Fat Women

BIG BEAUTIES. The buxom Tonya Babb is the new Big & Beautiful queen in Barbados. Babb, who also took prizes for Best Talent and Congeniality, was crowned Sunday night at the Sherbourne Conference Centre before a packed audience. Babb, Miss A&T Marine, beat the Berry’s-sponsored Stephanie Skinner and Miss Sharon’s International Fish Latoya Marshall into second and third respectively. Skinner was awarded additional prizes for Best Business Wear and Most Improved, while second runner-up Marshall walked away with Miss Photogenic. In this Sandy Pitt picture, the happy queen (centre) shares the moment with first runner-up Stephanie Skinner (right) and third placed Latoya Marshall.

We shall digress from the politics to discuss how we feel about the ‘Big Beauties Show’ which was recently held at the Sherbourne Conference Centre. Based on feedback a good time was had by all. We wonder how many people in the audience attended the show out of desire to positively support the fat participants or whether it was the opportunity to have a good laugh. Let us say up front that we harbour no ill feelings towards any of the fat participants, all of our anger is targeted at the organizers of the show. We feel to a man in the BU household that a show which is held to parade obese woman is an unethical and insensitive act. We believe that it was staged to exploit for financial rewards ONLY. Remember that Barbados when last we checked has been given the honour to occupy twelfth position on the fattest country list in the whole wide world.

What an honour!

The fat women who participated in the show should be respected as individuals but at the same time must be told to go and loose some weight pronto! By ‘bigging-up’ these woman what are we saying to the wider society? We know the response, yeah, yeah, fat people are people too. Sorry people that does not wash as all! We now live in a country where to eat junk food, sit in-front the big screen television and gossip on the phone is part and parcel of our lifestyle. We offer no apology for saying that those fat people who participated in the ‘Big and Buxom Show’ need to examine what they are doing by first rearranging some of their life’s priorities. We could list all the ways a fat person is inhibited from enjoying many simple things which life has to offer them but why bother. It’s their right to parade their fat and physically unappealing bodies on stage! BU loves you but we will love you some more if you stop ‘wolfing’ down all those carbohydrates and start to manage your diet.

Here is something to think about:

When any man sees this woman and he sees a fat woman how do you think he will respond? Something to think about. No one can have the perfect body but we can try. Stop glamorizing obesity. It is costing the Barbados government mega-bucks in healthcare as well as chasing our men from the bedrooms.

129 responses to “Big Women + Fat Women = Unhealthy Women”

1. Read this on the Nation website just now.

Bajans getting fat in New York
    Published on: 10/28/07.

by TONY BEST

FAT FOR SO.

And the longer they live in the Big Apple, the fatter they become.

That’s the picture which the New York City Department of Health has painted of Bajan immigrants.

In a report on the health of foreign-born residents in the five boroughs of Brooklyn, Manhattan, the Bronx, Queens and Staten Island, the department complained that Bajans were among the immigrants who “are
    more likely to be obese”.

As a matter of fact, almost a third – an estimated 30 per cent – of the Bajans were found to be overweight, a situation which exposes them to an increased risk for several serious health problems, including heart disease, high blood pressure, diabetes and cancer, according to the Department of Health.

Unhealthy habits

Interestingly, they may not simply be bringing their pattern of obesity from Barbados.

Data cited by the department suggested “obesity among foreign-born New Yorkers increases with the duration of residence in the United States.” In other words, their length of stay in America encourages them to adopt unhealthy eating and lifestyle habits.

What’s alarming about the state of health of the Bajans and others, assert health experts, is that it’s a headache they can do something about through diet, exercise and lifestyle.

Control

“This is something over which people have control,” said a health official.

“Obesity is contributing to the alarmingly high rates of diabetes we have seen in the city in recent years.

“Deaths due to diabetes is high in the city and immigrants are among the main victims.”

But Bajans aren’t alone. Thirty three per cent of the foreign-born from Panama and Honduras were obese; 24 per cent of the Jamaicans; and 23 per cent of the Russians.

Just as important is the fact that more women tend to be overweight than men.

“Data suggest that foreign-born adults from Panama, Honduras, Barbados, Jamaica and Russia have higher levels of obesity than the overall population of foreign-born and United States-born adults,” stated the department’s report.

Surveys

These figures were based on findings in two New York City community health surveys conducted in 2002 and the following year.

The state of Caribbean immigrant health in the five boroughs was examined a week ago at a one-day conference held at the Columbia University Presbyterian Medical Centre in Manhattan by the Caribbean-American Medical and Scientific Association.

Obesity is defined by a person’s body mass index (BMI), which is based on a man or woman’s weight and height, with adults having a body mass index of 30 or more being considered as obese.

“Obesity increases a person’s risk for several conditions, including heart disease, high blood pressure, stroke, Type 2 diabetes and cancer,” stated the report.

Obese

“In New York City in 2003, 20 per cent of adults were obese, an increase from 18 per cent in 2002. Foreign-born adults are less likely than United States-born adults to be obese.

“This difference is largely driven by the lower prevalence of obesity among foreign-born men, who are 30 per cent less likely to be obese than foreign-born women.

“The rate of obesity among the latter is the same as that among United States-born adults,” added the report.

There is more about the Bajans and other West Indians, who account for more than 600 000 of the millions of foreign-born residents in the city.

Among West Indian immigrants, infant mortality rates are highest for Antiguan infants.

Eighteen out of every 1 000 Antiguan infants in New York don’t live past their first birthday, compared with nine each for children born to foreign-born women from Haiti, Britain, Guyana and Ghana.

Actually, the infant mortality rate among babies born to mothers from Antigua and Barbuda was three times higher than that of the foreign-born population as a whole and two times higher than the United States-born population as a whole.

In the category of low-birth weight babies, the rates for Guyanese, Bajans, Antiguan and Trinidadian babies were higher than the figure for American-born mothers, which was ten per 100 live births per year.

While 14 of every 100 live Guyanese births suffer from low birth weight, meaning fewer than 2 500 grams at birth, the comparable figure among Bajans is 13 per 100 live births, compared with 12 for Antiguans, Bangladeshis and Trinidadians.

2. Yes I read that article and I wondered why it was a surprise to anyone and why only Bajans in NY were being singled out.

Obesity in NORTH AMERICA due to improper diet and a lack of exercise is wide spread throughtout every spectrum of the population and various nationalities living there. It is the number one cause for death by heart, stroke, disbetes, cancer, high blood pressure and a host of other diseases. Another thing that is often overlooked and caused by obesity is the number of joint replacements being required by an inordinate amount of North Americans.

The tragedy about joint replacements is, that the number of successful patients undergoing this surgery is also on the decline because a hip, knee and other such joint replacements is only successful where the patient keep their weight down and exercise. Most medical facilities are now refusing to replace a joint until the obese element is first addressed.

Billions is spent on trying to educate people about the danger of obesity and its effect on health and pre-mature death but it falls on deaf ears.

The thing that alarms most people in North America, especially the medical profession about the problem is, that healthy foods are readily available at affordable prices to 90% of the population. Yet school kids and adults because of busy lifestyles, laziness and poor eating habits never or rarely ever sit down to a healthy and balanced diet.

They prefer fast foods like MacDonalds, Harveys, Swiss Chalet, Burger King, Pizzas, and are always snacking on junk foods. In addition, and in spite of schools having gyms and health clubs springing up all over the place no one wants to exercise. Many say “Why do without in the land of plenty”.

The fact that some ethnic groups are more prone to specific diseases is nothing new.

The biggest problem about what is going on today in most parts of the world and right here in Barbados has everything to do with what we like to call “Progress”.

3. I read this article too but it does not surprise me nor does it make a whole lot of sense to single out Bajans in NY.

A substantial number if not the majority of the North American population not just Bajans living in New York are obese. Many men, women and children are grotesque and look like beached Buluga whales. And are dying like flys from heart, stroke, cancers, diabetes etc. The more money that is spent on health education the worse the problem becomes.

However, I am optimistic that some progress is being made and the younger hipped generation is taking health, exercise seriously. But we still have a long way to go! The Government is also acting by making food suppliers list the ingredients in their products like fat content and other harmful ingredients but it is a slow process!

But contrary to the caption of Anonymous’ post it is not only “women” impacted but men and children too. The bellys on some men make it impossible for them to wear pants at waist level.

But what is even more distressing is that overweight people are now wearing out their hip, knee and other joints with billions being spent to have them replaced many getting very poor results and why? Because joint replacement is a waste of time unless the patient loses weight and keep it off by exercising. Many medical facilities will not do joint replacement unless the patient first loses weight because the results are predictable.

The food consumed in North America is junk food even though healthy balanced diets is available at affordable prices to 90% of the population.

Busy lifestyles with both parents working leads to MacDonalds, Harveys, Swiss Chalet, Pizza and other foods that are crap. Then after that most kids and adults sit at the TV, Computer etc and continue snacking. Many suggest “Why should I do without in the land of plenty”.

Most people can go to a supermarket in North America and buy and provide their family and themselves with a healthy balanced diet. Chickens are rarely more than $5, chicken breasts are rarely more than $4, spare ribs (back) $8 for two huge strips, etc. potatoes, rice vegetables are all cheap. However the majority want fast food, Craft and other packaged pre-cooked foods that they just stick in the oven.

4. People attend these shows to laugh their heads off.

The pictures in the news don’t show half the comic relief depicted on the run way.

And somehow, the smallest big one always win.

5. I was a judge in the first and emcee at the 2nd show organised by Tonya Cumberbatch. Being large and in charge myself and married to a full-figured lady – I have no problem in either appreciating or being seen with her, rather, it is stinking attitudes making otherwise erudite beings spout offal like “chasing our men from the bedrooms” or “People attend these shows to laugh their heads off.

The pictures in the news don’t show half the comic relief depicted on the run way.

And somehow, the smallest big one always win

I know of many skinny Bajan men who ADORE Large Ladies, conversely – “Floats/Tiny” from Bacchanal Time has more than a few children and John Harrison has a beautiful slim wife who WORSHIPS him and has given him a son or two, I think!

I am not disputing the health angle of what a lifestyle can do, but to think big ppl must hide or not have sex or be thought of as lovable in our own right is a totally asinine assumption!

6. Ian Bourne~thanks for making a contribution. BU stands by its position that we respect all people but we don’t like the idea of promoters glamorizing the virtues of being obese. We too have people who are obese in our family and social circle.

Lets keep our eyes on the big picture. Barbados have high asthmatics, diabetics, chronic diseases galore and the list goes on…we need to manage our lifestyle and it does not mean we hate fat people! We deplore the people who exploit the insecurity of fat people.

7. Who says fat ppl are insecure? I think skinny folk are more bothered than the other way around, Tonya the organiser herself is a large person and she did it not to capitalise on any weakness – rather, it was done to empower folks who happen to have more flesh than average

8. Here is the BBC

Being moderately overweight could actually be good for you, say researchers.

People who are a little overweight are likely to live longer than people who are underweight or obese, a study shows.

But experts pointed out that the study only looked at how long people lived and not at obesity-related diseases.

The American Centres for Disease Control research appears in the Journal of the American Medical Association.

Overweight

The US team looked at data from three US surveys about health and nutrition carried out in the 70s, 80s and 90s.

Weight was assessed using a measurement called Body Mass Index – calculated by divide a person’s weight in kilograms by the square of their height in metres.

A BMI of 18.5 to 25 is considered normal. One below 18.5 is considered underweight and 30 or above is considered obese.

The researchers found that the people who had BMIs higher than 25 but lower than 30, which meant they were moderately overweight but not obese, did not have a reduced life expectancy.

The people who lived the longest of all were those with BMIs of 25, which lies between the ideal and overweight margins.

In comparison, there were 112,000 extra deaths among the obese category and nearly 34,000 extra deaths among the underweight category.

Caution

When the researchers compared the trends over the three decades studied, they found the death risk linked with obesity had decreased over time.

They said this might be down to people being healthier and getting medical treatment for obesity-related conditions such as heart disease.

US researchers recently estimated that, based on the current obesity levels, life spans could fall by between four months and nine months.

If the rise in obesity – 50% a decade in both the 1980s and 1990s in the US – was not stopped, the team said it could fall by two to five years within decades.

Dr William Cochran, a nutritionist for Pennsylvania’s Geisinger Health System in the US, said the new research could cause confusion about whether being overweight is unhealthy.

“I think like most things, it’s a mixed bag and the truth is not always black and white.

“But there is positively, absolutely, undeniably no doubt that being obese is not good for you.”

In the UK it is estimated that one in five men and a quarter of women are obese.

Dr David Haslam, chair of the National Obesity Forum, said: “These findings should certainly set us thinking.

“Even though we are getting fatter, in a society that is putting more emphasis on a healthier lifestyle, the impact may be lessened.

“In this study the risk of death from heart disease does not appear to be as high as a generation ago, however, the risk of developing diabetes has not decreased.

“This shows that while medical management of diseases associated with obesity have improved the need for concerted public health campaigns and best practice in treatment of obesity must be paramount.”

9. So Ian enlighten the BU family because it seems you are closer to this situation than most. Why did the organizer have to format a show in the same way as the shows we come to see so often in order to empower big people? Why have you not addressed the issue of the high degree of obesity in our country and the issues which are associated with it and how glamorizing it could negatively affect our situation?

10. More of ye olde Beeb on overweight matters –

Curvy women are more likely to live longer than their slimmer counterparts, researchers have found.

Institute of Preventative Medicine in Copenhagen researchers found those with wider hips also appeared to be protected against heart conditions.

Women with a hip measurement smaller than 40 inches, or a size 14 would not have this protection, they said.

The researchers say hip fat contains a beneficial natural anti-inflammatory.

Narrow hips detrimental

They said this anti-inflammatory, called adiponectin, prevents arteries swelling up and becoming blocked.

Women ranging from Marilyn Monroe and Sophia Loren to Kelly Brook and Catherine Zeta Jones today have been made famous by their hourglass figures.

The Danish researchers examined almost 3,000 men and women aged between 35 and 65 from 1987 to 1988

They measured height, weight and body mass index – calculated by dividing weight in kilograms by the square of your height in metres.

They then looked at Danish health registers up until the end of 1998 to look at how many of the men and women had cardiovascular problems, and up to 2001 to see how many had died.

Compared to the group of women with the smallest hip circumferences, women with the biggest were found to have an 87% reduction in deaths.

They also had an 86% reduced risk of having coronary heart disease and a 46% reduction in the risk of developing cardiovascular disease, according to the researchers.

Previous studies have found both men and women with small hips are at an increased risk of developing diabetes, high blood pressure and gall bladder disease.

However the study, which has been published in Obesity Research, found a wider hip circumference was not linked with better heart health in men.

Apple-shaperisk

Professor Berit Heitmann, who led the study, said: “It seems that the protection is not a matter of wide hips, it’s the detrimental effect of narrow hips with a lack of muscle fat, or bone or a combination of both.

She added: “Fat on hips is different than fat on the abdomen. If you do not have enough of this fat you may risk heart attacks.”

Carrying excess fat around the stomach, being ‘apple shaped’, is already known to be potentially damaging to health.

Fat cells in this part of the body pump out chemicals that can damage the insulin system, raising the risk of diabetes and heart disease.

Belinda Linden, of the British Heart Foundation said: “It has been widely reported that if you are apple-shaped, your risk of developing cardiovascular disease is likely to be greater than if you are pear-shaped.

“This study provides additional evidence of the association between hip circumference and cardiovascular protection among women.”

But she added: “It is important to consider both your body weight and shape in tandem. Controlling both by eating less and being more active is the best way to reduce your risk of heart and circulatory disease.”

11. I get tired of hearing remarks all the time, my size does not bother me, but it seems to bother many others – I do not see it as “I should comply to shut up such remarks” instead, I see it as – I don’t talk about bony folk, so why humbug me? MYOB!

As for other shows of this nature it is also popular in Africa where big women to love are the norm, it is also known as STEATOPYGIA

Judges at a beauty contest in Burkina Faso’s capital, Ouagadougou, have picked a winner weighing 117kg.

The contest, held to overturn western criteria of selecting beauty queens, attracted 13 contestants.

Carine Riragendanwa, 27, was named Miss “Pog-Bedre” or Large Lady, at the contest jointly organised by the Ministry for the Promotion of Women.

The Burkina Faso contest was held at the same time as the latest Miss World competition was held in China.

Contrary to the western obsession with tall and thin beauty icons, many men in Africa find fat women attractive.

The organiser of the event, Fatou Djiguiemde, told AFP news agency contestants weighing between 75kg and 130kg turned out to prove slender figures are not better than anyone else.

Free clothes

All the contestants at the celebration of big ladies paraded in front of an enthusiastic audience, first in traditional clothing and then in bathing suits.

They were later asked to talk for five minutes on a subject of current interest or concern, like Aids or poverty.

Miss Riragendanwa received gold jewellery, a motor bike and a selection of African dresses.

The beauty queen will also have her hair done and receive free clothes for a year.

The stiff competition saw a tie between Diane Yameogo who weighs 105kgs, and Christine Da weighing 100Kgs for the second position.

They both received $150 and a year’s free clothing.

** ALSO **

A competition held to pay tribute to “generously proportioned” women is going from strength to strength in Burkina Faso.

A student weighing 113kg is the latest winner of Miss Pog Bedre (Large Lady). “I am not at all worried about my size,” Amelie Sorgho told the BBC.

“I may sometimes envy thin girls when they wear certain clothes but it’s not worth going on an infernal diet.”

The show was first held last year, to coincide with the Miss World contest.

The show’s promoter Josephine Guiguemde says the idea is to “pay tribute to and recognise well-endowed women.”

Miss Sorgho, an arts student at the University of Ouagadougou, gave a huge smile as it was announced that she had beaten 12 candidates to be crowned Miss Pog.

No swimwear

Contrary to the western obsession with tall and thin beauty icons, many men in Africa find fat women attractive.

“Thin women are for whites,” said Issa, a 47-year-old electrician.

“In Africa, if a woman is large, it means her husband is looking after her.”

Alain, a student, says he is prefers thinner women.

“If I had a large girlfriend, she might break my motor scooter.”

The BBC’s Mathieu Bonkoungou in Ouagadougou says just like in Miss World, the Miss Pog contestants speak about their belief in worthy causes, such as educating girls, helping those who have suffered domestic violence and fighting Aids, prostitution and divorce.

The jury voted for Miss Sorgho after the contestants had paraded in a variety of costumes, including African dresses.

The only difference to Miss World is there is no swimwear section. They do wear costumes which show off their curves but little flesh is revealed.

Miss Sorgho said she wanted to use her time as Miss Pog to lead a campaign to educate people – men and women – on the dangers of using skin-lightening creams.

12. I am moderately overweight myself, and I have made a commitment to eat healthier food. This is more expensive, but cheaper than the medical costs of diabetes and heart disease. I also try to exercise and change my lifestyle for the better. Even parking in the farthest parking space and walking fast is a start for me.

But I am also committed to health above looks, so I won’t worry myself into depression, or starve myself into ill-health either. Some of us are just a little bigger, and I am thankful to those who recognise that. Whatever I look like on healthy food and exercise … that is me, and I’m not going to sweat it.

One big advantage for the older, full-figured woman is a reduced risk of osteoporosis. And, of course, we get less wrinkles!

13. Puh-lease, BU, your article is so dumb. Including the pic of the suggestively-posed blonde/brunette with the anorectic arms, bony hips, and no backside from what I can tell. You could have found a better picture to make your (weak) point.

Silly BU. There are lots of big women and small women in Bim who eat heartily and healthily. And there are women, big and small, who eat badly.

By the way, both obesity and anorexia can cause death.

Tell you what: Post your pic, so that we can see what your (near perfect, I assume) body looks like, so that we all have something to aim for in this life. (Stupse)

14. As we expected the attacks are coming because some of you have completely missed the point of our ‘dumb’ article. We were at pain to point out that we have nothing but respect for all people but what we have a problem with is the glamorizing of the physical condition obesity.

Maybe if the organizer instead of copying Monique’s concept out of the USA they might try Big Loser which encourages people to lose weight.

15. The View From Here Avatar
    The View From Here

It seems to me that there are 2 separate issues here: The aesthetics of sex appeal and health.

On the issue of aesthetics I agree with you Ian on the issue of health I agree with you David. I think the articles Ian site refer to slightly overweight women rather than obese women but I do take his point about women in the slightly overweight category.

There is much documented evidence that too thin or too fat endanger health and on a small island either extreme could wreck havoc with a national health care system. I got that and agree.

One of the two fundamental problems I have with the post though, is that it advances the idea that if obese people would just stop eating all the carbs and processed stuff then they wouldn’t be obese. Well that’s true, but the problem is more complexed that just ‘go lose some weight pronto’. In many, I dare say most cases, it is not a simple issue of willpower or lack of self-discipline.

Obesity is an illness and the thing that causes it in most people, though not all, is compulsive disorder and/or food addiction. Processed foods are very addictive and they trigger chemical responses in some people which the eater is not consciously aware of. These responses create the compulsion to eat more and more of the same … or to keep making the same unhealthy choices. They’re not doing so because they lack will power to stop, they’re doing it because they’re caught in an addictive cycle.

The other fundamental problem I have with the post is that it attempts to advance a concern for health and exploitation as the main issues while at its heart is your, David, own aesthetic disgust (if you will) with obese women. You want to be respectful and fair David, I can see that, but saying you respect when your words clearly reflect contempt is not convincing.

I appreciate what Ian said, i.e that the organiser wanted to create a space for larger women to be celebrated as beautiful because they are many men and women who prefer larger women. Healthy or unhealthy, this is a fact. To presume that everyone would prefer slender over plump is a narrow view of the range of tastes that exist in our world. The world is a very diverse place with diverse tastes and if one can have a beauty show for thin women why not one for fat women?

Having said that I myself am not in favour of any shows, photographs, music videos etc, where women of any size parade around naked, half naked or dressed up like fancy dolls for men or other women to, ogle, judge, fantasize about, ridicule, jerky off to or essentially consume in whatever way. That is like sooooooo medieval!!! Furthermore the idea that people would go to the show with the expressed idea of ridiculing or laughing at the women is très distasteful. What kind of people would do that? Unevolved and unsophisticated cretins clearly. YUCK!!!!! Call the pied piper quick and get them off the island!!!

There is another subtext here though that I want to give voice to: the ever present spectre of the emaciated ‘desirable’ white woman, albeit presented in the form of the problematic identifiers “hispanic/latina” (I suspect), as the model which all men, but in this context black men, desire and revere and black women, particularly the obese ones, are encouraged to compare themselves to and imitate. That is some deep neo-colonial stuff right there LOL!!!

I am really glad you touched on this subject David. I find all the party political stuff interesting and informative but it is really wonderful, to me anyway, when you also address some of the underlying cultural and socio-political issues and attitudes that exist in Barbados.

I hope others join in this debate.

Btw. if significant numbers of the population are exhibiting signs of apathy, i.e. addicted to food, watching tv, gossiping on the phone as you described, perhaps that is part of political disenfranchisement. After all, apathy can be engineered and is a form of social control: an apathetic population can’t make very informed decisions, political or otherwise, now can it?

16. Too many things today is being blamed on “addiction” yet 60 years ago when people were working hard as sh—-te, having to get around on Bikes instead of cars we did not have the obesity then or health problems we now have. Some might have died younger but it was because there were not the antibiotics and treatment facilities like we now have. Things like pneumonia took many. To-day you do not even have to go to bed with that problem!

Bajans could put away nuff food back then too.

I am not going to flog this to death but this subject fits into other nonsense being put on TV. Not long ago on TV we had dwarf tossing as you recall.

I think that obesity has to be seen for what it is and it is the another “Silent” killer. And 95% of obese people are the authors of their own misfortune.

Not long ago we saw on CNN where the MAJORITY of North American youngster and I mean youngster 3, 5, 10, and 16 years old are overweight, some grossly so. Certainly this was not an “addiction”. Not at that young age! It was due to poor nutritional habits and not enough exercise. These are the facts !

Kids are spending more time in front of the tube, computer etc stuffing their faces with unhealthy garbage that parents encourage them to do. That is the problem!

17. Compassionate Concern Avatar
    Compassionate Concern

Let me apologies in advance for a long comment. Hope you find it worth the read. This is an interesting and potentially contentious issue that has been raised. We need to clarify whether we want to talk about health, legality, morality. We might also want to clarify what we mean by being fat, overweight and obese.
    In terms of health there are many things that increase risk of death, illness, and cost to the individual or taxpayer. We do have influence over some of these and we should try to be responsible as individuals and communities. My suggestion is to do your bit and encourage those that you are close to do their own bits. While there may be some minor benefits of being very moderately overweight we should recognise that the implications of being ‘fat’ are of a bigger.
    There are many issues here including: the ‘nanny state’ versus individual right to live with the consequences of their own choices and of how people perceive and respond to risk of personal choices. We should take pride in and treasure the fact that we still live in a democratic country. Legally an individual has the ‘right’ to choose to live as they choose within the law of the land. What one sees as fat another sees as healthy. To the extent that my behaviour harms another is should be ‘encouraged’ to change it (as we have been seeing internationally with cigarettes). One would be right to argue that unless my being fat affects your health or pocket that you should leave me alone. Of course if the public healthcare system is funded from your tax dollars there could be a concern that others will have to ‘unfairly’ bear the burden of my ‘unnecessarily ‘ higher healthcare cost. Workplace productivity may be another area where the burdens are borne by the ‘innocent’.
    Morally I don’t think that we should encourage anyone to aspire to be obese. I don’t think that we should glamorise it. We can be understanding and supportive as the reality is that not everyone will be able to lose weight easily. The fact that there is ‘an advantage’ to something does not make the responsible choice to make. We should look at a balance of the risks and benefits. If the benefits are small and the risks are large we chose one way and vice versa (if they are similar they I can choose to go either way based on my personal preferences). No I don’t think we should restrict treatments on the basis of a person being obese (like is being done in the UK) unless it is clear that the outcome will be undesirable. By this I mean that if my surgical wound will not heal well because I am obese then it is fair to encourage me to in my own interest lose weight before surgery. It however is unfair to decide that the surgery will not be done because it needs a little more skill. It is unethical and illegal to deny me emergency surgery because I am higher risk than average and because you think that I must have contributed to my being this way.
    It would appear that based on a balance of the current evidence, being fat/overweight/obese is not a great idea health wise. As a society we should be concerned when it appears that harmful lifestyles are being glamorised. We also need to be understanding and supportive even as we seek to encourage change for the better.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/hottopics/obesity/
    http://www.namcp.org/Journals/JMCM/Articles/10_3/V10N3_Ecomomic_Weight.pdf
    http://www.oxha.org/

18. Compassionate Concern

Excellent excellent points and thoughts few can be argue with. The person has the right to be fat if they want to be and you are correct.

I also think you are correct in saying we should not nag as it is none of our business other than if obesity, like smoking and drug and alcohol abuse are increasing our taxes to pay for it. I can take that a step further, look at reckless drivers and speeders they do their share of taking their own and others lives and injuring people yet most of us yawn at this. And I am sure there are others such examples.

Having said that I think that most people have a responsibility to think of their siblings or family. We do not want to lose you prematurely when it can be avoided. We love you regardless of you being fat! But if we know being fat can shorten our life why not try to fix it?

19. David, the price you pay for delving into issues like these could go as high as being crucified

The point I got from your post is that you have a problem with persons using this attribute to make money and a big ‘show’, knowing full well that for the most part, the audience only go to have a laugh at what they consider a freak show.

No one is picking on ‘people of size’ but just as we should be upset with an ‘Ugly person’ contest or a ‘big headed person’ contest or a ‘Mr. stupid’ contest BECAUSE IT IS NOT UPLIFTING- even if the contestants are all OK people who probably live fulfilling lives.

It is the same with flaunting Gays, anorexics, wealthy folks, and the BET gangland culture…. NOT UPLIFTING.

There is a difference when we highlight positive values like culture, learning, healthy living and athleticism…. where spectators go along to admire something that theyw should want to emulate.
    If spectators genuinely admired these ‘persons of size’ and the life values that they typified – then all well and good- but is that the case?

….incisive post David.

20. Another great post by Bush Tea.

21. So, BU family, do you match up to the “appearance” standards you have promoted on your board? Yes or no? Yes, you are focusing on an appearance standard because, unless you are the personal physicians of these women, you know nothing about their health.

How do we know anything about the lifestyles of these women that BU chose to pick on from their pictures. We actually don’t. We are making huge assumptions. The skinny blonde chick exalted by BU on this wesbite might be unhealthy too. Like some others I have encountered, she could be smoking to keep her weight of or purging or starving to stay skinny.

For those invested in the “skinny is beautiful” belief (which is what BU seems to be promoting with pictures moreso than words), see how the developed countries are spending millions of dollars on treatments for eating disorders (in both men and women) AS WELL AS obesity. And see how they are also taking steps to ban super-skinny models from the runway.

We all can benefit from healthy eating and physical activity. But BU, don’t let your personal preferences/prejudices about appearances sully your arguments about health.

22. It would have been an incisive post if BU had left their prejudices about appearances out of the article.

I gather that BU and Bush Tea and some others would go to the show to laugh. But I am sure that some would go to admire and ogle. Just as some would find members of the BU family, Bush Tea, me, and others nice and attractive, some would also find our appearance repulsive, and cackle when we pass by. Can’t please everyone.

I’m all for staying healthy. I wish everyone a long and healthy life, big and small alike. Stop picking on people because of their appearance, though.

23. Radiance…please reread our article. We are not attacking fat people. In fact read Bush Tea’s comment which sums up our position. Many problems with our society is that we love to bury our heads in the sand on these issues.

24. I agree with that too. Too many people today do not want to take responsibility for their actions.

One need only look at the number of folk getting their gut tied off to lose weight which is a very risky procedure. Look at the number being sucked in by fad diets and clinics offering them to lose weight while still saying they can eat like pigs? These people and they are thousands of them because were the numbers not there supporting these diet agencies, surgeries etc neither would be the doctors or the diet agencies. Obviously thousands of fat people do not want to be fat and it may not have anything to do with looking sexy or slim but because they are convinced it is a health issue.

Thousands of obese people want to look good and beat their weight problem but they want to do it with a pill, surgery or other nonsense, in other words the EASY WAY when the only proven way to do it is a proper diet and exercise. Both of which they do not have the will power or discipline to do!

Forget the weight problem for a moment. How much more proof do we need to be convinced that REGULAR Exercise alone prolongs life and prevents all kinds of fatal diseases. And is this not the focus we should all be on. Living longer healthier lives so we can enjoy our family, seeing our siblings marry, enjoy our grand children and life in general? And what better place in the world could there be to swim, walk, jog etc 365 days of the year than Barbados?

25. Dear BU,

I read your article quite thoroughly the first time around. “It it unethical etc etc financial gain etc etc”. It would have been great if you had your stopped there.

But, no. You then went on to say: “It’s their right to parade their fat PHYSICALLY UNAPPEALING bodies (my emphasis) on stage! BU loves you but we will love you some more if you stop ‘WOLFING DOWN ALL THOSE CARBOHYDRATES and START TO MANAGE YOUR DIET” (my emphasis).

You are making the point about ethics, financial greed etc. based on the appearance of these women, not on their presumed poor health. You seem to believe that the promoters are exploitative because you wonder how could anyone find these women attractive, therefore it must be some kind of bad joke being played on the. If these women had met your standard of physical attractiveness, even if they were starving themselves to get there, I doubt that you would have made any noise about ethics, exploitation and the like. Your choice of terms to describe them, and the picture of skinny blonde health and attractiveness you chose to use to make your point, belie the stated intent of your article. Remember, encouraging eating disorders (by the pictures you chose) isn’t ethical either.

Again, I say, unless you know these women personally or in a professional health capacity, you do not know what they are eating. They might be eating the same thing as you, for all we know. But you hide your physical imperfections behind a blog. Come out, come out, wherever you are BU, and let us evaluate your physical appearance. I am sure that we would find a roll or two of fat somewhere. Bring your health records and a week’s sample of your food choices too, so that we can see that you are people of your word.

26. Radiance so you did read, ok.

So what is your position on the show? Do you agree with it? If you are a regular visitor to BU you would be aware that we are not afraid to use extreme statements to ram home a point which we want to make. Our point is about the glamorizing of women who are obese. All the other points fall away in importance.

So do you agree with the show and the parading of obese women to a packed house?

27. You know what amazes me about all of this?

Look at the hits this subject generated which shows I think how many people actually read these blogs but are only stirred by certain subjects. I find that very interesting.

If only we could generate the same enthusiasm, passion and interest in other and more pressing and immediate concerns of Barbadians. Why can’t we?

28. BU, your point is about glamorizing women who you find unattractive. You know NOTHING about the state of their health. Why do I say this? Because you “glamorized” a rather waif-like woman and gave her picture a place of prominence on your website. And you know NOTHING about the state of her health either.

BU, I do not go to “beauty” shows at all. A talent show, yes I would. A concert, sure. A beauty show, no.

29. I love large ladies for their joie de vivre and sheer presence.

I adore and respect Rihanna for her talent and achievements.

Not so sure about No Name, but can we move on?

30. Hi Radiance,
    I like your tenacity, but I really do not think that the issue is about the actual ‘health’ of the ladies, or indeed of people of size in general. I feel that the objective here is to promote a model that, overall, best disposes a person to peak healthy living and disease avoidance.
    Despite Ian’s protestations, the overriding evidence is that overweight and underweight persons predispose themselves to compromised health- compared to if they were of moderate size. It is not always their fault, but that is another matter.
    By having these shows therefore, is it not akin to saying to the public “here are some examples that you would NOT wish to follow- have a good laugh as we parade them around while they vie for an attractive cash prize”
    It is the principle of the thing… next we will have a pot bellied man competition…. come to think of it – anyone game on co-sponsoring that?!!!

31. My mother always told me “every piece of cloth in the store has an owner and every saucepan has its own cover”

A man might look at a white slender model and fall madly in love, other men might not even give her the time of day or a second glance and vis a vis

I know of one guy who says he wants no woman under 300 pounds.
    Whilst obesity is a health issue, some of the most attractive women are those obese women. I have really come to respect ppl for their individuality and not so much their outward appearance.

From reading the obituaries recently this supposed issue is the least of our problems.

32. Fat does not necessarily mean unhealthy. However, most fat people are unhealthy as they lead a very unhealthy lifestyle! Which is why they are fat. However once they are able to change these habits like eating excessive high fat food and no exercise, they probably will not be FAT. I know of people who are by definition fat but by no means are they unhealthy and their doctor have given them a clean bill of health!

Beauty is really in the eyes of the beholder…

33. Solve the traffic and obesity problems in one fell
    swoop . Walk.

34. Concerned Bajan Avatar

mosquito stop making mock sport at this issue. You can’t write more than 2 lines? You feel we would recognize you?

35. Not every one who is fat is unhealthy,besides
    there is some one for everyone.
    remember that everything that looks good is not always good.

36. I by no stretch of the imagination am a ‘model type person’ however, I am one full figured woman who has been sickened by the show. When the competition first started a couple years back, I actually contemplated entering, much to disapproval of friends and family, but their disapproval came from the fact that I was too small to enter the competition. When curiosity did kick in and I decided to check the requirements, indeed I was too small. I would say its ok Big people are people too, but its time we stop looking for excuses and wallowing in our self-pity by entering competitions like this, which blatantly promote obesity and ill-health. I am full-figured and dont ever think I will be model type but everyday, I make an effort to exercise and eat healthy, to reduce the risk of diabetes and heart disease. Time for us big people to stand up and do something about ourselves. STOP LOOKING FOR EXCUSES.

37. This competition is stupid, stop promoting these women as beautiful, is it beautiful for you legs to rub together, to get high blood pressure, or heart problems, and a range of other ills?

Please, they parade these unhealthy women and call it a competition, oh please! Go to the gym.

38. Lisalight I am going to be wicked.

I want to know that the wrinkle I chose is the right one.

Anon more power to you do not let people exploit lifestyles that could rob you of a full life!

39. Let me now be serious because I do not think that the average Barbadian realizes how serious obesity, poor diet, smoking and excessive alcoholic intake and the lack of exercise can be on ones health and longevity.

Arteriosclerosis cannot be detected by a physical exam. It is not until one suffers a miocardial infarction (heart attack) or similar areterial defect that this condition is discovered by an Angiogram. It is at this juncture in your life that you realize your lifestyle, diet and lack of exercise has robbed you or could rob you of years of enjoying life that includes seeing your children and grand children live their dreams.

Another thing that women do not realize is this “Silent” heart attacks among women are very common. What is a silent heart attack? one that can kill you or take out 20% or more of your heart muscle as yoiu survive and if you doubt it reserach it. You have no pain, shortness of breath, tightness in the chess nothing. You do not kniw you suffered a myocadial infarction. My wife had one. It is vitally important for women to ask their doctors that he/she include an ECG with the blood tests ordered following their annual physical.

“Take heart” a book written by a genius Dr. Terry Kavanaugh should also be read. Terry who I knew personally was a visionary 40 years ago who advocated heart patients should be immediately after the event be put on rehab involving walking, jogging etc. Back then Terry was considered a “nut”. To-day his books and his philosophies on treating heart disease is practiced in every prestigious heart hospitals in
    the free world.

Heart muscle killed by a heart attack will never recover unlike the liver that can re-generate with lifestyle changes. However, the heart with regular exercise after a heart attack develops new veins not arteries and it also becomes more conditioned if the patient watches their diet and weight AND EXERCISE EVERY DAY RELIGIOUSLY. Therefor the remaining healthy heart muscle functions better and takes up most of the slack of the muscle killed. Terry believes and statistics support it that if heart attack victims follow this regimen along with drug therapy after a heart attack their chances of living a normal or very close to normal life and LIFE EXPECTANCY is as good as a person that has never had a heart attack.

I never forget taking a hot tub with a prominent heart specialist a few years back and he said to me. If I had my way I would put everyone on Lipitor and we could get a 40% reduction on heart attacks and with exercise included that number could be increased to 75% or more. I am not a doctor but these boys were both highly respected in their fields especially Dr. Terry Kavanaugh who it was a distinct honor and pleasure to have crossed paths with. Thank you Terry because of you I have my wife still and she is all the proof I need to know you are correct. The world owes you a lot! Or should I say those in the world who listen!

40. I will say again BU and fellow bloggers, appearances ain’t all they’re cracked up to be. I was looking around for this article and I’ve found it.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/18594089/

Check the paragraph that says “Experts have long known that fat, active people can be healthier than their skinny, inactive counterparts. Normal-weight persons who are sedentary and unfit are at much higher risk for mortality than obese persons who are active and fit”.

The long and short of it is that slim people (code word for “attractive people” for some of you) can be awfully unhealthy too. Decide if you want to talk about health or appearances. I’m all for the health thing. As for the appearance thing, I say beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

By the way, LisaLight, most women with any kind of curviness in the hip/butt/thigh region have legs that touch along the upper thigh. Even the extra fit ones that run and work out alot. And most of you bloggers know this too. Some of these non-obese women with big thighs live in your house.

41. Radiance we don’t disagree with your article or position for that matter. Remember that the thrust of our argument centres on the glamorizing of obese people where overwhelming evidence point to obese not being a health condition. It does not mean that we are saying all obese people are ‘unhealthy’.

The perception which isbeing created is not healthy!

42. Radiance and David I hear both of you loud and clear.

Personally if an obese man/woman feels good about it and others enjoy seeing them on TV it is their business if they want to flaunt it. The same is true with dwarf tossing and a host of more and more shows on TV that in my opinion do not interest most viewers.

Why this Post I believe went down the path of “health” and I can well understand it and felt good about it is that “obesity” has been medically and scientifically proven to be the number one cause for serious health issues that lead to early death. Of course not exercising and eating correctly is also part of the equation.

Barbados as small as it is has its fair share of this problem IF YOU BELIEVE THEIR PRESS AND MEDICAL AUTHORITIES. I thought bringing up the health part of the overall issue served to broaden if you will the subject so that all seeing it especially youngsters at impressionable ages would see the entire perspective and not believe obesity should be taken frivolously or is cool.

Radiance your point is understood and it is a good one. But these subjects have to be looked at for what they are.

Some people can say factually a fat or thin person they knew lived to a hundred and drank nuff booze, smoked nuff cigarettes, ate nuff and any food they wanted. And in many cases what they say is correct. Maybe in those cases “genes” are stronger I do not know the reason.

However, most social structures have to be guided by statistics, studies by the experts that conclusively show and prove and what MEDICAL EXPERTS tell you, as in this case. If you or anyone else does not subscribe to that rational thinking, then when you get sick you should not go to a doctor, because obviously these persons do not believe what the MAJORITY in the medical profession is suggesting. And which is, that anyone who is obese or even overweight, not eating a proper diet and not exercising regularly is a ticking time bomb for cancer, heart, stroke, high blood pressure and diabetes along with other serious illnesses.

Having said that people have the right to do what they want to do and to believe what they want to believe. I never suggested otherwise!

Yes thin people who are not exercising, eating properly and are abusing their bodies stand a good chance of getting what obese people get from overweight. And yes thin people suffering from Anorexia are truly sick people waiting to die.

However in this case the focus was on obesity albeit for a different reason besides health but I think the discussions and input from all opened the eyes of many and made them think. And if I am correct mark the accomplishment up as another positive thing blogs can do.

43. mosquito stop making mock sport at this issue. You can’t write more than 2 lines? You feel we would recognize you?

Great contribution to the discussion ‘concerned Bajan ‘who are you concerned about? No facts just a cheap snide shot.
    I can write more than two lines but why be a windbag when there is no need .
    As the good book tells us
    EMPTY VESSELS MAKE THE MOST SOUND

44. David When Minister Jerome Walcott made mention of Barbados as a “FAT FARM” i did not hear from any of these well endowed people. When Dr. Hoyos i believe said that Obesity is at epidemic proportions in Barbados I did not hear from those who are now talking. The truth is that the Obesity problem in Barbados should not be taken likely, and that this is no time for persons to engage in impression of the mind about being obese. If it were not an health issue i am sure you would not be bothered, if we did not live in an interconnected society and world where the health of others can and will have an impact on all of us, I am sure you would not be bothered.

45. Should not be taken lightly. 😀 is likely to be more correct. Sorry language mavens 😀

46. The World Cancer Research Fund (WCRF) has published a report highlighting the links between diet, obesity and cancer.

47. right mosquito, now we have all the information needed to live healthy lives!?!

What WCRF report what?!?

How about a little common sense? Our physical body is DIRECTLY comprised of what we eat… it takes a major ‘study’ to establish this link?

The good book says that we can look at the sky and see that it will rain or not….. we can look at the fig tree putting out new leaves and know that summer is near… but we can’t seem to see some real obvious things.

like…
    If you pass a tenantries freehold act and take away landowners rights….. soon NO ONE will be able to find any land to rent – and lots of land will lie IDLE.

like….
    If you persist in putting a DUMP in Greenland, despite all advice to the contrary – our children will pay in more ways than one

like …
    if you are TOO FAT, or TOO THIN, or too ANYTHING … then you are probably NOT DOING SOMETHING RIGHT…..and you will pay in the end.

… i just like picking on you mos’… you still got me vex ’bout that flyover foolishness (LOL)

48. I do notwant to-reopen this debate because it has been flogged to death nor do I want to create a firestorm.

But because of the discussion on the subject I found a report on last nights CNN from the US medical community both timely and sad.

The report suggested that in spite of the overwhelming evidence that obesity kills doctors in the USA has had to put 24% to 28% of their obese patients on cholesterol and blood pressure lowering drug therapy because they lack the will and discipline to lose weight by eating a healthy diet and exercising.

49. Saw a CBS report this morning which says that 46% of employers in the USA penalizing employees who are obese on their medical plans.

50. Blue Cross has joined the fight against obesity. This is an approach which we think is constructive. In Barbados, BAMP, Ministry of Education & Sports, PTA’s etc