We have received information from our usual reliable sources that award winning and snub nosed Nation newspaper reporter was suspended today. It is the right of any employer to discipline a member of its staff.  In the coming hours we expect to build on this story.

Timothy Slinger is one of the few hard-nosed field reporters left in Barbados who has shown courage in chasing after the real story. If Barbados were to loose Timothy Slinger the talent pool in the field of journalism would be greatly diminished.

24 responses to “Nation Newspaper Timothy Slinger Reported To Have Been Suspended”

1. Agreed. As soon as you get them, please post the grounds for his suspension.

2. The art of true journalism would surely be loss if timothy slinger is loss. If this story is true, one can see why journalists in this country are afraid to ask pertinent and serious, hardnose questions at interviews with certain people.

3. Our source has indicated that a missed cellphone call was the trigger for the suspension.

4. Hope it is not so. He is one of the best if not the best investigative journalists in Barbados, and he is very fair too.

5. Tony Hall // November 13, 2008 at 9:26 am

Hope it is not so. He is one of the best if not the best investigative journalists in Barbados, and he is very fair too.
    ————————————————–
    Richard Dick Stoute would differ with you on that.

6. S-U-S-P-E-N-D-E-D not F-I-R-E-D. That is my interpretation. Stop carrying on as though the world is coming to an end. Lord ha mercy.
    We too luv jumping to conclusions. Wunna wait man.
    By de by, David is a better journalist in my opinion. Don’t faget he a’ tall. He good.
    How ya like ma?

Mornin’ Scout.

7. 1 source claim is a week ago and a next say is 2 or 3 weeks, none knew why but me hear the excuse is a missing mobile – nonsense! Da man cyan pay fo’ next fone?

8. We read with amusement in the Sunday Press that Ms. Gittens, Publisher has been appointed to an international media body. Although congratulate her we remain amuse that a country with a defunct Barbados Association of Journalists can be the source of such an appointment.

9. I have tried to do some digging on this – there are some who claim Tim had a BLING-phone and he gave it to a galpal and this was a no-no in Nation policy… For me, if true, they should a just slap him on wrist and deduct money from wages rather than suspension?

I am being made to believe that “NEW” Nation is no-nonsense place in sense there is an allegation a reporter recently attended an assignment and enjoyed refreshments… Too much? Organisers called and complained how reporter dared to get seconds, oh dear! However? Said journalist was reportedly suspended for a week!

Again I do not know if really so, but to me if I was Editor I’d say send compliments to ur chef and be glad we were there and if ya not careful, we may ban ya 4 a year!

Such a thing is said to’ve happened at CBC with Milton Gibbs decades ago – a crew was to cover an event but were barred from meal, he told them leave and erase tape, when called he said in salty terms expect nothing for at least one year! Milty told honcho he has staff not animals to be shunted about, thereafter the folk nvr ill-treat ANY media again!

Plus ca change, Plus ca meme chose; VS – The times, they are a-changin’

10. I hope it’s just a case of trying to improve the image of the Nation and not an attempt at filling vacant posts with Trinidadian (a la) Peres. Somehow it seems like everybody is staking a claim for a piece of this rock. If there is an attempt of cleaning up the Nation newspaper and since the paper is linked ( I hope) to Starcom, would the same powers that be sail up the river and wash out the nastiness that going on up/down there. It’s much worse than any cellphone story.

11. The DLP and the BLP must be primarily blamed for the deplorable state that the material production and distribution affairs of the country are in at this juncture. Whereas the last Owen Arthur/BLP led Government wilfully destroyed many of those affairs, this current David Thompson/DLP led Government is clueless and ignorant as to how to revive many of these affairs.

For example, whereas that last joke Government had been STUPIDLY subsidizing the “price” of diesel to a substantial degree, whilst racking up millions in BDS dollar debts to the BNOC, this present weakling Government seems to think that by lowering the “prices” of diesel, gasoline, and LPG, this will undo the massive damage that was done to the material production and distribution affairs of the country after the hefty and unreasonable increases in local fuel prices in April of this year. But, such an attitude would indeed be unfortunate!!!

Moreover, having been destroying, too, many of those commercial affairs – owing to the said fuel increases and then too later through the increasing of wicked evil TAXATION in July of this year – the fact is that this Thompson Administration has been foolishly helping to push back the country by about two years. So, that such is the enormous scale of destruction wrought on this country by such measures that any lil’ decreases in the “prices” of diesel, gasolene, and LPG, or any bits and pieces removal of TAXATION, at this stage, WILL NEVER EVER SUFFICE to help prevent Barbados from GOING DEEPER AND DEEPER INTO RECESSION, WITH THRONGS OF PERSONS LOSING THEIR JOBS, VEHICLES, BUSINESSES, HOMES, RENTAL ACCOMODATION, etc.

Too, the fact CANNOT be denied that this wretched DLP Government is – in reducing some local fuel costs and removing some evil wicked TAXATION – doing so, NOT PRIMARILY because of any redemption on its part for having done wrong and evil in increasing local fuel costs and evil demonic TAXATION – BUT PRIMARILY BECAUSE aggregate demand for goods and services in the country is falling substantially; so, therefore, government must lower its capacity to steal portions of the incomes of thousands in this country, to a level whereby it thinks it must maximize its still immoral debase thieving capacity at given lower and lower levels of production and distribution in the country.

Finally, the fact too is that the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance has NOT even begun to implement any fiscal or financial measures to halt the terrible slide in the so-called Barbados economy, and as such this abject tardiness on his part is partially based on a serious lack of knowledge of how the so-called global economy, generally, or how the so-called US and UK economies, particularly, continue to perform in the short and medium terms, and esp. given the linkages between the material and distribution sectors of Barbados and those ones of the globe and the US and UK ones.

But, given that that is really what is happening, we in PDC clearly see why -with such a neo-colonial mindset, the Prime Minister is so clueless as to what he should have done long time ago – just after the 15 of January – to take the commercial production affairs of the country to a higher level.

12. […] Nation Newspaper Timothy Slinger Reported To Have Been SuspendedWe have received information from our usual reliable sources that award winning and snub nosed Nation newspaper reporter was suspended today. It is the right of any employer to discipline a member of its staff. … […]

13. Slinger is an idiot. He removed a company cellphone which is girl friend used to rackup nuff charges and then the idiot denied it. He should be fired. Yes he is one of the best reported so it shows what we have,

sigh

14. Duh
    If what you say is true, he deserve to be suspended. I hope the same principle is used when Roxanne and the other big-ups default too.

15. Like when Hoyte screwed D and that’s why Carlyn divorce Hoyte’s crutch? Or when Fowler t’ief real money to start Tropical Computers?

16. Hoyte and Fowler are tight mates. What are you implying?

17. Maurice Roy

Ya like ‘acid-rain but I likes ya.
    Carlyn din’ na sweetbread neitha. She use to horn Harold left, right, centre and in de middle. Doan mek sport.
    Ya likes ma?

18. SLINGER , NEVILLE CLARKE AND THOSE GUYS WRITE A LOT OF THESE STORIES FOR MONEY

19. Looka all o dese SISSIES like Ian Bourne!

A whole bunch o kiss-mu-tail idiots.

20. Obama,

And your point is…………….

21. Why is Tim Slinger at the Nation suspended and B C Pires let loose in our sovereign Island?

The latter should be telling us how grand “Might Sparrow” is in songs: “Three Coins in the Fountain,” “May May” etc instead of messing with Bim and Bajins.

Or is it a prophet not honoured by his own ?

22. Why was Nation journalist Tim Slinger charged for burglary?

Well, the DPP said there was no case to answer and ordered the charge be withdrawn.

But, some recent news leaked out from the Police Force said there was a deliberate attempt to haul Mr Slinger over the fire and cause him embarrassment – he’s been accused of causing bad boy police Everton Gittens to be charged for Blues Knight killing – it’s been described as the straw which broke the camel’s back since Slinger’s pen had been touching quite a few people including Speaker of the House Michael Carrington who should have been charged for keeping that poor man in the wheelchair money for over 14 years and Slinger has also been at the forefront of CLICO’s Leroy Parris exposures.

In fact, Slinger’s arrest and charging was orchestrated by Acting Assistant Superintendent Graham Husbands, one of the Commissioner of Police low-life cops who hail from St Lucy as well.

Husbands was heard telling some young detectives – go and bring his ass here, he like writing bout people, leh he write bout this.

Husbands also went on to curse and swear about Slinger’s consistent writing about “Blues” death and even mentioned that the Nation newshound even started a day by day count-down on Blues’ death since no one had been charged.

He said this had caused a lot of pressure on the police to do something. Husbands even went on to say that it was Slinger who wrote story that police was trying to get Blues’ son who was shot as well to change his original statement.

The police investigations have been described by the DPP as shabby and without merit since close circuit video showed Slinger leaving the restaurant empty-handed. Also an inventory signed by Slinger and three other people showed clearly nothing was removed or stolen from the bar.

Apparently, Slinger was trying to assist Pizza Man Doc who owned the place against a bad tenant and fraud Jacqueline Proverbs who owed thousands of dollars in rent.

People who frequented the De Hype Bar said they have never even seen a long neck brandy or whisky as was reported stolen by her.

Another thing that went against the Nation Tim Slinger was that he is a personal friend of suspended commissioner Darwin Dottin who has been described as one of Husbands’ most hated people.

It all adds up, now we know what depth some police would sink to, to falsify charges.

It’s not the first time and it wouldn’t be the last. You could be next.

23. Wow!

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Welcome to Barbados Island in the Sun where my peeple have toiled since time began

A dispassionate and informative post by Verity and Equity translation since popularized as Truth and Justice but I ent know no Latin