Caribbean TourismApparently there was a Caribbean Tourism Summit meeting last week in Washington held under the auspices of the Caribbean Tourism Organization. According to this article, it was the first annual Caribbean Tourism Summit. The fact that tourism is the live-blood of most of the Caribbean islands and in 2008 we have for the first time been able to convene a summit is instructive.

A couple things stood out when we read the article. Firstly we noticed that that former United States Chairman of the Federal Reserve participated in the summit. Out of curiosity we wonder how much money the retired manipulator of the world’s financial market had to be paid to participate.

Here is a snippet of what Greenspan told tourism leaders from the Caribbean:

In a series of informal exchanges in front of conference participants, Dr Greenspan, a man whose views can still move markets, told his interlocutor, Sir Dwight Venner, governor of the East Caribbean Central Bank, that the long-term trend for Caribbean tourism was positive. The industry’s fortunes would follow rising living standards in prosperous geographically close states, and the Caribbean would remain a desirable destination for the northern hemisphere.

Having built-up the expectation of the region’s tourism leaders Greenspan was quoted later in the conference as follows:

Oil prices were likely to continue to rise as they were largely a function of a decrease in global reserves of oil. As investment in new production had diminished and demand increased, such reserves were now only running parallel to production.

The consequence was that prices had risen and the investment community had placed a high value on holding investments in oil, the former Federal Reserve Chairman suggested, for periods of up to a decade and a half. The consequence was that changing demand and speculation may lead to continuing instability, resulting in sudden price falls occurring against an overall continuing upward trend in the price of oil.

Maybe we are missing something but what was Greenspan trying to say? To be honest is sounds like a good dose of ‘gobblygook’. It seems mind boggling to the BU household that in 2008 we would have four or five regional airlines all battling for supremacy in the small Caribbean skies. This is happening against the world’s leading airlines which have better management, equipment, critical mass, brand name and other factors going for it, and bankruptcies continue to be a feature of the industry. It also might explain why the Trinidad government seems hell bent on buying a private jet. Some of our leaders surely have their heads up each other’s tails.

[vodpod id=ExternalVideo.619493&w=425&h=350&fv=]

more about “ROYAL CARIBBEAN INTERNATIONAL INTRODU…“, posted with vodpod –Thanks to Adrian Loveridge

It does not take an HC boy to correctly analyse that at the regional level we have to strategize to tackle the problem of airlift servicing our region. The fact that the global economic turbulence continues to wreck havoc on the airline industry is not good news for our region. It continues to be an indictment on the region that our despotic leaders, who all lead small economies which depend on tourism, do not realize that an avant guard approach is required. In fairness to Barbadian hotelier Ralph Taylor and St. Lucia Tourism Minister Alan Chastenet they have been calling for drastic action for sometime. Let us not forget Adrian Loveridge who has been ‘mummed’ in recent times given the collective responsibility he now has to respect as a BTA board member.

On July 02 the Caribbean leaders will be meeting in Antigua. Hopefully the utterances which we have come to expect from CARICOM will now take on a steely purpose which is required by the seriousness of the times.

128 responses to “Caribbean Tourism Floundering”

1. https://www.osac.gov/Reports/report.cfm?contentID=80090

Warden Message: Barbados Crime Increase
    Consular Affairs Bulletins
    Americas – Barbados
    21 Feb 2008

Printer Friendly Email Article Related Reports
    22 Apr 2008

Barbados and Eastern Caribbean 2008 Crime & Safety Report

U.S. Embassy Bridgetown issued the following Warden Message on February 21:

U.S. citizens visiting or living in Barbados should be aware that on January 16 and again on January 30 groups of tourists on guided tours of the island were the victims of highly unusual robberies or attempted robberies at gunpoint. In the second incident, shots were fired by the assailants, although there were no reported injuries. Barbados police believe they have identified and are actively seeking at least some of the perpetrators of the two crimes, but to date no arrests have been made.

Most Americans who visit Barbados enjoy trouble-free visits to the island. However, U.S. citizens who are the victims of crimes in Barbados are encouraged to contact the Consular Section of the U.S. Embassy, which is located in the Wildey Business Park, Wildey, St. Michael. The telephone number for the Consular Section is (246) 431-0225. The fax number is (246) 431-0179, and the general e-mail address for consular matters is consularbridge2@state.gov. After hours, a duty officer can be reached by dialing the Embassy switchboard at (246) 436-4950.

Americans living or traveling in Barbados are encouraged to register with the U.S. Embassy or Consulate through the State Department’s travel registration website, and to review regularly updated Country Specific Information on travel and security within Barbados. Americans without Internet access may register directly with the nearest U.S. Embassy or Consulate. By registering, American citizens make it easier for the Embassy or Consulate to contact them in case of emergency. The website for Embassy Bridgetown is http://bridgetown.usembassy.gov/ .

2. https://www.osac.gov/Reports/report.cfm?contentID=80090
    Barbados Crime Increase
    U.S. Embassy Bridgetown issued the following Warden Message on February 21:

U.S. citizens visiting or living in Barbados should be aware that on January 16 and again on January 30 groups of tourists on guided tours of the island were the victims of highly unusual robberies or attempted robberies at gunpoint. In the second incident, shots were fired by the assailants, although there were no reported injuries. Barbados police believe they have identified and are actively seeking at least some of the perpetrators of the two crimes, but to date no arrests have been made.

Most Americans who visit Barbados enjoy trouble-free visits to the island. However, U.S. citizens who are the victims of crimes in Barbados are encouraged to contact the Consular Section of the U.S. Embassy, which is located in the Wildey Business Park, Wildey, St. Michael. The telephone number for the Consular Section is (246) 431-0225. The fax number is (246) 431-0179, and the general e-mail address for consular matters is consularbridge2@state.gov. After hours, a duty officer can be reached by dialing the Embassy switchboard at (246) 436-4950.

Americans living or traveling in Barbados are encouraged to register with the U.S. Embassy or Consulate through the State Department’s travel registration website, and to review regularly updated Country Specific Information on travel and security within Barbados. Americans without Internet access may register directly with the nearest U.S. Embassy or Consulate. By registering, American citizens make it easier for the Embassy or Consulate to contact them in case of emergency. The website for Embassy Bridgetown is http://bridgetown.usembassy.gov/ .

3. Just Back from Barbados: I Definitely Won’t Return

Barbados was the 10th Caribbean island I have visited and, after doing so, I have to wonder if those who rave about it and return over and over have been to any of the others?

I didn’t see anything special about this island that would warrant flying all that extra distance. There are simply too many other islands a lot closer to home that are prettier, have better snorkeling and give more value for the $ — oh, and they dont include being harrassed on your hotel beach daily.

Hotel

We stayed at Bouganvillea. I would never stay here again. This is a 2 star property charging 4 star prices. When we arrived, our room (1 bedroom deluxe) was not ready and none of our requests (high floor, ocean view and 2 beds) were honored. The guy checking us in grinned mockingly when telling us we’d only have one bed.

We had ants in the kitchen and living room; a few times I noticed one on my plate or glass; the door handle in the bathroom was barely hanging on; you had to slam doors to close them securely; doors creaked like in an old house; furnishings mediocre; and worst of all the staff (other than the maids) acted like it was a huge imposition when asked for the smallest thing, including cashing travelers checks. They also hoard the towels like they are gold nuggets.

The watersports guys were lazy – I never got an umbrella one day I asked for one and when I asked him to bring us 3 chairs, even though we were still well within the hotel beach, we were told it was ‘too far’ and we’d have to carry them back ourselves. THe service and value for the $ was simply very poor here compared to similar properties I’ve stayed at.

Worst of all though was the CONSTANT HARASSMENT on the hotel beach not only by people selling things but also by guys who were simply trolling. They were rude, vulgar and hard to get rid of. I was told to ‘f off’ and to ‘get an f’ing life’ when I told them to leave us alone. Any single woman who was reasonably attractive was fair game. The hotel manager said many girls go off with them so they’ve come to expect you to say yes. Hotel security just stood there looking at these guys for the longest time before finally running them off but they were back again the next day.

ONe man was clearly drunk and was grabbing people by the arm on the beach trying to get $ for drawing their picture. When I told him to go away or I’d call security, he said ‘I am security’. He was even bothering women who were walking with their husbands! If I wanted to put up with this BS I’d go back to Jamaica. The hotel’s attitude is ‘it’s a public beach, we can’t do anything’. nice

Beaches

Other than the harrassment our beach was fine but nothing spectacular. It’s long and the water is not totally flat. Still I have to laugh when people call this rough. It’s wavy. There are swells. There were 1-2 foot waves breaking on shore but you could get over them. Still if you want typical calm caribbean sea you’ll be disappointed.

The only other beach I visited was Gibbs/Mullins. If this is one of their best beaches I feel bad for them. The water was definitely calmer but had a greenish tinge – not the typical caribbean blue. THe beach was crowded w/ people renting chairs/umbrellas and the vendors were out here too though we weren’t sexually harassed. Beaches on other islands put this to shame.

I asked one of the crew on the Tiami to recommend a good west coast beach and he said ‘I hate the west coast. you cant enjoy your swim bc of the jet skis and busy sports stuff’. Bingo. The problem is the west coast is all this island has. The north and east arent swimmable and the south coast reminded me of the east coast of the US on a calm day.

Snorkeling I had read Gibbs/Mullins had good snorkeling but it’s just rocks w. some fish. A local also told us that Folkstone off the beach is a waste of your time; the only good part of Folkstone is the part accessible by boat only. Still I wouldn’t know because….

Tiami

It rained every day we were there but one. Hence, we did the Tiami in the rain. However they didn’t use the Tiami boat (which holds 100 people). Several times a week they use the smaller Spirit. Dont waste your money! This boat was way too small for the 32 people they packed on it and they let people smoke all over the boat. My options were to sit outside in the cold rain or inside w/ no view (the covered part of the boat isn’t level with the rest so you cant see anything) and breathe smoke.

Bc of the rain they went to Carlyle bay instead of folkstone. So I got a lovely view of smokestacks, cranes and other industrial type equipment on shore for most of the trip. The turtles was fun but there were 30 people competing for THREE turtles. Carlyle shipwrecks are interesting but I would have preferred a reef.

THe food was mediocre and my friend threw up right after the trip and I developed diarrhea and cramping so you tell me. If I had to do it over I’d go with Small Cats bc they only let 12 people go out on each trip. This is a cattle boat mainly for people who want to drink and smoke – in fact several of them never left the boat. I cant believe I blew $70 on this floating bar.

We had scheduled snuba for the next day but they also go to carlyle bay so we cancelled – why bother returning to what we’d already paid to see.

Island Safari

Yep did this in the rain too. BIG mistake. Despite having the plastic flaps down (which made it hard to see) mud was flying into the jeep. It wouldnt come out of my clothes. We were all COVERED in it. When we got out for pictures at hackleton’s cliff, mud/clay from hell stuck to our shoes over an inch thick. It wouldnt scrape off. I finally had to go into the ocean at the bathsheba stop to wash it off. No one on our trip looked happy.

Dont do this if you have neck or back problems. I DONT have neck or back problems and was sore all the next day. I have been less jossled on roller coasters. I came completely up out of my seat despite my seat belt and one man’s seat belt broke, and he missed hitting his head on the roll bar by inches. Our driver was deliberately trying to make it as scary and bumpy as possible, careening left and right like he was on a stunt obstacle course. Not fun when you’d rather just see the scenery and take a picture.

Lunch was pretty good but was served at a hole in the wall outdoor picnic-y type place overlooking a nothing-special beach. Though I saw things I couldnt have seen in a cab (I assume) I cant whole heartedly recommend this. Aside from the bumping, at 6 hours its too long. The 35 minute ride through rush hr traffic on the highway back to our hotel breathing diesel fumes was awful.

Dining

We at at the hotel restaurant once bc we were exhausted and hadn’t gotten groceries yet. Food was pretty good but grossly overpriced. Bellini’s at the Gap was nice. My pizza was no better than frozen ones I’ve had but reasonable prices and pretty view over the water.

Lastly, at the airport when we were leaving, a woman asked us to complete a tourism survey and several of the questions asked if we were harassed and they had categories – sexually, verbally, etc. This says to me that this is a common problem. In any event I wont be returning to ‘Jamaica light’.

4. http://www.frommers.com/cgi-bin/WebX?128@@.eeca916

” We were only there for a cruise stop, but I agree thoroughly about the hostile, abusive, and harassing locals. We almost got back on the boat because all the cabs wanted over a hundred dollars to take us around the island. We just wanted to go to the Mount Gay rum distillery which was almost in walking distance. After a complaint to the tourist office, an employee of that office assisted us in getting a cab. The driver still tried to sell us on the tour, but he gave up fairly easily. The Mount Gay tour was very nice, but we were really glad to get back on the boat. I would never choose Barbados as a destination. “

5. http://www.nationnews.com/story/291934621539297.php
    Health officers sound warning
    Published on: 6/16/08.

THERE IS CONCERN growing across the island about the care of the environment.

Retired environmental health officer Ambrose Francis is afraid that the amount of garbage surfacing on the island might eventually cause harmful diseases.

Francis, who workedfor 33 years in the field, is of the opinion that Barbadians might not have a tomorrow if they continue to dump garbage callously around the island.

He was speaking after a service at the St Patrick’s Roman Catholic Church, Jemmotts Lane, St Michael, to mark the launch of the newly formed Barbados Association of Retired Environmental Health Officers.

He said: “We had malaria in Barbados already and if we are not careful, it can come back. Yellow fever, as well as the other illnesses caused by mosquitoes are harmful, but can be avoided if we keep the island clean.”

Secretary of the association, Andrew Jordan, who is still an environmental officer said his concern was the lack of respect that the general public showed to the health officers.

“Years ago, home owners would make a special effort to keep their surroundings clean when an officer was inspecting. Legislation needs to be reinforced so that people will understand the importance of this effort and pay closer attention to warnings from the department,” he said.

Jordan also spoke about the organisation and said its main purpose was to keep 90 retired officers in close contact with each other. He however pointed out that although retired, care of the environment was still very high on their agenda.

6. http://www.nationnews.com/story/291685840051903.php
    EDITOR’S DIARY: ‘Clean’ Bajans say I lie

BY ROY MORRIS

IT APPEARS that my criticism of the fact that the country is becoming increasingly nasty, and that since it is being made so by Barbadians we must be becoming increasingly nasty, has offended some clean Bajans.

I had the misfortune of being in the dentist’s chair last Thursday when a contributor to Voice Of Barbados’ Brass Tacks programme reportedly took me to task, and so I did not hear him.

I am not above criticism,
    but after castigating me,
    tell me who is responsible for
    all the old fridges, stoves, washing machines, computers, mattresses
    and shipping barrels littering our
    cart roads and gullies. But just in
    case you never leave the beaten path, tell me who is responsible for
    all those fast food boxes and cups,
    soft drink and beer bottles, and all other kinds of disposable items that litter our streets.

If you still have doubts, drive along the Ronald Mapp Highway after one of the Ministry of Public Works’ tractors has cut the brush from
    the shoulders.

It is a most disgusting picture –
    so much so that I often wonder if the tall bush does not present a less distressing view.

But that’s just me: Read what some other Barbadians wrote after I published my views last Tuesday

7. DAVID OR LOVERIDGE CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL WISHING IN VAIN HOW MUCH THE EFFORTS OF THE BTA ARE UNDERMINED WHEN THE TOURIST FINALLY ARRIVES BARBADOS?

You have Petra doing a phenomenal job in London, the Canadian office, the New York Office…everyone in the Harbor Road…but unfortunately…there’s so much beyond their control that their efforts are wasted…
    Yes we have a reputation as a top Caribbean destination…but we’re getting a lot of bad press that everyone keeps ignoring…
    We have to stop ignoring the bad press and pretending that it does not exist…
    Wishing in Vain is the typical Bajan who refuses to admit that our industry is in serious trouble…

8. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

Yep thats right you would be much happier at home in Zimbabwe.

I would expect that if you search far enough and often enough you would find a complaint about some aspect of tourism but to suggest as you are suggesting that there is no good in the Barbados Hotel and Tourism product you are a complete idiot, simple as that.

As I said before where we have reached and what we have seen of our tourism product many around the world would love to have reached where we are at this stage of our development and it sad that you as a Barbadian fail to accept that and to try to help build the product up even more but instead you opt to destroy the one truly world class thing that is ours.

You are a very simple person with no love or caring for this island and quite honestly you would do better in somewhere like Zimbabwe where you will find hell catching your tail after a stint there then lets talk about life in this treasure of an island, it sickens me when ones like you go out of your way to destroy the fabric of this society with your nonsense.

9. Wait! Wha i dont understand you…I agree wid everyting you say…
    And furthermore…I dont need to go to Zimbabwe to suffer…all I need to do is go to the supermarket…living under de present government and the bunch of jokers dem got as ministers (some of dem aint even pass O’level Maths and one walking bout telling people dat he gotta a doctorate) is just as bad as living in Zimbabwe…
    Dont start me…cuz I went school wid some o dem…so dont start me…

10. “I would expect that if you search far enough and often enough you would find a complaint about some aspect of tourism but to suggest as you are suggesting that there is no good in the Barbados Hotel and Tourism product you are a complete idiot, simple as that.”

De idiot is de Minister dat telling people he gotta doctorate…tell he to send a copy to the press and leh dem publish it…or go to http://www.degreeverify.org and see if he gotta doctorate…
    De idiot is de Senator dat produced pissy consulting reports dat she clients tek and throw in de garbage…de consultant dat cant do a proper expense report but now running a Ministry…
    De idiot is de clumsy Minister dat everybody does be laffing at behind he back at de UN and how scruffy he look and de green verbs he does use…
    De idiot is Minister dat aint got no social graces and cant use a damn knife and fork and talking wid food in he mouth…and representing Barbados overseas…
    De idiot is de Minister dat went and sit down in de wrong seat in first class and get ruff up by a white man in front o everybody…
    DEM IS DE IDIOTS…

11. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

Ah we all now know why and where your anger is set, as I asked very early on you could no longer hide your political anger and hate.

I rest my case you are an unfortunate excuse of a blp person suffering for the shock of defeat, get used to it my friend you have done your share of damage it is now in repair mode.

You could not live thru and hide your anger, masked in your load of nonsense.

Get used to it and get on board and learn to love the island as your home and any sensible responsible person would advise you to STOP trying to decry our home, you and your lot lack the moral fabric from which this nation was built.

READ THIS A 100 TIMES AND KEEP REPEATING TO YOURSELF I LOVE BARBADOS I LOVE BARBADOS IT IS THE NUMBER ONE TOURIST DESTINATION.

Your knickers are showing my friend your misspent political mouthings are clearly there for all to see, sad, sad, sad.

12. Hahahahahahaha…
    Oh by the way…I learnt to cuss from Cammie Tudor and Errol Barrow…
    Go down Roebuck Street or George Street and see if you see my name pon any political party list…YOU WILL NEVER EVER SEE MY NAME…
    I am free to criticize bee, dee or en…and I stand by MY OPNION that the Barbados tourism product is HORRIBLE…
    I will refrain from using those BAAAAAAAD words…less I offend you…
    Dispute the facts, lets talk…enjoy the stench and the dirtiness of your fantasy island my friend…I’ll do my part not to litter and keep my surroundings clean…
    Tell de minister to show de public de doctorate…

13. “Worst Vacation Ever”
    Amaryllis Beach Resort

“6/14 found this review helpful
    I was reluctant to stay here after reading several reviews, but thought I’d try it anyway since I really like Barbados and found it hard to believe. Upon our arrival, the front desk area is small and the personnel appear to be polite and concerned but are not. They did not have our request for a handicap room on file and we had to wait for them to research it, then go look at the room. (45 min) I was travelling with two Aunt’s and a cousin so we wanted to be near each other. We were there for 8 days. On day 2 we could not get clean towels after several calls to the front desk. We didn’t have clean towels for 2 more days. On day 4 I was robbed, apparently this is nothing unusual for this hotel, but for me it was my first. The hotel manager, Mark Carberry was very polite but did not care. I filed a report with the police department and they were also uncooperative. To gain entry in any room you need a card, so they have a way to tell who was in your room, that report, which I never actually saw, took 4 days to get (the night before i left), and showed two other people had entered the room, I was never given a name or anything. I never received a copy of my police report. The Hotel food is just okay. Breakfast was awful, but free. Nothing near the hotel. Nothing to do on the grounds other than eat and beach. The staff I would give 7. Meaning out of 10 people only 3 were worth the paycheck Amaryllis gave them and no one cares. The Front Desk staff is a joke, the Activities Desk is joke. TRUST ME DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Your trip will be ruined and you will be robbed. Two other guests, that I know, were also robbed during time I was there.”

14. Ian Walcott.
    I understand part of your concerns regarding our Tourist product, but I must also be concern with the extreme negatives that you are trying to highlight. These statements will not do justice in our pursuit to bring visitors to our island. I must also state that our country was insulted prior to the general elections by partisan supporters who found it difficult to speak anything positive about our leaders and the country. WIV knows quite well who I am speaking about. So my advice to you…..reduce your anger and refrain from the negative articles you are cutting and pasting. Counteract them with the many positives that we have achieved. We will soon need some soothing words to get us through these difficult times. Peace.

15. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar
    FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT

Is this the same Ian Walcott that was at the NCF and did so much underhand stuff that Ian Estwick, the NCF and finally the BLP kicked you ass out??

If it is then you are one sick minded person, to get on this site and carry on as you have been, you should be banned.

16. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

Is this the same Ian Walcott that was at the NCF and did so much underhand stuff that Ian Estwick, the NCF and finally the BLP kicked you ass out??

If it is then you are one sick minded person, to get on this site and carry on as you have been, you should be banned.

17. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

ONE BITTER PERSON THIS IAN WALCOTT, WHY MIA BIT YOU TO??

18. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

ONE BITTER PERSON THIS IAN WALCOTT, WHY MIA BIT YOU TO??

19. Now to you WIV
    You could be the reason for the difficult path that the present government is travelling. By your reckless mouthing as though you are lick mout WIV. You continue to uproot positive actions and creating negatives to embarrass the last administration, but while doing so, you are aligning ministers to problems before the hierarchy in government can addressed them. Only thing I can say that you are too close to the administration and you simply forget or don’t know about protocol. Lord hell this country with people of your ilk.

20. Peddlers and Bandits Ruined Our Barbados Vacation
    Victoria Jackson

“I wanted to share my holiday to Barbados to alert others to be somewhat careful when traveling there. Though I have traveled there twice previously, I have never encountered that of my last and most recent trip.

Of course me and family assumed it would be as wonderful as in previous times but it was not to be. We traveled on a great deal through an advertised “best of Barbados”. Our bad luck started when we arrived and the taxi driver who took us to our hotel charged us 4 times the amount the ride should cost. (Yes, we should have known from previous experiences, but they do not have meters in their cars and basically tell you what you should pay.) After a long flight we just wanted to get to our hotels and start our vacation so this was not so bad. Soon, we realized that going on the beach became an invite to be “harassed” by locals the entire time! If it wasn’t drug dealers trying to sell to us it was beach vendors peddling their wares in the most aggressive manner, which might not be so bad if they took no for an answer–but they didn’t and instead threatened us and swore profanities right in front of our children! They replied that “we were rich tourists and could afford to buy their wares.” When, in fact, it is so bloody expensive to purchase food and everything else in Barbados, both at restaurants and in the supermarkets that we truly couldn’t afford to buy many souvenirs. We remained as pleasant as we could throughout mainly because it was very scary and intimidating. We decided we wouldn’t go back to the beach after the first two days of this–the children were already afraid of the beach! Can you imagine? We then layed out by the hotel pool instead, but the hassling remained on the street and from taxi drivers and other locals not only aggressively begging for money or being rude when you ask simply for directions, but in general seemed to be “targeting” tourists.

We had rented a car to drive out in the “country” roads to get to a few attractions. On either side of the roads sugar cane grows making it hard to navigate. As it turns out hoodlums wait for you in these cane fields to jump out in the road in the hopes you will stop, and if you stop, more people jump out of the fields and they take everything you have at gunpoint. I know because this happened to us. We did not know any of this existed nor were we ever alerted when we entered Barbados that this happens to tourists until it happended to us. We realized that authorities know of these ambushes. No one bothers to tell you to watch out for these ploys by the locals to rob you. Anyway, as you can tell our vacation there was a fear trap, and we will never return! Our family has been to many Caribbean islands and have never encountered anything like this in any other island. Barbados is truly unique. We will never go there again and hope to let other persons thinking of traveling there to watch out for these situations as a very normal seeming moment can quickly change as the locals gauge you to see what type of person you are and then make their move.

Be careful in Barbados. ”

Victoria Jackson
    Canada

21. Jeff Henderson

“I echo Victoria’s feelings. We went to Barbados while on a cruise a couple of years back. We opted to do our own tour via a Taxi. We told the Taxi driver where we wanted to go and how much time we would be there. We all agreed to the price. When he returned us to the pier, he doubled the price!! We paid him what we all originally agreed and we left. He chased and yelled obscenities at us all the way back to the cruise ship. I will never return to Barbados and their thieving people. “

22. C. Banares

“Thank you, Victoria and Jeff for the warning. Barbados is off my list. There are so many other islands worth seeing and enjoying, I would not waste time there. “

23. THE TRUTH HURTS, DOESNT IT?
    Take your heads out of the sand…

24. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

Tell us what you did at the NCF to get yourself thrown out in the streets?

It would be refreshing to hear it from the horses mouth.

I love Barbados do you love Barbados?

If you love Barbados wave a white flag.

25. Hey Tell me Why…
    If there were my statements alone then I wouldnt be worried…because you’d be able to safely send me down Jenkins…
    Unfortunately, there are thousands of people leaving Barbados with bad experiences every year…and the word is spreading…
    I dont have to say a single negative word anymore…
    There’s more than enough out there in this Internet age…
    1. The stats have shown that our repeat visitor arrivals are on a serious downward trend. Why?
    2. If customer service was so great why would we have to invest in a program like NISE? Because THERE IS A PROBLEM…
    So I wont say anything else negative…because in true Bajan style we CANT handle the truth…
    I’ll leave it as it is…all honkie dorie and wonderful…
    Wha I dont understand…I hey talking bout issues in tourism, next ting ya hear all dese attacks bout I bitter, I is a BLP supporter, I get my ass kick out o NCF (big joke)…
    It aint bout me…
    DEAL WID DE SO-AND-SO ISSUES…
    Dispute whatever I’ve said…dispute the facts…
    So far no one has disputed the facts…
    1. No one has said that Barbados is CLEAN
    2. No one has said that we have good service…just good, not excellent…come and say that we have good service…
    3. No one has disputed that during high season we are doing 80% occupancy at best…
    4. No one has disputed that we’ve lost room stock.
    5. No one has disputed that we only have ONE brand name hotel.
    6. No one has disputed that we’re overpriced.
    7. No one has disputed that the Long Beach and East Coast are filled with litter…
    8. No one has disputed that the highway has litter.
    9. No one has disputed that there’s litter in front de QEH…

Dispute de facts and leave me outta it…
    Bitter what…? Angry what? What is there to be bitter and angry about? Leave me outta it…and speak to the issues…

26. Ian whenever I go on holiday I also check the various sites to see what other travelers have to say. But I look at many reviews and I am mindful to take both the good ones and bad ones with a pinch of salt. If you looked on the net for reviews of any place which receives a lot of visitors you will find negative reviews for EVERY tourist destination in the world. Now Barbados is not perfect and there is room for improvement, but to hunt for and publish only the negative reviews is not balanced nor even handed reporting. And every country from which Barbados receives tourists does provide information on their websites to visitors who wish to visit Barbados. The U.K does Canada does, the U.S. etc. Sensible people read these official reviews as well as the informal ones in order to make sensible travel decisions.

27. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

Is this the same Ian Walcott that was imprisoned in the USA for FRAUD?

Do you remember this case below?

VIATICAL FRAUD INDICTMENT RETURNED
    (850) 413-2842
    Len Register, Managing Assistant U.S. Attorney
    (850) 554-5995

PENSACOLA-Florida’s Chief Financial Officer Tom Gallagher and Gregory R. Miller, United States Attorney for the Northern District of Florida, announced the unsealing of a federal indictment against eight individuals in connection with their activities with LifeTime Capital, Inc., a viatical company that once operated out of Dayton, Ohio, and South Florida, and other related companies. Indicted were David W. Svete, Douglas A. Kordel, Roger W. Lange, Kathleen Lafrance, Ron Girardot, Ian Walcott, Anderson Marshall, and Charme Austin.

The indictment, which was returned by the federal grand jury in Pensacola on January 21, 2004, alleges a large-scale money laundering conspiracy in violation of 18 U.S.C. §371 and §1956, as well as 23 other substantive violations of mail fraud and interstate transportation of money obtained by fraud. The indictment was the result of a long-term investigation by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Florida Department of Financial Services’ Division of Insurance Fraud, and the Florida Office of Financial Regulation’s Division of Investigations.

“Viatical fraud poses a serious financial risk for both consumers and investors, many of whom are senior citizens who invest their life savings in these policies,” said Gallagher, who oversees the Department of Financial Services.

Viatical settlement contracts are written agreements between a viatical settlement provider and the insured or owner of a life insurance contract. The insured or beneficiary under the contract is known as the “viator.” The viatical service provider, in effect, purchases the right to obtain the proceeds of a life insurance contract from the insured or owner prior to the death of the insured. When the insured dies, the proceeds from the insurance contract then go to the holder of the viatical contract, who then distributes the funds to the investors according to the terms of the agreement.

As set out in the indictment, the object of the conspiracies charged in the Northern District of Florida was to fraudulently obtain money from investors by representing that the viatical contracts were on terminally ill patients and that the investors could not lose. The indictment further alleges that the charged individuals arranged to launder the fraudulently obtained funds by removing the funds to overseas locations to conceal and disguise the nature, location, source, ownership, and control of these funds.

A trial is scheduled for March 22, 2004. All defendants are presumed innocent unless and until their guilt is established by the government beyond every reasonable doubt.

The Department of Financial Services, Division of Insurance Fraud, investigates various forms of fraud in insurance, including health, life, auto, property and workers’ compensation insurance. Anyone with information about this case or another possible fraud scheme should call the department’s Fraud Hotline at 1-800-378-0445. A reward of up to $25,000 may be offered for information leading to an arrest and conviction.

Reports are that you are one of Mottleys girls and she saw after getting you out of prison.

28. “Tell us what you did at the NCF to get yourself thrown out in the streets?
    It would be refreshing to hear it from the horses mouth.”

TELL ME CUZ I DUNNO…ASK WAYNE WEBSTER TO PUT MY FILE ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUND OR IN DE NATION…
    YOU CAN REACH HIM AT 424 0909…AND GET YOUR ANSWER…CUZ U COULD ONLY BE A *$%#$).
    I hey talking bout a serious problem wid de tourist industry and you asking nonsense bout de NCF…call de NCF…

I love Barbados do you love Barbados?

I ADORE BARBADOS…BUT I’M ALSO HONEST…I’M NOT GOING TO PRETEND THAT ALL IS WELL…IT’S LIKE HAVING A SON OR DAUGHTER WHO’S A DRUG ADDICT AND BECAUSE YOU LOVE HIM OR HER SO DEARLY…YOU REFUSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT HE OR SHE IS ON DRUGS…IT’S THE SAME THING…

If you love Barbados wave a white flag.

I WILL WAVE 1000 WHITE FLAGS…IT’S BECAUSE I LOVE IT SOOOOOOOOO DEARLY THAT I WANT TO SEE IT IMPROVE…AND THE FIRST STEP IS TO ACCEPT THAT ALL IS NOT WELL…TO DO OTHER WISE IS TO BE IN DENIAL….

29. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

Ian Walcott your are a fraud and should be in prison for your crimes.

30. Dear Ian:

I dispute that we are overpriced.

Paid $200 CDN per night for a hotel at Don Mills and York Mills (hicksville) last year.

No breakfast.

Nice enough room, but nothing special.

Breakfast started at $17.50 CDN.

I did not even comtemplate eating dinner in the hotel.

31. But Ian I too would love to hear why you and the NCF separated.

Tell we nuh!!!!!!!!!

Please, please nuh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

32. Is this the same Ian Walcott that was imprisoned in the USA for FRAUD?

Do you remember this case below?

VIATICAL FRAUD INDICTMENT RETURNED
    (850) 413-2842
    Len Register, Managing Assistant U.S. Attorney
    (850) 554-5995

PENSACOLA-Florida’s Chief Financial Officer Tom Gallagher and Gregory R. Miller, United States Attorney for the Northern District of Florida, announced the unsealing of a federal indictment against eight individuals in connection with their activities with LifeTime Capital, Inc., a viatical company that once operated out of Dayton, Ohio, and South Florida, and other related companies. Indicted were David W. Svete, Douglas A. Kordel, Roger W. Lange, Kathleen Lafrance, Ron Girardot, Ian Walcott, Anderson Marshall, and Charme Austin.

The indictment, which was returned by the federal grand jury in Pensacola on January 21, 2004, alleges a large-scale money laundering conspiracy in violation of 18 U.S.C. §371 and §1956, as well as 23 other substantive violations of mail fraud and interstate transportation of money obtained by fraud. The indictment was the result of a long-term investigation by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Florida Department of Financial Services’ Division of Insurance Fraud, and the Florida Office of Financial Regulation’s Division of Investigations.

“Viatical fraud poses a serious financial risk for both consumers and investors, many of whom are senior citizens who invest their life savings in these policies,” said Gallagher, who oversees the Department of Financial Services.

Viatical settlement contracts are written agreements between a viatical settlement provider and the insured or owner of a life insurance contract. The insured or beneficiary under the contract is known as the “viator.” The viatical service provider, in effect, purchases the right to obtain the proceeds of a life insurance contract from the insured or owner prior to the death of the insured. When the insured dies, the proceeds from the insurance contract then go to the holder of the viatical contract, who then distributes the funds to the investors according to the terms of the agreement.

As set out in the indictment, the object of the conspiracies charged in the Northern District of Florida was to fraudulently obtain money from investors by representing that the viatical contracts were on terminally ill patients and that the investors could not lose. The indictment further alleges that the charged individuals arranged to launder the fraudulently obtained funds by removing the funds to overseas locations to conceal and disguise the nature, location, source, ownership, and control of these funds.

A trial is scheduled for March 22, 2004. All defendants are presumed innocent unless and until their guilt is established by the government beyond every reasonable doubt.

The Department of Financial Services, Division of Insurance Fraud, investigates various forms of fraud in insurance, including health, life, auto, property and workers’ compensation insurance. Anyone with information about this case or another possible fraud scheme should call the department’s Fraud Hotline at 1-800-378-0445. A reward of up to $25,000 may be offered for information leading to an arrest and conviction.

YEA THIS IS THE SAME IAN WALCOTT…THE SAME IAN WALCOTT THAT WORKED IN THE OFFSHORE SECTOR AND GOT ARRESTED…THE SAME IAN WALCOTT AGAINST WHOM ALL THE CHARGES WERE DROPPED AND WHO HAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO BE ASHAMED OF…THE STORY IS A VERY PUBLIC ONE…THAT’S WHY I CAN PUT MY NAME UP ON THIS OR ANY OTHER BLOG WITHOUT FEAR…

33. “Reports are that you are one of Mottleys girls and she saw after getting you out of prison.”

Dah was funny…I’d give ya ten for dat…

“Ian Walcott your are a fraud and should be in prison for your crimes.”

Dah was also funny…I’d give you an A plus for that…

34. Hey Former BLP supporter. Ian was NOT convicted of anything. So leave the man alone. If you coming on this blog you have to play fair.

35. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

Because he is a crook, want it any more straight forward than that?

36. Dah’s de same Ian Walcot…all over de Internet…not hiding my friend…

http://www.tropicalfete.com/fusion_news/fullnews.php?id=305

NEWS
    BIM – Walcott appointed NCF’s Senior Business

New York – Ian W. Walcott was recently appointed Senior Business Development Officer of the National Cultural Foundation bringing a combination of an artistic background and project management expertise. Ian became interested in the arts and more specifically in theatre at a very early age as a member of Myrna Belgrave’s Children’s Experimental Theatre Workshop that was part of the Yoruba Yard experience in the 1970’s Barbadian cultural renaissance led by Barbadian cultural activist, Elombe Mottley.
    By 1981, he had his first lead role at the age of 12 while at the Lodge School, in the children’s production, Playground, which was written and directed by Tony Thompson for CARIFESTA of that year. At the Barbados Community College under the tutelage of Cecily Spencer-Cross, Ian became very active in the arts and stage direction. As a member of Stage One Theatre, he had the privilege to have worked under the direction of the late Earl Warner in most of his stage appearances.

After a break in the early 90s for university studies overseas in Brazil and Japan, where he gained an honors degree in International Relations & Foreign Languages and two Masters in International Political Economy and Business & Management, Ian again returned to his favorite production, Talk Tent in 1999 and made his debut at directing the said show in 2000. His latest work is the direction of his own play From Prague to Prison the Play and a film role in Thom Cross’ award winning, The Final Truth.

Ian was a weekly columnist of the Barbados Advocate publishing a witty article entitled ‘Management: Keep it Real’. His writings now include regular theatre and entertainment reviews for the Nation Newspaper as a member of the International Association of Theatre Critics. His academic articles and publications cover project management, cultural policy and the creative economy. He’s working on his second book, Paradise

Revisited together with a series of comedies including We Girl Talk and Snoring. Ian will also represent the NCF at the upcoming Fourth International Conference on Cultural Policy Research in Vienna, Austria, to present the paper ‘Applying Program Logic to Project Grant Funding: A Case study of Barbados’ Cultural Action Fund’.

37. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

Boy you bold yea!

You defraud people in the USA get away and come here to rob us Bajans shame on you.

How long they lock you up for or I got to research that one to?

38. This one bad, bad

39. “Hey Former BLP supporter. Ian was NOT convicted of anything. So leave the man alone. If you coming on this blog you have to play fair.”

Hey J… I can defend myself man…

Now to the other part…
    “But Ian I too would love to hear why you and the NCF separated. Tell we nuh!!!!!!!!! Please, please nuh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

I’m actually here laffing my ass off…I really dont know how we gone from tourism to talking bout me…but since you asked…lemme go….

I’m sorry to disappoint you that it’s not a juicy and salacious and many would expect…it’s not even political…
    Please call de new chairman and verify dis…I cant even remember wha he name…someting Knight or someting so…but after I handed in my resignation because I moved on to do my studies at Cave Hill…in the presence of the former CEO, Ian Estwick…de Knight man asked me if he could convince me to stay…to which I answered “NO”…call de Knight man or Estwick and ask them…so it was not juicy and political…but the timing was quite coincidental because Estwick, Roberts and I left de same day…but fortunately or unfortunately…(however you wanna put it) I didnt get walking papers…
    Like I said earlier…call de Manager of Admin, Mr. Wayne Webster and ask he for me file…and let him scan it and send it to Bdos Underground or de Nation….you’d probably see a copy of my contract…de salary was $4000 and sumting a month plus travel…you’d see a copy of my certification, probably one sick leave certificate and a memo that I wrote to the Board last year bout Alissandra Cummins and finally, my resignation letter…
    Call he and ask he for a copy…it should be made public…after all NCF is a government corporation…

40. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

BARBADOS — More Barbadians could be accused of fraud and money laundering as investigations into an insurance scam in the United States widens.
    Justice Department officials are claiming that out of the US$200 million American investors may have lost in the illegal insurance scheme, Barbados was used to launder about US$20 million and so far two Barbadians have been indicted.
    The two are Ian Walcott, who is now in custody in Florida and awaiting trial in September, and accountant Anderson Marshall, who remains free here. Both have already been charged along with six Americans.
    “You must understand this is an ongoing investigation and depending on the outcome of the trial and what the investigators find, more Barbadians may be indicted,” said a prosecution source who requested anonymity.
    What may have prevented federal prosecutors from bringing charges against other Bajans, including one woman, is a lack of strong evidence that they knew fraud and money laundering were occurring and participated in them. If it became clear they were aware of the fraud and participated, then prosecutors would seek indictments.
    The charges against Messrs. Marshall and Walcott are based on strong circumstantial evidence, said a source.
    According to papers filed in a federal district court in Pensacola, Florida, where the trial is scheduled to begin in September, the illegal scheme was allegedly masterminded and run by five Americans, David W. Svete, Douglas Kordel, Roger W. Lange, Kathleen LaFrance and Ron Girardot. Messrs.Walcott and Marshall, as well as another American, Charme Austin, were not the central figures in the fraud scheme, prosecutors allege.
    They are being cast in documents and statements by prosecution officials as minor players who may have facilitated the fraud and the money laundering by using a web of companies they helped to create in order to move money in and out of the United States, Barbados, Nevis, St. Vincent and elsewhere.
    Barbados was said to be the hub of the money laundering. Several of the companies were in Barbados and Nevis.
    “Unfortunately, Barbados was the central point of the money laundering aspect of this case,” said a source.
    The charges arose out of what is being called a “viatical insurance fraud scheme” in which life insurance policyholders sold their policies to viatical firms. The insured received some money upfront before their deaths, while giving the companies the right to receive the full value when they died.
    Many investors put up money to buy the policies after being allegedly misled into believing the insured were terminally ill patients and would soon die. But the policy- holders were healthy Americans and didn’t die quickly. It caused the investors to lose their money.

41. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT Avatar

What about your hand being caught in the cookie jar? Come on level with us now or we will do so for you?

42. This is cat piss and pepper, man playing wid people money and working for de government?
    A disaster in the making.

43. dis too sweet he get expose on BU whalord

44. I don’t agree with every thing Ian Walcott says but I really resent persons coming on here and raking up stuff about that offshore company and their fraud.

From all reports and from the fact that he was found innocent – that matter had nothing to do with Ian Walcott – but with fraudulent overseas directors and he and the other bajan guy were left holding the bag.

At least Ian has the nerve to come on and boldly state how he feels.

We can disagree strongly with his views but please man – at least be civil – and stick to the issues.

My one advice to you Ian is that your comments about the minister who did not have a true doctorate and that of the other dlp minister not having proper table manners were low blows – and perhaps that is why the knives are being sharpened for you.

Any way press on and as the song says:’Express Yourself.’

45. Now back to the issue that David put up on the blog…

I’d like someone to bring some hardcore facts and statistics to dispute what I said about Barbados’ tourist industry…lemme post it again…
    So far no one has disputed the facts…
    1. No one has said that Barbados is CLEAN
    2. No one has said that we have good service…just good, not excellent…come and say that we have good service…
    3. No one has disputed that during high season we are doing 80% occupancy at best…
    4. No one has disputed that we’ve lost room stock.
    5. No one has disputed that we only have ONE brand name hotel.
    6. No one has disputed that we’re overpriced.
    7. No one has disputed that the Long Beach and East Coast are filled with litter…
    8. No one has disputed that the highway has litter.
    9. No one has disputed that there’s litter in front de QEH…

I think J disputed that we’re overpriced…and that’s worth a discussion…because of the favorable exchange rate to the pound…we’re quite reasonable to the British travel…but the third highest number of arrivals actually come from the Caribbean and our regional brothers and sisters find us quite expensive…

46. FORMERLY A BLP SUPORTER BUT WAS NOT THROWN OUT LIKE IAN WALCOTT // July 3, 2008 at 5:22 pm

What about your hand being caught in the cookie jar? Come on level with us now or we will do so for you?

Anonymous // July 3, 2008 at 5:25 pm

dis too sweet he get expose on BU whalord

Hahahahahahahaha…in true Bajan style…I agree wid u anonymous…dis too sweet…but nothing is being exposed…dah’s stale news…I believe that was a front page story on the NATION…you didnt read it…? Then you late man…dah’s stale news…
    There were about 16 stories in de Nation…I have all de clippings…I can scan them for ya…

47. “My one advice to you Ian is that your comments about the minister who did not have a true doctorate and that of the other dlp minister not having proper table manners were low blows – and perhaps that is why the knives are being sharpened for you.”

The minister not having a true document is in a document of the Parliament…it’s not me that put that out there…read de parliament minutes man…

48. “Ian whenever I go on holiday I also check the various sites to see what other travelers have to say. But I look at many reviews and I am mindful to take both the good ones and bad ones with a pinch of salt. If you looked on the net for reviews of any place which receives a lot of visitors you will find negative reviews for EVERY tourist destination in the world. ”

J I agree with you …and there are certainly more positive reviews of Barbados than there are negative ones…the problem is that we cannot truly measure how much business we’re losing from every negative review…

49. Anyways…David…I goin to de gym…by de time I get back…put up a fresh juicy topic on Crop Over and sumting so…this one is beaten to death…or put up one bout Offshore someting juicy and salacious like dah…dat i can talk bout…
    But ya know I goin be controversial and truthful just for the hell of it…even if daggers are flying left, right and centre…

50. You are a dishonest bastard, and that we can attest to.

No wonder you and the Mia Mottley and Owen Arthur were such close friends until you commited further errors of your ways.

You commit fraud in the USA and then come to Barbados to steal from innocent people?

Shame on you, you should be behind bars somewhere you are a fraud and a crook.