By Hartley Henry – Advocate Newspaper (25 September 2008)
hartley henry and david thompson
Prime Minister David Thompson (left) getting a feel of things as political consultant Hartley Henry prepared to meet with him during his first day on the job at Government Headquarters (image/Nation Newspaper)

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has created the perfect opening for me to remind Barbadians of the incidents of bizarre spending that has cost taxpayers hundreds of millions of dollars and unnecessary pain and stress.

Miss Mottley rushed to the media on Tuesday last, challenging the Prime Minister to provide specific evidence of the overseas accounts in which such monies were lodged. Her demand was that if Mr. Thompson could not provide the details he should abandon the issue. That is precisely what the opposition wants, but that is precisely what they will not get. This matter will not go away!

It is too painful an experience, for ministers of government to be brimming with ideas for the development of Barbados and not have the money to implement their programmes. It is too painful for parliamentary representatives to see scores of persons each week who are deserving of assistance but for whom resources are too slender to assist them in a meaningful way.

Miss Mottley would like the Prime Minister to stop talking about the missing money, but that will not happen because the examples are too glaring. As Mr. Thompson correctly pointed out, we are not talking here about a few thousand dollars. This is not insignificant fine change. This is mega-bucks. Take for example, the so-called Gems of Barbados project. Experts in the real estate and tourism development industry have reliably informed me that the Gems properties can today fetch no more than $45 million on the open market. $45 million in assets is what the people of Barbados have from the more than $225 million spending spree presided over by the previous administration.

Somebody must tell the people of Barbados how it is that close to a quarter of a billion dollars was spent on this most brilliant of investment ideas and today, less than 10 years later, collectively, the properties and enterprises, as going concerns, can fetch no more than one fifth of that amount. The question that must be asked is whether the $225 million that was spent was actually spent on those properties or whether the hotels depreciated in value so rapidly, in a country where all other real estate has appreciated to corresponding levels.

Why should the Prime Minister not want to know where that $180 million has gone? The Barbados National Oil Company has chalked up $180 million in debt through subsidisation of the price of petroleum products over the course of the last five years. Energy users in this country must consider the options that a Minister of Finance would have at this time of burgeoning oil prices, had he the luxury of an extra $180 million in the treasury.

Consider the assistance that could be given poultry producers at this time if the Prime Minister had access to an extra $180 million. For starters, he could absorb or subsidise increases in the price of feed, thus containing the price of chicken and other poultry products. A Prime Minister with $180 million to spare could immediately revamp the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, thus reducing waiting times and enhancing patient care. He could also issue contracts, to Barbadian contractors, for the repair and refurbishment of sick buildings, particularly those housing civil servants.

If that extra $180 million billed to the treasury of Barbados, in the name of the Gems project, did not go into those properties, as was originally assumed, then where did it go?

The last time this question was asked of the Barbados Labour Party, the leadership of that organisation considered it more advantageous to silence the inquiring mind, by inviting the individual to join the hive.

The people of this country have a right to know where the unaccounted for money has gone. Prime Minister Thompson will probably never trace a cent of this to any personal bank account, but the electorate of Barbados must never forget the level of deprivation it suffered as a result of the disappearance of this huge chunk of money.

Next week, the matter of the doubling of the cost of the new prison, the tripling of the cost of the expansion of the ABC highway and ghastly amounts paid for heavy duty vehicles and equipment will be examined. Bottom line this issue will not go away. I promise!!

(Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com)

56 responses to “Questions Must Be Answered”

1. It is not often that we will reproduce articles but we do from time to time. The article by the government’s political strategist always get our attention and today is no different. Unfortunately the Advocate unlike the Nation, CBC, VOB, it does not have the facility for the public to feedback on issues, we felt that the BU might want to feedback on both sides of the issue given Hartley’s contribution above.

2. The recent statement by the Prime Minister The Hon Mr David Thompson is but the tip of the probe that the inner circle of the blp ought to expect as by their very actions they opened themselves to closer examination, when Hallam Nicholls can be bold enough to state that he stopped counting when his bank account reached $ 25 million and that he would never have to work again, by that admission alone would he not expect that he would be probed and examined and investigated as to how, why and where he managed to amass this enmormous sum of money ( $ 25 million) not something that will go away from he, the former leader, the present leader nor the party just like that.
    No wonder he is uncomfortable and is under the belief that he will be the fall guy when the research is completed.

3. @Wishing In Vain

You need to tell Henry that the average Joe on the street is becoming a little irritated at the charges being made by the government and no action. We may understand that it will take a little time to pursue and complete investigations but as Sir Richard so accurately stated, perception in politics is a big deal and many Barbadians are becoming a impatient.

We would imagine that Henry has a strategy behind this repetitive position of constantly making allegations of corruption.

4. Everyday, this bizarre story is getting worse. The P.M as chairman of the PAC refused to meet. At the change of every government this talk about stealing arises, now the P.M is blowing it out on the international arena without evidence. This will damage Barbados status. Is the P.M putting party propaganda before the counrty’s creditability? How unpatriotic can one get? Unless the P.M brings some evidence and bring it now, this will go down as pure bajan gossip and there is no room for that at the international level.This stupidness has gone too far, bring proof or shut up or step down.

5. Wishing In Vain
    I had promise not to respond to you but PLEASE permit me this one Question.
    When will the charge against Hallam Nicholls be filed; on Monday? Failing that your government will become VERY unpopular. Stop playing politics, it has the potential of doing serious damage to this country and it seems this is all vindictive. I want to see Hallam and the other “crooks” brought to justice NOW.

6. The scout, what you fail to understand is that the agenda is no longer yours to dictate.

Neither can you tell the Gov’t of Barbados, the Police, Interpol, or the FBI how to proceed, you have lost that right that you may once have had.

The Gov’t of Barbados is addressing the issues and will continue to do so without your involvement, yes those that have done ill to our treasury should be looking over their shoulders and be thinking about whic lawyer they can reserve.

Funny how you and your group were drifting for 14 years and you have the gall to give the new Gov’t a deadline, you are both a complete idiot and brainless, thank god the electorate woke and saw thru you lot of crooks and threw you out of office.

7. Sorry but Im with Mia on this one …Thompson is putting up a smoke screen to take peoples minds off the fact that his gorvenment is not doing very well. Put up or shut up. I would sue his arse!

Funny how Bradford Taitt got off as soon as they won the government.

David Thompson et al need to stop electioneering and start leading… they are not in opposition anymore!

8. Well! Well!

methinks that the scout, Mia and me doth protest a bit much!!!!

passing strange that they are so concerned about allegations being made by Government about irregularities…

How come Bush tea is not concerned???
    BECAUSE THE BUSHMAN HAS NOTHING TO FEAR!!!

If there is no evidence, why not just let the people complete their investigations , prove their allegations wrong and embarrass themselves???

How come it is suddenly not better to get to the bottom of the issue? …and don’t tell me no nonsense about our national image, ….everyone already think that we are a bunch of idiots who have been robbed blind for years by tom dick and harry.

The last elections was all about the miss use of megabucks…. It is only to be expected that a full investigation is now warranted.
    scout,
    STFU.

9. Bush tea you need to relax man, you real acid!

Do you deny that if a majority number of Barbadians feel like The Scout does the climate in which the government has to govern becomes too choppy|stressful.

10. I understand what everyone has said on this topic so far: However if all these things are true we need proof!

If this proof is found or not found either two things should happen!

1. proof found (hurry up I getting frustrated with all this drama)

LOCK UP SOMEBODY!

11. I understand what everyone has said on this topic so far: However if all these things are true we need proof!

If this proof is found or not found either two things should happen!

1. proof found (hurry up I getting frustrated with all this drama)

LOCK UP SOMEBODY!

2. If the prood is not found

RESIGN WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT!

12. ACID ???!!

David, I am trying to be as cool and logical as possible.

….OH!!!!
    you mean my STFU??
    Stop Talking Foolishness Uncle…

What acid What?!! Scout is my buddy

ps That is a ‘Bushman’ acronym

13. Bush Tea, Wishing In Vain
    People just can walk around making damaging statement about other without bringing the facts, it’s called libel and it’s a criminal act. Our P.M, an attorney is already being sued in Canada, would it look good if he’s also sued in Barbados? I too want to see these guys brought to justice but you can’t walk around making these accussations without some kind of evidence. The minute our P.M obtains some evidence, I’m ready to listen to him and hope the matter is resolved favorably for him . This would set a precedent and stop this age old talk after every elections of stealing. I’m sick of the stupid talk over and over without proof. Mr Thompson PUT UP OR SHUT UP OR BE SUED.

14. Bush Tea
    I have a lot of respect for you, plus you have the right to support the party of your choice. I was like you oncetoo. However, don’t let partisan politics cloud your vision. You wouldn’t want people to walk around labelling you in a bad way and can’t bring evidence. Even if the matter goes to court and you lose, people would still believe it, so tell the P.M bring a case let the courts decide. Finally, Bush Tea you appear to be one with a working sensible brain, don’t let some-one like Wishing In Vain, who only have an empty space between his ears lead you down such a partisan road. I want to see justice done but it can only be done in a matured manner not a vindictive way.

15. Many of these persons in Barbados who assemble, organize and rhetoricize around the older DLP and BLP labels – as opposed to the newer PDC and PEP labels – must really be thinking that almost all local political issues that are discussed in Barbados truly revolve around just the DLP and BLP; and that the DLP and the BLP are the only sides of the so-called political divide in Barbados – even though – for us in PDC – the big and sad irony is that the DLP and the BLP are essentially the same; and must really be thinking too that esp. whenever either DLP and BLP would have in the past done utterly disastrously at helping manage the political and governmental affairs of this country, that it is good and sufficient for them – they who are backing either the DLP or BLP – to at any points in time point to the other group and say that this is – in their actually referring to an instance – the allegation/evidence of gross and reckless mismanagement that “your party” – the DLP/BLP – helped to perpetrate or is helping to perpetrate in government, while simultaneously conveniently STARKLY FAILING to mention that the other party they are backing did also do much tremendous foolishness in government.

Moreover, what is even more disgusting and horrendous than that is that it continues to be seen by many true and patriotic Barbadians in the country, that these same party hacks/yardfowls continue to support these two outmoded and intellectually bankrupt parties that when leading government in Barbados do carry out so many atrocities aginst so many people in this country and do miserably fail the vast majority of people of this country and the country itself, and do support them too even when it is so patently clear at various times these said older parties have been and continue to be totally disrespectful and dismissive as could be of the wishes of the vast majority of people of this country for generally good, accountable, transparent and progressive governance of this country.

Thus, with regard to – particularly – newspaper columnists like Mr. Hartley Henry and Mr. Reudon Eversley – who write in support of the DLP in the Friday Barbados Advocate and the Weekend Nation Newspaper, respectively, and other newspaper columnists like Mr. Clyde Mascoll and Mr. Clyde Griffith – who write in support of the BLP in the Weekend Nation and the Sunday Sun Newspapers, respectively, and with regard, generally, to persons in Barbados who continue to represent those kinds of patently false and backward philosophies and positions that are adumbrated above, we in PDC must say to you that the vast majority of people in Barbados in the forseeable future WILL BE BRINGING A CLOSURE TO BOTH THE DLP and BLP – for the sheer wickedness and skullduggery that DLP and BLP Governments have over the years been dealing out to this country.

However, in regard of this reproduced missive by Mr. Hartley Henry, true and patriotic Barbadians must be wondering – but obviously they would know – why this jack o lantern who really has a background in journalism – NOT political studies – would care NOT to write about the fact that the then government owned Heywoods Hotel – which was built in the 80s at a tremendous cost, had strangely happened to be later sold by the then Sandiford Administration in the early 1990s, for disgracefully substantially less money than what it was built at!! Mr. Henry – the pathetic clown he is – must also write about the fact that the DLP Government in the late 1980s also wasted millions upon millions of dollars on building what has painstakingly and slowly now become the prestigious Sherbourne Conference Centre – and which too is now supposedly being renamed the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Conference and Cultural Centre!!! Mr. Henry, so-called regional political strategist, must also write about the sleeze that was CARSICOT and the St. Joseph Hospital Affair!!! But, then again true and patriotic Barbadians would NOT expect him to!!!

Finally, true and patriotic Barbadians must adamantly make sure that DLP and BLP Governments are NO longer elected in this country in the forseeable future, and that PDC and other party led governments come about in this country, with a view of making this country a brighter and better place.

16. Ok scoutie,

…stand at ease for a second…

First of all, Bush tea have a problem with ALL politicians, I ain’t no B, no D, no religion and no lodge.

Bush tea had high hopes that Owing would have been another Barrow, but that clearly was not the case, …I was shocked at the scandals of the ABC 300 million scheme, the oil terminal joke, the prison scam, the GEMS fiasco and even the George Washington House waste. (…and the cave, hardwood etc etc)

You think Bush tea could be happy to see nearly a billion dollars down the drain in such stupid schemes? It is too much to dismiss as incompetence –

OBVIOUSLY something WRONG!!!

Now in comes PM DT. I recall that he RELUCTANTLY seemed to come on board with the accusations that were led by bloggers last year.

…now as PM, after settling in, and presumably having access to FACTS he is now making strong accusations…. and you say SHUT UP and let it be?!?!?

you serious?

If we can have a government FOCUSED on honesty then they will be FORCED to set good examples themselves and to come with ITAL.

What charges what?!?
    this is Barbados scout! IT TAKES YEARS TO “FIND” FACTS ‘BOUT HERE.
    How long you think it will take when many of those who will need to find these ‘facts’ may themselves be implicated?
    even a common Bridgetown vagrant requires YEARS to be dealt with – you want MPs locked up in 6 weeks?

The ONLY thing DT can really do now is talk – and he has to do so in such a manner as to avoid compromising future action.
    If he said nothing at all, Bush tea would conclude that he is helping to hide the tracks of the guilty….

..what would you do if you were him scoutie?

17. Next week, the matter of the doubling of the cost of the new prison, the tripling of the cost of the expansion of the ABC highway and ghastly amounts paid for heavy duty vehicles and equipment will be examined. Bottom line this issue will not go away. I promise!!
    ——————————————
    I have expounded many times on why the ABC highway project increased in cost.

1) By the increase in scope of work
    ie that means more work was requested by the Ministry far and above the original work priced. If you want extra work done you have to pay for it . No use crying and lying afterwards when the bills come in.Why are the officials who requested this work of the contractors not being brought to book?

2) By the high cost of the sub contractors here. These are local companies COW and Rayside and they employ local people to work for them.
    Working on the ABC project has given steady work for many Bajans.
    Both these contractors have no problem in asking extremely high rates for their work.

3) By the deliberate delaying tactics of the MPT lead by people – who have their political agenda .They knew that these actions would cause the cost of the project to spiral yet they didnt care – after all its easy to blame it all on the contractors- they are foreigners and we can say anything we like about them .
    (plus the previous administration they were all thieves.)

At the end of the day there is a new road ( or will be when MPT get around to finishing it if ever) and there is a new prison.

These are tangible assets.

The truth is that nearly all projects run over budgets due to increase in raw materials etc unreliable work forces – (could that be why foreign workers are so often employed – they work better !)
    And other factors that cannot be foreseen ( the problem with the utilities wrongly placed on the ABC by the original road builders )

There are things that are morally wrong
    ie
    Is it right to sabotage a project just for political ends despite the cost to the country?

The mindset that says we could have done it better for less is all so much bunkum – these are people who are simply jealous they they didnt get the chance to do the project. Ususally because the lack the vision and expertise to carry it out.

Its easy to criticize when you dont have to follow through.

Lets see how well the present government manages.

They have already found out that the cost of a new hospital in in fact what the previous government says it would cost.

If as they say there are millions stashed away its up to them to prove it or stop indulging in empty band standing.

18. WIV

You do seem to have some personal or pathological hatred of Hallam Nicholls
    since you mention his name every other post.
    Yet you are obviously close to him to know so much of his business?

19. Sadly, reagrdless of how guilty the majority of Barbadians think the members of the last administration were of stealing and corruption, the truth is that nothing will be done
    1) the BLP thieves are friends with the members of the DLP band of future thieves
    2) if the DLP tries to set an example, then they will be made an example of when the BLP comes to power again.

So who pays the price for this corruption? The poor people whose ranks were swelling as Barbados was being hailed internationally for it prosperity. Whose else? The two young men in the country who were selling mangoes out of a bucket when Hartley Henry refused to trust them with his dollar, but yet lamented that the community spirit was gone in Barbados.
    It is time for wishing in vain/hartley henry/or Eversley to put up or shut up. I am tired hearing about Nichols 25 million dollars. I am tired hearing about the guy and his girlfriend at Coastal. I am tired hearing about how propersous Barbados is, yet the majority of its people can’t afford to buy a piece of land in their own country.
    So unless you are prepared to show proof of corruption, then shut up and get on with making life easier for the poor people in the country.

20. He is known to me yes and he is known as one not to be trusted for a single second.

Yes my comments about his brash statements about his bank account are true and confirmable.

His statement about never having to work again because he has all the money he will ever need is also confirmable.

I need not lie on him to disgrace him he has done so all on his own.

Ask Vic Fernandes about Hallam Nicholls ask Bizzy Williams about Hallam Nicholls ask Owing See Thru Arthur about Hallam Nicholls, ask CO Williams about Hallam Nicholls they can all give you an in depth background to the snake and slime ball that he is.

After all Bizzy lost the Prison contract to Hallam Nicholls, Glyne Bannister and Owing See Thru Arthur because of his other partners refusal to pay the corrupt bastards a 7 % commission.

A total and complete idiot lacking in a formal education that used his greed and the greed of the former PM and the greed of the Gov’t for his own benefit, meanwhile our people are left suffering and hungry, all this while he accumulated $ 25 Million in his personal bank accounts, he does not deserve prison but rather were he a Saudi he would …

There is much more that I could say on the Hallam Nicholls thing but I will leave that for another time and another place but it is enough to say that I wish him well in his new life.

21. Neither can you tell the Gov’t of Barbados, the Police, Interpol, or the FBI how to proceed, you have lost that right that you may once have had.
    ……………………………………………………….
    This is the language of an arrogant person or Government. Yes!, the people of Barbados have the right to get answers regarding corruptible deals, the people have the right to ensure that these people are brought to justice. But again, if these corruptible acts were indeed true, as stated prior to the election, now you have the documentation due to you being the New Government, I see no reason why court proceeding has been stalled. I am putting to you that these accusation is just an excuse for performance. What say you WIV, alias 181, alias you know who?

22. Funny how you and your group were drifting for 14 years and you have the gall to give the new Gov’t a deadline, you are both a complete idiot and brainless,
    ……………………………………………………….
    Who give the deadlines, I am sure it is the Dems. No wonder you are calling the said electorate “complete idiot and brainless”.

23. we heard so much about corruption leading up to and during the election. we heard about the 750K that the last PM was supposed to have gotten in a check. Dear god, even Hartley Henry mentioned the amount and Owen’s association with it in one of his Nation columns. Yet at one of his first Caricom meetings as PM, what does David T do? He asks that Owen, who was so corrupt and thieving, should be given a Chair. Do we really expect criminal proceedings to come against anyone aside from maybe poor little Adrian Murrel? Put up or shut up. I have had enough.

24. This is all so transparent. I just find the relationships or the marriages of convenience below a little curious.

BU and the Barbados Advocate. Hmmmmmm!

WIV sounds a lot like Hartley Henry using BU to call names that he cannot call in the Press because he will be sued. Hmmmmmmmmm

This is a little too close for comfort.

WIV/Hartley Henry needs to explain to the Barbados public why he Hartley Henry is poised to earn $750 000 from the public treasury over a five year period.

What are his qualifications?
    Let’s see which universities he graduated from?
    Let’s see his job description.
    Let’s see how this position is going to help with the socio-economic development of Barbados.

Did Mr. Henry face the electorate and received the blessing of the Barbados people. “Vox populi, vox dei.”

Why is he earning more than James Paul who faced the electorate?

Why is he earning more than Kellman who faced the electorate?

Hartley is not qualified to consult the Prime Minister on anything.
    For heaven’s sake, why are we attributing genius status to him. For what?

The swing was already detected from the previous elections. This joker is no genius and is certainly not qualified.

He needs to explain to the public why he approached the Koreans claiming to be a friend of the PM to manage low-income housing projects.

Anybody going to jail in this scenario will be Hartley Henry.

REMEMBER DE FIRST HEN DAT CACKLE IS DE ONE DAT LAY DE EGG.

So we waiting on you Mr. Henry. Bring ya proof. Cuz we got de prison officers lined up at Dodds to welcome you!

BRING IT ON!

25. @Anonymous

We will go ahead and remove you from awaiting moderation now that you have cleaned up your language to respect the BU family.

Directed at your slur about some alliance with the Advocate and Henry, please note. We have asked Ezra Alleyne to submit articles to BU when he was fired by the Nation Newspaper, we have published Peter Wickhan, Dr. Don Blackman, Ian Walcott, Dr. George Reid, Dr. Justin Robinson, Adrian Loveridge and several others who have posted using pseudonyms.

The bottomline Anonymous is this: We will publish Mia Mottley if she sends us a submission. We hope that clears it up for you.

@tstt

You have made a good point about which party has the resolve to break the cycle. Arthur early in his reign promised Barbadians transparency and he left office under a barrage of accusations of corruption.

26. Bush Tea
    I agree with you that it appears there was some corruption going on in the last administration. Like you I would like to see these perpetrators brought to justice but there is a format that has to be followed. It is reckless for anyone especially of the calibre as P.M to make these serious accusations without producing the proof. It is libellous and criminal, even the P.M can be charged. the point is even if he then comes with evidence, it would not have the same weight as if he gets his facts straight and then hit them with the bombshell. Bush Tea, would you like some-one to be walking around making libellous remarks about you without any proof? On the other hand, I hope the P.M do have evidence and these persons charged and if found guilty, make them a PUBLIC EXAMPLE. Until he has the proof he should SHUT UP.

27. From as far as I can tell including me…I don’t get a feeling of frustration on waiting for sentences to be handed out. The electorate is patiently waiting. No fuss, no rush as yet.

DT keep on keeping on. Do your ting, and help de old ppl and poor ppl.

And lock up some teefs along the way if possible. Don’t let no one rush your hand.

Also thank God for ppl like Bush tea. Keep going brother.

28. the scout said….
    “Bush Tea, would you like some-one to be walking around making libellous remarks about you without any proof?

This is EXACTLY my point scout…

YES!!!
    ..as man, write any untruth about the Bush man and you would see… man when my lawyer finish with your pooch you would not even have your cub badge left. Ask Adrian Hinds ’bout we Holders hill men yuh….

So you want to tell Bush tea why your big up lawyer friends of the BLP, (with their own CJ in place) does not sue the PM and left him break like Owing was before he became PM?

You want to tell us all why?

What sue what?!?

This is a simple matter Scout, cause if you write something bout the Bush man, and um is true, you think I suing anybody? wuh I are a idiot?…

What sue what?!?

….when I could get my minions to frighten you off with long talk?….

29. We also want to hear about any politically motivated arson in the last 14 years being investigated. Such as constituency offices burning down for no good reason in election year. Particularly in St. Michael.

30. Wait anybody seen or hear from Kim Belgrave Young? wuh i got tuh say that she has vanish into thin air. 🙂

31. Bush Tea
    I hope this does not degenerate to a law suit by the opposition but I do agree with you if Thompson does not come up with proof and they don,t sue, to me it shows guilt.

32. cost of living cost of living costing of living up up up up thats what we are getting from the dlp

33. It is with great amusement that I read today’s edition of Animal Farm revisited 111 in Flying and Fish and Cou Cou it says so much in print that we all know to be true.

I have been saying here for some weeks now that based on a knowledge of the inner workings of the weaken blp that all hell is breaking loose and the latest ranglings with mottley and her charges does not do her any favours in the least, coupled with that the clear and defined statement made by Owing See Thru Arthur that he will be back to regain the reins of leader of the opposition surely CANNOT sit well with the mottley family clan, as I have stated before the mottley’s see this post and their daughters role as an entitlement that they must own, so how now do they conform to having her sit in the position as a caretaker awaiting the return of the See Thru drinker to undermine her and oust her from that lofty position?

Duguid, Marshall, Toppin, Eastmond, Clarke you better escape this tryanny before you are asked to take sides and you all know taking sides in this meltdown will cause an eruption of mega proportions.

Then we know that mottley will not go down (of course we all knows that she goes down with serious repercusions) with out a battle to lead and we know just how vindictive the short runt is when he smells POWER, GREED, AND MORE CORRUPTION, AND MORE CHILDREN that he will stop at nothing to achieve his urge to mute mottley and her group of hapless weak ones.

I wish her well in her return to commercial law and hope that she can find honest work, as we all know her name has been badly tainted by her involvement in the corruption that was so much a part of her and Mr See Thru’s program that she is know not to be clean and has many questions over her head in just the management of a single project the VECO PRISON.

34. A Tribute to a fallen one, Mottley has been relegated to the trash heap by the party that she pretends to lead and the party that has clearly shown that they are not ready, willing or wanting to accept her, I am not sure the exact and precise reasons for them wanting to evict her but I would hazzard a guess as we all know that Dame Pat Simmons has defined that a person such as mottley with her vicious lesbian traits is not an ideal person to be seen as the leader of the blp, hence the pronouncments made by Owing See Thru Arthur that he is there to be a force to over throw this mottley entiltement mentality.

35. Kim Belgrave Young, that foul mouthed thing is history, her attempt to be seen as an organiser failed miserably.

Saturday at nearly midday, who knows, she and Ezra maybe in WHITE HEAVEN sorry I meant white haven but they may both be in WHITE HEAVEN for real, knowing their habit for using the white stuff nothing is beyond the two of them.

36. A Tribute to a fallen one, Mottley has been relegated to the trash heap by the party that she pretends to lead and the party that has clearly shown that they are not ready, willing or wanting to accept her, I am not sure the exact and precise reasons for them wanting to evict her but I would hazard a guess as we all know that Dame Pat Simmons has defined that a person such as mottley with her vicious lesbian traits is not an ideal person to be seen as the leader of the blp, hence the pronouncements made by Owing See Thru Arthur that he is there to be a force to over throw this mottley entitlement mentality.
    • It is with great amusement that I read today’s edition of Animal Farm revisited 111 in Flying and Fish and Cou Cou it says so much in print that we all know to be true.
    I have been saying here for some weeks now that based on a knowledge of the inner workings of the weaken blp that all hell is breaking loose and the latest ranglings with mottley and her charges does not do her any favours in the least, coupled with that the clear and defined statement made by Owing See Thru Arthur that he will be back to regain the reins of leader of the opposition surely CANNOT sit well with the mottley family clan, as I have stated before the mottley’s see this post and their daughters role as an entitlement that they must own, so how now do they conform to having her sit in the position as a caretaker awaiting the return of the See Thru drinker to undermine her and oust her from that lofty position?
    Duguid, Marshall, Toppin, Eastmond, Clarke you better escape this tyranny before you are asked to take sides and you all know taking sides in this meltdown will cause an eruption of mega proportions.
    Then we know that mottley will not go down (of course we all knows that she goes down with serious repercussions) without a battle to lead and we know just how vindictive the short runt is when he smells POWER, GREED, AND MORE CORRUPTION, AND MORE CHILDREN that he will stop at nothing to achieve his urge to mute mottley and her group of hapless weak ones.
    I wish her well in her return to commercial law and hope that she can find honest work, as we all know her name has been badly tainted by her involvement in the corruption that was so much a part of her and Mr. See Thru’s program that she is know not to be clean and has many questions over her head in just the management of a single project the VECO PRISON.

37. @ WIV/Hartley Henry

What we love about your rantings and raving is that it’s strengthening our resolve and we’re re-building even faster that you think.

Here’s a word to the wise, stop the opposition politics and assume the leadership and govern the country.

The people are getting more and more fed up by the day.

You are constantly attacking Mia Mottley because in your sick little St. George Secondary brain, you believe that attacking the leader will benefit you in some way.

All your strategies are backfiring son. The people are losing patience with your innuendo.

Rome is burning and you buffoons dont know what to do.

But how can you?

We have a buffoon graduated from St. George Secondary Animal Farm.

Look what we’ve come to.

WIV/Hartley Henry, you all are best suited for driving minibuses and Dodds, not running governments.
    But hey, we like it so. You will be the first one-term government in the history of Barbados.

Keep it up, you buffoon.

38. You are a complete brainless idiot I am not Mr Hartley Henry (Mr Hartley Henry for you clown when you mature you get to refer to people by their first name and you are yet to grow up.

However I am very encouraged that you compare me with Mr Henry I am indeed huffed by the honour.

The only people feeling confused and upset are the 7 opposition members in parliament as we already know the 3 that were former blp supporters now support the ruling party than they support mottley, so what is you case ??
    You are dismissed for a lack of evidence.

You state -: What we love about your rantings and raving is that it’s strengthening our resolve and we’re re-building even faster that you think.
    Let me tell you mottley does not have the support of those around her nor does she have the support of Owing so where will she turn?
    It will be a case of her trying to select her party faithful to support her over Owing this will not be allowed by Owing he is to shrewd for that to be allowed.

Did you notice in her last press conference she failed to get the support of her sitting MP’s and instead featured a picture of that fraud Kerrie I can’t find my wife Simmons, what does that suggest to you my friend?

She lacks morals but also lacks support from within your elected bunch and by extension she lacks support from the electorate.

39. @WIV/Hartley Henry

Well if you are not Hartley Henry, your abilty to reason certainly befits the buffoons of the St. George Secondary Animal Farm.

40. Once again I noticed that the mouthpiece of mottley Henderson Bovell has come up short (he is also short in stature and short on ethics and short on honesty) but he continues to side step the burning question as to what is happening to the support that selected mottley for the post of opposition leader?
    Is Marshall nipping at her heels, we all know that the short runt has made it known to all and sundry that she will not be a leader when next the elections are called.

41. @ WIV/Hartley Henry

Like I said, keep on with your style of governance.

All I can say is that if you concentrate on winning an election that is five years away, then your party will be sealing its own fate.

Find creative ways to govern the plan.

Where’s the DLP’s grand strategy?
    Do you have a plan to take us into developed nation status?

We are laughing at how quickly you guys are destroying the economy. It’s melting down right under your noses and you dont have a clue.

You will never ever ever ever live down the legacy of the destruction of 1991/92 and economic collapse of Barbados.

And by the look of things, you’re taking us there fast and furious. Only thing is that this time around, you will have riots on your hand and blood on the streets.

42. Dear Anonymous you wrote “befits the buffoons of the St. George Secondary Animal Farm.”

I am NOT a fan of Hartley Henry.

But please, please keep St. George Secondary school out of your arguments.

The young people aged 11 to 16 who are currently at that school (and their hard working teachers and parents) do not deserve your nasty comments.

Beat up Hartley if you wish (I would even volunteer to help you) but keep the school where he was educated many, many, many decades ago out of your rantings.

A big man (or woman) like you should know better.

Stupse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

43. And by the look of things, you’re taking us there fast and furious. Only thing is that this time around, you will have riots on your hand and blood on the streets.
    ……………………………………………………….
    My friend, don’t let arrogance run to your head, the statement above shows that you are becoming reckless in your debate. Also I agree with J and your undermining the School. Apologise and move on with the debate.

44. @ TMW

Let me tell you why there will be more blood on the streets.

It’s no rocket science. It’s a scary proposition but if we continue along the economic free fall then violence will be a very like out.

Look at the food trucks that were robbed in Trinidad by bandits.
    Look at people fighting for food in Haiti.
    Look at the drug wars in Jamaica.

Remember those buffoons took us to 24% unemploment in the 1990s and we’re quickly heading there.

This time around, there are more guns on the streets. This is 16 yrs later and we have more deported criminals out of the UK, Canada and the USA.

Look at the types of crime we’re having. So if this government of buffoons cannot keep a lid on the situation and keep people employed, then what do you think the outcome will be?

Well let’s give you a reality check.
    The pressure on the minibuses is likely to put 1000 persons on the breadline as they rid themselves of the conductors.
    This is Mr. Thompson’s punitive policy.

The increased taxes on the lotteries is already affecting the amount of grants that were given to the sports community. Think about it. All those programs in the communities with football, cricket etc will now be affected.
    Again another punitive measure by Mr. Thompson.

Are these the same people that voted for him that he’s now punishing.

If there’s one thing is that Bajans aint foolish.

Only time is that this time around, there are more guns on the streets and yes, blood will flow.

Just look at the two youngsters who were charged for the poster with the two guns. The .45 specials.

So in typical Bajan style, you may wish to ignore it and pretend it doesnt exisit, but the perfect storm is brewing.

And yes, Hartley Henry, a graduate from St. George Secondary Animal Farm does not have what it takes to advise on ANYTHING in Barbados.

Apologize what! It’s ok for WIV/Hartley Henry to come here and attack left right and centre and when the favor is returned, you all rush to his defense.

Shupses is right. Shupes!

45. Only time is that this time around, there are more guns on the streets and yes, blood will flow.
    ………………………………………………………
    Although we might be looking at the difficulties we are going through, we must be careful with the tone of our language, Barbadians are known to be a safe place to live, and I don’t see it changing soon regardless if the USA is dumping nationals back on our shores. We must have confidence in our people, we are not trigger happy and try not to instigate such Remember I spend more time than anyone else trying to bring WIV in line, but I prefer to use hardcore diplomacy although WIV propaganda supersedes diplomacy.. Anyway….Peace.

46. Well it’s a hardcore propaganda that is provoking a very negative reaction.

Remember action reaction.

So people will react in the same harsh terms as WIV/Hartley Henry’s propaganda.

The funny thing is that they’re doing a horrible job at it.

Whatever became of subtlety?

47. Dear Anon:

“And yes, Hartley Henry, a graduate from St. George Secondary Animal Farm does not have what it takes to advise on ANYTHING in Barbados”

Dear Anon: I have offered to give/ WIV/181/Hartley a few lashes with my senior citizen cane. Verbally beat up WIV/181/Hartley all you want but do not denigrate St. George Secondary The people’s children, almost half of them good staunch B’s attend that school.

Keep the school out of it or I will have to give you a few lashes too.

I am NOT a WIV/181/Hartley defender nor supporter.

48. Only for you J. I’ll take your advice!

49. Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' Avatar
    Someone said the ‘BLP Stalwart’

Well, well, well! We have a PM that is busy on excursions and keen to be an ‘oppositional politician’. Pray tell me when will he get on with the job of making promises become actual fruition for the majority of persons that relieved him of the indignity of leading Dem into oblivion. Charging that their are these BLP political operatives in Government departments is more than a smoke screen. It is an arrogant and disrespectful claim to a civil service that has done this country proud regardless of the party in power. PM, please stop with the innuendo and accusations and govern. At any time do you intend to implement the changes you spoke about on the campaign trail? I am BLP as they say — ‘a stalwart’ — but I am truly expecting you to do your job so that the lot for Barbadians can be improved. I do not want you to fail because I am a very proud Barbadian. Nevertheless, you are scaring me. Not because of your tainted mouthings and finger-pointing. It is because you are not demonstrating leadership, you are not demonstrating that you are capable of taking Barbados to a higher level of development. Do your JOB Mr. Prime Minister for those who stand next to you waiting for their share of the fatted calf will not forgive you when the Bees are the ones buzzing in the next government of Barbados. Maybe, one term is all you envisioned.

50. @ my fellow stalwart

And the PM is making this statements all over the world, they’re picked up all over the net and starting to affect the country’s reputation.

De other one Chris Sinckler say dat bajans nasty de other day. We didnt nasty before Jan. 15th? We get nasty all of a sudden?

Where is there plan to clean up the country? Why not come up with a beautification plan and start to implement?

Talk, talk, talk, talk, talk. We are going to do this and we’re going to do that, and a year almost gone and we’re faced with stagflation, rising unemployment and free bus rides for school children that will make the TB hemorrhage even more millions.