Caribbean TourismApparently there was a Caribbean Tourism Summit meeting last week in Washington held under the auspices of the Caribbean Tourism Organization. According to this article, it was the first annual Caribbean Tourism Summit. The fact that tourism is the live-blood of most of the Caribbean islands and in 2008 we have for the first time been able to convene a summit is instructive.

A couple things stood out when we read the article. Firstly we noticed that that former United States Chairman of the Federal Reserve participated in the summit. Out of curiosity we wonder how much money the retired manipulator of the world’s financial market had to be paid to participate.

Here is a snippet of what Greenspan told tourism leaders from the Caribbean:

In a series of informal exchanges in front of conference participants, Dr Greenspan, a man whose views can still move markets, told his interlocutor, Sir Dwight Venner, governor of the East Caribbean Central Bank, that the long-term trend for Caribbean tourism was positive. The industry’s fortunes would follow rising living standards in prosperous geographically close states, and the Caribbean would remain a desirable destination for the northern hemisphere.

Having built-up the expectation of the region’s tourism leaders Greenspan was quoted later in the conference as follows:

Oil prices were likely to continue to rise as they were largely a function of a decrease in global reserves of oil. As investment in new production had diminished and demand increased, such reserves were now only running parallel to production.

The consequence was that prices had risen and the investment community had placed a high value on holding investments in oil, the former Federal Reserve Chairman suggested, for periods of up to a decade and a half. The consequence was that changing demand and speculation may lead to continuing instability, resulting in sudden price falls occurring against an overall continuing upward trend in the price of oil.

Maybe we are missing something but what was Greenspan trying to say? To be honest is sounds like a good dose of ‘gobblygook’. It seems mind boggling to the BU household that in 2008 we would have four or five regional airlines all battling for supremacy in the small Caribbean skies. This is happening against the world’s leading airlines which have better management, equipment, critical mass, brand name and other factors going for it, and bankruptcies continue to be a feature of the industry. It also might explain why the Trinidad government seems hell bent on buying a private jet. Some of our leaders surely have their heads up each other’s tails.

[vodpod id=ExternalVideo.619493&w=425&h=350&fv=]

more about “ROYAL CARIBBEAN INTERNATIONAL INTRODU…“, posted with vodpod –Thanks to Adrian Loveridge

It does not take an HC boy to correctly analyse that at the regional level we have to strategize to tackle the problem of airlift servicing our region. The fact that the global economic turbulence continues to wreck havoc on the airline industry is not good news for our region. It continues to be an indictment on the region that our despotic leaders, who all lead small economies which depend on tourism, do not realize that an avant guard approach is required. In fairness to Barbadian hotelier Ralph Taylor and St. Lucia Tourism Minister Alan Chastenet they have been calling for drastic action for sometime. Let us not forget Adrian Loveridge who has been ‘mummed’ in recent times given the collective responsibility he now has to respect as a BTA board member.

On July 02 the Caribbean leaders will be meeting in Antigua. Hopefully the utterances which we have come to expect from CARICOM will now take on a steely purpose which is required by the seriousness of the times.

128 responses to “Caribbean Tourism Floundering”

1. There is nothing you can say or do that will make me truist you that is lost.

In my books you are a crook and it will remain that way through out your life or my life, once a crook always a crook.

2. There is nothing you can say or do that will make me trust you that is lost.

In my books you are a crook and it will remain that way through out your life or my life, once a crook always a crook..

3. Anon

you are being unfair in your comments

and cowardice to boot

go F …. yourself

4. go F …. yourself = go free up yourself

5. Please treat with the issues which Ian has raised. Some may disagree but it is his right under free speech.

To engage in personal attacks is a cowardly approach.

6. Straight talk Avatar

David:

Please consider giving Ian his own Heading to highlight his unique brand of egomania.

After a day’s work it is hard to feel the pulse of Bajan thought when a fellow blogger tries to swamp this medium.

BFP would advise he goes the WordPress route,and within 10 mins set up his own blog, but we hold freedom of speech to slightly higher standards.

There are many threads on your blog being swamped out by these multiple interesting, yet repetitive postings.

Just a thought.

Nothing personal Ian, I am only sorry that your own blog didn’t turn out as popular as this one.

Please do not abuse this new forum you have adopted.

7. David

I think this post has gone seriously off course – and you may consider closing it.

Just a thought – over to you.

8. “Welcome to Barbados Underground blog or the abbreviated BU. We intend to focus on the news which does not usually make it through to the traditional Press because of the strange liable/slander laws which currently exist in Barbados. Given the recent assault on the Barbados media it behooves each and every Barbadian to “speak-out.” Many of the articles posted will be the opinions of my wife and I, which have been influenced by our experiences derived from observation of our society and the interaction with many people both past and current. We seek to stimulate discussion and at times, we expect that discussions may become robust but that is ok because Barbadians are not known for speaking out. We will be seeking to join others who have resorted to the Internet to join the fight to protect our democracy that we hold so dear.”

9. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Wow I leave the island for a few hours and when I get back it is disclosed that Ian Walcott is a fraud and and a thief wow how time flies.

I would like to hear more from him on his court case in the USA , and I would like to know where and for how long he got locked away?

10. WIV…it’s all over de net man…and it was also in the Nation…
    I also did a play on it at Frank Collymore Hall and wrote a book…
    How cum u aint hear bout dah?

11. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Maybe because I do not make a habit of worrying about frauds, I usually hope the court system will take care of the ones of your ilk.

12. Cud dear!

13. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

On a very serious note,
    I find that you have a lot of gall to be involved in an Insurance fraud and then to come to Barbados and without a question asked you find work in your friends Ministry of Culture under your good friend Mottley.

Moreover to be so in your face when you should be serving time for frauds and corruption is totally amazing to most honest persons.

When a fraud like yourself can walk into a high paying Gov’t job over and above honest and sincere workers there is something grossly wrong with the then BLP gov’t and the former Min mottley.

14. A high paying government job?
    Cud dear….LMAO…

Olha seu filho de mae…em vez de entrar neste mundo…a sua mae deveria haver comido a esperma do seu pai….

15. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

Based on the comment below I am led to believe that certain players such as the mottley person may have played a role in permitting these frauds to take place, maybe we want a further investigation as the part she or the BLP may have played to assist this fraudster walcott.

Players who may have facilitated the fraud and the money laundering by using a web of companies they helped to create in order to move money in and out of the United States, Barbados, Nevis, St. Vincent and elsewhere.
    Barbados was said to be the hub of the money laundering. Several of the companies were in Barbados and Nevis.
    “Unfortunately, Barbados was the central point of the money laundering aspect of this case,” said a source.

16. Cud dear

17. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

It appears that corruption like Ian Walcott is known for is now appearing to be much more widespread than we first thought, there is more coming to light with regard to the SAA, WATER AUTHORITY and QEH.

18. Ian Walcott I must say I admire your skill for hijacking a discussion about tourism and turning into an attack on the DLP govt. Like a latter day Saul you’ve been converted on the way to Damascus or to mix biblical references the scales have now been removed from your eyes and you’ve found your voice as an Independent.

I didn’t see or hear this Independent voice prior to Jan.15/08 when we in the blogosphere would have welcomed criticism of the former govt. from any quarter. Now since Jan.15/08 you have discovered that pig shite smells. Well it always smelled and I for one can vouch for that because while you were frolicking in the hotel pool we were cleaning the cesspools and I don’t recall any perfumery emanating from the contents. Our pool was “the pot” and Brandons.

I could almost agree with some of your comments if they didn’t have a political ring to them, if tourism is in such a perilous state where was your voice for the past fourteen years? I know you didn’t dare criticize Owen publicly or privately he would have removed you from your sinecure where you like so many other acolytes were nursing at the gov’t’s teat. Now that Owen has been put out to pasture you feel secure in faintly alluding to his misdeeds in an effort to appear “Independent” but I notice that there was no mention of Mia. Where were the vaunted individuals at the BTA whom you claimed in another post to have a target on their backs, presumably they also recognized the crisis facing us and made recommendations did they? Did the Minister ignore them? Did bajans suddenly start disposing of garbage helter skelter since Jan.? Were the ravines and byways pristine until then? What did the gov’t of the day do? In another discussion on education (which you also hijacked) I said some of your comments smacked of elitism and now you’ve proved me right. First you accused the Minister of Education of making disparaging remarks about the older grammar schools and then referred to him as a “dumbass”, now you accusing another of talking with his mouth full. What’s next? Did someone drink from the finger bowl or did they use the wrong fork?

While others profess to admire your temerity for blogging under your own name I would ask what does he have to lose? Everyone knows his political temperament and he isn’t going to change. He is more like a sheep in wolf’s clothing pretending to be bold but lacked the intestinal fortitude to speak up when his input would have meant something.

I heard Mia say that they (the BLP) would start attacking the DLP by using the traditional as well as other media and I see you are her surrogate in this non traditional media.

19. Wow Sargeant…
    I liked that…very eloquent…but quite selective…because in all my rantings and ravings…you must have noticed that I’ve absolved any government or any political party for the state of the environment and the poor customer service…
    In fact, I thought I was abundantly clear when I stated that individuals must take responsibility for their own actions…
    Hey man…u sound like a very intelligent person…dont disappoint me…
    And I’ll promise u dis…if God spares life and I’m around for the next election…and this crop will have managed to turn around the QEH, fix de schools, and provide housing for de average Bajan…I will recant and go and gih dem my X…
    Dah’s a solemn promise…duh got 50 months to do it…
    Is that fair?
    Come on…I like to think dat i is a fair person….
    And de fella thompson dat is now de PM…
    Respect due man…wha after all…he embodies de elitist that you accuse me of being…he went to Cawmere, he’s a Bdos scholar…went to a top law school…wha loss…wha i cant shoot myself in de foot…respect due…dah’s meritocracy at work man…

20. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

Sargeant You comments are spot on the target.

21. Sargeant…you sounding like a Permanent Secretary…

22. A PS!!! Surely you jest Ian. I am just an ordinary bajan who likes to call a spade a spade (anonymously of course) and who would blend into the paint on the wall at any get together.

BTW when I was growing up those positions were all occupied by the graduates of our Eton & Harrow i.e. HC and Lodge, now I understand that they are occupied by graduates of Parkinson and St. Leonard’s who probably didn’t do so well at the CEE which according to you is the only barometer of academic success. Lord cum fah yuh worl…..

23. I here cracking up…I love it when people switch from standard English into raw Bajan…it’s an amazing gift…
    I like how you articulate your ideas though…
    And dont say so man…I dont think that’s de only barometer for academic success…I aint dah stupid man…

24. A question? The holiday resorts in question are they publicly or pivately run/owned? If privately isnt the onus on the management and shareholders to ensure ‘excellent’ service. Arent the management of the hotels/resorts reading their clients reviews?

What role does the government play in the quality of the tourism product outside of the ports of entry? Is there a certification system where the resort is graded or ‘starred’for quality of service, are there spot inspections for food beverage quality or safety precautions?

Just wondering.

25. Jodiperry…most of the hotels are privately owned…but the attitude displayed here on the blog is the same one displayed by those who run the industry…so long as people keep coming…they ingore the negative feedback…BURY YOUR HEAD IN THE SAND…
    There’s only so much a government can do with limited resources…and in all fairness…government does what it’s supposed to do…create the macro-economic stability and put an attractive framework in place for the industry to flourish…there’s no sector in Barbados that enjoys the incentives and facilitation framework like the tourist industry…(though there are some environmental issues that require urgent attention on the part of the govt…like waste management and better sector linkages)
    Fortunately, we’re living in an age of instant communication…all major newspapers are now online with interactive blogs and any smart person travelling to a destination will do his/her research beforehand.
    For example, two years ago we went on a family vacation to St. Maarten and the hotel we first looked at had horrible reviews online and my dad said “no way”…so that hotel lost potential business…(the same thing could’ve occurred if the country had bad reviews)…This was unthinkable 10 yrs ago…we would’ve gone to the hotel only to discover when we got there how bad it really is…
    Do you think anyone in their right mind would pack their bags for a trip to Zimbabwe…that once had a flourishing tourist industry…
    Think about Rio in the 60s and 70s and think about it now…the tourist arrivals to Rio have fallen dramatically…

The Internet is a very powerful tool that we’ve not yet quite grasped in the Caribbean…
    Government is losing millions of dollars daily because their services are not online…the private sector has been slow to make the transition to e-commerce and e-business…banks are only now offering online banking…and the technology is there for all to grab…and it’s not expensive…
    Just a thought…

26. The Caribbean region consists of a chain of islands in the Caribbean. Many of these islands are tourist destinations, people around the world visit the Caribbean in the breathtaking scenery and lush beaches to enjoy.

The Caribbean is an ideal place for family holidays. There are a variety of places and activities the whole family to enjoy together. Among the many destinations are some of the popular Bahamas, Antigua, St. Lucia, Aruba, Bermuda, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, etc. The Caribbean islands offer a variety of activities for all ages. The island of St. Lucia is the drive through volcano in the world, which is a miracle of nature. In addition, there is a natural rainforest reserve, which is a big weekend for walkers bird watchers and nature lovers. There are many excursions, tours and programs for tourists wishing to explore the island. Barbados Sports Camp is an added attraction for children, making them enjoy their favorite sports. Most islands offer excellent family accommodation, private homes, apartments or hotels of fiction, including, on budget.

Many hotels also offer child care, making it easier and safer for families. The Internet is now much easier to book their holidays taken. There are a variety of family packages available that you can choose. A look at the full range of exciting holiday activities available, you can certainly say that a vacation in the Caribbean is ideal for families.

27. The Caribbean’s Tourism model is one of dependence. We depend too much on Foreign Direct Investment as well as innovations and concepts from outside the region. We need to own more of our tourism in terms of ideas, financial and other ownership. Too much money leaks out of the region and does not leave enough to run a profitable industry for the Caribbean countries.

28. @Roverp

Just today Minister Donville Inniss declared he is convinced International Business will have to be the sector to pull us out of this hole.

And on the BLP side Owen Arthur believes we have to place store in tourism.