Former Chief Immigration Officer Kenrick Hutson Shot in Barbados

Former Chief Immigration Officer Kenrick Hutson was shot dead while sitting on his patio last night. Our information confirms that he was 74 years old. It is easy for Barbadians to continue to cower in the shadows as our once stable and peaceful communities continue to erupt into hot spots. It seems commonplace in a modern Barbados when we read the newspaper, listen to the radio or watch the TV that there is some violent or criminal behaviour which we are being forced to confront. The sad thing is that Barbadians are sitting back and refusing to take charge of the type of Barbados which we want for our children. We continue to allow our politicians to implement policies which are so far disconnected from what we (Barbadians) as a people truly want.

• Yes we want to implement economic policies that will support our desire for a high standard of living. But not at the sacrifice of social development
  • Yes we want to integrate with our regional brethren to ensure that we build a trade bloc which will guarantee maximum return in a world which has become infatuated with the phenomenon called globalization. But not at the expense of supporting domestic enterprise.
  • Yes we have to have an immigration policy which allows for a free flow of labour between our islands to leverage against the human resources which lay in our region. But not at the expense of an efficient immigration policy.
The point in blue is where we want to focus as it relates to the late Kenrick Hutson. Information reaching BU from a reliable source confirms that the late Mr. Hutson was known to be the kindest and softest man anyone would want to meet. Therefore it is puzzling why Mr. Hutson would have been killed in the way that he was, allegedly 6 shots fired at close range. The only disturbance which he is known to have had in his life recently is the action he took when he gave ‘notice’ to some Guyanese tenants living in his apartments. So we await the outcome of the Police investigation and hope that the perpetrator is not who we think it is!!!

62 thoughts on “Former Chief Immigration Officer Kenrick Hutson Shot in Barbados

1. Guyanese were not paying their rent and he had to evict them.

This man was one of the most upright,honest, christian person to hold the position of chief immigration officer.

Unlike some others who shall remain nameless – but allow a 5 times deportee to return to the island and stay.

Barbados,this is only the tip of the iceberg,sadly I predict this country will see increased bloodshed because of the large guyanese presence on the island.

Already they are responsible for the largest number of violent and other crimes committed by non nationals.

Yet we see bajans giving them shelter,breaking up their families and leaving their wives for them,throwing bajans out of their jobs and hiring them at cheap rates.

Where was the voice of the unions saying no more work permits or speaking out about the social dislocation caused as bajans workers got displaced?

Where are the churches who they run to pretending to be christians so they can be taken in – why aren’t church leaders speaking out against the moral degradation?

Where is the opposition voice speaking out loudly and promising to deport the 40,000 or more that are here illigally?

Don’t let that number frighten you – all you have to do is go to certain districts and see them crawling out.We have long gone past 20 0r 30,000.
    Now they are here quickly getting pregnant so their children can get bajan passports – this must not be allowed to happen.

Even in huge America – all the presidential candidates are swamped with anti -immigration calls by their voters.

Where are the journalists now – who try to be politically correct every time bajans speak about their fears?

Wake up bajans – and speak up – STOP HABOURING THEM – Open your eyes and see the danger and put your country first rather than a quick dollar.

2. Anonymous,

And which country are you posting from?

Only Bajans who live in Barbados (like me) should be allowed to comment on this topic.

3. america donot want , canada donot want, england donot wants guyana donot want,no one from any other country want them,why should bajan want them their only bring crime to the country

4. orisha,

Where is there any policy from America, Canada or England stating that they don’t want Guyanese?

You are an idiot.

5. Whichever way one may look at it, a gun crime murder such as this is an entirely new phenomenon in Barbados. Bajans do not do this. I for one really want readers to look at this.

Really want to talk about this. If this is what comes in from CSME we may really want to talk about this.

6. I live in America now & can confirm what “Anonymous” is saying.The illegal immigration problem here in the US is definitely out of control.

I always thought that with Barbados being an island nation this problem would never have existed but after doing a bit of research it most likely never will for many reasons.The Constitution of Barbados allows Commonwealth members to vote in Barbados elections,which Guyana happens to be apart of,& I’ve seen The opposition & the current ruling party mention that “every vote counts” legal or illegal.If there are 20,000-30,000 as some say you can understand why either party would be unwilling to enforce Barbados immigration laws,which is absolutely outrageous.

I believe it is for this reason,Barbados should become a Republic within in the Commonwealth making sure that only Barbados nationals are allowed to vote at all & Citizenship should only be conferred to newborns whose parents are Legally on the island.

7. Jay you are correct!

Anonymous (1) I agree with you totally, some people don’t believe those numbers but you only have to be around the five and 6′ o clock morning bus, and the night once and you will see where the are usually going, just out of town areas, and the rural parishes St. Andrew, St. John, and parts of St. James FLOODED.

8. Anonymous 2

Where is there any policy from America, Canada or England stating that they don’t want Guyanese?

To be best of my knowledge they have to get a visa to enter all three of these countries, i stand corrected on Canada, but i am pretty sure that they adoped this policy sometime late last year.

9. I would not blame the Guyanese prematurely. Could this have been a murder for hire? Did Mr. Hutson receive any threats before he was killed? Did Mr. Hutson know something relating perhaps to the immigration status of an international drug trafficker? Just guessing.

10. Mr. Hutson asking for his rent could have provoked them to murder him. Recently in New York City a Guyanese East Indian man was walking on Liberty Avenue in Queens with his East Indian Guyanese girlfriend and he murdered her. It was around 8PM and then he went and called the police and told them that an American man tried to rob them and then when they resisted, he the American, killed the lady. There was another incident involving a Guyanese East Indian girl. She had broken up with her East Indian Guyanese boyfriend and taken up with another, an American. (this happened in New York City). Well here she is living with the American man in a nice place, and one morning as she was leaving for work the Guyanese East Indian man just came down the pavement and stabbed her to death. Then the Guyanese woman who was hired to care for a white jewish man in America, cleaned out his bank account, put presnts under the Christmas tree and telling the man his friends sent it for him, she thentried poison him, and then when they opened the present they found expensive watches and ladies jewelery She bought it for herself and was going to take it away on Christmas day but they found her out soon, and that white jewish man was saved. Prasie the Lord.

11. It is hard to leave Guyana now. Even the rich can’t easily get tourist visa . You have to show bank account and property ownership, and even then you might not get a tourist visa. Look the US Embassy proccesses the visas for Guyana at their Embassy in POS for fear they might steal the visas in Guyana. The British will start proccessing thier visa applications for Guyana at their Consulate in NYC. If you go to an Embassy in Guyana and the problem is like for visa and such they refer it to POS or BGI. It’s true.

12. I will tell you this that DPM Mia Mottley is adored by the Guyanese, the darling to Guyanese Gov’t, and this was evident during her recent visit in September to Guyana.

13. This is Barbados, only a matter of hours away from 2008.
    CSME,….. Caribbean Nationals can travel and work in each other country. Our economy will be linked, and perhaps ‘ONE’ currency to come.
    You vote for an MP, who when elected and forms a party ignores those same people who voted for him. Only your vote counts, not your ideas .
    The Ruling party now thinks and implements laws which it believes is in your best interest. You are not intelligent enough to discuss with or be informed of ideas likely to effect you or your generation to come. The Party now cocoons itself with its new found friends, devoid of problems ahead.
    Some of us do keep abreast of Foreign News Media, so we learn a little of what is happening in Europe and elsewhere.
    The rich countries in Europe have implemented similar agreements to allow easy migration. Migrants from poorer EU countries now flock to the richer countries,taking crime, diseases and giving birth to a number of children along the way.
    The burden of housing, medical care,anti-social behaviour is added.
    Prisons are overcrowded, health and social services are at breaking point.
    Yet the politicians would tell you it is good for you.
    It doesn’t take a man from MARS to tell you, a little Island like Barbados, with its small economy, so dependent on tourisim, can only absorb so much.
    In EU countries, some nationals are joining right wing groups to draw attention.
    Politicians who hold the reigns of power should inform, debate issues of such importance so as to take the populace along with them and not try to implement ideas without the consent of the people. Allow the populace in the decision making process.
    We can only speculate and may not know who or why the gentleman was shot .
    Please do not point your finger until the person or persons are known.
    I did not set out to bash any foreign person living and working in Barbados legally.
    Barbados has got its fair share of delinquents, in Barbados and elsewhere. Those countries in EU ,USA and Canada are now deporting individuals involved in crime back to the country of origin after serving time. Those criminals deported are more knowledgable about crime and some will sooner or later involve themselves in further crime in their country or others because of easy passage.
    Once a life has been taken, no one can restore that life.
    We should all spare a thought for the New Year.
    Think of the word ‘EMPATHY’, decide what it means to you and try to live it every day.

‘LIFE IS FOR LIVING’.

14. Some people are like the disciple Thomas.

Unless they put their finger in the holes in his hands and in his sides – well they tell you – you didn’t see it so don’t speculate.

What the **@##&%* you must see the guyanese man with the gun in his hand and then until he shows you his passport then you believe?

Sh***#te man.

Mr David Thompson needs to put a hold on the implementation of the fast tracking of the CSME until he has a national discussion with the people.

People you better get de hell out de house on election day and vote out the BLP.

15. Here is a report which appears on the CBC website. A reward of $5,000.00 has been placed.

Police are appealing to members of the public who may have information about the death of former Chief Immigration Officer Kenrick Hutson to come forward.

They have offered a five thousand dollar reward to anyone who can provide information that leads to the arrest of the person or persons responsible for Hutson’s death.

The former immigration chief’s body was found in the verandah of his Butler’s Avenue, Spooner’s Hill St. Michael home just before seven Friday night with gunshot wounds.

His wife and daughter were at home, but inside the house at the time of the shooting, while residents report hearing several loud explosions before discovering Hutson’s body.

Public relations officer, Inspector Barry Hunte says anyone with information can contact the police at 430-7189 or 430-7190. They can also call the police hotline at 429-8787.

He’s described Hutson’s death as a loss to the Police Credit Union movement, of which the former immigration chief was a founding member and up until his death served on the board.

Before becoming an immigration officer and subsequently moving up the ranks to chief, Inspector Hunte says Hutson was a police officer.

source:http://cbcbarbados.bb

16. Anonymous // December 29, 2007 at 11:35 pm

Some people are like the disciple Thomas.

Unless they put their finger in the holes in his hands and in his sides – well they tell you – you didn’t see it so don’t speculate.

What the **@##&%* you must see the guyanese man with the gun in his hand and then until he shows you his passport then you believe?

=============================

The doubting thomas of old are the pragmatist of today, and there is virulant form of naked pragmatism going around in Barbados. It is the single most reason why we as a country can only respond after the fact to so many things.
    …..I have been a voice crying in the wilderness on the Guyana issue. Guyana is a failed state, it’s citizens a broken people. First generation immigrants to a country do not immediately assimilate into the host country culture, but hang on to the familarity of their norms. What is normal in Guyana is the violence, the mayhem and the desperation of way to many Guyanese, and it is this way of life that Guyanese will most likely take whereever they go. But to say these things is to be xenophobic, so sayeth the PM.

17. Well Adrian – they have brought with them all their low life behaviour.

The guyanese we are getting today are not the educated,decent law abiding ones of the 50’s 60’s and even 70’s,what we are seeing are the scumbags – the ones who no other country would take,the ones who are so deperate they would do anything.

So owen arthur is like their saviour when he said let all of them come – and you bajans and immigration officers better shut up about it.

Adrian boys they are like fleas bout here,some working,some pretending to know their wuk,many prostituting themselves – thievin,lying and committing crimes.

Barbados is not the country when you left it.

whenever bajans try to open their mouth and speak against it – those with a vested interest shut them up – which is why I believe there is going to be a serious backlash against guyanese soon – because no one was willing to let the average bajans speak unhindered and voice his concerns.

I hope ‘too late,too late’ shall not be the cry.

I just have a very funny feeling about all this as I hear more and more people speak – and I don’t know what we as a people can do right now – except first vote the government out.

I am watching the opposition on this matter very carefully.

18. Are we going to settle for this???? Will any Barbadian ever feel safe going about his/her normal business in Bim, again?!!!!

Are you content with this, for OUR country?!!!!

19. I say, that people in other countries may consider it an ‘acceptable’, part of life in the modern day but do we have to accept this! I say, ‘No, No, No’!!!!

20. There is definitely a lid on discussion about the Guyanese problem. The corroborators are mainly the government and the Press. We have nothing against Guyanese at face but on the flip side the problem which we are facing with low skilled Indo-Guyanese entering Barbados is starting to project a problem. The fact that the average Barbadian now has the perception that something is wrong should merit some urgent response by the Realms of the Estates.

Educated Barbadians recognize that the world is changing and Barbados must therefore respond to the change. The key is the type of Barbados we want to evolve to. Of bigger concern must be the lack of a strident voice coming from the DLP Opposition on this issue. Surprisingly none of the opinion polls identify immigration as a major issue. We find this a surprising state of affairs. Is it that some of us are so far disconnected from the pulse of ordinary Barbadians?

21. Barbadians shouldn’t let anyone shut them up. I have been called a racist, a Barbadian Enoch Powell etc, as a result of my views on the Guyana problem. People have to know themselves to the point that when others with their vested interest seek to deny them their right to think and reason independently and with reverence to what is the truth and what is right that they can persist in their views. I am not tired of saying that you cannot be both visionary and be a pragmatist, and our country is lead by a pragmatist who by his nature will only respond after the facts have been laid. Owen Arthur is such a person and he does not miss an opportunity to put his naked pragmatism to work. At the recent heads of government meeting where they gathered to deal with the rising cost of living in the region, Arthur said to the others that they cannot yet make definitive statements on the way forward in dealing with this issue, that more research i.e. facts have to be gathered first. In other words the people by their suffering must be at all times the proof that a pragmatic Arthurs needs in order to act, which most often is to respond after the facts.

….I ask people why are you allowing Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley to use SCARCE TACTICS to scare you into giving them a 4th term? They are no more qualified than any other to lead Barbados,….when they first came to office in 93/94 They didn’t know that they did not have to go to the US Embassey to introduce themselves. They learned on the Job.

22. Sister Baby // December 29, 2007 at 11:09 pm

It is hard to leave Guyana now. Even the rich can’t easily get tourist visa . You have to show bank account and property ownership, and even then you might not get a tourist visa. Look the US Embassy proccesses the visas for Guyana at their Embassy in POS for fear they might steal the visas in Guyana. The British will start proccessing thier visa applications for Guyana at their Consulate in NYC. If you go to an Embassy in Guyana and the problem is like for visa and such they refer it to POS or BGI. It’s true
    ==========================

http://WWW.GUYANAUSA.ORG

They have been going north for may years, now it is more difficult to gain entry into the North America, they have turn their eyes towards the region, and in our case invited by a leader we did not elect. Sometimes we need to put all the other, several reasons we would normally use to make our decision for whom to vote, and make our vote, one base on a singal issue. IMMIGRATION CAN BE THAT SINGULAR ISSUE.

23. Thanks for this information. We were about to rent a house to a Guyanese couple from Jan. 1st 2008.

We have changed our minds, we will rent the house to a Bajan now.

This is scarry stuff.

24. I know many Guyanese who are more honest than Bajans, so I am not going to speak in the same way. Honest and admirable individuals, I personally would not tolerate anything else around me.

Where did the gun come from? How many other cases of access to firearms can the police identify and prevent?

What was the issue that caused this to happen?

If this is the first time such a horrible execution has ever happened, what does such a thing teach us in Barbados, and how will administrators and police have to react to preserve what we hold dear to us, namely a safe community where people do not fear for their lives?

We will not have this in Barbados, and let us resolve, never again.

Condolences to the family of Mr. Hutson. I did not know him personally, but this is a very sad happening and a great loss.

25. Let me share this experience with this blog….

Around the time of CWC ,I was standing in front of The Reggae Lounge with some friends …just chilling.There were a couple ICs and some regional policemen standing on the opposite side of the road.
    A group of men were walking up the Gap talking loudly as if they were tipsy.When they got by us, which placed them in the middle of the officers and us,one guy took one look at the regional policeman and took off like Ben Johnson up the gap.The regional policeman gave chase but soon returned emptyhanded.
    Being the true bajan I am, I eased closer to eavesdrop on the conversation between the officers…..seems that the guy who ran was a Guyanese who is wanted back home on a murder charge.The officer who pursued him was a Guyanese officer who recognised him.
    Just goes to show that all kinds are here and they are getting here easy to.
    I have a small business and I was approached some time ago by a “friend” who showed me how much money I can make by getting work permits for Guyanese under the pretext of working for me.They were at the time paying $3000.00 Bds for one.
    Many people here are doing it,so we only have ourselves to blame for some of these problems.

26. Sister Baby – I admire your submissions on this and other topics. Are you sure you are Guyanese?

But I have been trying to carry out my own little survey I know the black and east indians HATE each other. Maybe it is because I am black but the indians seem to be a little worse that the blacks (i could be wrong) can you or any others share some light/experiances or comments thanks…

Oh and don’t forget that after 3yrs legal in Bim that they can mark their X like the rest of us.

27. Anonymous post at 10:15 a.m.

Thank you for enlightening us on that experience with the guyanese criminal .

I have been hearing more of that kinda stories about guyanese criminals here in Bim – over and over again.

You think that big,fat momma that was deprted 5 times and jumped into the carenage to prevent deprtation – is an innocent law abiding citizen?

Yet the chief immigration officer breached the law and allowed her back in.

Anonymous posting at 9:09

I am so glad you finally woke up to what’s happening before it is too late.

If bajans would stop renting them houses,marrying them so they could get citizenship,getting work permits for them – all for a couple dollars – then they will all try their filth somewhere else.

Prinicipals and school teachers have to ensure that these children are not accomadated at schools.

If a child parents are here illegally or they turn up without their parents at school or the polyclinic – then the immigration department should be called in.

Barbadians need to start developing a backbone – and stoop being so greedy and so wimpy.

28. This note is to Frankology. On the back page of the Nation today we note that mention is made that Mr. Hutson and his wife were well respected in the Spooners Hill District where they lived. The sentence which caught our notice is the comment that Mr. Hutson was appointed a Trustee in the district to collect rents.

This agrees with our information which we carried yesterday in our blog. It appears to all except Frankology to be the unexplained variable.

29. Where is the evidence that he was shot by a Guyanese person?

Where is the evidence that the person who ran away was a Guyanese?

Where is the evidence that the person who ran away is the same person who shot him?

If any of you were walking along Spooners Hill at 7:00 o’clock one night and heard six gunshots from the verandah of a house, would you stick around or would you run for your life? IDIOTS!

Some of you people need to get intelligence and common sense.

30. Evidence:

Dont be an idiot!!

No one in their right minds are directly blaming a Guyanese.On the other hand ,the only argument this respectable man had lately is with Guyanese….so tell me who would your first suspects be?

If your wife was found dead today …who do you think the police will question first?

Lastly….people hardly ever run away anymore at fights,gunshots etc……lime on a block sometimes man….get a dose of reality here in this paradise.

31. 100% Bajan // December 29, 2007 at 6:52 pm

Anonymous,

And which country are you posting from?

Only Bajans who live in Barbados (like me) should be allowed to comment on this topic.
    whAT PART of you is 100 percent lol hahaha idiot they aint nothing or nobody in barbados that is 100 percent bajan

32. This agrees with our information which we carried yesterday in our blog. It appears to all except Frankology to be the unexplained variable.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    David why are you addressing your statement to me, check my postings and you will see that I was cautioning commenters of jumping to conclusions. Frankology do not speculate or jump to conclusions. No where in my statements am I casting aspiration of how my friend Kenrick died.

David, within Submissions you made this posting…

David // December 29, 2007 at 7:42 pm
    ……………………………………………………………….
    frankology your response is part of a problem/dilemma which Barbadians will have going forward. So lets wait until all the facts are in before we realize that we have a problem.

Read my postings before you start accusing.

Frankology the comment in Submissions to which you refer was made tongue in cheek.

33. This man was not simply murdered. He received not one, but 8, gunshots. Again please accept my condolences, the Hutson family. Surely you also wish to know who did this terrible thing.

We want to know was this ex-immigration head involved in the human trafficking that exists of the Guyanese in Barbados? And all everyone knows that it is true and nuff other people do it too. Human trafficking.

Was he involved with the Chinese?

Was he liasing with companies in construction? Who?

Was he speaking to people in power or in bearocratic positions or in politics? Who?

We want to know.

This was not a domestic murder. It was a big eight shots of premeditation. Whoever did this wanted to ensure that he was very very very (x8) no longer around, and so it is my opinion that he was not just simply ‘murdered’ in a rent dispute, as this is not what the circumstances are telling me.

34. Adrian Hinds, Since when is Guyana a failed state! Please kindly define how you have arrived at Guyana is a failed state? GUYANA IS NOT A FAILED STATE! Guyana is a democratic state that is about to become an oil producing nation. Trinidad has race problems and kidnapping every day. In Jamica they beat up and kill the homosexual people. In Haiti they kill supporters of President Aristide, but no one calls those nations failed states. I tell you! You all need to step over to Guyana and see the progress being made in our country. And by the way there are a lot of rich rich Guyanese people that live in million dollar villas at home in Guyana and overseas in the States. Please give my condolances to Mr. Hutson’s family. And Happy New Year. Undertaker, Guyana is a big country so the people vary from region to region. Guyana is 750 miles long from Waini Point to Ashaliton in the south and at its widest 300 miles, and a coastline of 275 miles from Waini Point to Springlands on the Suriame border. Remember now a population of 759,000 people of every colour and description in an area the size of the UK. So you see the people in Essequibo are very different from those in Demerara and Berbice. Georgetown, Guyana sprawling capital city is full of diversity, fabulous homes at Happy Acres and Le Resouvior, and then Albouystown old run down houses. Anyway, Mr. Adrian Hinds, please none of this failed state thing. Look Marriott is building a hotel in Guyana, Guyana has more KFC then BGI, plus Pizza Hut, Churches, Popeye, Royal Castle. And please tell LIAT that Guyana Airways is coming back with a new attitude. We are going to compete with them, probably clip their wings in the competion with our world class in flight service. For nobody knows the Caribbean like Guyana Airways

35. Undertaker, No Black and East Indian don’t hate each otehr. We get along quite fine. That is the myth that the outside world wants to beleive about Guyana. We do just fine, it is only when we have elections that some hooligans act up and then the foreign media come and paint some bad picture. about our country. Look here I am a mamber of the AME Church and one of finest ministers is an East Indian gentleman form East Guyana. One of the bigest Pentecostal Holiness Church in Georgetown is pastored by an East Indian, with a mostly black membership. We get along, in my home area there are blacks, indians, chinese, portuguese and mixtures and nothing happens. We just get along fine.

36. Those Guyanese need to stay home. My goodness we have a huge country that has 8 people per square mile, so why are they crowding out Barbados. They need to stay home and farm. They either want a plane ride to BGI or they want to meet the white foreign tourtist that flock to Barbados. I say to them stay home. Look we are prond of our people Black Enterprise Magazine just named a Guyanese scholar top woman of the year in America. Look at Asha Blake a fabulous black Guyanese woman who hosted a morning TV show in America. Look at CCH Pounder an actress in America from Guyana, and actor Sean Michael Thomas all from Guyana. Eddy Grant whom you all know. First Black PM of Bermuda was from Guyana, what about Baroness Amos in England from Guyana, Lord Wahid Ali the richest man in England from Guyana. One of the first black mayors of the Great City of Washington DC had Guyanese roots. The president of Atlanta University has a Guyanese connection. And I can go on and on and on.

37. I don’t know why readers are bothering to pay attention to this sister baby character.

I don’t know what she is drinking or what she is smoking but it sure got her head all tied up.

She contradicts herself at every turn – every post.

The biggest laugh was when she said that indians and blacks get along well in Guyana and there is no problem there with race relations – aaa ha ha hee hee hoo hoo wuh loss,wuh loss.

She seems to be an attention junkie – posting a whole roll just to get attention.

My advice is just ignore the woman and discuss other posting that makes sense.

38. Look the boy that weeds my yard is a boy named coolie boy. Coolie Boy woudl do anything chore that I want him to do. I was out of country and centipede bit my mum and that boy rushed my mother to hospital in a hire car, and stayed withmy mother. He sees some thing needs fixing he would say Auntie Baby I see yuh need fuh paint yuh pailing fence. I say coolie boy meh an gat money fuh paint fence, and he say Auntie dun worry meh a get some paint fuh paint yuh fence. and he does it. so that is my good relations with Indians. I need some roti or dhal puri I ask him to ask his Mum to make some for me, and he say Auntie Baby I gun some fuh yuh tomorrow on my way to weeding int he burial ground. So you see no problem

39. I am just trying to tell you all about my life in Guyana. My father was knocked down on Lamaha Street in Georgetown by car driven by a Chinese Guyanese, and my father ended up in the Lamaha Street trench. Coolie Boy was walking down Lamaha Street andhe recognised my father in the trench. He got my father to Georgetown Hospital and then took a hire car to me to tell me the mishap. Coolie Boy came running up my step, Auntie Baby a Chinee man driving an old car knock your father down pun Lamaha Street. N0w how I can against this lad, who onlyw ants to help. The boy told he doesn’t see race, just nice people. So you see it just depends on the people are

40. Sister, we read Jan Carew’s ‘Black Midas’ ever since. We love you, we love your way of life, and we love to get into the culture- it is love- you and we.

But we see a murder like we never have seen previously in Barbados. It is not that we do not love Guyana, but we cannot accept violence such as this. We have not even ascertained from where it has been imported?

Read ‘Black Midas’ and remember Brother C’s words.

41. I understand that Kenrick received a phone call from someone telling him that they are bringing a Christmas gift for him. The person asked him to wait in the Varandah as he did not want to disturb the others in the house.

The gift turned out to be gunshots which killed him.

42. The police need to ask the wife whether the caller or callers had a bajan accent or a foreign accent.

Also couldn’t the police get Bartel to give the record of all incoming calls to Kenrick Hutson ‘s house – based on times logged etc and a careful sifting of the numbers – then the police could know who called the house.

I am sure by now these guyanese are already on a plane and back in Guyana.

The blood of Kenrick Hutson is on Owen Arthur’s hands.

43. This has the look of an organized crime “hit”.

Note these points:
    The assassin had access to a firearm and to ammunition. A person who could not pay rent might have resorted to a less expensive weapon.
    It was reported that 6 – 8 bullets hit the victim. This implies that the perpetrator was skilled in the use of a firearm. Even though it may have been close range, a moving target is always difficult to hit.
    In addition, multiple shots may indicate a lack of emotion, but a focus on a sinister motive.
    The “telephone call” reported above is even more disturbing. If a stranger called me and asked me to sit outside so that he could bring me a present, I would be alarmed. I would speculate that, if such a call were made, the call would have been made by someone known to the victim.

44. I understand that Kenrick received a phone call from someone telling him that they are bringing a Christmas gift for him. The person asked him to wait in the Varandah as he did not want to disturb the others in the house.

The gift turned out to be gunshots which killed him.
    ………………………………………………………………..
    Anonymous, you seems to be a logical link. In my earlier blogs, I keep asking commenters to refrain from speculations and assumptions. The family is trying to come to grips with this unfortunate killing and you in your ‘political hat’ is quoting of a caller to the late Mr. Hutson’s home. Did you speak to his wife or daughter or this is your way of creating confusion in the investigation. If you are true to yourself and the public, you will do the right thing and speak to the police.

The statement in your last paragraph pertaining to Mr. Arthur is the cheapest form of political manipulation and propaganda; that must be halted immediately. We should all be praying for the family of the decease.

45. Got an email from a young family member in UK who has directed another 19 persons to read this story as well as the one about Flyover Contractor Jonathan Danos on the BFP website. The case in the UK is being followed closely by some Bajans who are wondering what we are doing linking up with Danos.
    It’s time we get to the bottom of this story from the Barbados end as it seems that we are becoming a laughing stock.
    Some are also following the one on Hutson’s death as they attended school here in Bim with one of his children.

46. We understand that the funeral of the late Chief immigration Officer will take place next Saturday on the 12 January 2007. Will somebody post the details?

47. Look Marriott is building a hotel in Guyana, Guyana has more KFC then BGI, plus Pizza Hut, Churches, Popeye, Royal Castle. And please tell LIAT that Guyana Airways is coming back with a new attitude.

Since Guyana has soooooo much going for it, why its nationals are infecting Barbados, by the droves ?? They don’t need to be killing people that are tying to ‘help’ them. Barbados does not need any further negativity to prevent its tourism from continuing to flourish.

48. I hope no one ever dies after I fail to pay them for something. I would not want to be accused of killing him/her.

Every day around the world people are murdered simply because they are suspected of doing something.

Remember the case of Amadou Diallo? He was an African man who was murdered by White police officers in New York. Amadou was walking on a New York street after dark. The White officers thought, “Hmm, there is a Black man walking on the street after dark. He must be up to something.” When Amadou Diallo, out of fear, reached into his pocket to get the key to his apartment to try to escape from them, they shot at him 41 times, killing him.

Amadou died, because he was suspected of something without evidence. He was totally innocent.

Maybe a Guyanese committed this crime, maybe not. It is dangerous to blame them without evidence.

BU, it is amazing how you stretched things to turn an unsolved murder into a story about “the Guyanese Problem.”

49. Freedom of speech in Barbados is being suppressed over the final election runup, on Jan 15.

Incumbent government has cancelled debates on CBC local TV.

50. Most of the comments on Guyanese sound strangely like what racist white people used to say about black people as a whole. I want to live up to my name and put the cat among the pigeons.
    Consider the following:
    So basically there was no murder or gun crime or prostitution, or divorce until the guyanese came????
    Some of these ‘guyanese’ have barbadian grandfathers so they are barbadian by descent so who do we deport.

“First generation immigrants to a country do not immediately assimilate into the host country culture, but hang on to the familarity of their norms. What is normal in Guyana is the violence, the mayhem and the desperation of the way of life to many Guyanese, and it is this way of life that Guyanese will most likely take whereever they go.”
    Have any of you who are so quick to demonise guyanese ever visited guyana.
    This is an important statement. I too have been a voice in the wilderness on this.
    At one time they had to beg Barbadians to stop running away to guyana (where guyanese harboured illegal Barbadians) who were able to work for their families and send back money to Barbados. The problem is that now we cannot return the favour since we do not have the space to take them. I have noticed that many guyanese (who came to find honest work) work in agriculture and generally work at jobs that we Barbadians dismiss as slave labour or sh*te work. Some jobs are too good for us just like they are too good for some Americans. America would collapse if all its immigrant workers suddenly went back home, since most of the young people in their society are not interested in honest hard work. We in Barbados are guilty of raising our children to believe that ALL of them are to be doctors, lawyers or highly paid employees so we are comfortable exploiting guyanese because we know that they are desperate and poor and if you add female to this then prostitution comes in to play. Those of you who are complaining about guyanese women “breaking up families”, consider this, it is the MEN that are breaking up their families. A decent man will not be led astray by his own lust, a poor and desperate woman may tend to have looser morals and a lustful man will take advantage of this knowing full well that the woman will always take the blame. How many illegal barbadians are there in American, Canada, England? What do you think the local people have to say about them?

51. Anonymous is obviously dead set against guyana, no one can tell you anything positive about guyana not even sisterbaby who has made some of the more honest quotes about guyana, any one who has been to guyana itself knows that there is no race war there. If black and indoguyanese hate each other so much and we are over-run with them here then why has the war not spread to our shores? I am a black woman and each time I was in Guyana I got marriage proposals from indo-guyanese men who tried to convince me to stay in guyana. These were single men with land and their own businesses and though they were not serious proposals it should tell you the state of relations in the country. I also noticed a great percentage of the population are mixed race, how do you explain that anonymous, rape?

52. This anonymous wants to know why the papers have not written anything about this important and fierce occurrence?

Murders in Barbados like this are always solved quickly by the force. Can it be that this is being suppressed (as well as debates on the TV) because it is not presently desired for election time??

53. Pingback: » Barbados Elections, BLP, DLP: Which Party Embodies “HOPE”? Keltruth Corp.: News Blog of Keltruth Corp. - Miami, Florida, USA.

54. Pingback: » Barbados Cop Waits 3 Years to be Cleared in Fatal Shooting Keltruth Corp.: News Blog of Keltruth Corp. - Miami, Florida, USA.

55. Pingback: Former Barbados Immigration Chief Kenrick Hutson Gunned Down At His Home « Barbados Free Press

56. I am appalled at the hate you are projecting my fellow westindians.If I close my eyes you sound like a white racist that is scared of the black person moving into the neighbourhood.Do you know that many guyanese can trace their ancestry back to Barbados?That is because when things were not so rosy in Barbados,Guyanese took in their fellow WestIndians .I dont condone crime and criminals but what I am reading here is sheer ignorance.Shame on you!!
    A Guyanese living in Canada
    who has invested in Barbados.

57. Nick
    Following your argument, does that mean we should open the flood gates and allow all or any Guyanese into Barbados? And put them where? and give them whose jobs? or should we bajans just work and feed them.Plus, for your information,them bajans that when to B.G were black and they left black children down there. The Guyanese who are coming here are Indo-Guyanese, who has a race problemand they don’t have any bajan blood in them.Also for your information, many Guyanese were living in Barbados for years, it is only within the last 10 yrs or so that there is this influx of immigrants,mainly Guyanese, that are coming here and the large numbers is causing a serious problem for this 166 sq ml island. It is not that we hate you, like you hate us, our colour, it is we just can’t handle this invasion and we will protect this country for our offspring.Simple as that. I’ve tried to be as realistic as possible, I hope you understand.

58. Pingback: » Reward for information re Murder of CIO Kenrick Hutson Keltruth Corp.: News Blog of Keltruth Corp. - Miami, Florida, USA.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.