Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has been in the news a lot lately. Late week he spoke out on the economy while addressing a St. Peter branch meeting, and yesterday he is being reported in the Nation under the headline Arthur knocks ‘foreigner bashing’. Arthur stepped down from the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) when his party was defeated in the general election held in January 2008. The respect which the Barbados media have for the former Prime Minister that he has so easily leaped back into the public sphere is evident, former Prime Minister Erskine Sandiford was not so lucky.

Where is the evidence that Barbadians are bashing foreigners Prime Minister Arthur? From where we sit what we see are Barbadians bashing illegal-foreigners and our open door immigration policy. Public officials of the standing of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur must stop confusing the public, all it does is to muddy the waters on the vexing issue of immigration. Immigration is a contentious issue around the world in the developed countries and even in our region. Yes Mr. Arthur, even in our region, don’t make Barbadians out to be xenophobic when our CSME countries are equally concerned about the influx of illegals into their countries. Did we hear correctly in the news yesterday that Antigua rounded up 100 illegal immigrants and they are in the process of doing the paper work to boot them out of the country?

Antigua like Barbados depends on tourism, they have acted because of concerns of an increase in crime linked to an underground population. The horrible incident which occurred in Antigua recently with the death of a honeymooning couple is still vivid in our minds.

Former Prime Minister Arthur is a committed regionalist and had lead responsibility for CSME when in office. If he is so concerned about the unbridled movement of people, why are only a few categories of worker been given the privilege to work without the hassle of work permits in CARICOM?  BU was surprised to read that in 12 years only 5000 CARICOM citizens have been granted skills certificates. Even if Barbados want to be sympathetic to the illegals in Barbados, the cold reality of a contracting economy  has created a situation where illegals will be not only competing for jobs but placing pressure on our already stressed physical and social infrastructure. The argument which Arthur uses when he refers to Barbados close ties to Guyana is an emotional one, unusual coming from an economist. He is supported by the obvious PR job being done by the Nation newspaper which started last Sunday with a four part series on Guyana. This argument is asinine. The Barbadian worker who went to Guyana was sought after because of their work ethic and training, they were not going to Guyana as illegals.

Former Prime Minister Arthur is quoted in the article, “Let us start using Guyana land and carry capital and start producing goods because the more we talk about prices, prices, prices, we want to solve prices, how we are we going to bring down prices unless you produce more?” His position is a contradiction when the current situation being played out in Guyana is assessed. Barbados should not be encouraging the mass exodus of immigrants from Guyana, the illegals we mean. Guyanese should be encouraged to remain to help rebuild their country. The truth is the Guyanese are being encouraged by their government to leave so that they can remit much needed foreign exchange to the Guyana treasury.

Mr. Arthur, Guyana will only be attractive to investers from Barbados if the Guyana infrastructure is receptive to the investment. It is well documented that there is a high level of crime in Guyana, the social services require massive improvement etc. Which investor would be willing to take such a risk in such conditions? Although some will, we doubt that there will be any takers in significant numbers. As if the foregoing is not enough there is the matter of thick corruption which is perceived to be at play in Guyana. Here is what the most recent Transparency International Survey reports on Guyana – “Guyana still ranks among the most corrupt countries, slipping three places on the Transparency International (TI) 2008 Corruption Perception Index (CPI) released yesterday. In a survey of 180 countries, Guyana fell to 126 with a score of 2.6 out of 10. It is the lowest ranked English-speaking Caribbean nation on the list and the second lowest ranked Caricom territory behind Haiti.” Again Mr. Arthur we want to ask you the question: would you expect Barbadian investors to be bullish on the investment idea in Guyana at this time? More importantly the question should be asked what is CARICOM doing about demanding that President Bharrat Jagdeo give account for Guyana’s slide on the Transparency International corruption index. Barbados and other CARICOM countries have historically waved their good ratings to support low to zero corruption in government. The credibility of Transparency International should therefore not be an issue.

It is very important that our regional politicians understand the ramifications of indulging in legacy building and rum shop politics at the expense of the our economies.

42 responses to “Is Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur Misrepresenting Barbadians?”

1. Where is the evidence that Barbadians are bashing foreigners Prime Minister Arthur?

Er, FORMER!! Primeminister, BU!! U don’t want to inflate these people’s already, inflated egos any more than necessary or they’ll be thinking they own Barbados!! He’s MOST DEFINITELY, the EX Primeminister!!

2. I should even say AN ex pm, as he’s not the only one still, currently, alive in Bim!!

3. Seems to me that he sent a warning shot across mottleys bow when he stated that he was not leaving.

Then again we know him to be a compulsive liar so he may well just be putting the fear of god in her.

I have no problem with the Prime Minister’s statement why should we sit back and allow Chinese, Indonesians, Africans and all manner of man grab hold of what work there is on the island meanwhile our own go unemployed??

Arthur started the Guyana fiasco as he employed undocumented workers so shame on him to come to Barbadians with his load of self serving crap.

It is for issues such as his immigration policy that the people of this great island Barbados threw he and his gang out of office, he has no serious voice in matters such as these, go take a holiday Arthur, your time would be better served by explaining to the people of Barbados the status of your Cayman Islands accounts, your Bahamas accounts and your London account, we need that money returned to our shores, while at it we need Hallam Nicholls to return some of his $ 25 million please.

4. When leaders sign agreements that they have not discussed with their people these things happen. Bajans are not oppose to migration, we are oppose to the lapsed way in which people walk into Barbados like Columbus and others did to the West Indies, an behave as though they have dis covered the country and are stating claims to their right of occupation.Mr Arthur is just trying to take guilt out of his face but in the mean time dissing bajans and that can only stir up animosity that can lead to violence. When somrthing so happen, he and all the rest like him will skip the country until things settle back down, if ever. Mr Arthur, we’re asking you to shut-up. Mr Thompson, you too had better start charging somebody for wrongdoing or you too can shut-up.

5. There are two stances that apply.

The first, correctly, is that Barbados needs to adopt a specific immigration and work policy, such that there are rules governing work permits and therefore, no job can go to a non-national that can reasonably be done by a national.

I recently saw a position for a finance director advertised as to be sourced overseas, by a well known west coast golf resort.

With so many qualified finance people here, how can that be right?

Such a rule would be in line with all internaitonal immigration policies.

No phobia there.

Secondly, there is the subject of illegal immigration.

Every country has rules against this and Barbados should be no exception.

Again, no phobia there.

However, there still remains some element of animosity against ‘foreigners’, outside the ‘ordinary course of business’, which is unhealthy.

One can hear expressions voiced i9n the streets.

Not only do such expressions exhibit and ignorance or just plain hatred of anyone foreign, but the opinions voiced do not take into account the many thousands of Barbadians working internationally, successfully too.

Then again, it is usually the ones who have an axe to grind and are unhappy with ‘their lot’ who hold such hatred.

The only criteria for immigration restrictions should be either that the job can reasonably be done by a local, or that the individual or group is suspected of being ‘against the security or well-being’ of Barbados and Barbadians.

6. Thanks Bimbro!

While we are at it we would be happy if you accept being appointed to the position of BU Proof Reader.

Please use our email address or feedback to communicate on errors.

7. David, I did n’t think it was an error but your deliberate, description of the ex-pm!! Thanks but am unable to accept the offer of proof reader!! Too, much to do, I’m afraid!!

8. Sometime ago – on a very balmy Sunday in March, March 2 to be exact – the same Mr. Arthur – looking as disturbed and pitiful as ever – went frantically RUNNING to the Nation newspaper complaining about the bad treatment that was being meted out by this present misguided DLP government to many of the consultants that he had hired, simply because the media in Barbados were NOT running after him as much as before to find out his views on any thing happening in Barbados or elsewhere, e.g. the issue of the same axing of those consultants.

But, he probably had clearly got it terribly wrong – the false assumption that because he is a former Prime Minister of Barbados, and one, too, who – when he was prime minister – was so much for the elite in Barbados and elsewhere, that the traditional media having so much misplaced affection for the very greedy elite of Barbados – the Sir Charles O Williamses, the Sir David Sealeses – that – he being one of the biggest supporters of the elite in Barbados and elsewhere – the traditional media would still be looking around for him to promote the interests of those elites – like in regard of that CSME hogwash, like the development of upscale residential districts, say, in Apes Hill, in regard of unbridled immigration into Barbados, etc., even though he was was rightly forced off his ramshackle pedestal by the majority of voters in this country, January 15 2008, and in spite of most of the local elites having now switched their support to another joke Prime Minister.

Well boy, Mr. Arthur, we are saying to you that your time as a political agent of local and international elite exploiters and their badness has gone, and that with the destruction that you – whilst being Prime Minister and Minister of Finance – wrought on the broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados, and on the country as a whole, that such and other reasons totally invalidate and dismiss any political comeback you and your stupid party are trying to make, under whatever pretexts.

Get lost, Mr. Arthur!! Just stop being a political nuisance!! Have you NOT heard what Freundel Stuart termed you – although we dont agree – a National disgrace??

9. @ Rumplestilskin

The reason why the post advertised for a foreign national is placed in the newspaper is so that anyone with objections can do so.

I have spoken to the immigration department about this and quite often Barbadians do not object.

Upon learning this, I started to object every time I saw such ads in professions where I know that I’ve personally taught and produced university graduates.

After this, I am to assume and accept the good office of the Immigration Department that the post was not filled by a non-national providing that a Barbadian can do the job.

However, in all fairness, we have to admit that some posts are very specific to an area. Therefore, a Finance Director of a Golf Course may have certain requirements that are not easily found on the local market. The employer has the right to ask for the specifics of their job requirments. Hence if that job requires, for example, a Finance professional with 10-15 yrs experience in managing golf resorts, then you can start to see why it’d be difficult to fill such a post with a Barbadian.

Of course, several employers manipulate this and create requirements (like the ability to speak four languages) that will exclude nationals.

So there are several angles to this issue.
    Barbadians have the right to protest these posts and are not making full use of that right.
    Sometimes the requirements truly cannot be met my nationals.
    This was certainly the case in the mid to late 90s when we could not find ten qualified marketers in Barbados. The few good ones were already in secured and well paid jobs and were not prepared to leave, so importing highly trained marketers was necessary.

Finally, protesting on a blog is not enough. You (we) need to send letters to your representatives en masse, petition the immigration department en masse to start to make a difference.

10. To Mr. P D C let me tell you that Mr.Arthur is going down as one of the BEST Prime Minister BARBADOS ever had.

11. I recently saw a position for a finance director advertised as to be sourced overseas, by a well known west coast golf resort.
    ……………………………………………………….
    What about the ad for a foreigner to fill the post of ‘Office Manager” on page 34 in the Nation, Tuesday September 23, 2008. This is what you call abused of Immigration policy. What is so scientifically special about an Office Manager. This application should be rejected.

12. @ Tell me why:

Have you written the Immigration Department. Do you know of qualified Office Managers that can do the job.

You need to write. Write your representative. Write the Immigration department. Write the Press.

Until we learn to apply this kind of pressure the problems will not be solved.

13. Have you written the Immigration Department. Do you know of qualified Office Managers that can do the job.
    ……………………………………………………….
    Do you believe that I should write the Immigration Department on a simple everyday job that the department should know would not require specialised labour? Yes, I would like to waste ink in submitting objections, but I leave such glaring stupidity for the eyes of Immigration personnel.

14. Yes I believe that you should write the Immigration Dept everytime because that’s the procedure they’ll hide behind.

In fact it got so ridiculous that I sent them the same letter over and over and over.

The unfortunate thing about this is that many Barbadians are complicit in allowing non-nationals to take the jobs that Barbadians can do.

15. Well put together piece P DC. Kudos to you . BU’s scene setting preamble was spot on. Owen is one short mean spirited individual.

16. QB // September 25, 2008 at 12:24 pm

Owen is one short mean spirited individual.
    ==========================
    He is first and foremost a drunkard. 🙂 and as we know a drunkard will cuss anybody and call them names.

17. Hi PDC. Since the demise of Arthur, have your sales gone up or down. Be man, answer to maintain your reputation.

18. Mr Arthur is the best PM barbados had within the last few years.

Can someone say who is the PM of Barbados? Is it Hartely Henry, Lerory Parris, Mr Simpson? It surely isn’t David Thompson

19. Bajans need to stop from whispering and sweeping all the stuff under the carpet and speak out.

20. We have surveyed all the CARICOM territories and only Trinidad and Barbados operate with any serious commitment to CARICOM ideals. If this is what we want to do that is fine but we should all understand that it will come at a price.

21. Guyana TV just reported that the Guyana Government is of the opinion that the Transparency Survey is based on the opinions of those in Guyana who are anti PPP, hence anti Government. Dr. Luncheon, the Government spokeman, stated that Government meets with business people, civil society, religious leaders and so on, and because of these actions there is transparency in Guyana. Can you believe such a statement, when it is a well know fact that Guyana is a corrupt nation. It is like somebody being a homosexual, everyone knows it, but the person denies it, but carries on as a homosexual. Dr. Lucheon should be ashamed of himself to make such a statement, but in Guyana anything goes.
    I beg to differ with ex PM Arthur regarding Barbadians being xenophobic, the xenophobes are the people that are marching in from Guyana and Suriname for jobs, as these two nations have history of racial conflict.

22. We not whispering every where you go you cn here disgruntled LOUD COMPLAINTS!

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The best thing that Owen Arthur can do for Barbados now is to relocate to Guyana.

No one in Barbados will miss him.

24. No, no Carson. I think that Owen is kinda cute. I say let him stay.

25. You know what I would be more than delighted to offer PM Owen Arthur the Presidency of Guyana, they like him there, at least we would have man in charge of us, and not some I don’t know what thing. Come Owen, Guyana calling, come and be our leader.
    @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
    Guyana exporting all its people so that they can send home remittances, so why not import a leader, and a leader from a country that has connections with Guyana.

26. not only Luncheon but the entire Guyana Govt ain’t gat shame.After showing their congenital corrupt deceptive nature within they still expect others to dress up with their wooden spectacles,play deaf and DUMB and tell Guyanese and the rest of the world that they say everything ok in Guyana.

27. I would like fellow bloggers to read today’s HEAT and then Owen and company can talk to me!

Bajan men what is wrong with you have you no pride! If this was a barbadian woman you would not have heard the last!

Imagine a woman who is said to be a guyanese national blatantly refuses to let her children go to school. She is married to a bajan man, where is the child care board and ministry of education.

In guyana is this the norm? That children are not allowed to go to school!

As the ole people would say this is high class wutlessness!

28. Bruce Golding makes a profound statement today about Caribbean leaders going around the world with begging bowls shaming the region. Ralphie Gonzalves is the primus inter pares of those leaders. He begs everyone. As we speak he is kissing Turkey and Iran ass for money for an airport. What a disgrace.

29. JC I do not think we will ever learn.The abandonment of a baby at the hospital and now school age children not being sent to school.Both parents of those 2 children should be charge.I hope the Heat and Advocate will keep us updated on this issue.
    I had some real concerns with the Advocate Newspaper and its editorials but I must admit it is a much better paper that Nation Newspaper of Trinidad.I am talking about our own Nation Newspaper of Barbados.The Advocate is giving much better & balanced coverage of the immigartion issue than the Nation.
    VOB is really a national disgrace of Barbados.It has sent home some of its middle managers & senior personnel in the name of restructuring.Those positions are now being held by Trinidadian Indians.
    VOB is now an Indian owned and controlled radio station.The only positive thing from this restructuring exercise was that Vic Fernandes uneducated,semi retarded son Bobby Fernandes was dismissed from a post he had no qualification for,little experience and had nothing to do.
    Vic Fernandes & VOB come and dispute this claim.I hopeVic Fernandes who love to ridicule,insult black people (listen to market vendor) will be next one to go.Vic Fernandes will love VOB to be all Indian and Non-Barbadian.That is why we have the disgust Veoma Ali employed there.It is a cesspool.
    Boycott VOB it is pro Indian.anti Black & anti Barbadian

30. Persons have been made redundant but yet still Indians are now in their posts, ha ha ha this is TYPICAL BARBADOS!

31. The Advocate is giving much better & balanced coverage of the immigartion issue than the Nation.
    ………………………………………………………
    We keep bashing the Nation not withstanding that a newspaper is the easiest thing to be sued. Yes, we would like a newspaper to speak the same language as a blog, but you must be realistic, a blog is based on anonymous writers, thus the distinct problem in finding who to sue. I also find your assessment of the Advocate being a better paper is total crap. Cutting and pasting from the internet don’t make a paper, neither under the desk information from government agencies will make it a newspaper. Can’t you see this newspaper is the “Democrat”? You judge a newspaper by its proactive approach to decipher information and not on a reactive approach after-the-fact. But again, we can not depend on Negroman’s thoughts.

32. Tell me Why:

I can totally depend on Negroman’s thoughts.

What’s your problem?

33. In Guyana they say everything is fine, don’t worry, and outside of Guyana it is ting deh bad in Guyana.

34. […] 26, 2008 · No Comments In our blog of yesterday Is Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur Misrepresenting Barbadians?, we mentioned that the obvious strategy of the Guyana government to export labour is flawed. The […]

35. QB, thanks!!

Tell me why,

We are a political party that have many, many members of differing social, religious and professional backgrounds. Some of our members are in their own businesses across the country. And, whereas some are employed by others, some others are, most unfortunately, unemployed. Therefore, when speaking to our party you are in fact speaking to many, many people and its supporters too, NOT to one particular person who you may know.

However, since the change in government – but NOT EVER because of it – we have seen a drastic decline in business and commercial activity in Barbados. This is something that we have been commenting upon – here and elsewhere – for a long time. Both the former BLP Government and the present DLP Government – the former -to a greater extent, and the latter – to a lesser extent – must be blamed mainly for the drastic decline that many of us in PDC and in Barbados are observing and experiencing in business and commercial activity in this country.

The change in government did NOT bring about the economic crisis in which we find ourselves in. It is mainly the old bankrupt and wicked policies of both DLP and BLP Governments over the years, and culminating in Prime Minister David Thompson’s July Budgetary presentation which saw him disgustingly increasing TAXATION ASSAULTS on the backs of the relevant people, businesses and other entities in Barbados, that are responsible for the severe material production and distribution declines in the country at this juncture.

Finally, the fact of the matter is that the vast majority of voters in Barbados MUST STOP ELECTING BLP and DLP Governments in this country, and must resolve to voting in PDC or other responsible progressive party governments in this country sooner rather than later, in order that this country’s and progress and development would be catapulted forward tremendously.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think that the writers on this blog are right.

Owen Arthur should apply to be President of Guyana.

Carry along his family with him never to return to Barbados.

I can’t wait to see the back of him.

37. Dear Carson Cadogan:

Speak for yourself.

I think that Owen is cute.

I toldy you already to leave him alone.

38. So, cuteness is the criterion, for good leadership, is it ‘J’?!!

U must be a woman!!

Anyway, his looks don’t over-impress me and I don’t consider to be relevant!!

39. However, he’s undoubtedly a very, intelligent and knowledgable man who, unfortunately, may have been guilty of one or two misdemeanours, along the way!!

40. Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' Avatar
    Someone said the ‘BLP Stalwart’

It is a pity that to date so many Barbadians remain uniformed, and worse, some refuse to be informed. The state (Barbados) does not promote illegal entry into this country — it has never been done by any Prime Minister, nor will it be done by the current Prime Minister. We do not have an open immigration policy as some are suggesting — at least not as far as persons arriving here from developing countries. We do permit a fair variety of tourisms, but this does not equate to an ‘open-door policy’. Moreover, with respect to CARICOM, most persons who enter Barbados from within the region do not stay or seek permanent residence although several studies place Barbados as the leading CARICOM country in which to live. Mind you, all of this is against the backdrop of CARICOM attempting to mirror the EU model of regional integration. In the EU it is persons from ‘third countries’ who are pushed to the periphery and internal migration is permitted and legislated. I need not say more at this stage but to suggest that we need to stop pushing emotions as fact even in circumstances when there is clearly no evidence to suggest that Barbados is an open destination to every Tom, Dick, and Harry. We are xenophobic but this is not unreasonable or unusual. Should we be willing to examine the rationale behind the developments of EU, the USA, Canada, or even Australia’s policies towards immigration, we may deduce that much of what we speak is based on ignorance and fueled by runaway emotions. WIV you need not respond to me, you are as big a simpleton as any one that ever existed. Your place should be on an isolated island. Cheers my friends.

41. However, since the change in government – but NOT EVER because of it – we have seen a drastic decline in business and commercial activity in Barbados.
    ………………………………………………………
    Thanks for confirmation regarding decline in business. I am appalled in the slowdown in business activity.

42. “Thanks for confirmation regarding decline in business. I am appalled in the slowdown in business activity.”

Tell Me Why,
    Is Barbados the only place where business activity has slowed down? What are you trying to say? Here in the USA and England business has slowed down tremendously.