damien One interpretation saw five students being barred from classes at the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic (SJPP) last week for wearing locks. But, deputy principal Merton Forde said the students would be allowed back in school if they presented documents proving they were part of the Rastafari faith.

“Generally the laws speak to people carrying themselves in a manner which is not injurious to the health of others, or injurious to themselves. And what had me aghast, is that what seems to be appearing is a conflict of what one might argue is traditional culture and modern culture, even though the modern culture is part of the ancestral culture of Africa in this context,” Jones said.

MINISTER OF EDUCATION Ronald Jones is hinting that the new Education Act will take into consideration the now controversial issue of appropriate hairstyles for school, which is currently left to the interpretation of administrators. He said the new act and new regulations would be presented to Parliament as soon as the necessary review of the current act and accompanying regulations had been completed.

Source: Nation Newspaper

Above is the picture of the controversial Senator Damien Griffith who was appointed to the Upper House by the David Thompson government recently. His appointment has sparked debate not only because of his relative tender age but more so his corn row plaited hairstyle. The national debate appears to be divided on the issue. One group feels it is not a good portrayal of the kind of image we want to send to young people because it flouts standards which conservative Barbadians remain true. Then there is the other group which counters that the ‘hair style’ allows the Senator to remain connected to his African heritage.

The man who triggered the debate is the well known educator and disciplinarian Mathew Farley who wrote this article which was published in the Nation on the 14/02/08. The quote above signals that the government maybe tightening the dress code in our government institutions of learning very soon. Is it a case of bolting the door long after the horses have fled? The plurality of cultures which currently exist in Barbados seem to be blurring what is culture and ‘fad’. Perhaps if the Senator wants to wear his ‘hair style’ in a style made popular by females under the excuse that it is African, we would find it an acceptable argument if he looked like Elombe Mottley. There isn’t a Barbadian who stumbles on Elombe who would be in any doubt as to his ‘Africaness’. The Senator and his sympathizers argue that the style keeps him in touch with his roots yet he wears the garb which has a rich European identity, the suit and tie. No half measure Senator!

Although we have not been totally lucid in our condemnation of a Senator being allowed to enter our law making chambers, we have no doubt that the BU family understands where we side on the matter. Mathew Farley you have a lot of support in the wings!

145 responses to “The Hair Debate In Los Barbados”

1. Do as I say and not as i do. Seems to be the approach nowadays.

2. Where the support coming from BU? I missing it. No wonder you bring this thread so late after the events.
    A few years from now hopefully we would have accepted that something as trivial as a hairstyle does not affect anything on God’s green earth.
    When Mr. Griffith went to the opening of parliament one would think that the earth quaked or some such thing.
    Enough already!!!!!!!!
    Keep the hairstyle Senator. Ignore the naysayers.
    Of all the things we could seek to change in this country, we want to change a man’s right to wear his hair in the style of his choosing. Now that could be called real progress right?

3. The senator’s hair style has nothing to do with his ability to do his job as senator, nor does it have any reflection on his character. It is simply a hairstyle. People need to get over their ignorance and sterotyping and judge the senator on his perforance and his character.

4. Question is, if he wears his hair in whatever style the naysayers deem to be appropriate, what will it do? Bring down the cost of living? Eliminate crime? Make our children better children? Raise our salaries?
    We always look at what other people are doing with little regard to our own shortcomings. Why is that?
    So all the perfect humans out there, check and see if your lives could do with a little scrutiny. My imperfect one always does!
    The only thing we owe to each other is to love each other, but that is so hard that it appears to be near impossible.

5. Oh, and BTW, I guarantee you that if one of those young men at the polytechnic was my son, we would be seeing the SJPP in court. Don’t doubt it for one minute. Slavery and colonialism really have not left our minds in a good place at all.

6. The senator is not Mr. Mottley, and Mr. Mottley is not the senator. Why should they have the same appearance? But, if you insist on comparing the two, then I’ll tell you what I see.

Mr. Mottley wore garb that is not traditional in Barbados, but his his hairstyle was traditional. Mr. Griffith wore garb that is traditional in Barbados, but his hairstyle is not traditional. I’d say, then, that if we can accept Mr. Mottley in his entirety, we can accept Mr. Griffith in his entirety.

7. People who wear idiotic, hairstyles always convince me that they know nothing, have nothing to offer and hope that by diverting our attention away from them with their silliness that we won’t notice just how stupid they are!!!!

Also, taking into account the youthfulness of the senator, I’m inclined to think that’s very, much the truth!!

Bim society has been suffering from falling and falling standards!! I hope that Thompson will have the courage to ‘crack the whip’ and whip Bim, young people as well, back into shape!!!!

Although, I doubt that he will!!!!

8. What is an idiotic hairstyle, Bimbro? Apart, that is, from the one you wear?

9. Bimbro, you need to be censored. Do you read what you type? What does it tell you about you? I know what it says to me.

10. The Problem Hair

Tell Government we got a problem bout here
    Hundreds complaining and pon air
    Every call in program bombarded each day
    People think that cornrows aint okay
    Reactions starting to penetrate the schools
    Our SJPP thinks wearing them breaks the rules
    By styling your hair in this hairdo
    Look out cause you could be ousted too
    Entertainer KB on the Believe Concert tonight
    Made jokes about his cornrows and said that he might
    Have had to think twice if they would let him in
    Allow him to MC the show with what he was wearing
    It’s amazing our dissention but who knows
    Rejecters might come to appreciate the cornrows

Did you notice the message is in the left spine poem?
    See also Cornrows another acrostic poem by Khaidji

11. I see nothing wrong with Senator Griffith’s hairstyle. Barbadians, especially the older ones tend to be very hypocritical. They are still engulfed in mental slavery. Look at a person’s ability to do the job, not what he or she is wearing. As to the SJPP I am surprised that no lawyer has filed a lawsuit against the Principal. What he has done is blatant discrimination. Some persons think that the Minister of Education Mr. Ronald Jones was wrong when he said that the action was ttrampling on the students’ Constitutional rights. BARBADIANS BETTER WAKE UP!!. Can you imagine how stupid the country will look when a story like this reaches into the international fora?

12. brimbo is a poppit, is he got a problem with cornrows on a man head, he should also have problems with men who shave dum heads clean, de hair is a part of de body just like fingernails, we all manage then differently thats all.

brimbo problem is that he cannot think for himself and cast his own judgement based on principles. his judgements are based on what he was taught and how he was brought up.

people who dress is his way of decency are the most corrupted people in todays world.

the question no one seems to ask, i will ask.

does a hairstyle or he attire one wears makes him/her lesser than who he/she is?

if you gonna measure a man the way he fixes his hair, then lets talk about his qualifications and experience, also his character. we all know the so called society rates men with cornrows as thugs and of no use to society. well since we made that clear, we also know that the so called thugs have no qualifications, experience nor anything to offer to society. so if the man has those under his name, why cast his aside based on a hairstyle? because he does not look like you who dont accept it as being ok? thats simply stupid, you people need to leave the british policy enslaved countries and visit the outside world and see why other countries are progressing in productivity, because they dont spend time on picking on foolishness like a hairstyle.

if u wanna talk about decency, the ecent thing to do is to first accept people for who they are.

accepting another’s hairstyle is the symbol of democracy.

brimbo, thank god you aint the PM, cuz i know barbados would be de only country where men would be in prison for having a clean shaven head.

13. correction>>>brimbo problem is that he cannot think for himself and cannot cast his own judgement based on principles.

14. I see nothing wrong with Senator Griffith’s hairstyle.

Can you imagine how stupid the country will look when a story like this reaches into the international fora?

Can you imagine what other nations must think of us when they see a Rasta, or a person with cainrow?!!! Or, perhaps, you don’t think they notice, or care!!!

That second option would be even worse because it would mean that we’d been relegated to meaninglessness in the eyes of the international, community!!

Do you expect to be taken seriously, looking like either of the above, especially, by foreigners?!!!!

Get real, for god’s sake!!!!

15. I can assure you Bimbro that foreigners have less of a problem with this than most Bajans. You shouldn’t judge others by your somewhat misinformed and judgemental views. If by “foreigners” you refer to those who are in the world of international diplomacy or politics, they are accustommed to seeing many different cultures and the outward display of those cultures.
    I have to ask if YOU should be taken seriously with your incredibley anal opinions.

16. Brimbo states: Can you imagine what other nations must think of us when they see a Rasta, or a person with cornrow?
    —————————————————-i am now convinced this man never traveled to north or south america, or even europe, brimbo, my advice for you is ta buy a plane ticket, and travel abroad, ride on subways where the trains are stuffed with commuters, also in de buses during the rush hour, then return and post your observation.

execs in suits so clean u can eat off them sit next to construction workers who wear to and from work de same clothes they work in, even many whites wear dreadlocks on their heads, pastors, reverends, teachers, doctors, i can go on.
    brimbo i feel u live on de moon

17. is he got a problem with cornrows on a man head, he should also have problems with men who shave dum heads clean,

So, Kadri, who told u that I don’t have a problem with the bald-heads, because, I do!!!! Unless, they’re naturally, bald, of course!!!!

Kadri, you need to read over your posts before sending them to avoid so many typos!!!!

You see what I mean about standards!!!! And you want to be a first-world country!!!!

Pied-Piper, you can take me seriously, or not. I could n’t care less!! However, I do care about how the world perceives black people and Barbadians!!

Kadri, do u think people always tell u what they think of u!! If they did you’d never reach home, however, that does n’t mean that they don’t formulate a view of you, which, obviously, you assume to be one of being impressed!! I think you’d be very surprised to know what people really thought of us!!!!

execs in suits so clean u can eat off them sit next to construction workers who wear to and from work de same clothes they work in, even many whites wear dreadlocks on their heads, pastors, reverends, teachers, doctors, i can go on.
    brimbo i feel u live on de moon

I wonder why our Primemisister does n’t wear one!!!! When he does then I’ll begin to give your argument more serious attention!!

Thompy, please become a Rasta, please!!!!

18. Back in the 60s black men knew how to dress and were proud of being black. Then along came ganga-smoking, Jamaican Bob Marley and all black men went trailing-along after he ****side like he was some messiah, or something and we have n’t recovered our decency and self-pride, yet!!!!

19. Bimbro ……you are such an idiot!!!

Back in the 60s black men knew how to dress and were proud of being black. Then along came ganga-smoking, Jamaican Bob Marley and all black men went trailing-along after he ****side like he was some messiah…..

In the 60s black men dressed as they were told!!
    Rastafarian was around before Bob Marley so they WERE rastas long before Bob.
    Tell us, except where you originally came from and where you are today……where else in this world have you been.
    That is why you have to live out the remaining of your miserable days in that apt surrounded by the same people you hate!!
    You must wish you had the money to relocate…….poor soul.
    Dont worry ……we’ll pass around the hat…see what happens.

20. I say this…..everything in this country is about class.
    We cant seem to get this out of our system.These guys were at school for weeks.
    Did they not attended interviews, get a picture taken for their ID tags, pay their money?
    I bet you they would never pull this stunt at BCC or UWI. Aren’t they all tertiary institutions?
    Why do SJPP students have to wear a uniform and others don’t. If they are all tertiary institutions, why different rules for one?
    I’ll tell you why…SJPP is looked at like a lower class institution in Barbados.It is a stigma attached to some schools here like Princess Margaret etc.
    We hate to hear about the elites and such but it is here and it is what dictates these policies.
    Can you imagine these rules at UWI.

21. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

I don’t know why this discussion has been derailed by Bimbro-the-Bitter.

Learn to ignore him!

Personally, I can see nothing wrong with either the corn-rows or the dreads. Both styles are more natural than the awefully stiff and greasy-looking ‘relaxed’ hairstyles worn by many black Bajan women (spending 3 hours a day trying to look like Beyonce).

Why are black people so frightened of ‘natural’ hair styles anyway?

Senator Griffith keep your style!

As for the dreads, students will be students! You should see some of the sad-cases I studied with in the UK!!!! Mohicans, skinheads, bright red hair, afros…….all sorts. Young people use their college years to explore themselves and this includes all manners of self-expression. So long as they are not harming themselves or others then I say “let them be”.

It is all part of growing up man!

22. BU I still waiting to see exactly where the ‘support in the wings’ located.
    Do you know how many households in this land have members with natural hairstyles, both male and female? The year is 2008 not 1968.
    It is like how everyone knows somebody who has AIDS or somebody who died from the disease.

Nevertheless, let us leave Bimbro alone since he obviously knows no better.

23. In the 60s black men dressed as they were told!!
    Rastafarian was around before Bob Marley so they WERE rastas long before Bob.

Maybe, but there were n’t any in Bim, or anywhere else, outside of JA!!!! Now, as you know, they’re everywhere – and who do u suppose is responsible for dat (Jamaican that)!!!! 🙂

Oh, it’s u with your ‘pass the hat around, crap’, again!!!! Yawn!!!!

I lacating to heaven when de time come!!!! I in intrested in any udder lacating!!!! Lordddddddddddddddddd!!! 🙂

Yum-Yum, Bimbro the bitter – I like it – must adopt that one!!!!

(spending 3 hours a day trying to look like Beyonce).

This is exactly, the point which I made several posts, ago. Yum, your views are closer to mine, than u realise!!!!

Count your blessings name them one by one

Count your blessings see what god hath done!!! 🙂

And wear your hair the way god made it for you!!!! He knows best!!!!

24. And before you say it, I’m sure the Lord did n’t intend for you to leave it looking dirty and untidy, like a pig!!!!

25. Many Bajans especially those living in Bim make my stomach turn that I feel as if I want to puke. Why is it that people use the FALSE concerns for youths as a way to gain points for whatever cause they are trying to support? Where is their concern for the youths when there are issues, which directly concern our young people? What a pack of hypocrites to focus on someone’s hairstyle as making him or her unsuitable to hold a certain position in the workforce and/or public office. Have these critics supported politicians in the past with questionable morals or ethical issues?

People criticized the afro-hairstyle when it was introduced in the 60’s – eventually like most things, it became a non-issue; a fad which lasted for a while and then faded away. Whether it is cornrow, dreadlocks, or baldness, or whatever style is currently popular, it should never be the focus of ones fitness to perform any job, unless it is a matter of safety. Why do Bajans more so than others think that their public image have to be prim and proper?

As for Mathew Farley, he should focus on the cleanliness, health and foremost education of his students and/or young people, instead of their fashion. Perhaps, he needs to go and open his own institution. He acts as though from childhood through manhood he IS the creature who has NEVER made the slightest mistake up to this day; that he has always crossed every one of his T’s and dotted every I, and make sure that his close family members do likewise, and he will continue to be the proverbial LEADER of MAN.

26. BTW, I’m a fervent, christian, who stands for high standards!!!!

27. lol…

since hairstyles are unimporatnt why dont we all wear mohawks to Parliament. Indeed why wear serious clothes at all? We should have casual days at parliament where tee shirts and sagging panats are allowed since these say nothing about the ability of the wearers. Right!

In the REAL world appearance matters especailly if you are unknown! I dont know the senator and I would think it would be important for him to make an impression first before he presumed to change what is deemed acceptable in parliament! How was his leader and other senators dressed? Did they take their cues from American Rap performers???

Since when does the newbie set the RULES!

28. Me // February 26, 2008 at 3:16 pm

lol…

since hairstyles are unimporatnt why dont we all wear mohawks to Parliament. Indeed why wear serious clothes at all? We should have casual days at parliament where tee shirts and sagging panats are allowed since these say nothing about the ability of the wearers. Right!

In the REAL world appearance matters

It’s a relief to know there’s at least one, sensible Bajan, in Bim!!!!

29. And who decides what is acceptable appearance?

30. men of yesteryear do not set standards, we as a people are who set our standards, this is our world we live in, not the man who died 30 years or so ago. it is us who makes the world what is it today.

if wunna want to make an issue about cornrows that are plaited decently, ok then let us start some issues of the following.

false teeth aka mr denture
    gold cap
    weave or any kinda mock hair
    hmmm

acceptable appearance is an appearance which is acceptable to the viewer
    some suits men wear are a real turn off, but that does not mean, i dont respect them for who they are. pointless people speak about pointless issues.

if its a problem for this dude to wear his cornrows which is his natural hair, i would have expected the head of parliament to stop wearing his head piece also.

i only wished this scenario would have made it on the international news forum.

As for ME, when rap was born it was afros, the same very dj grandmaster flash who is a born barbadian, in which his group are the pioneers of hip hop all wore afros and clean shaven heads since one was in the us army.

you people need to accept this is a changing world. we people we deprived of expressing ourselves during slavery, and now we have people who are free to live their life as they please by showing freedom of expression without breaking the laws of the land, you pathetic people making it hard for such.

who thought a black man would be in de same senate today? who thought a black man would be leading in de democratic race in de usa today? who thought that we would be free to express ourselves today? then again we are still fighting for the latter because people like bimbro, still want us to be mentally enslaved by the ghost of the plantation owner.

this is 2008, stop watching bet, mtv and so on and travel and see what the world has to offer.

i bet wunna int know usa got areas wid houses widout windows and electricity, stricken poverty. keep following the media and see where it get ya

31. Bimbro // February 26, 2008 at 2:46 pm

“BTW, I’m a fervent, christian, who stands for high standards!!!!”

Bimbro // February 26, 2008 at 2:31 pm

“And before you say it, I’m sure the Lord did n’t intend for you to leave it looking dirty and untidy, like a pig!!!!”

Bimbro // February 26, 2008 at 8:54 am

“People who wear idiotic, hairstyles always convince me that they know nothing, have nothing to offer and hope that by diverting our attention away from them with their silliness that we won’t notice just how stupid they are!!!!

Also, taking into account the youthfulness of the senator, I’m inclined to think that’s very, much the truth!!”

You do not sound very Christ-like in your utterances so I hope you do not actually believe yourself since no one else could possibly believe you. You may even be only trying to be provocative, but you are failing miserably.
    Anyway, I have had enough of your nonsense. Nothing else to say to you on any topic.
    The Lord be with you.

32. WE ALL DECIDE…NOT ONLY THE BASHMENT CREW EVERYONE! sorry about the caps. Everyone of us make decisions on a daily basis on someone else’s appearance no matter how open minded we say we are and every day someone is judging us by our appearance.

wearing cornrows is not a crime just like wearing a mohawk, a nose ring, a brow piercing or a tattoo of of a penis on your face . You can wear whatever you want. But don’t except everyone to take you seriously!

Reginald Farley did not call for a ban of corn rows and neither am I. I am calling for a ‘sense of ocassion of time and place.’

We like to point to the USA as a bastion of freedom YET show me the evidence that “go as you like” is entertained far less promoted in newbies for any corporate/governmental etc position.

Exceptions does not the rule make!

33. Me, not too long ago Martin Luther King had a dream. He yearned for the time when people would not be judged on the color of their skin etc. How far do you think we have come when we are here discussing a man’s hairstyle? Not very far obviously.
    Me, do you not know that every person on this planet is an individual and unique entity? Our skins are not of the same hue, our eyes carry different colors and slants, our hair varies. We all hold some opinion or the other as is being borne out in this thread.
    Pray tell me why you would even argue in such a way as to suggest that ‘we should all wear mohawks to parliament’?
    While I believe the hair debate is a non-issue, it also tells me that we are not that far removed from the enslaved mind we have gained collectively as a legacy of slavery.
    Not so long ago, only persons who had a particular look could work in the banks in Bridgetown and other places. Maybe you never knew this or maybe you have forgotten.
    Please note that when we do not learn from mistakes made, then we are doomed to repeat them.

34. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar

Don’t you all realise that the senator knew his hairstyle would create a controversy and used the occassion as an attention grabbing exercise

35. Sam so what exactly is the difference between a mohawk which is right now a trendy punk hairstyle and corn rows for men which is right now a trendy hip hop hairstyle. Please dont say he is wearing cornrows because he is african or whatever ( I am not naive).

We are all individuals but we are also part of a community, the community has mores, customs and standards ( as well as laws, religions etc) that the majority believe in if not follow. Yes I know that these things change and I can accept that. What I cant accept is this idea that IN PUBLIC all rules/standards and mores are discarded because WE ARE INDIVIDUALS.

I think that you have made this into a racial issue when it doesn’t have to be. A white man in a suit and a mohawk entering parliament would also be inappropriate in my opinion.

Yes I know the history of my country and I know that race and the politics of colour did not favour the dark skinned man ( I am one of a certain age). BUT what does that have to do with dressing appropriately ( including hairstyle).

Are you saying that anything goes at anytime especailly if you are black because of how we were treated in the past???

Therefore broken english, cornrows, unkempt fros, sandals, sagging pants, wife beaters (vests),nose rings, big gold chains and so on should be simply accepted as appropraite attire for parliament????

I thought we were living in Barbados not LA, New Orleans or wherever?

36. David, where has my comment that was made before the one posted at 5:27 gone? You got me feeling funny. Let’s see if you are going to moderate this one too.

37. Hmm

38. Right this minute CLEAVAGE and BRIGHTLY COLOURED weaves/ wigs are in for women. Would it be appropriate if Esther Suckoo showed up in Parliament with her breast exposed with a brite pink ( bRIGHT) hair extensions after all she is an INDIVIDUAL!

Truth she may look quite hot at the next fete with that on but somehow I dont think we would be very forgiving if she shwoed up so!

39. I am sure that there is a dress code for parliament and that ‘the senator’ conforms as is appropriate. Braids and dreads are not currently ‘mainstream’ (styles do change) but I think that only mainstream speech and looks should have a place. I would hope that the contribution made by the said individual will help to remind us not to judge a book by the cover.

I would acknowldge that when walking down the street at 2am one may choose to cross the road if one feels in danger having made a decision on what little information is available- posture, attire, hairstyle, gait. We are often wrong but we sometimes have to make decisions based on limited information.

I believe that we have a chance to discuss how we see ourselves as Barbadians and how we can best present ourselves without being overly focussing on ‘decent dread’ and ‘cornrows’.

40. I see nothing wrong with Senator Griffith’s hairstyle. however there is a big difference in appearance between what he has and rasta dreadlocks

41. Some Barbadians continue to miss the boat on this issue. It is about standards and discipline isn’t it? Why not let school children wear to school their own clothes? Enforcing standards and discipline in our society help to ensure that there is respect and adherence to law and order, respect for tradition etc. We can’t just pull it all down based on faddish behaviour, can we?

42. Bimbro is right. These hairstyles are ghetto. I always thought this style of hair was for women.

43. Ha…some one said morals….in Parliament!!

The previous PM had regular, unprotected ( I doubt he had the stamina to bust a condom, due to prolific use of ESAF) sex with his secretary, while still married to his wife, the first lady at the time. Where was the out cry on morals then?
    Anywhere in the world he would have had to resign.
    The previous PM had a child out of wedlock with the said secretary. Wow…….the silence is deafening.
    Where is the moral out cry??
    These were issues deserving of attention by the moral police …….not a whisper. Corn rows and dreadlocks and the call in programs and blogs full.
    What a bunch of hypocrites!!!

44. Poor Bimbro! He never learns. Well, I don’t care how anyone wears their hair because, I myself wear mine like a mad woman most days. In my college days, I sported the biggest Angela Davis wig I could find. In the eighties, I went to work, as Executive Assistant to a Senior Politico in cornrows. He called them rattails. In the nineties, I would wash my hair of a morning, let it drip dry and go to work with dread locks au naturel. I briefed Ministers and gave presentations avec mes cheveus au natty dread. If anyone asked what I did to my hair, I told them I washed it. Now I am retired, most days I dont even bother combing it. I just go au naturel. It takes nothing from me and surely takes nothing away from anyone else.

There are those who claim I am mad. Others who say I am an enigma, while others think I try to set a trend. I do not. I am just pleasing ME.

45. Tech // February 26, 2008 at 9:31 pm

Bimbro is right. These hairstyles are ghetto.
    —————————————————

Tech what is ghetto? where did you learn that word?

46. Most of us would probably agree that some hairstyles (and other features of clothing and appearance) are acceptable for Parliament and others are not. However, who gets to decide this? And who gets to decide which category corn rows fit into? On what basis would the decision be made. Is there just an arbitrary line that is drawn?

I found that in the photo of Senator Griffith in the newspapers the cornrows were extremely neat and looked very presentable. The only reason you could find them objectionable for Parliament is that they are not the norm. This does not sound like a ver good reason to me.

I have a bigger concern about the young men who were barred from the Polytechnic. They had paid their fees and had started going to classes, when suddenly they were told they could not continue. That certainly could not be fair. Existing students should have been allowed to finish their course of study, and the rule enforced for only new entrants to the Polytechnic.

47. Brutus. I agree with you 100%.

48. The Lord be with you.

And with you, bredda Gamgee!!!!

How far do you think we have come when we are here discussing a man’s hairstyle? Not very far obviously.

Sam de Gamgee, it’s not as much about a man’s hairstyle as it is about (a) looking like a human-being and (2) racial pride!!!! You need to be able to appreciate these basic concepts, before we can proceed!!!!

Donald Duck, Esq // February 26, 2008 at 5:41 pm

Don’t you all realise that the senator knew his hairstyle would create a controversy and used the occassion as an attention grabbing exercise

Thank you, Donald Duck. Just as I said, several posts ago. Probably, nothing to offer so he has to go for the silly hairstyle in order to hopefully, make any sort of impression, at all!!!!

David // February 26, 2008 at 9:26 pm

Some Barbadians continue to miss the boat on this issue. It is about standards and discipline isn’t it? Why not let school children wear to school their own clothes? Enforcing standards and discipline in our society help to ensure that there is respect and adherence to law and order, respect for tradition etc. We can’t just pull it all down based on faddish behaviour, can we?

You tell them, David!!!!

Tech // February 26, 2008 at 9:31 pm

Bimbro is right. These hairstyles are ghetto. I always thought this style of hair was for women.

Thanks, Tech. Anybody who dresses like that deserves throwing out of Bim!!!!

Technician, why are you so interested in who Arthur slept, with???? Is anybody interested in who you slept with, if anybody???? That’s a matter for the people concerned!!!!

Well, Pat, in case you did n’t realise, which obviously you did n’t, it is n’t very impressive to have rats in your hair and it certainly, does n’t do anything for the image of our race!!!! Try not thinking of only, yourself, for a while!!!!

What I can’t understand is, if dreadlocks and cornrows are such acceptable hairstyles, why then would you object to our Premier wearing them?? And if you would object, why then should you be able to go around looking like that, yourselves???

49. at the end of all this talk about hairstyle ,i want the principles who brought this ulgy racist issue to the forefront fired for what they are doing to the young men, they themself wanted to get up and be someone in this society end of story.

On the day you change who i am become you and i am lost!!!

50. at the end of all this talk about hairstyle ,i want the principles who brought this ulgy racist issue to the forefront fired for what they are doing to the young men, they themself wanted to get up and be someone in this society end of story.

On the day you change who i am become you and i am lost!!!