Submitted by BU Family Member

Artist Impression Of The Proposed Flyover At A Roundabout In Barbados

Do the light poles look any different now from those on any section of the highway?

(BAPE said the lightpole bases “looked small” ๐Ÿ˜‰

Does the island in the Belle still look too far out in the road now the road is completed?

(Another BAPE point)

Now that the wells that were planned uphill from the Haggatt Hall area are in place, is there still water “sheeting” across the road?

(BAPE jumped to a wonderful evaluation on an incomplete project)

Now that we STILL have backups at the roundabouts is BAPE willing to admit that flyovers just MAY be warranted?

Its beginning to look more and more like the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers was either

(1) playing politics itself,

(2) being used to further others political ends or

(3) just didn’t know what they were talking about!

Related Link

Owen Arthur Infers Local Barbadian Engineers Are B-Class

449 responses to “Barbados Association Of Professional Engineers And The ABC Highway”

1. Waterboy you have been living with that parrot too long.

An MOU legally constitutes a contract.

There rest of what you say is not true.Of course there are drawings whose feeding you this nonsense. Is this a party political broadcast on behalf of the DLP to justify the illegality of their actions?

2. ru4real, Yes an MOU it is a contract but it is just a preliminary agreement on the way forward.You would not expect a contract of this complexity and cost to have proceeded to the satge that it has without a more detailed and definitive Agreement.Can you answer the parrot as to why:

Ther was no pre qualification
    No RFP
    No Tender

Those are the questions that you just won’t answer. WHY?

3. Because I dont know the answers Waterboy but if you ask Messrs Lovell and Coppin no doubt they will tell you why. They are after all the ones who signed for the government but have delayed doing anything else.

4. Choice A
    Employ external consultant, do work locally. Pay consultant a fee in US, use local contractor and pay Bds dollars.

Choice B
    Employ “external” partner, do work locally, pay entire fees in US dollars.

In choice A: you pay a fee to consultant and save huge margins leaving via foreign exchange flight. You use the same workmen as the guy does in
    Choice B: where your US cash goes out of Barbados to pay the contractor outside Barbadosand can also conceivably even be used to launder payments to those who gave you the contract in the first place, paid to a non-disclosure offshore tax jurisdiction.

Even declaration of assets cannot prove this, and many feel that this is possible, even probable. Is this an action that would speak of patriotism, if indeed it did ever happen?

Which would you, a Barbados patriot, choose?

It is we who make our own selves into the banana republic, and those who imply that we must do it this way are non-Patriots!!! Never again!

Chupse@!!!

5. If Hon PM Thompson cleans up Barbados, introduces the laws it would make us the powerhouse that we are. By doing so he too will become a giant. Yes the barbarians will continue to try to steal from us, but it will not be rape and pillage like with this contract.

If not, then it is banana republic and our reputation.

No one is going to call us a banana republic for being astute, judicious and frugal with our foreign exchange and our capital works, especially in these days of recession. Au contraire.

6. Who ever heard of civil servants – not even at the level of PS, signing multi Million dollar contracts on behalf of the government?
    Just goes to show what kind of ‘contract’ this was.
    Even a verbal agreement can be a ‘contract’ and what drawings what?!? when were these done?
    when were these first seen in public?

What MOU What!?!
    I am sure that ru4real KNOWS that there are standardized contracts used for projects of this size which covers everyones’ interest.

ru4real, we have had enough of your sour grapes now. YOU DONE LOSE THE SWEETNESS!! get over it!

Why not engage us in a constructive analysis of possible solutions to the local transportation challenge instead of rambling on about crooked 3S. You can’t see that Danos going get lock up in England just now?

…and sinking so low as to call civil servants name on this blog….. well I never!!!! Why not let us know what Bizzy sign?

7. Ah Bush tea

Same old rant
    It doesnt distract BT.
    The names are there they are on the document.
    The signed , the lawyer signed are you implying that Nash and Winston arent good enough to sign things?
    And they being such big DLP supporters Tsk!

8. @Art

No one can make you into a banana republic.
    Doesnt Barbados import Bananas from Trinidad?

9. Art says
    Choice A
    Employ external consultant, do work locally. Pay consultant a fee in US, use local contractor and pay Bds dollars.
    ————————————————–
    That is exactly what 3s are ,external consultants and the sub contractors are two local outfits so whats your problem?

10. 3S are choice B, where the entire sum goes out of Barbados, and then much, much less than that sum comes back in to pay the local contractors.

Barbados, that beautiful tree full of ripe mango. Yuh would like to pick it nuh?

So Dodds is one mango, de road is a next. But next time it is we Bajans who will pick and eat the mangoes, sell them local.

You could look, but don’ touch!!! If you want to come and live with we you and all the people who does love this place and we Bajans could do so, make a company under Barbados law, and keep de money at us!

This is paradise, we country, and we would love you to come to live here, and add to our societal welfare!

11. @Art
    If you judge everyone by your own rip off standards thats fine it just aint true.
    Thats why y’all dont recognize honesty when yur see it.
    Bajans dont mind anyone plucking the mango tree just as long as some good old mangos fall right into their pockets while thy lie in de sun.

12. Art says

there is much less to pay the local contractors.
    ——————————————————–

Its so sad these two poor companies COW and Rayside practically down and out.

Come off it their raking it in !

13. Ha ha ru. You mek muh laugh. I love Barbados and Bajans, so I ain’ sayin so bout the mangoes. I know nuff people that does work real hard and have to pay taxes to build these roads.

14. Why sure they do Art.
    They need to support these poor local contractors.
    Does this earn them a ride in the BIZJET?

15. Every manjak and manjill in Barbados waiting for the PM to clean up the scene. Pressure on- don’t do it, we want to tief too!.

So to Wishing in Vain and to Hon PM Thompson, and to the memebers:
    in your elder years when they ask you what the motivation was, and it is your moment in time to say why you did this for Barbados, here is what you will say about your motivation that made Barbados a safe, reputable and progressive country:

16. Not sure what this has to to with the topic Art but
    great song anyway

……………….Showing your age man!

17. How about this?

[urlhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjvyBKYTfVs[/url]

18. Reagonomics(what become of he?)= Ian Walcott
    ru4real= Bizzy Williams or one of his cronies

19. all that is necessary for evil to thriumph, is for good men to do nothing.

20. Those who can DO those who cant be ar****** pontificate and criticise those who get the work done.

All talk no action.

21. We were promised that major parts of the ABC Highway would have been paved in time for reopening of school. Yesterday we passed the BET/Shell Wildey area and the road will definetley be incomplete come Monday.

Given that Wildey is an important junction and has historically caused traffic build-up we are disappointed by the lack of urgency in the road works.

22. … today I watched a ZR take the lane to go straight to Upton and turn right at the lights, blocking the people behind him and causing delay for those turning right.

Another favourite tactic is to charge past the traffic in the right turning lane then stop in the straight lane and attempt to barge back into the right turning lane closer to the lights.

Wonder if paving the junction will make any difference!!

23. @David

We were promised that major parts of the ABC Highway would have been paved in time for reopening of school. Yesterday we passed the BET/Shell Wildey area and the road will definetley be incomplete come Monday.

Given that Wildey is an important junction and has historically caused traffic build-up we are disappointed by the lack of urgency in the road works.
    ———————————————————–
    Ring up Nash Lovell and ask him why.

24. ru4real…

What Nash Lovell What ??? How come you can’t tell us the answer to this?

Why did your brilliant 3S experts choose to dig up the whole length of the project at the same time?

Would it not have been better to choose a section, complete that area and then move to the next one?

Was this done to ensure that once started, government would be committed to the full contract and unable to reconsider even when the folly was uncovered?

Would it not have been prudent to COMPLETE PLANS before starting work? …or did 3S need to ‘reel in the fish’ while they were biting at the bait?

I really wish that you would honestly share your obvious great knowledge with us in a way that helps us to resolve this mess that your 3s friends have been able to perpetrate on Gline Clarke and Owing….
    … instead of trying to blame middlemen.

25. Cuhdear……

How the mention of Nash gets the wind up.

3S has NO REASON to do things in any way but a totally profession manner. It is in the interests of any construction company to complete in time and work on schedule.

Otherwise penalties will occur.

Of course there were excellent design plans plans which Mr lovell and his team changed needlessly and uselessly as and when it was their wont in order to DELAY the work.
    Naturally this caused maximun disruption and was intended to do so solely it would seem embarrass the previous administration.
    Why else would would a civil servant disrupt work and cause his countrys taxpayers more expense and the traveling public angst ?
    Why would he want to change plans for ones that besides being untenable cost MORE money?
    Its called AGENDA.

26. And Lovell had sole authority to do all this? What kind of governance was this by the previous administration?

27. we were promised the 3xghway would be done by World Cup!

28. @Art
    not true .
    This was never promised at all

29. Why are you all worrying about. The road by Wildey/Upton will be completed by November to meet the Christmas rush. So sit back and enjoy the delay, be entertained with the ZR/Minibus culture coming on the left side from the Texaco station and pulling their vehicle in front any vehicle to turn right. Also the road will remain dusty and rocky in order to slow down vehicles traversing in the area.

30. I see in todays paper that MPT in all its wisdom has at last after nearly a year of two lanes decided to tell the public how to use them.

And the answer is pass on any side.

Look forward to more confusion.

31. And the answer is pass on any side.

Look forward to more confusion.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Based on this statement we can see why we have so many problems on our roads. With a dual carriageway you should be careful with such statement. Drivers who plan to drive at 40 km on an 80 km highway should keep to the left to allow faster vehicles to overtake. Suppose two vehicles drive side by side at 30 km and block others from passing? Do you now understand the nonsense from people who should know better. You get my drift.

32. @ Art
    not true .
    This was never promised at all
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    You are the one not true ru4real. Glyne Clarke the then minister publicly announced the road widening would be finished by World Cup. He further said the flyovers would be constructed after WC. Its a matter of public record and can be checked in newspaper archives. ru4real stop lying to fit your agenda..stewps!

33. @Outsider

Had the original design plans been followed ie the road was to be widened ONLY at the base of the flyovers this was a possibility.

However there was an increase in the scope of works requested by MPT
    Instead of just the small area the contractors were requested by the ministry to widen the entire stretch of the ABC between Garfield sobers and the warrens area.

At NO time did the contractors state that this would be finished before the WC .

Glyne Clarke statement refers then to the origin design widening.

Ministers do say things that are not quite exact sometimes .

ie When is the present government going to declare its assets?

34. Wow
    I see that new zebra crossings have been painted on the highway .
    (pedestrian bridges were the origin ideal)

This is an accident just waiting to happen.

35. I have nothing against the MPT advising motorist to use both lanes of the Dual Carriage ways. Why are we in an all fired hurry to overtake, and especially at those time when the vehicle in the left lane is already at the top end of the maximum allowable speed.
    My main concern with the use of both lanes, is how do we cater for emergency vehicle coming through.I believe that the Highwaycode , recommends pulling over to the left side of the road and allow the E-Vehicle to proceed. Could you imagine ,with the lack of any other guideline,both lanes of traffic attempting to pull over to the left side of the road.
    Good drivers on Dual Carriageways at all time ,drive as close as possible to the left and right sides of the road respectively, leaving a clear passage in the centre of the road for E-Vehicles.

36. @Sanderson Rowe

What is evident is the design flaws which are starting to come to the fore. This is a highway which was designed to carve its way through villages. How could it have been designed not to accommodate safe pedestrian crossings? The crossings at St. Barnabas and CBC are death traps in the making.

37. It was once rumored that some sections of the newly completed ABC would have been subjected to Toll Charges. Do you realise that for all intents and purposes the recent astronomical increases in vehicle road tax, is in effect a collective annual Toll charge for all motorist.

38. While, yes, we are in effect being charged a toll for the h’way whether we use it or not, the problem is that we are being taken for a ride by the government. They promised conpletion since May, then July, then sometime soon. Is this the same DLP that was so critical of the last government and the time they were taking to complete the project?

39. The scout,

…sometimes you sound more like guide- fuh truth…

Who in the government you see building the highway?
    How could they ‘promise completion’ in May of July? …and even is they did – you would bother to repeat that?!?
    chupsssss
    Gline Clarke said on TV more than once that the flyovers would be completed by ‘year end’….. in 2006….politicians just good for talk.

You should be asking ru4real how come his 3S people are such experts and yet we can see the same sections of the highway surfaced, dug up, resurfaced, re- dug over and over…. any idiot can build by ‘hit and miss’, especially if using someone else’s money.

The highway is a mess because it was BADLY MANAGED from the start by the BLP (Gline Clarke and Owen -cause Mia say that she didn’t know anything ’bout it). We all know that if you start wrong there is only one way it can end…

With respect to the pedestrian crossings…
    What highway what?!?
    ..the speed limit should be 30 MPH PERIOD!!!
    Except for the ‘Bermuda triangle'(where there are NONE)…The stupid concrete barriers in the middle of the road should be removed and used to build an artificial reef or something…

Pedestrian crossings should be placed, with islands in the middle of the road, as needed…

The whole 80Km/hr thing is just a farce in little Barbados anyway – the death and injury resulting is NOT worth the couple seconds ‘saved’.

A little common sense goes a long way….

40. @Bt

The grid lock on Barbados roads appear to be shaping how Barbadians think about the 3S deal. In other words we need flyovers or some other intervention on the roads so therefore it is wrong for the government to stop the project.

The fact that the government has advised that they have concerns about the contractual element to the deal and by the Leader of the Opposition’s own mouth it was not the best deal seems to be of little concern to some educated Barbadians.

A couple weeks ago we heard a comment somewhere that Barbadians should become concern at our inability to apply logic to simple scenarios. We need to stop politicizing everything.

41. David,
    There is grid lock because the construction takes place at peak times;
    because it is uncoordinated and clearly hit and miss;
    because it is in ALL the construction people’s interest to frustrate everyone to encourage MORE expenditure and expansion.

Truth is that this work could have been planned section by section, much of the work could have been done in off peak times and the work should have ONLY started with a final plan in mind.

…would have been much cheaper, less chaotic and actually helpful.

…as to the traffic jams…. ANYTIME that you have 120,000 vehicles in a 166 square mile island, with no controls in place -and with people who have more dollars than sense – you will have traffic jams….. even if you paved all 166 sq miles….

Bajans have been led to believe that money falls from trees…. that will soon change – and we will then learn to apply logic to the spending of our money…..

42. Bush Tea says
    There is grid lock because the construction takes place at peak times;
    because it is uncoordinated and clearly hit and miss;
    because it is in ALL the construction peopleโ€™s interest to frustrate everyone to encourage MORE expenditure and expansion.
    ———————————–

Rubbish!

43. What is evident is the design flaws which are starting to come to the fore. This is a highway which was designed to carve its way through villages. How could it have been designed not to accommodate safe pedestrian crossings? The crossings at St. Barnabas and CBC are death traps in the making.
    ——————————————–
    They are.
    That is why the original consultant contractors 3S had pedestrian foot bridges in the design plans.
    People were in fact given the choice through public meetings of under or over passes for pedestrians.
    It is highly unusual and dangerous to have zebra crossings on a highway.

44. You should be asking ru4real how come his 3S people are such experts and yet we can see the same sections of the highway surfaced, dug up, resurfaced, re- dug over and overโ€ฆ. any idiot can build by โ€˜hit and missโ€™, especially if using someone elseโ€™s money.
    ———————————————–
    Because 3S had very exacting international standards and rejected any part of the road surfacing that was done incorrectly.
    Hit and miss is what some local slap dash ‘we always done it this way’ road builders employ and we see the results!
    Crap roads.
    The ABC highway is by far the best road ever built in Barbados .
    Why the rush to get rid of 3S another contractor has taken over their position and the relatively simple work ( all the difficult stuff has been done) has slowed down to a snail pace- by very messy snails too.

45. The road fiasco flounders on.
    Its obvious no one has the faintest idea on how to proceed. Bits are done here and there Warrens is an accident waiting to happen with drums and blocks strewn willy nilly all over the road. Pedestrians have no where to walk as heaps of sand decorate the side walks.
    The road going up towards Redmonds just past Simpson motors is still unfinished with markers sticking out in the road.
    There are no road markings at all anywhere, no lane markings ,no crossings.
    The road leading up to University Hill is appalling The new road surface is vaguely reminiscent of a ploughed field which makes for exciting driving with interesting dips and hollows filled with water ,auto cross perhaps?

46. Is this the same ABC h,way that the dlp was complaining about that was taking too long? What about the forensic investigation to be carried out?I appears that the new engineers on the job is trying a ” trial and error system”, it is time somebody tells us the travelling public what is happening. Since gaining the government, we have been given three different dates for the completion of the h,way, all those dates have passed. The last thing I heard is indefinately.

47. The very same scout.

The traveling public?

Who tells them anything?

You could try asking Meesrs NASH Lovell or Mr Dave Scanterbury at MPT.

Or their wesite

http://www.porkiespiesareus.com

48. Engineer believes flyovers still necessary

10/28/2008

By Nicholas Cox

THE construction of five flyovers along the ABC Highway should be carried out in order to alleviate the traffic congestion that is still being experienced at roundabouts.

This is according to the engineer responsible for designing the Highway Expansion Project, Managing Principal at Stantec Inc., Andrew Hutchinson, who believes that the flyovers will and should be built in the future. โ€œPeople are already beginning to realise that even with the wider highway, thereโ€™s still a bottleneck at the roundabouts,โ€ Hutchinson told The Barbados Advocate last week.

He explained that the traffic studies, which were conducted in advance of construction work, showed that approximately 70 per cent of the motorists on the highway were going straight through and the flyovers were designed to separate those motorists and to reduce congestion etc etc
    ……………………………………………………………….
    Is that you ru4real?

49. I would like the powers that be toi stop playing politics with the H,way. this has been the problem from the inception. First it was designed to be 4 lanes, politics caused it to be reduced to 2 lanes. Now it was taking more than twice the original cost of extend to 4 lanes. Are we to believe that the idea of flyovers would have to wait for another 10 to 15 years before we decide, through poiltics, to build the flyovers? Don’t even want to THINK what the cost of building those flyovers would cost then.

50. Engineer believes flyovers still necessary

10/28/2008

By Nicholas Cox

THE construction of five flyovers along the ABC Highway should be carried out in order to alleviate the traffic congestion that is still being experienced at roundabouts.

This is according to the engineer responsible for designing the Highway Expansion Project, Managing Principal at Stantec Inc., Andrew Hutchinson, who believes that the flyovers will and should be built in the future. โ€œPeople are already beginning to realise that even with the wider highway, thereโ€™s still a bottleneck at the roundabouts,โ€ Hutchinson told The Barbados Advocate last week.

He explained that the traffic studies, which were conducted in advance of construction work, showed that approximately 70 per cent of the motorists on the highway were going straight through and the flyovers were designed to separate those motorists and to reduce congestion etc etc
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.
    Is that you ru4real?
    —————————————-
    No its not me but its absoutely true
    Extensive traffic studies were carried out by 3S prior to construction by highly experienced traffic engineers.
    For political(?) reasons these studies were totally disregarded.