damien One interpretation saw five students being barred from classes at the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic (SJPP) last week for wearing locks. But, deputy principal Merton Forde said the students would be allowed back in school if they presented documents proving they were part of the Rastafari faith.

“Generally the laws speak to people carrying themselves in a manner which is not injurious to the health of others, or injurious to themselves. And what had me aghast, is that what seems to be appearing is a conflict of what one might argue is traditional culture and modern culture, even though the modern culture is part of the ancestral culture of Africa in this context,” Jones said.

MINISTER OF EDUCATION Ronald Jones is hinting that the new Education Act will take into consideration the now controversial issue of appropriate hairstyles for school, which is currently left to the interpretation of administrators. He said the new act and new regulations would be presented to Parliament as soon as the necessary review of the current act and accompanying regulations had been completed.

Source: Nation Newspaper

Above is the picture of the controversial Senator Damien Griffith who was appointed to the Upper House by the David Thompson government recently. His appointment has sparked debate not only because of his relative tender age but more so his corn row plaited hairstyle. The national debate appears to be divided on the issue. One group feels it is not a good portrayal of the kind of image we want to send to young people because it flouts standards which conservative Barbadians remain true. Then there is the other group which counters that the ‘hair style’ allows the Senator to remain connected to his African heritage.

The man who triggered the debate is the well known educator and disciplinarian Mathew Farley who wrote this article which was published in the Nation on the 14/02/08. The quote above signals that the government maybe tightening the dress code in our government institutions of learning very soon. Is it a case of bolting the door long after the horses have fled? The plurality of cultures which currently exist in Barbados seem to be blurring what is culture and ‘fad’. Perhaps if the Senator wants to wear his ‘hair style’ in a style made popular by females under the excuse that it is African, we would find it an acceptable argument if he looked like Elombe Mottley. There isn’t a Barbadian who stumbles on Elombe who would be in any doubt as to his ‘Africaness’. The Senator and his sympathizers argue that the style keeps him in touch with his roots yet he wears the garb which has a rich European identity, the suit and tie. No half measure Senator!

Although we have not been totally lucid in our condemnation of a Senator being allowed to enter our law making chambers, we have no doubt that the BU family understands where we side on the matter. Mathew Farley you have a lot of support in the wings!

145 responses to “The Hair Debate In Los Barbados”

1. Just a little, ‘aside’, gentlemen!! Could n’t resist it, just to show how kind and christianly, I am, really!! Up to you, David!!!!

XING Yuan, 52, tried to drown himself after £2,000 was “stolen” from his China hotel – but he’d been searching the wrong room.

Poor fellow!! A case of ‘more haste, less speed?’!!!!

2. Brutus somebody has to decide what the standard is and soon. The next challenge could well be an MP wearing a short pants and tee shirt.

3. david that is pointless, we black people over the years fought for our rights to be accepted for who we are, black. and we got it, and today we are fighting for freedom of expression, in my opinion we are still in slavery. by whom? our own.

if u wanna ridicule someone based on hairstyle then you should based on skin color, i got news for ya, its all part of the body.

take a look at the portraits of the founding forefathers of the usa like thomas jefferson and benjamin franklin.

because of them and others, we can say usa is the only country from under british rule that broke all ties since the declaration of independence, why? because no one made an issue over hair, they made issues over policies.

i cannot believe that in 2008, we are being judged because we manage our hair differently.

i can only imagine jack cafferty or wolf blitzer enjoying moments on cnn making fun at us. no wonder why we are still in the developing stages.

we bicker at nonsense and always try to make stupid comparisons to make a point.

hair has nothing to do with clothing, study shows that a person’s behavior is carried out based on their dress. do you find people behaving the same way in both casual and formal wear, hardly ever.

what about hairstyles? most people dont even remember they have hair on their head when they are doing their business, only us who find problems with peoples hairstyles make it an issue, this is why i say, get some exposure abroad and learn the experience of minding your own business, and look at a person’s qualities and not the way they manage their hair.

this is total discrimination and hypocrisy

fight for race rights, but yet against hairstyle rights, what a world we live in, rather, what a country.

4. i mention jefferson and franklin because both wore wild hairstyles, kinda long and let down, still they were accepted

5. David // February 27, 2008 at 5:26 am

Brutus somebody has to decide what the standard is and soon. The next challenge could well be an MP wearing a short pants and tee shirt.

That’s right David, or even dreadlocks!!!!

6. Of course, none of this explains the terminal, psychological damge done to our women from the first time they saw a white woman and decided that their own, curly, was ugly and have aspired to have straight hair like the white woman, ever since!!!!

This one event has wrought incalculable damage upon our race!!!!

7. XING Yuan, 52, tried to drown himself after £2,000 was “stolen” from his China hotel – but he’d been searching the wrong room.

Dear Barbadians, the immediately, above, is what’s known as, funny!!!! 🙂

8. If our citizens living at home object and adamantly feel that certain hairstyles take away from one’s being respected, then I strongly suggest that Barbadians, both men and women, should be mandated to shave their hair and be bald at all times. This way, hairstyles would no longer be an issue — everyone would be in harmony, which should allow for less and/or no criticism on such issue. While at it, come up with a uniform style for all, whether it be a jump suit or some other design where no one would be criticize for style, etc. Maybe only then we can focus our attention on real issues instead of hairstyle, clothing and the like.

The more I read and hear some of the criticisms and the issues that people so strongly reject, I often wonder if these critics would prefer, or even thought of Bim being a communist island.

9. Sapodillo …where do you live , where do you work, do you have children, what expectations do you have of behaviour, presentation in genral and stanadrds in particular?

Seems to me it is not about Barbados but rather about whether there should be standards at all!

10. It amazes me that “me” could talk about ‘broken english’. The vernacular we speak is our dialect, and we should be proud of it. I want that person to pause for a minute and imagine persons draggggeeddd from their home; being forced to learn a new language; and additionally, imagine those persons having to then cope with persons who looked like them but sadly spoke different languages. These persons had to be very intelligent to merge all these languages together to create our vernacular. What u should have said is that we need to teach our youths standard english but be proud of our ancestry. And by the way, we are totally lost as a people when we fret about hairstyles and broken english. We young people are not going down the drain because of a hairstyle. We are proud of who we are, and what we have been able to achieve. That is, for one to recognise that we have more to offer than a hairstyle. We have realised that color of one’s skin, the way one speaks and so on does not make us who we are; it is our actions and words that signify who we are and that is better any day than one drooling over any hairstyle

11. then I strongly suggest that Barbadians, both men and women, should be mandated to shave their hair and be bald at all times. This way, hairstyles would no longer be an issue —

Sap, you’re wrong even at first base. A shaved head is a hairstyle!! You need to go back and start, again!!!!

Me // February 27, 2008 at 12:29 pm

Sapodillo …where do you live , where do you work, do you have children, what expectations do you have of behaviour, presentation in genral and stanadrds in particular?

Seems to me it is not about Barbados but rather about whether there should be standards at all!

Now, there’s an intelligent man!!!!

Anonymous, I’m sorry but I have to conclude that you’re probably, too young to know much about anything, thus I’m unable to give too, much seriousness to your answer!!!!

12. For ur information i am not young and fickle minded. I no when and where (believe me I do) Brimbo, and if wearing my hair natural, and teaching my children and my friends that they should be proud of themselves no matter who they r i humbly apologise sir. I am proud of ME. I no hu I am.

13. Kadri: Your last post should have been the LAST POST on this issue as it sums up the situation perfectly.
    Does anyone really know for sure that Bimbro has a drop of Bajan blood or more importanly that he is of Afro Caribbean descent or is he just enjoying toying with those who really are?

14. Bimbro; my behaviour is governed by something called “The Charter of Rights and Freedoms”. Under this Law, I carry myself as I please, same as every other individual is entitled to.

15. I ask Bimbro …..fro one who claims to have Barbados’ well being at heart….when was the last time you were in Barbados?
    Do you send funds to any relatives here?
    What do you do to help this island?
    How long have you been away from Barbados ?
    Do you even plan to visit?
    Do you plan to return like most have over the years?
    Your answers (if possible) will truly give us an idea of how much this country means to you.

16. kadri…how do you separate hairstyle from dress and fshion. There are hairstyles for serious activities and they are hairstyles for casual activities. Hairstyles are fashion and they like clothing give an impression of the person. Locs suggest rastafari, neat corporate hairstyles suggest a serious person. yes there are exceptions but you know this is true. Spend sometime at the Barber and see .

Hairstyles

Mohawk
    Dred Locs
    Afro
    Twists
    Braids
    Fade
    Shag
    Bald
    Highlights
    Mutlicoloured weaves
    Rough Afros ( very current in fashion)
    Perms
    Jheri curls
    Scurls
    Flat top
    Smurf

…The list can go on and on
    Some of these styles vary from mild to extreme even within the particular style. Your hairstyle is an expression of you and how you want people to see you.

Like clothing hairstyles also gives an impression of the person.

We individually did not make ourselves we are part of the world . The world reacts to us, our community reacts to what is presented! The status quo for all its worth sets the standard.

Broken English…our national language is ENGLISH just like the National language of France is French. Although we may speak dialect i.e broken english amongst ourselves like the french speak patois we still are part of the world. Last time I checked I didnt see anyone anywhere else learning BAJAN.

Anon… first impressions count, if you walked into my corporate office for an interview dressed ‘however you felt like in corn rows’ with that attitude that you were there to shake things up….I would not be interested in the least in hiring you no matter how bright you were.
    What you are missing is that until you prove yourself your presentation is really all we have to go on!

And I am sure that a majority of people feel just like me even if they will not admit it!

17. Maybe we need to extend the debate a little. Some kind of dress code is in place in our courts. Individuals are asked to leave the courts almost everyday because of poor grooming/dress etc. If the Senate is the highest court in the land why should a dress code note apply.

18. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

What African roots what. Quite clear to me that we are fast adapting the excuse mentality of an ‘anything goes society as long as it is decent’. So right now I could have sex in trafalgar square as long as it is clean and decent. After all it is not the act that should be questioned but the manner in which it is delivered. Or better yet do not look to what is on my head but what is in it. So the young senator pushing some cornrow. His delivery of such a hairstyle has solicited support thereof on the basis that as long as it not unkept and remains tidy it should be allowed. Maybe the young senator might decide to wear a jeans in parliament. I hope no body kick up dust if he does because after all, he obviously will make sure that it is tidy and decent. Or better yet let us fully embrace our African heritage and start wearing full African attire as oppose to the two piece and three piece suits. Bet ya no body dare go African in the house. Yeah some of you will start talking about those are extremes. Well let me tell you something, I think what the senator is being allowed to do is very extreme. Cornrow in parliament yet never seen before is now being championed by the new age thinkers. I threading on the side of commonsense and that for me is the side of the old thinkers. Mr. Prime Minister I like you real bad, but remember – The higher the monkey climb the more he does show he tail.

19. We young people are not going down the drain because of a hairstyle

Anonymous, your OWN words, my friend, so if I got the impression that you’re younger than you are, whose fault do you think that is?!!!!

Does anyone really know for sure that Bimbro has a drop of Bajan blood or more importanly that he is of Afro Caribbean descent or is he just enjoying toying with those who really are?

Pied Piper, does anyone know that you?!!!!

I’m not convinced of the ‘wisdom’ of that remark!!!!

Pat, that law was probably, constructed by white people. You must have noticed but, they’ve already made it, to the point which we shall almost, certainly, never be able to equate them, and neither do they desire us to!! In the unlikely, event that any black people, at all, were involved in the creation of that law, it is most likely that they were brainless, or not sufficently ‘with-it’, to have been doing so!! A lot of black, people participate in projects just for the cudos of having done so but don’t really have any real, perception to offer!!!!

Technician, I was in Bim, not too, long ago!! I’m not going into details because they’re one or two ignorant Bajees who’ve nothing better to do than sit down and take notes of everything I say on here and then endeavour to ‘throw it back in my face’, later on!! How sad!! Nothing better to do!! Lord, I got more useful things to do with my life!!

Tech, suffice to say that, if I did n’t care about Bim, I would n’t be wasting my time here, every day!!!!

Have a nice one!!!! And wear a respectable, afro!!!! Saw a guy in The Nation, the other day, who was wearing a woolen hat, in de hot Bajan sun!!!! I nearly crack-up!!!! Lordddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂

‘Me’, “Hairstyles are fashion”

Me, would that be as in brains are fashion!!!!

Lorddddddddddddddddddddd!!!!! 🙂

Nice dayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!

The higher the monkey climb the more he does show he tail.

I don’t know what this means but, whatever it does, I agree!!!! Lordddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂

20. LOL In assessing potential workers for the Canadian Farm programme Language skills gets 24 points. I guess fluency in Bajan should suffice right? LOL!

21. The DLP did promise to increase the participation of women in parliament. Welcome Senator Griffith.

22. Pat, I thought I’d show you some further examples of people who’ve benefited from the kinds of ‘humanitarian’ laws to which you referred!!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article856239.ece

23. I love watching national geographic/ discovery and I also love to travel. Ive been to Africa. Instaed of wearing cornrows Mr Griffith to show his heritage can wear/do the following

1. Scarification
    2. Paint his face white
    3. Where a red cloth as a wrap only ( no underwear)
    4. Wear full makeup plus turban
    5. Wear rings around his neck to make it longer
    6.Wear nothing at all
    7. Pierce his ears with a hole so big that he can put his hand through it
    8. wear a metal plate in his lower lip
    Or he can dress like
    the westernized Africans.

Question for you…how do Africans living in Barbados and working in the corporate envronment dress?

24. I suppose it is the custom to predict that the behavior of the young people will be the end of civilization as. But, yet, civilization goes on.

May I leave some music, poetry and quotes with you to demonstrate what I mean?

Lee Adams (From the Musical “Bye Bye Birdie” – 1963)

“Kids. I don’t know what’s wrong with these kids today.
    Kids. Who can understand any word they say.
    Kids. They are disobedient, disrespectful oafs.
    Noisy, crazy, dirty, lazy, loafers!
    While we’re on the subject: Kids!
    You can talk and talk till your face is blue!
    Kids! But they still just do what they want to do!
    Why can’t they be like we were,
    Perfect in every way?
    What’s the matter with kids today?

Kids!
    I’ve tried to raise him the best I could
    Kids! Kids!
    Laughing, singing, dancing, grinning, morons!
    And while we’re on the subject!
    Kids! They are just impossible to control!
    Kids! With their awful clothes and their rock an’ roll!
    Why can’t they dance like we did?
    What’s wrong with Sammy Caine?
    What’s the matter with kids today!

25. More licks for the youth of today, their lack of respect for standards, and their frivolous approach to things:

“I see no hope for the future of our people if they are dependent on the frivolous youth of today, for certainly all youth are reckless beyond words. When I was a boy, we were taught to be discreet and respectful of elders, but the present youth are exceedingly knowing and impatient of restraint.”

(Hesiod, Greek poet, circa 700 B.C.)

Ooops! That was centuries ago. And yet, here we are!

26. And, last but not least, a few lines from Joseph Seamon Cotter, Sr. (1986-1949), African American educator, writer, and social activist. I see this verse as truly reflective of our tendency to focus on the outer appearance of individuals at the expense examining what positive contributions they can make to our society.

“Neber min’ what’s in your cran’um
    So your collar’s high an’ true
    Neber mind what’s in your pocket
    So de blackin’s on your shoe.”

Peace to all.

27. […] how to make curry anythin & fryin’ flyin’ fish, little did we know they already mek dreadlocks and braids are already illegal. in a land whose ancestors came from Africa! but with a steady gaze fixated on the pale backside of […]

28. […] how to make curry anythin & fryin’ flyin’ fish, little did we know they already mek dreadlocks and braids are already illegal. in a land whose ancestors came from Africa! but with a steady gaze fixated on the pale backside of […]

29. In a quest for tolerance Avatar
    In a quest for tolerance

Well said Radiance. You think all the ignorant talk is going to stop now? I sure hope so. It is a bit tiresome.
    One thing is sure, there is no such thing as the evolution of man. LOL. Look how people have the same issues and thoughts centuries apart. A man is just a man.

30. In a quest for tolerance Avatar
    In a quest for tolerance

I think choosing a moniker like Radiance suggests that you have a generous and happy spirit. Just a thought.

31. You r missing my poinT mis smartie ME. When u looked at the senator his hair was very tidy. Do u think i would come in to anyones office with my hair flyin (silly) i will come with my natural hair and face all clean and neat. I would not come to shake up anything or place. I would have come to learn and i no for a fact that when u (miss ME) hear and see what i have to offer u wont want me to leave so tek dah.

And another thing, how dear u insult ur language bajan dialect. You did not try to comprehend what i was sayin about our language. My point was that there is a time and a place for our language. I LOVE MY BAJAN DIALECT. i no hu i am do u

32. Whatever bimbo

33. Anon. I is a rank bajan. I can tawk bajan wid de best o dem. But I strongly believe that there is a time and a place for everything. And I know for a fact that alot of our young people are getting mixed signals and many have no idea of what is expected of them because of this hence the difficulty we have with some in the corporate world.

Of course there is room for change and variation but I think it is impoartnt that we do not confuse the people that do not know any better!

34. Emotion seems to have overwhelmed our commenters on the issue of the cornrows of Senator Griffith.

We have to view the efforts of segments in our society, Mathew Farley included, to instill values and impose standards in our people in a climate where crime and bad behaviour has become common place. We are surprise to hear intelligent people quoting the law to justify their right to have freedom of expression.

Hongwash!!!

35. Listening to tell it like it is tonite it is clear to me that people have alot of issues that need to be addressed and they have put these issues into the debate when in fact they have little to do with what Mr Farley said about the cornrows.

In every culture/society there are standards as it relates to presentation even in the the most primitive tribes in Africa. Young people are instructed on how to present themselves depending on the occassion. It doesnt matter how we got here in 2008.

36. why is there a preoccupation with hair

i have that thereis a serious preoccupation with hair in barbados
    there has to be a reason

i have never heard anyone query a whiteman’s hair in barbados

why ?

37. Bimbro:

http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/charter/

The Charter is the Canadian Bill of Rights and is entrenched in our Constitution. Read and enjoy.

If you were in Barbados lately, tell us something about the City. Where did you go, what did you see? Describe a ZR. cheupse

38. Dear In a quest for tolerance,

Thanks. I am indeed happy most of the time. In spite of the folly I hear and see sometimes, I think life is sweet.

The number of comments on this particular issue is about 83, so this one might run out of steam soon. Unfortunately, the prejudice against certain types of hairstyles will remain, so the wider debate is going to go on, and on, and on long after this BU debate is over. I had hoped that we had learned a lesson from the Ingrid Quarless case, but this kind of prejudice is more entrenched than I realized.

39. The funny thing about bajans is that they dont real know the true meaning of change for the more they change the more things remain the same. As for the hair style I see nothing wrong with it once it is kept tidy and do understand that a person hairstyle or dress code does not affect a persons ability to learn unless that said person is pressured by those in authority.

40. If SJPP has made a decision to take those boys out of class based on the fact that they had dread locks, does this decision go towards all students who have dread locks. Or is this really a hair style and gender issue?

41. ROBOT // February 28, 2008 at 10:01 pm

why is there a preoccupation with hair

i have that thereis a serious preoccupation with hair in barbados
    there has to be a reason

why ?

The reason we’re discussing hair is because it is important and Barbadians have a brain. People who don’t discuss it are either stupid or irresponsible about their race. However, I doubt that it’s a ‘pre-occupation’, although, perhaps, it should be because ‘it’s virtually, the beginning of the whole thing’!!!! i.e. racial pride!!!! Heard of that one, Robot????

why ?

I have never heard anyone querie a white person’s hair, IN ANY COUNTRY, INCLUDING WHITE PEOPLE THEMSELVES, AND THE REASON IS OBVIOUS!!

White people like and are content with the way they look and don’t all want to look like another race. You may also, have noticed that they and others who’re satisfied with what they are, are also the most successful people in the world!! Do you think that there’s a connection?!! I do!!!!

Pat, ‘thanks’, for providing me with further information about the law, even though I did n’t need you to.

How grateful do you think the teachers in my link provided above, would be to your law and others of its kind, which link I noticed that you pointedly, chose to ignore!!!!

What I did or did n’t do in Bim is my business!!!!

42. bimbro you have just proven yourself an idiot i must say.

since your post is drawing comparisons with race and hair, tell us how blacks are stupid to wear cornrows and dreadlocks.

you proving yourself to be very strong with your points that are only for self satisfaction.

women dress their hair in all types of styles, ask any of them if when they are working they even remember they have hair on their head every second of the day like us who look at it.

the person who implied griffith is a woman because of his hair, since when does men hair only grow 2 inches? the only difference between an man and a woman are the sexual organs, I never learn that hair is a sex organ, maybe thats something new.

bimbro if you dont want anyone to discriminate against your race, cease discriminating against peoples hairstyles, its the same thing.

you people just dont get it

get with it tho, people made laws in the past not only for the best of the country, but about how they felt about issues, hair has nothing to do with a country, get it in ya head.

how they felt about the issues is of time past, if you dont like the hair styles, just close your eyes, cuz ya know what, its here and its not gonna go because of you, and people gonna be the same regardless how they manage their hair.

you said you like natural, ok.
    have you ever wondered what happen to the negro hair if its just left natural? do some reading and find out smarty.

the times are changing and we gotta live with it.
    people of today who looking for a better life no longer care about hair management.
    as i said before, the people who are convicted with the most crimes are well groomed.

sometimes i wonder if a rasta or a guy who wearing cornrows ever had to come and cut your lawns, if you would tell them no because of their hairstyle. i wonder.

but yet you will preach to respect people of their jobs. what a hypocrite you are

dont talk about white people like their race, blacks too, and i can show you pics, lots and lots of em with white people who locked their hair. my advice to you is to leave your cave, and see how civilized earth has become.

btw. put some clothes on too, this is not caveman days anymore

43. Re. “White people like and are content with the way they look and don’t all want to look like another race”.

Hmmmm. I think I’ll just provide a short list of items and activities you might want to consider. Re. being happy with how they look, think about who currently engages in plastic surgery most and which cultures currently have the highest rates of anorexia.

Re. looking like other races, I want to point out: Tanning lotions that work when one is in the sun; tanning salons to keep one brown, brown, brown in the winter months; creams than create a tan when one wants to avoid the sun; glue (and dirt) in the hair to create “dreadlocks” because the hair does not have enough of a tight curl to create locks or twists on its own; paying a whole lot of money for 10 cornrows that will “walk out” of the hair in three days, again because the natural hair does not have enough of a curl to keep the braids in; collagen injections to create “fuller” lips; cosmetic surgery on the buttocks (to increase the fullness and projection of the buttocks).

Then there are some Asians who are cosmetically removing the fold from their eyelids. And then you have the folks from the Middle East who are are are surgically straightening their noses.

It seems that people just can’t be happy with what they have. For some of us, though, it is clear where our hatred of ourselves comes from. We’ve been told for centuries that what we have does not meet the standards of decent society, respectable and intelligent people. It was a painful experience for me to read how slaves used to put tar and axle grease in their hair to make it “straight”, to make it look “respectable”, to make it meet the “standard”. It made me sad to see how what grow out of my head naturally (I am Black) and the styles Blacks developed to manage the tight curl of our unprocessed hair, were declared to be not good enough. The worst part is that beliefs about “good” hair and “bad” hair still exist, and these beliefs continue to go unexamined.

This why I ask us to think about where these standards come from, and how righteous it is for us to make a connection between what’s on the head and what’s in the head or heart. Those of us who make this hair-intelligence connection or the hair-respectability connection are just “follow patterns” in my opinion. And we are following a centuries-old pattern that was never meant to do us any good.

44. ….Well we are in the era of “Image politics” all that is required these days is to look the part. I could be wrong but i am at this point willing to hazard a guess that this guy’s appointment to the senate came about primarily to answer the question how best can it be demonstrated that the DLP is serious about young people. So that the genesis of his appointment was to present an image, and since he is to be seen as such then his image will matter most to the intended audiance. So what is the most pervasive account within the society of the image he presents? Is the corn row hair style at this time in our society associated with serious statemanship? or is it mostly associated with entertaiment, relax life, carefree life, style and fashion etc? I premise that is not associated with the function that he has been appointed too and that wearing a suite does not sufficiently hide the associations afore mention. Now while he is free to wear whatever as i don’t think there is an enforce dress code for the senate, i think that the Senator, the person who appointed him and the likely reason for so doing will be lost on us the audiance. In fact it might be said that rather than find constructive ways to engage and integrate young people into society we are well on our way of bringing their disorganize ways into the core of society.
    But wait a minute,…..Word reaching me from my former village is that the guys on the block are thinking of renaming their block from Iraq to the “Senate” on account of the “CORN-ROW SENATOR” this could be a good thing. 😀

45. This atricle should be read. It should not have come to this. The Deputy Principal at the SJPP jumped the gun without looking at the legal ramifications.

Boys back at SJPP
    Published on: 2/29/08.

THE FOUR remaining students barred from attending classes at Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic (SJPP) because of their dreadlocks are now free to enter.

“We have given instructions for the students affected to be admitted to class without any hindrance with respect to their hairstyle,” principal Wendel Cozier said last night in an official statement.

“We are agreed that the times, styles and fashions are always changing and that as young adults, our students may want to express themselves as is their right to do. Our concerns are for neatness and safety when the students use machinery, and heat in their training,” the statement continued.

Cozier said the SJPP had discussions with Minister of Education Ronald Jones, the Permanent Secretary and Chief Education Officer, and was “guided by their counsel in the matter”.

The principal, who said that “in light of recent events” its Disciplinary Policy and Procedures Manual might have to be re-examined, stressed the SJPP “has had members of the Rastafarian religious groups as staff members and students and has enjoyed harmonious relations. The current issue is certainly not one of discrimination against Rastafarians”.

On February 19, SJPP deputy principal Merton Forde said five students had been banned from attending classes there because of their dreadlocks and would need to “show they belonged to the Rastafarian sector”. (PR/PA)

| PRINTER FRIENDLY FORMAT | EMAIL STORY

46. the only difference between an man and a woman are the sexual organs,

Kadri, you’re effeminate then, are you???? Or, could u even be a *****??? 🙂 Please doan say it, K!!!! 🙂

sometimes i wonder if a rasta or a guy who wearing cornrows ever had to come and cut your lawns, if you would tell them no because of their hairstyle. i wonder.

Kadri, u don’t need to wonder about that, any more. The answer’s simple!! I’d tell him what to do with himself & offer the job to somebody who looked like a human being!!!!

Kadri, why do u think there were no rastas in Bim, prior to Bob Marley?? Do u enjoy being a lap-dog of the Jamaicans?!!!!

tanning-lotions is someting else!!!! Plus, there’re only temporary. The blacks’ is a permanent mental, condition!!!! 🙂

Have a nice day all, in de hot Bajan sun, & don’t wear a woolen-hat in de sun!! It dun mek sense!!!! An stop straightening de good, hair dat god give u!!!! 🙂

47. God knows best!!!! 🙂

48. Kadri and others, I am finding it amazing that you are still after all this time responding to the resident ##### (term can be guessed at) who goes by the handle of Bimbro. You have got to have hearts of saints. I bow to you.

49. Sam de Gamgee, I may be a ****, according to you, but if u can get so exercised by a posting on the internet then I suggest that you’re mentally, ill and should keep that long postponed appointment, with the psychiatrist!!!!

Well u know what they say, Sam De Gamgee, “it takes one to know one!!!!” They could be right!!!!

50. PiedPiper // February 27, 2008 at 6:21 pm

Kadri: Your last post should have been the LAST POST on this issue as it sums up the situation perfectly.
    ==============================

ha ha ha ha different forum same old same old. 😀