. You need to admit that you did ig’rance so that people would know that you know you did ig’rance. Save your soul!

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“Rightly or wrongly BU sat on the story about the Nigerian nurses. Wonder how me feels about this issue.”

Was there any benefit to sitting on the story?

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hard or soft news is news.

I support CBC in broadcasting the story. The public needed to know.

What is amazing to me is the large number of hypocrates on this blog. They want the news aired but they don’t want the news aired.

48. Carson

You are full of it. What good did it do for you to know? We may be hypocrites, but I see that you are part of this gossip mongering crew. On this score, I would rather be a hypocrite. The story should never have been aired. Are not all dead people transported by air in body bags? For obvious reasons? My mother came back from Canada in a body bag and she did not have AIDS.

49. Thanks me, we agree 100%.

50. it should not be made into a political issue….