Hartley Henry

The temptation is great, I must confess, to ‘go after Clyde Mascoll’. His comment in relation to just concluded salary and wage negotiations for public officers was ‘ludicrous’, in my view. I promised several months ago not to read or comment on anything in the realm of politics that Clyde Mascoll says, writes or does. There is nothing personal or vindictive about that decision. I simply cannot fathom the political character and image that he has created of himself.

Throughout my childhood and adult life, I drew inspiration from the adage that if one did not stand for something, one would fall for nothing/anything. There are few instances where the accuracy of that statement has been more profound and appropriate than in the political career of Clyde Mascoll. Many have crossed floors and made partisan, political about turns before and since, but none in as “classless” a fashion as has Clyde Mascoll.

I dare say that that solitary career might be the cause for an entire generation of eligible voters in Barbados and the wider Caribbean totally withdrawing from the process. Cynics of politics were given all the ammunition they will ever need to wage a campaign against voting and participation in the electoral process. Physically leaving one party as Opposition Leader one day and joining another party as junior minister the next day is one thing. Criticizing Gems and Jaws one day and defending them the next is another. Even embracing and defending individuals whom one said were ‘not good for the political neighborhood’ is understandable; in the context of traditional opportunistic politics. But, using one’s professional and academic grounding to justify the most outrageous of political assertions is totally untenable.

In this business of politics, it is all over when one ceases to separate the forests from the trees. How in Heaven’s name, as my Great Aunt would say, could a trained economist, living in Barbados in the year of our Lord 2008, with all that is going on around us globally, chastise a government and particularly a union for settling for a double digit increase in salaries and wages?

The global recession, we are being told, is about to envelop us. The blow out of energy prices was but a few months ago and even though current prices are at a 14-month low, no one seriously expects they will remain there. The political situation in the United States, Great Britain, Southern and Eastern Africa, the Far and Middle East is so volatile that missing a night’s television news could be denying oneself a front row seat in history, as entire administrations and leaderships are precariously perched and falling without prejudice.

This is not the economic environment for one to go down the wicket and swipe. Indeed, a government of Barbados, less confident in and of itself, could easily and with good reason have proposed a deferral of salary and wage negotiations until visibility of the immediate economic horizon improves.

For years we have talked about social partnerships and the need for stakeholders to wrap focus, efforts and energies around the flag. Now a union, and I am reliably informed a confederation of trade unions and staff associations, has decided it would be in the national interest for wage and salary negotiations to be tempered with a dose of pragmatism, up steps this political pipsqueak with the most bizarre of submissions.

His contention is that the settlement came too quickly; that the unions should have dug in their feet, that they should have held the government over a barrel and, I am saying, be drowned.

What would it profit the Barbados Labour Party in the event of this country grinding to a halt? Why would one wish for industrial unrest in this global environment? Is this the level to which our politics in Barbados has sunk? I take great satisfaction and relief in the fact that to date not a single mouse has come out in support of Mascoll’s submission.

I honestly do not believe that Mascoll’s position is that of the BLP. As usual, I suspect he spoke without thinking or without being briefed by his colleagues. I do not believe Owen Arthur, Billie Miller, Mia Mottley or any of the stalwarts of that party would have sanctioned such an outrageous comment. Indeed, it is not in keeping with the history or record of that party. But what does Mascoll know about the history or record of the BLP? The BLP was but a vessel used to transport oneself from the political wilderness to political opportunity.

It would do that party well to stipulate henceforth that such outlandish comments be funneled through the policy arm of that organization. It is not in the interest of the Labour Party to acquire an image of wanting power so badly that it would wish bad for the country.

A more generous settlement at this time would have been reckless and irresponsible. It would have done irreparable damage to the image of Barbados in the context of fiscal prudence and management. Standards and Poors was quick to make that point.

Clyde Mascoll is chancing his luck with Barbadians. His political career is comatose. He should guard against doing further damage to his professional standing.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

20 responses to “Check Yourself, Mascoll”

1. De dees aint just tek back Hammie Lah?

Barrow aint start out in de BLP?

Shupes!

As usual HH’s/WIV’s analysis really sounds like somebody dat went to St. George Secondary.

2. Dear Hartley you wrote “The political situation in the United States, Great Britain, Southern and Eastern Africa, the Far and Middle East is so volatile … and LEADERSHIPS ARE PRECARIOUSLY PERCHED AND FALLING WITHOUT PREJUICE”

Dear Hartley: Can you please explain this giving examples. Thanks.

“held the government over a barrel and, I am saying, be drowned.” Ya mixing ya metaphors here.

“It would do that party well to stipulate henceforth that such outlandish comments be funneled through the policy arm of that organization.”

Hartley are you really advising that outlandish comments become party policy? Why?

“energy… prices are at a 14-month low, no one seriously expects they will remain there.”

So if you expect energy prices to rise and if as sur as day follows night other prices will rise, don’t you think that it would do the workers good to have that 4% that was left on the table in their pockets instead? Or does the government need that 4% to pay outlandish salaries to self appointed pricipal political advisers?

And if Clyde Mascoll’s politiacl career is in a coma how come you are still huffing and puffing?

3. The union and the government settle quick because it is a DLP government and a DLP union. Hartley you don’t need 13 paragraphs to explain that. One sentence wouldda do.

4. A few posts in and no one has addressed the gist of Henry’s article viz. was Mascoll’s statement and conclusion a reasonable one based on sound economic principles or was it political grandstanding of the highest order? From my POV it was the latter.

5. What we have found interesting is to contrast Mascoll’s position with not only the NUPW but CTUSAB’s who have factored the current economic climate into their expectation in the wages settlement. It seems that the unions are sympathetic and want to work with government to get through this period. Bear in mind that the membership of the NUPW voted for the 10%.

So why make it a political issue?

The Governor of the Central Bank also shed some light i.e. that the two year agreement gives the union the option to be more aggressive at the negotiating table in year three if the economy improves. The reality is if the government agrees to an inflated wages settlement now and things get worst then they are locked in. You don’t agree to high wages based on factors which maybe temporary.

6. Based on the trying and unsure economic time the 6% and 41/2% was a very good deal/gerture from the gov’t. As a gov’t worker I too would have liked 15/20. But why hold the gov’t to ransom, and then more people can’t be employed by them? And also why get 15% now and in late 2009 or early 2010. Yourself, or others like you find yourself at the back of the long unemployment line? Mr Mascoll is receiving him gov’t pension monthly, and is quite qualified and is also now studying for his Phd, so he can afford to grand-stand as much as he wants, but being a student of enonomics myself, I know that both him and Sir Roy, are just trying to score points for their own self-interest. I think the the PM should go to parliament and legislate the increases (like Tom Adams did back then) and try to steer the country out of this economic storm.

If the “recession” is over by 2010 and thing are better then they can fight for that big increase.

Rest In Peace!

7. Are the salary increases in any way linked to the performance of the workers in the public sector, or is this “welfare”?

I would be interested to know how average salary increases in the private sector over the past few years have compared to inflation, and what they are expected to be over the next two years compared to the 10% for the NUPW.

8. Why did the NUPW settle for an “across-the-board” increase? If we’re going to experience difficult times wouldn’t it be better to have a “progressive increase” with those at the top of the scale getting the smallest percentage, yet the biggest dollars increase. At lease it would give those at the bottom a few more dollars to keep them existing.

9. I think the DLP could have won the elections without the input of Hartley Henry. After a number of smear campaigning E.G ” crime and violence, ” he comes with another american smear ” promises within 100 days” which appears to have worked for the elections but now isn’t working. Barbados had enough of the BLP Mr Henry so you only fool a few DLP supporters that your method was a winning one, bajans were going to vote out the B’s anyway. Your presence in the party now can have the “Palin” effect. You can do more damage to the party now and open the door for a Mottley BLP if you ruffle the waters of intellegent bajans.

10. Scout I glad you say so.
    There is nothing intelligent about this man.
    Bajans did mek up duh minds two years before de elections that Arthur would be fired. So I dont understand why people attributing genius status to this clown.
    If he is a genius he should have won the three previous elections.

11. Scout

You are too damn biased against the DLP.

Everybody can see through your partisanship here on this blog and over at the BFP.

I am now getting fed up with your ‘pretend to be be neither B or D ‘ rubbish.

At least WIV doesnot pretend that he is not supporting the Dees.

Man you making me really sick of you .

Come out and say it if you dare that you are a supporter of the Bees who got fed up of their behaviour but you still prefer them to the Dees.

At least then we can appreciate your honesty.

Enough of the hypocrisy man.

12. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Another typical Hartley article….

“I dare say that that solitary career might be the cause for an entire generation of eligible voters in Barbados and the wider Caribbean totally withdrawing from the process….”

A somewhat disproportionate shovel I would have thought.

Who knew that Clyde was so influential 🙂 LOL

13. Anonymous
    Whichever one you are, please explain your grouse with my comment. Are you mad with me for calling Hartley Henry a misfit? Are you mad because I said Mr Arthur should be respected? Most bajans can easily see through Mr Henry plus as far as I’m concern, Barbados has been BLESSED with Good, Patriotic leaders irrespective of which party they are from. If this is your grouse and you call it bias, I consider it matured thinking

14. excellent article

15. That Mr. Hartley Henry could waste an entire column in the Barbados Advocate on Mr. Clyde “the Glide” Mascoll, shows more that is negative about Mr. Henry than about Mr. Mascoll.

First of all, the PDC accepts that Mr. Mascoll should have – at the recent BLP Annual Conference – done far better than he did, by really focussing on providing some workable ideas, solutions and strategies for helping the country out of the so-called economic mess that the former BLP Government itself seriously helped to put the country in.

Secondly, we do NOT and WILL NEVER EVER have any admiration for this so-called regional political strategist – Mr. Henry – using an entire column to deal with some fairly small false issues raised by Mr. Mascoll concerning, et al, the quick pace at which the NUPW and Government concluded negotiations on wages and salaries for those public workers that they happen represent; and the suggestion that the NUPW negotiated for the underpayment of these public workers.

Thirdly, our belief is that Mr. Henry decided to respond to “Massk” simply because he was envious that “Massk” made the front page news of the last Sunday Sun, and too because he felt he needed to overshadow – some thing which he failed to do though – some correct political insinuations that were attributed to Mascoll in the news story and that spoke to THE POLITICAL EXPEDIENCE BETWEEN THE NUPW AND THIS DLP GOVERNMENT IN COMING TO THIS WAGES AND SALARIES SETTLEMENT.

And, fourthly, this half baked former journalist cum hop and skip public relations specialist cum principal political advisor to this drifting DLP Government thought he had to respond to those small matters. But what a pathetic and miserable job did he do though!! Therefore, instead of this joker of all jokers having to expose Mr. Mascoll for the nonsense that he talked about the NUPW at the BLP Annual Conference, by saying what ideas, strategies and partial solutions, and the methodology for helping to implement such, that “Massk” should have proposed for implementation to help this country out of this very serious crisis, Mr. Henry showed that, like his political leader – he has no fundamental understanding – nor toleration for – those financial and productive-oriented ideas and policies that are needed right now to take this country onto the next phase of material and financial development

Hence, there is a clear and obvious connection between that latter described situation and the fact that NEVER before in the history of politics and government has it been seen that a Prime Minister and/or Minister of Finance would have been so very politically and intellectually lacking as this present one is, so much so that he would have taken it upon himself to install a study committee to do somethings that he and the officials of the Ministry of Finance are paid to do: to – whenever it is desirable – look into ( even way before now ) many of the economic problems currently facing the country at the time, and to report back to government and the people of Barbados on a strategy for the way forward for Barbados, materially and financially speaking, out of the woods? Well, of course, this is what is required now NOT ONLY by the government BUT ALSO by so many other individuals and groups in our society!!

Of course, the late great Errrol Walton Barrow had NEVER put in place such a committee to help Barbados through the world oil crisis in 1973. Neither did the late Tom Adams see any need for any committee of that sort during the period of recession in 1981!!

Finally, the PDC must say that the setting up of such a Committee is and shall be a TOTAL WASTE OF TIME AND RESOURCES. For, persons, like Winston Cox, Dr. Delisle Worrell, Ben Arrindell, Peter Boos, Dr. Justin Robinson and those others who comprise this committee have already been operating professionally and otherwise at various levels of the Barbadian society, and would have themselves been FAILING MASSIVELY to evolve alternative theories and constructs to help in the further development of Barbados, given that they are naturally strong believers in, and practitioners of, such essentially negative and vulgar social and ideological constructs of Westernism, Euro-centrism, Economics and Western Finance, constructs that would have been the basis of the start of the present global recession. What new and workable suggestions can they really bring to the table to help our country seeing that they have already failed our country? NOTHING, NOTHING!!

What is also damning about this committee is that it does NOT represent as much as possible the various classes that make our Barbadian society and that are affected by the current so-called economic problems. Thus, when the Prime Minister foolishly gives the impression that ONLY certain people CAN sit on such a committee, he MUST SURELY BE STRONGLY DENOUNCED FOR THAT KIND OF BEHAVIOUR!!

Thus, what outstanding foolishness are the members of PDC seeing coming out from one Hartley Henry and this irresponsible DLP government!! Whew, Whew!!!

16. @ PDC

The Rastafarians actually have a much better model of development.

I’m so starting to catch your drift.
    I strongly believe the post Bretton Woods model has come full circle and there’s a need to revisit the whole notion on environmental economics and give back government to the people.

That committee, like the other 99% of them and the state boards, will be a complete waste of time.

Barbados is in an enviable position to rethink it’s developmental model and now is the best time.
    We dont have to look to far either, our grandparents have left with us a model of savings, the rastafarians have given us the whole notion of living in concert with nature, vegetarianism and spirituality and Errol Barrow put in place a social democracy with a caring government.

It’s simply called getting back to basics.

There was also a time when the island had 100s of windmills. There were suckwell all over St. George. Houses were designed to suit the environment.

The model is already there.
    Throw away the credit cards and make the switch. Go back to mother earth, she does fail you ever.

I’m with you PDC. You are ridiculed here but I’m so with you.

17. Mor of us might catch PDC’s drift if PDC would be short and sweet

18. To: Anonymous and J

But, first to Anonymous, a very well written piece indeed!!

However, while our party is NOT OR WILL NEVER be a Pan-Africanist party, or a Rastafarian party, or anything of the sort, because we are duly catering for many of the variegated/heterogenous interests of masses and the middle classes of people in Barbados, and for many of those of the country and its real development, and on that basis such partially defines us as a people’s progressive nationalist developmentalist party, and because we KNOW THAT WE WILL, in this instance, NEVER speak or observe or cater for just MINOR partial truths, but always away from these as much as possible, we nevertheless cater for some elements of Pan Africanism and Rastafarianism within our party and its general philosophical and policy outlook.

For instance, we believe strongly that well equipped competent black people – of whatever class, creed, political persuasion – and in almost every area of life in Barbads – must rise and rise far further than now in this country to the point whereby they NOT ONLY help remodel and reconstitute the political and other structures and functions in this country to reflect their positive images, aspirations and realities, BUT ALSO to the point whereby they really and truly run and continue to run effeciently properly for as long as possible the social, political, material, financial and other affairs of this country.

For, out of all the people in Barbados black people are the ONLY ONES deserving of such a status, primarily because of the barbarous and cruel injustices and degradation that were meted out to them by the old colonial plantation enslaving system, and that are still meted out to them under these current westernized political economic material financial systems. Of course, the latter fundamental logical ideas and principles are but a few of those that Pan-Africanism and Rastafarianism have long articulated for the under/overstanding and acceptance and inspiration of esp. the black masses and middle classes of people of Barbados, and of which we strongly believe in.

That is why we take these things further towards greater coherence and logical conclusion by saying, hey, the black masses and middle classes, in particular, and the country, in general, must help us – PDC – reach the point whereby we become the government of the country and systematically,

1) ABOLISH ALL TAXATION,

2) ABOLISH ALL INTEREST RATES,

3) ABOLISH ALL EXCHANGE RATES PARITIES,

4) ALL MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE,

5) IMPLEMENT RELEVANT REGIMES WHEREBY NO LONGER WILL WE THE PRODUCTIVE PEOPLE IN BARBADOS BE MADE TO REPAY OUR OWN MONEY/VALUE BORROWED FROM FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS,

6) IMPLEMENT RELEVANT REGIMES WHEREBY NO LONGER WILL FOREIGNERS OWN OUR LANDS – ONLY ABLE TO LEASE SUCH FOR RELATIVELY SHORT PERIODS,

7) IMPLEMENT A SYSTEM WHEREBY RENT IS PROPERLY FAIRLY CONTROLLED IS INSTITUTED IN BARBADOS,

8) A REGIME WHERE NO LONGER WILL COMPANIES EXIST IN BARBADOS BUT PARTNERSHIPS WHEREBY PRESENT DAY WORKERS/MANAGERS/OWNERS WILL BE PART-OWNERS – NOTHING LESS – IN THESE ENTERPRISES,

9) A SYSTEM WHEREBY CONSTITUENTS/CITIZENS – BECOMING THE TRUE SOVEREIGNS OF THIS COUNTRY – WILL DEBATE AND PASS THE LAWS OF THIS COUNTRY, AND

10) WHEREBY THERE IS INSTITUTED A NATIONAL COALITIONAL GOVERNMENTAL STRUCTURE, AND THE ELECTION OF AN EXECUTIVE PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT FOR BARBADOS.

As it stands now, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING NOTHING about the present social, political, material, and financial systems in Barbados that ensures the real empowerment and enfranchisement of the masses and middle classes of people of Barbados. And neither is it the case that the DLP nor the BLP and their leaderships Thompson, Jones, Mottley, Payne do talk about these things and in progressive language, and do such progressive things, on the whole, in this country!! And you dont have to be a genious to see be aware of these appalling situations, and be aware that the DLP and the BLP’s devious mandate now – in contrast to the earlier days of Grantley Adams and Errol Barrow – is to greatly assist many of the elite in Barbados in the continued wicked oppression and suppression of the broad masses and middle classes on the whole in Barbados, using many vulgar and retarded pro-/Western, Euro-centric, economic and financial concepts and practices.

So, Anonymous, our focus is on the social, political, business and financial aspects of the empowerment and enfranchisement of the masses and middle classes of Barbados and probably elsewhere – using an historical, analytical, pragmatic, positive, people-centred approach to the achievement of those objectives.

With regard to our friend J,

We would really like to do as you and some others recommend here on this blog, i.e. to be short and concise. But, unfortunately we simply CANNOT, unless absolutely necessary. Firstly, we are NOT and WILL NEVER BE bloggers/commenters as such. We are NOT in the business of doing that, or making short vapid, superficial statements, or even engaging in verbal fights with anybody or vitriolic vituperative exchanges with anyone on here.

However, thanks to BU, many of our friends and supporters are able to read our contributions/statements here on this blog, with many even reporting to us about what they think about our posts. Daily we are asking many more people in Barbados to visit this blog and to read our and others’ posts.

And, secondly and finally, because many of our members are intellectually inclined and business people, we do NOT have the time to be constantly responding to a lot of what is put out on this blog. It is just impractical and unreasonable for us to do so when we are attending to research, lecture discussions here and there, when we are meeting in house, attending to business and whatever else other things mean importantly for us, ok!! That is principally why we post only at certain times, like now, and when we do so in big pieces few and far between or at one time, ok!! Anyhow J, whosoever you are, do enjoy your day!!

19. I have never heard a serious political party – in fact any party – define itself by what it is not rather than what it is!

Mark Adamson et al in the PDC are surely clowns of the highest order who just like words for the sake of using them and appearing to be well read. But what they write is just empty high-sounding phrases to give the impression they are widely read and low criticisms – even pettier that the traditional party hacks – of our leaders of either party.

20. PDC:

You are abusing my scroll button.

What you are basically saying is worthwhile, and I take your point of view under advice.

But please, for the sake of clarity if not brevity, get your heartfelt message down to 2 paras, each shot.

No one can respond coherently to a rambling 1000 word manifesto posted three times a week.

Have you really got your own website where interested parties to your new world order can debate?

If not, you are parasitically abusing BU.

And me!

Get linked to their recommended blogs
    and develop your policies with like minded input.

Don’t clog this blog……..it aint yours.