Minister of Health David Estwick

In the interest of cutting to the base of a matter we have decided to publish the following three comments which were posted by a BU commenter between September 20 to 25, 2008. The reason for our decision, we do get a little emotional when we hear of mistreatment meted out to the young and aged. In this case the submissions below speak to alleged mismanagement and mistreatment of the aged living at the St. Thomas District Hospital.

We are calling for all BU family members to assist Barbados Underground by feeding back on this matter.

Submission by Commenter  on – September 20, 2008 at 11:20 pm

Staff at a health care institution are fed up with the treatment which the PNO gives to them,the nurses at at st.Thomas district hospital are fed up with her attitude towards them and the way she speaks down to them,the PNO sits in her office and is delivered her food like a lord daily,she shouts at workers and speak down to the staff,both nurses and general workers alike,this lady does not eve like the staff to get a ride in the government’s van which services the hospital,and was the only one who was allowed to drive in it,the driver would pick her up on mornings from home and transport her to work,and if they passed any one on the way they would not stop,on evenings the lady would be taken home in the said vehicle,and pass workers at the bus stop.The only car allowed on the compound to park would me the madam PNO,all others had to be parked on the pasture opposite,where the sheep and goats graze and bounce your cars.Junior nurses were sent to train ahead of senior nurses because these juniors were her friends one just came back from doing Psychiatric nursing,this Pno also recommended one of her favourites to do mid wiffery,but she was not successful,another senior at least 8 years senior to the recommended girl was accepted to do midwifery,but the Pno was unwilling to assist her in being sponsored or even allowing her to do night so she could study during the day,it is sad when a senior would try to keep workers down and use her political affiliations to scare workers,and threaten their job security,this woman thinks because of her pass political linking she is a boss,but it takes a small axe to cut down a big tree.

Submission by Commenter on – September 20, 2008 at 11:58 pm

After reading the above article i was compeled to write my story.I Was a nurse at that same St.Thomas district hospital,and must say what ever was written by lady nurse is true,and is just the tip of the iceberg,Ms.Bourne thinks just because of her connections with the CNO Mitchel Clarke,she can do as she wish and treat people as she sees fit,this woman brags about her early morning chats with mitchie all over the hospital,and she constantly says at meetings and to disgruntle workers “what ever wona say bout me i does know,i got friends in the ministry”mitchie as he is affectionately called by shirley bourne seems to reward bad behaviour for it is he who was willing to send Simone Bryan Na of geriatric hospital to do training despite her beating the old patient,(she is the Guyanese nurse).Shirley bourne was also appointed to the post of PNO despite the complaints against her by staff members,it is apparent she has friends in the ministry,because all complaints fall on deaf ears.Even the principal personel officer Ms.carrol Gay seems to be under her controol and backs her up in her wrong doings.Ms Bourne has a side kick called magarette Albert who is a vindictive as she is.The treatment of staff by this lady needs to be looked into,as staff moral at the institution is at an all time low,thank god i have retired from that place,i just hope things change for the poor staff members who remain there.Retired am I and loving it.

Submission by Commenter on – September 25, 2008 at 11:24 am

I was informed by a member of staff at the st.Thomas district hospital that the nurse is off to do her training in midwiffery,some thing unfolded and she is in class room,the PNO shirley Bourne is not too please though,as her side kick in lied and deception is still not on the programe.The staff are still going through a lot of stress with the PNO and her other side kick Magarette Albert however,on the male ward there is a handicap patient who has severe bed sores,and the pno or the sister ms.albert would not provide the staff with the gauze and other things needed to do his dressings,the nurses are upset,and hurt that this poor patient has to suffer and have exposed wounds because of the management,nurses have resorted to cutting up pampers to cover the patients wounds,George Maynard(the patient) will probibly end up with severe infections as the wounds need to be dressed with sterile matterial to have any chance of healing,and the management refuse to provide it although the store room has ample amounts of the matterial.One has to ask why,why are these managers who are nurses them selves acting this way towards nurses like them selves.The PNO stresses out every one but her pimps who feed her information,and sadly she should be the last one because it is known that the pass mark had to be droped to 30% for this shirley Bourne to pass her Mental health nursing programe years back when she did it,because she nor her friends could not pass the course else wise.If minister david Eswick does not do something soon with Ms.Bourne trouble will occur for the ministry,both by staff and family bringing law suits against the goverment for negligence against the care for their family.Mr minister has to seperate ms Bourne from ms.Albert because the two combined are a devious and wicked bunch.she and ms bourne gang up against the other sister and undermind her authority,despite the fact that ms.cadogan is the senior sister oiver ms albert.whem will this poor behaviour by seniors end?.

Related Blog (Barbados Free Press)

75 responses to “What Is Happening At St. Thomas District Hospital Dr. Estwick?”

1. Sherry jones is a nasty person she is a rude and criminal person,i worked with her at st.philip,and she was nasty as hell to us,she has no class,and she unfaired us at st philip,she would not make beds or she would not do baths all she wanted to do was to do medication,this woman was a dirty bitch with no class she was rude to ms.rawlings,aand she went to gordon cummins and did the same,this woman would not change,she get pregnant had a child and could not even care for it,she is a poor mother and the people at st thomas glad she gone training and ms bourne told me she knows sherry start this with the help of eric and angella sealy,mis bourne gine fuck you 23 up

2. I cannot go along with you people slandering these nurses,those 3 (THREE) nurses are very profesional and it is evident those nurses tried their best to do the right thing and you all backward people tried your best to mess them up,why are you hiding behind false names and dont put your true names foward if you are telling the truith if these three nurses are so bad why is it that they are working ha? tell me,it is a shame that you all are writing lies about people’s profesional lives and can sleep at night,who ever you all are i doubt you can step into these people’s shoes,you all are low down poor mentality people and i hope you can deal with it when lies are told on you all too,or the truith about your lives are exposed,and believe me when you start tellng lies on people the people will retaliate,and you all and the people in your lives will suffer because a lot of stories will come out.

3. sherry jones is a poor nurse,she cannot function,she was at st philip with me and all she would do was get behind a cart and do medication,she won even bathe a patient,this woman would curse the junior nurses like my self,and treat us like shit,she was dirty beyoun belief,this woman lef st thomas and we drank wine and ate cake for the devil herself had left,she went to st thomas and mess up the people medication give patients the wrong medication,and curse staff up there and tell them they in nurses because they are tnas we are the one who does do the work when she does sit down,she is not a profesional and she had to pull strings to get into the miwiffery programe this woma, is no good neither is angela sealy the two of them want fireing and them alwways using the children as excuses it is the same sealy that left the ward unatend and went to see she sick child and a patient fall down and then try to blame poor dorthy barton,

4. I am a nursing assistant at geriatric hopital and i can tell you i work with the guy eric and i must say the guy works well,he is a good nurse and he did not treat me any way bad,i have friends who work with him and they all like him,as a matter of fact,my friends love him to death because he treat them real well,and he makes a lot of jokes,in my world he is a nice guy,and me and my friends love him to death,and if needed we are willing to put our names for verification.Stop knocking him please.

5. We notice that there is one person using multiple user names, please stop.

6. This blog page needs shutting down,this is going too far,can you please tell me how to get into contact with the opperators of this site.it is a matter of urgency,some serious lies are being told.

7. I want to know,if this male nurse is all this good why he was tranfer from st philiph,Gordon cummins,and now he’s at geriatric.where would he go next.

8. all wanna lying bajan bitches that grudge that poor lady for her post (PNO Shirly Bourne) and sister Albert SHUT WANNA ASS MOUTH AND STOP SCANDALING PEOPLE NAME they are not those type of people that u all trying to pull down Mr.Scantlebury , Ms W. Best, Ms. Waithe and Pno that was sent to st.Lucy district hospital can hold hands they care nothing about all the nurses at st.Michael district hospital beckles road that Mr.Scantlebury he does discriminate nurses he should be ashame calling himself a Christian but he is really a cushion he will never see the lord’s face tell he to stop living with the nurses from the 2nd block across the yard stop playing smart with it u have been caught in the act already the best in the lot Marcia Hoyte she is a no nonsense person if u have a problem u can go to her in confidence and she will lend a helping hand no matter what the case maybe and u don’t hear your cases all over the hospital but with the others u do hear it back may god continue to bless marcia hotye, shirley bourne and my sweet albert sweet hearts don’t mind de people if ya do good them gine talk and if u do bad tha gine still talk so give god thanks and praises and let them keep talking to them mouth drop off

9. Guyenesse brian u chop a patient in her head with a cup she was drinking tea out of u should be suspended just like pauline what goes for one goes for all u did it purposely u are a wicked bitch. u does treat the patients badly at times true true true.

10. Mr Minister of Health Hon. Dr Estwick complaints from some of the geriatric hospital beckles road nursing staff (nurses) we the nurses would like to have a shuffle around some of us are tried and burn out of working double wards at the distinct hospital for more than five years stationery sometimes its two nurses to 40 something patients or one nurse to twenty something patients stationery and the sisters and nursing team at the hospital has done nothing about it that is why the nurses are staying home when burn out please do something quick before we burn and catch a fire (concern nurses).

11. I have been privy to information first hand in relation to the male nurse and to you who asked he was not forcefully transfered from the st.philip district hospital he asked to be,the man was fed up as a lot of you are up there but are too shamed or afrait to speak up,however due to a report written by shirley bourne pno st thomas he was transfered,now even if you dont like a person you must admitt if a report is written on an officer he/she should be allowed to read the report and allowed to defend themselves,he was not allowed that privalage,that was wrong,put aside your personal feelings for people and deal with the facts,if you uphold ignorance and wrong doings the shoes could be on your feet some day,and you will feal the pinch,let truith prevail,and stop the vicious lies that are being told on these officers,respect your seniors,mr scantlebury and ms waithe are not bad people,neither is ms Best,respect them and they will respect you,please stop bringing down your profession lift it up please the world out there already have a negative oppinion of us please dont prove them to be true i beg of you,stop this cut throat behaviour i beg of you,because this blog started out with the truith being told,but i guess people decided to make a mockery of it,I think it is time this conversation is shut down,inocent people are being hurt with vicious lies.Let this end here and now i beg of you all.

12. I can smell the pig-dung in some of these comments. Look what the nursing profession has come to !! You have gone past the gutter and now are in the cesspool. Good luck trying to get the ear of a Minister with this kind of behaviour.

13. It is a sad day when nursing has sunk so low. It is the undesirables who pass themselves as nurses that are giving the profession abad name . Ask any of them about patient care or confidentiality or ethics and they will be at a loss, THANK GOD FOR US PROFESSIONALS THE SERVICE WILL CONTINUE TO BE UPHELD IN THE HIGHEST ESTEEM. LONG LIVE THE TRUE PROFESSIONALS.

14. If these accusations are true about this PNO Shirley Bourne, it just goes to show that absolute power corrupts absolutely. In many organisations, there are too many square holes in round pegs and too much of who you know and not what you know. How can we as a people, whether in an authoritive position or not, treat persons like shit. What would become of you should you fall ill on the job? Wouldn’t it be indeed tragic to see that these same persons, that are accusing you of illtreating them, be the first ones to come to your aid? This sort of behaviour is unacceptable. Remember, as the old adage goes, “wah in ketch ya, in pass ya”, so tone it down, stop treating people like shit and remember to be kind to others on your way UP because these same people you will meet on your way DOWN.
    And finally, I know that it will be hard to regain respect and trust from these disgruntled workers, but a word of advice to you would be to try being human in the future. I know it is hard for some of us animals, but you can try.
    How ya like ma?

15. Well said James Alleyne. You can tell from some of the contributions , who are the ones who don’t really belong to the profession.

16. we r talking about shirley bourne but what about ppl like Christopher, a clerk at st Philip hospital who does as he likes there. He comes to work as he likes and noone tells him anything. Its known that his mother is a friend of the Prime Minister. This man wants sending home, he does absolutely nothing. He is a poor e g for a man. Pls investigate this loser and c that im not accusing him. Get rid of this waste. The government is paying him to do nothing. Ppl there r doing his work for him while he stays away from work for days without reason and excuse. He comes to work everyday after 11 am. He brags that noone can do him a f, all he is waiting on is his appointment and he gone. He always say to f the PNO, he cares nothing about her.
    GET RID OF HIM.

17. I just read the comment about Chris and i agree with it. He work with me before and he did the same thing. He would leave his work undone and go to gamble in Marhill street everyday. All he cares about is the many women that he brags of bedding. He really needs to do atlease a good day’s work, which he has never done in his working life. He also thinks that he’s God’s gift to women but all the women say that he’s a waste in bed.
    POOR BOY, CHRISTOPHER

18. it’s time this page is closed. it is only being used for malicious lies and scandalous activity.

19. POOR CHRISTOPHER …..the man that is an International Pimp @ the St. Philip District Hospital??? the man that tell everyone how much women he does got up in his mudda house in one night…….that go0d for nothing….no one can touch him cause it is tru he does brag about Uncle David (the Prime Minister) who does let he get way with whatever cause he mother is second in command and always bailing he out….Chris never work comes in late leave early have no respect for no one and don’t care about nutting cause he get paid for it and have friends in place that have his back……its not that no one is doing nothing about it its that he have the highest in Barbados on his side…A real mumma’s boy, a crack head and a pimp….by the way he brags about the politicians, singers, and local bajans that does business with his prostitutes…so whoever you are u should know

20. You should discuss trying to make your working conditions better but getting into the mud does not become the nursing professions. We prefer not to close the topic but we will if the conversations does not rise.

21. that woman should be punnish i would not like her to take care of me that;s why
    when i visit barbados i bring extra money that if anything happen to me i can go to a private doctor. i am so socked at the way that the bajans is behaving

22. tired and bored,
    ‘malicious lies and scandalous activity’, is what makes life less boring. Don’t lose any sleep over this my dear for this too shall pass.
    I get a good laff reading these blogs, so I won’t like it closed at all.
    You know that they talked about Jesus and also crucified him, so who is mortal man that ‘we’ won’t talk ’bout.
    Tek it easy man.
    How ya like ma?

23. How about male nurses in health institutions who apeears to be heterosexuals and are really homosexuals!! yes they are out there! Beware BCC Student Nurses

24. I am responding to the very cross! i have heard about this at a black rock health institution where one male nurse attacked another male nurse. but it is alleged that he tried to sexually assault the male nurse who had to retaliate by beating him unmercifully and sent him on sick leave. Is this True! i pray for those individuals involved in that homosexual behavior. It is A SIN

25. David

Kindly make good your promise to close this scandal page. Submissions by Cassey on November 1, Bonny Peppa November 3, Very Cross November and Concerned on November 7 are pure gossip. The best place for this type of communication is the telephone .