justin robinsonSubmitted by Dr. Justin Robinson

Head of Department of Management Studies
UWI, Cave Hill
Tel 417 4299

As one who makes the trek from deep in St. Philip to UWI five days a week, the government’s decision to reverse the policy of subsidizing the price of petroleum products is going to hit me hard in the pocket. However, with oil prices stuck above US$90 per barrel for the last six months and projected to remain there for the foreseeable, fiscal responsibility would almost certainly have required that the government review its policy on subsidizing petroleum products

If the price of oil is likely to remain in the $90 plus range for the foreseeable future ( as most experts suggest), then in my view, households, firms, the government and other organizations need to be weaned from subsidized prices and aggressively embrace energy efficiency. In the meantime, targeted subsidies should be designed for the more vulnerable groups in society.

Energy efficiency has now become a key competitive variable among countries, and there is a veritable arms race among countries for first mover advantages in development and adoption of alternative energy technologies. The range of alternatives being explored is wide and varied from wind, solar and bio-fuels to wave and thermal energy sources. I am no scientist so I have no sense as to which of these if any will succeed as viable alternatives to oil, but it is clear that the imperative to improve energy efficiency must now rise to the top of the agenda for our society.

The previous administration launched a “green budget” in 2007. The various initiatives must now be aggressively marketed and beefed up if necessary. How many households, firms and other organizations have had an energy audit? Are they aware there is a tax break for this? Is the tax break large enough? Have we been training an adequate number of energy auditors?

The new government has a clear and well articulated energy policy in its manifesto. The DLP’s manifesto speaks to tax subsidies for installing solar electric systems in homes and businesses. The DLP manifesto speaks to the establishment of a “Smart Energy Fund” to provide low interest loans to households, firms and organizations seeking to install alternative energy solutions. The DLP manifesto also speaks to solar powering of government buildings. A combination of these measures and net metering with the Barbados Light and Power has the potential to substantially reduce the oil import bill for electricity generation, as well as generate new jobs. I know the policy agenda is quite crowded and there are many competing priorities, but the government may wish to move the above mentioned items up the agenda.

The government also needs to be vigorous in the application of competition policy to prevent abuses in terms of price increases. If energy costs account for 50% of costs then a 50% increase in energy prices should lead to around a 25% increases in prices, if there is full pass through of the price increase. Some of the current discussion suggests a one to one relationship between energy prices and production costs. The relationship between energy prices and production costs varies widely across industries, and the increases in energy prices should be an occasion for price gouging or other exploitation of the consumer.

However, the government can and should only do so much. The rest of the society has to play its part. As a financial economist the developments in the financial sector are of particular interest to me. A recent publication by the United Nations Environment Program Finance Initiative (UNEP FI) highlights a number of products launched by retail financial institutions around the world as they seek to confront the energy efficiency challenge. Commercial banks in Europe and Australia have been at the forefront with a number of initiatives, which I now outline.

Green Mortgages: In general, green mortgages, or energy efficient mortgage (EEMs), provide retail customers with considerably lower interest rates than market rates for clients who purchase new energy efficient homes and/or invest in retrofits, energy efficient appliances or green power. Banks some times provide green mortgages by covering the cost of switching a house from conventional to green power.

Green Home Equity Loans: These are reduced rate home equity loans for homeowners who install renewable energy in their homes.

Green Commercial Building Loans: Attractive loan designs and arrangements have started to emerge for green commercial buildings, characterized by lower energy consumption (-15 to -25%), reduced waste and less pollution than traditional buildings

Green Car Loans: These loans offer below market rates for the purchase of cars with demonstrated high fuel efficiency. These products have grown rapidly in Australia and Europe. Interestingly, most green car loans are offered by credit unions. In 2003 Australia’s MECU took the offered car loans where the credit union considers a fuel efficiency rating associated with the vehicle type and provides a low interest rate accordingly. In addition, for the term of the loan the credit union commits to offsetting 100% of the car’s CO2 emissions. Since the launch of this product the firm has seen a 45% climb in car loans.

Green Cards: Most offer to make NGO donations equal to one-half percent of every purchase, balance transfer or cash advance made by the card owner.

Green Insurance: The premium is linked to the use and this environmental footprint of the vehicle, and green home insurance, where special rates are provided for energy efficient buildings.

Our retail financial services sector justifiably prides itself on being world class and very much in step with the latest trends. I am sure that these green initiatives are shortly going to be available locally. We need them if we are going to spur an aggressive thrust for greater energy efficiency.

Energy efficiency is now a major challenge for every society. It is one Barbados is well positioned to excel in. As a small nation, any programs can have nationwide impact in a short space of time. The government must do its part, and there is a major role for the private sector and the rest of civil society. However, don’t wait for them, let the process begin with you. Start a green committee at your work place and conserve energy at home. I am about to take over my proposal for a green committee at UWI to the principal.

123 responses to “The Energy Efficiency Challenge”

1. JR // May 6, 2008 at 9:03 am

I fear we might be behind the curve in the adjustment game.

Recent figures for the US show that sales of domestic light trucks, which includes the SUV category, fell 20.6% in April, even more dramatic than the 18.3% drop between March 2007 and March 2008.

Reports suggest that combined sales of domestic and imported cars now outnumber light trucks by a significant margin for the first time since 2003.

Are we going to continue on our current trajectory or will we begin to adjust to a new reality?
    =================================

Not on their own if the American experience is anything to go by.

2. http://www.caribbean-studies.org/ACCSA2008/en/index.html
    Justin…the CSA Conference is in Colombia this year…I take it that you wont be there…because you would have registered by now…
    Ian

3. ian the fellas keep stretching the definition of the caribbean though.

4. We should spare a thought and lots of prayers for the folks in Myanmar where reports are suggesting a death toll of over 22,000 from the cyclone.

5. So who is going to start a green initiative at their workplace?

6. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

LOL Gabriel… Je m’en vais, mais l’État demeurera toujours…

I’ve put away the soap box and will leave the philosophizing for the pragmatists and experts like Hoad and BT 🙂

7. Don’t know ’bout any green initiative but I can tell you at my office I am always turning off lights and AC units when the office is empty and even when there are people in it.
    Want the truth? I am the only one who does this. Seems people don’t much care when they are not picking up the bill. Talk about short-sightedness.

8. JR

I am still a bit at a loss at your preoccupation with ‘greening’ and efficient use of energy at this stage.

Exactly what benefits do you see accruing from this at this stage, except for a degree of ‘feel good’?

Let us say that we could all cut our energy use by 50%, what impact is this likely to have on the macro outcome?

Based on your enlightening analysis on this blog, I am even more convinced that what we need is a completely new look at our very core objectives as a society.
    …..merely being more efficient- while following the same social goals, the same consumer (greed) focused way of business- does not address the challenges that we face with the global energy shortage.

Can development continue to be seen as aiming for ‘first world’ status? or do we need a new higher level ‘reason for being’ that drives the way we arrange our society?

I feel that while an intuitive position to take, ‘greening’ distracts us from the real issue that need to be faced.

9. Michael the Sword Bearer Avatar
    Michael the Sword Bearer

ha ha ha MME. Like you mash some politician/economist corns.
    “monach” is “monarch”
    “L’Estate” is “L’Etat”
    and “Gabriel the Horn Blower” is “Little Boy Blue”

10. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

Michael cut a fellow seraphin some slack willya?
    But your corrections are noted and appreciated. Little Boy Blue? THAT however is really insulting ..LOL.

Micro-Mock Engineer glad you got a laugh (that is a mark of intelligence).

Richard Hoad along with his sister-in-law Frances Chandler have been challenged to put up or shut up by Michael Cozier. Now we will see how pragmatic they are!

And on a philosophical note … check out Buddhist Economics
    http://www.schumachersociety.org/buddhist_economics/english.html

Interestingly, it was the Rt Excellent E.W.Barrow that introduced the work of E.F. Schumacher (Small is Beautiful) to the Barbadian public some thirty years ago.

Whether we accept it or not “l’État demeurera toujours..” and many other States for whom the threat of mutually assured destruction ironically ensures ‘peaceful’ co-existence.

Enough hot air for now…

11. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

oh dear what’s wrong with me…should be seraphiM!

12. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

Thanks for the link Gabe… gonna do some reading…

Yuh brudda Michael jump in real rough doh.

It must be true what they say about BBE not liking to see you ‘fiery ones’ making fun of us mere MMEs… LOL

13. The ‘Buddhist Economics’ explains my point exactly.
    The current energy crisis represents a clear indication of the failure of our basic underlying philosophy of life.

What greening what?!?

….we do not need better efficiency – we need a different philosophy…

14. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

Before returning to the Elysian Fields, I bring to the attention of this delirious society the case of the Mennonites of Belize. These people are not worrying about fuel or food prices. Why not?

15. Bush tea we take your point but there is a process which Barbadians will have to undergo to achieve the philosophical change which you are suggesting.

Could we say that the same triggers or mental gymnastics required for Barbadians to shift to greening is the precursor to changing how we are currently managing things?

16. Straight talk Avatar

Re: Efficiency Challenge

As per usual, I agree with my friend Bush Tea’s
    analysis of the dilemma we are facing.

Whether for reducing the power bills or global temperature, our puny attempts at cutting electricity consumption will be, at best, futile and probably even counter-productive.

The reasons are simple.

If cutting consumption does not reduce fossil fuel production there is no gain for all our pain.

Governments are relying on demand destruction to save the planet, and if we maintain our current lifestyles, that is never going to happen.

For a variety of reasons some oil producers will carry on exporting the same amount of oil no matter what the price, and some richer industrialised nations will carry on with their current consumption patterns.

So any sacrifice made by changing to fluorescent lighting will be negated by someone else’s SUV.

In fact we will in fact be subsidising their profligacy.

It needs a catalysing event, probably the one predicted by Bush Tea’s theory, to stop us dead in our tracks and bring about a completely different attitude towards both natural resources and economic theory.

17. SMALL BUSINESS OWNER Avatar
    SMALL BUSINESS OWNER

SECURITY DEPOSITS AND THE BL&P

I DREAD WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO PEOPLE LIKE ME WHOSE MAJOR EXPENSE IS ELECRICITY. I AM A SMALL BUSINESS OWNER . I DID SOME RENNOVATIONS ON A
    GUEST APARTMENT BLOCK AND WAS INITIALLY CHARGED A SECURITY DEPOSIT EQUAL TO THREE (3) TIMES MY MONTHLY BILL. BUT BEFORE THREE MONTHS PASSED THE BL&P SENT A LETTER TO ME RAISING THE SECUIRTY DEPOSIT BECAUSE MY USAGE WAS MORE THAN THE ESTIMATED. I QUESTIONED IT AND WAS TOLD THAT I COULD GET A REFUND WHEN I TERMINATE MY SERVICE.
    I AM A BAJAN, I OWN THE PROPERTY ON WHICH THE BUSINESS IS LOCATED . THERE IS ONLY ONE ELECTRIC COMPANY. THAT MEANS MY MONEY WILL BE HELD BY THE BL&P FOREVER AND EVER AMEN OR UNTIL THEY MAKE IT SO BURDENSOME THAT I WOULD HAVE TO SELL OUT.
    I HAVE NEVER DEFAULTED ON MY BILLS. AS FAR AS I HEARD BL&P CUS OFF YOUR SERVICE IF YOU DO NOT PAY, WHY SHOULD THEY TAKE 3 MONTHS MONEY FROM SOME ONE LIKE ME. A LOT OF TOURIST ARE LOOKING FOR CHEAP ACCOMMODATION SO THERE WILL BE DIFFICULTY IN PASSING ON THIS INCREASE.
    I ALSO QUESTION WHAT HAPPENS TO BIG BUSINESES AND WAS TOLD THEY ACCEPT GUARANTEES.
    I DREAD RECEIVING ANOTHER LETTER ASKING FOR ANOTHER INCREASE

18. Straight talk Avatar
    Straight talk

Not my experience, SMALL BUSINESS OWNER, BL &P pay me a handsome interest on their mandatory deposit.

Unlike the sharks at C&W who demanded off me an interest free loan of $ 600 for the total length of contract I had with them.

When oh when will the GoB or the toothless guardians at the FTC bring these monopolies to heel.

19. […] uwi five days a week, the government??s decision to reverse the policy of subsidizing the price ofhttp://bajan.wordpress.com/2008/04/29/the-energy-efficiency-challenge/WINNING START Trinidad ExpressWHAT A DUCK!: WIPA Masters captain Stuart Williams, right, is bowled […]

20. SMALL BUSINESS OWNER // May 8, 2008 at 4:50 pm

SECURITY DEPOSITS AND THE BL&P

==============================

Windchargers are at work on yachts, residences and small business. You can purchase various sizes from http://www.e-marine-inc.com/products/wind_generators/wind_generator.html

or seek to build your own http://www.mdpub.com/Wind_Turbine/index.html

you can also build solor panels as well. your choice, try to help yourself or continue to complain to the wind.

21. JR…I agree with you on the problematique of defining the Caribbean…there are several definitions out there…the most commonly accepted one is “any land mass that is touched by the Caribbean sea…”
    Ironically enough…that would rule out Barbados we are are really fully in the Atlantic….go figure…

22. Natural Mystic Avatar
    Natural Mystic

Canada is subsidising solar power fed into the grid! Ontario’s Standard Offer program will pay $0.42/kWh for 20 years, the highest price for solar-generated electricity in North America.

Now THAT is refreshing. Read on:

http://www.wind-works.org/FeedLaws/Canada/OntarioonPathtoBecomeSolarPowerhouseofCanada.html
    Ontario on Path to Become Solar Powerhouse of Canada
    May 18 2006

By Paul Gipe

——————————————————————————–

The following article appeared in an edited form in Private Power magazine. In November 2006 Standard Offer Contracts became officially available. The Ontario program is now up and running.

——————————————————————————–

Cambridge, Ontario-Everyone was beaming when Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty took the podium at Photowatt’s assembly hall near Cambridge on March 21, the TV crews took their positions, reporters flipped open their notebooks, and the 200-strong crowd went silent. This wasn’t just another photo-op. Those present sensed that this was an historic event.

McGuinty then went on to announce that the government of Ontario would launch an ambitious-some say daring–program offering standard contracts for the provincial purchase of electricity from anyone willing to install a solar panel on their roof, a wind turbine on their farm, or a biogas generator at their dairy that was less than 10 MW in size.

“We’re taking a bold step that will allow hundreds of small, local, renewable energy producers to get into the energy market-providing cleaner energy that will help meet Ontario’s needs today-and in the future,” said Premier McGuinty.

The Premier was accompanied at the podium by Ontario’s Minister of Energy Donna Cansfield and Canada’s popular scientist and TV-personality, David Suzuki.

Cansfield, the driving political force behind the measure that adapts European electricity feed laws to North America, told the crowd that Ontario was “open for business” and was seeking to become the renewable energy powerhouse of North America.

Ontario is Canada’s industrial heartland and it’s here that the province hopes to lure wind turbine and solar cell manufacturers to produce products for the entire North American market.

A sometime critic of the McGuinty government’s energy policy, Suzuki praised the Premier’s announcement, characterizing the Standard Offer program as the “most progressive renewable energy policy in North America in two decades.”

Indeed, not since California’s Standard Offer No. 4 of the early 1980s has a state or province launched such an ambitious policy. Ontario’s Standard Offer Contracts will pay more for wind, solar, biomass, and small hydro than any other program in North America, including Schwarzenegger’s much ballyhooed program in California.

The announcement culminated a 2-1/2 year campaign by the Ontario Sustainable Energy Association (OSEA) for what the NGO calls Advanced Renewable Tariffs.

Still, critics note that the prices in the Standard Offer program are less than those proposed by OSEA in a report to the Ministry of Energy in early 2005. More worrisome, they say, is that the tariffs in the 20-year contracts, especially those for solar photovoltaics (PV) will not keep pace with inflation.

Under the province’s program only 20% of the tariffs are adjusted with inflation. OSEA argued, unsuccessfully, that 80% of the tariffs should rise with inflation.

Wind Projects Waiting in the Wings
    Thomas Schneider of Schneider Power fears that the tariff for wind is too tight under Ontario conditions. Ontario, says Schneider, is the most expensive jurisdiction in North America to build a wind project, as much as 30% more than other areas he asserts. Combine that with the low wind speeds typical of southern Ontario and the $0.11/kWh makes projects problematic. Nevertheless, Schneider will soon announce development of five projects under the Standard Offer program, assuming he can find financing.

Similarly, Ontario wind pioneer Glen Estill says “we need to see the rules and a workable contract” before projects can proceed. Estill’s Sky Generation has two 10 MW projects in the hopper waiting for contracts.

Reportedly, commercial wind developers have ordered nearly 200 system impact studies from Hydro One. If true, there may be as much as 2,000 MW waiting in the wings for wind contracts.

The program will be administered by the newly created Ontario Power Authority. OPA’s Manager of Renewable Energy, Jim MacDougal, says he expects contracts will be available by fall of 2005. “We hope we can move that schedule up,” he says, but there are a number of issues that must be resolved.

Major Solar PV Growth Possible
    Ontario’s program is modeled after that in Germany where the staggering growth of the solar industry is a powerful display of how electricity feed laws can drive rapid development of solar energy. Germany installed $4 billion of solar PV last year most of that on home and farm rooftops. This follows the nearly $3 billion installed in 2004.

Germany has now overtaken Japan as the world’s largest PV market and it’s manufacturers now compete with Japanese suppliers worldwide.

In 2005, Germany generated 1 billion kilowatt-hours of solar electricity and the industry expects this to rise to nearly 3 billion kilowatt-hours by 2011.

Ontario consumes 150 billion kWh per year.

Germany now operates some 1,400 megawatts (MW) of solar generation, more than all the renewable energy contracts awarded in Ontario to date, and more than twice all the wind turbines currently operating in Canada.

More than 200,000 homes, businesses, and farms in Germany have installed solar panels and sell their electricity-for a profit-to their local distribution company.

In 2005, German farmers installed 200 MW of solar panels on barn roof tops. German farmers alone invested more than $1.5 billion in solar PV last year.

The solar PV industry now employs 30,000 in Germany.

Minister of Energy Cansfield hopes that Ontario’s standard offer contracts for solar PV will create a similar boon, enabling homeowners and farmers to install solar panels on their roofs. With a strong demand for solar panels in the province, Ontario will provide a enticing market for both Japanese, German, and French manufacturers as well as stimulate development of homegrown companies such as Spheral Solar.

There is a strong pent up demand for solar panels in Ontario. Many homeowners have been waiting for the ability to sell power to the grid at a price higher than the net-metering rate. Ontario’s Standard Offer program will pay $0.42/kWh for 20 years, the highest price for solar-generated electricity in North America.

The Canadian Solar Industries Association estimates that there is the potential for 1,300 MW of solar generation on roof tops in Toronto alone. Because peak solar generation occurs during sunny summer months when demand is highest, solar PV could greatly help Toronto meet its need for power.

Standard Offer Contracts Open to Everyone
    Unlike other mechanisms used to develop solar energy, Standard Offer Contracts, what Germans call Electricity Feed Laws, elicits the active participation of its citizens and small businesses. Ontario’s contracts will be available to any homeowner, farmer, or businessperson.

German homeowners typically install solar systems about 3 kilowatt (kW) in size, sufficient to provide two-thirds of the electricity used by an average German home.

German farmers install much bigger solar systems, typically 30 to 50 kW. This is similar in size to the 36 kW solar system installed by Toronto Hydro in 2004. Such large solar arrays generate 25,000 to 40,000 kWh per year in Germany.

Surprisingly, there’s about 20% more solar energy in Ontario than in Germany.

As a result, the prospects for solar and wind energy development in Ontario are increasingly sunny. Yet the devil remains in the details.

Be Prepared and Become Active
    Proposals by the Ontario Energy Board could squash the program before the first contract is signed. OEB has suggested that homeowners register as “power generators” and pay an exorbitant fee-every quarter. This provision alone would strangle the young Ontario solar industry in its cradle.

Moreover, demand for solar panels has never been higher and there’s a shortage worldwide. If you’re considering a solar installation, it would be wise to contact a dealer immediately and be prepared to place your order as soon as contracts are available. Solar dealers in Ontario could become very busy by fall.

Be prepared to act. Write a letter to Premier Dalton McGuinty acknowledging his leadership on launching Ontario’s groundbreaking policy on renewable energy and ask that the Premier should direct the Ontario Energy Board to make the program work as simply and cheaply as possible. Then send a copy to your local newspaper.

Ontario is on the verge of a historic change in how it produces and distributes electricity. This will only happen if Ontarians are permitted to generate electricity and sell it at a fair price. Ontario’s Standard Offer Program promises just that.

-End-

23. Natural Mystic Avatar
    Natural Mystic

$0.42 Canadian = $ 0.84 Bajan per kW hour