Submitted by Guyana Consul Norman Faria. The letter was submitted to the Sunday Sun in September 2008, we are not sure if it was published. In light of the ongoing debate on BU about the Guyanese issue we have decided to publish it.

100px-flag_of_guyanasvgMichelle Springer
Feature Writer
Sunday Sun newspaper
Fontabelle, St.Michael
Barbados

SUBJECT: GUYANA CONSUL SUBMISSION ON GUYANESE WORKING OVERSEAS FOR SUNDAY SUN (BARBADOS) FEATURE ARTICLES

Dear Ms. Springer:

The Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Guyana in Barbados presents its compliments and has the honour to provide you with  Consul Norman Faria’s views on Guyanese working overseas, in particular Barbados,  as you requested for part of your series of articles on the subject. Other contributors you mentioned  will undoubtedly provide the basic demographic details and reasons (political or otherwise, correct or selective as the case may be) for so called migration. In the interests of time and space,  I will confine myself to three falsehoods sometimes connected in the Barbados media  to the most recent situation, let us say from the early 1990s which coincided with the democratic elections of 1992 which brought the PPP/Civic to power.

FIRST FALSEHOOD: Guyanese are fleeing their homeland because of the dire poverty there and that there is no hope for the future.

REALITY: No one denies that there is still people leaving Guyana including migrating to reside permanently. But why emphasise “dire poverty” and other misinformed worst secnario descriptions ?   Guyanese, like Bajans, desire a wage level they hear and read about workers receiving in other countries. A main reason for leaving, against the backdrop of many manufactured items for everyday use having to be imported into Guyana and having to be paid for by externally influenced costs, is the lower wage levels in Guyana relative to othe countries such as Canada and the US and even CARICOM countries like Barbados. This desire to better oneself, to make more money to provide for families and buy a house and property, is the same. It is the same yearning  which forces Bajans for example in more higher per capita earning countries to enter in farm and hospitality sector programmes which Barbadian Ministers of Labour from all administrations periodically promote.  It reflects worldwide  patterns. Such an economic imperative cannot be equated with the undeserving description of “Guyanese fleeing dire poverty”. Indeed, statistics do not bear this out. Though we need to be sensitive to Guyanese who vote for or support this party, the historical reality is that under the PNC’s  undemocratic rule, Guyana’s economy was worse than Haiti’s. That was very real poverty. Indo-Guyanese and Afro-Guyanese both suffered. There were very real social problems. Since 1994, improvements in the economy  mean that Guyanese of all races are living better lives in terms of higher wages, housing, health and educational services and other benefits and enjoyments. Life expectancy in Guyana, for example,should be 70 years old in 2011 whereas it was in the low 60s in the 1980s. Other advances are well documented including statistics from international  agencies. This progress will continue to deepen, even more so when there is co-operation from all instead for example of organised elements supporting criminal acts to try (it is doomed to failure)  and destabilize the country and divide people…

SECOND FALSEHOOD: The Guyana government, led by President Jagdeo, is deliberately sending Guyanese to Barbados. He even admitted it in a Nation article !

REALITY: As stated in the foregoing, the Guyana government recognises worldwide movement of peoples  and the benefits to be obtained therein for our continued development and progress for all its peoples. Guyanese, like Bajans,  have the freedom to travel overseas to work. Against the backdrop of ongoing pre-CSME situation,  the Consulate has put proposals before relevant authorities for a more structured system so as to weed out parasitical elements such as some lawyers and immigration consultants preying on my people.

THIRD FALSEHOOD: Afro-Guyanese are  “fleeing” Guyana because of racial persecution.  “Indian government discriminating against black people” may be a mantra from some misinforned or wilful individuals.

REALITY: Though one may understand the temptation to pander to the sensitivities of the largely Afro-Barbadian population in Brabados, this view is not backed up by serious thought and statistics and indeed embarrases many decent minded and knowledgeable Afro-Guyanese in the island as well as Afro- Barbadians.

The political philosophy of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) presently governing Guyana  is said in the party’s constiution to be Marxism-Leninism. Its theories have come out of the European Enlightenment which have impacted upon all the western liberal-democratic traditions as we know them today. The present Guyana government cannot therefore be  discrimatory against any particular race, colour or religion.The party’s roots were when formed, and continue to be, in the Guyanese working people and  poor farmers. It also fully supports the patriotic business sector and provides them with all available support. As a Marxist, I would not have accepted the offer of the PPP/Civic government to become Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados in 1994 if I knew that I was representing  a government with  a discrimatory party having a majority.. Marxism is for the unity and happiness of all peoples, particularly the working class and its allies.No amount of selective and dishonest rewriting of history, including what  happened in the Soviet Union, can change that.

Burnham’s split during the 1950s from the original anti-colonialist and Marxist PPP to form the pseudo-socialist PNC  was engineered with the financial, ideological and other support  from the Central Intelligence Agency in the US  and British intelligence services aided by unpatriotic  local elements including the leadership of the then Catholic church in the country and overseas.. This reality   is at the root of any racial challenges presently  facing us in Guyana.The split was supported and aided  by sections of the Afro-Guyanese middle class (there were of course principled and courageous members who stood up against Burnham and his cohorts) who wanted Afro-Guyanese rule on a permanent basis, the statement in the Brabados press by my predecessor  that the PNC takeover including rigged elections  was necessary to “keep out” the Indians  being symptomatic.  This is all well documented by serious political analysts such as Jamaica’s Carl Stone, who described the PNC as “neo-fascist”, and US and British unclassified documents. Consul Faria cannot therefore be accused of being politically partisan. The Consulate cannot, and does not, discriminate on the basis of political affiliation or any other basis.

When the PPP/Civic was elected in 1992 after nearly three decades of rigged elections there was general discrimination against the majority Indo-Guyanese and causing them socio-economic and other hardships along with Afro-Guyanese. The civil service , including the armed forces and police, were almost all staffed by Afro-Guyanese. The Permanent Secretaries, like the majority of the Cabinet,  were Afro-Guyanese. I was Publications Secretary for the Southern Africa Liberation Committee (SALC)  anti-apartheid support group in Barbados in the early 1980s (we assisted the ANC and SWAPO)  and during that time I went to Guyana as a delegate from the Caribbean Union of Teachers to a teachers congress. I took time out to visit some of the state-run institutions such as post offices. The only Indo-Guyanese I saw therein were customers. It was shameful.

After Burnham, his successor Hoyte made no difference. He rigged elections even more massively, as stated by democratic minded Catholic priest Father Andrew Morrison in his book. Hoyte was forced to bring about economic reforms and agree to free and fair elections because of growing national pressure and from international aid and other agencies. Sections of  working class Afro-Guyanese had come to be embarrased by what was happening in Guyana.They were disillusioned as well with PNC pseudo-socialist  economic policies which, unless they had government jobs, made them suffer terribly. They joined with their Indo-Guyanese comrades in voting for the PPP/Civic in the 1994 election. The PPP/Civic could not consistently win just over nearly 55 per cent cent on the basis of  support from Indo-Guyanese who make up less than 50 per cent of the population and some of whom may vote for other parties. These other parties include the PNC and people have a freedom of choice to vote for it. I say this to pre-empt any cavalier retort which bleats: “That PNC period long done with, why you still harping on it ? ”
We move ahead but always bear in mind what went before so as not to once again suffer under it.

The ratio of appointment of Afro-Guyanese Ministers in the PPP/Civic administration along with other minorities relative to Indo-Guyanese members  reflects the demographic makeup of the Guyanese population whereas under the PNC it did not. Budgetary allocations to Afro-Guyanese  majority populated villages and towns such as Linden do not indicate marginalization of Africans. Without having resorted to any crude ethnic purging, there is also now more good governence, permitting freer and more varied media where people of all political persuasions may vent their feelings and make reports to be acted upon. Prior to 1994, the media was censored and heads of street protesters broken (some people like Catholic priest Father Darke assassinated).

The present  Guyanese government does not discriminate. This bogeyman charge about “blacks suffering under the coolie man” is dragged up by opportunist politicians and their acolytes  to retain their dwindling support base.  This is called the politics of ethnic marginalization. It has no basis in everyday life in Guyana and certainly cannot be supported by realiable statistics and analysis.

Those overseas who bring up this unsubstantiated wild talk, including the handful of local xenophobes  who should go and set up their own apartheid state where they won’t be bothered by the healthy intermixing of different races (spread the genes !),   tarnishes the good image and investment climate of Guyana. If we are working towards the same goal, as stated,  to deepen democracy and economic progress for all Guyanese, the very real achievements that have taken place should be highlighted and people should  work constructively with the freely elected government in dealing effectively with the challenges which most countries worldwide are facing.

I thank you for giving me the space to make these observations. Accept Madam, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Respectfully Yours,

NORMAN FARIA
(Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados)

43 responses to “Guyana Consul Norman Faria Restates His Views On Guyanese Working In Barbados”

1. The Guyana flag is the most beautiful in the world.

2. BU was alerted to the following article published in the Trinidad Express yesterday. We wonder like the person who emailed us why the BLP was so reluctant to publish the numbers of illegals, now we have a problem. If we are to believe the numbers in the Trinidad Express with emphasis on Trinidad and not Nation where do we go from here.
      “I usually comment over at BU concerning immigration matters but this article that I am about to post is quite amusing.The very idea that either the BLP or DLP could allow so many people into Barbados should more than highlight this problem on an absolute grand scale.There was a very good reason why government hasn’t showcased any numbers.It is because they didn’t want anyone to know about the extremely large amount of people who have immigrated to Barbados.The sad part is that these numbers can account for some of the illegal immigrants as well but should also highlight the absolutely serious & dangerous scenario that Barbados faces when it comes to population density.The numbers at a staggering total of 85,682 Caricom nationals entering Barbados alone while Trinidad only stand at 62,018.http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161413336

Problems still hamper CSME free movementCamille Bethel cbethel@trinidadexpress.com
    Monday, December 15th 2008
    There are security concerns facing the free movement of people within the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME), officials at the Caricom secretariat said during a recent end-of-year press conference.
    Speaking from Guyana and Barbados via video conference Caricom secretary-general Edwin Carrington and other officials discussed the issue, although they maintained the free movement of Caricom people is moving smoothly.
    The broadcast was aired aired simultaneously in Anguilla, Bahamas, Belize, Dominica, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Grenada, St Lucia, Martinique, Guyana, Suriname, Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago, at the Nalis Building, Abercromby Street, Port of Spain.
    “There are difficulties in some areas but we have begun to discuss how to deal with them,” through a task force that has been set up, Carrington said.
    Caricom Ambassador Irwin Larocque, assistant secretary-general of trade and economic integration, said the task force was moving forward to address several issues, including security with respect to the integrity of the skills certificate.
    “There are a number of Caricom member states at this point in time who are struggling with capacity issues.”
    “We have some incidents of fraudulent documentation being provided.”
    Another Caricom official in the CSME unit who gave statistics on the movement of people through the region for 2008 said in a number of cases persons were found to be producing fraudulent documents.
    “That is an issue we need to address urgently.”
    The fraudulent documents, according to the official, not only relate to supporting documents but the skills certificates.
    “For example we had an issue where somebody entered another territory with a skills certificate indicating that the person was a medical doctor, when, upon checking, it turned out not to be true,” he said.
    The official said, from January to March 2008, the CSME unit landed 9,100 Caricom nationals and denied entry to only 11, in Trinidad and Tobago 62,018 Caricom nationals gained entry while 455 were denied access during the period January to November 2008 and in Barbados 85,682 Caricom nationals were accepted while only 600 were turned away.
    He argued, and was supported by Carrington, that this shows that the number of rejections was a lot fewer than those who were allowed to move freely under the CSME arrangement.

3. I see no benefit in printing this propoganda garbage from faria.

It brings no new nor truthful information,all it does is give him a platform with a wide audience to spread his lies.

This is not even equivalent to ‘putting the other side’.

This is pure spin and crap.

4. At last the truth is coming out. If for the year 85,000 guyanese were allowed into Barbados, let’s say 10% of those remain illegally, that means 8,500 this year alone. Multiple this amount as an average over the last 5 yrs, we’re looking at 42,500 guyanese in Barbados over the last 5 years. Can Barbados accept this large influx of migrants. Then when we add the ones from others regional countries and the extra regional ones, we’re looking at a migrant increase of about 60,000 people in Barbados. This puts the National population at about 230,000 people. Mr P.M can you deal with thaqt? Do you see the problem some of us was warning both you and the former P.M about? If this increase continues within the next 5 years we would be at approx 370,000 people 100,000 more than we were averaging for a long time. What infrastructure has been put in place to handle this massive invasion? Are you not creating a dog eat dog situation in this country? Please Mr. P.M address this problem with urgency or face the peril. Please note, I only averaged the amount settling here over the last 5 years. If my maths is wrong please correct it but look at the big picture of the explosion of migrants we’re experiencing. No patriotic bajan can sit idly by and allow our country to be taken over , we will fight this matter to the bitter end.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

This is a slow news day for you?

Why this Norman Faria garbage?

6. Does anyone except the BU houshold feel there is merit in the other side stating or restating their views on the matter?

7. The Scout // December 16, 2008 at 9:09 am

At last the truth is coming out. If for the year 85,000 guyanese were allowed into Barbados, let’s say 10% of those remain illegally, that means 8,500 this year alone
    ————————————————–
    This is a glaring distortion. The 85,000 quoted in Express article are Caribbean nationals not Guyanese. There are Guyanese in the figure but the biggest bloc of visitors are Trinidadians.

The Caribbean is our third largest tourist market after UK and USA. Trinidad and Tobago is by far and has been for decades our biggest Caribbean source of visitors.

Adrian Loveridge is constantly here pushing intra regional travel. The 85,000 represents the intra regional market. Those numbers translate to millions on millions of dollars injected into Barbados’ economy. If the Caribbean market disappears we are in big trouble. I dont wish for this and neither should you.

Scout you are twisting the stats to make your narrow biased point and rile up Bajans. Intelligent Bajans see thru your ruse plus you are giving credence to some of Faria’s nonsense. Stick to the truth and let the chips fall accordingly.

8. Tourism junkie // December 16, 2008 at 10:00 am

so are you to tell me that the persons in the Nation newspapers who voted that we cannot take anymore illegal immigrants are distorting the facts?

Ar eyou to tell me that when we see the way how these people are and hear they wicked and deceitful ways we are distorting the facts!

Do you think that we should be like the USA who is now trying to get this illegal problem sorted out!

You know it amazes me as soon as people start to protect WHAT is theirs thery are labeled but I dont give a hoot who labels me I am of the opinion that those who are here illegally should go back home and build their country!

The same way anonymous thinks that their flag is the most beautiful in the world I want anon to tell this to the GTs and dont just talk show that they arethe most beautiful people as well!

9. Anonymous
    ‘The Guyana flag is the most beautiful in the world’.

And you say that to say what mi muchacho?

Ya got ma losssssssssssssssssss.

10. David, you are absolutely right to post Mr Faria’s drivel. At all times the other side must be heard. It is a part of the price we must pay for living in a democracy. A price we all ought to be willing to pay.

I have counted a few instances of libel (one criminal) in Mr Faria’s article. One hopes that he has the necessary evidence to hand to support them.

What is Guyana doing sending us this idiot as consul. He has no idea of diplomacy and frankly, as the English would say, he appears to be “a few sandwiches short of a banquet” or, as Pat would put it, he is a dickhead. If he is representative of the quality and intellegence of the Guaynese nationals that are trying to “migrate” to Barbados, then we certainly don’t want them.

11. JC
    One of those arrogant Indo-guyanese got a good taste of bajan hospitality recently. He was in the “new G.T” Fairchild Street kiosks one friday night. He had in a few drinks and started to curse bajans and Barbados and said he don’t care anything about bajans or Barbados. The big mistake he made was to take a Barbados flag and lit it and burned it. I understand some bajan men beat he and some of his friends sooooo bad they had to call the RSU to restore the security. It was alleged that when the RSU men heard what started the incedent, all they did was restore order and left; no arrest. However, soon aterwards the immigration bus was there and was filled in a hurry with guyanese and off to the airport. That’s what should happen to them.

12. BWWR

Short and sweet as usual wid ya good self.

Season de Greetings.

13. Scout
    It woulda been a betta ending if de men did pelt he in de careenage afta to wash ‘way he sins. Sickenin’ bitches.

14. Scout

yuh made my day wid dat bit of news.

Wuhloss soul,too sweet.

Send dey boxies packin back to georgetown.

15. A caution to the BU family. While Obama expertly used rhetoric as a core strategy to gain the Presidency of the USA he had to bring some other things to the table. Many BU family members should take note of the BWWR approach. While his missives, to borrow a word from our PEP friends who have gone MIA, contain rhetoric much of it is fact based and dispassionate.

We raise this as an issue because others are inclined to dismiss arguments based on hysteria and falsehoods. Our position applies to both sides of the argument in this instance.

Final point to Negroman et al. BU raised the issue of illegals and legal migrants flowing into Barbados way back at no instigation from anyone. We felt then and we still feel that our haphazard approach to immigration will have negative social and economic consequences, even if it is stemmed today. We offer no apology to anyone if all that we are doing is to promote discussion within the boundary of common decency. We may get it wrong sometime, all this mean is that we are human.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Of the six murders that occurred over the ten-day period between November 30 and December 9, only one was an open-and-shut case and the alleged assailant has been charged.”

Stabroek News
    This only represents a recent ten day period, this has nothing to do with the period from 1st. Jan. 2008 to 29th Nov. 2008.
    So many unsolved murders in Guyana it is frightening.

I am wondering how many of these perpetrators are cooling their heels here in Barbados with our open door policy with regards to Guyana.

17. Scout I didnt want to get pist off, but let me tell you I was on a van two nights ago and i blister a guyanese man left right and centre me and some more bajans.

Imagine, he in a van in Barbados and got the audacity to open h mouth and call David Thompson an ASS! And how we bajans aint got no sense.

Scout, a woman pelt a jab in his ass. I told him off in no uncertain terms; and then people like J want to get on this blog and make people think that we spreading propaganda when the blasted people dont like we! stupse

18. JC
    There is this old guy living alone, anyone in the village would do anything for him. These indo-guyanese came into the village to rent a house and were friendly with the villagers. A couple of the guys even had a pc off the woman and two younger women in the house of six. However, they got friendly with the old man and started cooking for him. According to the fellows,he said he like guyanese cook-up. The position now is that the old man in the district hospital and the whole family living in the house and claim the old man gave them papers for the house. the old man son who lives overseas is coming in sometime soon to get them out, if possible

19. I want people to talk bout what going on at super centre,emerald city and trimart spermarkets.

The guyanese indians got the market on herbs cornered boosie,and who it is that giving them all the contracts to supply the herbs to the supermarkets – de foolish black hand to mout – licorish – can’t say no’- will tek any bribe – bajan.

All de while the guyanese getting their big profits and the poor black bajan,small farmer that trying to make ends meet can’t even get a foot in the door of these supermarkets to sell them any herbs and other vegetables.

Indian guyanese I tell you profiteering big time, while black hard working bajans suffer.

God help us.

Every body now talking about what going on with them – check the small farmers and they will tell you the sad story.

These indian guyanese could only get through here in Bim because ignorant black bajans are helping them in exchange for a night of sex wid a diseased oily hair woman,or some roti or some other favour.

Bajan men where have your pride gone?

Do you know it is you the police man,the immigration officer,the manager,the landlord,the husband and the teacher – that got this country in a mess.

Listen to the guyanese women and hear how they laugh at you bajan men while they filling you up wid the diseases which you are now taking back to your wives and girlfriends.

I hope the guyanese in this place prove this saying wrong -‘that the best guyanese is a dead guyanese’.

Most right thinking bajans around here now fed-up,fed-up,fed-up of all dese stinkin guyanese and their evil ways.

Include me in dah bunch dat fed-up you hear cause dey turnin my stomach all like now.

20. There is a ground swell of hatred that is building up or has built up between the guyanese and the bajan that can and is well on it’s way to escalating into something very serious. Something has to be done NOW to calm this storm before it gets out of hand. Barbados would win the battle but lose the war. We are going to cleanse this country of these unwanteds but with a depressed economy and reduced tourism market any unrest in Barbados will further reduce our tourist intake.This might be the sacrifice we had to take to get this country back in bajan hands.

21. Only today in Parliament, the P.M was blaming the former administration for causing the immigration problem in Barbados. While it is true, the main thing is as the P.M said the illegals in this country is causing our schools to be overcrowded, housing transport, security and economic problems. Something got to give or it will be given. Mr P.M you enheritted the problem but you wanted to be and you are now the P.M so the ball is in your court; stop playing soft ball cricket, this is a test match. Talk good with the opponent off the field but the game is now, play it tight and play sensible but play it to the benefit of patriotic bajans. That’s why we elected you, show your merit

22. Mr P.M you have worked hard to become the leader of this country, you wouldn’t want it to go down in history that it was under your administration that there was a serious uprising in Barbados. Therefore step on corns, mashup feet if you have to but save yourself and family, the DLP and most of all this country Barbados. If we got to smell a little hell afterwards we don’t mind once we know theses fields and hills beyond recall are still our very own.
    We live by our motto “Pride and INdustry.” Long live Barbados

23. Bonny Peppa you have me beat when it comes to hitting the heart of the matter. Once again, you gave me a very good laugh. At my age, that is beyond price.

David, second time you have referred to me as he, so I went in the bathroom and had a good peep just in case you knew something I had never realized, but I did not see the necessary equipment to make me a he. Now you might say that as I am a little overweight my sightline was restricted, but I want you to know that I compensated – I peeped in the mirror – and I was wearing my bifocals.

24. David – or were you referring to the president elect of the USA? If so, that is some high company for a real old girl like me.

25. Finally, Scout, I do not think, I KNOW this is a situation that our government is addressing as quickly and as seriously as possible. Please just give them time and you will see that you will get what you want – what we all want. The government does not have the same luxury as you to leap to what I believe is the correct decision and just implement it like that. It has to go through certain diplomatic niceties first – otherwise other countries will not accord those niceties to Barbados and Bajans. So let us give Mr Thompson some space and he will do his job to our satisfaction – you can be sure of that.

Can anyone explain to me, though, why the Barbados Government has not handed a note to the Guyana foreign affairs ministry stating that Mr Faria is personna non grata and please to take him back to Guyana and send someone with a knowledge of both diplomacy and truth?

26. Many BU family members should take note of the BWWR approach. While his missives, to …………

27. I am happy that more Barbadians are highling the nonsense that these Guyanese are getting involve in especiallythe Indo-Guyanese scums & degenerates..I have so many cases on stupiness & wicked deeds of these humbugs I refuse to highlight anymore of the misdeeds of these miscreants..It is being reveal every day the destructive path Barbados is heading.
    I will repeat again the cohesive society that we have built in the post 1937 riot era is being dismantle daily by the Indians in Barbados.The Royal Shop Affair is a case in point.Also the break up of the Multi-Faith Independence Church Service is another case.The previous government tried to established a inter-denominational independence church service.The first year which I think was about 4 years ago it was successful.The intervening years problems developed.The Christians did not want to worship with the Orisha wich is a authentic African Belief System.The Hundus did not want to worship with the Muslims and the Muslims did not want to worship with any religious organisation.I highlight that to make the point that divisiness is takin shape in Barbados and the the Hindus & Muslims in Barbados are fuelling that divisiness.As usual I will put out a challenge to anyone who was connected with any religious organisation that was part of the planning committees for those Multi-Faith Services to come & dispute these allegations.That is the reasdon we had only a Christian Ecumenical Service this year.I will repeat the Indian population in Barbados is going to disrupt this society.All the tell tale signs are there.

Scout that hum bug we have for a Prime Minister is only repeating himself over & over again.He is not adding anything new to the issue.He is bluffing his way.He is powerless to stop the influx of Indo-Guyanese ito Barbados.He needs the big rich Indians money to finace his political campaign.The PM hands are tied.He is a clown for a Prime Minister.

28. Apology to BWWR as you know we write so many comments on a daily basis: -)

29. Negro Man
    The problem is, if he contiues to spout these mouthings and then do nothing about it, aftera while, bajans will take matters into their own hands and this can be disasterous for this country. As i stated before, I don’t think he wants to go down in history as the P.M of Barbados under whoes administration the worse uprising ever happened and there are signs of it on the horizon. He has to take the bull by the horns and deal with the matter NOW, stop the talk. 2009 will be an awhful year in the history of this country.

30. @The Scout: “As i stated before, I don’t think he wants to go down in history as the P.M of Barbados under whoes administration the worse uprising ever happened and there are signs of it on the horizon.

If I May, just two simple questions…

When was the last time Barbados saw a massive protest in the streets?

Separately, when was the last massive uprising?

@Scout: For the record, I know the answers to these questions. But I would appreciate it if you could answer them for the “audience”….

31. Scout,apart from you and negroman, who do you think would go on the streets and protest anything?

32. Dear Negorman:

Political parties need money. If we Bajans do not give them any, then they have to get money from elswhere.

Do you have a nice Christmas gift ready for the BLP?

Do you have a nice Christmas gift ready for the DLP?

Remember the old people used to say that a sheep head a day is worth more than a hog head a year.

If we Bajans do not feed our political parties, then why are we surprised if they should go astray?

33. You all dont understand when people are tired they will do what they have to do!

I will be one I have friends who would but you want to know what! We dont give a shite how much people march even if it is three of us marching we would have been the ones to stand up for OUR children and beliefs and principles.

How much did my vote cost J!

Not a godamn cent!

You mean to tell me that bajans dont have principles NOT ONE! STUPSE!

34. Imo,there is a huge difference between Governing & going on the campaign trail.The DLP do not have to worry about getting re-elected for quite a few years & they should not let future elections influence their decision making in matters that are of the utmost importance to Bajan Citizens.This is how parties loose elections in fact.In the end,it isn’t really who has the most money,but in the end the most votes tallied.

The bottom-line is regardless of elections,money or favoritism by race to the ruling party this immigration matter still has to be dealt with yesterday.The country as a whole cannot deal with such large avenues of permanent immigration now that CSME is in the mix as well.

The most immediate thing that must happen in Barbados concerning immigration is getting the illegal immigration population under reasonable control while also having effective job site enforcement in order to make the laws work.The immigration department should be expanded to fit this role no matter the cost.The fine for those who employ people should be doubled for each illegal to compensate for the increase in the Immigration department.Repeat business offenders could also face an automatic revocation of their business licenses should they keep employing illegal immigrants by any officer on duty by the Department !

Anyway,I believe BWWR is on point when it comes to this matter.It takes a lot of time to not only craft policy but also a lot of money to implement effectively as well.I am very interested to see what an effective ‘managed migration’ policy looks like from the DLP.I suspect they should be finished by the first half of next year.

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

CSME is to Barbados

What the TROJAN HORSE was

To the city of TROY.

36. JC // December 16, 2008 at 10:21 am

Tourism junkie // December 16, 2008 at 10:00 am

so are you to tell me that the persons in the Nation newspapers who voted that we cannot take anymore illegal immigrants are distorting the facts?
    ……………………………………………………..
    What has this got to do with 85,000 visitor arrivals from Caribbean nearly half of whom are Trinidadians staying in hotels for a week or so then returning home? Or for that matter the 30,000 Eastern Caribbeaners who come here for American visas?

You are deliberately mixing legitimate Caribbean visitors with foriegners who illegally overstay their alloted time.

37. Anonymous // December 16, 2008 at 3:44 pm. Poor you. Get some meds, chile, fast. They will work for you, you know. They got something called Paxil for paranoia that a cousin of mine takes and she is real nice when she taking them – but, like you, when she is not taking them, the paranoia and hallucinations are extreme. But tell me, Anonymous, are you a man or a woman? Or a hermaphrodite?

38. Chris Halsall
    Your answer and mine might be different because we may be seeing different objects but to the first question, it was the march headed by the Grand Old Duke of York during Sir LLoyd’s tenure. To the second question the one and only so-called celebrated massive public uprising is the riots ot 1937, which to me would be considered a family squabble compared to whatwill happen if the P.M don’t take control of matters in Barbados very soon. Time is running out.
    Juris
    You’re right, I fear the numbers who would come to protest is small, most of those, and I’m talking about a couple hundreds if not thousands, who come out are looking for a massive uprising. As stated by one group that met recently ” we gine beat dem out, burn dem out and sh–t dem out, anyway but dem got to get out.” Remarks like these scare me, that’s why, for the good of this country I am pleading with the P.M “do something quick.” I would be a dark day in Barbados, so of you don’t know the anger that exist out there and the “fire” power that is available. I keep saying you people picnicing under a volcano that is about to erupt and not taking the warnings. I think I’ve said too much.

39. I am not talking about people like me and you who are sincere and are tourists i am referring to those who know that they are not legit ….. dont try to patronise me!

You mean the Trinidadians who makking we stupid bajans shite! (The ones who have taken over all our buisnesses) Anon not lying stupid bajans for trut!

TJ stupse!

40. @NegroMAN… Glad to see that you are still Flogging the charlatans. Don’t let these mealy-mouthed, brown-tongued sapsuckers shut you down. Don’t go quietly into the night. I too would like to protest the whoredom of these political clowns and the only way I can do it is with my fingers since I do not reside in BB. However, I have REFUSED to rent my property to them.They constantly pass by and ask about renting it. I told my relatives to tie the sheep and goat in there first. I take my offspring there about 2x a year to acquaint them with their parents homeland.

This Faria piece is nothing more than verbal diarrhea. For a consul he has a major problem with simple syntax. Maybe this is intentional to confound the reader. They are making Guyana’s internal problem BB’s problem. And like I keep stating these politicians are nothing more than prostitutes, they take their populace for a ride and the only way this can be stopped is for the populace to arise and NEVER EVER go to a booth on election day. THE PEOPLE HAVE ALL THE POWER, TAKE IT BACK.

41. Just a minor diversiion gentleman!! ‘Negroman’, I must take issue with your nom de plume, Sir!! I could swear that we ceased to be negroes some considerable time ago, so why then do you continue to use this disparaging, title!!

Many a white man could find himself in trouble for using such a term, so why do you?!!

42. Of course there is marginalization. Look at the Courts. Look at the public media. The PPP uses the tax payer funded media as its exclusive propaganda mouth piece. The opposition has no access to this media. In addition, the PPP Government denies the majority black community of Linden any access to any other media information other than what it puts out in the state owned media.

The PPP send the police to launch soweto style raids into black communities, picking up and finger printing black children in order to have their profiles on record. The NYC police department was censored for doing that back in the late 80s. These finger prints will turn up at crime scenes where Indian drug barons wipe out one another, and the police and army will gun down the owners of those finger prints and claim that the crime has been solved. That is what is happening in Guyana. Don’t believe Faria.

These cockeyed and morally challenged wannabe white people like Faria have always exhibited anti-black perjudice in Guyana. Look at the composition of the Chamber of commerce, the heads of departments. Look at ever picture of the authority in Guyana and you will find an indian or a non black. The PPP went so far as to placing Indians in the armed forces to torture blacks they suspected of crimes. Norman Faria is racist liar.